..... moves to amend H.F. No. 238 as follows: 1.1 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert: 1.2 "ARTICLE 1 1.3 CHILD CARE 1.4 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.011, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 1.5 Subd. 2. Applicant. "Child care fund applicants" means all parents;; stepparents;; legal 1.6 guardians, or; eligible relative caregivers who are; relative custodians who accepted a transfer 1.7 of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under section 260C.515, subdivision 4, 1.8 or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code; successor custodians or guardians as 1.9 established by section 256N.22, subdivision 10; or foster parents providing care to a child 1.10 placed in a family foster home under section 260C.007, subdivision 16b. Applicants must 1.11 1.12 be members of the family and reside in the household that applies for child care assistance under the child care fund. 1.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 25, 2024. 1.14 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.011, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 1.15 Subd. 5. Child care. "Child care" means the care of a child by someone other than a 1.16 parent;; stepparent;; legal guardian;; eligible relative caregiver;; relative custodian who 1.17 accepted a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under section 1.18 260C.515, subdivision 4, or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code; successor 1.19 custodian or guardian as established according to section 256N.22, subdivision 10; foster 1.20 parent providing care to a child placed in a family foster home under section 260C.007, 1.21

1.22

1.23

subdivision 16b; or the spouses spouse of any of the foregoing in or outside the child's own

home for gain or otherwise, on a regular basis, for any part of a 24-hour day.

# **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 25, 2024.

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.22

2.23

2.24

2.25

2.26

2.27

2.28

2.29

2.31

2.32

2.33

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.011, subdivision 13, is amended to read: Subd. 13. Family. "Family" means parents; stepparents; guardians and their spouses; or; other eligible relative caregivers and their spouses; relative custodians who accepted a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under section 260C.515, subdivision 4, or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code, and their spouses; successor custodians or guardians as established by section 256N.22, subdivision 10, and their spouses; foster parents providing care to a child placed in a family foster home under section 260C.007, subdivision 16b, and their spouses; and their the blood related dependent children and adoptive siblings under the age of 18 years living in the same home including as any of the above. Family includes children temporarily absent from the household in settings such as schools, foster care, and residential treatment facilities or parents, stepparents, guardians and their spouses, or other relative caregivers and their spouses and adults temporarily absent from the household in settings such as schools, military service, or rehabilitation programs. An adult family member who is not in an authorized activity under this chapter may be temporarily absent for up to 60 days. When a minor parent or parents and his, her, or their child or children are living with other relatives, and the minor parent or parents apply for a child care subsidy, "family" means only the minor parent or parents and their child or children. An adult age 18 or older who meets this definition of family and is a full-time high school or postsecondary student may be considered a dependent member of the family unit if 50 percent or more of the adult's support is provided by the parents; stepparents;; guardians and their spouses; relative custodians who accepted a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under section 260C.515, subdivision 4, or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code, and their spouses; successor custodians or guardians as established by section 256N.22, subdivision 10, and their spouses; foster parents providing care to a child placed in a family foster home under section 260C.007, subdivision 16b, and their spouses; or eligible relative caregivers and their spouses residing in the same household.

# **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 25, 2024.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.011, subdivision 19a, is amended to read:

Subd. 19a. **Registration.** "Registration" means the process used by a county the commissioner to determine whether the provider selected by a family applying for or receiving child care assistance to care for that family's children meets the requirements

necessary for payment of child care assistance for care provided by that provider. <u>The</u> commissioner shall create a process for statewide registration by April 28, 2025.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 28, 2025.

- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.03, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4a. Temporary reprioritization Funding priorities. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 4 In the event that inadequate funding necessitates the use of waiting lists, priority for child care assistance under the basic sliding fee assistance program shall be determined according to this subdivision beginning July 1, 2021, through May 31, 2024.
- (b) First priority must be given to eligible non-MFIP families who do not have a high school diploma or commissioner of education-selected high school equivalency certification or who need remedial and basic skill courses in order to pursue employment or to pursue education leading to employment and who need child care assistance to participate in the education program. This includes student parents as defined under section 119B.011, subdivision 19b. Within this priority, the following subpriorities must be used:
- 3.15 (1) child care needs of minor parents;

3.1

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3.7

3.8

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.14

3.24

3.25

- 3.16 (2) child care needs of parents under 21 years of age; and
- 3.17 (3) child care needs of other parents within the priority group described in this paragraph.
- 3.18 (c) Second priority must be given to families in which at least one parent is a veteran, 3.19 as defined under section 197.447.
- (d) Third priority must be given to eligible families who do not meet the specifications
  of paragraph (b), (c), (e), or (f).
- 3.22 (e) Fourth priority must be given to families who are eligible for portable basic sliding 3.23 fee assistance through the portability pool under subdivision 9.
  - (f) Fifth priority must be given to eligible families receiving services under section 119B.011, subdivision 20a, if the parents have completed their MFIP or DWP transition year, or if the parents are no longer receiving or eligible for DWP supports.
- 3.27 (g) Families under paragraph (f) must be added to the basic sliding fee waiting list on 3.28 the date they complete their transition year under section 119B.011, subdivision 20.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.125, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Authorization.** A county or The commissioner must authorize the provider chosen by an applicant or a participant before the county can authorize payment for care provided by that provider. The commissioner must establish the requirements necessary for authorization of providers. A provider must be reauthorized every two years. A legal, nonlicensed family child care provider also must be reauthorized when another person over the age of 13 joins the household, a current household member turns 13, or there is reason to believe that a household member has a factor that prevents authorization. The provider is required to report all family changes that would require reauthorization. When a provider has been authorized for payment for providing care for families in more than one county, the county responsible for reauthorization of that provider is the county of the family with a current authorization for that provider and who has used the provider for the longest length of time.

# **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 28, 2025.

- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.125, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1a. **Background study required.** (a) This subdivision only applies to legal, nonlicensed family child care providers.
  - (b) Prior to authorization, and as part of each reauthorization required in subdivision 1, the county the commissioner shall perform a background study on every member of the provider's household who is age 13 and older. The county shall also perform a background study on an individual who has reached age ten but is not yet age 13 and is living in the household where the nonlicensed child care will be provided when the county has reasonable cause as defined under section 245C.02, subdivision 15 individuals identified under section 245C.02, subdivision 6a.
  - (c) After authorization, a background study shall also be performed when an individual identified under section 245C.02, subdivision 6a, joins the household. The provider must report all family changes that would require a new background study.
  - (d) At each reauthorization, the commissioner shall ensure that a background study through NETStudy 2.0 has been performed on all individuals in the provider's household for whom a background study is required under paragraphs (b) and (c).
- (e) Prior to a background study through NETStudy 2.0 expiring, another background
   study shall be completed on all individuals for whom the background study is expiring.
  - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 28, 2025.

4.1

4.2

4.3

4.4

4.5

4.6

4.7

4.8

4.9

4.10

4.11

4.12

4.13

4.14

4.18

4.19

4.20

4.21

4.22

4.23

4.24

4 25

4.26

4.27

4.28

4.29

4.30

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.125, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. **Training required.** (a) Effective November 1, 2011, Prior to initial authorization as required in subdivision 1, a legal nonlicensed family child care provider must complete first aid and CPR training and provide the verification of first aid and CPR training to the county commissioner. The training documentation must have valid effective dates as of the date the registration request is submitted to the county commissioner. The training must have been provided by an individual approved to provide first aid and CPR instruction and have included CPR techniques for infants and children.

- (b) Legal nonlicensed family child care providers with an authorization effective before November 1, 2011, must be notified of the requirements before October 1, 2011, or at authorization, and must meet the requirements upon renewal of an authorization that occurs on or after January 1, 2012.
- (e) (b) Upon each reauthorization after the authorization period when the initial first aid and CPR training requirements are met, a legal nonlicensed family child care provider must provide verification of at least eight hours of additional training listed in the Minnesota Center for Professional Development Registry.
- (d) (c) This subdivision only applies to legal nonlicensed family child care providers.
- 5.18 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 28, 2025.
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.125, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
  - Subd. 2. **Persons who cannot be authorized.** (a) The provider seeking authorization under this section shall collect the information required under section 245C.05<del>, subdivision</del> 1, and forward the information to the county agency commissioner. The background study must include a review of the information required under section 245C.08, subdivisions 2, subdivision 3, and 4, paragraph (b).
- 5.25 (b) A <u>legal</u> nonlicensed family child care provider is not authorized under this section 5.26 if:
  - (1) the commissioner determines that any household member who is the subject of a background study is determined to have a disqualifying characteristic under paragraphs (b) to (e) or under section 245C.14 or 245C.15. If a county has determined that a provider is able to be authorized in that county, and a family in another county later selects that provider, the provider is able to be authorized in the second county without undergoing a new background investigation unless one of the following conditions exists: disqualified from

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.8

5.9

5.10

5.11

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5.16

5.17

5.20

5.21

5.22

5.23

5.24

5.27

5.28

5.29

5.30

5.31

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

6.1	direct contact with, or from access to, persons served by the program and that disqualification
6.2	has not been set aside or a variance has not been granted under chapter 245C;
6.3	(1) two years have passed since the first authorization;
6.4	(2) another person age 13 or older has joined the provider's household since the last
6.5	authorization;
6.6	(3) a current household member has turned 13 since the last authorization; or
6.7	(4) there is reason to believe that a household member has a factor that prevents
6.8	authorization.
6.9	(b) (2) the person has refused to give written consent for disclosure of criminal history
6.10	records-:
6.11	(e) (3) the person has been denied a family child care license or has received a fine or
6.12	a sanction as a licensed child care provider that has not been reversed on appeal.;
6.13	(d) (4) the person has a family child care licensing disqualification that has not been set
6.14	aside-; or
6.15	(e) (5) the person has admitted or a county has found that there is a preponderance of
6.16	evidence that fraudulent information was given to the county for child care assistance
6.17	application purposes or was used in submitting child care assistance bills for payment.
6.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.
6.19	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.125, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
6.20	Subd. 3. <b>Authorization exception.</b> When a county the commissioner denies a person
6.21	authorization as a legal nonlicensed family child care provider under subdivision 2, the
6.22	eounty commissioner later may authorize that person as a provider if the following conditions
6.23	are met:
6.24	(1) after receiving notice of the denial of the authorization, the person applies for and
6.25	obtains a valid child care license issued under chapter 245A, issued by a tribe, or issued by
6.26	another state;
6.27	(2) the person maintains the valid child care license; and
6.28	(3) the person is providing child care in the state of licensure or in the area under the
6.29	jurisdiction of the licensing tribe.
6.30	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.125, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Unsafe care. A county (a) The commissioner may deny authorization as a child care provider to any applicant or rescind authorization of any provider when the a county or commissioner knows or has reason to believe that the provider is unsafe or that the circumstances of the chosen child care arrangement are unsafe, based on statewide criteria developed by the commissioner. The county must include the conditions under which a provider or care arrangement will be determined to be unsafe in the county's child care fund plan under section 119B.08, subdivision 3

- (b) The commissioner shall develop and introduce statewide criteria for unsafe care. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 28, 2025.
- 7.11 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.125, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- 7.12 Subd. 6. **Record-keeping requirement.** (a) As a condition of payment, all providers receiving child care assistance payments must:
  - (1) keep accurate and legible daily attendance records at the site where services are delivered for children receiving child care assistance; and
  - (2) make those records available immediately to the county or the commissioner upon request. Any records not provided to a county or the commissioner at the date and time of the request are deemed inadmissible if offered as evidence by the provider in any proceeding to contest an overpayment or disqualification of the provider.
  - (b) As a condition of payment, attendance records must be completed daily and include the date, the first and last name of each child in attendance, and the times when each child is dropped off and picked up. To the extent possible, the times that the child was dropped off to and picked up from the child care provider must be entered by the person dropping off or picking up the child. The daily attendance records must be retained at the site where services are delivered for six years after the date of service.
  - (c) A county or the commissioner may deny or revoke a provider's authorization to receive child care assistance payments under section 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph (d), pursue a fraud disqualification under section 256.98, take an action against the provider under chapter 245E, or establish an attendance record overpayment under paragraph (d) against a current or former provider, When the county or the commissioner knows or has reason to believe that the a current or former provider has not complied with the record-keeping requirement in this subdivision::

7.1

7.2

7.3

7.4

7.5

7.6

7.7

7.8

7.9

7.10

7.14

7.15

7.16

7.17

7.18

7.19

7.20

7.21

7.22

7.23

7.24

7.25

7.26

7.27

7.28

7.29

7.30

7.31

	1 \	. 1		•	•	
- (	1)	the	comm	155	10ner	may.
'	. + /	uic	COIIIII	100	101101	may.

8.1

8.2

8.3

8.9

8.10

8.11

8.12

8.13

8.14

8.15

8.17

8.18

8.19

8.20

8.21

8.22

8.23

8.24

8.25

8.26

8.27

8.28

8.29

- (i) deny or revoke a provider's authorization to receive child care assistance payments under section 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph (d);
- 8.4 (ii) pursue an administrative disqualification under sections 256.046, subdivision 3, and 8.5 256.98; or
- 8.6 (iii) take an action against the provider under chapter 245E; or
- 8.7 (2) a county or the commissioner may establish an attendance record overpayment under paragraph (d).
  - (d) To calculate an attendance record overpayment under this subdivision, the commissioner or county agency shall subtract the maximum daily rate from the total amount paid to a provider for each day that a child's attendance record is missing, unavailable, incomplete, inaccurate, or otherwise inadequate.
  - (e) The commissioner shall develop criteria for a county to determine an attendance record overpayment under this subdivision.

### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 28, 2025.

- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.125, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
  - Subd. 7. **Failure to comply with attendance record requirements.** (a) In establishing an overpayment claim for failure to provide attendance records in compliance with subdivision 6, the county or commissioner is limited to the six years prior to the date the county or the commissioner requested the attendance records.
    - (b) The commissioner <u>or county</u> may periodically audit child care providers to determine compliance with subdivision 6.
    - (c) When the commissioner or county establishes an overpayment claim against a current or former provider, the commissioner or county must provide notice of the claim to the provider. A notice of overpayment claim must specify the reason for the overpayment, the authority for making the overpayment claim, the time period in which the overpayment occurred, the amount of the overpayment, and the provider's right to appeal.
  - (d) The commissioner or county shall seek to recoup or recover overpayments paid to a current or former provider.
- 8.30 (e) When a provider has been disqualified or convicted of fraud under section 256.98, 8.31 theft under section 609.52, or a federal crime relating to theft of state funds or fraudulent

billing for a program administered by the commissioner or a county, recoupment or recovery must be sought regardless of the amount of overpayment.

# **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 28, 2025.

9.1

9.2

9.3

9.8

9.9

9.10

9.11

9.12

9.13

9.14

9.15

9.16

9.17

9.18

9.20

9.21

9.22

9.23

9.24

9.25

9.26

9.27

9.28

9.29

9.30

- 9.4 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- 9.5 Subdivision 1. **Subsidy restrictions.** (a) Beginning November 15, 2021 October 30,
  9.6 2023, the maximum rate paid for child care assistance in any county or county price cluster
  9.7 under the child care fund shall be:
  - (1) for all infants and toddlers, the greater of the 40th 75th percentile of the 2021 child care provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the time of the update; and.
    - (2) for all preschool and school-age children, the greater of the 30th percentile of the 2021 child care provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the time of the update.
    - (b) Beginning the first full service period on or after January 1, 2025, and every three years thereafter, the maximum rate paid for child care assistance in a county or county price cluster under the child care fund shall be:
    - (1) for all infants and toddlers, the greater of the 40th 75th percentile of the 2024 most recent child care provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the time of the update; and.
    - (2) for all preschool and school-age children, the greater of the 30th percentile of the 2024 child care provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the time of the update.
- 9.19 The rates under paragraph (a) continue until the rates under this paragraph go into effect.
  - (c) For a child care provider located within the boundaries of a city located in two or more of the counties of Benton, Sherburne, and Stearns, the maximum rate paid for child care assistance shall be equal to the maximum rate paid in the county with the highest maximum reimbursement rates or the provider's charge, whichever is less. The commissioner may: (1) assign a county with no reported provider prices to a similar price cluster; and (2) consider county level access when determining final price clusters.
  - (d) A rate which includes a special needs rate paid under subdivision 3 may be in excess of the maximum rate allowed under this subdivision.
  - (e) The department shall monitor the effect of this paragraph on provider rates. The county shall pay the provider's full charges for every child in care up to the maximum established. The commissioner shall determine the maximum rate for each type of care on an hourly, full-day, and weekly basis, including special needs and disability care.

(f) If a child uses one provider, the maximum payment for one day of care must not exceed the daily rate. The maximum payment for one week of care must not exceed the weekly rate.

- (g) If a child uses two providers under section 119B.097, the maximum payment must not exceed:
  - (1) the daily rate for one day of care;

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

10.10

10.11

10.12

10.13

10.14

10.15

10.16

10.17

10.18

10.19

10.20

10.21

10.22

10.23

10.24

10.25

10.26

10.27

- (2) the weekly rate for one week of care by the child's primary provider; and
- (3) two daily rates during two weeks of care by a child's secondary provider.
  - (h) Child care providers receiving reimbursement under this chapter must not be paid activity fees or an additional amount above the maximum rates for care provided during nonstandard hours for families receiving assistance.
  - (i) If the provider charge is greater than the maximum provider rate allowed, the parent is responsible for payment of the difference in the rates in addition to any family co-payment fee.
  - (j) <u>Beginning October 30, 2023,</u> the maximum registration fee paid for child care assistance in any county or county price cluster under the child care fund shall be set as follows: (1) <u>beginning November 15, 2021</u>, the greater of the <u>40th 75th</u> percentile of the <u>2021 most recent</u> child care provider rate survey or the registration fee in effect at the time of the update; and (2) <u>beginning the first full service period on or after January 1, 2025</u>, the maximum registration fee shall be the greater of the 40th percentile of the 2024 child care provider rate survey or the registration fee in effect at the time of the update. The registration fees under clause (1) continue until the registration fees under clause (2) go into effect.
  - (k) Maximum registration fees must be set for licensed family child care and for child care centers. For a child care provider located in the boundaries of a city located in two or more of the counties of Benton, Sherburne, and Stearns, the maximum registration fee paid for child care assistance shall be equal to the maximum registration fee paid in the county with the highest maximum registration fee or the provider's charge, whichever is less.
  - Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.13, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Rates charged to publicly subsidized families.** Child care providers receiving reimbursement under this chapter may not charge a rate to clients receiving assistance under this chapter that is higher than the private, full-paying client rate. This subdivision shall not

prohibit a child care provider receiving reimbursement under this chapter from providing discounts, scholarships, or other financial assistance to any clients.

# **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.13, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Provider payments.** (a) A provider shall bill only for services documented according to section 119B.125, subdivision 6. The provider shall bill for services provided within ten days of the end of the service period. Payments under the child care fund shall be made within 21 days of receiving a complete bill from the provider. Counties or the state may establish policies that make payments on a more frequent basis.
- (b) If a provider has received an authorization of care and been issued a billing form for an eligible family, the bill must be submitted within 60 days of the last date of service on the bill. A bill submitted more than 60 days after the last date of service must be paid if the county determines that the provider has shown good cause why the bill was not submitted within 60 days. Good cause must be defined in the county's child care fund plan under section 119B.08, subdivision 3, and the definition of good cause must include county error. Any bill submitted more than a year after the last date of service on the bill must not be paid.
- (c) If a provider provided care for a time period without receiving an authorization of care and a billing form for an eligible family, payment of child care assistance may only be made retroactively for a maximum of three months from the date the provider is issued an authorization of care and a billing form. For a family at application, if a provider provided child care during a time period without receiving an authorization of care and a billing form, a county may only make child care assistance payments to the provider retroactively from the date that child care began, or from the date that the family's eligibility began under section 119B.09, subdivision 7, or from the date that the family meets authorization requirements, not to exceed six months from the date that the provider is issued an authorization of care and a billing form, whichever is later.
- (d) A county or The commissioner may refuse to issue a child care authorization to a certified, licensed, or legal nonlicensed provider, revoke an existing child care authorization to a certified, licensed, or legal nonlicensed provider, stop payment issued to a certified, licensed, or legal nonlicensed provider, or refuse to pay a bill submitted by a certified, licensed, or legal nonlicensed provider if:

11.1

11.2

11.3

11.4

11.5

11.6

11.7

11.8

11.9

11.10

11.11

11.12

11.13

11.14

11.15

11.16

11.17

11.18

11.19

11.20

11.21

11.22

11.23

11.24

11.25

11.26

11.27

11.28

11.29

11.30

11.31

(1) the provider admits to intentionally giving the county materially false information on the provider's billing forms;

- (2) a county or the commissioner finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the provider intentionally gave the county materially false information on the provider's billing forms, or provided false attendance records to a county or the commissioner;
- (3) the provider is in violation of child care assistance program rules, until the agency determines those violations have been corrected;
- 12.8 (4) the provider is operating after:

12.1

12.2

12.3

12.4

12.5

12.6

12.7

12.17

12.18

12.19

12.20

12.21

12.22

- (i) an order of suspension of the provider's license issued by the commissioner;
- (ii) an order of revocation of the provider's license issued by the commissioner; or
- (iii) an order of decertification issued to the provider;
- 12.12 (5) the provider submits false attendance reports or refuses to provide documentation 12.13 of the child's attendance upon request;
- 12.14 (6) the provider gives false child care price information; or
- 12.15 (7) the provider fails to report decreases in a child's attendance as required under section 12.16 119B.125, subdivision 9.
  - (e) For purposes of paragraph (d), clauses (3), (5), (6), and (7), the county or the commissioner may withhold the provider's authorization or payment for a period of time not to exceed three months beyond the time the condition has been corrected.
  - (f) A county's payment policies must be included in the county's child care plan under section 119B.08, subdivision 3. If payments are made by the state, in addition to being in compliance with this subdivision, the payments must be made in compliance with section 16A.124.
- 12.24 (g) If the commissioner or responsible county agency suspends or refuses payment to a
  12.25 provider under paragraph (d), clause (1) or (2), or chapter 245E and the provider has:
- 12.26 (1) a disqualification for wrongfully obtaining assistance under section 256.98, 12.27 subdivision 8, paragraph (c);
- 12.28 (2) an administrative disqualification under section 256.046, subdivision 3; or
- 12.29 (3) a termination under section 245E.02, subdivision 4, paragraph (c), clause (4), or 245E.06;

03/26/23 06:43 pm HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H0238DE1 then the provider forfeits the payment to the commissioner or the responsible county agency, 13.1 regardless of the amount assessed in an overpayment, charged in a criminal complaint, or 13.2 ordered as criminal restitution. 13.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 28, 2025. 13.4 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.16, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: 13.5 Subd. 1a. Fair hearing allowed for providers. (a) This subdivision applies to providers 13.6 caring for children receiving child care assistance. 13.7 (b) A provider may request a fair hearing according to sections 256.045 and 256.046 13.8 only if a county agency or the commissioner: 13.9 (1) denies or revokes a provider's authorization, unless the action entitles the provider 13.10 13.11 to: (i) an administrative review under section 119B.161; or 13.12 (ii) a contested case hearing under section 245.095, subdivision 4; 13.13 (2) assigns responsibility for an overpayment to a provider under section 119B.11, 13.14 subdivision 2a; 13.15

(3) establishes an overpayment for failure to comply with section 119B.125, subdivision

13.18

13.17 6;

(4) seeks monetary recovery or recoupment under section 245E.02, subdivision 4,

- 13.19 paragraph (c), clause (2);
- (5) initiates an administrative fraud disqualification hearing; or
- (6) issues a payment and the provider disagrees with the amount of the payment.
- (c) A provider may request a fair hearing by submitting a written request to the
- 13.23 Department of Human Services, Appeals Division. A provider's request must be received
- by the Appeals Division no later than 30 days after the date a county or the commissioner
- mails the notice.
- 13.26 (d) The provider's appeal request must contain the following:
- 13.27 (1) each disputed item, the reason for the dispute, and, if applicable, an estimate of the dollar amount involved for each disputed item;
- 13.29 (2) the computation the provider believes to be correct, if applicable;
- 13.30 (3) the statute or rule relied on for each disputed item; and

(4) the name, address, and telephone number of the person at the provider's place of business with whom contact may be made regarding the appeal.

- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.16, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1c. **Notice to providers.** (a) Before taking an action appealable under subdivision 1a, paragraph (b), a county agency or the commissioner must mail written notice to the provider against whom the action is being taken. Unless otherwise specified under this chapter, chapter 245E, or Minnesota Rules, chapter 3400, a county agency or the commissioner must mail the written notice at least 15 calendar days before the adverse action's effective date.
- (b) The notice shall state (1) the factual basis for the <u>county agency or department</u>'s determination, (2) the action the <u>county agency or department</u> intends to take, (3) the dollar amount of the monetary recovery or recoupment, if known, and (4) the provider's right to appeal the department's proposed action.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 28, 2025.

- 14.15 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.16, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Fair hearing stayed.** (a) If a county agency or the commissioner denies or revokes a provider's authorization based on a licensing action under section 245A.07, and the provider appeals, the provider's fair hearing must be stayed until the commissioner issues an order as required under section 245A.08, subdivision 5.
  - (b) If the commissioner denies or revokes a provider's authorization based on decertification under section 245H.07, and the provider appeals, the provider's fair hearing must be stayed until the commissioner issues a final order as required under section 245H.07.

## 14.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 28, 2025.

- 14.24 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.161, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Notice.** (a) A county agency or The commissioner must mail written notice to a provider within five days of suspending payment or denying or revoking the provider's authorization under subdivision 1.
- 14.28 (b) The notice must:

14.1

14.2

14.3

14.4

14.5

14.6

14.7

14.8

14.9

14.10

14.11

14.12

14.13

14.14

14.20

14.21

14.22

14.29 (1) state the provision under which a county agency or the commissioner is denying, 14.30 revoking, or suspending the provider's authorization or suspending payment to the provider;

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

(2) set forth the general allegations leading to the denial, revocation, or suspension of
the provider's authorization. The notice need not disclose any specific information concerning
an ongoing investigation;

- (3) state that the denial, revocation, or suspension of the provider's authorization is for a temporary period and explain the circumstances under which the action expires; and
- (4) inform the provider of the right to submit written evidence and argument for consideration by the commissioner.
- (c) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0185, if a county agency or the commissioner suspends payment to a provider under chapter 245E or denies or revokes a provider's authorization under section 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph (d), clause (1) or (2), a county agency or the commissioner must send notice of service authorization closure to each affected family. The notice sent to an affected family is effective on the date the notice is created.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 28, 2025.

- 15.15 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.161, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Duration.** If a provider's payment is suspended under chapter 245E or a provider's authorization is denied or revoked under section 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph (d), clause (1) or (2), the provider's denial, revocation, temporary suspension, or payment suspension remains in effect until:
  - (1) the commissioner or a law enforcement authority determines that there is insufficient evidence warranting the action and a county agency or the commissioner does not pursue an additional administrative remedy under chapter 245E or section 256.98; or
  - (2) all criminal, civil, and administrative proceedings related to the provider's alleged misconduct conclude and any appeal rights are exhausted.
- 15.25 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 28, 2025.

# 15.26 Sec. 22. [119B.162] RECONSIDERATION OF CORRECTION ORDERS.

(a) If a provider believes that the contents of the commissioner's correction order are in error, the provider may ask the Department of Human Services to reconsider the part of the correction order that are alleged to be in error. The request for reconsideration must be made in writing and must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 30 calendar days from the date the correction order was mailed to the provider, and:

15.1

15.2

15.3

15.4

15.5

15.6

15.7

15.8

15.9

15.10

15.11

15.12

15.13

15.14

15.20

15.21

15.22

15.23

15.24

15.27

15.28

15.29

15.30

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

16.1	(1) specify the parts of the correction order that are alleged to be in error;
16.2	(2) explain why they are in error; and
16.3	(3) include documentation to support the allegation of error.
16.4	(b) A request for reconsideration does not stay any provisions or requirements of the
16.5	correction order. The commissioner's disposition of a request for reconsideration is final
16.6	and not subject to appeal under chapter 14. The commissioner's decision is appealable by
16.7	petition for writ of certiorari under chapter 606.
16.8	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.19, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
16.9	Subd. 7. Child care resource and referral programs. Within each region, a child care
16.10	resource and referral program must:
16.11	(1) maintain one database of all existing child care resources and services and one
16.12	database of family referrals;
16.13	(2) provide a child care referral service for families;
16.14	(3) develop resources to meet the child care service needs of families;
16.15	(4) increase the capacity to provide culturally responsive child care services;
16.16	(5) coordinate professional development opportunities for child care and school-age
16.17	care providers;
16.18	(6) administer and award child care services grants;
16.19	(7) cooperate with the Minnesota Child Care Resource and Referral Network and its
16.20	member programs to develop effective child care services and child care resources; and
16.21	(8) assist in fostering coordination, collaboration, and planning among child care programs
16.22	and community programs such as school readiness, Head Start, early childhood family
16.23	education, local interagency early intervention committees, early childhood screening,
16.24	special education services, and other early childhood care and education services and
16.25	programs that provide flexible, family-focused services to families with young children to
16.26	the extent possible-; and
16.27	(9) administer the child care one-stop regional assistance network to assist child care
16.28	providers and individuals interested in becoming child care providers with establishing and
16.29	sustaining a licensed family child care or group family child care program or a child care
16.30	center.

17.1	Sec. 24. [119B.196] FAMILY, FRIEND, AND NEIGHBOR GRANT PROGRAM.
17.2	Subdivision 1. <b>Establishment.</b> The commissioner of human services shall establish a
17.3	family, friend, and neighbor (FFN) grant program to promote children's social-emotional
17.4	learning and healthy development, early literacy, and other skills to succeed as learners and
17.5	to foster community partnerships that will help children thrive when they enter school.
17.6	Subd. 2. Grant awards. The commissioner may award grants under this section to the
17.7	following entities working with FFN caregivers: community-based organizations, nonprofit
17.8	organizations, local or regional libraries, local public health agencies, and Indian Tribes
17.9	and Tribal organizations. Grantees may use grant money received under this section to:
17.10	(1) provide culturally and linguistically appropriate training, support, and resources to
17.11	FFN caregivers and children's families to improve and promote children's health, safety,
17.12	nutrition, and learning;
17.13	(2) connect FFN caregivers and children's families with community resources that support
17.14	the families' physical and mental health and economic and developmental needs;
17.15	(3) connect FFN caregivers and children's families to early childhood screening programs
17.16	and facilitate referrals to state and local agencies, schools, community organizations, and
17.17	medical providers, as appropriate;
17.18	(4) provide FFN caregivers and children's families with information about high-quality,
17.19	community-based early care and learning programs and financial assistance available to the
17.20	families, including but not limited to child care assistance under chapter 119B and early
17.21	learning scholarships under section 124D.165;
17.22	(5) provide FFN caregivers with information about registering as a legal nonlicensed
17.23	child care provider under section 119B.011, subdivision 16, and establishing a licensed
17.24	family or group family child care program;
17.25	(6) provide transportation for FFN caregivers and children's families to educational and
17.26	other early childhood training activities;
17.27	(7) translate materials for FFN caregivers and children's families and provide translation
17.28	services to FFN caregivers and children's families;
17.29	(8) develop and disseminate social-emotional learning, health and safety, and early
17.30	learning kits to FFN caregivers; and

17.31

(9) establish play and learning groups for FFN caregivers.

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

18.1	Subd. 3. Administration. Applicants must apply for the grants using the forms and
18.2	according to timelines established by the commissioner.
18.3	Subd. 4. Reporting requirements. (a) Grantees shall provide data and program outcomes
18.4	to the commissioner in a form and manner specified by the commissioner for the purpose
18.5	of evaluating the grant program.
18.6	(b) Beginning February 1, 2024, and every two years thereafter, the commissioner shall
18.7	report to the legislature on program outcomes.
18.8	Sec. 25. [119B.27] CHILD CARE RETENTION PROGRAM.
18.9	Subdivision 1. Establishment. A child care retention program is established to provide
18.10	eligible child care programs with payments to improve access to child care in Minnesota
18.11	and to strengthen the ability of child care programs to recruit and retain qualified early
18.12	educators to work in child care programs. The child care retention program shall be
18.13	administered by the commissioner of human services.
18.14	Subd. 2. Eligible programs. (a) The following programs are eligible to receive child
18.15	care retention payments under this section:
18.16	(1) family and group family child care homes licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter
18.17	<u>9502;</u>
18.18	(2) child care centers licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503;
18.19	(3) certified license-exempt child care centers under chapter 245H;
18.20	(4) Tribally licensed child care programs; and
18.21	(5) other programs as determined by the commissioner.
18.22	(b) To be eligible, programs must not be:
18.23	(1) the subject of a finding of fraud for which the program or individual is currently
18.24	serving a penalty or exclusion;
18.25	(2) the subject of suspended, denied, or terminated payments to a provider under section
18.26	256.98, subdivision 1; 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph (d), clauses (1) and (2); or 245E.02,
18.27	subdivision 4, paragraph (c), clause (4), regardless of whether the action is under appeal;
18.28	(3) prohibited from receiving public funds under section 245.095, regardless of whether
18.29	the action is under appeal; or
18.30	(4) under license revocation, suspension, temporary immediate suspension, or
18.31	decertification, regardless of whether the action is under appeal.

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

19.1	Subd. 3. Requirements. (a) As a condition of payment, all providers receiving retention
19.2	payments under this section must:
19.3	(1) complete an application developed by the commissioner for each payment period
19.4	for which the eligible program applies for funding;
19.5	(2) submit data on child enrollment and attendance to the commissioner in the form and
19.6	manner specified by the commissioner; and
19.7	(3) attest and agree in writing that the program was open and operating and served a
19.8	minimum number of children, as determined by the commissioner, during the funding
19.9	period, with the exceptions of:
19.10	(i) service disruptions that are necessary to protect the safety and health of children and
19.11	child care programs based on public health guidance issued by the Centers for Disease
19.12	Control and Prevention, the commissioner of health, the commissioner of human services,
19.13	or a local public health agency; and
19.14	(ii) planned temporary closures for provider vacation and holidays during each payment
19.15	period. The maximum allowed duration of vacations and holidays must be established by
19.16	the commissioner.
19.17	(b) Funds received under this section must be expended by a provider no later than six
19.18	months after the date the payment was received.
19.19	(c) Recipients must comply with all requirements listed in the application under this
19.20	section. Methods for demonstrating that requirements have been met shall be determined
19.21	by the commissioner.
19.22	(d) Recipients must keep accurate and legible records of the following at the site where
19.23	services are delivered:
19.24	(1) use of money;
19.25	(2) attendance records. Daily attendance records must be completed every day and
19.26	include the date, the first and last name of each child in attendance, and the times when
19.27	each child is dropped off and picked up. To the extent possible, the times that the child was
19.28	dropped off and picked up from the child care provider must be entered by the person
19.29	dropping off or picking up the child; and
19.30	(3) staff employment, compensation, and benefits records. Employment, compensation,
19.31	and benefits records must include time sheets or other records of daily hours worked and
19.32	documentation of compensation and benefits, and documentation of written changes to

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

employees' rate or rates of pay and basis thereof as a result of retention payments, as required 20.1 under Minnesota Statutes, section 181.032, and any other records required to be maintained 20.2 20.3 under Minnesota Statutes, section 177.30. (e) The requirement to document compensation and benefits only applies to family child 20.4 20.5 care providers if retention payment funds are used for employee compensation and benefits. (f) All records must be retained at the site where services are delivered for six years after 20.6 the date of receipt of payment and be made immediately available to the commissioner upon 20.7 request. Any records not provided to the commissioner at the date and time of the request 20.8 are deemed inadmissible if offered as evidence by a provider in any proceeding to contest 20.9 20.10 an overpayment or disqualification of the provider. (g) Recipients that fail to meet the requirements under this section are subject to 20.11 20.12 discontinuation of future installment payments, recovery of overpayments, and actions under chapter 245E. Except when based on a finding of fraud, actions to establish an overpayment 20.13 must be made within six years of receipt of the payments. Once an overpayment is 20.14 established, collection may continue until funds have been repaid in full. The appeal process 20.15 under section 119B.16 applies to actions taken for failure to meet the requirements of this 20.16 section. 20.17 Subd. 4. **Providing payments.** (a) The commissioner shall provide retention payments 20.18 under this section to all eligible programs on a noncompetitive basis. 20.19 (b) The commissioner shall award retention payments to all eligible programs. The 20.20 payment amounts shall be based on the number of full-time equivalent staff who regularly 20.21 care for children in the program, including any employees, sole proprietors, or independent 20.22 contractors. 20.23 (c) One full-time equivalent is defined as an individual caring for children 32 hours per 20.24 week. An individual can count as more or less than one full-time equivalent staff, but as no 20.25 20.26 more than two full-time equivalent staff. (d) The amount awarded per full-time equivalent individual caring for children for each 20.27 payment type must be established by the commissioner. 20.28 (e) Payments must be increased by 25 percent for providers receiving payments through 20.29 the child care assistance programs under section 119B.03 or 119B.05 or early learning 20.30 scholarships under section 124D.165 or whose program is located in a child care access 20.31 equity area. Child care access equity areas are areas with low access to child care, high 20.32

20.33

poverty rates, high unemployment rates, low home ownership rates, and low median

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

21.1	household incomes. The commissioner must develop a method for establishing child care
21.2	access equity areas.
21.3	(f) The commissioner shall make payments to eligible programs under this section in
21.4	the form, frequency, and manner established by the commissioner.
21.5	Subd. 5. Eligible uses of money. (a) Recipients that are child care centers licensed under
21.6	Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503; certified license-exempt child care centers under chapter
21.7	245H; or Tribally licensed child care centers must use money provided under this section
21.8	to pay for increases in compensation, benefits, premium pay, or additional federal taxes
21.9	assessed on the compensation of employees as a result of paying increased compensation
21.10	or premium pay to all paid employees or independent contractors regularly caring for
21.11	children. The increases in this paragraph must occur no less frequently than once per year.
21.12	(b) Recipients that are family and group family child care homes licensed under
21.13	Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502, or are Tribally licensed family child care homes shall use
21.14	money provided under this section for one or more of the following uses:
21.15	(1) paying personnel costs, such as payroll, salaries, or similar compensation; employee
21.16	benefits; premium pay; or financial incentives for recruitment and retention for an employee,
21.17	a sole proprietor, or an independent contractor;
21.18	(2) paying rent, including rent under a lease agreement, or making payments on any
21.19	mortgage obligation, utilities, facility maintenance or improvements, property taxes, or
21.20	insurance;
21.21	(3) purchasing or updating equipment, supplies, goods, or services;
21.22	(4) providing mental health supports for children; or
21.23	(5) purchasing training or other professional development.
21.24	Subd. 6. Report. By January 1 each year, the commissioner must report to the chairs
21.25	and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over child
21.26	care the number of payments provided to recipients and outcomes of the retention payment
21.27	program since the last report. This subdivision expires January 31, 2033.
21.28	Sec. 26. [119B.28] SHARED SERVICES GRANTS.
21.29	(a) The commissioner of human services shall establish a grant program to distribute
21.30	funds for the planning, establishment, expansion, improvement, or operation of shared
21.31	services alliances to allow family child care providers to achieve economies of scale. The
21.32	commissioner must develop a process to fund organizations to operate shared services

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1
03/20/23 00. 13 pm	11000L KEDL/ IKC11	7 11 1 1 D V	110230001

alliances that includes application forms, timelines, and standards for renewal. For purposes
of this section, "shared services alliances" means networks of licensed family child care
providers that share services to reduce costs and achieve efficiencies.
(b) Programs eligible to be a part of the shared services alliances supported through this
grant program include:
(1) family child care or group family child care homes licensed under Minnesota Rules,
<u>chapter 9502;</u>
(2) Tribally licensed family child care or group family child care; and
(3) individuals in the process of starting a family child care or group family child care
home.
(c) Eligible applicants include public entities and private for-profit and nonprofit
organizations.
(d) Grantees shall use the grant funds to deliver one or more of the following services:
(1) pooling the management of payroll and benefits, banking, janitorial services, food
services, and other operations;
(2) shared administrative staff for tasks such as record keeping and reporting for programs
such as the child care assistance program, Head Start, the child and adult care food program,
and early learning scholarships;
(3) coordination of bulk purchasing;
(4) management of a substitute pool;
(5) support for implementing shared curriculum and assessments;
(6) mentoring child care provider participants to improve business practices;
(7) provision of and training in child care management software to simplify processes
such as enrollment, billing, and tracking expenditures;
(8) support for a group of providers sharing one or more physical spaces within a larger
building; or
(9) other services as determined by the commissioner.
(e) The commissioner must develop a process by which grantees will report to the
Department of Human Services on activities funded by the grant.
<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective July 1, 2023.

23.1	Sec. 27. [119B.29] CHILD CARE PROVIDER ACCESS TO TECHNOLOGY
23.2	GRANTS.
23.3	(a) The commissioner of human services shall distribute money provided by this section
23.4	through grants to one or more organizations to offer grants or other supports to child care
23.5	providers for technology intended to improve the providers' business practices. The
23.6	commissioner must develop a process to fund organizations to provide technology supports
23.7	that includes application forms, timelines, reporting requirements, and standards for renewal.
23.8	(b) Programs eligible to be supported through this grant program include:
23.9	(1) child care centers licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503;
23.10	(2) family or group family child care homes licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter
23.11	9502; and
23.12	(3) Tribally licensed centers, family child care, and group family child care.
23.13	(c) Eligible applicants include public entities and private for-profit and nonprofit
23.14	organizations with the ability to develop technology products for child care business
23.15	management or offer training, technical assistance, coaching, or other supports for child
23.16	care providers to use technology products for child care business management.
23.17	(d) Grantees shall use the grant funds, either directly or through grants to providers, for
23.18	one or more of the following purposes:
23.19	(1) the purchase of computers or mobile devices for use in business management;
23.20	(2) access to the Internet through the provision of necessary hardware such as routers
23.21	or modems or by covering the costs of monthly fees for Internet access;
23.22	(3) covering the costs of subscription to child care management software;
23.23	(4) covering the costs of training in the use of technology for business management
23.24	purposes; and
23.25	(5) other services as determined by the commissioner.
23.26	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
23.27	Subdivision 1. Licensed programs; other child care programs. (a) The commissioner
23.28	shall conduct a background study of an individual required to be studied under section
23.29	245C.03, subdivision 1, at least upon application for initial license for all license types.
23.30	(b) The commissioner shall conduct a background study of an individual required to be
23.31	studied under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, including a child care background study

24.1	subject as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 6a, in a family child care program, licensed
24.2	child care center, certified license-exempt child care center, or legal nonlicensed child care
24.3	provider, on a schedule determined by the commissioner. Except as provided in section
24.4	245C.05, subdivision 5a, a child care background study must include submission of
24.5	fingerprints for a national criminal history record check and a review of the information
24.6	under section 245C.08. A background study for a child care program must be repeated
24.7	within five years from the most recent study conducted under this paragraph.
24.8	(c) At reauthorization or when a new background study is needed under section 119B.125,
24.9	subdivision 1a, for a legal nonlicensed child care provider authorized under chapter 119B:
24.10	(1) for a background study affiliated with a legal nonlicensed child care provider, the
24.11	individual shall provide information required under section 245C.05, subdivision 1,
24.12	paragraphs (a), (b), and (d), to the commissioner and be fingerprinted and photographed
24.13	under section 245C.05, subdivision 5; and
24.14	(2) the commissioner shall verify the information received under clause (1) and submit
24.15	the request in NETStudy 2.0 to complete the background study.
24.16	(e) (d) At reapplication for a family child care license:
24.17	(1) for a background study affiliated with a licensed family child care center or legal
24.18	nonlicensed child care provider, the individual shall provide information required under
24.19	section 245C.05, subdivision 1, paragraphs (a), (b), and (d), to the county agency, and be
24.20	fingerprinted and photographed under section 245C.05, subdivision 5;
24.21	(2) the county agency shall verify the information received under clause (1) and forward
24.22	the information to the commissioner and submit the request in NETStudy 2.0 to complete
24.23	the background study; and
24.24	(3) the background study conducted by the commissioner under this paragraph must
24.25	include a review of the information required under section 245C.08.
24.26	(d) (e) The commissioner is not required to conduct a study of an individual at the time
24.27	of reapplication for a license if the individual's background study was completed by the
24.28	commissioner of human services and the following conditions are met:
24.29	(1) a study of the individual was conducted either at the time of initial licensure or when
24.30	the individual became affiliated with the license holder;
24.31	(2) the individual has been continuously affiliated with the license holder since the last

24.32

study was conducted; and

(3) the last study of the individual was conducted on or after October 1, 1995.

