04/07/21 11:32 am HOUSE RESEARCH MB/RK H1684A17

...... moves to amend H.F. No. 1684, the delete everything amendment

1.1

1.2	(H1684DE2), as follows:
1.3	Page 70, after line 10, insert:
1.4	"Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.33, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
1.5	Subd. 7. Filing fees; allocations. (a) In addition to all other statutory fees and taxes, a
1.6	filing fee of:
1.7	(1) \$7 \$9 is imposed on every vehicle registration renewal, excluding pro rate
1.8	transactions; and
1.9	(2) \$11 \( \frac{\$14}{} \) is imposed on every other type of vehicle transaction, including motor carrier
1.10	fuel licenses under sections 168D.05 and 168D.06, and pro rate transactions.
1.11	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a):
1.12	(1) a filing fee may not be charged for a document returned for a refund or for a correction
1.13	of an error made by the Department of Public Safety, a dealer, or a deputy registrar; and
1.14	(2) no filing fee or other fee may be charged for the permanent surrender of a title for a
1.15	vehicle.
1.16	(c) The filing fee must be shown as a separate item on all registration renewal notices
1.17	sent out by the commissioner.
1.18	(d) The statutory fees and taxes, and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may
1.19	be paid by credit card or debit card. The deputy registrar may collect a surcharge on the
1.20	statutory fees, taxes, and filing fee not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or
1.21	debit card transaction, in accordance with emergency rules established by the commissioner
1.22	of public safety. The surcharge must be used to pay the cost of processing credit and debit
1 22	card transactions

Sec. 28.

04/07/21 11:32 am HOUSE RESEARCH MB/RK H1684A17

(e) The fees collected under this subdivision by the department must be allocated as follows:

- (1) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (1):
- 2.4 (i) \$5.50 \$7.50 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account; and
- 2.5 (ii) \$1.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account; and
- 2.6 (2) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (2):
- 2.7 (i) \$3.50 must be deposited in the general fund;
- (ii) \$6.00 \$9.00 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account; and
- 2.9 (iii) \$1.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account.
- (f) For every transaction where a deputy registrar collects a fee pursuant to paragraph
  (a), clause (1), the commissioner must transmit a payment of \$1 to the deputy registrar that
  collected the fee. For every transaction where a deputy registrar collects a fee pursuant to
  paragraph (a), clause (2), the commissioner must transmit a payment of \$3 to the deputy
  registrar that collected the fee. The commissioner must make the payments required by this
  paragraph on a quarterly basis. An amount sufficient to make the payments required by this
  paragraph is appropriated to the commissioner from the vehicle services operating account
- 2.17 <u>in the special revenue fund.</u>

2.1

2.2

2.3

- 2.18 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to transactions completed on or after that date."
- 2.20 Page 83, after line 2, insert:

2.27

2.28

2.29

2.30

2.31

- "Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.061, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Fee; equipment.** (a) The agent may charge and retain a filing fee of \$\frac{\\$8}{\}\$ \frac{\}12}\$ for each application. Except as provided in paragraph (c), the fee shall cover all expenses involved in receiving, accepting, or forwarding to the department the applications and fees required under sections 171.02, subdivision 3; 171.06, subdivisions 2 and 2a; and 171.07, subdivisions 3 and 3a.
  - (b) The statutory fees and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may be paid by credit card or debit card. The driver's license agent may collect a convenience fee on the statutory fees and filing fees not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or debit card transaction. The convenience fee must be used to pay the cost of processing credit card and debit card transactions. The commissioner shall adopt rules to administer this paragraph

Sec. 44. 2

04/07/21 11:32 am HOUSE RESEARCH MB/RK H1684A17

using the exempt procedures of section 14.386, except that section 14.386, paragraph (b), does not apply.

3.1

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3.7

3.8

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.14

3.15

3.16

3.17

3.18

3.19

3.20

3.21

3.22

3.23

3.24

3.25

3.26

- (c) The department shall maintain the photo identification equipment for all agents appointed as of January 1, 2000. Upon the retirement, resignation, death, or discontinuance of an existing agent, and if a new agent is appointed in an existing office pursuant to Minnesota Rules, chapter 7404, and notwithstanding the above or Minnesota Rules, part 7404.0400, the department shall provide and maintain photo identification equipment without additional cost to a newly appointed agent in that office if the office was provided the equipment by the department before January 1, 2000. All photo identification equipment must be compatible with standards established by the department.
- (d) A filing fee retained by the agent employed by a county board must be paid into the county treasury and credited to the general revenue fund of the county. An agent who is not an employee of the county shall retain the filing fee in lieu of county employment or salary and is considered an independent contractor for pension purposes, coverage under the Minnesota State Retirement System, or membership in the Public Employees Retirement Association.
- (e) Before the end of the first working day following the final day of the reporting period established by the department, the agent must forward to the department all applications and fees collected during the reporting period except as provided in paragraph (d).
- (f) For every transaction where an agent collects a fee pursuant to paragraph (a), the commissioner must transmit a payment of \$2 to the agent that collected the fee. The commissioner must make the payments required by this paragraph on a quarterly basis.

  Payments made to an agent employed by a county board must be paid into the county treasury and credited to the general revenue fund of the county. An amount sufficient to make the payments required by this paragraph is appropriated to the commissioner from the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund."

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references

Sec. 44. 3