02/01/23 08:28 am HOUSE RESEARCH BJ/RK H0030A2

1.2	Page 3, after line 10, insert:
1.3	"Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325E.21, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
1.4	Subd. 4. Registration required. (a) Every scrap metal dealer shall register annually
1.5	with the commissioner of public safety. No person shall engage in the business of buying
1.6	or selling scrap metal without a valid registration.
1.7	(b) The scrap metal dealer shall pay to the commissioner of public safety a \$50 annual
1.8	fee.
1.9	(c) The commissioner of public safety must cancel or deny the registration of a scrap
1.10	metal dealer convicted of a violation under subdivision 6, paragraph (a), or a violation of
1.11	subdivision 14.
1.12	(d) A scrap metal dealer whose registration has been canceled or denied under paragraph
1.13	(c) shall not register as a scrap metal dealer for a period of five years from the date of denial
1.14	or cancellation.
1.15	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes
1.16	committed on or after that date."
1.17	Page 3, delete section 4 and insert:
1.18	"Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325E.21, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
1.19	Subd. 6. Criminal penalty. (a) A scrap metal dealer, or the agent, employee, or
1.20	representative of the dealer, who intentionally violates a provision of this section, except
1.21	for subdivision 11, 12, or 14, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 30 as follows:

1.1

Sec. . 1

02/01/23 08:28 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	BJ/RK	H0030A2

2.1	(b) A person who violates subdivision 11, 12, or 14 is guilty of a crime and may be
2.2	sentenced as follows:
2.3	(1) to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than
2.4	\$1,000, or both, for possession or purchase of one catalytic converter if the value of that
2.5	catalytic converter is \$500 or less;
2.6	(2) to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than
2.7	\$3,000, or both, for possession or purchase of:
2.8	(i) two catalytic converters; or
2.9	(ii) one catalytic converter if the value of that catalytic converter is more than \$500 but
2.10	not more than \$1,000;
2.11	(3) to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more
2.12	than \$10,000, or both, for possession or purchase of:
2.13	(i) three catalytic converters; or
2.14	(ii) one or more catalytic converters if the value of the catalytic converters is more than
2.15	\$1,000 but not more than \$5,000; and
2.16	(4) to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than
2.17	\$20,000, or both, for possession or purchase of one or more catalytic converters if the value
2.18	of the catalytic converters exceeds \$5,000.
2.19	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes
2.20	committed on or after that date."
2.21	Page 4, line 31, after "commissioner" insert "of public safety"
2.22	Page 4, line 32, delete "convert" and insert "converter"
2.23	Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references
2.24	Amend the title accordingly

Sec. . 2