25.1

25.2

25.3

25.4

25.5

25.6

25.7

25.8

25.12

25.13

25.14

25.15

25.16

25.17

25.18

25.19

25.20

25.21

25.22

25.23

25.24

25.25

25.26

25.27

25.28

25.29

25.30

25.31

- (e) (f) The commissioner of human services shall conduct a background study of an individual specified under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (6), who is newly affiliated with a child foster family setting license holder:
- (1) the county or private agency shall collect and forward to the commissioner the information required under section 245C.05, subdivisions 1 and 5, when the child foster family setting applicant or license holder resides in the home where child foster care services are provided; and
- 25.9 (2) the background study conducted by the commissioner of human services under this paragraph must include a review of the information required under section 245C.08, subdivisions 1, 3, and 4.
  - (f) (g) The commissioner shall conduct a background study of an individual specified under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (6), who is newly affiliated with an adult foster care or family adult day services and with a family child care license holder or a legal nonlicensed child care provider authorized under chapter 119B and:
  - (1) except as provided in section 245C.05, subdivision 5a, the county shall collect and forward to the commissioner the information required under section 245C.05, subdivision 1, paragraphs (a) and (b), and subdivision 5, paragraph (b), for background studies conducted by the commissioner for all family adult day services, for adult foster care when the adult foster care license holder resides in the adult foster care residence, and for family child care and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B;
  - (2) the license holder shall collect and forward to the commissioner the information required under section 245C.05, subdivisions 1, paragraphs (a) and (b); and 5, paragraphs (a) and (b), for background studies conducted by the commissioner for adult foster care when the license holder does not reside in the adult foster care residence; and
  - (3) the background study conducted by the commissioner under this paragraph must include a review of the information required under section 245C.08, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), and subdivisions 3 and 4.
  - (g) (h) Applicants for licensure, license holders, and other entities as provided in this chapter must submit completed background study requests to the commissioner using the electronic system known as NETStudy before individuals specified in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, begin positions allowing direct contact in any licensed program.

26.1	(h) (i) For an individual who is not on the entity's active roster, the entity must initiate
26.2	a new background study through NETStudy when:
26.3	(1) an individual returns to a position requiring a background study following an absence
26.4	of 120 or more consecutive days; or
26.5	(2) a program that discontinued providing licensed direct contact services for 120 or
26.6	more consecutive days begins to provide direct contact licensed services again.
26.7	The license holder shall maintain a copy of the notification provided to the commissioner
26.8	under this paragraph in the program's files. If the individual's disqualification was previously
26.9	set aside for the license holder's program and the new background study results in no new
26.10	information that indicates the individual may pose a risk of harm to persons receiving
26.11	services from the license holder, the previous set-aside shall remain in effect.
26.12	(i) (j) For purposes of this section, a physician licensed under chapter 147, advanced
26.13	practice registered nurse licensed under chapter 148, or physician assistant licensed under
26.14	chapter 147A is considered to be continuously affiliated upon the license holder's receipt
26.15	from the commissioner of health or human services of the physician's, advanced practice
26.16	registered nurse's, or physician assistant's background study results.
26.17	(j) (k) For purposes of family child care, a substitute caregiver must receive repeat
26.18	background studies at the time of each license renewal.
26.19	(k) (l) A repeat background study at the time of license renewal is not required if the
26.20	family child care substitute caregiver's background study was completed by the commissioner
26.21	on or after October 1, 2017, and the substitute caregiver is on the license holder's active
26.22	roster in NETStudy 2.0.
26.23	(1) (m) Before and after school programs authorized under chapter 119B, are exempt
26.24	from the background study requirements under section 123B.03, for an employee for whom
26.25	a background study under this chapter has been completed.
26.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.
26.27	Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.05, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
26.28	Subd. 4. Electronic transmission. (a) For background studies conducted by the
26.29	Department of Human Services, the commissioner shall implement a secure system for the
26.30	electronic transmission of:
26.31	(1) background study information to the commissioner;

26.32

(2) background study results to the license holder;

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

27.1	(3) background study information obtained under this section and section 245C.08 to
27.2	counties and private agencies for background studies conducted by the commissioner for
27.3	child foster care, including a summary of nondisqualifying results, except as prohibited by
27.4	law; and
27.5	(4) background study results to county agencies for background studies conducted by
27.6	the commissioner for adult foster care and family adult day services and, upon
27.7	implementation of NETStudy 2.0, family child care and legal nonlicensed child care
27.8	authorized under chapter 119B.
27.9	(b) Unless the commissioner has granted a hardship variance under paragraph (c), a
27.10	license holder or an applicant must use the electronic transmission system known as
27.11	NETStudy or NETStudy 2.0 to submit all requests for background studies to the
27.12	commissioner as required by this chapter.
27.13	(c) A license holder or applicant whose program is located in an area in which high-speed
27.14	Internet is inaccessible may request the commissioner to grant a variance to the electronic
27.15	transmission requirement.
27.16	(d) Section 245C.08, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), applies to results transmitted under
27.17	this subdivision.
27.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.
27.19	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.17, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
27.20	Subd. 6. Notice to county agency. For studies on individuals related to a license to
27.21	provide adult foster care when the applicant or license holder resides in the adult foster care
27.22	residence and family adult day services and, effective upon implementation of NETStudy
27.23	2.0, family child care and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B, the
27.24	commissioner shall also provide a notice of the background study results to the county
27.25	agency that initiated the background study.
27.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.
27.27	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.23, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
27.28	Subd. 2. Commissioner's notice of disqualification that is not set aside. (a) The
27.29	commissioner shall notify the license holder of the disqualification and order the license
27.30	holder to immediately remove the individual from any position allowing direct contact with
27.31	persons receiving services from the license holder if:

(1) the individual studied does not submit a timely request for reconsideration under section 245C.21;

- (2) the individual submits a timely request for reconsideration, but the commissioner does not set aside the disqualification for that license holder under section 245C.22, unless the individual has a right to request a hearing under section 245C.27, 245C.28, or 256.045;
- (3) an individual who has a right to request a hearing under sections 245C.27 and 256.045, or 245C.28 and chapter 14 for a disqualification that has not been set aside, does not request a hearing within the specified time; or
- (4) an individual submitted a timely request for a hearing under sections 245C.27 and 256.045, or 245C.28 and chapter 14, but the commissioner does not set aside the disqualification under section 245A.08, subdivision 5, or 256.045.
  - (b) If the commissioner does not set aside the disqualification under section 245C.22, and the license holder was previously ordered under section 245C.17 to immediately remove the disqualified individual from direct contact with persons receiving services or to ensure that the individual is under continuous, direct supervision when providing direct contact services, the order remains in effect pending the outcome of a hearing under sections 245C.27 and 256.045, or 245C.28 and chapter 14.
  - (c) If the commissioner does not set aside the disqualification under section 245C.22, and the license holder was not previously ordered under section 245C.17 to immediately remove the disqualified individual from direct contact with persons receiving services or to ensure that the individual is under continuous direct supervision when providing direct contact services, the commissioner shall order the individual to remain under continuous direct supervision pending the outcome of a hearing under sections 245C.27 and 256.045, or 245C.28 and chapter 14.
  - (d) For background studies related to child foster care when the applicant or license holder resides in the home where services are provided, the commissioner shall also notify the county or private agency that initiated the study of the results of the reconsideration.
  - (e) For background studies related to family child care, legal nonlicensed child care, adult foster care programs when the applicant or license holder resides in the home where services are provided, and family adult day services, the commissioner shall also notify the county that initiated the study of the results of the reconsideration.

### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 28, 2025.

28.1

28.2

28.3

28.4

28.5

28.6

28.7

28.8

28.9

28.10

28.11

28.12

28.13

28.14

28.15

28.16

28.17

28.18

28.19

28.20

28.21

28.22

28.23

28.24

28.25

28.26

28.27

28.28

28.29

28.30

28.31

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245E.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Appeal of department action.** A provider's rights related to the department's action taken under this chapter against a provider are established in sections 119B.16 and, 119B.161, and 245.095, subdivision 4.

- Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.046, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. Administrative disqualification of child care providers caring for children receiving child care assistance. (a) The department or local agency shall pursue an administrative disqualification, if the child care provider is accused of committing an intentional program violation, in lieu of a criminal action when it has not been pursued. Intentional program violations include intentionally making false or misleading statements; intentionally misrepresenting, concealing, or withholding facts; and repeatedly and intentionally violating program regulations under chapters 119B and 245E. Intent may be proven by demonstrating a pattern of conduct that violates program rules under chapters 119B and 245E.
- (b) To initiate an administrative disqualification, a local agency or the commissioner must mail written notice by certified mail to the provider against whom the action is being taken. Unless otherwise specified under chapter 119B or 245E or Minnesota Rules, chapter 3400, a local agency or the commissioner must mail the written notice at least 15 calendar days before the adverse action's effective date. The notice shall state (1) the factual basis for the agency's determination, (2) the action the agency intends to take, (3) the dollar amount of the monetary recovery or recoupment, if known, and (4) the provider's right to appeal the agency's proposed action.
- (c) The provider may appeal an administrative disqualification by submitting a written request to the Department of Human Services, Appeals Division. A provider's request must be received by the Appeals Division no later than 30 days after the date a local agency or the commissioner mails the notice.
- 29.27 (d) The provider's appeal request must contain the following:
- 29.28 (1) each disputed item, the reason for the dispute, and, if applicable, an estimate of the dollar amount involved for each disputed item;
- 29.30 (2) the computation the provider believes to be correct, if applicable;
- 29.31 (3) the statute or rule relied on for each disputed item; and

29.1

29.2

29.3

29.4

29.5

29.6

29.7

29.8

29.9

29.10

29.11

29.12

29.13

29.14

29.15

29.16

29.17

29.18

29.19

29.20

29.21

29.22

29.23

29.24

29.25

(4) the name, address, and telephone number of the person at the provider's place of business with whom contact may be made regarding the appeal.

- (e) On appeal, the issuing agency bears the burden of proof to demonstrate by a preponderance of the evidence that the provider committed an intentional program violation.
- (f) The hearing is subject to the requirements of sections 256.045 and 256.0451. The human services judge may combine a fair hearing and administrative disqualification hearing into a single hearing if the factual issues arise out of the same or related circumstances and the provider receives prior notice that the hearings will be combined.
- (g) A provider found to have committed an intentional program violation and is administratively disqualified shall be disqualified, for a period of three years for the first offense and permanently for any subsequent offense, from receiving any payments from any child care program under chapter 119B.
- (h) Unless a timely and proper appeal made under this section is received by the department, the administrative determination of the department is final and binding.

### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 28, 2025.

- Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.983, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. Child care providers; financial misconduct. (a) A county or tribal agency may conduct investigations of financial misconduct by child care providers as described in chapter 245E. Prior to opening an investigation, a county or tribal agency must contact the commissioner to determine whether an investigation under this chapter may compromise an ongoing investigation.
- (b) If, upon investigation, a preponderance of evidence shows a provider committed an intentional program violation, intentionally gave the county or tribe materially false information on the provider's billing forms, provided false attendance records to a county, tribe, or the commissioner, or committed financial misconduct as described in section 245E.01, subdivision 8, the county or tribal agency may recommend that the commissioner suspend a provider's payment pursuant to chapter 245E, or deny or revoke a provider's authorization pursuant to section 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph (d), clause (2), prior to pursuing other available remedies. The county or tribe must send notice in accordance with the requirements of section 119B.161, subdivision 2. If a provider's payment is suspended under this section, the payment suspension shall remain in effect until: (1) the commissioner, county, tribe, or a law enforcement authority determines that there is insufficient evidence warranting the action and a county, tribe, or the commissioner does not pursue an additional

30.1

30.2

30.3

30.4

30.5

30.6

30.7

30.8

30.9

30.10

30.11

30.12

30.13

30.14

30.15

30.16

30.17

30.18

30.19

30.20

30.21

30.22

30.23

30.24

30.25

30.26

30.27

30.28

30.29

30.30

30.31

30.32

	03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1
31.1	administrative remedy under chapter 1	19B or 245E, or section 2	<del>256.046 or 256</del>	5.98; or (2)
31.2	all criminal, civil, and administrative pro	eccedings related to the pr	ovider's alleged	<del>l misconduct</del>
31.3	conclude and any appeal rights are exh	<del>austed.</del>		
31.4	(c) For the purposes of this section, as	n intentional program vio	<del>lation includes</del>	intentionally
31.5	making false or misleading statements;	intentionally misreprese	enting, conceal	ing, or
31.6	withholding facts; and repeatedly and i	ntentionally violating pr	<del>ogram regulati</del>	ons under
31.7	chapters 119B and 245E.			
31.8	(d) A provider has the right to admi	nistrative review under s	section 119B.1	<del>61 if: (1)</del>
31.9	payment is suspended under chapter 24	5E; or (2) the provider's	authorization	was denied
31.10	or revoked under section 119B.13, subo	division 6, paragraph (d)	, clause (2).	
31.11	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section	is effective April 28, 202	<u>25.</u>	
	C 25 DIRECTION TO COMMI	CCLONED, TD ANGLE	ON CHILD (	CADE
31.12	Sec. 35. <u>DIRECTION TO COMMI</u>	SSIONEK; IKANSIII	ON CHILD C	<u> ARL</u>
31.13	STABILIZATION GRANTS.			
31.14	(a) The commissioner of human serv	rices must continue provi	ding child care	stabilization
31.15	grants under Laws 2021, First Special S	Session chapter 7, article	14, section 21	, from July
31.16	1, 2023, through no later than December	er 31, 2023.		
31.17	(b) The commissioner shall award t	ransition child care stabi	lization grant	amounts to
31.18	all eligible programs. The transition mo	onth grant amounts must	be based on the	ne number of
31.19	full-time equivalent staff who regularly c	eare for children in the pro	gram, includin	g employees,
31.20	sole proprietors, or independent contract	ctors. One full-time equi	valent staff is o	defined as an
31.21	individual caring for children 32 hours	per week. An individual	can count as r	nore, or less,
31.22	than one full-time equivalent staff, but	as no more than two full	-time equivale	ent staff.
31.23	Sec. 36. <b>DIRECTION TO COMMIS</b>	SIONER; INCREASE I	FOR MAXIM	UM CHILD
31.24	CARE ASSISTANCE RATES.	,		
31.25	Notwithstanding Minnesota Statute	s, section 119B.03, subd	ivisions 6, 6a,	and 6b, the
31.26	commissioner must allocate the addition	nal basic sliding fee chil	d care funds for	or calendar
31.27	year 2024 to counties and Tribes for upo	lated maximum rates bas	ed on relative r	need to cover
31.28	maximum rate increases. In distributing	the additional funds, the c	commissioner s	hall consider
31.29	the following factors by county and Tri	be:		

31.31 (2) the provider type;

31.30

(1) the number of children;

32.1	(3) the age of children served; and
32.2	(4) the amount of the increase in maximum rates.
32.3	Sec. 37. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; ALLOCATING BASIC SLIDING
32.4	FEE FUNDS.
32.5	Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.03, subdivisions 6, 6a, and 6b, the
32.6	commissioner of human services must allocate additional basic sliding fee child care money
32.7	for calendar year 2025 to counties and Tribes to account for the change in the definition of
32.8	family in Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.011, in this article. In allocating the additional
32.9	money, the commissioner shall consider:
32.10	(1) the number of children in the county or Tribe who receive care from a relative
32.11	custodian who accepted a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under
32.12	section 260C.515, subdivision 4, or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code; successor
32.13	custodian or guardian as established according to section 256N.22, subdivision 10; or foster
32.14	parents in a family foster home under section 260C.007, subdivision 16b; and
32.15	(2) the average basic sliding fee cost of care in the county or Tribe.
32.16	Sec. 38. REPEALER.
32.17	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.03, subdivision 4, is repealed.
32.18	(b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.11, subdivision 3, is repealed.
32.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (b) is effective April 28, 2025.
32.20	ARTICLE 2
32.21	CHILD SAFETY AND PERMANENCY
32.22	Section 1. [256.4791] INDEPENDENT LIVING SKILLS FOR FOSTER YOUTH
32.23	GRANTS.
32.24	Subdivision 1. <b>Program established.</b> The commissioner shall establish direct grants to
32.25	local social service agencies, Tribes, and other organizations to provide independent living
32.26	services to eligible foster youth as described under section 260C.452.
32.27	Subd. 2. Grant awards. The commissioner shall request proposals and make grants to
32.28	eligible applicants. The commissioner shall determine the timing and form of the application

HOUSE RESEARCH

AM/BV

H0238DE1

32.29

03/26/23 06:43 pm

and the criteria for making grant awards to eligible applicants.

02/26/22 06 42	HOUSE BESEARCH	4.3.6/DX7	TT0000DE1
03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

33.1	Subd. 3. Program reporting. Grant recipients shall provide the commissioner with a
33.2	report that describes all of the activities and outcomes of services funded by the grant
33.3	program in a format and at a time determined by the commissioner.
33.4	Subd. 4. Undistributed funds. Undistributed funds must be reallocated by the
33.5	commissioner for the goals of the grant program. Undistributed funds are available until
33.6	expended.
33.7	Sec. 2. [256.4792] SUPPORT BEYOND 21 GRANT PROGRAM.
33.8	Subdivision 1. Establishment and authority. The commissioner shall establish the
33.9	support beyond 21 grant program, to distribute grants to one or more community-based
33.10	organizations to provide services and financial support to youth eligible for the support
33.11	beyond 21 program under section 260C.451, subdivision 8b.
33.12	Subd. 2. Distribution of funds by the grantee. (a) The grantee shall distribute support
33.13	beyond 21 grant program funds to eligible youth to be used for basic well-being needs and
33.14	housing as determined solely by the youth.
33.15	(b) The grantee shall distribute support beyond 21 grant funds to eligible youth on a
33.16	monthly basis for 12 months.
33.17	(c) Once a youth has completed the program, the youth must receive a stipend to complete
33.18	an exit survey on their experiences in the program.
33.19	(d) A grantee may not deny funding to a youth based on any criteria beyond a youth's
33.20	eligibility for the support beyond 21 program under section 260C.451, subdivision 8b.
33.21	Subd. 3. Reporting. The selected grantee or grantees must report quarterly to the
33.22	commissioner of human services in order to receive the quarterly payment. Information to
33.23	be reported includes:
33.24	(1) a list of eligible youth who have been referred;
33.25	(2) the amount of funds that have been distributed to each youth per month;
33.26	(3) any surveys completed by youth leaving the support beyond 21 program; and
33.27	(4) other data as determined by the commissioner.
33.28	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.24, subdivision 12, is amended to read:
33.29	Subd. 12. Approval of initial assessments, special assessments, and reassessments. (a)
33.30	Any agency completing initial assessments, special assessments, or reassessments must

02/26/22 06 42	HOUSE BESEARCH	4.3.6/DX7	TT0000DE1
03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

34.1	designate one or more supervisors or other staff to examine and approve assessments
34.2	completed by others in the agency under subdivision 2. The person approving an assessment
34.3	must not be the case manager or staff member completing that assessment.
34.4	(b) In cases where a special assessment or reassessment for Northstar kinship assistance
34.5	and adoption assistance is required under subdivision 8 or 11, the commissioner shall review
34.6	and approve the assessment as part of the eligibility determination process outlined in section
34.7	256N.22, subdivision 7, for Northstar kinship assistance, or section 256N.23, subdivision
34.8	7, for adoption assistance. The assessment determines the maximum of the negotiated
34.9	agreement amount under section 256N.25.
34.10	(c) The <u>effective date of the</u> new rate is <del>effective the calendar month that the assessment</del>
34.11	is approved, or the effective date of the agreement, whichever is later. determined as follows:
34.12	(1) for initial assessments of children in foster care, the new rate is effective based on
34.13	the emergency foster care rate for initial placement pursuant to section 256N.26, subdivision
34.14	<u>6;</u>
34.15	(2) for special assessments, the new rate is effective the date of the finalized adoption
34.16	decree or the date of the court order that transfers permanent legal and physical custody to
34.17	a relative;
34.18	(3) for postpermanency reassessments, the new rate is effective the date that the
34.19	commissioner signs the amendment to the Northstar Adoption Assistance or Northstar
34.20	Kinship Assistance benefit agreement.
34.21	Sec. 4. [260.014] FAMILY FIRST PREVENTION AND EARLY INTERVENTION
34.22	ALLOCATION PROGRAM.
34.23	Subdivision 1. <b>Authorization.</b> The commissioner shall establish a program that allocates
34.24	money to counties and federally recognized Tribes in Minnesota to provide prevention and
34.25	early intervention services under the Family First Prevention Services Act.
34.26	Subd. 2. Uses. (a) Money allocated to counties and Tribes may be used for the following
34.27	purposes:
34.28	(1) to implement or expand any service or program that is included in the state's
34.29	prevention plan;
34.30	(2) to implement or expand any proposed service or program;
34.31	(3) to implement or expand any existing service or programming; and
34.32	(4) any other use approved by the commissioner.

A county or a Tribe must use at least ten percent of the allocation to provide services and 35.1 supports directly to families. 35.2 Subd. 3. Payments. (a) The commissioner shall allocate state funds appropriated under 35.3 this section to each county board or Tribe on a calendar-year basis using a formula established 35.4 35.5 by the commissioner. (b) Notwithstanding this subdivision, to the extent that money is available, no county 35.6 or Tribe shall be allocated less than: 35.7 (1) \$25,000 in calendar year 2024; 35.8 (2) \$50,000 in calendar year 2025; and 35.9 (3) \$75,000 in calendar year 2026 and each year thereafter. 35.10 (c) A county agency or an initiative Tribe must submit a plan and report the use of money 35.11 as determined by the commissioner. 35.12 (d) The commissioner may distribute money under this section for a two-year period. 35.13 Subd. 4. **Prohibition on supplanting existing funds.** Funds received under this section 35.14 must be used to address prevention and early intervention staffing, programming, and other 35.15 activities as determined by the commissioner. Funds must not be used to supplant current 35.16 county or Tribal expenditures for these purposes. 35.17 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.761, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 35.18 35.19 Subd. 2. Agency and court notice to tribes. (a) When a local social services agency has information that a family assessment or, investigation, or noncaregiver sex trafficking 35.20 assessment being conducted may involve an Indian child, the local social services agency 35.21 shall notify the Indian child's tribe of the family assessment or, investigation, or noncaregiver 35.22 sex trafficking assessment according to section 260E.18. The local social services agency 35.23 shall provide initial notice shall be provided by telephone and by email or facsimile. The 35.24 local social services agency shall request that the tribe or a designated tribal representative 35.25 participate in evaluating the family circumstances, identifying family and tribal community 35.26 resources, and developing case plans. 35.27 (b) When a local social services agency has information that a child receiving services 35.28 may be an Indian child, the local social services agency shall notify the tribe by telephone 35.29 and by email or facsimile of the child's full name and date of birth, the full names and dates 35.30 of birth of the child's biological parents, and, if known, the full names and dates of birth of 35.31 the child's grandparents and of the child's Indian custodian. This notification must be provided 35.32

so for the tribe ean to determine if the child is enrolled in the tribe or eligible for Tribal membership, and must be provided the agency must provide this notification to the Tribe within seven days of receiving information that the child may be an Indian child. If information regarding the child's grandparents or Indian custodian is not available within the seven-day period, the local social services agency shall continue to request this information and shall notify the tribe when it is received. Notice shall be provided to all tribes to which the child may have any tribal lineage. If the identity or location of the child's parent or Indian custodian and tribe cannot be determined, the local social services agency shall provide the notice required in this paragraph to the United States secretary of the interior.

- (c) In accordance with sections 260C.151 and 260C.152, when a court has reason to believe that a child placed in emergency protective care is an Indian child, the court administrator or a designee shall, as soon as possible and before a hearing takes place, notify the tribal social services agency by telephone and by email or facsimile of the date, time, and location of the emergency protective case hearing. The court shall make efforts to allow appearances by telephone for tribal representatives, parents, and Indian custodians.
- (d) A local social services agency must provide the notices required under this subdivision at the earliest possible time to facilitate involvement of the Indian child's tribe. Nothing in this subdivision is intended to hinder the ability of the local social services agency and the court to respond to an emergency situation. Lack of participation by a tribe shall not prevent the tribe from intervening in services and proceedings at a later date. A tribe may participate in a case at any time. At any stage of the local social services agency's involvement with an Indian child, the agency shall provide full cooperation to the tribal social services agency, including disclosure of all data concerning the Indian child. Nothing in this subdivision relieves the local social services agency of satisfying the notice requirements in the Indian Child Welfare Act.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

#### Sec. 6. [260.786] CHILD WELFARE STAFF ALLOCATION FOR TRIBES.

Subdivision 1. Allocations. The commissioner shall allocate \$80,000 annually to each of Minnesota's federally recognized Tribes that, at the beginning of the fiscal year, have not joined the American Indian Child welfare initiative under section 256.01, subdivision 14b.

Tribes not participating in or planning to join the initiative as of July 1, 2023, are: Bois Fort Band of Chippewa, Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, Grand Portage Band

36.1

36.2

36.3

36.4

36.5

36.6

36.7

36.8

36.9

36.10

36.11

36.12

36.13

36.14

36.15

36.16

36.17

36.18

36.19

36.20

36.21

36.22

36.23

36.24

36.25

36.26

36.27

36.28

36.29

36.30

36.31

36.32

of Lake Superior Chippewa, Lower Sioux Indian Community, Prairie Island Indian 37.1 Community, and Upper Sioux Indian Community. 37.2 Subd. 2. **Purposes.** Funds must be used to address staffing for responding to notifications 37.3 under the Indian Child Welfare Act and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, to 37.4 the extent necessary, or providing other child protection and child welfare services. Funds 37.5 must not be used to supplant current Tribal expenditures for these purposes. 37.6 Subd. 3. Reporting. By June 1 each year, Tribes receiving these funds shall provide a 37.7 report to the commissioner. The report shall be written in a manner prescribed by the 37.8 commissioner and must include an accounting of funds spent, staff hired, job duties, and 37.9 other information as required by the commissioner. 37.10 Subd. 4. Redistribution of funds. If a Tribe joins the American Indian child welfare 37.11 initiative, the payment for that Tribe shall be distributed equally among the remaining Tribes 37.12 receiving an allocation under this section. 37.13 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.007, subdivision 14, is amended to read: 37.14 Subd. 14. Egregious harm. "Egregious harm" means the infliction of bodily harm to a 37.15 child or neglect of a child which demonstrates a grossly inadequate ability to provide 37.16 minimally adequate parental care. The egregious harm need not have occurred in the state 37.17 or in the county where a termination of parental rights action is otherwise properly venued 37.18 has proper venue. Egregious harm includes, but is not limited to: 37.19 (1) conduct towards toward a child that constitutes a violation of sections 609.185 to 37.20 609.2114, 609.222, subdivision 2, 609.223, or any other similar law of any other state; 37.21 (2) the infliction of "substantial bodily harm" to a child, as defined in section 609.02, 37.22 subdivision 7a; 37.23 (3) conduct towards toward a child that constitutes felony malicious punishment of a 37.24 child under section 609.377; 37.25 (4) conduct towards toward a child that constitutes felony unreasonable restraint of a 37.26 child under section 609.255, subdivision 3; 37.27 (5) conduct towards toward a child that constitutes felony neglect or endangerment of 37.28 a child under section 609.378; 37.29 (6) conduct towards toward a child that constitutes assault under section 609.221, 609.222, 37.30

or 609.223;

(7) conduct towards toward a child that constitutes sex trafficking, solicitation, inducement, or promotion of, or receiving profit derived from prostitution under section 609.322;

- (8) conduct towards toward a child that constitutes murder or voluntary manslaughter as defined by United States Code, title 18, section 1111(a) or 1112(a);
- (9) conduct towards toward a child that constitutes aiding or abetting, attempting, conspiring, or soliciting to commit a murder or voluntary manslaughter that constitutes a violation of United States Code, title 18, section 1111(a) or 1112(a); or
- (10) conduct toward a child that constitutes criminal sexual conduct under sections 609.342 to 609.345 or sexual extortion under section 609.3458. 38.10
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.221, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 38.11
  - Subdivision 1. Relative search requirements. (a) The responsible social services agency shall exercise due diligence to identify and notify adult relatives, as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 27, and current caregivers of a child's sibling, prior to placement or within 30 days after the child's removal from the parent, regardless of whether a child is placed in a relative's home, as required under subdivision 2. The relative search required by this section shall be comprehensive in scope.
  - (b) The relative search required by this section shall include both maternal and paternal adult relatives of the child; all adult grandparents; all legal parents, guardians, or custodians of the child's siblings; and any other adult relatives suggested by the child's parents, subject to the exceptions due to family violence in subdivision 5, paragraph (b). The search shall also include getting information from the child in an age-appropriate manner about who the child considers to be family members and important friends with whom the child has resided or had significant contact. The relative search required under this section must fulfill the agency's duties under the Indian Child Welfare Act regarding active efforts to prevent the breakup of the Indian family under United States Code, title 25, section 1912(d), and to meet placement preferences under United States Code, title 25, section 1915.
  - (c) The responsible social services agency has a continuing responsibility to search for and identify relatives of a child and send the notice to relatives that is required under subdivision 2, unless the court has relieved the agency of this duty under subdivision 5, paragraph (e).

38.1

38.2

38.3

38.4

38.5

38.6

38.7

38.8

38.9

38.12

38.13

38.14

38.15

38.16

38.17

38.18

38.19

38.20

38.21

38.22

38.23

38.24

38.25

38.26

38.27

38.28

38.29

38.30

39.1	Sec. 9. [260C.30] COMMUNITY RESOURCE CENTERS.
39.2	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions
39.3	apply:
39.4	(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services or the commissioner's
39.5	designee.
39.6	(c) "Communities and families furthest from opportunity" means any community or
39.7	family that experiences inequities in accessing supports and services due to the community's
39.8	or family's circumstances, including but not limited to racism, income, disability, language,
39.9	gender, and geography.
39.10	(d) "Community resource center" means a community-based coordinated point of entry
39.11	that provides culturally responsive, relationship-based service navigation and other supportive
39.12	services for expecting and parenting families and youth.
39.13	(e) "Culturally responsive, relationship-based service navigation" means aiding families
39.14	in finding services and supports that are meaningful to them in ways that are built on trust
39.15	and that use cultural values, beliefs, and practices of families, communities, indigenous
39.16	families, and Tribal Nations for case planning, service design, and decision-making processes.
39.17	(f) "Expecting and parenting family" means any configuration of parents, grandparents,
39.18	guardians, foster parents, kinship caregivers, and youth who are pregnant or expecting or
39.19	have children and youth they care for and support.
39.20	(g) "Protective factors" means conditions or attributes of individuals, families,
39.21	communities, and the larger society that mitigate risk and promote the healthy development
39.22	and well-being of children, youth, and families, and that are strengths that help buffer and
39.23	support families.
39.24	Subd. 2. Community resource centers established. The commissioner in consultation
39.25	with other state agencies, partners, and the Community Resource Center Advisory Council
39.26	may award grants to support planning, implementation, and evaluation of community
39.27	resource centers to provide culturally responsive, relationship-based service navigation,
39.28	parent, family, and caregiver supports to expecting and parenting families with a focus on
39.29	ensuring equitable access to programs and services that promote protective factors and

- Subd. 3. Commissioner's duties; related infrastructure. The commissioner in consultation with the Community Resource Center Advisory Council shall:
- (1) develop a request for proposals to support community resource centers;

39.31

39.32

39.33

support children and families.

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1
0.0/40/4.0 00.4.0 0111	HOUSE RESEARCH	/\ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \	コロクショウレコ

40.1	(2) provide outreach and technical assistance to support applicants with data or other
40.2	matters pertaining to equity of access to funding;
40.3	(3) provide technical assistance to grantees including but not limited to skill building
40.4	and professional development, trainings, evaluation, communities of practice, networking,
40.5	and trauma informed mental health consultation;
40.6	(4) provide data collection and IT support; and
40.7	(5) provide grant coordination and management focused on promoting equity and
40.8	accountability.
40.9	Subd. 4. Grantee duties. At a minimum, grantees shall:
40.10	(1) provide culturally responsive, relationship-based service navigation and supports for
40.11	expecting and parenting families;
40.12	(2) improve community engagement and feedback loops to support continuous
40.13	improvement and program planning to better promote protective factors;
40.14	(3) demonstrate community-based planning with multiple partners;
40.15	(4) develop or use an existing parent and family advisory council consisting of community
40.16	members with lived expertise to advise the work of the grantee; and
40.17	(5) participate in program evaluation, data collection, and technical assistance activities.
40.18	Subd. 5. Eligibility. Organizations eligible to receive grant funding under this section
40.19	include:
40.20	(1) community-based organizations, Tribal Nations, urban Indian organizations, local
40.21	and county government agencies, schools, nonprofit agencies or any cooperative of these
40.22	organizations; and
40.23	(2) organizations or cooperatives supporting communities and families furthest from
40.24	opportunity.
40.25	Subd. 6. Community Resource Center Advisory Council; establishment and
40.26	duties. (a) The commissioner, in consultation with other relevant state agencies, shall appoint
40.27	members to the Community Resource Center Advisory Council.
40.28	(b) Membership must be demographically and geographically diverse and include:
40.29	(1) parents and family members with lived experience and who are furthest from
40.30	opportunity;
40.31	(2) community-based organizations serving families furthest from opportunity;

41.1	(3) Tribal and urban American Indian representatives;
41.2	(4) county government representatives;
41.3	(5) school and school district representatives; and
41.4	(6) state partner representatives.
41.5	(b) Duties of the Community Resource Center Advisory Council shall include but are
41.6	not limited to:
41.7	(1) advising the commissioner on the development and funding of a network of
41.8	community resource centers;
41.9	(2) advising the commissioner on the development of requests for proposals and grant
41.10	award processes;
41.11	(3) advising the commissioner on the development of program outcomes and
41.12	accountability measures; and
41.13	(4) advising the commissioner on ongoing governance and necessary support in the
41.14	implementation of the community resource centers.
41.15	Subd. 7. Grantee reporting. Grantees must report program data and outcomes in a
41.16	manner determined by the commissioner and the Community Resource Center Advisory
41.17	Council.
41.18	Subd. 8. Evaluation. The commissioner, in partnership with the Community Resource
41.19	Center Advisory Council, shall develop an outcome and evaluation plan. Beginning July
41.20	1, 2026, a biennial report must be provided to the commissioner and the chairs and ranking
41.21	minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human
41.22	services that reflects the duties of the Community Resource Center Advisory Council in
41.23	subdivision 6 and may describe outcomes and impacts related to equity, community
41.24	partnerships, program and service availability, child development, family well-being, and
41.25	child welfare system involvement.
41.26	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.317, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
41.27	Subd. 3. Order; retention of jurisdiction. (a) A certified copy of the findings and the
41.28	order terminating parental rights, and a summary of the court's information concerning the
41.29	child shall be furnished by the court to the commissioner or the agency to which guardianship
41.30	is transferred.

(b) The orders shall be on a document separate from the findings. The court shall furnish the guardian a copy of the order terminating parental rights.

- (c) When the court orders guardianship pursuant to this section, the guardian ad litem and counsel for the child shall continue on the case until an adoption decree is entered. An in-court appearance hearing must be held every 90 days following termination of parental rights for the court to review progress toward an adoptive placement and the specific recruitment efforts the agency has taken to find an adoptive family for the child and to finalize the adoption or other permanency plan. Review of the progress toward adoption of a child under guardianship of the commissioner of human services shall be conducted according to section 260C.607.
- (d) Upon terminating parental rights or upon a parent's consent to adoption under

  Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 260C.201, subdivision 11, or section 260C.515, subdivision

  53, resulting in an order for guardianship to the commissioner of human services, the court shall retain jurisdiction:
- 42.15 (1) until the child is adopted;

42.1

42.2

42.3

42.4

42.5

42.6

42.7

42.8

42.9

42.10

42.27

42.28

42.29

42.30

42.31

- 42.16 (2) through the child's minority; or
- 42.17 (3) as long as the child continues in or reenters foster care, until the individual becomes
  42.18 21 years of age according to sections 260C.193, subdivision 6, and 260C.451.
- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.451, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 8a. Transition planning. (a) For a youth who will be discharged from foster care at 21 years of age or older, the responsible social services agency must develop an individual transition plan as directed by the youth during the 180-day period immediately prior to the youth's expected date of discharge according to section 260C.452, subdivision 4. The youth's individual transition plan may be shared with a contracted agency providing case management services to the youth under section 260C.452.
  - (b) As part of transition planning, the responsible social services agency must inform a youth preparing to leave extended foster care of the youth's eligibility for the support beyond 21 program under subdivision 8b and must include that program in the individual transition plan for the eligible youth. Consistent with section 13.46, the local social services agency or initiative Tribe must refer a youth to the support beyond 21 program by providing the contracted agency with the youth's contact information

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

43.1	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.451, is amended by adding a subdivision
43.2	to read:
43.3	Subd. 8b. Support beyond 21 program. (a) The commissioner shall establish the support
43.4	beyond 21 program to provide financial assistance to a youth leaving foster care to help
43.5	ensure that the youth's basic needs are met as the youth transitions into adulthood.
43.6	(b) An individual who has left extended foster care and was discharged at the age of 21
43.7	under subdivision 3 is eligible for the support beyond 21 program.
43.8	(c) An eligible youth receiving benefits under the support beyond 21 program is also
43.9	eligible for the successful transition to adulthood program under section 260C.452.
43.10	(d) A youth who transitions to adult residential services under section 256B.092 or
43.11	256B.49 or a youth in a correctional facility licensed under section 241.021 is not eligible
43.12	for the support beyond 21 program.
43.13	(e) To the extent that funds are available under section 256.4792, an eligible youth who
43.14	participates in the support beyond 21 program must receive monthly financial assistance
43.15	for 12 months after the youth is discharged from extended foster care under subdivision 3.
43.16	The funds are available to assist the youth in meeting basic well-being and housing needs
43.17	as determined solely by the youth. Monthly payments must be reduced quarterly. Payments
43.18	must be made by a grantee according to the requirements of section 256.4792, and a list of
43.19	counties that failed to provide complete information and data to the commissioner or the
43.20	commissioner's designee under paragraph (d).
43.21	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.452, is amended by adding a subdivision
43.22	to read:
43.23	Subd. 6. Independent living skills grant program. (a) The commissioner shall establish
43.24	direct grants to local social service agencies, Tribes, and other community organizations to
43.25	provide independent living services to eligible youth under this section.
43.26	(b)The commissioner shall make allocations, request proposals, and specify the
43.27	information and criteria required for applications to the independent living skills grant
43.28	program.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.704, is amended to read:

44.1

44.2

44.3

44.4

44.5

44.6

44.7

44.8

44.9

44.10

44.11

44.14

44.15

44.16

44.17

44.20

44.21

44.24

44.25

44.26

44.27

44.28

44.29

44.30

44.31

44.32

44.33

# 260C.704 REQUIREMENTS FOR THE QUALIFIED INDIVIDUAL'S ASSESSMENT OF THE CHILD FOR PLACEMENT IN A QUALIFIED RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT PROGRAM.

- (a) A qualified individual must complete an assessment of the child prior to the child's placement in a qualified residential treatment program in a format approved by the commissioner of human services unless, due to a crisis, the child must immediately be placed in a qualified residential treatment program. When a child must immediately be placed in a qualified residential treatment program without an assessment, the qualified individual must complete the child's assessment within 30 days of the child's placement. The qualified individual must:
- 44.12 (1) assess the child's needs and strengths, using an age-appropriate, evidence-based, 44.13 validated, functional assessment approved by the commissioner of human services;
  - (2) determine whether the child's needs can be met by the child's family members or through placement in a family foster home; or, if not, determine which residential setting would provide the child with the most effective and appropriate level of care to the child in the least restrictive environment;
- 44.18 (3) develop a list of short- and long-term mental and behavioral health goals for the child; and
  - (4) work with the child's family and permanency team using culturally competent practices.
- If a level of care determination was conducted under section 245.4885, that information must be shared with the qualified individual and the juvenile treatment screening team.
  - (b) The child and the child's parents, when appropriate, may request that a specific culturally competent qualified individual complete the child's assessment. The agency shall make efforts to refer the child to the identified qualified individual to complete the assessment. The assessment must not be delayed for a specific qualified individual to complete the assessment.
  - (c) The qualified individual must provide the assessment, when complete, to the responsible social services agency. If the assessment recommends placement of the child in a qualified residential treatment facility, the agency must distribute the assessment to the child's parent or legal guardian and file the assessment with the court report as required in section 260C.71, subdivision 2. If the assessment does not recommend placement in a

qualified residential treatment facility, the agency must provide a copy of the assessment to the parents or legal guardians and the guardian ad litem and file the assessment determination with the court at the next required hearing as required in section 260C.71, subdivision 5. If court rules and chapter 13 permit disclosure of the results of the child's assessment, the agency may share the results of the child's assessment with the child's foster care provider, other members of the child's family, and the family and permanency team. The agency must not share the child's private medical data with the family and permanency team unless: (1) chapter 13 permits the agency to disclose the child's private medical data to the family and permanency team; or (2) the child's parent has authorized the agency to disclose the child's private medical data to the family and permanency team.

- (d) For an Indian child, the assessment of the child must follow the order of placement preferences in the Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978, United States Code, title 25, section 1915.
  - (e) In the assessment determination, the qualified individual must specify in writing:
- (1) the reasons why the child's needs cannot be met by the child's family or in a family foster home. A shortage of family foster homes is not an acceptable reason for determining that a family foster home cannot meet a child's needs;
- (2) why the recommended placement in a qualified residential treatment program will provide the child with the most effective and appropriate level of care to meet the child's needs in the least restrictive environment possible and how placing the child at the treatment program is consistent with the short-term and long-term goals of the child's permanency plan; and
- (3) if the qualified individual's placement recommendation is not the placement setting that the parent, family and permanency team, child, or tribe prefer, the qualified individual must identify the reasons why the qualified individual does not recommend the parent's, family and permanency team's, child's, or tribe's placement preferences. The out-of-home placement plan under section 260°C.708 must also include reasons why the qualified individual did not recommend the preferences of the parents, family and permanency team, child, or tribe.
- (f) If the qualified individual determines that the child's family or a family foster home or other less restrictive placement may meet the child's needs, the agency must move the child out of the qualified residential treatment program and transition the child to a less restrictive setting within 30 days of the determination. If the responsible social services agency has placement authority of the child, the agency must make a plan for the child's

45.1

45.2

45.3

45.4

45.5

45.6

45.7

45.8

45.9

45.10

45.11

45.12

45.13

45.14

45.15

45.16

45.17

45.18

45.19

45.20

45.21

45.22

45.23

45.24

45.25

45.26

45.27

45.28

45.29

45.30

45.31

45.32

45.33

placement according to section 260C.212, subdivision 2. The agency must file the child's assessment determination with the court at the next required hearing.

