## EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Ruth Richardson, Chair of the Committee on Education Policy, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00pm on March 2, 2022, pursuant to House Rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

## **Members present:**

RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

## **Members excused:**

POSTON, John

A quorum was present.

Representative Mueller moved the minutes from the committee meeting on February 28, 2022, be approved. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Richardson moved HF3265 be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

Chair Richardson moved Amendment H3265A2. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

The following testified on HF3265, as amended:

The Honorable Michael Howard, State Representative

Molly Codding, MPH, Researcher, Department of Forestry Resources, University of Minnesota Steve Ring, Retired Manager, Minnesota Department of Health

Anna Schliep, Lead and Drinking Water Coordinator, Minnesota Department of Health

Chair Richardson renewed the motion to refer HF3265, as amended, to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead

BENNETT, Peggy

BERG, Kaela

BOE, Greg

CHRISTENSEN, Shelly

EDELSON, Heather

FEIST, Sandra

FRAZIER, Cedrick

JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

MOLLER, Kelly

MUELLER, Patricia

SCOTT, Peggy

URDAHL, Dean

WAZLAWIK, Ami

**EXCUSED** 

POSTON, John

**ABSENT** 

DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

With a vote of 17 AYES, 0 NAYS, 1 ABSENT, and 1 EXCUSED, <u>THE MOTION</u> PREVAILED.

Representative Berg moved HF1808 to be referred to Committee on Education Finance.

Representative Berg moved Amendment H1808A2. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

The following testified on HF1808, as amended:

Keela Kuhlers, School Counselor, St Paul Music Academy, St Paul Public Schools

Sam Rushmeyer, School Counselor, Pierz High School

Bob Indihar, Executive Director, MN Rural Education Association

Representative Berg renewed the motion to refer HF1808, as amended, to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES

RUTH, Richardson, Chair

HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair

BERG, Kaela

CHRISTENSEN, Shelly

EDELSON, Heather

FEIST, Sandra

FRAZIER, Cedrick

JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

MOLLER, Kelly

URDAHL, Dean

WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS

ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead

BENNETT, Peggy

BOE, Greg

MUELLER, Patricia

SCOTT, Peggy

**ABSENT** 

DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

EXCUSED POSTON, John

With a vote of 12 AYES, 5 NAYS, 1 ABSENT, and 1 EXCUSED, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Chair Richardson moved HF3634 be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

The following testified on HF3634:
The Honorable Kelly Morrison, State Representative
Jin Bang, High School Senior, Minnetonka High School
Christopher Prokosch, Medical Student, University of Minnesota
Cristina Parra, House Research, Minnesota House of Representatives

Chair Richardson renewed the motion to refer HF3634 to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES
RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair
HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair
BERG, Kaela
CHRISTENSEN, Shelly
EDELSON, Heather
FEIST, Sandra
FRAZIER, Cedrick
JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly

WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS
ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead
BENNETT, Peggy
BOE, Greg
DRAZKOWSKI, Steve
MUELLER, Patricia
SCOTT, Peggy
URDAHL, Dean

EXCUSED POSTON, John

With a vote of 11 AYES, 7 NAYS, and 1 EXCUSED, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Richardson moved HF3655 be laid over for possible inclusion in a Committee Omnibus bill.

Chair Richardson moved Amendment H3655A1. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

The following testified on HF3655, as amended: The Honorable Tony Jurgens, State Representative Nancy Sack, Resident of Blue Earth County Bridgette Norring, Resident of Dakota County

Chair Richardson laid over HF3655, as amended, for possible inclusion in a Committee Omnibus bill.

The meeting adjourned at 2:17pm.	
	Representative Ruth Richardson, Chair
	Isabel Rolfes, Committee Legislative Assistant