WAYS AND MEANS COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Rena Moran, Chair of the Committee, called the hybrid Ways and Means Committee meeting to order at 9:00 A.M. on Tuesday, April 19, 2022, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted in Capitol Room 120 and over Zoom, and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

MORAN, Rena (Chair)

GAROFALO, Pat (GOP Lead)

ALBRIGHT, Tony

BECKER-FINN, Jamie

BERNARDY, Connie

ECKLUND, Rob

HANSEN, Rick

HASSAN, Hodan

HERTAUS, Jerry

HORNSTEIN, Frank

JOHNSON, Brian

LIEDLING T

LIEBLING, Tina LILLIE, Leon

MARIANI, Carlos

MARQUART, Paul

MILLER, Tim

NASH, Jim

NELSON, Michael

NOOR, Mohamud

O'NEILL, Marion

PELOWSKI, Gene Jr.

PETERSBURG, John

PINTO, Dave

SCHOMACKER, Joe

SCHULTZ, Jennifer

SCOTT, Peggy

SUNDIN, Mike

Members excused:

OLSON, Liz (Vice Chair)

KRESHA, Ron

A quorum was present.

Representative Becker-Finn moved to adopt the minutes from Monday, April 4, 2022. THE MOTION PREVAILED..

Representative Marquart assumed the gavel at 9:05 A.M.

Chair Moran moved adoption of the 2022 Budget Resolution coded BUDRES04.

Representative Garofalo moved adoption of the BUDRES04-A02 amendment and requested a roll call. A roll call was taken, and the results were as follows:

AYES

Garofalo

Albright Hertaus

Johnson

Miller

Nash

O'Neill

Pelowski

Petersburg

Schomacker

Scott

NAYS

Moran

Becker-Finn

Bernardy

Ecklund

Hansen

Hassan

Hornstein

Liebling

Lillie

Mariani

Marquart

Nelson

Noor

Pinto

Schultz

Sundin

EXCUSALS

Olson

Kresha

There being 11 ayes, 16 nays, and 2 excusals, <u>THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAILED</u>. <u>THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.</u>

Chair Moran renewed the motion to adopt BUDRES04. A roll call was taken, and the results were as follows:

AYES

Moran

Becker-Finn

Bernardy

Ecklund

Hansen

Hassan

Hornstein

Liebling

Lillie

Mariani

Marquart

Nelson

Noor

Pelowski

Pinto

Schultz

Sundin

NAYS

Garofalo

Albright

Hertaus

Johnson Miller Nash O'Neill

Petersburg

Schomacker

Scott

EXCUSALS

Olson

Kresha

There being 17 ayes, 10 nays, and 2 excusals, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED</u>. <u>THE BUDGET RESOLUTION WAS ADOPTED</u>.

Chair Moran assumed the gavel at 10:39 A.M.

HF 3438 (Lillie) Outdoor heritage fund, clean water fund, parks and trails fund, and arts and cultural heritage fund money appropriated, Clean Water Council terms modified, and prior appropriations modified.

Representative Lillie moved that HF 3438 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Representative Lillie presented HF 3438.

Following discussion, Representative Lillie renewed the motion that HF 3438 be recommended to be placed on the General Register. A roll call was taken, and the results were as follows:

AYES

Moran

Becker-Finn

Bernardy

Ecklund

Hansen

Hassan

Hornstein Liebling

Lillie

Mariani

Marquart

Nelson

Noor

Pelowski

Pinto

Schultz

Sundin

NAYS

Garofalo

Albright

Hertaus

Johnson

Miller

Nash

O'Neill

Petersburg

Schomacker

Scott

EXCUSALS

Olson

Kresha

There being 17 ayes, 10 nays, and 2 excusals, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Moran recessed the meeting at 10:47 A.M.

Chair Moran reconvened the meeting at 1:01 P.M.

HF 4376 (Hausman) Housing; various provisions modified relating to the governor's supplemental housing budget, Minnesota Housing Finance Agency, income discrimination, community stabilization housing program, strengthening supportive housing model program, lead-safe homes grant program, housing mediation grant program, first-generation homebuyers down payment assistance fund pilot project, manufactured home park cooperative purchase program, eligible uses for housing trust fund loans and grants, eligible uses for housing infrastructure bonds, and rental covenants and evictions; and money appropriated.

Chair Moran moved HF 4376 before the committee.

Representative Hausman presented HF 4376.

Testifying on HF 4376:

• Representative Mike Howard

Representative Garofalo moved to adopt the H4376A13 amendment and explained the amendment.

Following discussion, Representative Garofalo renewed the motion to adopt the H4376A13 amendment and requested a roll call. A roll call was taken, and the results were as follows:

AYES

Garofalo

Albright

Hertaus

Johnson

Miller

Nash

O'Neill

Petersburg

Schomacker

Scott

NAYS

Moran

Becker-Finn

Bernardy

Ecklund

Hansen

Hassan

Hornstein

Liebling

Lillie

Marquart

Nelson

Noor

Pelowski

Pinto

Schultz

Sundin

ABSENT Hertaus

EXCUSALS

Olson

Kresha

Mariani

There being 9 ayes, 16 nays, 1 absent and 3 excusals, <u>THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAILED</u>. THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.

Chair Moran temporarily laid over HF 4376.

HF 14 (Ecklund) Border-to-border broadband grant program modified, money transferred, and report required.

Representative Ecklund moved HF 14 before the committee.

Representative Pelowski moved to adopt the H0014A1 amendment and explained the amendment.

Representative Pelowski renewed the motion to adopt the H0014A1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Ecklund presented HF 14 as amended.

Following discussion, Chair Moran temporarily laid over HF 14 as amended.

HF 4366 (Sundin) Agriculture grant programs established, data classified, revenues dedicated, agriculture and animal health provisions policy and technical changes made, reports required, and money appropriated.

Representative Sundin moved HF 4366 be recommended for placement on the General Register.

Representative Sundin moved to adopt the H4366A11 amendment and explained the amendment.

Representative Sundin renewed the motion to adopt the H4366A11 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Following discussion, Representative Sundin moved that the language contained in HF 4366, as amended, be incorporated into the Agriculture, Housing and Broadband Omnibus (HF 4366) as separate articles. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Moran moved that the language contained in HF 4376 be incorporated into the Agriculture, Housing and Broadband Omnibus (HF 4366) as separate articles. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Representative Ecklund moved that the language of HF 14, as amended, be incorporated into the Agriculture, Housing and Broadband Omnibus (HF 4366) as separate articles. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Following discussion, Representative Sundin renewed his motion that HF 4366, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register, and that nonpartisan staff be directed to make any technical corrections and amend the title. A roll call was taken, and the results were as follows:

AYES Moran Becker-Finn Bernardy

Ecklund	
Hansen	
Hassan	
Hornstein	
Liebling	
Lillie	
Marquart	
Nelson	
Noor Pelowski	
Pinto	
Schultz	
Sundin	
Sundin	
NAYS	
Garofalo	
Albright	
Johnson	
Miller	
Nash	
O'Neill	
Petersburg	
Schomacker	
Scott	
ADCENIT	
ABSENT Hertaus	
nertaus	
EXCUSALS	
Olson	
Kresha	
Mariani	
There being 16 ayes, 9 nays, 1 absen	t and 3 excusals, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED</u> .
The meeting adjourned at 2:15 P.M.	
	Representative Rena Moran, Chair
	Anna Borgerding, Committee Legislative Assistant