- (g) If the qualified individual recommends placing the child in a qualified residential treatment program and if the responsible social services agency has placement authority of the child, the agency shall make referrals to appropriate qualified residential treatment programs and, upon acceptance by an appropriate program, place the child in an approved or certified qualified residential treatment program.
- (h) The commissioner shall establish a review process for a qualified individual's completed assessment of a child. The review process must be developed with county and Tribal agency representatives. The review process must ensure that the qualified individual's assessment is an independent, objective assessment that recommends the least restrictive setting to meet the child's needs.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.80, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
  - Subdivision 1. **Office of the Foster Youth Ombudsperson.** The Office of the Foster Youth Ombudsperson is hereby created. The ombudsperson serves at the pleasure of the governor in the unclassified service, must be selected without regard to political affiliation, and must be a person highly competent and qualified to work to improve the lives of youth in the foster care system, while understanding the administration and public policy related to youth in the foster care system. The ombudsperson may be removed only for just cause. No person may serve as the foster youth ombudsperson while holding any other public office. The foster youth ombudsperson is accountable to the governor and may investigate decisions, acts, and other matters related to the health, safety, and welfare of youth in foster care to promote the highest attainable standards of competence, efficiency, and justice for youth who are in the care of the state.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.01, is amended to read:

#### **260E.01 POLICY.**

46.1

46.2

46.3

46.4

46.5

46.6

46.7

46.8

46.9

46.10

46.11

46.12

46.13

46.14

46.15

46.16

46.17

46.18

46.19

46.20

46.21

46.22

46.23

46.24

46.25

46.26

46.27

46.28

46.29

46.30

46.31

46.32

(a) The legislature hereby declares that the public policy of this state is to protect children whose health or welfare may be jeopardized through maltreatment. While it is recognized that most parents want to keep their children safe, sometimes circumstances or conditions interfere with their ability to do so. When this occurs, the health and safety of the children must be of paramount concern. Intervention and prevention efforts must address immediate concerns for child safety and the ongoing risk of maltreatment and should engage the

protective capacities of families. In furtherance of this public policy, it is the intent of the 47.1 legislature under this chapter to: 47.2 (1) protect children and promote child safety; 47.3 47.4 (2) strengthen the family; 47.5 (3) make the home, school, and community safe for children by promoting responsible child care in all settings; and 47.6 47.7 (4) provide, when necessary, a safe temporary or permanent home environment for maltreated children. 47.8 (b) In addition, it is the policy of this state to: 47.9 (1) require the reporting of maltreatment of children in the home, school, and community 47.10 settings; 47.11 (2) provide for the voluntary reporting of maltreatment of children; 47.12 (3) require an investigation when the report alleges sexual abuse or substantial child 47.13 endangerment, except when the report alleges sex trafficking by a noncaregiver sex trafficker; 47.14 (4) provide a family assessment, if appropriate, when the report does not allege sexual 47.15 abuse or substantial child endangerment; and 47.16 (5) provide a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment when the report alleges sex 47.17 trafficking by a noncaregiver sex trafficker; and 47.18 (6) provide protective, family support, and family preservation services when needed 47.19 in appropriate cases. 47.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. 47.21 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 47.22 Subdivision 1. Establishment of team. A county shall establish a multidisciplinary 47.23 child protection team that may include, but is not be limited to, the director of the local 47.24 welfare agency or designees, the county attorney or designees, the county sheriff or designees, 47.25 representatives of health and education, representatives of mental health, representatives of 47.26 agencies providing specialized services or responding to youth who experience or are at 47.27 risk of experiencing sex trafficking or sexual exploitation, or other appropriate human 47.28 services or community-based agencies, and parent groups. As used in this section, a 47.29 "community-based agency" may include, but is not limited to, schools, social services 47.30

47.31

agencies, family service and mental health collaboratives, children's advocacy centers, early

childhood and family education programs, Head Start, or other agencies serving children and families. A member of the team must be designated as the lead person of the team responsible for the planning process to develop standards for the team's activities with battered women's and domestic abuse programs and services.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

48.1

48.2

48.3

48.4

48.5

48.13

48.16

48.17

48.18

48.19

48.20

48.21

48.22

48.23

48.24

48.25

- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 15a. Noncaregiver sex trafficker. "Noncaregiver sex trafficker" means an individual who is alleged to have engaged in the act of sex trafficking a child and who is not a person responsible for the child's care, who does not have a significant relationship with the child as defined in section 609.341, and who is not a person in a current or recent position of authority as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 10.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
  - Subd. 15b. Noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment. "Noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment" is a comprehensive assessment of child safety, the risk of subsequent child maltreatment, and strengths and needs of the child and family. The local welfare agency shall only perform a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment when a maltreatment report alleges sex trafficking of a child by someone other than the child's caregiver. A noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment does not include a determination of whether child maltreatment occurred. A noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment includes a determination of a family's need for services to address the safety of the child or children, the safety of family members, and the risk of subsequent child maltreatment.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.03, subdivision 22, is amended to read:
- Subd. 22. **Substantial child endangerment.** "Substantial child endangerment" means that a person responsible for a child's care, by act or omission, commits or attempts to commit an act against a child <u>under their in the person's</u> care that constitutes any of the following:
- 48.31 (1) egregious harm under subdivision 5;

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

19.1 <b>(</b> )	2)	abandonment u	ınder	section	260C.301.	subdivision 2

49.3

49.4

- (3) neglect under subdivision 15, paragraph (a), clause (2), that substantially endangers the child's physical or mental health, including a growth delay, which may be referred to as failure to thrive, that has been diagnosed by a physician and is due to parental neglect;
- 49.5 (4) murder in the first, second, or third degree under section 609.185, 609.19, or 609.195;
- 49.6 (5) manslaughter in the first or second degree under section 609.20 or 609.205;
- 49.7 (6) assault in the first, second, or third degree under section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223;
- 49.8 (7) <u>sex trafficking</u>, solicitation, inducement, <u>and or promotion of prostitution under</u> 49.9 section 609.322;
- 49.10 (8) criminal sexual conduct under sections 609.342 to 609.3451;
- 49.11 (9) sexual extortion under section 609.3458;
- 49.12 (10) solicitation of children to engage in sexual conduct under section 609.352;
- 49.13 (11) malicious punishment or neglect or endangerment of a child under section 609.377 or 609.378;
- 49.15 (12) use of a minor in sexual performance under section 617.246; or
- 49.16 (13) parental behavior, status, or condition that mandates that requiring the county
  49.17 attorney to file a termination of parental rights petition under section 260C.503, subdivision
  49.18 2.

#### 49.19 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- 49.20 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.14, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Sexual abuse.** (a) The local welfare agency is the agency responsible for investigating an allegation of sexual abuse if the alleged offender is the parent, guardian, sibling, or an individual functioning within the family unit as a person responsible for the child's care, or a person with a significant relationship to the child if that person resides in
- 49.25 the child's household.
- 49.26 (b) The local welfare agency is also responsible for <u>assessing or investigating</u> when a 49.27 child is identified as a victim of sex trafficking.
- 49.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.14, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

- Subd. 5. Law enforcement. (a) The local law enforcement agency is the agency responsible for investigating a report of maltreatment if a violation of a criminal statute is alleged.
- (b) Law enforcement and the responsible agency must coordinate their investigations or assessments as required under this chapter when the: (1) a report alleges maltreatment that is a violation of a criminal statute by a person who is a parent, guardian, sibling, person responsible for the child's care functioning within the family unit, or by a person who lives in the child's household and who has a significant relationship to the child; in a setting other than a facility as defined in section 260E.03; or (2) a report alleges sex trafficking of a child.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.17, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Local welfare agency.** (a) Upon receipt of a report, the local welfare agency shall determine whether to conduct a family assessment or, an investigation, or a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment as appropriate to prevent or provide a remedy for maltreatment.
  - (b) The local welfare agency shall conduct an investigation when the report involves sexual abuse, except as indicated in paragraph (f), or substantial child endangerment.
  - (c) The local welfare agency shall begin an immediate investigation if, at any time when the local welfare agency is <u>using responding with</u> a family assessment <u>response</u>, <u>and</u> the local welfare agency determines that there is reason to believe that sexual abuse or, substantial child endangerment, or a serious threat to the child's safety exists.
  - (d) The local welfare agency may conduct a family assessment for reports that do not allege sexual abuse, except as indicated in paragraph (f), or substantial child endangerment. In determining that a family assessment is appropriate, the local welfare agency may consider issues of child safety, parental cooperation, and the need for an immediate response.
  - (e) The local welfare agency may conduct a family assessment on for a report that was initially screened and assigned for an investigation. In determining that a complete investigation is not required, the local welfare agency must document the reason for terminating the investigation and notify the local law enforcement agency if the local law enforcement agency is conducting a joint investigation.

50.1

50.2

50.3

50.4

50.5

50.6

50.7

50.8

50.9

50.10

50.11

50.12

50.17

50.18

50.19

50.20

50.21

50.22

50.23

50.24

50.25

50.26

50.27

50.28

50.29

50.30

(f) The local welfare agency shall conduct a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment 51.1 when a maltreatment report alleges sex trafficking of a child and the alleged offender is a 51.2 noncaregiver sex trafficker as defined by section 260E.03, subdivision 15a. 51.3 (g) During a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment, the local welfare agency shall 51.4 initiate an immediate investigation if there is reason to believe that a child's parent, caregiver, 51.5 or household member allegedly engaged in the act of sex trafficking a child or was alleged 51.6 to have engaged in any conduct requiring the agency to conduct an investigation. 51.7 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. 51.8 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.18, is amended to read: 51.9 260E.18 NOTICE TO CHILD'S TRIBE. 51.10 The local welfare agency shall provide immediate notice, according to section 260.761, 51.11 subdivision 2, to an Indian child's tribe when the agency has reason to believe that the family 51.12 assessment or, investigation, or noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment may involve an 51.13 Indian child. For purposes of this section, "immediate notice" means notice provided within 51.14 24 hours. 51.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. 51.16 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.20, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 51.17 51.18 Subd. 2. Face-to-face contact. (a) Upon receipt of a screened in report, the local welfare agency shall conduct a have face-to-face contact with the child reported to be maltreated 51.19 and with the child's primary caregiver sufficient to complete a safety assessment and ensure 51.20 the immediate safety of the child. When it is possible and the report alleges substantial child 51.21 endangerment or sexual abuse, the local welfare agency is not required to provide notice 51.22 before conducting the initial face-to-face contact with the child and the child's primary 51.23 caregiver. 51.24 (b) Except in a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment, the local welfare agency shall 51.25 have face-to-face contact with the child and primary caregiver shall occur immediately after 51.26 the agency screens in a report if sexual abuse or substantial child endangerment is alleged 51.27 and within five calendar days of a screened in report for all other reports. If the alleged 51.28 offender was not already interviewed as the primary caregiver, the local welfare agency 51.29 51.30 shall also conduct a face-to-face interview with the alleged offender in the early stages of

51.31

51.32

Face-to-face contact with the child and primary caregiver in response to a report alleging

the assessment or investigation, except in a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment.

sexual abuse or substantial child endangerment may be postponed for no more than five calendar days if the child is residing in a location that is confirmed to restrict contact with the alleged offender as established in guidelines issued by the commissioner, or if the local welfare agency is pursuing a court order for the child's caregiver to produce the child for questioning under section 260E.22, subdivision 5.

- (c) At the initial contact with the alleged offender, the local welfare agency or the agency responsible for assessing or investigating the report must inform the alleged offender of the complaints or allegations made against the individual in a manner consistent with laws protecting the rights of the person who made the report. The interview with the alleged offender may be postponed if it would jeopardize an active law enforcement investigation. In a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment, the local child welfare agency is not required to inform or interview the alleged offender.
- (d) The local welfare agency or the agency responsible for assessing or investigating the report must provide the alleged offender with an opportunity to make a statement, except in a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment. The alleged offender may submit supporting documentation relevant to the assessment or investigation.
  - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.24, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Determination after family assessment** or a noncaregiver sex trafficking

  assessment. After conducting a family assessment or a noncaregiver sex trafficking

  assessment, the local welfare agency shall determine whether child protective services are
  needed to address the safety of the child and other family members and the risk of subsequent
  maltreatment. The local welfare agency must document the information collected under
  section 260E.20, subdivision 3, related to the completed family assessment in the child's or
  family's case notes.
- 52.26 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.24, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Notification at conclusion of family assessment or a noncaregiver sex**trafficking assessment. Within ten working days of the conclusion of a family assessment or a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment, the local welfare agency shall notify the parent or guardian of the child of the need for services to address child safety concerns or significant

52.1

52.2

52.3

52.4

52.5

52.6

52.7

52.8

52.9

52.10

52.11

52.12

52.13

52.14

52.15

52.16

risk of subsequent maltreatment. The local welfare agency and the family may also jointly agree that family support and family preservation services are needed.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

53.1

53.2

53.3

53.8

53.9

53.16

53.17

53.18

53.19

53.20

53.21

53.22

53.23

53.24

53.25

53.26

53.27

53.28

is made.

- Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.33, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. Following a family assessment or a noncaregiver sex trafficking

  assessment. Administrative reconsideration is not applicable to a family assessment or

  noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment since no determination concerning maltreatment

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.35, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Data retention.** (a) Notwithstanding sections 138.163 and 138.17, a record maintained or a record derived from a report of maltreatment by a local welfare agency, agency responsible for assessing or investigating the report, court services agency, or school under this chapter shall be destroyed as provided in paragraphs (b) to (e) by the responsible authority.
  - (b) For a report alleging maltreatment that was not accepted for <u>an</u> assessment or <u>an</u> investigation, a family assessment case, <u>a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment case</u>, and a case where an investigation results in no determination of maltreatment or the need for child protective services, the record must be maintained for a period of five years after the date <u>that</u> the report was not accepted for assessment or investigation or the date of the final entry in the case record. A record of a report that was not accepted must contain sufficient information to identify the subjects of the report, the nature of the alleged maltreatment, and the reasons <del>as to</del> why the report was not accepted. Records under this paragraph may not be used for employment, background checks, or purposes other than to assist in future screening decisions and risk and safety assessments.
  - (c) All records relating to reports that, upon investigation, indicate either maltreatment or a need for child protective services shall be maintained for ten years after the date of the final entry in the case record.
- (d) All records regarding a report of maltreatment, including a notification of intent to interview that was received by a school under section 260E.22, subdivision 7, shall be destroyed by the school when ordered to do so by the agency conducting the assessment or

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1
U3/Z0/Z3 U0:43 DIII	HOUSE RESEARCH	A IVI / D V	ロロとうもいたし

investigation. The agency shall order the destruction of the notification when other records 54.1 relating to the report under investigation or assessment are destroyed under this subdivision. 54.2 (e) Private or confidential data released to a court services agency under subdivision 3, 54.3 paragraph (d), must be destroyed by the court services agency when ordered to do so by the 54.4 local welfare agency that released the data. The local welfare agency or agency responsible 54.5 for assessing or investigating the report shall order destruction of the data when other records 54.6 relating to the assessment or investigation are destroyed under this subdivision. 54.7 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. 54.8 Sec. 30. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; FOSTER 54.9 CARE FEDERAL CASH ASSISTANCE BENEFITS PRESERVATION. 54.10 (a) The commissioner of human services must develop a plan to preserve and make 54.11 available the income and resources attributable to a child in foster care to meet the best 54.12 interests of the child. The plan must include recommendations on: 54.13 (1) policies for youth and caregiver access to preserved federal cash assistance benefit 54.14 54.15 payments; (2) representative payees for children in voluntary foster care for treatment pursuant to 54.16 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260D; and 54.17 (3) family preservation and reunification. 54.18 (b) For purposes of this section, "income and resources attributed to a child" means all 54.19 benefits from programs administered by the Social Security Administration, including but 54.20 not limited to retirement, survivors benefits, disability insurance programs, Supplemental 54.21 Security Income, veterans benefits, and railroad retirement benefits. 54.22 (c) When developing the plan under this section, the commissioner shall consult or 54.23 54.24 engage with: (1) individuals or entities with experience in managing trusts and investment; 54.25 (2) individuals or entities with expertise in providing tax advice; 54.26 (3) individuals or entities with expertise in preserving assets to avoid negative impact 54.27 54.28 on public assistance eligibility; (4) other relevant state agencies; 54.29 (5) Tribal social services agencies; 54.30

54.31

(6) counties;

55.1	(7) the Children's Justice Initiative;
55.2	(8) organizations that serve and advocate for children and families in the child protection
55.3	system;
55.4	(9) parents, legal custodians, foster families, and kinship caregivers, to the extent possible;
55.5	(10) youth who have been or are currently in out-of-home placement; and
55.6	(11) other relevant stakeholders.
55.7	(d) By December 15, 2023, each county shall provide the following data for fiscal years
55.8	2018 and 2021 to the commissioner or the commissioner's designee in a form prescribed
55.9	by the commissioner:
55.10	(1) the nonduplicated number of children in foster care in the county who received
55.11	income and resources attributable to the child as defined in paragraph (b);
55.12	(2) the number of children for whom the county was the representative payee for income
55.13	and resources attributable to the child;
55.14	(3) the amount of money that the county received from income and resources attributable
55.15	to children in out-of-home placement for whom the county served as the representative
55.16	payee;
55.17	(4) the county's policies and standards regarding collection and use of these funds,
55.18	including:
55.19	(i) how long after a child is in out-of-home placement does the county agency become
55.20	the representative payee;
55.21	(ii) the disposition of any funds that exceed the costs for out-of-home placement for a
55.22	child;
55.23	(iii) how the county complies with federal reporting requirements related to the use of
55.24	income and resources attributable to the child;
55.25	(iv) whether the county uses income and resources attributable to a child for out-of-home
55.26	placement costs for other children who do not receive federal cash assistance benefit
55.27	payments;
55.28	(v) whether the county seeks repayment of federal income and resources attributable to
55.29	a child from the child's parents, who may have received such payments or resources while
55.30	the child is in out-of-home placement, and the ratio of requests for repayment to funds
55.31	collected on an annual basis; and

11	- \	.1	•	C	, •		1 ,	•	11	.1	•	•
1 ~	١,	other	111	torma	tion	20	deterr	ninac	ı h	v the	commi	ssioner.
١.	, ,	ouici	ш	ioima	ион	as	ucteri	$\mathbf{m}$	ıυ	v uic	COHIHI	SSIUHCI.
· ·	,									_		

56.2

56.3

56.4

56.5

56.6

56.7

56.8

56.9

56.10

56.11

56.12

56.13

56.14

56.15

56.20

56.21

56.22

56.23

56.24

56.25

56.26

56.27

56.28

56.29

56.30

56.31

56.32

56.33

(e) By January 15, 2025, the commissioner shall submit a report to the chairs and ranking
minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over human services and
child welfare outlining the plan developed under this section. The report must include a
projected timeline for implementing the plan, estimated implementation costs, and any
legislative actions that may be required to implement the plan. The report must also include
data provided by counties related to the requirements for the parent or custodian of a child
to reimburse a county for the cost of care, examination, or treatment in subdivision (f), and
a list of counties that failed to provide complete information and data to the commissioner
or the commissioner's designee as required under paragraph (d).

- (f) By December 15, 2023, every county shall provide the commissioner of human services with the following data from fiscal years 2018 and 2021 in a form prescribed by the commissioner:
- (1) the nonduplicated number of cases in which the county received payments from a parent or custodian of a child to reimburse the cost of care, examination, or treatment; and
- 56.16 (2) the total amount in payments that the county collected from a parent or custodian of 56.17 a child to reimburse the cost of care, examination or treatment.
- 56.18 (g) The commissioner may contract with an individual or entity to collect and analyze financial data reported by counties in paragraphs (d) and (f).

## Sec. 31. <u>DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; CHILD</u> PROTECTION INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY SYSTEM REVIEW.

- (a) The commissioner of human services must contract with an independent consultant to perform a thorough evaluation of the social services information system (SSIS), which supports the child protection system in Minnesota. The consultant must make recommendations for improving the current system for usability, system performance, and federal Comprehensive Child Welfare Information System compliance, and must address technical problems and identify any unnecessary or unduly burdensome data entry requirements that have contributed to system capacity issues. The consultant must assist the commissioner with selecting a platform for future development of an information technology system for child protection.
- (b) The commissioner of human services must conduct a study and develop recommendations to streamline and reduce SSIS data entry requirements for child protection cases. The study must be completed in partnership with local social services agencies and

others, as determined by the commissioner. By June 30, 2024, the commissioner must provide a status report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over child protection. The status report must include information about procedures for soliciting ongoing user input from stakeholders, progress on solicitation and hiring of a consultant to conduct the system evaluation required under paragraph (a), and a report on progress and completed efforts to streamline data entry requirements and improve user experience.

57.8 ARTICLE 3

57.1

57.2

57.3

57.4

57.5

57.6

57.7

57.10

57.11

57.12

57.13

57.14

57.15

57.16

57.17

57.18

57.19

57.20

57.21

57.22

57.23

57.24

57.25

57.26

57.27

57.28

57.29

57.30

57.31

57.32

57.9 **CHILD SUPPORT** 

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.31, is amended to read:

### 518A.31 SOCIAL SECURITY OR VETERANS' BENEFIT PAYMENTS RECEIVED ON BEHALF OF THE CHILD.

- (a) The amount of the monthly Social Security benefits or apportioned veterans' benefits provided for a joint child shall be included in the gross income of the parent on whose eligibility the benefits are based.
- (b) The amount of the monthly survivors' and dependents' educational assistance provided for a joint child shall be included in the gross income of the parent on whose eligibility the benefits are based.
- (c) If Social Security or apportioned veterans' benefits are provided for a joint child based on the eligibility of the obligor, and are received by the obligee as a representative payee for the child or by the child attending school, then the amount of the benefits shall also be subtracted from the obligor's net child support obligation as calculated pursuant to section 518A.34.
- (d) If the survivors' and dependents' educational assistance is provided for a joint child based on the eligibility of the obligor, and is received by the obligee as a representative payee for the child or by the child attending school, then the amount of the assistance shall also be subtracted from the obligor's net child support obligation as calculated under section 518A.34.
- (e) Upon a motion to modify child support, any regular or lump sum payment of Social Security or apportioned veterans' benefit received by the obligee for the benefit of the joint child based upon the obligor's disability prior to filing the motion to modify may be used to satisfy arrears that remain due for the period of time for which the benefit was received.

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1
-------------------	----------------	-------	----------

58.1	This paragraph applies only if the derivative benefit was not considered in the guidelines
58.2	calculation of the previous child support order.
58.3	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2025.
58.4	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.32, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
58.5	Subd. 3. Parent not considered voluntarily unemployed, underemployed, or employed
58.6	on a less than full-time basis. A parent is not considered voluntarily unemployed,
58.7	underemployed, or employed on a less than full-time basis upon a showing by the parent
58.8	that:
58.9	(1) the unemployment, underemployment, or employment on a less than full-time basis
58.10	is temporary and will ultimately lead to an increase in income;
58.11	(2) the unemployment, underemployment, or employment on a less than full-time basis
58.12	represents a bona fide career change that outweighs the adverse effect of that parent's
58.13	diminished income on the child; or
58.14	(3) the unemployment, underemployment, or employment on a less than full-time basis
58.15	is because a parent is physically or mentally incapacitated or due to incarceration-; or
58.16	(4) a governmental agency authorized to determine eligibility for general assistance or
58.17	supplemental Social Security income has determined that the individual is eligible to receive
58.18	general assistance or supplemental Social Security income. Actual income earned by the
58.19	parent may be considered for the purpose of calculating child support.
58.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
58.21	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.32, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
58.22	Subd. 4. TANF or MFIP recipient. If the parent of a joint child is a recipient of a
58.23	temporary assistance to a needy family (TANF) cash grant, or comparable state-funded
58.24	Minnesota family investment program (MFIP) benefits, no potential income is to be imputed
58.25	to that parent.
58.26	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2025.
58.27	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.34, is amended to read:
58.28	518A.34 COMPUTATION OF CHILD SUPPORT OBLIGATIONS.
58.29	(a) To determine the presumptive child support obligation of a parent, the court shall
58.30	follow the procedure set forth in this section.

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

		(b)	To deter	rmine the	e obligor's	basic	support	obligation,	the court	shal	1
--	--	-----	----------	-----------	-------------	-------	---------	-------------	-----------	------	---

59.2

59.3

59.4

59.5

59.6

59.7

59.8

59.9

59.13

59.14

59.17

59.18

59.19

59.20

59.21

59.22

59.23

59.24

59.25

59.26

59.27

59.28

59.29

59.30

59.31

- (1) determine the gross income of each parent under section 518A.29;
- (2) calculate the parental income for determining child support (PICS) of each parent, by subtracting from the gross income the credit, if any, for each parent's nonjoint children under section 518A.33;
  - (3) determine the percentage contribution of each parent to the combined PICS by dividing the combined PICS into each parent's PICS;
- (4) determine the combined basic support obligation by application of the guidelines in section 518A.35;
- (5) determine each parent's share of the combined basic support obligation by multiplying the percentage figure from clause (3) by the combined basic support obligation in clause (4); and
  - (6) apply the parenting expense adjustment formula provided in section 518A.36 to determine the obligor's basic support obligation.
- 59.15 (c) If the parents have split custody of joint children, child support must be calculated 59.16 for each joint child as follows:
  - (1) the court shall determine each parent's basic support obligation under paragraph (b) and include the amount of each parent's obligation in the court order. If the basic support calculation results in each parent owing support to the other, the court shall offset the higher basic support obligation with the lower basic support obligation to determine the amount to be paid by the parent with the higher obligation to the parent with the lower obligation. For the purpose of the cost-of-living adjustment required under section 518A.75, the adjustment must be based on each parent's basic support obligation prior to offset. For the purposes of this paragraph, "split custody" means that there are two or more joint children and each parent has at least one joint child more than 50 percent of the time;
  - (2) if each parent pays all child care expenses for at least one joint child, the court shall calculate child care support for each joint child as provided in section 518A.40. The court shall determine each parent's child care support obligation and include the amount of each parent's obligation in the court order. If the child care support calculation results in each parent owing support to the other, the court shall offset the higher child care support obligation with the lower child care support obligation to determine the amount to be paid by the parent with the higher obligation to the parent with the lower obligation; and

- (3) if each parent pays all medical or dental insurance expenses for at least one joint child, medical support shall be calculated for each joint child as provided in section 518A.41. The court shall determine each parent's medical support obligation and include the amount of each parent's obligation in the court order. If the medical support calculation results in each parent owing support to the other, the court shall offset the higher medical support obligation with the lower medical support obligation to determine the amount to be paid by the parent with the higher obligation to the parent with the lower obligation. Unreimbursed and uninsured medical expenses are not included in the presumptive amount of support owed by a parent and are calculated and collected as provided in section 518A.41.
- (d) The court shall determine the child care support obligation for the obligor as provided in section 518A.40.
  - (e) The court shall determine the medical support obligation for each parent as provided in section 518A.41. Unreimbursed and uninsured medical expenses are not included in the presumptive amount of support owed by a parent and are calculated and collected as described in section 518A.41.
  - (f) The court shall determine each parent's total child support obligation by adding together each parent's basic support, child care support, and health care coverage obligations as provided in this section.
  - (g) If Social Security benefits or veterans' benefits are received by one parent as a representative payee for a joint child based on the other parent's eligibility, the court shall subtract the amount of benefits from the other parent's net child support obligation, if any. Any benefit received by the obligee for the benefit of the joint child based upon the obligor's disability or past earnings in any given month in excess of the child support obligation must not be treated as an arrearage payment or a future payment.
- (h) The final child support order shall separately designate the amount owed for basic support, child care support, and medical support. If applicable, the court shall use the self-support adjustment and minimum support adjustment under section 518A.42 to determine the obligor's child support obligation.
  - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.41, is amended to read:
- **518A.41 MEDICAL SUPPORT.**
- Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** The definitions in this subdivision apply to this chapter and chapter 518.

60.2

60.3

60.4

60.5

60.6

60.7

60.8

60.9

60.10

60.11

60.12

60.13

60.14

60.15

60.16

60.17

60.18

60.19

60.20

60.21

60.22

60.23

60.24

60.25

60.26

60.27

60.28

61.1	(a) "Health care coverage" means medical, dental, or other health care benefits that are
61.2	provided by one or more health plans. Health care coverage does not include any form of
61.3	public coverage private health care coverage, including fee for service, health maintenance
61.4	organization, preferred provider organization, and other types of private health care coverage.
61.5	Health care coverage also means public health care coverage under which medical or dental
61.6	services could be provided to a dependent child.
61.7	(b) "Health carrier" means a carrier as defined in sections 62A.011, subdivision 2, and
61.8	62L.02, subdivision 16.
61.9	(c) "Health plan" (b) "Private health care coverage" means a health plan, other than any
61.10	form of public coverage, that provides medical, dental, or other health care benefits and is:
61.11	(1) provided on an individual or group basis;
61.12	(2) provided by an employer or union;
61.13	(3) purchased in the private market; or
61.14	(4) provided through MinnesotaCare under chapter 256L; or
61.15	(4) (5) available to a person eligible to carry insurance for the joint child, including a
61.16	party's spouse or parent.
61.17	Health plan Private health care coverage includes, but is not limited to, a health plan meeting
61.18	the definition under section 62A.011, subdivision 3, except that the exclusion of coverage
61.19	designed solely to provide dental or vision care under section 62A.011, subdivision 3, clause
61.20	(6), does not apply to the definition of health plan private health care coverage under this
61.21	section; a group health plan governed under the federal Employee Retirement Income
61.22	Security Act of 1974 (ERISA); a self-insured plan under sections 43A.23 to 43A.317 and
61.23	471.617; and a policy, contract, or certificate issued by a community-integrated service
61.24	network licensed under chapter 62N.
61.25	(c) "Public health care coverage" means health care benefits provided by any form of
61.26	medical assistance under chapter 256B. Public health care coverage does not include
61.27	MinnesotaCare or health plans subsidized by federal premium tax credits or federal
61.28	cost-sharing reductions.
61.29	(d) "Medical support" means providing health care coverage for a joint child by carrying
61.30	health care coverage for the joint child or by contributing to the cost of health care coverage,
61.31	public coverage, unreimbursed medical health-related expenses, and uninsured medical
61.32	health-related expenses of the joint child.

(e) "National medical support notice" means an administrative notice issued by the public authority to enforce health insurance provisions of a support order in accordance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 303.32, in cases where the public authority provides support enforcement services.

- (f) "Public coverage" means health care benefits provided by any form of medical assistance under chapter 256B. Public coverage does not include MinnesotaCare or health plans subsidized by federal premium tax credits or federal cost-sharing reductions.
- (g) (f) "Uninsured medical health-related expenses" means a joint child's reasonable and necessary health-related medical and dental expenses if the joint child is not covered by a health plan or public coverage private health insurance care when the expenses are incurred.
- (h) (g) "Unreimbursed medical health-related expenses" means a joint child's reasonable and necessary health-related medical and dental expenses if a joint child is covered by a health plan or public coverage health care coverage and the plan or health care coverage does not pay for the total cost of the expenses when the expenses are incurred. Unreimbursed medical health-related expenses do not include the cost of premiums. Unreimbursed medical health-related expenses include, but are not limited to, deductibles, co-payments, and expenses for orthodontia, and prescription eyeglasses and contact lenses, but not over-the-counter medications if coverage is under a health plan provided through health care coverage.
- Subd. 2. **Order.** (a) A completed national medical support notice issued by the public authority or a court order that complies with this section is a qualified medical child support order under the federal Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), United States Code, title 29, section 1169(a).
  - (b) Every order addressing child support must state:
- (1) the names, last known addresses, and Social Security numbers of the parents and the joint child that is a subject of the order unless the court prohibits the inclusion of an address or Social Security number and orders the parents to provide the address and Social Security number to the administrator of the health plan;
- 62.29 (2) if a joint child is not presently enrolled in health care coverage, whether appropriate 62.30 health care coverage for the joint child is available and, if so, state:
- (i) the parents' responsibilities for carrying health care coverage;
- 62.32 (ii) the cost of premiums and how the cost is allocated between the parents; and

62.1

62.2

62.3

62.4

62.5

62.6

62.7

62.8

62.9

62.10

62.11

62.12

62.13

62.14

62.15

62.16

62.17

62.18

62.19

62.20

62.21

62.22

62.23

63.1	(iii) the circumstances, if any, under which an obligation to provide <u>private</u> health care
63.2	coverage for the joint child will shift from one parent to the other; and
63.3	(3) if appropriate health care coverage is not available for the joint child, (iv) whether
63.4	a contribution for medical support public health care coverage is required; and
63.5	(4) (3) how unreimbursed or uninsured medical health-related expenses will be allocated
63.6	between the parents.
63.7	Subd. 3. <b>Determining appropriate health care coverage.</b> Public health care coverage
63.8	is presumed appropriate. In determining whether a parent has appropriate private health
63.9	care coverage for the joint child, the court must consider the following factors:
63.10	(1) comprehensiveness of <u>private</u> health care coverage providing medical benefits.
63.11	Dependent <u>private</u> health care coverage providing medical benefits is presumed
63.12	comprehensive if it includes medical and hospital coverage and provides for preventive,
63.13	emergency, acute, and chronic care; or if it meets the minimum essential coverage definition
63.14	in United States Code, title 26, section 5000A(f). If both parents have <u>private</u> health care
63.15	coverage providing medical benefits that is presumed comprehensive under this paragraph,
63.16	the court must determine which parent's private health care coverage is more comprehensive
63.17	by considering what other benefits are included in the <u>private health care</u> coverage;
63.18	(2) accessibility. Dependent <u>private</u> health care coverage is accessible if the covered
63.19	joint child can obtain services from a health plan provider with reasonable effort by the
63.20	parent with whom the joint child resides. Private health care coverage is presumed accessible
63.21	if:
63.22	(i) primary care is available within 30 minutes or 30 miles of the joint child's residence
63.23	and specialty care is available within 60 minutes or 60 miles of the joint child's residence;
63.24	(ii) the <u>private</u> health care coverage is available through an employer and the employee
63.25	can be expected to remain employed for a reasonable amount of time; and
63.26	(iii) no preexisting conditions exist to unduly delay enrollment in private health care
63.27	coverage;
63.28	(3) the joint child's special medical needs, if any; and
63.29	(4) affordability. Dependent <u>private</u> health care coverage is <u>presumed</u> affordable if it is
63.30	reasonable in cost. If both parents have health care coverage available for a joint child that
63.31	is comparable with regard to comprehensiveness of medical benefits, accessibility, and the
63.32	joint child's special needs, the least costly health care coverage is presumed to be the most
63.33	appropriate health care coverage for the joint child the premium to cover the marginal cost

of the joint child does not exceed five percent of the parents' combined monthly PICS. A 64.1 court may additionally consider high deductibles and the cost to enroll the parent if the 64.2 64.3 parent must enroll themselves in private health care coverage to access private health care coverage for the child. 64.4 Subd. 4. Ordering health care coverage. (a) If a joint child is presently enrolled in 64.5 health care coverage, the court must order that the parent who currently has the joint child 64.6 enrolled continue that enrollment unless the parties agree otherwise or a party requests a 64.7 64.8 change in coverage and the court determines that other health care coverage is more appropriate. 64.9 64.10 (b) If a joint child is not presently enrolled in health care coverage providing medical benefits, upon motion of a parent or the public authority, the court must determine whether 64.11 one or both parents have appropriate health care coverage providing medical benefits for 64.12 the joint child. 64.13 (a) If a joint child is presently enrolled in health care coverage, the court shall order that 64.14 the parent who currently has the joint child enrolled in health care coverage continue that 64.15 enrollment if the health care coverage is appropriate as defined under subdivision 3. 64.16 (e) (b) If only one parent has appropriate health care coverage providing medical benefits 64.17 available, the court must order that parent to carry the coverage for the joint child. 64.18 (d) (c) If both parents have appropriate health care coverage providing medical benefits 64.19 available, the court must order the parent with whom the joint child resides to carry the 64.20 health care coverage for the joint child, unless: 64.21 (1) a party expresses a preference for private health care coverage providing medical 64.22 benefits available through the parent with whom the joint child does not reside; 64.23 (2) the parent with whom the joint child does not reside is already carrying dependent 64.24 64.25 private health care coverage providing medical benefits for other children and the cost of contributing to the premiums of the other parent's health care coverage would cause the 64.26 parent with whom the joint child does not reside extreme hardship; or 64.27

64.28 (3) the parties agree as to which parent will carry health care coverage providing medical 64.29 benefits and agree on the allocation of costs.

(e) (d) If the exception in paragraph (d) (c), clause (1) or (2), applies, the court must determine which parent has the most appropriate health care coverage providing medical benefits available and order that parent to carry health care coverage for the joint child.

64.30

64.31

(f) (e) If neither parent has appropriate health care coverage available, the court must order the parents to:

(1) contribute toward the actual health care costs of the joint children based on a pro rata share; or.

- (2) if the joint child is receiving any form of public coverage, the parent with whom the joint child does not reside shall contribute a monthly amount toward the actual cost of public coverage. The amount of the noncustodial parent's contribution is determined by applying the noncustodial parent's PICS to the premium scale for MinnesotaCare under section 256L.15, subdivision 2, paragraph (d). If the noncustodial parent's PICS meets the eligibility requirements for MinnesotaCare, the contribution is the amount the noncustodial parent would pay for the child's premium. If the noncustodial parent's PICS exceeds the eligibility requirements, the contribution is the amount of the premium for the highest eligible income on the premium scale for MinnesotaCare under section 256L.15, subdivision 2, paragraph (d). For purposes of determining the premium amount, the noncustodial parent's household size is equal to one parent plus the child or children who are the subject of the child support order. The custodial parent's obligation is determined under the requirements for public eoverage as set forth in chapter 256B; or
- (3) if the noncustodial parent's PICS meet the eligibility requirement for public coverage under chapter 256B or the noncustodial parent receives public assistance, the noncustodial parent must not be ordered to contribute toward the cost of public coverage.
- (g) (f) If neither parent has appropriate health care coverage available, the court may order the parent with whom the child resides to apply for public health care coverage for the child.
- (h) The commissioner of human services must publish a table with the premium schedule for public coverage and update the chart for changes to the schedule by July 1 of each year.
- (i) (g) If a joint child is not presently enrolled in <u>private</u> health care coverage providing dental benefits, upon motion of a parent or the public authority, the court must determine whether one or both parents have appropriate <u>dental private</u> health care coverage <u>providing</u> <u>dental benefits</u> for the joint child, and the court may order a parent with appropriate <u>dental private</u> health care coverage <u>providing dental benefits</u> available to carry the <u>health care</u> coverage for the joint child.
- (j) (h) If a joint child is not presently enrolled in available <u>private</u> health care coverage providing benefits other than medical benefits or dental benefits, upon motion of a parent or the public authority, the court may determine whether <u>that other private</u> health care

65.1

65.2

65.3

65.4

65.5

65.6

65.7

65.8

65.9

65.10

65.11

65.12

65.13

65.14

65.15

65.16

65.17

65.18

65.19

65.20

65.21

65.22

65.23

65.24

65.25

65.26

65.27

65.28

65.29

65.30

65.31

65.32

65.33

coverage <u>providing other health benefits</u> for the joint child is appropriate, and the court may order a parent with that appropriate <u>private</u> health care coverage available to carry the coverage for the joint child.

- Subd. 5. Medical support costs; unreimbursed and uninsured medical health-related expenses. (a) Unless otherwise agreed to by the parties and approved by the court, the court must order that the cost of <u>private</u> health care coverage and all unreimbursed and uninsured medical health-related expenses under the health plan be divided between the obligor and obligee based on their proportionate share of the parties' combined monthly PICS. The amount allocated for medical support is considered child support but is not subject to a cost-of-living adjustment under section 518A.75.
- (b) If a party owes a <u>joint child basic</u> support obligation for a <u>joint child</u> and is ordered to carry <u>private health</u> care coverage for the joint child, and the other party is ordered to contribute to the carrying party's cost for coverage, the carrying party's <u>child basic</u> support payment must be reduced by the amount of the contributing party's contribution.
- (c) If a party owes a joint child basic support obligation for a joint child and is ordered to contribute to the other party's cost for carrying private health care coverage for the joint child, the contributing party's child support payment must be increased by the amount of the contribution. The contribution toward private health care coverage must not be charged in any month in which the party ordered to carry private health care coverage fails to maintain private coverage.
- (d) If the party ordered to carry <u>private</u> health care coverage for the joint child already carries dependent <u>private</u> health care coverage for other dependents and would incur no additional premium costs to add the joint child to the existing <u>health care</u> coverage, the court must not order the other party to contribute to the premium costs for <u>health care</u> coverage of the joint child.
- (e) If a party ordered to carry <u>private</u> health care coverage for the joint child does not already carry dependent <u>private</u> health care coverage but has other dependents who may be added to the ordered <u>health care</u> coverage, the full premium costs of the dependent <u>private</u> health care coverage must be allocated between the parties in proportion to the party's share of the parties' combined monthly PICS, unless the parties agree otherwise.
- (f) If a party ordered to carry <u>private</u> health care coverage for the joint child is required to enroll in a health plan so that the joint child can be enrolled in dependent <u>private</u> health care coverage under the plan, the court must allocate the costs of the dependent <u>private</u> health care coverage between the parties. The costs of the <u>private</u> health care coverage for

66.1

66.2

66.3

66.4

66.5

66.6

66.7

66.8

66.9

66.10

66.11

66.12

66.13

66.14

66.15

66.16

66.17

66.18

66.19

66.20

66.21

66.22

66.23

66.24

66.25

66.26

66.27

66.28

66.29

66.30

66.31

66.32

66.33

the party ordered to carry the health care coverage for the joint child must not be allocated 67.1 between the parties. 67.2 (g) If the joint child is receiving any form of public health care coverage: 67.3 (1) the parent with whom the joint child does not reside shall contribute a monthly 67.4 67.5 amount toward the actual cost of public health care coverage. The amount of the noncustodial parent's contribution is determined by applying the noncustodial parent's PICS to the premium 67.6 scale for MinnesotaCare under section 256L.15, subdivision 2, paragraph (d). If the 67.7 noncustodial parent's PICS meets the eligibility requirements for MinnesotaCare, the 67.8 contribution is the amount that the noncustodial parent would pay for the child's premium; 67.9 (2) if the noncustodial parent's PICS exceeds the eligibility requirements, the contribution 67.10 is the amount of the premium for the highest eligible income on the premium scale for 67.11 MinnesotaCare under section 256L.15, subdivision 2, paragraph (d). For purposes of 67.12 determining the premium amount, the noncustodial parent's household size is equal to one 67.13 parent plus the child or children who are the subject of the order; 67.14 (3) the custodial parent's obligation is determined under the requirements for public 67.15 health care coverage in chapter 256B; or 67.16 (4) if the noncustodial parent's PICS is less than 200 percent of the federal poverty 67.17 guidelines for one person or the noncustodial parent receives public assistance, the 67.18 noncustodial parent must not be ordered to contribute toward the cost of public health care 67.19 coverage. 67.20(h) The commissioner of human services must publish a table for section 256L.15, 67.21 subdivision 2, paragraph (d), and update the table with changes to the schedule by July 1 67.22 of each year. 67.23 Subd. 6. Notice or court order sent to party's employer, union, or health carrier. (a) 67.24 67.25 The public authority must forward a copy of the national medical support notice or court order for private health care coverage to the party's employer within two business days after 67.26 the date the party is entered into the work reporting system under section 256.998. 67.27 (b) The public authority or a party seeking to enforce an order for private health care 67.28 coverage must forward a copy of the national medical support notice or court order to the 67.29 obligor's employer or union, or to the health carrier under the following circumstances: 67.30 (1) the party ordered to carry private health care coverage for the joint child fails to 67.31

67.32

provide written proof to the other party or the public authority, within 30 days of the effective

date of the court order, that the party has applied for <u>private</u> health care coverage for the joint child;

- (2) the party seeking to enforce the order or the public authority gives written notice to the party ordered to carry <u>private</u> health care coverage for the joint child of its intent to enforce medical support. The party seeking to enforce the order or public authority must mail the written notice to the last known address of the party ordered to carry <u>private</u> health care coverage for the joint child; and
- (3) the party ordered to carry <u>private</u> health care coverage for the joint child fails, within 15 days after the date on which the written notice under clause (2) was mailed, to provide written proof to the other party or the public authority that the party has applied for <u>private</u> health care coverage for the joint child.
- (c) The public authority is not required to forward a copy of the national medical support notice or court order to the obligor's employer or union, or to the health carrier, if the court orders <u>private</u> health care coverage for the joint child that is not employer-based or union-based coverage.
- Subd. 7. **Employer or union requirements.** (a) An employer or union must forward the national medical support notice or court order to its health plan within 20 business days after the date on the national medical support notice or after receipt of the court order.
- (b) Upon determination by an employer's or union's health plan administrator that a joint child is eligible to be covered under the health plan, the employer or union and health plan must enroll the joint child as a beneficiary in the health plan, and the employer must withhold any required premiums from the income or wages of the party ordered to carry health care coverage for the joint child.
- (c) If enrollment of the party ordered to carry <u>private</u> health care coverage for a joint child is necessary to obtain dependent <u>private</u> health care coverage under the plan, and the party is not enrolled in the health plan, the employer or union must enroll the party in the plan.
- (d) Enrollment of dependents and, if necessary, the party ordered to carry <u>private</u> health care coverage for the joint child must be immediate and not dependent upon open enrollment periods. Enrollment is not subject to the underwriting policies under section 62A.048.
- (e) Failure of the party ordered to carry <u>private</u> health care coverage for the joint child to execute any documents necessary to enroll the dependent in the health plan does not affect the obligation of the employer or union and health plan to enroll the dependent in a

68.1

68.2

68.3

68.4

68.5

68.6

68.7

68.8

68.9

68.10

68.11

68.12

68.13

68.14

68.15

68.16

68.17

68.18

68.19

68.20

68.21

68.22

68.23

68.24

68.25

68.26

68.27

68.28

68.29

68.30

68.31

68.32

plan. Information and authorization provided by the public authority, or by a party or guardian, is valid for the purposes of meeting enrollment requirements of the health plan.

