WAYS AND MEANS COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Rena Moran, Chair of the Committee, called the remote Ways and Means Committee meeting to order at 9:00 A.M. on Monday, March 14, 2022, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services and Facebook Live.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

MORAN, Rena (Chair) OLSON, Liz (Vice Chair) GAROFALO, Pat (GOP Lead) ALBRIGHT, Tony **BECKER-FINN**, Jamie BERNARDY, Connie ECKLUND, Rob HANSEN, Rick HASSAN, Hodan HERTAUS, Jerry HORNSTEIN, Frank JOHNSON, Brian KRESHA, Ron LIEBLING, Tina LILLIE, Leon MARIANI, Carlos MARQUART, Paul MILLER, Tim NASH. Jim NELSON, Michael NOOR, Mohamud O'NEILL, Marion PELOWSKI, Gene Jr. PETERSBURG, John PINTO, Dave SCHOMACKER, Joe SCHULTZ, Jennifer SCOTT, Peggy SUNDIN, Mike

A quorum was present.

Representative Olson moved to adopt the minutes from Tuesday, March 1, 2022. <u>THE</u> <u>MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

SF 2876 (Abeler) Reinstatement and extension of COVID-19 program waivers and modifications establishment; Commissioner of health temporary emergency authority permission to grant certain COVID waivers.

Chair Moran moved that SF 2876 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Chair Moran moved to adopt the S2871A1-3 amendment and Representative Schultz explained the amendment.

Chair Moran renewed the motion to adopt the S2871A1-3 amendment. <u>THE MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u> Representative Schultz presented SF 2876 as amended.

Testifying on SF 2876:

• Matt Burdick, Director of State Government Relations, Department of Human Services

Following discussion, Chair Moran renewed the motion that SF 2876, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register. A roll call was taken, and the results were as follows:

AYES Moran Olson Albright Becker-Finn Ecklund Hansen Hassan Hornstein Liebling Lillie Marquart Nelson Noor Pelowski Pinto Schultz Sundin NAYS Garofalo

Garoraio Hertaus Johnson Kresha Miller Nash O'Neill Petersburg Schomacker Scott

EXCUSALS Bernardy Mariani

There being 17 ayes, 10 nays and 2 excusals, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 3717 (Stephenson) Comprehensive health association modified, Minnesota premium security plan modified, health insurance governing provisions modified, additional coverage under health plans required, Mental Health Parity and Substance Abuse Accountability Office established, proposal for public option required, report required, money transferred, and money appropriated.

Chair Moran moved that HF 3717 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Chair Moran moved to adopt the H3717A19 amendment and Representative Stephenson explained the amendment.

Chair Moran renewed the motion to adopt the H3717A9 amendment. <u>THE MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Stephenson presented HF 3717 as amended.

Following discussion, Chair Moran renewed the motion that HF 3717, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register. A roll call was taken, and the results were as follows:

AYES Moran Olson Becker-Finn Ecklund Hansen Hassan Hornstein Liebling Lillie Marquart Nelson Noor Pelowski Pinto Schultz Sundin NAYS Garofalo Albright Hertaus Johnson Kresha Miller Nash O'Neill Petersburg Schomacker Scott

EXCUSALS Bernardy Mariani

There being 16 ayes, 11 nays and 2 excusals, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 2774 (Greenman) Warehouse distribution worker safety requirements established.

Chair Moran moved that HF 2774 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Chair Moran moved to adopt the H2774A6 amendment and Representative Greenman explained the amendment.

Chair Moran renewed the motion to adopt the H2774A6 amendment. <u>THE MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Greenman presented HF 2774 as amended.

Testifying on HF 2774:

• Nicole Blissenbach, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Labor and Industry

After discussion, Chair Moran renewed the motion that HF 2774, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register. A roll call was taken, and the results were as follows:

AYES Moran Olson Becker-Finn Ecklund Hansen Hassan Hornstein Liebling Lillie Mariani Marquart Nelson Noor Pelowski Pinto Schultz Sundin NAYS Garofalo Albright Hertaus Johnson Kresha Miller Nash O'Neill Petersburg Schomacker Scott

EXCUSALS Bernardy

There being 17 ayes, 11 nays and 1 excusal, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED</u>.

HF 41 (Olson) COVID-19; emergency paid sick leave provided to employees excluded from federal Families First Coronavirus Response Act.

Vice Chair Olson moved that HF 41 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Vice Chair Olson moved to adopt the H0041DE3 amendment and explained the amendment.

Vice Chair Olson moved to adopt the H0041A10 amendment to the H0041DE3 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Vice Chair Olson renewed the motion to adopt the H0041DE3 amendment as amended. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Vice Chair Olson presented HF 41 as amended.

Testifying on HF 41:

• Nicole Blissenbach, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Labor and Industry

After discussion, Vice Chair Olson renewed the motion that HF 41, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register. A roll call vote was taken, and the results were as follows:

AYES Moran

Olson Becker-Finn Bernardy Ecklund Hansen Hassan Hornstein Liebling Lillie Mariani Marquart Nelson Noor Pelowski Pinto Schultz Sundin NAYS Garofalo Albright Hertaus Johnson Kresha Miller Nash O'Neill Petersburg Schomacker

EXCUSALS Scott

There being 18 ayes, 10 nays and 1 excusal, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED</u>.

The meeting adjourned at 10:31 A.M.

Representative Rena Moran, Chair

Anna Borgerding, Committee Legislative Assistant