- (f) An employer or union that is included under the federal Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), United States Code, title 29, section 1169(a), may not deny enrollment to the joint child or to the parent if necessary to enroll the joint child based on exclusionary clauses described in section 62A.048.
- (g) A new employer or union of a party who is ordered to provide <u>private</u> health care coverage for a joint child must enroll the joint child in the party's health plan as required by a national medical support notice or court order.
- Subd. 8. **Health plan requirements.** (a) If a health plan administrator receives a completed national medical support notice or court order, the plan administrator must notify the parties, and the public authority if the public authority provides support enforcement services, within 40 business days after the date of the notice or after receipt of the court order, of the following:
- (1) whether <u>health care</u> coverage is available to the joint child under the terms of the health plan and, if not, the reason why <u>health care</u> coverage is not available;
  - (2) whether the joint child is covered under the health plan;
- (3) the effective date of the joint child's coverage under the health plan; and
- (4) what steps, if any, are required to effectuate the joint child's coverage under the health plan.
  - (b) If the employer or union offers more than one plan and the national medical support notice or court order does not specify the plan to be carried, the plan administrator must notify the parents and the public authority if the public authority provides support enforcement services. When there is more than one option available under the plan, the public authority, in consultation with the parent with whom the joint child resides, must promptly select from available plan options.
  - (c) The plan administrator must provide the parents and public authority, if the public authority provides support enforcement services, with a notice of the joint child's enrollment, description of the health care coverage, and any documents necessary to effectuate coverage.
- 69.30 (d) The health plan must send copies of all correspondence regarding the <u>private</u> health 69.31 care coverage to the parents.

69.1

69.2

69.3

69.4

69.5

69.6

69.7

69.8

69.9

69.10

69.11

69.12

69.13

69.14

69.15

69.16

69.17

69.18

69.19

69.20

69.21

69.22

69.23

69.24

69.25

69.26

69.27

69.28

(e) An insured joint child's parent's signature is a valid authorization to a health plan for purposes of processing an insurance reimbursement payment to the medical services provider or to the parent, if medical services have been prepaid by that parent.

- Subd. 9. **Employer or union liability.** (a) An employer or union that willfully fails to comply with the order or notice is liable for any uninsured medical health-related expenses incurred by the dependents while the dependents were eligible to be enrolled in the health plan and for any other premium costs incurred because the employer or union willfully failed to comply with the order or notice.
- (b) An employer or union that fails to comply with the order or notice is subject to a contempt finding, a \$250 civil penalty under section 518A.73, and is subject to a civil penalty of \$500 to be paid to the party entitled to reimbursement or the public authority. Penalties paid to the public authority are designated for child support enforcement services.
- Subd. 10. **Contesting enrollment.** (a) A party may contest a joint child's enrollment in a health plan on the limited grounds that the enrollment is improper due to mistake of fact or that the enrollment meets the requirements of section 518.145.
- (b) If the party chooses to contest the enrollment, the party must do so no later than 15 days after the employer notifies the party of the enrollment by doing the following:
- (1) filing a motion in district court or according to section 484.702 and the expedited child support process rules if the public authority provides support enforcement services;
- (2) serving the motion on the other party and public authority if the public authority provides support enforcement services; and
- (3) securing a date for the matter to be heard no later than 45 days after the notice of enrollment.
- 70.24 (c) The enrollment must remain in place while the party contests the enrollment.
- Subd. 11. **Disenrollment; continuation of coverage; coverage options.** (a) Unless a court order provides otherwise, a child for whom a party is required to provide <u>private</u> health care coverage under this section must be covered as a dependent of the party until the child is emancipated, until further order of the court, or as consistent with the terms of the <u>health</u> care coverage.
- 70.30 (b) The health carrier, employer, or union may not disenroll or eliminate <u>health care</u> 70.31 coverage for the child unless:

70.1

70.2

70.3

70.4

70.5

70.6

70.7

70.8

70.9

70.10

70.11

70.12

70.13

70.14

70.15

70.16

70.17

70.18

70.19

70.20

70.21

70.22

(1) the health carrier, employer, or union is provided satisfactory written evidence that the court order is no longer in effect;

- (2) the joint child is or will be enrolled in comparable <u>private</u> health care coverage through another health plan that will take effect no later than the effective date of the disenrollment;
  - (3) the employee is no longer eligible for dependent health care coverage; or
- (4) the required premium has not been paid by or on behalf of the joint child.
- (c) The health plan must provide 30 days' written notice to the joint child's parents, and the public authority if the public authority provides support enforcement services, before the health plan disenrolls or eliminates the joint child's health care coverage.
- (d) A joint child enrolled in <u>private</u> health care coverage under a qualified medical child support order, including a national medical support notice, under this section is a dependent and a qualified beneficiary under the Consolidated Omnibus Budget and Reconciliation Act of 1985 (COBRA), Public Law 99-272. Upon expiration of the order, the joint child is entitled to the opportunity to elect continued <u>health care</u> coverage that is available under the health plan. The employer or union must provide notice to the parties and the public authority, if it provides support services, within ten days of the termination date.
- (e) If the public authority provides support enforcement services and a plan administrator reports to the public authority that there is more than one coverage option available under the health plan, the public authority, in consultation with the parent with whom the joint child resides, must promptly select health care coverage from the available options.
- Subd. 12. **Spousal or former spousal coverage.** The court must require the parent with whom the joint child does not reside to provide dependent <u>private</u> health care coverage for the benefit of the parent with whom the joint child resides if the parent with whom the child does not reside is ordered to provide dependent <u>private</u> health care coverage for the parties' joint child and adding the other parent to the <u>health care</u> coverage results in no additional premium cost.
- Subd. 13. **Disclosure of information.** (a) If the public authority provides support enforcement services, the parties must provide the public authority with the following information:
- (1) information relating to dependent health care coverage or public coverage available for the benefit of the joint child for whom support is sought, including all information required to be included in a medical support order under this section;

71.1

71.2

71.3

71.4

71.5

71.6

71.7

71.8

71.9

71.10

71.11

71.12

71.13

71.14

71.15

71.16

71.17

71.18

71.19

71.20

71.21

71.22

71.23

71.24

71.25

71.26

(2) verification that application for court-ordered health care coverage was made within 30 days of the court's order; and

- (3) the reason that a joint child is not enrolled in court-ordered health care coverage, if a joint child is not enrolled in health care coverage or subsequently loses health care coverage.
- (b) Upon request from the public authority under section 256.978, an employer, union, or plan administrator, including an employer subject to the federal Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), United States Code, title 29, section 1169(a), must provide the public authority the following information:
- (1) information relating to dependent private health care coverage available to a party for the benefit of the joint child for whom support is sought, including all information 72.10 required to be included in a medical support order under this section; and 72.11
  - (2) information that will enable the public authority to determine whether a health plan is appropriate for a joint child, including, but not limited to, all available plan options, any geographic service restrictions, and the location of service providers.
  - (c) The employer, union, or plan administrator must not release information regarding one party to the other party. The employer, union, or plan administrator must provide both parties with insurance identification cards and all necessary written information to enable the parties to utilize the insurance benefits for the covered dependent.
  - (d) The public authority is authorized to release to a party's employer, union, or health plan information necessary to verify availability of dependent private health care coverage, or to establish, modify, or enforce medical support.
  - (e) An employee must disclose to an employer if medical support is required to be withheld under this section and the employer must begin withholding according to the terms of the order and under section 518A.53. If an employee discloses an obligation to obtain private health care coverage and health care coverage is available through the employer, the employer must make all application processes known to the individual and enroll the employee and dependent in the plan.
  - Subd. 14. Child support enforcement services. The public authority must take necessary steps to establish, enforce, and modify an order for medical support if the joint child receives public assistance or a party completes an application for services from the public authority under section 518A.51.
- 72.32 Subd. 15. Enforcement. (a) Remedies available for collecting and enforcing child support apply to medical support. 72.33

72.1

72.2

72.3

72.4

72.5

72.6

72.7

72.8

72.9

72.12

72.13

72.14

72.15

72.16

72.17

72.18

72.19

72.20

72.21

72.22

72.23

72.24

72.25

72.26

72.27

72.28

72.29

72.30

- (b) For the purpose of enforcement, the following are additional support:
- 73.2 (1) the costs of individual or group health or hospitalization coverage;
- 73.3 (2) dental coverage;

73.4

73.5

73.6

73.7

73.8

73.9

73.10

73.11

73.12

73.13

73.14

73.15

73.16

73.17

73.18

73.19

73.20

73.21

73.30

73.31

- (3) medical costs ordered by the court to be paid by either party, including health care coverage premiums paid by the obligee because of the obligor's failure to obtain <u>health care</u> coverage as ordered; and
  - (4) liabilities established under this subdivision.
  - (c) A party who fails to carry court-ordered dependent <u>private</u> health care coverage is liable for the joint child's uninsured <u>medical</u> <u>health-related</u> expenses unless a court order provides otherwise. A party's failure to carry court-ordered <u>health care</u> coverage, or to provide other medical support as ordered, is a basis for modification of medical support under section 518A.39, subdivision 8, unless it meets the presumption in section 518A.39, subdivision 2.
  - (d) Payments by the health carrier or employer for services rendered to the dependents that are directed to a party not owed reimbursement must be endorsed over to and forwarded to the vendor or appropriate party or the public authority. A party retaining insurance reimbursement not owed to the party is liable for the amount of the reimbursement.
  - Subd. 16. **Offset.** (a) If a party is the parent with primary physical custody as defined in section 518A.26, subdivision 17, and is an obligor ordered to contribute to the other party's cost for carrying health care coverage for the joint child, the other party's child support and spousal maintenance obligations are subject to an offset under subdivision 5.
- 73.22 (b) The public authority, if the public authority provides child support enforcement services, may remove the offset to a party's child support obligation when:
- 73.24 (1) the party's court-ordered private health care coverage for the joint child terminates;
- 73.25 (2) the party does not enroll the joint child in other private health care coverage; and
- 73.26 (3) a modification motion is not pending.
- The public authority must provide notice to the parties of the action. If neither party requests a hearing, the public authority must remove the offset effective the first day of the month following termination of the joint child's private health care coverage.
  - (c) The public authority, if the public authority provides child support enforcement services, may resume the offset when the party ordered to provide <u>private</u> health care coverage for the joint child has resumed the court-ordered private health care coverage or

enrolled the joint child in other <u>private</u> health care coverage. The public authority must provide notice to the parties of the action. If neither party requests a hearing, the public authority must resume the offset effective the first day of the month following certification that private health care coverage is in place for the joint child.

- (d) A party may contest the public authority's action to remove or resume the offset to the child support obligation if the party makes a written request for a hearing within 30 days after receiving written notice. If a party makes a timely request for a hearing, the public authority must schedule a hearing and send written notice of the hearing to the parties by mail to the parties' last known addresses at least 14 days before the hearing. The hearing must be conducted in district court or in the expedited child support process if section 484.702 applies. The district court or child support magistrate must determine whether removing or resuming the offset is appropriate and, if appropriate, the effective date for the removal or resumption.
- Subd. 16a. Suspension or reinstatement of medical support contribution. (a) If a party is the parent with primary physical custody, as defined in section 518A.26, subdivision 17, and is ordered to carry private health care coverage for the joint child but fails to carry the court-ordered private health care coverage, the public authority may suspend the medical support obligation of the other party if that party has been court-ordered to contribute to the cost of the private health care coverage carried by the parent with primary physical custody of the joint child.
- (b) If the public authority provides child support enforcement services, the public authority may suspend the other party's medical support contribution toward private health care coverage when:
- 74.24 (1) the party's court-ordered private health care coverage for the joint child terminates;
- 74.25 (2) the party does not enroll the joint child in other private health care coverage; and
- 74.26 (3) a modification motion is not pending.
- The public authority must provide notice to the parties of the action. If neither party requests

  a hearing, the public authority must remove the medical support contribution effective the

  first day of the month following the termination of the joint child's private health care

  coverage.
- 74.31 (c) If the public authority provides child support enforcement services, the public authority
  74.32 may reinstate the medical support contribution when the party ordered to provide private
  74.33 health care coverage for the joint child has resumed the joint child's court-ordered private

74.1

74.2

74.3

74.4

74.5

74.6

74.7

74.8

74.9

74.10

74.11

74.12

74.13

74.14

74.15

74.16

74.17

74.18

74.19

74.20

74.21

74.22

health care coverage or has enrolled the joint child in other private health care coverage.

The public authority must provide notice to the parties of the action. If neither party requests a hearing, the public authority must resume the medical support contribution effective the first day of the month following certification that the joint child is enrolled in private health care coverage.

- (d) A party may contest the public authority's action to suspend or reinstate the medical support contribution if the party makes a written request for a hearing within 30 days after receiving written notice. If a party makes a timely request for a hearing, the public authority must schedule a hearing and send written notice of the hearing to the parties by mail to the parties' last known addresses at least 14 days before the hearing. The hearing must be conducted in district court or in the expedited child support process if section 484.702 applies. The district court or child support magistrate must determine whether suspending or reinstating the medical support contribution is appropriate and, if appropriate, the effective date of the removal or reinstatement of the medical support contribution.
- Subd. 17. **Collecting unreimbursed or uninsured <u>medical health-related</u> expenses.** (a)
  This subdivision and subdivision 18 apply when a court order has determined and ordered
  the parties' proportionate share and responsibility to contribute to unreimbursed or uninsured
  medical health-related expenses.
  - (b) A party requesting reimbursement of unreimbursed or uninsured medical health-related expenses must initiate a request to the other party within two years of the date that the requesting party incurred the unreimbursed or uninsured medical health-related expenses. If a court order has been signed ordering the contribution towards toward unreimbursed or uninsured expenses, a two-year limitations provision must be applied to any requests made on or after January 1, 2007. The provisions of this section apply retroactively to court orders signed before January 1, 2007. Requests for unreimbursed or uninsured expenses made on or after January 1, 2007, may include expenses incurred before January 1, 2007, and on or after January 1, 2005.
  - (c) A requesting party must mail a written notice of intent to collect the unreimbursed or uninsured <a href="mailto:medical\_health-related">medical\_health-related</a> expenses and a copy of an affidavit of health care expenses to the other party at the other party's last known address.
  - (d) The written notice must include a statement that the other party has 30 days from the date the notice was mailed to (1) pay in full; (2) agree to a payment schedule; or (3) file a motion requesting a hearing to contest the amount due or to set a court-ordered monthly payment amount. If the public authority provides services, the written notice also must

75.1

75.2

75.3

75.4

75.5

75.6

75.7

75.8

75.9

75.10

75.11

75.12

75.13

75.14

75.19

75.20

75.21

75.22

75.23

75.24

75.25

75.26

75.27

75.28

75.29

75.30

75.31

75.32

75.33

include a statement that, if the other party does not respond within the 30 days, the requesting party may submit the amount due to the public authority for collection.

- (e) The affidavit of health care expenses must itemize and document the joint child's unreimbursed or uninsured medical health-related expenses and include copies of all bills, receipts, and insurance company explanations of benefits.
- (f) If the other party does not respond to the request for reimbursement within 30 days, the requesting party may commence enforcement against the other party under subdivision 18; file a motion for a court-ordered monthly payment amount under paragraph (i); or notify the public authority, if the public authority provides services, that the other party has not responded.
- (g) The notice to the public authority must include: a copy of the written notice, a copy of the affidavit of health care expenses, and copies of all bills, receipts, and insurance company explanations of benefits.
- (h) If noticed under paragraph (f), the public authority must serve the other party with a notice of intent to enforce unreimbursed and uninsured medical health-related expenses and file an affidavit of service by mail with the district court administrator. The notice must state that the other party has 14 days to (1) pay in full; or (2) file a motion to contest the amount due or to set a court-ordered monthly payment amount. The notice must also state that if there is no response within 14 days, the public authority will commence enforcement of the expenses as arrears under subdivision 18.
- (i) To contest the amount due or set a court-ordered monthly payment amount, a party must file a timely motion and schedule a hearing in district court or in the expedited child support process if section 484.702 applies. The moving party must provide the other party and the public authority, if the public authority provides services, with written notice at least 14 days before the hearing by mailing notice of the hearing to the public authority and to the requesting party at the requesting party's last known address. The moving party must file the affidavit of health care expenses with the court at least five days before the hearing. The district court or child support magistrate must determine liability for the expenses and order that the liable party is subject to enforcement of the expenses as arrears under subdivision 18 or set a court-ordered monthly payment amount.
- Subd. 18. Enforcing unreimbursed or uninsured medical health-related expenses as arrears. (a) Unreimbursed or uninsured medical health-related expenses enforced under this subdivision are collected as arrears.

76.1

76.2

76.3

76.4

76.5

76.6

76.7

76.8

76.9

76.10

76.11

76.12

76.13

76.14

76.15

76.16

76.17

76.18

76.19

76.20

76.21

76.22

76.23

76.24

76.25

76.26

76.27

76.28

76.29

76.30

76.31

76.32

(b) If the liable party is the parent with primary physical custody as defined in section 518A.26, subdivision 17, the unreimbursed or uninsured medical health-related expenses must be deducted from any arrears the requesting party owes the liable party. If unreimbursed or uninsured expenses remain after the deduction, the expenses must be collected as follows:

- (1) If the requesting party owes a current child support obligation to the liable party, 20 percent of each payment received from the requesting party must be returned to the requesting party. The total amount returned to the requesting party each month must not exceed 20 percent of the current monthly support obligation.
- (2) If the requesting party does not owe current child support or arrears, a payment agreement under section 518A.69 is required. If the liable party fails to enter into or comply with a payment agreement, the requesting party or the public authority, if the public authority provides services, may schedule a hearing to set a court-ordered payment. The requesting party or the public authority must provide the liable party with written notice of the hearing at least 14 days before the hearing.
- (c) If the liable party is not the parent with primary physical custody as defined in section 518A.26, subdivision 17, the unreimbursed or uninsured medical health-related expenses must be deducted from any arrears the requesting party owes the liable party. If unreimbursed or uninsured expenses remain after the deduction, the expenses must be added and collected as arrears owed by the liable party.

### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.42, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Ability to pay.** (a) It is a rebuttable presumption that a child support order should not exceed the obligor's ability to pay. To determine the amount of child support the obligor has the ability to pay, the court shall follow the procedure set out in this section.
  - (b) The court shall calculate the obligor's income available for support by subtracting a monthly self-support reserve equal to 120 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for one person from the obligor's parental income for determining child support (PICS). If benefits under section 518A.31 are received by the obligee as a representative payee for a joint child or are received by the child attending school, based on the other parent's eligibility, the court shall subtract the amount of benefits from the obligor's PICS before subtracting the self-support reserve. If the obligor's income available for support calculated under this paragraph is equal to or greater than the obligor's support obligation calculated under section 518A.34, the court shall order child support under section 518A.34.

77.1

77.2

77.3

77.4

77.5

77.6

77.7

77.8

77.9

77.10

77.11

77.12

77.13

77.14

77.15

77.16

77.17

77.18

77.19

77.20

77.25

77.26

77.27

77.28

77.29

77.30

77.31

77.32

(c) If the obligor's income available for support calculated under paragraph (b) is more than the minimum support amount under subdivision 2, but less than the guideline amount under section 518A.34, then the court shall apply a reduction to the child support obligation in the following order, until the support order is equal to the obligor's income available for support:

- (1) medical support obligation;
- 78.7 (2) child care support obligation; and
- 78.8 (3) basic support obligation.

78.1

78.2

78.3

78.4

78.5

78.6

78.9

78.10

78.11

78.12

78.13

78.19

78.20

78.21

78.22

78.23

- (d) If the obligor's income available for support calculated under paragraph (b) is equal to or less than the minimum support amount under subdivision 2 or if the obligor's gross income is less than 120 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for one person, the minimum support amount under subdivision 2 applies.
  - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- 78.14 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.42, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Exception.** (a) This section does not apply to an obligor who is incarcerated or is a recipient of a general assistance grant, Supplemental Security Income, temporary assistance for needy families (TANF) grant or comparable state-funded Minnesota family investment program (MFIP) benefits.
  - (b) If the court finds the obligor receives no income and completely lacks the ability to earn income, the minimum basic support amount under this subdivision does not apply.
  - (c) If the obligor's basic support amount is reduced below the minimum basic support amount due to the application of the parenting expense adjustment, the minimum basic support amount under this subdivision does not apply and the lesser amount is the guideline basic support.
- 78.25 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- 78.26 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.43, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1b. **Increase in income of custodial parent.** In a modification of support under section 518A.39, the court may deviate from the presumptive child support obligation under section 518A.34 when the only change in circumstances is an increase to the custodial parent's income and:
- 78.31 (1) the basic support increases;

(2) the parties' combined gross income is \$6,000 or less; or

(3) the obligor's income is \$2,000 or less.

79.1

79.2

79.4

79.5

79.6

79.7

79.8

79.9

79.10

79.11

79.12

79.13

79.14

79.15

79.16

79.17

79.18

79.19

79.20

79.21

79.22

79.23

79.24

79.25

79.26

79.27

79.28

79.29

79.30

79.31

79.32

79.33

79.34

79.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.65, is amended to read:

#### 518A.65 DRIVER'S LICENSE SUSPENSION.

(a) This paragraph is effective July 1, 2023. Upon motion of an obligee, which has been properly served on the obligor and upon which there has been an opportunity for hearing, if a court finds that the obligor has been or may be issued a driver's license by the commissioner of public safety and the obligor is in arrears in court-ordered child support or maintenance payments, or both, in an amount equal to or greater than three times the obligor's total monthly support and maintenance payments and is not in compliance with a written payment agreement pursuant to section 518A.69 that is approved by the court, a child support magistrate, or the public authority, the court shall may order the commissioner of public safety to suspend the obligor's driver's license. The court may consider the circumstances in paragraph (i) to determine whether driver's license suspension is an appropriate remedy that is likely to induce the payment of child support. The court may consider whether driver's license suspension would have a direct harmful effect on the obligor or joint children that would make driver's license suspension an inappropriate remedy. The public authority may not administratively reinstate a driver's license suspended by the court unless specifically authorized to do so in the court order. This paragraph expires December 31, 2025.

(b) This paragraph is effective January 1, 2026. Upon motion of an obligee, which has been properly served on the obligor and upon which there has been an opportunity for hearing, if a court finds that the obligor has a valid driver's license issued by the commissioner of public safety and the obligor is in arrears in court-ordered child support or maintenance payments, or both, in an amount equal to or greater than three times the obligor's total monthly support and maintenance payments and is not in compliance with a written payment agreement pursuant to section 518A.69 that is approved by the court, a child support magistrate, or the public authority, the court may order the commissioner of public safety to suspend the obligor's driver's license. The court may consider the circumstances in paragraph (i) to determine whether driver's license suspension is an appropriate remedy that is likely to induce the payment of child support. The court may consider whether driver's license suspension would have a direct harmful effect on the obligor or joint children that would make driver's license suspension an inappropriate remedy. The public authority may

not administratively reinstate a driver's license suspended by the court unless specifically authorized to do so in the court order.

- (c) The court's order must be stayed for 90 days in order to allow the obligor to execute a written payment agreement pursuant to section 518A.69. The payment agreement must be approved by either the court or the public authority responsible for child support enforcement. If the obligor has not executed or is not in compliance with a written payment agreement pursuant to section 518A.69 after the 90 days expires, the court's order becomes effective and the commissioner of public safety shall suspend the obligor's driver's license. The remedy under this section is in addition to any other enforcement remedy available to the court. An obligee may not bring a motion under this paragraph within 12 months of a denial of a previous motion under this paragraph.
- (b) (d) This paragraph is effective July 1, 2023. If a public authority responsible for child support enforcement determines that the obligor has been or may be issued a driver's license by the commissioner of public safety and; the obligor is in arrears in court-ordered child support or maintenance payments or both in an amount equal to or greater than three times the obligor's total monthly support and maintenance payments and not in compliance with a written payment agreement pursuant to section 518A.69 that is approved by the court, a child support magistrate, or the public authority, the public authority shall direct the commissioner of public safety to suspend the obligor's driver's license unless exercising administrative discretion under paragraph (i). The remedy under this section is in addition to any other enforcement remedy available to the public authority. This paragraph expires December 31, 2025.
- (e) This paragraph is effective January 1, 2026. If a public authority responsible for child support enforcement determines that:
  - (1) the obligor has a valid driver's license issued by the commissioner of public safety;
- (2) the obligor is in arrears in court-ordered child support or maintenance payments or both in an amount equal to or greater than three times the obligor's total monthly support and maintenance payments;
- (3) the obligor is not in compliance with a written payment agreement pursuant to section

  518A.69 that is approved by the court, a child support magistrate, or the public authority;

  and
  - (4) the obligor's mailing address is known to the public authority;

80.1

80.2

80.3

80.4

80.5

80.6

80.7

80.8

80.9

80.10

80.11

80.12

80.13

80.14

80.15

80.16

80.17

80.18

80.19

80.20

80.21

80.22

80.23

80.24

80.25

80.26

80.27

80.28

then the public authority shall direct the commissioner of public safety to suspend the obligor's driver's license unless exercising administrative discretion under paragraph (i).

The remedy under this section is in addition to any other enforcement remedy available to the public authority.

(c) (f) At least 90 days prior to notifying the commissioner of public safety according to paragraph (b) (d), the public authority must mail a written notice to the obligor at the obligor's last known address, that it intends to seek suspension of the obligor's driver's license and that the obligor must request a hearing within 30 days in order to contest the suspension. If the obligor makes a written request for a hearing within 30 days of the date of the notice, a court hearing must be held. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the obligor must be served with 14 days' notice in writing specifying the time and place of the hearing and the allegations against the obligor. The notice must include information that apprises the obligor of the requirement to develop a written payment agreement that is approved by a court, a child support magistrate, or the public authority responsible for child support enforcement regarding child support, maintenance, and any arrearages in order to avoid license suspension. The notice may be served personally or by mail. If the public authority does not receive a request for a hearing within 30 days of the date of the notice, and the obligor does not execute a written payment agreement pursuant to section 518A.69 that is approved by the public authority within 90 days of the date of the notice, the public authority shall direct the commissioner of public safety to suspend the obligor's driver's license under paragraph (b) (d).

(d) (g) At a hearing requested by the obligor under paragraph (e) (f), and on finding that the obligor is in arrears in court-ordered child support or maintenance payments or both in an amount equal to or greater than three times the obligor's total monthly support and maintenance payments, the district court or child support magistrate shall order the commissioner of public safety to suspend the obligor's driver's license or operating privileges unless:

(1) the court or child support magistrate determines that the obligor has executed and is in compliance with a written payment agreement pursuant to section 518A.69 that is approved by the court, a child support magistrate, or the public authority-; or

(2) the court, in its discretion, determines that driver's license suspension is unlikely to induce payment of child support or would have direct harmful effects on the obligor or joint child that makes driver's license suspension an inappropriate remedy. The court may consider the circumstances in paragraph (f) in exercising the court's discretion.

81.1

81.2

81.3

81.4

81.5

81.6

81.7

81.8

81.9

81.10

81.11

81.12

81.13

81.14

81.15

81.16

81.17

81.18

81.19

81.20

81.21

81.22

81.23

81.24

81.25

81.26

81.27

81.28

81.29

81.30

81.31

81.32

81.33

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

82.1	(e) (h) An obligor whose driver's license or operating privileges are suspended may:
82.2	(1) provide proof to the public authority responsible for child support enforcement that
82.3	the obligor is in compliance with all written payment agreements pursuant to section 518A.69;
82.4	(2) bring a motion for reinstatement of the driver's license. At the hearing, if the court
82.5	or child support magistrate orders reinstatement of the driver's license, the court or child
82.6	support magistrate must establish a written payment agreement pursuant to section 518A.69;
82.7	or
82.8	(3) seek a limited license under section 171.30. A limited license issued to an obligor
82.9	under section 171.30 expires 90 days after the date it is issued.
82.10	Within 15 days of the receipt of that proof or a court order, the public authority shall
82.11	inform the commissioner of public safety that the obligor's driver's license or operating
82.12	privileges should no longer be suspended.
82.13	(i) Prior to notifying the commissioner of public safety that an obligor's driver's license
82.14	should be suspended or after an obligor's driving privileges have been suspended, the public
82.15	authority responsible for child support enforcement may use administrative authority to end
82.16	the suspension process or inform the commissioner of public safety that the obligor's driving
82.17	privileges should no longer be suspended under any of the following circumstances:
82.18	(1) the full amount of court-ordered payments have been received for at least one month;
82.19	(2) an income withholding notice has been sent to an employer or payor of funds;
82.20	(3) payments less than the full court-ordered amount have been received and the
82.21	circumstances of the obligor demonstrate the obligor's substantial intent to comply with the
82.22	order;
82.23	(4) the obligor receives public assistance;
82.24	(5) the case is being reviewed by the public authority for downward modification due
82.25	to changes in the obligor's financial circumstances or a party has filed a motion to modify
82.26	the child support order;
82.27	(6) the obligor no longer lives in the state and the child support case is in the process of
82.28	interstate enforcement;
82.29	(7) the obligor is currently incarcerated for one week or more or is receiving in-patient
82.30	treatment for physical health, mental health, chemical dependency, or other treatment. This
82.31	clause applies for six months after the obligor is no longer incarcerated or receiving in-patient
82.32	treatment;

(8) the obligor is temporarily or permanently disabled and unable to pay child support;

(9) the obligor has presented evidence to the public authority that the obligor needs driving privileges to maintain or obtain the obligor's employment;

(10) the obligor has not had a meaningful opportunity to pay toward arrears; and

(11) other circumstances of the obligor indicate that a temporary condition exists for which suspension of a driver's license for the nonpayment of child support is not appropriate. When considering whether driver's license suspension is appropriate, the public authority must assess: (i) whether suspension of the driver's license is likely to induce payment of child support; and (ii) whether suspension of the driver's license would have direct harmful effects on the obligor or joint children that make driver's license suspension an inappropriate remedy.

The presence of circumstances in this paragraph does not prevent the public authority from proceeding with a suspension of a driver's license.

(f) (j) In addition to the criteria established under this section for the suspension of an obligor's driver's license, a court, a child support magistrate, or the public authority may direct the commissioner of public safety to suspend the license of a party who has failed, after receiving notice, to comply with a subpoena relating to a paternity or child support proceeding. Notice to an obligor of intent to suspend must be served by first class mail at the obligor's last known address. The notice must inform the obligor of the right to request a hearing. If the obligor makes a written request within ten days of the date of the hearing, a hearing must be held. At the hearing, the only issues to be considered are mistake of fact and whether the obligor received the subpoena.

(g) (k) The license of an obligor who fails to remain in compliance with an approved written payment agreement may be suspended. Prior to suspending a license for noncompliance with an approved written payment agreement, the public authority must mail to the obligor's last known address a written notice that (1) the public authority intends to seek suspension of the obligor's driver's license under this paragraph, and (2) the obligor must request a hearing, within 30 days of the date of the notice, to contest the suspension. If, within 30 days of the date of the notice, the public authority does not receive a written request for a hearing and the obligor does not comply with an approved written payment agreement, the public authority must direct the Department of Public Safety to suspend the obligor's license under paragraph (b) (d). If the obligor makes a written request for a hearing within 30 days of the date of the notice, a court hearing must be held. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the obligor must be served with 14 days' notice in writing specifying

83.1

83.2

83.3

83.4

83.5

83.6

83.7

83.8

83.9

83.10

83.11

83.12

83.13

83.14

83.15

83.16

83.17

83.18

83.19

83.20

83.21

83.22

83.23

83.24

83.25

83.26

83.27

83.28

83.29

83.30

83.31

83.32

83.33

84.1	the time and place of the hearing and the allegations against the obligor. The notice may be
84.2	served personally or by mail at the obligor's last known address. If the obligor appears at
84.3	the hearing and the court determines that the obligor has failed to comply with an approved
84.4	written payment agreement, the court or public authority shall notify the Department of
84.5	Public Safety to suspend the obligor's license under paragraph (b) (d). If the obligor fails
84.6	to appear at the hearing, the court or public authority must notify the Department of Public
84.7	Safety to suspend the obligor's license under paragraph (b) (d).
84.8	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective July 1, 2023, unless otherwise specified.
84.9	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.77, is amended to read:
84.10	518A.77 GUIDELINES REVIEW.
84.11	(a) No later than 2006 and every four years after that, the Department of Human Services
84.12	must conduct a review of the child support guidelines as required under Code of Federal
84.13	Regulations, title 45, section 302.56(h).
84.14	(b) This section expires January 1, 2032.
84.15	Sec. 11. REPEALER.
84.16	Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.59, is repealed.
84.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
84.18	ARTICLE 4
84.19	LICENSING
84.20	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245.095, is amended to read:
84.21	245.095 LIMITS ON RECEIVING PUBLIC FUNDS.
84.22	Subdivision 1. <b>Prohibition.</b> (a) If a provider, vendor, or individual enrolled, licensed,
84.23	receiving funds under a grant contract, or registered in any program administered by the
84.24	commissioner, including under the commissioner's powers and authorities in section 256.01,
84.25	is excluded from that program, the commissioner shall:
84.26	(1) prohibit the excluded provider, vendor, or individual from enrolling, becoming
84.27	licensed, receiving grant funds, or registering in any other program administered by the
84.28	commissioner; and
84.29	(2) disenroll, revoke or suspend a license, disqualify, or debar the excluded provider,
84 30	vendor, or individual in any other program administered by the commissioner.

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE

85.1	(b) If a provider, vendor, or individual enrolled, licensed, receiving funds under a grant
85.2	contract, or registered in any program administered by the commissioner, including under
85.3	the commissioner's powers and authorities in section 256.01, is excluded from that program,
85.4	the commissioner may:
85.5	(1) prohibit any associated entities or associated individuals from enrolling, becoming
85.6	licensed, receiving grant funds, or registering in any other program administered by the
85.7	commissioner; and
85.8	(2) disenroll, revoke or suspend a license of, disqualify, or debar any associated entities
85.9	or associated individuals in any other program administered by the commissioner.
85.10	(c) If a provider, vendor, or individual enrolled, licensed, or otherwise receiving funds
85.11	under any contract or registered in any program administered by a Minnesota state or federal
85.12	agency is excluded from that program, the commissioner of human services may:
85.13	(1) prohibit the excluded provider, vendor, individual, or any associated entities or
85.14	associated individuals from enrolling, becoming licensed, receiving grant funds, or registering
85.15	in any program administered by the commissioner; and
85.16	(2) disenroll, revoke or suspend a license of, disqualify, or debar the excluded provider,
85.17	vendor, individual, or any associated entities or associated individuals in any program
85.18	administered by the commissioner.
85.19	(b) (d) The duration of this a prohibition, disenrollment, revocation, suspension,
85.20	disqualification, or debarment under paragraph (a) must last for the longest applicable
85.21	sanction or disqualifying period in effect for the provider, vendor, or individual permitted
85.22	by state or federal law. The duration of a prohibition, disenrollment, revocation, suspension,
85.23	disqualification, or debarment under paragraphs (b) and (c) may last until up to the longest
85.24	applicable sanction or disqualifying period in effect for the provider, vendor, individual,
85.25	associated entity, or associated individual as permitted by state or federal law.
85.26	Subd. 2. <b>Definitions.</b> (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions have the
85.27	meanings given <del>them</del> .
85.28	(b) "Associated entity" means a provider or vendor owned or controlled by an excluded
85.29	individual.
85.30	(c) "Associated individual" means an individual who owns or is an executive officer or
85.31	board member of an excluded provider or vendor.
85.32	(b) (d) "Excluded" means disenrolled, disqualified, having a license that has been revoked
85.33	or suspended under chapter 245A, or debarred or suspended under Minnesota Rules, part

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

86.1	1230.1150, or excluded pursuant to section 256B.064, subdivision 3 removed under other
86.2	authorities from a program administered by a Minnesota state or federal agency, including
86.3	a final determination to stop payments.
86.4	(e) (e) "Individual" means a natural person providing products or services as a provider
86.5	or vendor.
86.6	(d) (f) "Provider" includes any entity or individual receiving payment from a program
86.7	administered by the Department of Human Services, and an owner, controlling individual,
86.8	license holder, director, or managerial official of an entity receiving payment from a program
86.9	administered by the Department of Human Services means any entity, individual, owner,
86.10	controlling individual, license holder, director, or managerial official of an entity receiving
86.11	payment from a program administered by a Minnesota state or federal agency.
86.12	Subd. 3. Notice. Within five days of taking an action under subdivision (1), paragraph
86.13	(a), (b), or (c), against a provider, vendor, individual, associated individual, or associated
86.14	entity, the commissioner must send notice of the action to the provider, vendor, individual,
86.15	associated individual, or associated entity. The notice must state:
86.16	(1) the basis for the action;
86.17	(2) the effective date of the action;
86.18	(3) the right to appeal the action; and
86.19	(4) the requirements and procedures for reinstatement.
86.20	Subd. 4. Appeal. Upon receipt of a notice under subdivision 3, a provider, vendor,
86.21	individual, associated individual, or associated entity may request a contested case hearing,
86.22	as defined in section 14.02, subdivision 3, by filing with the commissioner a written request
86.23	of appeal. The scope of any contested case hearing is solely limited to action taken under
86.24	this section. The commissioner must receive the appeal request no later than 30 days after
86.25	the date the notice was mailed to the provider, vendor, individual, associated individual, or
86.26	associated entity. The appeal request must specify:
86.27	(1) each disputed item and the reason for the dispute;
86.28	(2) the authority in statute or rule upon which the provider, vendor, individual, associated
86.29	individual, or associated entity relies for each disputed item;
86.30	(3) the name and address of the person or entity with whom contacts may be made
86.31	regarding the appeal; and
86.32	(4) any other information required by the commissioner.

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

87.1	Subd. 5. Withholding of payments. (a) Except as otherwise provided by state or federal
87.2	law, the commissioner may withhold payments to a provider, vendor, individual, associated
87.3	individual, or associated entity in any program administered by the commissioner, if the
87.4	commissioner determines there is a credible allegation of fraud for which an investigation
87.5	is pending for a program administered by a Minnesota state or federal agency.
87.6	(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "credible allegation of fraud" means an allegation
87.7	that has been verified by the commissioner from any source, including but not limited to:
87.8	(1) fraud hotline complaints;
87.9	(2) claims data mining;
87.10	(3) patterns identified through provider audits, civil false claims cases, and law
87.11	enforcement investigations; and
87.12	(4) court filings and other legal documents, including but not limited to police reports,
87.13	complaints, indictments, informations, affidavits, declarations, and search warrants.
87.14	(c) The commissioner must send notice of the withholding of payments within five days
87.15	of taking such action. The notice must:
87.16	(1) state that payments are being withheld according to this subdivision;
87.17	(2) set forth the general allegations related to the withholding action, except the notice
87.18	need not disclose specific information concerning an ongoing investigation;
87.19	(3) state that the withholding is for a temporary period and cite the circumstances under
87.20	which the withholding will be terminated; and
87.21	(4) inform the provider, vendor, individual, associated individual, or associated entity
87.22	of the right to submit written evidence to contest the withholding action for consideration
87.23	by the commissioner.
87.24	(d) The commissioner shall stop withholding payments if the commissioner determines
87.25	there is insufficient evidence of fraud by the provider, vendor, individual, associated
87.26	individual, or associated entity or when legal proceedings relating to the alleged fraud are
87.27	completed, unless the commissioner has sent notice under subdivision 3 to the provider,
87.28	vendor, individual, associated individual, or associated entity.
87.29	(e) The withholding of payments is a temporary action and is not subject to appeal under
87.30	section 256.045 or chapter 14.

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.02, subdivision 2c, is amended to read: 88.1 Subd. 2c. Annual or annually; family child care training requirements. For the 88.2 purposes of sections 245A.50 to 245A.53, "annual" or "annually" means the 12-month 88.3 period beginning on the license effective date or the annual anniversary of the effective date 88.4 and ending on the day prior to the annual anniversary of the license effective date each 88.5 calendar year. 88.6 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to 88.7 read: 88.8 Subd. 6a. Cradleboard. "Cradleboard" means a board or frame on which an infant is 88.9 secured using blankets or other material, such as fabric or leather sides, and laces and often 88.10 has a frame extending to protect the infant's head. The infant is always placed with the 88.11 infant's head facing outward, and the infant remains supervised in the cradleboard while 88.12 sleeping or being carried. 88.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024. 88.14 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.02, subdivision 6b, is amended to read: 88.15 Subd. 6b. Experience. For purposes of child care centers, "experience" includes is paid 88.16 or unpaid employment serving children as a teacher, assistant teacher, aide, or a student 88.17 intern in a licensed child care center, in a public or nonpublic school, or in a program licensed 88.18 as a family day care or group family day care provider.: 88.19 (1) caring for children as a teacher, assistant teacher, aide, or student intern: 88.20 (i) in a licensed child care center, a licensed family day care or group family day care, 88.21 or a Tribally licensed child care program in any United States state or territory; or 88.22 (ii) in a public or nonpublic school; 88.23 (2) caring for children as a staff person or unsupervised volunteer in a certified, 88.24 license-exempt child care center under chapter 245H; or 88.25 (3) providing direct contact services in a home or residential facility serving children 88.26 with disabilities that requires a background study under section 245C.03. 88.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2023. 88.28 88.29 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.03, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

88.30

Subd. 2. Exclusion from licensure. (a) This chapter does not apply to:

89.1	(1) residential or nonresidential programs that are provided to a person by an individual
89.2	who is related unless the residential program is a child foster care placement made by a
89.3	local social services agency or a licensed child-placing agency, except as provided in
89.4	subdivision 2a;
89.5	(2) nonresidential programs that are provided by an unrelated individual to persons from
89.6	a single related family;
00.7	(2) residential an assumatidantial anagement that are anarridad to adults who do not misses
89.7	(3) residential or nonresidential programs that are provided to adults who do not misuse
89.8	substances or have a substance use disorder, a mental illness, a developmental disability, a
89.9	functional impairment, or a physical disability;
89.10	(4) sheltered workshops or work activity programs that are certified by the commissioner
89.11	of employment and economic development;
89.12	(5) programs operated by a public school for children 33 months or older;
89.13	(6) nonresidential programs primarily for children that provide care or supervision for
89.14	periods of less than three hours a day while the child's parent or legal guardian is in the
89.15	same building as the nonresidential program or present within another building that is
89.16	directly contiguous to the building in which the nonresidential program is located;
89.17	(7) nursing homes or hospitals licensed by the commissioner of health except as specified
89.18	under section 245A.02;
89.19	(8) board and lodge facilities licensed by the commissioner of health that do not provide
89.20	children's residential services under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960, mental health or
89.21	substance use disorder treatment;
89.22	(9) homes providing programs for persons placed by a county or a licensed agency for
89.23	legal adoption, unless the adoption is not completed within two years;
09.23	regar adoption, diffess the adoption is not completed within two years,
89.24	(10) programs licensed by the commissioner of corrections;
89.25	(11) recreation programs for children or adults that are operated or approved by a park
89.26	and recreation board whose primary purpose is to provide social and recreational activities;
89.27	(12) programs operated by a school as defined in section 120A.22, subdivision 4; YMCA
89.28	as defined in section 315.44; YWCA as defined in section 315.44; or JCC as defined in
89.29	section 315.51, whose primary purpose is to provide child care or services to school-age
89.30	children;
89.31	(13) Head Start nonresidential programs which operate for less than 45 days in each

calendar year;

89.31

90.1	(14) noncertified boarding care homes unless they provide services for five or more
90.2	persons whose primary diagnosis is mental illness or a developmental disability;
90.3	(15) programs for children such as scouting, boys clubs, girls clubs, and sports and art
90.4	programs, and nonresidential programs for children provided for a cumulative total of less
90.5	than 30 days in any 12-month period;
90.6	(16) residential programs for persons with mental illness, that are located in hospitals;
90.7	(17) the religious instruction of school-age children; Sabbath or Sunday schools; or the
90.8	congregate care of children by a church, congregation, or religious society during the period
90.9	used by the church, congregation, or religious society for its regular worship;
90.10	(18) camps licensed by the commissioner of health under Minnesota Rules, chapter
90.11	4630;
90.12	(19) mental health outpatient services for adults with mental illness or children with
90.13	emotional disturbance;
90.14	(20) residential programs serving school-age children whose sole purpose is cultural or
90.15	educational exchange, until the commissioner adopts appropriate rules;
90.16	(21) community support services programs as defined in section 245.462, subdivision
90.17	6, and family community support services as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision 17;
90.18	(22) the placement of a child by a birth parent or legal guardian in a preadoptive home
90.19	for purposes of adoption as authorized by section 259.47;
90.20	(23) settings registered under chapter 144D which provide home care services licensed
90.21	by the commissioner of health to fewer than seven adults;
90.22	(24) substance use disorder treatment activities of licensed professionals in private
90.23	practice as defined in section 245G.01, subdivision 17;
90.24	(25) consumer-directed community support service funded under the Medicaid waiver
90.25	for persons with developmental disabilities when the individual who provided the service
90.26	is:
90.27	(i) the same individual who is the direct payee of these specific waiver funds or paid by
90.28	a fiscal agent, fiscal intermediary, or employer of record; and
90.29	(ii) not otherwise under the control of a residential or nonresidential program that is

90.30

required to be licensed under this chapter when providing the service;

(26) a program serving only children who are age 33 months or older, that is operated by a nonpublic school, for no more than four hours per day per child, with no more than 20 children at any one time, and that is accredited by:

- (i) an accrediting agency that is formally recognized by the commissioner of education as a nonpublic school accrediting organization; or
- (ii) an accrediting agency that requires background studies and that receives and investigates complaints about the services provided.

A program that asserts its exemption from licensure under item (ii) shall, upon request from the commissioner, provide the commissioner with documentation from the accrediting agency that verifies: that the accreditation is current; that the accrediting agency investigates complaints about services; and that the accrediting agency's standards require background studies on all people providing direct contact services;

- (27) a program operated by a nonprofit organization incorporated in Minnesota or another state that serves youth in kindergarten through grade 12; provides structured, supervised youth development activities; and has learning opportunities take place before or after school, on weekends, or during the summer or other seasonal breaks in the school calendar. A program exempt under this clause is not eligible for child care assistance under chapter 119B. A program exempt under this clause must:
- (i) have a director or supervisor on site who is responsible for overseeing written policies relating to the management and control of the daily activities of the program, ensuring the health and safety of program participants, and supervising staff and volunteers;
- (ii) have obtained written consent from a parent or legal guardian for each youth participating in activities at the site; and
- (iii) have provided written notice to a parent or legal guardian for each youth at the site that the program is not licensed or supervised by the state of Minnesota and is not eligible to receive child care assistance payments;
- 91.27 (28) a county that is an eligible vendor under section 254B.05 to provide care coordination 91.28 and comprehensive assessment services; or
- 91.29 (29) a recovery community organization that is an eligible vendor under section 254B.05 91.30 to provide peer recovery support services-; or
- 91.31 (30) Head Start programs that serve only children who are at least three years old but 91.32 not yet six years old.

91.1

91.2

91.3

91.4

91.5

91.6

91.7

91.8

91.9

91.10

91.11

91.12

91.13

91.14

91.15

91.16

91.17

91.18

91.19

91.20

91.21

91.22

91.23

91.24

91.25

(b) For purposes of paragraph (a), clause (6), a building is directly contiguous to a building in which a nonresidential program is located if it shares a common wall with the building in which the nonresidential program is located or is attached to that building by skyway, tunnel, atrium, or common roof.
(c) Except for the home and community-based services identified in section 245D.03, subdivision 1, nothing in this chapter shall be construed to require licensure for any services

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

specifically identified as not being a condition for the services and funding.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

provided and funded according to an approved federal waiver plan where licensure is

- Subd. 4. **Inspections; waiver.** (a) Before issuing a license under this chapter, the commissioner shall conduct an inspection of the program. The inspection must include but is not limited to:
- 92.14 (1) an inspection of the physical plant;

92.1

92.2

92.3

92.4

92.5

92.6

92.7

92.8

92.9

92.10

92.19

92.20

92.21

92.22

92.23

92.24

92.25

92.26

92.27

92.28

92.29

92.30

92.31

- 92.15 (2) an inspection of records and documents;
- 92.16 (3) observation of the program in operation; and
- 92.17 (4) an inspection for the health, safety, and fire standards in licensing requirements for a child care license holder.
  - (b) The observation in paragraph (a), clause (3), is not required prior to issuing a license under subdivision 7. If the commissioner issues a license under this chapter, these requirements must be completed within one year after the issuance of the license.
    - (c) Before completing a licensing inspection in a family child care program or child care center, the licensing agency must offer the license holder an exit interview to discuss violations or potential violations of law or rule observed during the inspection and offer technical assistance on how to comply with applicable laws and rules. The commissioner shall not issue a correction order or negative licensing action for violations of law or rule not discussed in an exit interview, unless a license holder chooses not to participate in an exit interview or not to complete the exit interview. If the license holder is unable to complete the exit interview, the licensing agency must offer an alternate time for the license holder to complete the exit interview.
    - (d) If a family child care license holder disputes a county licensor's interpretation of a licensing requirement during a licensing inspection or exit interview, the license holder

may, within five business days after the exit interview or licensing inspection, request clarification from the commissioner, in writing, in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. The license holder's request must describe the county licensor's interpretation of the licensing requirement at issue, and explain why the license holder believes the county licensor's interpretation is inaccurate. The commissioner and the county must include the license holder in all correspondence regarding the disputed interpretation, and must provide an opportunity for the license holder to contribute relevant information that may impact the commissioner's decision. The county licensor must not issue a correction order related to the disputed licensing requirement until the commissioner has provided clarification to the license holder about the licensing requirement.

- (e) The commissioner or the county shall inspect at least annually once each calendar year a child care provider licensed under this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502 or 9503, for compliance with applicable licensing standards.
- (f) No later than November 19, 2017, the commissioner shall make publicly available on the department's website the results of inspection reports of all child care providers licensed under this chapter and under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502 or 9503, and the number of deaths, serious injuries, and instances of substantiated child maltreatment that occurred in licensed child care settings each year.
  - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- 93.20 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.04, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Grant of license; license extension.** (a) If the commissioner determines that the program complies with all applicable rules and laws, the commissioner shall issue a license consistent with this section or, if applicable, a temporary change of ownership license under section 245A.043. At minimum, the license shall state:
  - (1) the name of the license holder;
- 93.26 (2) the address of the program;
- 93.27 (3) the effective date and expiration date of the license;
- 93.28 (4) the type of license;

93.1

93.2

93.3

93.4

93.5

93.6

93.7

93.8

93.9

93.10

93.11

93.12

93.13

93.14

93.15

93.16

93.17

93.18

93.19

- 93.29 (5) the maximum number and ages of persons that may receive services from the program; 93.30 and
- 93.31 (6) any special conditions of licensure.
- 93.32 (b) The commissioner may issue a license for a period not to exceed two years if:

94.1	(1) the commissioner is unable to conduct the evaluation or observation required by
94.2	subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (4), because the program is not yet operational;
94.3	(2) certain records and documents are not available because persons are not yet receiving
94.4	services from the program; and
94.5	(3) the applicant complies with applicable laws and rules in all other respects.
94.6	(c) A decision by the commissioner to issue a license does not guarantee that any person
94.7	or persons will be placed or cared for in the licensed program.
94.8	(d) Except as provided in paragraphs (f) and (g) (i) and (j), the commissioner shall not
94.9	issue or reissue a license if the applicant, license holder, or an affiliated controlling individual
94.10	has:
94.11	(1) been disqualified and the disqualification was not set aside and no variance has been
94.12	granted;
94.13	(2) been denied a license under this chapter, within the past two years;
94.14	(3) had a license issued under this chapter revoked within the past five years; or
94.15	(4) an outstanding debt related to a license fee, licensing fine, or settlement agreement
94.16	for which payment is delinquent; or
94.17	(5) (4) failed to submit the information required of an applicant under subdivision 1,
94.18	paragraph (f) or (g), after being requested by the commissioner.
94.19	When a license issued under this chapter is revoked under clause (1) or (3), the license
94.20	holder and each affiliated controlling individual with a revoked license may not hold any
94.21	license under chapter 245A for five years following the revocation, and other licenses held
94.22	by the applicant, or license holder, or licenses affiliated with each controlling individual
94.23	shall also be revoked.
94.24	(e) Notwithstanding paragraph (d), the commissioner may elect not to revoke a license
94.25	affiliated with a license holder or controlling individual that had a license revoked within
94.26	the past five years if the commissioner determines that (1) the license holder or controlling
94.27	individual is operating the program in substantial compliance with applicable laws and rules
94.28	and (2) the program's continued operation is in the best interests of the community being
94.29	served.
94.30	(f) Notwithstanding paragraph (d), the commissioner may issue a new license in response
94.31	to an application that is affiliated with an applicant, license holder, or controlling individua
94.32	that had an application denied within the past two years or a license revoked within the past

five years if the commissioner determines that (1) the applicant or controlling individual has operated one or more programs in substantial compliance with applicable laws and rules, and (2) the program's operation would be in the best interests of the community to be served.

- (g) In determining whether a program's operation would be in the best interests of the community to be served, the commissioner shall consider factors such as the number of persons served, the availability of alternative services available in the surrounding community, the management structure of the program, whether the program provides culturally specific services, and other relevant factors.
- (e) (h) The commissioner shall not issue or reissue a license under this chapter if an individual living in the household where the services will be provided as specified under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, has been disqualified and the disqualification has not been set aside and no variance has been granted.
- (f) (i) Pursuant to section 245A.07, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), when a license issued under this chapter has been suspended or revoked and the suspension or revocation is under appeal, the program may continue to operate pending a final order from the commissioner. If the license under suspension or revocation will expire before a final order is issued, a temporary provisional license may be issued provided any applicable license fee is paid before the temporary provisional license is issued.
- (g) (j) Notwithstanding paragraph (f) (i), when a revocation is based on the disqualification of a controlling individual or license holder, and the controlling individual or license holder is ordered under section 245C.17 to be immediately removed from direct contact with persons receiving services or is ordered to be under continuous, direct supervision when providing direct contact services, the program may continue to operate only if the program complies with the order and submits documentation demonstrating compliance with the order. If the disqualified individual fails to submit a timely request for reconsideration, or if the disqualification is not set aside and no variance is granted, the order to immediately remove the individual from direct contact or to be under continuous, direct supervision remains in effect pending the outcome of a hearing and final order from the commissioner.
- (h) (k) For purposes of reimbursement for meals only, under the Child and Adult Care Food Program, Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, subtitle B, chapter II, subchapter A, part 226, relocation within the same county by a licensed family day care provider, shall be considered an extension of the license for a period of no more than 30 calendar days or

95.1

95.2

95.3

95.4

95.5

95.6

95.7

95.8

95.9

95.10

95.11

95.12

95.13

95.14

95.15

95.16

95.17

95.18

95.19

95.20

95.21

95.22

95.23

95.24

95.25

95.26

95.27

95.28

95.29

95.30

95.31

95.32

95.33

until the new license is issued, whichever occurs first, provided the county agency has determined the family day care provider meets licensure requirements at the new location.

- (i) Unless otherwise specified by statute, all licenses issued under this chapter expire at 12:01 a.m. on the day after the expiration date stated on the license. A license holder must apply for and be granted a new license to operate the program or the program must not be operated after the expiration date.
- (i) (m) The commissioner shall not issue or reissue a license under this chapter if it has been determined that a tribal licensing authority has established jurisdiction to license the program or service.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.05, is amended to read:

#### 245A.05 DENIAL OF APPLICATION.

96.1

96.2

96.3

96.4

96.5

96.6

96.7

96.8

96.9

96.10

96.11

96.12

96.19

96.20

96.21

96.22

96.23

- (a) The commissioner may deny a license if an applicant or controlling individual:
- (1) fails to submit a substantially complete application after receiving notice from the 96.13 96.14 commissioner under section 245A.04, subdivision 1;
- (2) fails to comply with applicable laws or rules; 96.15
- 96.16 (3) knowingly withholds relevant information from or gives false or misleading information to the commissioner in connection with an application for a license or during 96.17 an investigation; 96.18
  - (4) has a disqualification that has not been set aside under section 245C.22 and no variance has been granted;
  - (5) has an individual living in the household who received a background study under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), who has a disqualification that has not been set aside under section 245C.22, and no variance has been granted;
- (6) is associated with an individual who received a background study under section 96.24 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (6), who may have unsupervised access to 96.25 children or vulnerable adults, and who has a disqualification that has not been set aside 96.26 under section 245C.22, and no variance has been granted;
- (7) fails to comply with section 245A.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (f) or (g); 96.28
- (8) fails to demonstrate competent knowledge as required by section 245A.04, subdivision 96.29 6; 96.30

(9) has a history of noncompliance as a license holder or controlling individual with applicable laws or rules, including but not limited to this chapter and chapters 119B and 245C;

- (10) is prohibited from holding a license according to section 245.095; or
- (11) for a family foster setting, has or has an individual who is living in the household where the licensed services are provided or is otherwise subject to a background study who has nondisqualifying background study information, as described in section 245C.05, subdivision 4, that reflects on the individual's applicant's ability to safely provide care to foster children.
- (b) An applicant whose application has been denied by the commissioner must be given notice of the denial, which must state the reasons for the denial in plain language. Notice must be given by certified mail or personal service. The notice must state the reasons the application was denied and must inform the applicant of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14 and Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612. The applicant may appeal the denial by notifying the commissioner in writing by certified mail or personal service. If mailed, the appeal must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 20 calendar days after the applicant received the notice of denial. If an appeal request is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days after the applicant received the notice of denial. Section 245A.08 applies to hearings held to appeal the commissioner's denial of an application.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
  - Subdivision 1. **Contents of correction orders and conditional licenses.** (a) If the commissioner finds that the applicant or license holder has failed to comply with an applicable law or rule and this failure does not imminently endanger the health, safety, or rights of the persons served by the program, the commissioner may issue a correction order and an order of conditional license to the applicant or license holder. When issuing a conditional license, the commissioner shall consider the nature, chronicity, or severity of the violation of law or rule and the effect of the violation on the health, safety, or rights of persons served by the program. The correction order or conditional license must state the following in plain language:
  - (1) the <u>specific factual</u> conditions <u>observable or reviewable by the licensor</u> that constitute a violation of the law or rule;

97.1

97.2

97.3

97.4

97.5

97.6

97.7

97.8

97.9

97.10

97.11

97.12

97.13

97.14

97.15

97.16

97.17

97.18

97.19

97.20

97.21

97.23

97.24

97.25

97.26

97.27

97.28

97.29

97.30

97.31

97.32

(2) the specific law or rule violated;

98.1

98.2

98.3

98.4

98.5

98.6

98.7

98.8

98.13

98.17

98.18

98.19

98.20

98.21

98.22

98.23

98.24

98.25

98.26

98.27

98.28

98.29

98.30

98.31

98.32

- (3) the time allowed to correct each violation; and
- (4) if a license is made conditional, the length and terms of the conditional license, and the reasons for making the license conditional.
  - (b) Nothing in this section prohibits the commissioner from proposing a sanction as specified in section 245A.07, prior to issuing a correction order or conditional license.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Sanctions; appeals; license.** (a) In addition to making a license conditional under section 245A.06, the commissioner may suspend or revoke the license, impose a fine, or secure an injunction against the continuing operation of the program of a license holder who:
  - (1) does not comply with applicable law or rule, or who;
- 98.14 (2) has nondisqualifying background study information, as described in section 245C.05, 98.15 subdivision 4, that reflects on the license holder's ability to safely provide care to foster 98.16 children; or
  - (3) has an individual living in the household where the licensed services are provided or is otherwise subject to a background study and the individual has nondisqualifying background study information, as described in section 245C.05, subdivision 4, that reflects on the license holder's ability to safely provide care to foster children.
  - When applying sanctions authorized under this section, the commissioner shall consider the nature, chronicity, or severity of the violation of law or rule and the effect of the violation on the health, safety, or rights of persons served by the program.
  - (b) If a license holder appeals the suspension or revocation of a license and the license holder continues to operate the program pending a final order on the appeal, the commissioner shall issue the license holder a temporary provisional license. Unless otherwise specified by the commissioner, variances in effect on the date of the license sanction under appeal continue under the temporary provisional license. If a license holder fails to comply with applicable law or rule while operating under a temporary provisional license, the commissioner may impose additional sanctions under this section and section 245A.06, and may terminate any prior variance. If a temporary provisional license is set to expire, a new temporary provisional license shall be issued to the license holder upon payment of any fee

	03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1
--	-------------------	----------------	-------	----------

required under section 245A.10. The temporary provisional license shall expire on the date the final order is issued. If the license holder prevails on the appeal, a new nonprovisional license shall be issued for the remainder of the current license period.

- (c) If a license holder is under investigation and the license issued under this chapter is due to expire before completion of the investigation, the program shall be issued a new license upon completion of the reapplication requirements and payment of any applicable license fee. Upon completion of the investigation, a licensing sanction may be imposed against the new license under this section, section 245A.06, or 245A.08.
- (d) Failure to reapply or closure of a license issued under this chapter by the license holder prior to the completion of any investigation shall not preclude the commissioner from issuing a licensing sanction under this section or section 245A.06 at the conclusion of the investigation.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

- 99.14 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- 99.15 Subd. 3. **License suspension, revocation, or fine.** (a) The commissioner may suspend or revoke a license, or impose a fine if:
- (1) a license holder fails to comply fully with applicable laws or rules including but not limited to the requirements of this chapter and chapter 245C;
  - (2) a license holder, a controlling individual, or an individual living in the household where the licensed services are provided or is otherwise subject to a background study has been disqualified and the disqualification was not set aside and no variance has been granted;
  - (3) a license holder knowingly withholds relevant information from or gives false or misleading information to the commissioner in connection with an application for a license, in connection with the background study status of an individual, during an investigation, or regarding compliance with applicable laws or rules;
  - (4) a license holder is excluded from any program administered by the commissioner under section 245.095; or
- 99.28 (5) revocation is required under section 245A.04, subdivision 7, paragraph (d)-; or
- 99.29 (6) for a family foster setting, a license holder, or an individual living in the household 99.30 where the licensed services are provided or who is otherwise subject to a background study 99.31 has nondisqualifying background study information, as described in section 245C.05,

99.1

99.2

99.3

99.4

99.5

99.6

99.7

99.8

99.9

99.10

99.11

99.12

99.13

99.19

99.20

99.21

99.22

99.23

99.24

99.25

99.26

subdivision 4, that reflects on the license holder's ability to safely provide care to foster children.

A license holder who has had a license issued under this chapter suspended, revoked, or has been ordered to pay a fine must be given notice of the action by certified mail or personal service. If mailed, the notice must be mailed to the address shown on the application or the last known address of the license holder. The notice must state in plain language the reasons the license was suspended or revoked, or a fine was ordered.

- (b) If the license was suspended or revoked, the notice must inform the license holder of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14 and Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612. The license holder may appeal an order suspending or revoking a license must be made in writing by certified mail or personal service. If mailed, the appeal must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within ten calendar days after the license holder receives notice that the license has been suspended or revoked. If a request is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within ten calendar days after the license holder received the order. Except as provided in subdivision 2a, paragraph (c), if a license holder submits a timely appeal of an order suspending or revoking a license, the license holder may continue to operate the program as provided in section 245A.04, subdivision 7, paragraphs (f) and (g), until the commissioner issues a final order on the suspension or revocation.
- (c)(1) If the license holder was ordered to pay a fine, the notice must inform the license holder of the responsibility for payment of fines and the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14 and Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612. The appeal of an order to pay a fine must be made in writing by certified mail or personal service. If mailed, the appeal must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within ten calendar days after the license holder receives notice that the fine has been ordered. If a request is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within ten calendar days after the license holder received the order.
- (2) The license holder shall pay the fines assessed on or before the payment date specified.

  If the license holder fails to fully comply with the order, the commissioner may issue a

  second fine or suspend the license until the license holder complies. If the license holder

  receives state funds, the state, county, or municipal agencies or departments responsible for

  administering the funds shall withhold payments and recover any payments made while the

  license is suspended for failure to pay a fine. A timely appeal shall stay payment of the fine

  until the commissioner issues a final order.

100.1

100.2

100.3

100.4

100.5

100.6

100.7

100.8

100.9

100.10

100.11

100.12

100.13

100.14

100.15

100.17

100.18

100.19

100.20

100.21

100.22

100.23

100.24

100.25

(3) A license holder shall promptly notify the commissioner of human services, in writing, when a violation specified in the order to forfeit a fine is corrected. If upon reinspection the commissioner determines that a violation has not been corrected as indicated by the order to forfeit a fine, the commissioner may issue a second fine. The commissioner shall notify the license holder by certified mail or personal service that a second fine has been assessed. The license holder may appeal the second fine as provided under this subdivision.

(4) Fines shall be assessed as follows:

101.1

101.2

101.3

101.4

101.5

101.6

101.7

101.8

101.9

101.11

101.12

- (i) the license holder shall forfeit \$1,000 for each determination of maltreatment of a child under chapter 260E or the maltreatment of a vulnerable adult under section 626.557 for which the license holder is determined responsible for the maltreatment under section 260E.30, subdivision 4, paragraphs (a) and (b), or 626.557, subdivision 9c, paragraph (c);
- (ii) if the commissioner determines that a determination of maltreatment for which the license holder is responsible is the result of maltreatment that meets the definition of serious 101.13 maltreatment as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 18, the license holder shall forfeit \$5,000; 101.15
- (iii) for a program that operates out of the license holder's home and a program licensed 101 16 under Minnesota Rules, parts 9502.0300 to 9502.0445, the fine assessed against the license 101.17 holder shall not exceed \$1,000 for each determination of maltreatment;
- (iv) the license holder shall forfeit \$200 for each occurrence of a violation of law or rule governing matters of health, safety, or supervision, including but not limited to the provision 101.20 of adequate staff-to-child or adult ratios, and failure to comply with background study 101.21 requirements under chapter 245C; and 101.22
- 101.23 (v) the license holder shall forfeit \$100 for each occurrence of a violation of law or rule other than those subject to a \$5,000, \$1,000, or \$200 fine in items (i) to (iv). 101.24
- 101.25 For purposes of this section, "occurrence" means each violation identified in the commissioner's fine order. Fines assessed against a license holder that holds a license to 101.26 provide home and community-based services, as identified in section 245D.03, subdivision 101.27 1, and a community residential setting or day services facility license under chapter 245D 101.28 where the services are provided, may be assessed against both licenses for the same 101.29 occurrence, but the combined amount of the fines shall not exceed the amount specified in 101.30 this clause for that occurrence. 101.31
- (5) When a fine has been assessed, the license holder may not avoid payment by closing, 101.32 selling, or otherwise transferring the licensed program to a third party. In such an event, the

license holder will be personally liable for payment. In the case of a corporation, each controlling individual is personally and jointly liable for payment.

(d) Except for background study violations involving the failure to comply with an order to immediately remove an individual or an order to provide continuous, direct supervision, the commissioner shall not issue a fine under paragraph (c) relating to a background study violation to a license holder who self-corrects a background study violation before the commissioner discovers the violation. A license holder who has previously exercised the provisions of this paragraph to avoid a fine for a background study violation may not avoid a fine for a subsequent background study violation unless at least 365 days have passed since the license holder self-corrected the earlier background study violation.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.11, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 12. License holder qualifications for child foster care. (a) Child foster care

  license holders must maintain the ability to care for a foster child and ensure a safe home
  environment for children placed in their care. License holders must immediately notify the
  licensing agency of:
- 102.18 (1) any changes to the license holder or household member's physical or behavioral
  102.19 health that may affect the license holder's ability to care for a foster child or pose a risk to
  102.20 a foster child's health; or
- (2) changes related to the care of a child or vulnerable adult for whom the license holder is a parent or legally responsible, including living out of the home for treatment for physical or behavioral health, modified parenting time arrangements, legal custody, or placement in foster care.
- (b) The licensing agency may request a license holder or household member to undergo an evaluation by a specialist in areas such as physical or behavioral health to evaluate the license holder's ability to provide a safe environment for a foster child. Prior to assigning a specialist to evaluate, the licensing agency must tell the license holder or household member why the licensing agency has requested a specialist evaluation and request a release of information from the license holder or household member.
- 102.31 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

102.1

102.2

102.3

102.4

102.5

102.6

102.7

102.8

102.9

102.10

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.14, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

- Subd. 4. **Special family child care homes.** (a) Nonresidential child care programs serving 14 or fewer children that are conducted at a location other than the license holder's own residence shall be licensed under this section and the rules governing family child care or group family child care if:
- 103.6 (a) (1) the license holder is the primary provider of care and the nonresidential child care program is conducted in a dwelling that is located on a residential lot;
- (b) (2) the license holder is an employer who may or may not be the primary provider of care, and the purpose for the child care program is to provide child care services to children of the license holder's employees;
- 103.11 (e) (3) the license holder is a church or religious organization;

103.1

103.2

103.3

103.4

- (d) (4) the license holder is a community collaborative child care provider. For purposes of this subdivision, a community collaborative child care provider is a provider participating in a cooperative agreement with a community action agency as defined in section 256E.31;
- (e) (5) the license holder is a not-for-profit agency that provides child care in a dwelling located on a residential lot and the license holder maintains two or more contracts with community employers or other community organizations to provide child care services.

  The county licensing agency may grant a capacity variance to a license holder licensed under this paragraph clause to exceed the licensed capacity of 14 children by no more than
- 103.20 five children during transition periods related to the work schedules of parents, if the license 103.21 holder meets the following requirements:
- 103.22 (1) (i) the program does not exceed a capacity of 14 children more than a cumulative total of four hours per day;
- 103.24 (ii) the program meets a one to seven staff-to-child ratio during the variance period;
- 103.25 (3) (iii) all employees receive at least an extra four hours of training per year than required in the rules governing family child care each year;
- 103.27 (4) (iv) the facility has square footage required per child under Minnesota Rules, part 9502.0425;
- 103.29  $\frac{(5)}{(v)}$  the program is in compliance with local zoning regulations;
- 103.30 (6) (vi) the program is in compliance with the applicable fire code as follows:
- 103.31 (i) (A) if the program serves more than five children older than 2-1/2 years of age, but no more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the applicable fire code is educational

occupancy, as provided in Group E Occupancy under the Minnesota State Fire Code 2015 104.1 104.2 2020, Section 202; or (ii) (B) if the program serves more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the 104.3 applicable fire code is Group I-4 Occupancies Occupancy, as provided in the Minnesota 104.4 State Fire Code 2015 2020, Section 202, unless the rooms in which the children 2-1/2 years 104.5 of age or younger are cared for are located on a level of exit discharge and each of these 104.6 child care rooms has an exit door directly to the exterior, then the applicable fire code is 104.7 104.8 Group E occupancies Occupancy, as provided in the Minnesota State Fire Code 2015 2020, Section 202; and 104.9 104.10 (7) (vii) any age and capacity limitations required by the fire code inspection and square footage determinations shall be printed on the license; or 104.11 (f) (6) the license holder is the primary provider of care and has located the licensed 104.12 child care program in a commercial space, if the license holder meets the following 104.13 requirements: 104.14 104.15 (1) (i) the program is in compliance with local zoning regulations; (2) (ii) the program is in compliance with the applicable fire code as follows: 104.16 (i) (A) if the program serves more than five children older than 2-1/2 years of age, but 104.17 no more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the applicable fire code is educational 104.18 occupancy, as provided in Group E Occupancy under the Minnesota State Fire Code 2015 2020, Section 202; or 104.20 (ii) (B) if the program serves more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the 104.21 applicable fire code is Group I-4 Occupancies Occupancy, as provided under the Minnesota 104.22 State Fire Code 2015 2020, Section 202, unless the rooms in which the children 2-1/2 years of age or younger are cared for are located on a level of exit discharge and each of these 104.24 104.25 child care rooms has an exit door directly to the exterior, then the applicable fire code is Group E Occupancy, as provided in the Minnesota State Fire Code 2020, Section 202; 104.26 104.27 (3) (iii) any age and capacity limitations required by the fire code inspection and square footage determinations are printed on the license; and 104.28 (4) (iv) the license holder prominently displays the license issued by the commissioner 104.29 which contains the statement "This special family child care provider is not licensed as a 104.30 child care center." 104.31

104.32

104.33

may issue up to four licenses to an organization licensed under paragraph (b), (c), or (e) (a),

(g) (b) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9502.0335, subpart 12, the commissioner

105.1	clause (2), (3), or (5). Each license must have its own primary provider of care as required
105.2	under paragraph (i) (d). Each license must operate as a distinct and separate program in
105.3	compliance with all applicable laws and regulations.

- (h) (c) For licenses issued under paragraph (b), (e), (d), (e), or (f) (a), clause (2), (3), (4), (5), or (6), the commissioner may approve up to four licenses at the same location or under one contiguous roof if each license holder is able to demonstrate compliance with all applicable rules and laws. Each licensed program must operate as a distinct program and within the capacity, age, and ratio distributions of each license.
- (i) (d) For a license issued under paragraph (b), (c), or (e) (a), clause (2), (3), or (5), the license holder must designate a person to be the primary provider of care at the licensed location on a form and in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. The license holder shall notify the commissioner in writing before there is a change of the person designated to be the primary provider of care. The primary provider of care:
- 105.14 (1) must be the person who will be the provider of care at the program and present during
  the hours of operation;
- 105.16 (2) must operate the program in compliance with applicable laws and regulations under chapter 245A and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502;
- 105.18 (3) is considered a child care background study subject as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 6a, and must comply with background study requirements in chapter 245C;
- 105.20 (4) must complete the training that is required of license holders in section 245A.50; and
- 105.22 (5) is authorized to communicate with the county licensing agency and the department on matters related to licensing.
- (j) (e) For any license issued under this subdivision, the license holder must ensure that any other caregiver, substitute, or helper who assists in the care of children meets the training requirements in section 245A.50 and background study requirements under chapter 245C.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.1435, is amended to read:

# 105.28 **245A.1435 REDUCTION OF RISK OF SUDDEN UNEXPECTED INFANT DEATH**105.29 **IN LICENSED PROGRAMS.**

105.30 (a) When a license holder is placing an infant to sleep, the license holder must place the infant on the infant's back, unless the license holder has documentation from the infant's physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant directing an alternative

105.4

105.5

105.6

105.7

sleeping position for the infant. The physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant directive must be on a form approved developed by the commissioner and must remain on file at the licensed location. An infant who independently rolls onto its stomach after being placed to sleep on its back may be allowed to remain sleeping on its stomach if the infant is at least six months of age or the license holder has a signed statement from the parent indicating that the infant regularly rolls over at home.

- (b) The license holder must place the infant in a crib directly on a firm mattress with a fitted sheet that is appropriate to the mattress size, that fits tightly on the mattress, and overlaps the underside of the mattress so it cannot be dislodged by pulling on the corner of the sheet with reasonable effort. The license holder must not place anything in the crib with the infant except for the infant's pacifier, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 16, part 1511. The pacifier must be free from any sort of attachment. The requirements of this section apply to license holders serving infants younger than one year of age. Licensed child care providers must meet the crib requirements under section 245A.146. A correction order shall not be issued under this paragraph unless there is evidence that a violation occurred when an infant was present in the license holder's care.
- (c) If an infant falls asleep before being placed in a crib, the license holder must move the infant to a crib as soon as practicable, and must keep the infant within sight of the license holder until the infant is placed in a crib. When an infant falls asleep while being held, the license holder must consider the supervision needs of other children in care when determining how long to hold the infant before placing the infant in a crib to sleep. The sleeping infant must not be in a position where the airway may be blocked or with anything covering the infant's face.
- (d) When a license holder places an infant under one year of age down to sleep, the infant's clothing or sleepwear must not have weighted materials, a hood, or a bib.
- (e) A license holder may place an infant under one year of age down to sleep wearing

  a helmet if the license holder has signed documentation by a physician, advanced practice

  registered nurse, physician assistant, licensed occupational therapist, or licensed physical

  therapist on a form developed by the commissioner.
- (d) (f) Placing a swaddled infant down to sleep in a licensed setting is not recommended for an infant of any age and is prohibited for any infant who has begun to roll over independently. However, with the written consent of a parent or guardian according to this paragraph, a license holder may place the infant who has not yet begun to roll over on its own down to sleep in a one-piece sleeper equipped with an attached system that fastens

106.1

106.2

106.3

106.4

106.5

106.6

106.7

106.8

106.9

106.10

106.11

106.12

106.13

106.14

106.15

106.16

106.17

106.18

106.19

106.20

106.21

106.22

106.23

106.24

securely only across the upper torso, with no constriction of the hips or legs, to create a swaddle. A swaddle is defined as a one-piece sleepwear that wraps over the infant's arms, fastens securely only across the infant's upper torso, and does not constrict the infant's hips or legs. If a swaddle is used by a license holder, the license holder must ensure that it meets the requirements of paragraph (d) and is not so tight that it restricts the infant's ability to breathe or so loose that the fabric could cover the infant's nose and mouth. Prior to any use of swaddling for sleep by a provider licensed under this chapter, the license holder must obtain informed written consent for the use of swaddling from the parent or guardian of the infant on a form <del>provided</del> developed by the commissioner <del>and prepared in partnership with</del> the Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center. 107.10 (g) A license holder may request a variance to this section to permit the use of a 107.11 cradleboard when requested by a parent or guardian for a cultural accommodation. A variance 107.12 for the use of a cradleboard may be issued only by the commissioner. The variance request 107.13 must be submitted on a form developed by the commissioner in partnership with Tribal 107.14 welfare agencies and the Department of Health. 107.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024. 107.16 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.146, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 107.17

- 107.18 Subd. 3. License holder documentation of cribs. (a) Annually, from the date printed on the license, all license holders shall check all their cribs' brand names and model numbers 107.19 against the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission website listing of unsafe 107.20 107.21 cribs.
- (b) The license holder shall maintain written documentation to be reviewed on site for 107.22 each crib showing that the review required in paragraph (a) has been completed, and which 107.23 of the following conditions applies: 107.24
- (1) the crib was not identified as unsafe on the United States Consumer Product Safety 107.25 Commission website; 107.26
- 107.27 (2) the crib was identified as unsafe on the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission website, but the license holder has taken the action directed by the United 107.28 States Consumer Product Safety Commission to make the crib safe; or 107.29
- (3) the crib was identified as unsafe on the United States Consumer Product Safety 107.30 Commission website, and the license holder has removed the crib so that it is no longer 107.31 used by or accessible to children in care. 107.32

107.1

107.2

107.3

107.4

107.5

107.6

107.7

107.8

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

108.1	(c) Documentation of the review completed under this subdivision shall be maintained
108.2	by the license holder on site and made available to parents or guardians of children in care
108.3	and the commissioner.
108.4	(d) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9502.0425, a family child care provider that
108.5	complies with this section may use a mesh-sided or fabric-sided play yard, pack and play,
108.6	or playpen or crib that has not been identified as unsafe on the United States Consumer
108.7	Product Safety Commission website for the care or sleeping of infants.
108.8	(e) On at least a monthly basis, the family child care license holder shall perform safety
108.9	inspections of every mesh-sided or fabric-sided play yard, pack and play, or playpen used
108.10	by or that is accessible to any child in care, and must document the following:
108.11	(1) there are no tears, holes, or loose or unraveling threads in mesh or fabric sides of
108.12	crib;
108.13	(2) the weave of the mesh on the crib is no larger than one-fourth of an inch;
108.14	(3) no mesh fabric is unsecure or unattached to top rail and floor plate of crib;
108.15	(4) no tears or holes to top rail of crib;
108.16	(5) the mattress floor board is not soft and does not exceed one inch thick;
108.17	(6) the mattress floor board has no rips or tears in covering;
108.18	(7) the mattress floor board in use is a waterproof an original mattress or replacement
108.19	mattress provided by the manufacturer of the crib;
108.20	(8) there are no protruding or loose rivets, metal nuts, or bolts on the crib;
108.21	(9) there are no knobs or wing nuts on outside crib legs;
108.22	(10) there are no missing, loose, or exposed staples; and
108.23	(11) the latches on top and side rails used to collapse crib are secure, they lock properly,
108.24	and are not loose.
108.25	(f) If a cradleboard is used in a licensed setting, the license holder must check the
108.26	cradleboard not less than monthly to ensure the cradleboard is structurally sound and there
108.27	are no loose or protruding parts. The license holder shall maintain written documentation
108.28	of this review.

108.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.16, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

- Subdivision 1. Delegation of authority to agencies. (a) County agencies and private agencies that have been designated or licensed by the commissioner to perform licensing functions and activities under section 245A.04 and background studies for family child care under chapter 245C; to recommend denial of applicants under section 245A.05; to issue correction orders, to issue variances, and recommend a conditional license under section 245A.06; or to recommend suspending or revoking a license or issuing a fine under section 245A.07, shall comply with rules and directives of the commissioner governing those functions and with this section. The following variances are excluded from the delegation of variance authority and may be issued only by the commissioner: 109.10
- (1) dual licensure of family child care and child foster care, dual licensure of child and 109.11 adult foster care, and adult foster care and family child care; 109.12
- (2) adult foster care maximum capacity; 109.13

109.1

109.2

109.3

109.4

109.5

109.6

109.7

109.8

- (3) adult foster care minimum age requirement; 109.14
- (4) child foster care maximum age requirement; 109.15
- (5) variances regarding disqualified individuals except that, before the implementation 109.16 of NETStudy 2.0, county agencies may issue variances under section 245C.30 regarding 109.17 disqualified individuals when the county is responsible for conducting a consolidated 109.18 reconsideration according to sections 245C.25 and 245C.27, subdivision 2, clauses (a) and (b), of a county maltreatment determination and a disqualification based on serious or 109.20 recurring maltreatment; 109.21
- (6) the required presence of a caregiver in the adult foster care residence during normal 109.22 sleeping hours; 109.23
- (7) variances to requirements relating to chemical use problems of a license holder or a 109.24 household member of a license holder; and 109.25
- (8) variances to section 245A.53 for a time-limited period. If the commissioner grants 109.26 a variance under this clause, the license holder must provide notice of the variance to all 109.27 parents and guardians of the children in care; and 109.28
- (9) variances to section 245A.1435 for the use of a cradleboard for a cultural 109.29 accommodation. 109.30

Except as provided in section 245A.14, subdivision 4, paragraph (e), a county agency must not grant a license holder a variance to exceed the maximum allowable family child care license capacity of 14 children.

- (b) A county agency that has been designated by the commissioner to issue family child care variances must:
- 110.6 (1) publish the county agency's policies and criteria for issuing variances on the county's public website and update the policies as necessary; and
- 110.8 (2) annually distribute the county agency's policies and criteria for issuing variances to 110.9 all family child care license holders in the county.
- 110.10 (c) Before the implementation of NETStudy 2.0, county agencies must report information 110.11 about disqualification reconsiderations under sections 245C.25 and 245C.27, subdivision 110.12 2, paragraphs (a) and (b), and variances granted under paragraph (a), clause (5), to the 110.13 commissioner at least monthly in a format prescribed by the commissioner.
- (d) For family child care programs, the commissioner shall require a county agency to conduct one unannounced licensing review at least annually.
- (e) For family adult day services programs, the commissioner may authorize licensing reviews every two years after a licensee has had at least one annual review.
- (f) A license issued under this section may be issued for up to two years.
- (g) During implementation of chapter 245D, the commissioner shall consider:
- 110.20 (1) the role of counties in quality assurance;

110.1

110.2

110.3

110.4

- (2) the duties of county licensing staff; and
- 110.22 (3) the possible use of joint powers agreements, according to section 471.59, with counties through which some licensing duties under chapter 245D may be delegated by the commissioner to the counties.
- Any consideration related to this paragraph must meet all of the requirements of the corrective action plan ordered by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
- (h) Licensing authority specific to section 245D.06, subdivisions 5, 6, 7, and 8, or successor provisions; and section 245D.061 or successor provisions, for family child foster care programs providing out-of-home respite, as identified in section 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (1), is excluded from the delegation of authority to county and private agencies.

(i) A county agency shall report to the commissioner, in a manner prescribed by the 111.1 commissioner, the following information for a licensed family child care program: 111.2 (1) the results of each licensing review completed, including the date of the review, and 111.3 any licensing correction order issued; 111.4 111.5 (2) any death, serious injury, or determination of substantiated maltreatment; and (3) any fires that require the service of a fire department within 48 hours of the fire. The 111.6 111.7 information under this clause must also be reported to the state fire marshal within two business days of receiving notice from a licensed family child care provider. 111.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024. 111.9 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.16, subdivision 9, is amended to read: 111.10 Subd. 9. Licensed family foster settings. (a) Before recommending to grant a license, 111.11 deny a license under section 245A.05, or revoke a license under section 245A.07 for 111.12 nondisqualifying background study information received under section 245C.05, subdivision 111.13 4, paragraph (a), clause (3), for a licensed family foster setting, a county agency or private 111.14 agency that has been designated or licensed by the commissioner must review the following for the license holder, applicant, and an individual living in the household where the licensed 111.16 services are provided or who is otherwise subject to a background study: 111.17 (1) the type of offenses; 111.18 (2) the number of offenses; 111.19 (3) the nature of the offenses; 111.20 (4) the age of the individual at the time of the offenses; 111.21 (5) the length of time that has elapsed since the last offense; 111.22 (6) the relationship of the offenses and the capacity to care for a child; 111.23 (7) evidence of rehabilitation; 111.24 (8) information or knowledge from community members regarding the individual's 111.25 capacity to provide foster care; 111.26 111.27 (9) any available information regarding child maltreatment reports or child in need of protection or services petitions, or related cases, in which the individual has been involved 111.28

111.29

111.30

or implicated, and documentation that the individual has remedied issues or conditions

identified in child protection or court records that are relevant to safely caring for a child;

- (10) a statement from the study subject; 112.1
- (11) a statement from the license holder; and 112.2
- (12) other aggravating and mitigating factors. 112.3
- (b) For purposes of this section, "evidence of rehabilitation" includes but is not limited 112.4 to the following: 112.5
- (1) maintaining a safe and stable residence; 112.6
- (2) continuous, regular, or stable employment; 112.7
- (3) successful participation in an education or job training program; 112.8
- (4) positive involvement with the community or extended family; 112.9
- (5) compliance with the terms and conditions of probation or parole following the 112.10 individual's most recent conviction; 112.11
- (6) if the individual has had a substance use disorder, successful completion of a substance 112.12 use disorder assessment, substance use disorder treatment, and recommended continuing 112.13 care, if applicable, demonstrated abstinence from controlled substances, as defined in section 112.14 152.01, subdivision 4, or the establishment of a sober network; 112.15
- (7) if the individual has had a mental illness or documented mental health issues, 112.16 demonstrated completion of a mental health evaluation, participation in therapy or other 112.17
- recommended mental health treatment, or appropriate medication management, if applicable; 112.18
- (8) if the individual's offense or conduct involved domestic violence, demonstrated 112.19 completion of a domestic violence or anger management program, and the absence of any orders for protection or harassment restraining orders against the individual since the previous 112.21 offense or conduct: 112.22
- (9) written letters of support from individuals of good repute, including but not limited 112.23 to employers, members of the clergy, probation or parole officers, volunteer supervisors, or social services workers; 112.25
- (10) demonstrated remorse for convictions or conduct, or demonstrated positive behavior 112.26 changes; and 112.27
- (11) absence of convictions or arrests since the previous offense or conduct, including 112.28 any convictions that were expunged or pardoned. 112.29
- (c) An applicant for a family foster setting license must sign all releases of information 112.30 requested by the county or private licensing agency. 112.31

(d) When licensing a relative for a family foster setting, the commissioner shall also consider the importance of maintaining the child's relationship with relatives as an additional significant factor in determining whether an application will be denied.

- (e) When recommending that the commissioner deny or revoke a license, the county or private licensing agency must send a summary of the review completed according to paragraph (a), on a form developed by the commissioner, to the commissioner and include any recommendation for licensing action.
  - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.16, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 10. Electronic checklist use by family child care licensors. County staff who
  perform family child care licensing functions must use the commissioner's electronic licensing
  checklist in the manner prescribed by the commissioner.
- 113.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2023.
- 113.15 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.18, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Child passenger restraint systems; training requirement. (a) Programs licensed by the Department of Human Services under this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960, that serve a child or children under eight years of age must document training that fulfills the requirements in this subdivision.
- (b) Before a license holder, staff person, or caregiver transports a child or children under age eight in a motor vehicle, the person transporting the child must satisfactorily complete training on the proper use and installation of child restraint systems in motor vehicles.

  Training completed under this section may be used to meet initial or ongoing training under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3070, subparts 1 and 2.
- 113.25 (c) Training required under this section must be completed at orientation or initial training and repeated at least once every five years. At a minimum, the training must address the proper use of child restraint systems based on the child's size, weight, and age, and the proper installation of a car seat or booster seat in the motor vehicle used by the license holder to transport the child or children.
- 113.30 (d) Training under paragraph (c) must be provided by individuals who are certified and 113.31 approved by the <del>Department of Public Safety,</del> Office of Traffic Safety within the Department

113.1

113.2

113.3

113.4

113.5

113.6

113.7

of Public Safety. License holders may obtain a list of certified and approved trainers through the Department of Public Safety website or by contacting the agency.

- (e) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), for an emergency relative placement under section 245A.035, the commissioner may grant a variance to the training required by this subdivision for a relative who completes a child seat safety check up. The child seat safety check up trainer must be approved by the Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety, and must provide one-on-one instruction on placing a child of a specific age in the exact child passenger restraint in the motor vehicle in which the child will be transported. Once granted a variance, and if all other licensing requirements are met, the relative applicant may receive a license and may transport a relative foster child younger than eight years of age. A child seat safety check up must be completed each time a child requires a different size car seat according to car seat and vehicle manufacturer guidelines. A relative license holder must complete training that meets the other requirements of this subdivision prior to placement of another foster child younger than eight years of age in the home or prior to the renewal of the child foster care license.
- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.22, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 8. Maltreatment of minors training requirements. The license holder must train each mandatory reporter as described in section 260E.06, subdivision 1, on the maltreatment of minors reporting requirements and definitions in chapter 260E before the mandatory reporter has direct contact, as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 11, with a person served by the program. The license holder must train each mandatory reporter annually thereafter.
- 114.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

#### 114.25 Sec. 21. [245A.42] CHILD CARE CENTER HIRING PRACTICES.

As part of the employment assessment process, a child care center license holder or staff
person may observe how a prospective employee interacts with children in the licensed
facility. The prospective employee is not considered a child care background study subject
under section 245C.02, subdivision 6a, provided the prospective employee is under
continuous direct supervision by a staff person when the prospective employee has physical
access to a child served by the center. The observation period shall not be longer than two
hours, and a prospective employee must not be counted in staff-to-child ratios.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2023.

114.33

114.1

114.2

114.3

114.4

114.5

114.6

114.7

114.8

114.9

114.10

114.11

114.13

114.14

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.50, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3. **First aid.** (a) Before initial licensure and before caring for a child, license holders, second adult caregivers, and substitutes must be trained in pediatric first aid. The first aid training must have been provided by an individual approved to provide first aid instruction. First aid training may be less than eight hours and persons qualified to provide first aid training include individuals approved as first aid instructors. License holders, second adult caregivers, and substitutes must repeat pediatric first aid training every two years. When the training expires, it must be retaken no later than the day before the anniversary of the license holder's license effective date. License holders, second adult caregivers, and substitutes must not let the training expire.
- (b) Video training reviewed and approved by the county licensing agency satisfies the training requirement of this subdivision.
- 115.13 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.50, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation. (a) Before initial licensure and before caring 115.14 for a child, license holders, second adult caregivers, and substitutes must be trained in 115.16 pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), including CPR techniques for infants and children, and in the treatment of obstructed airways. The CPR training must have been 115.17 provided by an individual approved to provide CPR instruction. License holders, second 115.18 adult caregivers, and substitutes must repeat pediatric CPR training at least once every two 115.19 years and must document the training in the license holder's records. When the training 115.20 expires, it must be retaken no later than the day before the anniversary of the license holder's 115.21 license effective date. License holders, second adult caregivers, and substitutes must not let 115.22 the training expire. 115.23
- (b) Persons providing CPR training must use CPR training that has been developed:
- 115.25 (1) by the American Heart Association or the American Red Cross and incorporates 115.26 psychomotor skills to support the instruction; or
- 115.27 (2) using nationally recognized, evidence-based guidelines for CPR training and incorporates psychomotor skills to support the instruction.
- Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.50, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma training.** (a)
  License holders must ensure and document that before the license holder, second adult
  caregivers, substitutes, and helpers assist in the care of infants, they are instructed on the

115.1

115.2

115.3

115.4

115.5

115.6

115.7

115.8

115.9

standards in section 245A.1435 and receive training on reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death. In addition, license holders must ensure and document that before the license holder, second adult caregivers, substitutes, and helpers assist in the care of infants and children under school age, they receive training on reducing the risk of abusive head trauma from shaking infants and young children. The training in this subdivision may be provided as initial training under subdivision 1 or ongoing annual training under subdivision 7.

- (b) Sudden unexpected infant death reduction training required under this subdivision must, at a minimum, address the risk factors related to sudden unexpected infant death, means of reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death in child care, and license holder communication with parents regarding reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death.
- (c) Abusive head trauma training required under this subdivision must, at a minimum, address the risk factors related to shaking infants and young children, means of reducing the risk of abusive head trauma in child care, and license holder communication with parents regarding reducing the risk of abusive head trauma.
- (d) Training for family and group family child care providers must be developed by the commissioner in conjunction with the Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center and approved by the Minnesota Center for Professional Development. Sudden unexpected infant death reduction training and abusive head trauma training may be provided in a single course of no more than two hours in length.
- (e) Sudden unexpected infant death reduction training and abusive head trauma training required under this subdivision must be completed in person or as allowed under subdivision 10, clause (1) or (2), at least once every two years. When the training expires, it must be retaken no later than the day before the anniversary of the license holder's license effective date. On the years when the individual receiving training is not receiving training in person or as allowed under subdivision 10, clause (1) or (2), the individual receiving training in accordance with this subdivision must receive sudden unexpected infant death reduction training and abusive head trauma training through a video of no more than one hour in length. The video must be developed or approved by the commissioner.
- (f) An individual who is related to the license holder as defined in section 245A.02, subdivision 13, and who is involved only in the care of the license holder's own infant or child under school age and who is not designated to be a second adult caregiver, helper, or

116.1

116.2

116.3

116.4

116.5

116.6

116.7

116.8

116.9

116.10

116.11

116.12

116.13

116.14

116.15

116.16

116.17

116.18

116.19

116.20

116.21

116.22

116.23

116.25

116.26

116.27

116.28

116.29

116.31

116.32

substitute for the licensed program, is exempt from the sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma training.

- Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.50, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Child passenger restraint systems; training requirement.** (a) A license holder must comply with all seat belt and child passenger restraint system requirements
- 117.6 under section 169.685.
- (b) Family and group family child care programs licensed by the Department of Human Services that serve a child or children under eight years of age must document training that fulfills the requirements in this subdivision.
- (1) Before a license holder, second adult caregiver, substitute, or helper transports a child or children under age eight in a motor vehicle, the person placing the child or children in a passenger restraint must satisfactorily complete training on the proper use and installation of child restraint systems in motor vehicles. Training completed under this subdivision may be used to meet initial training under subdivision 1 or ongoing training under subdivision 7.
- 117.16 (2) Training required under this subdivision must be at least one hour in length, completed at initial training, and repeated at least once every five years. When the training expires, it must be retaken no later than the day before the anniversary of the license holder's license effective date. At a minimum, the training must address the proper use of child restraint systems based on the child's size, weight, and age, and the proper installation of a car seat or booster seat in the motor vehicle used by the license holder to transport the child or children.
  - (3) Training under this subdivision must be provided by individuals who are certified and approved by the Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety. License holders may obtain a list of certified and approved trainers through the Department of Public Safety website or by contacting the agency.
- (c) Child care providers that only transport school-age children as defined in section 245A.02, subdivision 19, paragraph (f), in child care buses as defined in section 169.448, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), are exempt from this subdivision.
- Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.50, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
- Subd. 9. **Supervising for safety; training requirement.** (a) Courses required by this subdivision must include the following health and safety topics:

117.23

117.24

117.25

(1) preventing and controlling infectious diseases; 118.1 (2) administering medication; 118.2 (3) preventing and responding to allergies; 118.3 (4) ensuring building and physical premises safety; 118.4 (5) handling and storing biological contaminants; 118.5 (6) preventing and reporting child abuse and maltreatment; and 118.6 (7) emergency preparedness. 118.7 (b) Before initial licensure and before caring for a child, all family child care license 118.8 holders and each second adult caregiver shall complete and document the completion of 118.9 the six-hour Supervising for Safety for Family Child Care course developed by the 118.10 commissioner. 118.11 (c) The license holder must ensure and document that, before caring for a child, all 118.12 substitutes have completed the four-hour Basics of Licensed Family Child Care for 118.13 Substitutes course developed by the commissioner, which must include health and safety topics as well as child development and learning. 118.15 (d) The family child care license holder and each second adult caregiver shall complete 118.16 and document: 118.17 (1) the annual completion of either: 118.18 (i) a two-hour active supervision course developed by the commissioner; or 118.19 (ii) any courses in the ensuring safety competency area under the health, safety, and 118.20 nutrition standard of the Knowledge and Competency Framework that the commissioner 118.21 has identified as an active supervision training course; and 118.22 118.23 (2) the completion at least once every five years of the two-hour courses Health and Safety I and Health and Safety II. When the training is due for the first time or expires, it 118.24 must be taken no later than the day before the anniversary of the license holder's license 118.25 effective date. A license holder's or second adult caregiver's completion of either training 118.26 in a given year meets the annual active supervision training requirement in clause (1). (e) At least once every three years, license holders must ensure and document that 118.28 substitutes have completed the four-hour Basics of Licensed Family Child Care for 118.29

118.30

Substitutes course. When the training expires, it must be retaken no later than the day before

the anniversary of the license holder's license effective date.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.52, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Means of escape.** (a)(1) At least one emergency escape route separate from the main exit from the space must be available in each room used for sleeping by anyone receiving licensed care, and (2) a basement used for child care. One means of escape must be a stairway or door leading to the floor of exit discharge. The other must be a door or window leading directly outside. A window used as an emergency escape route must be openable without special knowledge.

- (b) In homes with construction that began before May 2, 2016 March 31, 2020, the interior of the window leading directly outside must have a net clear opening area of not less than 4.5 square feet or 648 square inches and have minimum clear opening dimensions of 20 inches wide and 20 inches high. The net clear opening dimensions shall be the result of normal operation of the opening. The opening must be no higher than 48 inches from the floor. The height to the window may be measured from a platform if a platform is located below the window.
- (c) In homes with construction that began on or after May 2, 2016 March 31, 2020, the interior of the window leading directly outside must have minimum clear opening dimensions of 20 inches wide and 24 inches high. The net clear opening dimensions shall be the result of normal operation of the opening. The opening must be no higher than 44 inches from the floor.
- 119.20 (d) Additional requirements are dependent on the distance of the openings from the ground outside the window: (1) windows or other openings with a sill height not more than 44 inches above or below the finished ground level adjacent to the opening (grade-floor emergency escape and rescue openings) must have a minimum opening of five square feet; and (2) non-grade-floor emergency escape and rescue openings must have a minimum opening of 5.7 square feet.
- Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.52, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Heating and venting systems.** (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9502.0425, subpart 7, item C, items that can be ignited and support combustion, including but not limited to plastic, fabric, and wood products must not be located within:
- 119.30 (1) 18 inches of a gas or fuel-oil heater or furnace-; or
- 119.31 (2) 36 inches of a solid-fuel-burning appliance.

119.1

119.2

119.3

119.4

119.5

119.6

119.7

119.8

119.9

119.10

119.11

119.12

119.13

(b) If a license holder produces manufacturer instructions listing a smaller distance, then the manufacturer instructions control the distance combustible items must be from gas, fuel-oil, or solid-fuel burning heaters or furnaces.

- Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.52, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Carbon monoxide and smoke alarms.** (a) All homes must have an approved and operational carbon monoxide alarm installed within ten feet of each room used for sleeping children in care.
- (b) Smoke alarms that have been listed by the Underwriter Laboratory must be properly installed and maintained on all levels including basements, but not including crawl spaces and uninhabitable attics, and in hallways outside rooms used for sleeping children in care. in hallways outside of rooms used for sleeping children and on all levels, including basements but not including crawl spaces and uninhabitable attics.
- 120.13 (c) In homes with construction that began on or after May 2, 2016 March 31, 2020, 120.14 smoke alarms must be installed and maintained in each room used for sleeping children in 120.15 care.
- Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.52, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 8. Fire code variances. When a variance is requested of the standards contained in subdivision 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5, an applicant or provider must submit written approval from the state fire marshal of the variance requested and the alternative measures identified to ensure the safety of children in care.
- Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.66, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 4. Ongoing training requirement. (a) In addition to the orientation training required by the applicable licensing rules and statutes, children's residential facility and private child-placing agency license holders must provide a training annually on the maltreatment of minors reporting requirements and definitions in chapter 260E to each mandatory reporter, as described in section 260E.06, subdivision 1.
- (b) In addition to the orientation training required by the applicable licensing rules and statutes, all family child foster care license holders and caregivers and foster residence setting staff and volunteers that are mandatory reporters as described in section 260E.06,

subdivision 1, must complete training each year on the maltreatment of minors reporting requirements and definitions in chapter 260E.

- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.
- Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.13, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Staff development.** (a) A license holder must ensure that each staff member has the training described in this subdivision.
- (b) Each staff member must be trained every two years in:

- (1) client confidentiality rules and regulations and client ethical boundaries; and
- (2) emergency procedures and client rights as specified in sections 144.651, 148F.165, and 253B.03.
- 121.11 (c) Annually each staff member with direct contact must be trained on mandatory
  121.12 reporting as specified in sections 245A.65, 626.557, and 626.5572, and chapter 260E,
  121.13 including specific training covering the license holder's policies for obtaining a release of
  121.14 client information.
- 121.15 (d) Upon employment and annually thereafter, each staff member with direct contact must receive training on HIV minimum standards according to section 245A.19.
- (e) The license holder must ensure that each mandatory reporter, as described in section

  260E.06, subdivision 1, is trained on the maltreatment of minors reporting requirements

  and definitions in chapter 260E before the mandatory reporter has direct contact, as defined

  in section 245C.02, subdivision 11, with a person served by the program.
- (e) (f) A treatment director, supervisor, nurse, or counselor must have a minimum of 12 hours of training in co-occurring disorders that includes competencies related to philosophy, trauma-informed care, screening, assessment, diagnosis and person-centered treatment planning, documentation, programming, medication, collaboration, mental health consultation, and discharge planning. A new staff member who has not obtained the training must complete the training within six months of employment. A staff member may request, and the license holder may grant, credit for relevant training obtained before employment, which must be documented in the staff member's personnel file.
- 121.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.01, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

- Subd. 5. Certified license-exempt child care center. "Certified license-exempt child
- care center" means the commissioner's written authorization for a child care center excluded
- from licensure under section 245A.03, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (5), (11) to (13),
- 122.5 (15), (18), or (26), or (30), to register to receive child care assistance payments under chapter
- 122.6 119B.
- 122.7 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.
- Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.02, is amended to read:
- 122.9 **245H.02 WHO MUST BE CERTIFIED.**
- 122.10 A program that is exempt from licensure under section 245A.03, subdivision 2, paragraph
- 122.11 (a), clause (5), (11) to (13), (15), (18), or (26), and is authorized to receive child care
- 122.12 assistance payments under chapter 119B, or (30), must be a certified license-exempt child
- care center according to this section to receive child care assistance payments under chapter
- 122.14 119B.
- 122.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.
- Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.03, is amended by adding a subdivision
- 122.17 to read:
- Subd. 5. **Notification required.** (a) A certification holder must notify the commissioner,
- in a manner prescribed by the commissioner, and obtain the commissioner's approval before
- 122.20 making any changes:
- (1) to the certification holder as defined in section 245H.01, subdivision 4;
- (2) to the certification holder information on file with the secretary of state or Department
- 122.23 of Revenue;
- 122.24 (3) in the location of the program certified under this chapter;
- (4) to the ages of children served by the program; or
- 122.26 (5) to the certified center's schedule including its:
- 122.27 (i) yearly schedule;
- 122.28 (ii) hours of operation; or
- 122.29 (iii) days of the week it is open.

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

(b) When, for reasons beyond the certification holder's control, a certification holder 123.1 cannot provide the commissioner with prior notice of the changes in paragraph (a), the 123.2 123.3 certification holder must notify the commissioner by the tenth business day after the change and must provide any additional information requested by the commissioner. 123.4 (c) When a certification holder notifies the commissioner of a change to the certification 123.5 holder information on file with the secretary of state, the certification holder must provide 123.6 documentation of the change. 123.7 (d) Upon implementation of the provider licensing and reporting hub, certification holders 123.8 must enter and update information in the hub in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. 123.9 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023. 123.10 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.05, is amended to read: 123.11 245H.05 MONITORING AND INSPECTIONS. 123.12 (a) The commissioner must conduct an on-site inspection of a certified license-exempt 123.13 child care center at least annually once each calendar year to determine compliance with 123.14 the health, safety, and fire standards specific to a certified license-exempt child care center. 123.15 (b) No later than November 19, 2017, the commissioner shall make publicly available 123.16 on the department's website the results of inspection reports for all certified centers including 123.17 the number of deaths, serious injuries, and instances of substantiated child maltreatment 123.18 123.19 that occurred in certified centers each year. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 123.20 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.08, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 123.21 123.22 Subd. 4. Maximum group size. (a) For a child six weeks old through 16 months old, the maximum group size shall be no more than eight children. 123.23 123.24 (b) For a child 16 months old through 33 months old, the maximum group size shall be no more than 14 children. 123.25 123.26 (c) For a child 33 months old through prekindergarten, a maximum group size shall be

Article 4 Sec. 37.

123.29 more than 30 children.

123.27

123.28

no more than 20 children.

(d) For a child in kindergarten through 13 years old, a maximum group size shall be no

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

124.1	(e) The maximum group size applies at all times except during group activity coordination
124.2	time not exceeding 15 minutes, during a meal, outdoor activity, field trip, nap and rest, and
124.3	special activity including a film, guest speaker, indoor large muscle activity, or holiday
124.4	program.
124.5	(f) Notwithstanding paragraph (d), a certified center may continue to serve a child 14
124.6	years of age or older if one of the following conditions is true:
124.7	(1) the child remains eligible for child care assistance under section 119B.09, subdivision
124.8	1, paragraph (e); or
124.9	(2) the certified center serves only school-age children in a setting that has students
124.10	enrolled in no grade higher than 8th grade.
124.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
124.12	Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.08, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
124.13	Subd. 5. Ratios. (a) The minimally acceptable staff-to-child ratios are:
124.14	six weeks old through 16 months old 1:4
124.15	16 months old through 33 months old 1:7
124.16	33 months old through prekindergarten 1:10
124.17	kindergarten through 13 years old 1:15
124.18	(b) Kindergarten includes a child of sufficient age to have attended the first day of
124.19	kindergarten or who is eligible to enter kindergarten within the next four months.
124.20	(c) For mixed groups, the ratio for the age group of the youngest child applies.
124.21	(d) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a certified center may continue to serve a child 14
124.22	years of age or older if one of the following conditions is true:
124.23	(1) the child remains eligible for child care assistance under section 119B.09, subdivision
124.24	1, paragraph (e); or
124.25	(2) the certified center serves only school-age children in a setting that has students
124.26	enrolled in no grade higher than 8th grade.
124.27	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2023.
104.22	Soc 20 Minnogoto Statutos 2022 socilos 245H 12 sul discisios 2 is successful 1
124.28	Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.13, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

124.30 medicine must meet the requirements in this subdivision.

124.29

Subd. 3. Administration of medication. (a) A certified center that chooses to administer

(b) The certified center must obtain written permission from the child's parent or legal guardian before administering prescription medicine, nonprescription medicine, diapering product, sunscreen lotion, and insect repellent.

- (c) The certified center must administer nonprescription medicine, diapering product, sunscreen lotion, and insect repellent according to the manufacturer's instructions unless provided written instructions by a licensed health professional to use a product differently.
- 125.7 (d) The certified center must obtain and follow written instructions from the prescribing
  125.8 health professional before administering prescription medicine. Medicine with the child's
  125.9 first and last name and current prescription information on the label is considered written
  125.10 instructions.
- (e) The certified center must ensure all prescription and nonprescription medicine is:
- (1) kept in the medicine's original container with a legible label stating the child's first and last name;
- (2) given only to the child whose name is on the label;

125.1

125.2

125.3

125.4

125.5

- 125.15 (3) not given after an expiration date on the label; and
- (4) returned to the child's parent or legal guardian or destroyed, if unused.
- (f) The certified center must document in the child's record the administration of prescription and nonprescription medication, including the child's first and last name; the name of the medication or prescription number; the date, time, and dosage; and the name and signature of the person who administered the medicine. This documentation must be available to the child's parent or legal guardian.
- 125.22 (g) The certified center must store <u>prescription and nonprescription</u> medicines, insect 125.23 repellents, and diapering products according to directions on the original container.
- 125.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.
- Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.13, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Risk reduction plan.** (a) The certified center must develop a risk reduction plan that identifies risks to children served by the child care center. The assessment of risk must include risks presented by (1) the physical plant where the certified services are provided, including electrical hazards; and (2) the environment, including the proximity to busy roads and bodies of water.

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1
-------------------	----------------	-------	----------

126.1	(b) The certification holder must establish policies and procedures to minimize identified
126.2	risks. After any change to the risk reduction plan, the certification holder must inform staff
126.3	of the change in the risk reduction plan and document that staff were informed of the change.
126.4	(c) If middle-school-age children are enrolled in the center and combined with elementary
126.5	children, the certification holder must establish policies and procedures to ensure adequate
126.6	supervision as defined in subdivision 10 when children are grouped together.
126.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
126.8	Sec. 41. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; AMENDING THE DEFINITION OF
126.9	EDUCATION.
126.10	(a) The commissioner of human services must amend Minnesota Rules, part 9503.0030,
126.11	subpart 1, item B, to include accredited course work from an accredited postsecondary
126.12	institution that can be shown to be relevant to the primary skills necessary to meet the
126.13	qualifications of a teacher.
126.14	(b) For purposes of this section, the commissioner may use the good cause exemption
126.15	process under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), and Minnesota
126.16	Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply.
126.17	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective the day following final enactment.
126.18	Sec. 42. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; AMENDING STAFF
126.19	QUALIFICATION RULES FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS.
126.20	(a) The commissioner of human services must amend Minnesota Rules, part 9503.0033,
126.21	to allow a child care center to hire an individual as an assistant teacher if the individual is
126.22	at least 18 years old, has been employed in a direct child-serving role at the center for a
126.23	minimum of 30 days, is enrolled in a child development associate credential program at the
126.24	time of hire or will be within 60 days of being hired, and completes the child development
126.25	associate credential from the Council for Professional Recognition within one year of the
126.26	individual's hiring date.
126.27	(b) For purposes of this section, the commissioner may use the good cause exemption
126.28	process under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), and Minnesota
126.29	Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply.

	03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1
127.1		ARTICLE 5		
127.2	ECONO	OMIC ASSISTANCE		
127.3	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022,	section 119B.011, subdivi	sion 3, is ame	nded to read:
127.4	Subd. 3. <b>Application.</b> "Applicatio	n" means the submission t	o a county ago	ency, by or
127.5	on behalf of a family, of a completed,	signed, and dated:		
127.6	(1) child care assistance universal	application form; or		
127.7	(2) child care addendum form in c	ombination with a combin	ed application	ı form for
127.8	MFIP <del>, DWP,</del> or Supplemental Nutritie	on Assistance Program (Sl	NAP) benefits	·
127.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section	n is effective July 1, 2024.		
127.10	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, sec	ction 119B.011, subdivisio	n 15, is amen	ded to read:
127.11	Subd. 15. <b>Income.</b> "Income" mean	ns earned income as define	ed under section	on 256P.01,
127.12	subdivision 3, unearned income as def	fined under section 256P.01	, subdivision	8, and public
127.13	assistance cash benefits, including the	Minnesota family investm	nent program,	diversionary
127.14	work program, work benefit, Minneso	ota supplemental aid, gener	al assistance,	refugee cash
127.15	assistance, at-home infant child care s	ubsidy payments, and child	d support and	maintenance
127.16	distributed to the a family under section	on 256.741, subdivision 2a	., and nonrecu	rring income
127.17	over \$60 per quarter unless the nonrec	curring income is:		
127.18	(1) from tax refunds, tax rebates, of	or tax credits;		
127.19	(2) from a reimbursement, rebate,	award, grant, or refund of	personal or re	eal property
127.20	or costs or losses incurred when these	e payments are made by a 1	oublic agency.	a court. a

127.23 (3) provided as an in-kind benefit; or

or a disaster assistance organization;

127.21

127.22

(4) earmarked and used for the purpose for which it was intended.

The following are deducted from income: funds used to pay for health insurance premiums for family members, and child or spousal support paid to or on behalf of a person or persons who live outside of the household. Income sources not included in this subdivision and section 256P.06, subdivision 3, are not counted as income.

solicitation through public appeal, the federal government, a state or local unit of government,

127.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.02, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Universal application form.** The commissioner must develop and make available to all counties a universal application form for child care assistance under this chapter. The commissioner may develop and make available to all counties a child care addendum form to be used to supplement the combined application form for MFIP, DWP, or Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits or to supplement other statewide application forms for public assistance programs for families applying for one of these programs in addition to child care assistance. The application must provide notice of eligibility requirements for assistance and penalties for wrongfully obtaining assistance.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.025, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Changes in eligibility.** (a) The county shall process a change in eligibility factors according to paragraphs (b) to (g).
- (b) A family is subject to the reporting requirements in section 256P.07, subdivision 6.
- 128.15 (c) If a family reports a change or a change is known to the agency before the family's 128.16 regularly scheduled redetermination, the county must act on the change. The commissioner 128.17 shall establish standards for verifying a change.
- 128.18 (d) A change in income occurs on the day the participant received the first payment reflecting the change in income.
- (e) During a family's 12-month eligibility period, if the family's income increases and remains at or below 85 percent of the state median income, adjusted for family size, there is no change to the family's eligibility. The county shall not request verification of the change. The co-payment fee shall not increase during the remaining portion of the family's 128.24 12-month eligibility period.
- (f) During a family's 12-month eligibility period, if the family's income increases and exceeds 85 percent of the state median income, adjusted for family size, the family is not eligible for child care assistance. The family must be given 15 calendar days to provide verification of the change. If the required verification is not returned or confirms ineligibility, the family's eligibility ends following a subsequent 15-day adverse action notice.
- 128.30 (g) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, parts 3400.0040, subpart 3, and 3400.0170, subpart 1, if an applicant or participant reports that employment ended, the agency may

128.1

128.2

128.3

128.4

128.5

128.6

128.7

128.8

128.9

accept a signed statement from the applicant or participant as verification that employment ended.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.03, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Eligible participants.** Families that meet the eligibility requirements under sections 119B.09 and 119B.10, except MFIP participants, diversionary work program, and transition year families are eligible for child care assistance under the basic sliding fee program. Families enrolled in the basic sliding fee program shall be continued until they are no longer eligible. Child care assistance provided through the child care fund is considered assistance to the parent.
- 129.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.03, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Funding priority.** (a) First priority for child care assistance under the basic sliding fee program must be given to eligible non-MFIP families who do not have a high school diploma or commissioner of education-selected high school equivalency certification or who need remedial and basic skill courses in order to pursue employment or to pursue education leading to employment and who need child care assistance to participate in the education program. This includes student parents as defined under section 119B.011, subdivision 19b. Within this priority, the following subpriorities must be used:
- (1) child care needs of minor parents;
- (2) child care needs of parents under 21 years of age; and
- (3) child care needs of other parents within the priority group described in this paragraph.
- 129.23 (b) Second priority must be given to parents who have completed their MFIP or DWP
  129.24 transition year, or parents who are no longer receiving or eligible for diversionary work
  129.25 program supports.
- 129.26 (c) Third priority must be given to families who are eligible for portable basic sliding 129.27 fee assistance through the portability pool under subdivision 9.
- (d) Fourth priority must be given to families in which at least one parent is a veteran as defined under section 197.447.
- (e) Families under paragraph (b) must be added to the basic sliding fee waiting list on the date they begin the transition year under section 119B.011, subdivision 20, and must

be moved into the basic sliding fee program as soon as possible after they complete their transition year.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.03, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4a. **Temporary reprioritization.** (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 4, priority for child care assistance under the basic sliding fee assistance program shall be determined according to this subdivision beginning July 1, 2021, through May 31, 2024.
- (b) First priority must be given to eligible non-MFIP families who do not have a high school diploma or commissioner of education-selected high school equivalency certification or who need remedial and basic skill courses in order to pursue employment or to pursue education leading to employment and who need child care assistance to participate in the education program. This includes student parents as defined under section 119B.011, subdivision 19b. Within this priority, the following subpriorities must be used:
- 130.14 (1) child care needs of minor parents;

- (2) child care needs of parents under 21 years of age; and
- 130.16 (3) child care needs of other parents within the priority group described in this paragraph.
- 130.17 (c) Second priority must be given to families in which at least one parent is a veteran, as defined under section 197.447.
- (d) Third priority must be given to eligible families who do not meet the specifications of paragraph (b), (c), (e), or (f).
- (e) Fourth priority must be given to families who are eligible for portable basic sliding fee assistance through the portability pool under subdivision 9.
- (f) Fifth priority must be given to eligible families receiving services under section 130.24 119B.011, subdivision 20a, if the parents have completed their MFIP or DWP transition year, or if the parents are no longer receiving or eligible for DWP supports.
- (g) Families under paragraph (f) must be added to the basic sliding fee waiting list on the date they complete their transition year under section 119B.011, subdivision 20.
- 130.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 131.1

- Subdivision 1. Eligible participants. Families eligible for child care assistance under 131.2 the MFIP child care program are: 131.3
- (1) MFIP participants who are employed or in job search and meet the requirements of 131.4 131.5 section 119B.10;
- (2) persons who are members of transition year families under section 119B.011, 131.6 131.7 subdivision 20, and meet the requirements of section 119B.10;
- (3) families who are participating in employment orientation or job search, or other 131.8 employment or training activities that are included in an approved employability development 131.9 plan under section 256J.95; 131.10
- (4) (3) MFIP families who are participating in work job search, job support, employment, 131.11 or training activities as required in their employment plan, or in appeals, hearings, 131.12 assessments, or orientations according to chapter 256J; 131.13
- (5) (4) MFIP families who are participating in social services activities under chapter 131.14 256J as required in their employment plan approved according to chapter 256J; 131.15
- (6) (5) families who are participating in services or activities that are included in an 131.16 approved family stabilization plan under section 256J.575; 131.17
- (7) (6) families who are participating in programs as required in tribal contracts under 131.18 section 119B.02, subdivision 2, or 256.01, subdivision 2; 131.19
- (8) (7) families who are participating in the transition year extension under section 131.20 119B.011, subdivision 20a; 131.21
- (9) (8) student parents as defined under section 119B.011, subdivision 19b; and 131.22 (10) (9) student parents who turn 21 years of age and who continue to meet the other 131.23 requirements under section 119B.011, subdivision 19b. A student parent continues to be 131.24 eligible until the student parent is approved for basic sliding fee child care assistance or 131.25 131.26 until the student parent's redetermination, whichever comes first. At the student parent's redetermination, if the student parent was not approved for basic sliding fee child care 131.27 assistance, a student parent's eligibility ends following a 15-day adverse action notice.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. 131.29

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.09, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. **Date of eligibility for assistance.** (a) The date of eligibility for child care assistance under this chapter is the later of the date the application was received by the county; the beginning date of employment, education, or training; the date the infant is born for applicants to the at-home infant care program; or the date a determination has been made that the applicant is a participant in employment and training services under Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0080, or chapter 256J.

- (b) Payment ceases for a family under the at-home infant child care program when a family has used a total of 12 months of assistance as specified under section 119B.035. Payment of child care assistance for employed persons on MFIP is effective the date of employment or the date of MFIP eligibility, whichever is later. Payment of child care assistance for MFIP or DWP participants in employment and training services is effective the date of commencement of the services or the date of MFIP or DWP eligibility, whichever is later. Payment of child care assistance for transition year child care must be made retroactive to the date of eligibility for transition year child care.
- (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), payment of child care assistance for participants eligible under section 119B.05 may only be made retroactive for a maximum of three months from the date of application for child care assistance.

#### 132.19 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.095, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Maintain steady child care authorizations.** (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, chapter 3400, the amount of child care authorized under section 119B.10 for employment, education, or an MFIP or DWP employment plan shall continue at the same number of hours or more hours until redetermination, including:
- 132.25 (1) when the other parent moves in and is employed or has an education plan under 132.26 section 119B.10, subdivision 3, or has an MFIP or DWP employment plan; or
- 132.27 (2) when the participant's work hours are reduced or a participant temporarily stops
  132.28 working or attending an approved education program. Temporary changes include, but are
  132.29 not limited to, a medical leave, seasonal employment fluctuations, or a school break between
  132.30 semesters.
- 132.31 (b) The county may increase the amount of child care authorized at any time if the participant verifies the need for increased hours for authorized activities.

132.1

132.2

132.3

132.4

132.5

132.6

132.7

132.8

132.9

132.10

132.11

132.12

132.13

132.14

- 133.1 (c) The county may reduce the amount of child care authorized if a parent requests a 133.2 reduction or because of a change in:
- 133.3 (1) the child's school schedule;
- 133.4 (2) the custody schedule; or
- 133.5 (3) the provider's availability.
- (d) The amount of child care authorized for a family subject to subdivision 1, paragraph (b), must change when the participant's activity schedule changes. Paragraph (a) does not apply to a family subject to subdivision 1, paragraph (b).
- (e) When a child reaches 13 years of age or a child with a disability reaches 15 years of age, the amount of child care authorized shall continue at the same number of hours or more hours until redetermination.

#### 133.12 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.095, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. Assistance for persons who are homeless. An applicant who is homeless and 133.14 eligible for child care assistance is exempt from the activity participation requirements under 133.15 this chapter for three months. The applicant under this subdivision is eligible for 60 hours 133.16 of child care assistance per service period for three months from the date the county receives the application. Additional hours may be authorized as needed based on the applicant's 133.18 participation in employment, education, or MFIP or DWP employment plan. To continue 133.19 receiving child care assistance after the initial three months, the applicant must verify that 133.20 the applicant meets eligibility and activity requirements for child care assistance under this 133.21 chapter. 133.22

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Assistance for persons seeking and retaining employment.** (a) Persons who are seeking employment and who are eligible for assistance under this section are eligible to receive up to 240 hours of child care assistance per calendar year.
- (b) At application and redetermination, employed persons who work at least an average of 20 hours and full-time students who work at least an average of ten hours a week and receive at least a minimum wage for all hours worked are eligible for child care assistance for employment. For purposes of this section, work-study programs must be counted as

employment. An employed person with an MFIP or DWP employment plan shall receive child care assistance as specified in the person's employment plan. Child care assistance during employment must be authorized as provided in paragraphs (c) and (d).

- (c) When the person works for an hourly wage and the hourly wage is equal to or greater than the applicable minimum wage, child care assistance shall be provided for the hours of employment, break, and mealtime during the employment and travel time up to two hours per day.
- (d) When the person does not work for an hourly wage, child care assistance must be provided for the lesser of:
- (1) the amount of child care determined by dividing gross earned income by the applicable minimum wage, up to one hour every eight hours for meals and break time, plus up to two hours per day for travel time; or
- 134.13 (2) the amount of child care equal to the actual amount of child care used during employment, including break and mealtime during employment, and travel time up to two hours per day.
- 134.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.10, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Assistance for persons attending an approved education or training**program. (a) Money for an eligible person according to sections 119B.03, subdivision 3,
  and 119B.05, subdivision 1, shall be used to reduce child care costs for a student. The county
  shall not limit the duration of child care subsidies for a person in an employment or
  educational program unless the person is ineligible for child care funds. Any other limitation
  must be based on county policies included in the approved child care fund plan.
- (b) To be eligible, the student must be in good standing and be making satisfactory 134.24 progress toward the degree. The maximum length of time a student is eligible for child care 134.25 assistance under the child care fund for education and training is no more than the time 134.26 necessary to complete the credit requirements for an associate's or baccalaureate degree as 134.27 determined by the educational institution. Time limitations for child care assistance do not 134.28 apply to basic or remedial educational programs needed for postsecondary education or 134.29 employment. Basic or remedial educational programs include high school, commissioner of education-selected high school equivalency, and English as a second language programs. 134.32 A program exempt from this time limit must not run concurrently with a postsecondary program. 134.33

134.1

134.2

134.3

134.4

134.5

134.6

134.7

134.8

(c) If a student meets the conditions of paragraphs (a) and (b), child care assistance must be authorized for all hours of class time and credit hours, including independent study and internships, and up to two hours of travel time per day. A postsecondary student shall receive four hours of child care assistance per credit hour for study time and academic appointments per service period.

- (d) For an MFIP or DWP participant, child care assistance must be authorized according to the person's approved employment plan. If an MFIP or DWP participant receiving MFIP or DWP child care assistance under this chapter moves to another county, continues to participate in an authorized educational or training program, and remains eligible for MFIP or DWP child care assistance, the participant must receive continued child care assistance from the county responsible for the person's current employment plan under section 256G.07.
- (e) If a person with an approved education program under section 119B.03, subdivision 3, or 119B.05, subdivision 1, begins receiving MFIP or DWP assistance, the person continues to receive child care assistance for the approved education program until the person's education is included in an approved MFIP or DWP employment plan or until redetermination, whichever occurs first.
  - (f) If a person's MFIP or DWP assistance ends and the approved MFIP or DWP employment plan included education, the person continues to be eligible for child care assistance for education under transition year child care assistance until the person's education is included in an approved education plan or until redetermination.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.105, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Extended eligibility and redetermination. (a) If the family received three 135.23 months of extended eligibility and redetermination is not due, to continue receiving child 135.24 care assistance the participant must be employed or have an education plan that meets the 135.25 requirements of section 119B.10, subdivision 3, or have an MFIP or DWP employment 135.26 plan. If child care assistance continues, the amount of child care authorized shall continue 135.27 at the same number or more hours until redetermination, unless a condition in section 119B.095, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), applies. A family subject to section 119B.095, 135.29 subdivision 1, paragraph (b), shall have child care authorized based on a verified activity 135.30 schedule. 135.31
  - (b) If the family's redetermination occurs before the end of the three-month extended eligibility period to continue receiving child care assistance, the participant must verify that

135.1

135.2

135.3

135.4

135.5

135.6

135.7

135.8

135.9

135.10

135.11

135.17

135.18

135.19

135.20

135.21

the participant meets eligibility and activity requirements for child care assistance under this chapter. If child care assistance continues, the amount of child care authorized is based on section 119B.10. A family subject to section 119B.095, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), shall have child care authorized based on a verified activity schedule.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

136.1

136.2

136.3

136.4

136.5

136.16

136.17

136.18

136.25

136.27

136.28

136.29

136.30

136.31

136.32

- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168B.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Retrieval of contents.** (a) For purposes of this subdivision:
- 136.8 (1) "contents" does not include any permanently affixed mechanical or nonmechanical automobile parts; automobile body parts; or automobile accessories, including audio or video players; and
- 136.11 (2) "relief based on need" includes, but is not limited to, receipt of MFIP and Diversionary
  136.12 Work Program, medical assistance, general assistance, emergency general assistance,
  136.13 Minnesota supplemental aid, MSA-emergency assistance, MinnesotaCare, Supplemental
  136.14 Security Income, energy assistance, emergency assistance, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance
  136.15 Program (SNAP) benefits, earned income tax credit, or Minnesota working family tax credit.
  - (b) A unit of government or impound lot operator shall establish reasonable procedures for retrieval of vehicle contents, and may establish reasonable procedures to protect the safety and security of the impound lot and its personnel.
- (c) At any time before the expiration of the waiting periods provided in section 168B.051, a registered owner who provides documentation from a government or nonprofit agency or legal aid office that the registered owner is homeless, receives relief based on need, or is eligible for legal aid services, has the unencumbered right to retrieve any and all contents without charge and regardless of whether the registered owner pays incurred charges or fees, transfers title, or reclaims the vehicle.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.046, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Hearing authority.** A local agency must initiate an administrative fraud disqualification hearing for individuals accused of wrongfully obtaining assistance or intentional program violations, in lieu of a criminal action when it has not been pursued, in the Minnesota family investment program and any affiliated program to include the diversionary work program and the work participation cash benefit program, child care assistance programs, general assistance, family general assistance program formerly codified

in section 256D.05, subdivision 1, clause (15), Minnesota supplemental aid, the Supplemental 137.1 Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), MinnesotaCare for adults without children, and 137.2 upon federal approval, all categories of medical assistance and remaining categories of 137.3 MinnesotaCare except for children through age 18. The Department of Human Services, in 137.4 lieu of a local agency, may initiate an administrative fraud disqualification hearing when 137.5 the state agency is directly responsible for administration or investigation of the program 137.6 for which benefits were wrongfully obtained. The hearing is subject to the requirements of 137.7 137.8 sections 256.045 and 256.0451 and the requirements in Code of Federal Regulations, title 137.9 7, section 273.16.

- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024, and applies to acts of wrongfully obtaining assistance and intentional program violations that occur on or after that date.
- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.98, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- 137.14 Subd. 8. **Disqualification from program.** (a) Any person found to be guilty of wrongfully obtaining assistance by a federal or state court or by an administrative hearing 137.15 determination, or waiver thereof, through a disqualification consent agreement, or as part of any approved diversion plan under section 401.065, or any court-ordered stay which 137.17 carries with it any probationary or other conditions, in the Minnesota family investment 137.18 program and any affiliated program to include the diversionary work program and the work 137.19 participation cash benefit program, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), 137.20 the general assistance program, housing support under chapter 256I, or the Minnesota 137.21 supplemental aid program shall be disqualified from that program. In addition, any person 137.22 disqualified from the Minnesota family investment program shall also be disqualified from 137.23 SNAP. The needs of that individual shall not be taken into consideration in determining the 137.24 grant level for that assistance unit: 137.25
- 137.26 (1) for one year after the first offense;
- (2) for two years after the second offense; and
- 137.28 (3) permanently after the third or subsequent offense.
- The period of program disqualification shall begin on the date stipulated on the advance notice of disqualification without possibility of postponement for administrative stay or administrative hearing and shall continue through completion unless and until the findings upon which the sanctions were imposed are reversed by a court of competent jurisdiction. The period for which sanctions are imposed is not subject to review. The sanctions provided

under this subdivision are in addition to, and not in substitution for, any other sanctions that may be provided for by law for the offense involved. A disqualification established through hearing or waiver shall result in the disqualification period beginning immediately unless the person has become otherwise ineligible for assistance. If the person is ineligible for assistance, the disqualification period begins when the person again meets the eligibility criteria of the program from which they were disqualified and makes application for that program.

- (b) A family receiving assistance through child care assistance programs under chapter 119B with a family member who is found to be guilty of wrongfully obtaining child care assistance by a federal court, state court, or an administrative hearing determination or waiver, through a disqualification consent agreement, as part of an approved diversion plan under section 401.065, or a court-ordered stay with probationary or other conditions, is disqualified from child care assistance programs. The disqualifications must be for periods of one year and two years for the first and second offenses, respectively. Subsequent violations must result in permanent disqualification. During the disqualification period, disqualification from any child care program must extend to all child care programs and must be immediately applied.
- (c) A provider caring for children receiving assistance through child care assistance programs under chapter 119B is disqualified from receiving payment for child care services from the child care assistance program under chapter 119B when the provider is found to have wrongfully obtained child care assistance by a federal court, state court, or an administrative hearing determination or waiver under section 256.046, through a disqualification consent agreement, as part of an approved diversion plan under section 401.065, or a court-ordered stay with probationary or other conditions. The disqualification must be for a period of three years for the first offense. Any subsequent violation must result in permanent disqualification. The disqualification period must be imposed immediately after a determination is made under this paragraph. During the disqualification period, the provider is disqualified from receiving payment from any child care program under chapter 119B.
- (d) Any person found to be guilty of wrongfully obtaining MinnesotaCare for adults without children and upon federal approval, all categories of medical assistance and remaining categories of MinnesotaCare, except for children through age 18, by a federal or state court or by an administrative hearing determination, or waiver thereof, through a disqualification consent agreement, or as part of any approved diversion plan under section 401.065, or any court-ordered stay which carries with it any probationary or other conditions,

138.1

138.2

138.3

138.4

138.5

138.6

138.7

138.8

138.9

138.10

138.11

138.13

138.14

138.15

138.16

138.17

138.18

138.19

138.20

138.21

138.22

138.24

138.25

138.26

138.27

138.28

138.29

138.30

138.31

138.32

138.33

138.34

is disqualified from that program. The period of disqualification is one year after the first offense, two years after the second offense, and permanently after the third or subsequent offense. The period of program disqualification shall begin on the date stipulated on the advance notice of disqualification without possibility of postponement for administrative stay or administrative hearing and shall continue through completion unless and until the findings upon which the sanctions were imposed are reversed by a court of competent jurisdiction. The period for which sanctions are imposed is not subject to review. The sanctions provided under this subdivision are in addition to, and not in substitution for, any other sanctions that may be provided for by law for the offense involved.

- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024, and applies to acts of wrongfully obtaining assistance that occur on or after that date.
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.987, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. Disqualification. (a) Any person found to be guilty of purchasing tobacco 139.13 products or alcoholic beverages with their EBT debit card by a federal or state court or by 139.14 an administrative hearing determination, or waiver thereof, through a disqualification consent 139.15 agreement, or as part of any approved diversion plan under section 401.065, or any court-ordered stay which carries with it any probationary or other conditions, in the: (1) 139.17 Minnesota family investment program and any affiliated program to include the diversionary 139.18 work program and the work participation cash benefit program under chapter 256J; (2) 139.19 general assistance program under chapter 256D; or (3) Minnesota supplemental aid program 139.20 under chapter 256D, shall be disqualified from all of the listed programs. 139.21
  - (b) The needs of the disqualified individual shall not be taken into consideration in determining the grant level for that assistance unit: (1) for one year after the first offense; (2) for two years after the second offense; and (3) permanently after the third or subsequent offense.
  - (c) The period of program disqualification shall begin on the date stipulated on the advance notice of disqualification without possibility for postponement for administrative stay or administrative hearing and shall continue through completion unless and until the findings upon which the sanctions were imposed are reversed by a court of competent jurisdiction. The period for which sanctions are imposed is not subject to review.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024, and applies to purchases made on or after that date.

139.1

139.2

139.3

139.4

139.5

139.6

139.7

139.8

139.9

139.10

139.11

139.22

139.23

139.24

139.25

139.26

139.27

139.28

139.29

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256D.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

- Subd. 2b. **Budgeting and reporting.** Every county agency shall determine eligibility and calculate benefit amounts for general assistance according to chapter 256P.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

140.3

140.4

140.5

- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256D.63, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **SNAP reporting requirements.** The commissioner of human services shall implement simplified reporting as permitted under the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008, as amended, and the SNAP regulations in Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, part 273. SNAP benefit recipient households required to report periodically shall not be required to report more often than one time every six months. This provision shall not apply to households receiving food benefits under the Minnesota family investment program waiver.
- 140.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256E.34, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Use of money.** At least 96 percent of the money distributed to Hunger Solutions under this section must be distributed to food shelf programs to purchase, transport, and coordinate the distribution of nutritious food to needy individuals and families. The money distributed to food shelf programs may also be used to purchase personal hygiene products, including but not limited to diapers and toilet paper. No more than four percent of the money may be expended for other expenses, such as rent, salaries, and other administrative expenses of Hunger Solutions.

# Sec. 22. [256E.341] AMERICAN INDIAN FOOD SOVEREIGNTY FUNDING PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Establishment. The American Indian food sovereignty funding program
is established to improve access and equity to food security programs within Tribal and
American Indian communities. The program shall assist Tribal Nations and American Indian
communities in achieving self-determination and improve collaboration and partnership
building between American Indian communities and the state. The commissioner of human
services shall administer the program and provide outreach, technical assistance, and program
development support to increase food security for American Indians.

141.1	Subd. 2. <b>Distribution of funding.</b> (a) The commissioner shall provide funding to support
141.2	food system changes and provide equitable access to existing and new methods of food
141.3	support for American Indian communities. The commissioner shall determine the timing
141.4	and form of the application for the program.
141.5	(b) Eligible recipients of funding under this section include:
141.6	(1) federally recognized American Indian Tribes or bands in Minnesota as defined in
141.7	section 10.65; or
141.8	(2) nonprofit organizations or fiscal sponsors with a majority American Indian board of
141.9	directors.
141.10	(c) Funding for American Indian Tribes or bands must be allocated by a formula
141.11	determined by the commissioner. Funding for nonprofit organizations or fiscal sponsors
141.12	must be awarded through a competitive grant process.
141.13	Subd. 3. Allowable uses of funds. Recipients shall use funds provided under this section
141.14	to promote food security for American Indian communities by:
141.15	(1) planning for sustainable food systems;
141.16	(2) implementing food security programs, including but not limited to technology to
141.17	facilitate no-contact or low-contact food distribution and outreach models;
141.18	(3) providing culturally relevant training for building food access;
141.19	(4) purchasing, producing, processing, transporting, storing, and coordinating the
141.20	distribution of food, including culturally relevant food; and
141.21	(5) purchasing seeds, plants, equipment, or materials to preserve, procure, or grow food.
141.22	Subd. 4. Reporting. (a) Recipients shall report on the use of American Indian food
141.23	sovereignty funding program money under this section to the commissioner.
141.24	(b) The commissioner shall determine the timing and form required for the reports.
141.25	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256E.35, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
141.26	Subdivision 1. Establishment. The Minnesota family assets for independence initiative
141.27	is established to provide incentives for low-income families to accrue assets for education,
141.28	housing, vehicles, emergencies, and economic development purposes.
141.29	Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256E.35, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

141.30

Subd. 2. **Definitions.** (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.

- (b) "Eligible educational institution" means the following:
- (1) an institution of higher education described in section 101 or 102 of the Higher
- 142.3 Education Act of 1965; or
- (2) an area vocational education school, as defined in subparagraph (C) or (D) of United
- 142.5 States Code, title 20, chapter 44, section 2302 (3) (the Carl D. Perkins Vocational and
- 142.6 Applied Technology Education Act), which is located within any state, as defined in United
- 142.7 States Code, title 20, chapter 44, section 2302 (30). This clause is applicable only to the
- extent section 2302 is in effect on August 1, 2008.
- (c) "Family asset account" means a savings account opened by a household participating
- in the Minnesota family assets for independence initiative.
- 142.11 (d) "Fiduciary organization" means:
- (1) a community action agency that has obtained recognition under section 256E.31;
- (2) a federal community development credit union serving the seven-county metropolitan
- 142.14 area; or
- 142.15 (3) a women-oriented economic development agency serving the seven-county
- 142.16 metropolitan area.;
- 142.17 (4) a federally recognized Tribal Nation; or
- (5) a nonprofit organization as defined under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue
- 142.19 <u>Code.</u>
- (e) "Financial coach" means a person who:
- (1) has completed an intensive financial literacy training workshop that includes
- 142.22 curriculum on budgeting to increase savings, debt reduction and asset building, building a
- 142.23 good credit rating, and consumer protection;
- (2) participates in ongoing statewide family assets for independence in Minnesota (FAIM)
- 142.25 network training meetings under FAIM program supervision; and
- 142.26 (3) provides financial coaching to program participants under subdivision 4a.
- (f) "Financial institution" means a bank, bank and trust, savings bank, savings association,
- or credit union, the deposits of which are insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance
- 142.29 Corporation or the National Credit Union Administration.
- (g) "Household" means all individuals who share use of a dwelling unit as primary
- 142.31 quarters for living and eating separate from other individuals.

(h) "Permissible use" n
-------------------------

143.2

143.3

143.6

143.7

- (1) postsecondary educational expenses at an eligible educational institution as defined in paragraph (b), including books, supplies, and equipment required for courses of instruction;
- 143.4 (2) acquisition costs of acquiring, constructing, or reconstructing a residence, including 143.5 any usual or reasonable settlement, financing, or other closing costs;
  - (3) business capitalization expenses for expenditures on capital, plant, equipment, working capital, and inventory expenses of a legitimate business pursuant to a business plan approved by the fiduciary organization;
- (4) acquisition costs of a principal residence within the meaning of section 1034 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 which do not exceed 100 percent of the average area purchase price applicable to the residence determined according to section 143(e)(2) and (3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986; and
- 143.13 (5) acquisition costs of a personal vehicle only if approved by the fiduciary organization<del>;</del>;
- (6) contributions to an emergency savings account; and
- 143.15 (7) contributions to a Minnesota 529 savings plan.
- Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256E.35, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Grants awarded.** The commissioner shall allocate funds to participating fiduciary organizations to provide family asset services. Grant awards must be based on a plan submitted by a statewide organization representing fiduciary organizations. The statewide organization must ensure that any interested unrepresented fiduciary organization have input into the development of the plan. The plan must equitably distribute funds to achieve geographic balance and document the capacity of participating fiduciary organizations to manage the program. A portion of funds appropriated for this section may be expended on evaluation of the Minnesota family assets for independence initiative.
- Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256E.35, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4a. **Financial coaching.** A financial coach shall provide the following to program participants:
- (1) financial education relating to budgeting, debt reduction, asset-specific training, credit building, and financial stability activities;

(2) asset-specific training related to buying a home or vehicle, acquiring postsecondary education, or starting or expanding a small business, saving for emergencies, or saving for a child's education; and (3) financial stability education and training to improve and sustain financial security.

- Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256E.35, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. Withdrawal; matching; permissible uses. (a) To receive a match, a participating household must transfer funds withdrawn from a family asset account to its matching fund custodial account held by the fiscal agent, according to the family asset agreement. The fiscal agent must determine if the match request is for a permissible use consistent with the household's family asset agreement.
- (b) The fiscal agent must ensure the household's custodial account contains the applicable matching funds to match the balance in the household's account, including interest, on at least a quarterly basis and at the time of an approved withdrawal. Matches must be a contribution of \$3 from state grant or TANF funds for every \$1 of funds withdrawn from the family asset account not to exceed a \$6,000 \$12,000 lifetime limit.
- (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), if funds are appropriated for the Federal Assets for Independence Act of 1998, and a participating fiduciary organization is awarded a grant under that act, participating households with that fiduciary organization must be provided matches as follows:
- (1) from state grant and TANF funds, a matching contribution of \$1.50 for every \$1 of funds withdrawn from the family asset account not to exceed a \$3,000 \$6,000 lifetime limit; and
- 144.23 (2) from nonstate funds, a matching contribution of not less than \$1.50 for every \$1 of funds withdrawn from the family asset account not to exceed a \$3,000 \$6,000 lifetime limit.
- 144.25 (d) Upon receipt of transferred custodial account funds, the fiscal agent must make a 144.26 direct payment to the vendor of the goods or services for the permissible use.
- Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256E.35, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Program reporting.** The fiscal agent on behalf of each fiduciary organization participating in a family assets for independence initiative must report quarterly to the commissioner of human services identifying the participants with accounts; the number of accounts; the amount of savings and matches for each participant's account; the uses of the account; and; the number of businesses, homes, vehicles, and educational services paid

144.5

144.6

144.7

144.8

144.9

144.10

144.11

144.12

144.13

144.15

144.16

144.17

144.18

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

for with money from the account; and the amount of contributions to Minnesota 529 savings 145.1 plans and emergency savings accounts, as well as other information that may be required 145.2 for the commissioner to administer the program and meet federal TANF reporting 145.3 requirements. 145.4 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256I.03, subdivision 13, is amended to read: 145.5 Subd. 13. Prospective budgeting. "Prospective budgeting" means estimating the amount 145.6 145.7 of monthly income a person will have in the payment month has the meaning given in section 256P.01, subdivision 9. 145.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. 145.9 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256I.06, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 145.10 Subd. 6. Reports. Recipients must report changes in circumstances according to section 145.11 256P.07 that affect eligibility or housing support payment amounts, other than changes in 145.12 earned income, within ten days of the change. Recipients with countable earned income 145.13 must complete a household report form at least once every six months according to section 145.14 256P.10. If the report form is not received before the end of the month in which it is due, the county agency must terminate eligibility for housing support payments. The termination 145.16 shall be effective on the first day of the month following the month in which the report was 145 17 due. If a complete report is received within the month eligibility was terminated, the 145.18 individual is considered to have continued an application for housing support payment 145.19 effective the first day of the month the eligibility was terminated. 145.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. 145.21 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256I.06, is amended by adding a subdivision 145.22 to read: 145.23 145.24 Subd. 6a. When to terminate assistance. An agency must terminate benefits when the assistance unit fails to submit the household report form before the end of the month in 145.25 which it is due. The termination shall be effective on the first day of the month following 145.26 the month in which the report was due. If the assistance unit submits the household report 145.27 form within 30 days of the termination of benefits and remains eligible, benefits must be 145.28 reinstated and made available retroactively for the full benefit month. 145.29

145 30

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256I.06, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. **Amount of housing support payment.** (a) The amount of a room and board payment to be made on behalf of an eligible individual is determined by subtracting the individual's countable income under section 256I.04, subdivision 1, for a whole calendar month from the room and board rate for that same month. The housing support payment is determined by multiplying the housing support rate times the period of time the individual was a resident or temporarily absent under section 256I.05, subdivision 2a.

- (b) For an individual with earned income under paragraph (a), prospective budgeting according to section 256P.09 must be used to determine the amount of the individual's payment for the following six-month period. An increase in income shall not affect an individual's eligibility or payment amount until the month following the reporting month. A decrease in income shall be effective the first day of the month after the month in which the decrease is reported.
- (c) For an individual who receives housing support payments under section 256I.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), the amount of the housing support payment is determined by multiplying the housing support rate times the period of time the individual was a resident.
- 146.17 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.01, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. Implementation of Minnesota family investment program
- 146.20 (MFIP). Except for section 256J.95, This chapter and chapter 256K may be cited as the
- 146.21 Minnesota family investment program (MFIP). MFIP is the statewide implementation of
- components of the Minnesota family investment plan (MFIP) authorized and formerly
- codified in section 256.031 and Minnesota family investment plan-Ramsey County (MFIP-R)
- 146.24 formerly codified in section 256.047.

146.1

146.2

146.3

146.4

146.5

146.6

146.7

146.8

146.9

146.10

146.11

146.12

- 146.25 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Use of money.** State money appropriated for purposes of this section and TANF block grant money must be used for:
- (1) financial assistance to or on behalf of any minor child who is a resident of this state under section 256J.12;

- 03/26/23 06:43 pm HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H0238DE1 (2) the health care and human services training and retention program under chapter 147.1 116L, for costs associated with families with children with incomes below 200 percent of 147.2 the federal poverty guidelines; 147.3 (3) the pathways program under section 116L.04, subdivision 1a; 147.4 (4) welfare to work transportation authorized under Public Law 105-178; 147.5 (5) reimbursements for the federal share of child support collections passed through to 147.6 147.7 the custodial parent; (6) program administration under this chapter; 147.8 147.9 (7) the diversionary work program under section 256J.95;
- (8) (7) the MFIP consolidated fund under section 256J.626; and 147.10
- (9) (8) the Minnesota Department of Health consolidated fund under Laws 2001, First 147.11
- Special Session chapter 9, article 17, section 3, subdivision 2. 147.12
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. 147.13
- Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.08, subdivision 65, is amended to read: 147.14
- Subd. 65. Participant. (a) "Participant" includes any of the following: 147.15
- 147.16 (1) a person who is currently receiving cash assistance or the food portion available through MFIP; 147.17
- (2) a person who withdraws a cash or food assistance payment by electronic transfer or 147.18
- receives and cashes an MFIP assistance check or food coupons and is subsequently 147.19
- determined to be ineligible for assistance for that period of time is a participant, regardless 147.20
- whether that assistance is repaid; 147.21
- (3) the caregiver relative and the minor child whose needs are included in the assistance 147.22
- payment; 147.23
- (4) a person in an assistance unit who does not receive a cash and food assistance payment 147.24
- because the case has been suspended from MFIP; and 147.25
- (5) a person who receives cash payments under the diversionary work program under 147.26
- 147.27 section 256J.95 is a participant; and
- (6) (5) a person who receives cash payments under family stabilization services under 147.28
- section 256J.575. 147.29

(b) "Participant" does not include a person who fails to withdraw or access electronically any portion of the person's cash and food assistance payment by the end of the payment month, who makes a written request for closure before the first of a payment month and repays cash and food assistance electronically issued for that payment month within that payment month, or who returns any uncashed assistance check and food coupons and withdraws from the program.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

148.1

148.2

148.3

148.4

148.5

148.6

- Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.08, subdivision 71, is amended to read:
- Subd. 71. **Prospective budgeting.** "Prospective budgeting" means a method of

  determining the amount of the assistance payment in which the budget month and payment

  month are the same has the meaning given in section 256P.01, subdivision 9.
- 148.12 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.08, subdivision 79, is amended to read:
- Subd. 79. **Recurring income.** "Recurring income" means a form of income which is:
- 148.15 (1) received periodically, and may be received irregularly when receipt can be anticipated 148.16 even though the date of receipt cannot be predicted; and
- 148.17 (2) from the same source or of the same type that is received and budgeted in a 148.18 prospective month and is received in one or both of the first two retrospective months.
- 148.19 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.09, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
- Subd. 10. **Ineligibility for MFIP or the diversionary work program.** When an applicant is not eligible for MFIP or the diversionary work program under section 256J.95 because the applicant does not meet eligibility requirements, the county agency must determine whether the applicant is eligible for SNAP, or health care programs. The county must also inform applicants about resources available through the county or other agencies to meet short-term emergency needs.
- 148.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

- Subdivision 1. **General citizenship requirements.** (a) To be eligible for MFIP, a member of the assistance unit must be a citizen of the United States, a qualified noncitizen as defined in section 256J.08, or a noncitizen who is otherwise residing lawfully in the United States.
- (b) A qualified noncitizen who entered the United States on or after August 22, 1996, is eligible for MFIP. However, TANF dollars cannot be used to fund the MFIP benefits for an individual under this paragraph for a period of five years after the date of entry unless the qualified noncitizen meets one of the following criteria:
- (1) was admitted to the United States as a refugee under United States Code, title 8, section 1157;
- (2) was granted asylum under United States Code, title 8, section 1158;
- 149.12 (3) was granted withholding of deportation under the United States Code, title 8, section 149.13 1253(h);
- (4) is a veteran of the United States armed forces with an honorable discharge for a reason other than noncitizen status, or is a spouse or unmarried minor dependent child of the same; or
- 149.17 (5) is an individual on active duty in the United States armed forces, other than for training, or is a spouse or unmarried minor dependent child of the same.
- (c) A person who is not a qualified noncitizen but who is otherwise residing lawfully in the United States is eligible for MFIP. However, TANF dollars cannot be used to fund the MFIP benefits for an individual under this paragraph.
- (d) For purposes of this subdivision, a nonimmigrant in one or more of the classes listed in United States Code, title 8, section 1101(a)(15)(A)-(S) and (V), or an undocumented immigrant who resides in the United States without the approval or acquiescence of the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services, is not eligible for MFIP.
- Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.21, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Initial income test.** (a) The agency shall determine initial eligibility by considering all earned and unearned income as defined in section 256P.06. To be eligible for MFIP, the assistance unit's countable income minus the earned income disregards in paragraph (a) and section 256P.03 must be below the family wage level according to section 256J.24, subdivision 7, for that size assistance unit.
- 149.32 (a) (b) The initial eligibility determination must disregard the following items:

149.2

149.3

149.4

149.5

149.6

149.7

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

(1) the earned income disregard as determined in section 256P.03;

150.1

150.2

150.3

150.4

150.5

150.6

150.7

150.14

150.20

150.21

150.22

150.23

150.24

- (2) dependent care costs must be deducted from gross earned income for the actual amount paid for dependent care up to a maximum of \$200 per month for each child less than two years of age, and \$175 per month for each child two years of age and older;
- (3) all payments made according to a court order for spousal support or the support of children not living in the assistance unit's household shall be disregarded from the income of the person with the legal obligation to pay support; and
- 150.8 (4) an allocation for the unmet need of an ineligible spouse or an ineligible child under 150.9 the age of 21 for whom the caregiver is financially responsible and who lives with the 150.10 caregiver according to section 256J.36.
- (b) After initial eligibility is established, (c) The income test is for a six-month period.

  The assistance payment calculation is based on the monthly income test prospective budgeting according to section 256P.09.
  - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.21, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. Monthly Income test and determination of assistance payment. The county agency shall determine ongoing eligibility and the assistance payment amount according to the monthly income test. To be eligible for MFIP, the result of the computations in paragraphs (a) to (e) applied to prospective budgeting must be at least \$1.
  - (a) Apply an income disregard as defined in section 256P.03, to gross earnings and subtract this amount from the family wage level. If the difference is equal to or greater than the MFIP transitional standard, the assistance payment is equal to the MFIP transitional standard. If the difference is less than the MFIP transitional standard, the assistance payment is equal to the difference. The earned income disregard in this paragraph must be deducted every month there is earned income.
- (b) All payments made according to a court order for spousal support or the support of children not living in the assistance unit's household must be disregarded from the income of the person with the legal obligation to pay support.
- (c) An allocation for the unmet need of an ineligible spouse or an ineligible child under the age of 21 for whom the caregiver is financially responsible and who lives with the caregiver must be made according to section 256J.36.

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

(d) Subtract unearned income dollar for dollar from the MFIP transitional standard to determine the assistance payment amount.

- (e) When income is both earned and unearned, the amount of the assistance payment must be determined by first treating gross earned income as specified in paragraph (a). After determining the amount of the assistance payment under paragraph (a), unearned income must be subtracted from that amount dollar for dollar to determine the assistance payment amount.
- (f) When the monthly income is greater than the MFIP transitional standard after
  deductions and the income will only exceed the standard for one month, the county agency
  must suspend the assistance payment for the payment month.
  - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- 151.12 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.33, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Determination of eligibility.** (a) A county agency must determine MFIP eligibility prospectively for a payment month based on retrospectively assessing income and the county agency's best estimate of the circumstances that will exist in the payment month.
- (b) Except as described in section 256J.34, subdivision 1, when prospective eligibility

  exists, A county agency must calculate the amount of the assistance payment using

  retrospective prospective budgeting. To determine MFIP eligibility and the assistance

  payment amount, a county agency must apply countable income, described in sections

  256P.06 and 256J.37, subdivisions 3 to 10 9, received by members of an assistance unit or

  by other persons whose income is counted for the assistance unit, described under sections

  256J.37, subdivisions 1 to 2, and 256P.06, subdivision 1.
- (c) This income must be applied to the MFIP standard of need or family wage level subject to this section and sections 256J.34 to 256J.36. Countable income as described in section 256P.06, subdivision 3, received in a calendar month must be applied to the needs of an assistance unit.
- (d) An assistance unit is not eligible when the countable income equals or exceeds the

  MFIP standard of need or the family wage level for the assistance unit.
- 151.30 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

151.1

151.2

151.3

151.4

151.5

151.6

151.7

152.1	Sec. 43.	. Minnesota Statu	tes 2022, se	ection 256J.33.	subdivision 2.	, is amended to read

- Subd. 2. **Prospective eligibility.** An agency must determine whether the eligibility
- requirements that pertain to an assistance unit, including those in sections 256J.11 to 256J.15
- and 256P.02, will be met prospectively for the payment month period. Except for the
- 152.5 provisions in section 256J.34, subdivision 1, The income test will be applied retrospectively
- 152.6 prospectively.

- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.35, is amended to read:
- 152.9 **256J.35 AMOUNT OF ASSISTANCE PAYMENT.**
- Except as provided in paragraphs (a) to (d) (e), the amount of an assistance payment is
- equal to the difference between the MFIP standard of need or the Minnesota family wage
- 152.12 level in section 256J.24 and countable income.
- (a) Beginning July 1, 2015, MFIP assistance units are eligible for an MFIP housing
- assistance grant of \$110 per month, unless:
- 152.15 (1) the housing assistance unit is currently receiving public and assisted rental subsidies
- 152.16 provided through the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and is subject
- 152.17 to section 256J.37, subdivision 3a; or
- 152.18 (2) the assistance unit is a child-only case under section 256J.88.
- (b) On October 1 of each year, the commissioner shall adjust the MFIP housing assistance
- grant in paragraph (a) for inflation based on the CPI-U for the prior calendar year.
- (b) (c) When MFIP eligibility exists for the month of application, the amount of the
- assistance payment for the month of application must be prorated from the date of application
- or the date all other eligibility factors are met for that applicant, whichever is later. This
- 152.24 provision applies when an applicant loses at least one day of MFIP eligibility.
- (c) (d) MFIP overpayments to an assistance unit must be recouped according to section
- 152.26 256P.08, subdivision 6.
- (d) (e) An initial assistance payment must not be made to an applicant who is not eligible
- on the date payment is made.
- 152.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024.

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.37, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3. **Earned income of wage, salary, and contractual employees.** The agency must include gross earned income less any disregards in the initial <del>and monthly</del> income test. Gross earned income received by persons employed on a contractual basis must be prorated over the period covered by the contract even when payments are received over a lesser period of time.
  - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.37, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3a. **Rental subsidies; unearned income.** (a) Effective July 1, 2003, the agency shall count \$50 of the value of public and assisted rental subsidies provided through the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) as unearned income to the cash portion of the MFIP grant. The full amount of the subsidy must be counted as unearned income when the subsidy is less than \$50. The income from this subsidy shall be budgeted according to section 256J.34 256P.09.
- 153.15 (b) The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to an MFIP assistance unit which includes a participant who is:
- 153.17 (1) age 60 or older;

153.2

153.3

153.4

153.5

153.6

- (2) a caregiver who is suffering from an illness, injury, or incapacity that has been certified by a qualified professional when the illness, injury, or incapacity is expected to continue for more than 30 days and severely limits the person's ability to obtain or maintain suitable employment; or
- 153.22 (3) a caregiver whose presence in the home is required due to the illness or incapacity of another member in the assistance unit, a relative in the household, or a foster child in the household when the illness or incapacity and the need for the participant's presence in the home has been certified by a qualified professional and is expected to continue for more than 30 days.
- 153.27 (c) The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to an MFIP assistance unit where 153.28 the parental caregiver is an SSI participant.
- 153.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.40, is amended to read:

#### 256J.40 FAIR HEARINGS.

154.1

154.2

154.3

154.4

154.5

154.6

154.7

154.8

154.9

154.10

154.11

154.19

154.20

154.21

154.22

154.23

154.24

154.26

154.27

154.28

154.29

154.30

154.31

154.32

154.33

Caregivers receiving a notice of intent to sanction or a notice of adverse action that includes a sanction, reduction in benefits, suspension of benefits, denial of benefits, or termination of benefits may request a fair hearing. A request for a fair hearing must be submitted in writing to the county agency or to the commissioner and must be mailed within 30 days after a participant or former participant receives written notice of the agency's action or within 90 days when a participant or former participant shows good cause for not submitting the request within 30 days. A former participant who receives a notice of adverse action due to an overpayment may appeal the adverse action according to the requirements in this section. Issues that may be appealed are:

- 154.12 (1) the amount of the assistance payment;
- 154.13 (2) a suspension, reduction, denial, or termination of assistance;
- 154.14 (3) the basis for an overpayment, the calculated amount of an overpayment, and the level 154.15 of recoupment;
- 154.16 (4) the eligibility for an assistance payment; and
- 154.17 (5) the use of protective or vendor payments under section 256J.39, subdivision 2, clauses 154.18 (1) to (3).

Except for benefits issued under section 256J.95, A county agency must not reduce, suspend, or terminate payment when an aggrieved participant requests a fair hearing prior to the effective date of the adverse action or within ten days of the mailing of the notice of adverse action, whichever is later, unless the participant requests in writing not to receive continued assistance pending a hearing decision. An appeal request cannot extend benefits for the diversionary work program under section 256J.95 beyond the four-month time limit. Assistance issued pending a fair hearing is subject to recovery under section 256P.08 when as a result of the fair hearing decision the participant is determined ineligible for assistance or the amount of the assistance received. A county agency may increase or reduce an assistance payment while an appeal is pending when the circumstances of the participant change and are not related to the issue on appeal. The commissioner's order is binding on a county agency. No additional notice is required to enforce the commissioner's order.

A county agency shall reimburse appellants for reasonable and necessary expenses of attendance at the hearing, such as child care and transportation costs and for the transportation expenses of the appellant's witnesses and representatives to and from the hearing. Reasonable

and necessary expenses do not include legal fees. Fair hearings must be conducted at a 155.1 reasonable time and date by an impartial human services judge employed by the department. 155.2 The hearing may be conducted by telephone or at a site that is readily accessible to persons 155.3 with disabilities. 155.4 The appellant may introduce new or additional evidence relevant to the issues on appeal. 155.5 Recommendations of the human services judge and decisions of the commissioner must be 155.6 based on evidence in the hearing record and are not limited to a review of the county agency 155.7 155.8 action. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. 155.9 Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.42, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 155.10 Subd. 5. Exemption for certain families. (a) Any cash assistance received by an 155.11 assistance unit does not count toward the 60-month limit on assistance during a month in 155.12 which the caregiver is age 60 or older. 155.13 (b) From July 1, 1997, until the date MFIP is operative in the caregiver's county of 155.14 financial responsibility, any cash assistance received by a caregiver who is complying with 155.15 Minnesota Statutes 1996, section 256.73, subdivision 5a, and Minnesota Statutes 1998, 155.16 section 256.736, if applicable, does not count toward the 60-month limit on assistance. 155.17 Thereafter, any cash assistance received by a minor caregiver who is complying with the requirements of sections 256J.14 and 256J.54, if applicable, does not count towards the 155.19 60-month limit on assistance. 155.20 (c) Any diversionary assistance or emergency assistance received prior to July 1, 2003, 155.21 does not count toward the 60-month limit. 155.22 (d) Any cash assistance received by an 18- or 19-year-old caregiver who is complying 155.23 with an employment plan that includes an education option under section 256J.54 does not 155.24 count toward the 60-month limit. 155.25 (e) Payments provided to meet short-term emergency needs under section 256J.626 and 155.26 diversionary work program benefits provided under section 256J.95 do not count toward 155.27 the 60-month time limit. 155.28

155.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.425, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Eligibility. (a) To be eligible for a hardship extension, a participant in an assistance unit subject to the time limit under section 256J.42, subdivision 1, must be in compliance in the participant's 60th counted month. For purposes of determining eligibility for a hardship extension, a participant is in compliance in any month that the participant has not been sanctioned. In order to maintain eligibility for any of the hardship extension eategories a participant shall develop and comply with either an employment plan or a family stabilization services plan, whichever is appropriate.

- (b) If one participant in a two-parent assistance unit is determined to be ineligible for a hardship extension, the county shall give the assistance unit the option of disqualifying the ineligible participant from MFIP. In that case, the assistance unit shall be treated as a one-parent assistance unit.
- (c) Prior to denying an extension, the county must review the sanction status and 156.13 determine whether the sanction is appropriate or if good cause exists under section 256J.57. 156.14 If the sanction was inappropriately applied or the participant is granted a good cause 156.15 exception before the end of month 60, the participant shall be considered for an extension. 156.16
  - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.425, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 156.18
- Subd. 4. Employed participants. (a) An assistance unit subject to the time limit under 156.19 section 256J.42, subdivision 1, is eligible to receive assistance under a hardship extension 156.20 if the participant who reached the time limit belongs to: 156.21
- (1) a one-parent assistance unit in which the participant is participating in work activities 156.22 for at least 30 hours per week, of which an average of at least 25 hours per week every 156.23 month are spent participating in employment; 156.24
- (2) a two-parent assistance unit in which the participants are participating in work activities for at least 55 hours per week, of which an average of at least 45 hours per week 156.26 every month are spent participating in employment; or 156.27
- (3) an assistance unit in which a participant is participating in employment for fewer 156.29 hours than those specified in clause (1), and the participant submits verification from a qualified professional, in a form acceptable to the commissioner, stating that the number 156.30 of hours the participant may work is limited due to illness or disability, as long as the 156.31 participant is participating in employment for at least the number of hours specified by the 156.32 qualified professional. The participant must be following the treatment recommendations

156.1

156.2

156.3

156.4

156.5

156.6

156.7

156.8

156.9

156.10

156.11

156.12

156.17

156.25

of the qualified professional providing the verification. The commissioner shall develop a form to be completed and signed by the qualified professional, documenting the diagnosis and any additional information necessary to document the functional limitations of the participant that limit work hours. If the participant is part of a two-parent assistance unit, the other parent must be treated as a one-parent assistance unit for purposes of meeting the work requirements under this subdivision.

(b) For purposes of this section, employment means:

157.1

157.2

157.3

157.4

157.5

- 157.8 (1) unsubsidized employment under section 256J.49, subdivision 13, clause (1);
- 157.9 (2) subsidized employment under section 256J.49, subdivision 13, clause (2);
- 157.10 (3) on-the-job training under section 256J.49, subdivision 13, clause (2);
- (4) an apprenticeship under section 256J.49, subdivision 13, clause (1);
- (5) supported work under section 256J.49, subdivision 13, clause (2);
- 157.13 (6) a combination of clauses (1) to (5); or
- 157.14 (7) child care under section 256J.49, subdivision 13, clause (7), if it is in combination with paid employment.
- 157.16 (c) If a participant is complying with a child protection plan under chapter 260C, the
  157.17 number of hours required under the child protection plan count toward the number of hours
  157.18 required under this subdivision.
- 157.19 (d) The county shall provide the opportunity for subsidized employment to participants 157.20 needing that type of employment within available appropriations.
- (e) To be eligible for a hardship extension for employed participants under this
  subdivision, a participant must be in compliance for at least ten out of the 12 months the
  participant received MFIP immediately preceding the participant's 61st month on assistance.

  If ten or fewer months of eligibility for TANF assistance remain at the time the participant from another state applies for assistance, the participant must be in compliance every month.
- (f) (e) The employment plan developed under section 256J.521, subdivision 2, for participants under this subdivision must contain at least the minimum number of hours specified in paragraph (a) for the purpose of meeting the requirements for an extension under this subdivision. The job counselor and the participant must sign the employment plan to indicate agreement between the job counselor and the participant on the contents of the plan.

(g) (f) Participants who fail to meet the requirements in paragraph (a), without eligibility for another hardship extension or good cause under section 256J.57, shall be sanctioned subject to sanction or permanently disqualified under subdivision 6. Good cause may only be granted for that portion of the month for which the good cause reason applies case closure. Participants must meet all remaining requirements in the approved employment plan or be subject to sanction or permanent disqualification case closure.

(h) (g) If the noncompliance with an employment plan is due to the involuntary loss of employment, the participant is exempt from the hourly employment requirement under this subdivision for one month. Participants must meet all remaining requirements in the approved employment plan or be subject to sanction or permanent disqualification case closure if ineligible for another hardship extension.

# **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

- Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.425, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. Accrual of certain exempt months. (a) Participants who are not eligible for 158.14 assistance under a hardship extension under this section shall be eligible for a hardship extension for a period of time equal to the number of months that were counted toward the 158.16 60-month time limit while the participant was a caregiver with a child or an adult in the 158.17 household who meets the disability or medical criteria for home care services under section 158.18 256B.0651, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), or a home and community-based waiver services 158.19 program under chapter 256B, or meets the criteria for severe emotional disturbance under 158.20 section 245.4871, subdivision 6, or for serious and persistent mental illness under section 158.21 245.462, subdivision 20, paragraph (c), and who was subject to the requirements in section 158.22 256J.561, subdivision 2. 158.23
  - (b) A participant who received MFIP assistance that counted toward the 60-month time limit while the participant met the state time limit exemption criteria under section 256J.42, subdivision 4 or 5, is eligible for assistance under a hardship extension for a period of time equal to the number of months that were counted toward the 60-month time limit while the participant met the state time limit exemption criteria under section 256J.42, subdivision 4 or 5.
- 158.30 (c) After the accrued months have been exhausted, the county agency must determine 158.31 if the assistance unit is eligible for an extension under another extension category in 158.32 subdivision 2, 3, or 4.

158.1

158.2

158.3

158.4

158.5

158.6

158.7

158.8

158.9

158.10

158.11

158.12

158.24

158.25

158.26

158.27

158.28

(d) At the time of the case review, a county agency must explain to the participant the basis for receiving a hardship extension based on the accrual of exempt months. The participant must provide documentation necessary to enable the county agency to determine whether the participant is eligible to receive a hardship extension based on the accrual of exempt months or authorize a county agency to verify the information.

(e) While receiving extended MFIP assistance under this subdivision, a participant is subject to the MFIP policies that apply to participants during the first 60 months of MFIP, unless the participant is a member of a two-parent family in which one parent is extended under subdivision 3 or 4. For two-parent families in which one parent is extended under subdivision 3 or 4, the sanction provisions in subdivision 6 shall apply.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

- Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.425, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Status of disqualified participants** closed cases. (a) An assistance unit that is disqualified has its case closed under subdivision 6, paragraph (a) section 256J.46, may be approved for MFIP if the participant complies with MFIP program requirements and demonstrates compliance for up to one month. No assistance shall be paid during this period.
  - (b) An assistance unit that is disqualified has its case closed under subdivision 6, paragraph (a) section 256J.46, and that reapplies under paragraph (a) is subject to sanction under section 256J.46, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (1), for a first occurrence of noncompliance. A subsequent occurrence of noncompliance results in a permanent disqualification.
  - (e) If one participant in a two-parent assistance unit receiving assistance under a hardship extension under subdivision 3 or 4 is determined to be out of compliance with the employment and training services requirements under sections 256J.521 to 256J.57, the county shall give the assistance unit the option of disqualifying the noncompliant participant from MFIP. In that case, the assistance unit shall be treated as a one-parent assistance unit for the purposes of meeting the work requirements under subdivision 4. An applicant who is disqualified from receiving assistance under this paragraph may reapply under paragraph (a). If a participant is disqualified from MFIP under this subdivision a second time, the participant is permanently disqualified from MFIP.
  - (d) (c) Prior to a <u>disqualification</u> case closure under this subdivision, a county agency must review the participant's case to determine if the employment plan is still appropriate and attempt to meet with the participant face-to-face. If a face-to-face meeting is not

159.1

159.2

159.3

159.4

159.5

159.6

159.7

159.8

159.9

159.10

159.11

159.17

159.19

159.20

159.21

159.22

159.23

159.24

159.25

159.26

159.27

159.28

159.29

159.30

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

conducted, the county agency must send the participant a notice of adverse action as provided in section 256J.31. During the face-to-face meeting, the county agency must:

- (1) determine whether the continued noncompliance can be explained and mitigated by providing a needed preemployment activity, as defined in section 256J.49, subdivision 13, clause (9);
- 160.6 (2) determine whether the participant qualifies for a good cause exception under section 256J.57;
- 160.8 (3) inform the participant of the family violence waiver criteria and make appropriate referrals if the waiver is requested;
- 160.10 (4) inform the participant of the participant's sanction status and explain the consequences 160.11 of continuing noncompliance;
- 160.12 (5) identify other resources that may be available to the participant to meet the needs of the family; and
- 160.14 (6) inform the participant of the right to appeal under section 256J.40.
- 160.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.46, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- 160.17 Subdivision 1. Participants not complying with program requirements. (a) A participant who fails without good cause under section 256J.57 to comply with the 160.18 requirements of this chapter for orientation under section 256J.45, or employment and 160.19 training services under sections 256J.515 to 256J.57, and who is not subject to a sanction 160.20 under subdivision 2, shall be subject to a sanction or case closure as provided in this 160.21 subdivision section. Good cause may only be granted for the month for which the good 160.22 cause reason applies. Prior to the imposition of a sanction, a county agency shall provide a 160.23 notice of intent to sanction under section 256J.57, subdivision 2, and, when applicable, a 160.24 notice of adverse action as provided in section 256J.31, subdivision 5. 160.25
- (b) A sanction under this subdivision becomes effective the month following the month in which a required notice is given. A sanction must not be imposed when a participant comes into compliance with the requirements for orientation under section 256J.45 prior to the effective date of the sanction. A sanction must not be imposed when a participant comes into compliance with the requirements for employment and training services under sections 256J.515 to 256J.57 ten days prior to the effective date of the sanction. For purposes of this subdivision, each month that a participant fails to comply with a requirement of this chapter

160.3

160.4

shall be considered a separate occurrence of noncompliance. If both participants in a two-parent assistance unit are out of compliance at the same time, it is considered one occurrence of noncompliance.

(c) Sanctions for noncompliance shall be imposed as follows:

161.1

161.2

161.3

161.4

161.5

161.6

161.7

161.8

161.9

161.10

161.11

161.12

161.13

161.15

161 16

161.17

161.18

161.19

161.20

161.21

161.22

161.23

161.24

161.25

161.26

161.27

161.28

161.29

161.30

161.31

161.32

161.33

161.34

- (1) For the first occurrence of noncompliance by a participant in an assistance unit, the assistance unit's grant shall be reduced by ten percent of the MFIP standard of need for an assistance unit of the same size with the residual grant paid to the participant. The reduction in the grant amount must be in effect for a minimum of one month and shall be removed in the month following the month that the participant returns to compliance.
- (2) for a the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, or sixth consecutive occurrence of noncompliance by a participant in an assistance unit, the assistance unit's shelter costs shall be vendor paid up to the amount of the cash portion of the MFIP grant for which the assistance unit is eligible. At county option, the assistance unit's utilities may also be vendor paid up to the amount of the cash portion of the MFIP grant remaining after vendor payment of the assistance unit's shelter costs. The residual amount of the grant after vendor payment, if any, must be reduced by an amount are equal to 30 a reduction of five percent of the cash portion of the MFIP standard of need for an grant received by the assistance unit of the same size before the residual grant is paid to the assistance unit. The reduction in the grant amount must be in effect for a minimum of one month and shall be removed in the month following the month that the participant in a one-parent assistance unit returns to compliance, unless the requirements in paragraph (h) are met. In a two-parent assistance unit, the grant reduction must be in effect for a minimum of one month and shall be removed in the month following the month both participants return to compliance, unless the requirements in paragraph (h) are met. The vendor payment of shelter costs and, if applicable, utilities shall be removed six months after the month in which the participant or participants return to compliance. When an assistance unit comes into compliance with the requirements in section 256.741, or shows good cause under section 256.741, subdivision 10, or 256J.57, the sanction occurrences for that assistance unit shall be equal to zero sanctions. If an assistance unit is sanctioned under this clause, the participant's case file must be reviewed to determine if the employment plan is still appropriate.
- (d) For a seventh <u>consecutive</u> occurrence of noncompliance by a participant in an assistance unit, or when the participants in a two-parent assistance unit have a total of seven occurrences of noncompliance, the county agency shall close the MFIP assistance unit's financial assistance case, <u>both including</u> the cash and food portions, and redetermine the family's <u>continued</u> eligibility for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)

payments. The MFIP case must remain closed for a minimum of one full month. Before the 162.1 case is closed, the county agency must review the participant's case to determine if the 162.2 162.3 employment plan is still appropriate and attempt to meet with the participant face-to-face. The participant may bring an advocate to the face-to-face meeting. If a face-to-face meeting 162.4 is not conducted, the county agency must send the participant a written notice that includes 162.5 the information required under clause (1). 162.6 162.7

- (1) During the face-to-face meeting, the county agency must:
- (i) determine whether the continued noncompliance can be explained and mitigated by 162.8 providing a needed preemployment activity, as defined in section 256J.49, subdivision 13, 162.9 clause (9); 162.10
- (ii) determine whether the participant qualifies for a good cause exception under section 162.11 256J.57, or if the sanction is for noncooperation with child support requirements, determine 162.12 if the participant qualifies for a good cause exemption under section 256.741, subdivision 162.13 10; 162.14
- (iii) determine whether the work activities in the employment plan are appropriate based 162.15 on the criteria in section 256J.521, subdivision 2 or 3; 162.16
- (iv) determine whether the participant qualifies for the family violence waiver; 162.17
- (v) inform the participant of the participant's sanction status and explain the consequences 162.18 of continuing noncompliance; 162.19
- (vi) identify other resources that may be available to the participant to meet the needs 162.20 of the family; and 162.21
- (vii) inform the participant of the right to appeal under section 256J.40. 162.22
- (2) If the lack of an identified activity or service can explain the noncompliance, the 162.23 county must work with the participant to provide the identified activity.
- (3) The grant must be restored to the full amount for which the assistance unit is eligible 162.25 retroactively to the first day of the month in which the participant was found to lack 162.26 preemployment activities or to qualify for a family violence waiver or for a good cause 162.27 exemption under section 256.741, subdivision 10, or 256J.57.
- (e) For the purpose of applying sanctions under this section, only consecutive occurrences 162.29 of noncompliance that occur after July 1, 2003 on or after January 1, 2025, shall be 162.30 considered when counting the number of sanction occurrences under this subdivision. Active 162.31 cases under sanction on January 1, 2025, shall be considered to have one sanction occurrence. 162.32

If the participant is in 30 percent sanction in the month this section takes effect, that month counts as the first occurrence for purposes of applying the sanctions under this section, but the sanction shall remain at 30 percent for that month comes into compliance, the assistance unit is considered to have zero sanctions.

- (f) An assistance unit whose case is closed under paragraph (d) or (g), may reapply for MFIP using a form prescribed by the commissioner and shall be eligible if the participant complies with MFIP program requirements and demonstrates compliance for up to one month. No assistance shall be paid during this period. The county agency shall not start a new certification period for a participant who has submitted the reapplication form within 30 calendar days of case closure. The county agency must process the form according to section 256P.04, except that the county agency shall not require additional verification of information in the case file unless the information is inaccurate, questionable, or no longer current. When a participant does not reapply for MFIP within 30 calendar days of case closure, a new application must be completed.
- (g) An assistance unit whose case has been closed for noncompliance, that reapplies under paragraph (f), is subject to sanction under paragraph (c), clause (2), for a first occurrence of noncompliance. Any subsequent occurrence of noncompliance shall result in and case closure under paragraph (d).
- (h) If an assistance unit is in compliance by the 15th of the month in which the assistance unit has a sanction imposed, the reduction to the assistance unit's cash grant shall be restored retroactively for the current month and the sanction occurrences shall be equal to zero.
  - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.46, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Sanctions for refusal to cooperate with support requirements. The grant of 163.24 163.25 an MFIP caregiver who refuses to cooperate, as determined by the child support enforcement agency, with support requirements under section 256.741, shall be subject to sanction as 163.26 specified in this subdivision and subdivision 1. For a first occurrence of noncooperation, 163.27 the assistance unit's grant must be reduced by 30 percent of the applicable MFIP standard of need. Subsequent occurrences of noncooperation shall be subject to sanction under 163.29 163.30 subdivision 1, paragraphs (c), clause (2), and (d)., paragraphs (b) to (h), except the assistance unit's cash portion of the grant must be reduced by 25 percent of the MFIP cash received 163.31 by the assistance unit. The residual amount of the grant, if any, must be paid to the caregiver. 163.32 A sanction under this subdivision becomes effective the first month following the month 163.33 in which a required notice is given. A sanction must not be imposed when a caregiver comes

163.1

163.2

163.3

163.4

163.5

163.6

163.7

163.8

163.9

163.10

163.11

163.12

163.13

163.14

163.15

163.17

163.18

into compliance with the requirements under section 256.741 prior to the effective date of the sanction. The sanction shall be removed in the month following the month that the caregiver cooperates with the support requirements, unless the requirements in subdivision 1, paragraph (h), are met. Each month that an MFIP caregiver fails to comply with the requirements of section 256.741 must be considered a separate occurrence of noncompliance for the purpose of applying sanctions under subdivision 1, paragraphs (c), clause (2), and (d).

# **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

- Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.46, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2a. **Dual sanctions.** (a) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivisions 1 and 2, for a participant subject to a sanction for refusal to comply with child support requirements under subdivision 2 and subject to a concurrent sanction for refusal to cooperate with other program requirements under subdivision 1, sanctions shall be imposed in the manner prescribed in this subdivision.
- Any vendor payment of shelter costs or utilities under this subdivision must remain in

  effect for six months after the month in which the participant is no longer subject to sanction

  under subdivision 1.
- 164.18 (b) If the participant was subject to sanction for:
- 164.19 (1) noncompliance under subdivision 1 before being subject to sanction for 164.20 noncooperation under subdivision 2; or
- (2) noncooperation under subdivision 2 before being subject to sanction for
  noncompliance under subdivision 1, the participant is considered to have a second occurrence
  of noncompliance and shall be sanctioned as provided in subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause
  (2). Each subsequent occurrence of noncompliance shall be considered one additional
  occurrence and shall be subject to the applicable level of sanction under subdivision 1. The
  requirement that the county conduct a review as specified in subdivision 1, paragraph (d),
  remains in effect.
- 164.28 (e) (b) A participant who first becomes subject to sanction under both subdivisions 1
  164.29 and 2 in the same month is subject to sanction as follows:
- (1) in the first month of noncompliance and noncooperation, the participant's <u>cash portion</u>
  164.31 <u>of the grant must be reduced by 30 25 percent of the applicable MFIP standard of need cash</u>
  164.32 received by the assistance unit, with any residual amount paid to the participant;

164.1

164.2

164.3

164.4

164.5

164.6

164.7

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

- 165.1 (2) in the second and subsequent months of noncompliance and noncooperation, the participant shall be subject to the applicable level of sanction under subdivision 1.
- The requirement that the county conduct a review as specified in subdivision 1, paragraph (d), remains in effect.
- (d) (c) A participant remains subject to sanction under subdivision 2 if the participant:
- 165.6 (1) returns to compliance and is no longer subject to sanction for noncompliance with section 256J.45 or sections 256J.515 to 256J.57; or
- 165.8 (2) has the sanction for noncompliance with section 256J.45 or sections 256J.515 to 256J.57 removed upon completion of the review under subdivision 1, paragraph (e).
- A participant remains subject to the applicable level of sanction under subdivision 1 if the participant cooperates and is no longer subject to sanction under subdivision 2.
- 165.12 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.49, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
- Subd. 9. **Participant.** "Participant" means a recipient of MFIP assistance who participates or is required to participate in employment and training services under sections 256J.515
- 165.16 to 256J.57 and 256J.95.
- 165.17 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.50, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. Employment and training services component of MFIP. (a) Each
- 165.20 county must develop and provide an employment and training services component which
- is designed to put participants on the most direct path to unsubsidized employment.
- Participation in these services is mandatory for all MFIP caregivers.
- (b) A county must provide employment and training services under sections 256J.515
- to 256J.74 within 30 days after the caregiver is determined eligible for MFIP, or within ten
- 165.25 days when the caregiver participated in the diversionary work program under section 256J.95
- 165.26 within the past 12 months.
- 165.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.521, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Assessments.** (a) For purposes of MFIP employment services, assessment
- is a continuing process of gathering information related to employability for the purpose of

identifying both participant's strengths and strategies for coping with issues that interfere with employment. The job counselor must use information from the assessment process to develop and update the employment plan under subdivision 2 or 3, as appropriate, to determine whether the participant qualifies for a family violence waiver including an employment plan under subdivision 3, and to determine whether the participant should be referred to family stabilization services under section 256J.575.

- (b) The scope of assessment must cover at least the following areas:
- (1) basic information about the participant's ability to obtain and retain employment, including: a review of the participant's education level; interests, skills, and abilities; prior employment or work experience; transferable work skills; child care and transportation needs;
- (2) identification of personal and family circumstances that impact the participant's ability to obtain and retain employment, including: any special needs of the children, the level of English proficiency, family violence issues, and any involvement with social services or the legal system;
- (3) the results of a mental and chemical health screening tool designed by the commissioner and results of the brief screening tool for special learning needs. Screening tools for mental and chemical health and special learning needs must be approved by the commissioner and may only be administered by job counselors or county staff trained in using such screening tools. Participants must be told of the purpose of the screens and how the information will be used to assist the participant in identifying and overcoming barriers to employment. Screening for mental and chemical health and special learning needs must be completed by participants three months after development of the initial employment plan or earlier if there is a documented need. Failure to complete the screens will result in sanction under section 256J.46; and
- (4) a comprehensive review of participation and progress for participants who have 166.26 received MFIP assistance and have not worked in unsubsidized employment during the past 166.27 12 months. The purpose of the review is to determine the need for additional services and supports, including placement in subsidized employment or unpaid work experience under 166.29 section 256J.49, subdivision 13, or referral to family stabilization services under section 166.30 256J.575. 166.31
- (c) Information gathered during a caregiver's participation in the diversionary work 166.32 program under section 256J.95 must be incorporated into the assessment process. 166.33

166.1

166.2

166.3

166.4

166.5

166.6

166.7

166.8

166.9

166.10

166.11

166.12

166.13

166.15

166.16

166.17

166.18

166.19

166.20

166.21

166.22

166.23

166.25

(d) (c) The job counselor may require the participant to complete a professional chemical use assessment to be performed according to the rules adopted under section 254A.03, subdivision 3, including provisions in the administrative rules which recognize the cultural background of the participant, or a professional psychological assessment as a component of the assessment process, when the job counselor has a reasonable belief, based on objective evidence, that a participant's ability to obtain and retain suitable employment is impaired by a medical condition. The job counselor may assist the participant with arranging services, including child care assistance and transportation, necessary to meet needs identified by the assessment. Data gathered as part of a professional assessment must be classified and disclosed according to the provisions in section 13.46.

# **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.621, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Program characteristics.** (a) Within 30 days of exiting the Minnesota family investment program with earnings, the county must assess eligibility for work participation cash benefits of \$25 per month to assist in meeting the family's basic needs as the participant continues to move toward self-sufficiency. Payment begins effective the first
- 167.18 (b) To be eligible for work participation cash benefits, the participant shall not receive
  167.19 MFIP or diversionary work program assistance during the month and the participant or

of the month following exit or termination for MFIP and DWP participants.

- 167.20 participants must meet the following work requirements:
- 167.21 (1) if the participant is a single caregiver and has a child under six years of age, the participant must be employed at least 87 hours per month;
- 167.23 (2) if the participant is a single caregiver and does not have a child under six years of age, the participant must be employed at least 130 hours per month; or
- 167.25 (3) if the household is a two-parent family, at least one of the parents must be employed 167.26 130 hours per month.
- Whenever a participant exits the diversionary work program or is terminated from MFIP and meets the other criteria in this section, work participation cash benefits are available for up to 24 consecutive months.
- (c) Expenditures on the program are maintenance of effort state funds under a separate state program for participants under paragraph (b), clauses (1) and (2). Expenditures for participants under paragraph (b), clause (3), are nonmaintenance of effort funds. Months in

167.1

167.2

167.3

167.4

167.5

167.6

167.7

167.8

167.9

167.10

167.11

which a participant receives work participation cash benefits under this section do not count toward the participant's MFIP 60-month time limit.

# **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.626, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Allowable expenditures. (a) The commissioner must restrict expenditures
- under the consolidated fund to benefits and services allowed under title IV-A of the federal
- Social Security Act. Allowable expenditures under the consolidated fund may include, but
- are not limited to:

168.1

168.2

- (1) short-term, nonrecurring shelter and utility needs that are excluded from the definition of assistance under Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 260.31, for families who
- meet the residency requirement in section 256J.12, subdivisions 1 and 1a. Payments under
- this subdivision are not considered TANF cash assistance and are not counted towards the
- 168.13 60-month time limit;
- (2) transportation needed to obtain or retain employment or to participate in other
- approved work activities or activities under a family stabilization plan;
- 168.16 (3) direct and administrative costs of staff to deliver employment services for MFIP, the
- 168.17 diversionary work program, or family stabilization services; to administer financial assistance;
- and to provide specialized services intended to assist hard-to-employ participants to transition
- 168.19 to work or transition from family stabilization services to MFIP;
- 168.20 (4) costs of education and training including functional work literacy and English as a
- 168.21 second language;
- 168.22 (5) cost of work supports including tools, clothing, boots, telephone service, and other
- 168.23 work-related expenses;
- (6) county administrative expenses as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 45,
- 168.25 section 260(b);
- 168.26 (7) services to parenting and pregnant teens;
- 168.27 (8) supported work;
- 168.28 (9) wage subsidies;
- (10) child care needed for MFIP<del>, the diversionary work program,</del> or family stabilization
- services participants to participate in social services;

(11) child care to ensure that families leaving MFIP or diversionary work program will continue to receive child care assistance from the time the family no longer qualifies for transition year child care until an opening occurs under the basic sliding fee child care program;

- (12) services to help noncustodial parents who live in Minnesota and have minor children receiving MFIP or DWP assistance, but do not live in the same household as the child, obtain or retain employment; and
- (13) services to help families participating in family stabilization services achieve the 169.8 greatest possible degree of self-sufficiency. 169.9
- (b) Administrative costs that are not matched with county funds as provided in subdivision 169.10 8 may not exceed 7.5 percent of a county's or 15 percent of a tribe's allocation under this 169.11 section. The commissioner shall define administrative costs for purposes of this subdivision. 169.12
- (c) The commissioner may waive the cap on administrative costs for a county or tribe that elects to provide an approved supported employment, unpaid work, or community work 169.14 experience program for a major segment of the county's or tribe's MFIP population. The 169.15 county or tribe must apply for the waiver on forms provided by the commissioner. In no 169.16 case shall total administrative costs exceed the TANF limits. 169.17

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.626, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 169.19
- 169.20 Subd. 3. Eligibility for services. Families with a minor child, a pregnant woman, or a noncustodial parent of a minor child receiving assistance, with incomes below 200 percent 169.21 of the federal poverty guideline for a family of the applicable size, are eligible for services 169.22 funded under the consolidated fund. Counties and tribes must give priority to families 169.23 currently receiving MFIP, the diversionary work program, or family stabilization services, 169.24 and families at risk of receiving MFIP or diversionary work program. A county or tribe 169.25 shall not impose a residency requirement on families, except for the residency requirement 169.26 169.27 under section 256J.12.

### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.751, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 169.29
- Subd. 2. Quarterly comparison report. (a) The commissioner shall report quarterly to 169.30 all counties on each county's performance on the following measures: 169.31

169.1

169.2

169.3

169.4

169.5

169.6

169.7

169.13

169.18

- (1) percent of MFIP caseload working in paid employment;
- (2) percent of MFIP caseload receiving only the food portion of assistance;
- 170.3 (3) number of MFIP cases that have left assistance;
- 170.4 (4) median placement wage rate;
- 170.5 (5) caseload by months of TANF assistance;
- (6) percent of MFIP and diversionary work program (DWP) cases off cash assistance 170.6 or working 30 or more hours per week at one-year, two-year, and three-year follow-up 170.7 points from a baseline quarter. This measure is called the self-support index. The 170.8 170.9 commissioner shall report quarterly an expected range of performance for each county, county grouping, and tribe on the self-support index. The expected range shall be derived 170.10 by a statistical methodology developed by the commissioner in consultation with the counties 170.11 and tribes. The statistical methodology shall control differences across counties in economic 170.12 conditions and demographics of the MFIP and DWP case load; and 170.13
- 170.14 (7) the TANF work participation rate, defined as the participation requirements specified under Public Law 109-171, the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005.
- (b) The commissioner shall not apply the limits on vocational educational training and education activities under Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 261.33(c), when determining TANF work participation rates for individual counties under this subdivision.
- 170.19 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 9. Prospective budgeting. "Prospective budgeting" means estimating the amount of monthly income that an assistance unit will have in the payment month.
- 170.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Personal property limitations.** The equity value of an assistance unit's personal
- 170.27 property listed in clauses (1) to (5) must not exceed \$10,000 for applicants and participants.
- 170.28 For purposes of this subdivision, personal property is limited to:
- 170.29 (1) cash;
- 170.30 (2) bank accounts not excluded under subdivision 4;

(3) liquid stocks and bonds that can be readily accessed without a financial penalty;

- (4) vehicles not excluded under subdivision 3; and
- 171.3 (5) the full value of business accounts used to pay expenses not related to the business.
- Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.02, is amended by adding a subdivision
- 171.5 to read:

- Subd. 4. **Account exception.** Family asset accounts under section 256E.35 and individual
- development accounts authorized under the Assets for Independence Act, Title IV of the
- 171.8 Community Opportunities, Accountability, and Training and Educational Services Human
- 171.9 Services Reauthorization Act of 1998, Public Law 105-285, shall be excluded when
- 171.10 determining the equity value of personal property.
- Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Factors to be verified.** (a) The agency shall verify the following at application:
- 171.13 (1) identity of adults;
- 171.14 (2) age, if necessary to determine eligibility;
- 171.15 (3) immigration status;
- 171.16 (4) income;
- 171.17 (5) spousal support and child support payments made to persons outside the household;
- 171.18 (6) vehicles;
- (7) checking and savings accounts, including but not limited to any business accounts
- used to pay expenses not related to the business;
- (8) inconsistent information, if related to eligibility;
- 171.22 (9) residence; and
- 171.23 (10) Social Security number; and.
- 171.24 (11) use of nonrecurring income under section 256P.06, subdivision 3, clause (2), item
- 171.25 (ix), for the intended purpose for which it was given and received.
- (b) Applicants who are qualified noncitizens and victims of domestic violence as defined
- under section 256J.08, subdivision 73, clauses (8) and (9), are not required to verify the
- information in paragraph (a), clause (10). When a Social Security number is not provided
- 171.29 to the agency for verification, this requirement is satisfied when each member of the

assistance unit cooperates with the procedures for verification of Social Security numbers,

- issuance of duplicate cards, and issuance of new numbers which have been established
- jointly between the Social Security Administration and the commissioner.
- 172.4 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.04, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- Subd. 8. **Recertification.** The agency shall recertify eligibility annually. During
- recertification and reporting under section 256P.10, the agency shall verify the following:
- 172.8 (1) income, unless excluded, including self-employment earnings;
- (2) assets when the value is within \$200 of the asset limit; and
- 172.10 (3) inconsistent information, if related to eligibility.
- 172.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Income inclusions.** The following must be included in determining the income
- 172.14 of an assistance unit:
- 172.15 (1) earned income; and
- 172.16 (2) unearned income, which includes:
- (i) interest and dividends from investments and savings;
- (ii) capital gains as defined by the Internal Revenue Service from any sale of real property;
- (iii) proceeds from rent and contract for deed payments in excess of the principal and
- interest portion owed on property;
- (iv) income from trusts, excluding special needs and supplemental needs trusts;
- (v) interest income from loans made by the participant or household;
- (vi) cash prizes and winnings;
- (vii) unemployment insurance income that is received by an adult member of the
- 172.25 assistance unit unless the individual receiving unemployment insurance income is:
- (A) 18 years of age and enrolled in a secondary school; or
- (B) 18 or 19 years of age, a caregiver, and is enrolled in school at least half-time;

(viii) for the purposes of programs under chapters 256D and 256I, retirement, survivors, and disability insurance payments;

- (ix) nonrecurring income over \$60 per quarter unless the nonrecurring income is: (A) from tax refunds, tax rebates, or tax credits; (B) a reimbursement, rebate, award, grant, or refund of personal or real property or costs or losses incurred when these payments are made by: a public agency; a court; solicitations through public appeal; a federal, state, or local unit of government; or a disaster assistance organization; (C) provided as an in-kind benefit; or (D) earmarked and used for the purpose for which it was intended, subject to verification requirements under section 256P.04;
- (x) (ix) retirement benefits;

173.3

173.4

173.5

173.6

173.7

173.8

- 173.11 (xi) (x) cash assistance benefits, as defined by each program in chapters 119B, 256D, 256I, and 256J;
- $\frac{(xii)}{(xi)}$  Tribal per capita payments unless excluded by federal and state law;
- 173.14 (xiii) (xii) income from members of the United States armed forces unless excluded 173.15 from income taxes according to federal or state law;
- 173.16 (xiv) (xiii) for the purposes of programs under chapters 119B, 256D, and 256I, all child support payments for programs under chapters 119B, 256D, and 256I;
- (xv) (xiv) for the purposes of programs under chapter 256J, the amount of child support received that exceeds \$100 for assistance units with one child and \$200 for assistance units with two or more children for programs under chapter 256J;
- 173.21 (xvi) (xv) spousal support; and
- 173.22 (xvii) (xvi) workers' compensation.; and
- 173.23 (xvii) for the purposes of programs under chapters 119B and 256J, the amount of
  retirement, survivors, and disability insurance payments that exceeds the applicable monthly
  federal maximum Supplemental Security Income payments.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023, except the removal of item

  (ix) related to nonrecurring income is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Exempted programs.** Participants who <u>receive Supplemental Security</u>

  173.30 Income and qualify for Minnesota supplemental aid under chapter 256D and or for housing

support under chapter 256I on the basis of eligibility for Supplemental Security Income are exempt from this section reporting income under this chapter.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 1a. Child care assistance programs. Participants who qualify for child care assistance programs under chapter 119B are exempt from this section except the reporting requirements in subdivision 6.
- 174.9 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Reporting requirements.** An applicant or participant must provide information on an application and any subsequent reporting forms about the assistance unit's circumstances that affect eligibility or benefits. An applicant or assistance unit must report changes that affect eligibility or benefits as identified in subdivision subdivisions 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, and 9 during the application period or by the tenth of the month following the month the assistance unit's circumstances changed. When information is not accurately reported, both an overpayment and a referral for a fraud investigation may result. When information or documentation is not provided, the receipt of any benefit may be delayed or denied,
- depending on the type of information required and its effect on eligibility.
- 174.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. Changes that must be reported. An assistance unit must report the changes 174.22 or anticipated changes specified in clauses (1) to (12) within ten days of the date they occur, 174.23 at the time of recertification of eligibility under section 256P.04, subdivisions 8 and 9, or 174.24 within eight calendar days of a reporting period, whichever occurs first. An assistance unit 174.25 must report other changes at the time of recertification of eligibility under section 256P.04, 174.26 subdivisions 8 and 9, or at the end of a reporting period, as applicable. When an agency 174.28 could have reduced or terminated assistance for one or more payment months if a delay in reporting a change specified under clauses (1) to (12) had not occurred, the agency must 174.29 determine whether a timely notice could have been issued on the day that the change 174.30 occurred. When a timely notice could have been issued, each month's overpayment 174.31 subsequent to that notice must be considered a client error overpayment under section 174.32

175 1	119B.11, subdivision 2a, or 256P.08. Changes in circumstances that must be reported within
175.1	
175.2	ten days must also be reported for the reporting period in which those changes occurred.
175.3	Within ten days, an assistance unit must report:
175.4	(1) a change in earned income of \$100 per month or greater with the exception of a
175.5	program under chapter 119B;
175.6	(2) a change in unearned income of \$50 per month or greater with the exception of a
175.7	program under chapter 119B;
175.8	(3) a change in employment status and hours with the exception of a program under
175.8	chapter 119B;
1/3.9	Chapter 117D;
175.10	(4) a change in address or residence;
175.11	(5) a change in household composition with the exception of programs under chapter
175.12	<del>256I;</del>
175.13	(6) a receipt of a lump-sum payment with the exception of a program under chapter
	119B;
1,3.11	
175.15	(7) an increase in assets if over \$9,000 with the exception of programs under chapter
175.16	<del>119B;</del>
175.17	(8) a change in citizenship or immigration status;
175.18	(9) a change in family status with the exception of programs under chapter 256I;
175.19	(10) a change in disability status of a unit member, with the exception of programs under
175.20	chapter 119B;
175.21	(11) a new rent subsidy or a change in rent subsidy with the exception of a program
175.21	under chapter 119B; and
1/3.22	under chapter 117D, and
175.23	(12) a sale, purchase, or transfer of real property with the exception of a program under
175.24	chapter 119B.
175.25	(a) An assistance unit must report changes or anticipated changes as described in this
175.26	section.
175.27	(b) An assistance unit must report:
175.28	(1) a change in eligibility for Supplemental Security Income, Retirement Survivors
175.29	Disability Insurance, or another federal income support;
175.30	(2) a change in address or residence;

176.1	(3) a change in household composition with the exception of programs under chapter
176.2	<u>256I;</u>
176.3	(4) cash prizes and winnings according to guidance provided for the Supplemental
176.4	Nutrition Assistance Program;
176.5	(5) a change in citizenship or immigration status;
176.6	(6) a change in family status with the exception of programs under chapter 256I; and
176.7	(7) a change that makes the value of the unit's assets at or above the asset limit.
176.8	(c) When an agency could have reduced or terminated assistance for one or more payment
176.9	months if a delay in reporting a change specified under paragraph (b) had not occurred, the
176.10	agency must determine whether the agency could have issued a timely notice on the day
176.11	that the change occurred. When a timely notice could have been issued, each month's
176.12	overpayment subsequent to the notice must be considered a client error overpayment under
176.13	section 256P.08.
176.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
176.15	Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
176.16	Subd. 4. MFIP-specific reporting. In addition to subdivision 3, an assistance unit under
176.17	chapter 256J, within ten days of the change, must report:
176.18	(1) a pregnancy not resulting in birth when there are no other minor children; and
176.19	(2) a change in school attendance of a parent under 20 years of age or of an employed
176.20	ehild.; and
176.21	(3) an individual in the household who is 18 or 19 years of age attending high school
176.22	who graduates or drops out of school.
176.23	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
176.24	Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
176.25	Subd. 6. Child care assistance programs-specific reporting. (a) In addition to
176.26	subdivision 3, An assistance unit under chapter 119B, within ten days of the change, must
176.27	report:
176.28	(1) a change in a parentally responsible individual's custody schedule for any child
176.29	receiving child care assistance program benefits;
176.30	(2) a permanent end in a parentally responsible individual's authorized activity; and

177.1 (3) if the unit's family's annual included income exceeds 85 percent of the state median income, adjusted for family size-;

- 177.3 (4) a change in address or residence;
- 177.4 (5) a change in household composition;
- 177.5 (6) a change in citizenship or immigration status; and
- 177.6 (7) a change in family status.
- 177.7 (b) An assistance unit subject to section 119B.095, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), must 177.8 report a change in the unit's authorized activity status.
- 177.9 (c) An assistance unit must notify the county when the unit wants to reduce the number of authorized hours for children in the unit.
- 177.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. Minnesota supplemental aid-specific reporting. (a) In addition to subdivision
- 177.14 3, an assistance unit participating in the Minnesota supplemental aid program under section
- 177.15 256D.44, subdivision 5, paragraph (g), within ten days of the change, chapter 256D and not
- 177.16 receiving Supplemental Security Income must report shelter expenses.:
- (1) a change in unearned income of \$50 per month or greater; and
- 177.18 (2) a change in earned income of \$100 per month or greater.
- (b) An assistance unit receiving housing assistance under section 256D.44, subdivision
- 5, paragraph (g), including assistance units that also receive Supplemental Security Income,
- 177.21 must report:
- (1) a change in shelter expenses; and
- 177.23 (2) a new rent subsidy or a change in rent subsidy.
- 177.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, is amended by adding a subdivision
- 177.26 to read:
- Subd. 8. **Housing support-specific reporting.** (a) In addition to subdivision 3, an
- assistance unit participating in the housing support program under chapter 256I and not
- 177.29 receiving Supplemental Security Income must report:

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1
03/20/23 00. 13 pm	11000L KEDL/ IKC11	7 1111/10 1	110230001

178.1	(1) a change in unearned income of \$50 per month or greater; and

- 178.2 (2) a change in earned income of \$100 per month or greater, unless the assistance unit is already subject to six-month reporting requirements in section 256P.10.
- (b) Notwithstanding the exemptions in subdivisions 1 and 3, an assistance unit receiving

  housing support under chapter 256I, including an assistance unit that receives Supplemental

  Security Income must report:
- 178.6 Security Income, must report:
- 178.7 (1) a new rent subsidy or a change in rent subsidy;
- 178.8 (2) a change in the disability status of a unit member; and
- 178.9 (3) a change in household composition if the assistance unit is a participant in housing support under section 256I.04, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (3).
- 178.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 77. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 9. **General assistance-specific reporting.** In addition to subdivision 3, an
- assistance unit participating in the general assistance program under chapter 256D must
- 178.16 report:
- (1) a change in unearned income of \$50 per month or greater;
- (2) a change in earned income of \$100 per month or greater, unless the assistance unit
- is already subject to six-month reporting requirements in section 256P.10; and
- 178.20 (3) changes in any condition that would result in the loss of basis for eligibility in section 178.21 256D.05, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).
- 178.22 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- 178.23 Sec. 78. [256P.09] PROSPECTIVE BUDGETING OF BENEFITS.
- Subdivision 1. Exempted programs. Assistance units that qualify for child care
- assistance programs under chapter 119B and assistance units that receive housing support
- under chapter 256I are not subject to reporting under section 256P.10, and assistance units
- that qualify for Minnesota supplemental aid under chapter 256D are exempt from this
- 178.28 section.
- 178.29 Subd. 2. Prospective budgeting of benefits. An agency subject to this chapter must use
- 178.30 prospective budgeting to calculate the assistance payment amount.

179.1 Subd. 3. **Initial income.** For the purpose of determining an assistance unit's level of benefits, an agency must take into account the income already received by the assistance 179.2 179.3 unit during or anticipated to be received during the application period. Income anticipated to be received only in the initial month of eligibility must only be counted in the initial 179.4 179.5 month. Subd. 4. Income determination. An agency must use prospective budgeting to determine 179.6 the amount of the assistance unit's benefit for the eligibility period based on the best 179.7 179.8 information available at the time of approval. An agency shall only count anticipated income when the participant and the agency are reasonably certain of the amount of the payment 179.9 and the month in which the payment will be received. If the exact amount of the income is 179.10 not known, the agency shall consider only the amounts that can be anticipated as income. 179.11 Subd. 5. Income changes. An increase in income shall not affect an assistance unit's 179.12 eligibility or benefit amount until the next review unless otherwise required to be reported 179.13 in section 256P.07. A decrease in income shall be effective on the date that the change 179.14 occurs if the change is reported by the tenth of the month following the month when the 179.15 change occurred. If the assistance unit does not report the change in income by the tenth of 179.16 the month following the month when the change occurred, the change in income shall be 179.17 effective on the date the change was reported. 179.18 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. 179.19 Sec. 79. [256P.10] SIX-MONTH REPORTING. 179.20 179.21 Subdivision 1. Exempted programs. Assistance units that qualify for child care assistance programs under chapter 119B, assistance units that qualify for Minnesota 179.22 179.23 supplemental aid under chapter 256D, and assistance units that qualify for housing support under chapter 256I and also receive Supplemental Security Income are exempt from this 179.24 179.25 section. Subd. 2. Reporting. (a) Every six months, an assistance unit that qualifies for the 179.26 Minnesota family investment program under chapter 256J, an assistance unit that qualifies 179.27 for general assistance under chapter 256D with an earned income of \$100 per month or 179.28 greater, or an assistance unit that qualifies for housing support under chapter 256I with an 179.29 179.30 earned income of \$100 per month or greater is subject to six-month reviews. The initial reporting period may be shorter than six months in order to align with other programs' 179.31 reporting periods. 179.32

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

180.1	(b) An assistance unit that qualifies for the Minnesota family investment program or an
180.2	assistance unit that qualifies for general assistance with an earned income of \$100 per month
180.3	or greater must complete household report forms as required by the commissioner for
180.4	redetermination of benefits.
180.5	(c) An assistance unit that qualifies for housing support with an earned income of \$100
180.6	per month or greater must complete household report forms as prescribed by the
180.7	commissioner to provide information about earned income.
180.8	(d) An assistance unit that qualifies for housing support and also receives assistance
180.9	through the Minnesota family investment program shall be subject to requirements of this
180.10	section for purposes of the Minnesota family investment program but not for housing support.
180.11	(e) An assistance unit covered by this section must submit a household report form in
180.12	compliance with the provisions in section 256P.04, subdivision 11.
180.13	(f) An assistance unit covered by this section may choose to report changes under this
180.14	section at any time.
180.15	Subd. 3. When to terminate assistance. (a) An agency must terminate benefits when
180.16	the assistance unit fails to submit the household report form before the end of the six-month
180.17	review period. If the assistance unit submits the household report form within 30 days of
180.18	the termination of benefits and remains eligible, benefits must be reinstated and made
180.19	available retroactively for the full benefit month.
180.20	(b) When an assistance unit is determined to be ineligible for assistance according to
180.21	this section and chapter 256D, 256I, or 256J, the agency must terminate assistance.
180.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
180.23	Sec. 80. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 261.063, is amended to read:
180.24	261.063 TAX LEVY FOR SOCIAL SERVICES; BOARD DUTY; PENALTY.
180.25	(a) The board of county commissioners of each county shall annually levy taxes and fix
180.26	a rate sufficient to produce the full amount required for poor relief, general assistance,
180.27	Minnesota family investment program, diversionary work program, county share of county
180.28	and state supplemental aid to Supplemental Security Income applicants or recipients, and
180.29	any other Social Security measures wherein there is now or may hereafter be county
180.30	participation, sufficient to produce the full amount necessary for each such item, including
180.31	administrative expenses, for the ensuing year, within the time fixed by law in addition to
180.32	all other tax levies and tax rates, however fixed or determined, and any commissioner who

shall fail to comply herewith shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor and shall be immediately removed from office by the governor. For the purposes of this paragraph, "poor relief" means county services provided under sections 261.035 and 261.21 to 261.231.

- (b) Nothing within the provisions of this section shall be construed as requiring a county agency to provide income support or cash assistance to needy persons when they are no longer eligible for assistance under general assistance, chapter 256J, or Minnesota supplemental aid.
  - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

181.1

181.2

181.3

181.4

181.5

181.6

181.7

181.8

181.13

181 14

181.15

181.16

181.17

181.19

181.20

181.21

181.23

181.24

- Sec. 81. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 514.972, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Access to certain items.** (a) Any occupant may remove from the self-storage facility personal papers and health aids upon demand made to any of the persons listed in section 514.976, subdivision 1.
  - (b) An occupant who provides documentation from a government or nonprofit agency or legal aid office that the occupant is a recipient of relief based on need, is eligible for legal aid services, or is a survivor of domestic violence or sexual assault may remove, in addition to the items provided in paragraph (a), personal clothing of the occupant and the occupant's dependents and tools of the trade that are necessary for the livelihood of the occupant that has a market value not to exceed \$125 per item.
  - (c) The occupant shall present a list of the items and may remove the items during the facility's ordinary business hours prior to the sale authorized by section 514.973. If the owner unjustifiably denies the occupant access for the purpose of removing the items specified in this subdivision, the occupant is entitled to request relief from the court for an order allowing access to the storage space for removal of the specified items. The self-service storage facility is liable to the occupant for the costs, disbursements, and attorney fees expended by the occupant to obtain this order.
- (d) For the purposes of this subdivision, "relief based on need" includes but is not limited to receipt of a benefit from the Minnesota family investment program and diversionary work program, medical assistance, general assistance, emergency general assistance, Minnesota supplemental aid, Minnesota supplemental aid housing assistance, MinnesotaCare, Supplemental Security Income, energy assistance, emergency assistance, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program benefits, earned income tax credit, or Minnesota working family tax credit. Relief based on need can also be proven by providing documentation from a legal aid organization that the individual is receiving legal aid assistance, or by providing

03/26/23 06:43 pm HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H0238DE1

182.1	documentation from a government agency, nonprofit, or housing assistance program that
182.2	the individual is receiving assistance due to domestic violence or sexual assault.
182.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
182.4	Sec. 82. <u>REVISOR INSTRUCTION.</u>
182.5	The revisor of statutes shall remove from Minnesota Statutes, sections 550.143,
182.6	subdivision 3c; 550.37, subdivision 14; 551.05, subdivision 1d; 571.72, subdivision 10;
182.7	571.912, subdivision 3; and 571.925, the terms "MFIP Diversionary Work Program" and
182.8	"MFIP diversionary work program." The revisor shall also make any necessary grammatical
182.9	changes related to the removal of terms.
182.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
182.11	Sec. 83. REPEALER.
182.12	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 256.9864; 256J.08, subdivisions 10, 53, 61, 62,
182.13	81, and 83; 256J.30, subdivisions 5, 7, and 8; 256J.33, subdivisions 3, 4, and 5; 256J.34,
182.14	subdivisions 1, 2, 3, and 4; and 256J.37, subdivision 10, are repealed.
182.15	(b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.425, subdivision 6, is repealed.
182.16	(c) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 119B.011, subdivision 10a; 256J.08, subdivision
182.17	24b; 256J.95, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19;
182.18	and 256P.07, subdivision 5, are repealed.
182.19	(d) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256D.63, subdivision 1, is repealed.
182.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraphs (a) and (c) are effective July 1, 2024. Paragraph (b)
182.21	is effective January 1, 2025. Paragraph (d) is effective the day following final enactment.
102.22	ARTICLE 6
182.22 182.23	HOMELESSNESS
102.23	HOWELESSIVESS
182.24	Section 1. EMERGENCY SHELTER FACILITIES.
182.25	Subdivision 1. <b>Definitions.</b> (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have
182.26	the meanings given.
182.27	(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.
182.28	(c) "Eligible applicant" means a statutory or home rule charter city, county, Tribal

government, not-for-profit corporation under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

183.1	Code, or housing and redevelopment authority established under Minnesota Statutes, section
183.2	<u>469.003.</u>
183.3	(d) "Emergency shelter facility" or "facility" means a facility that provides a safe, sanitary,
183.4	accessible, and suitable emergency shelter for individuals and families experiencing
183.5	homelessness, regardless of whether the facility provides emergency shelter during the day,
183.6	overnight, or both.
183.7	Subd. 2. Project criteria. (a) The commissioner shall prioritize grants under this section
183.8	for projects that improve or expand emergency shelter facility options by:
183.9	(1) adding additional emergency shelter facilities by renovating existing facilities not
183.10	currently operating as emergency shelter facilities;
183.11	(2) adding additional emergency shelter facility beds by renovating existing emergency
183.12	shelter facilities, including major projects that address an accumulation of deferred
183.13	maintenance or repair or replacement of mechanical, electrical, and safety systems and
183.14	components in danger of failure;
183.15	(3) adding additional emergency shelter facility beds through acquisition and construction
183.16	of new emergency shelter facilities;
183.17	(4) improving the safety, sanitation, accessibility, and habitability of existing emergency
183.18	shelter facilities, including major projects that address an accumulation of deferred
183.19	maintenance or repair or replacement of mechanical, electrical, and safety systems and
183.20	components in danger of failure; and
183.21	(5) improving access to emergency shelter facilities that provide culturally appropriate
183.22	shelter and gender-inclusive shelter.
183.23	(b) A grant under this section may be used to pay for 100 percent of total project capital
183.24	expenditures or a specified project phase, up to \$10,000,000 per project. For eligible
183.25	applicants seeking funding under this section for the acquisition and construction of new
183.26	emergency shelter facilities under paragraph (a), clause (3), the commissioner must give
183.27	priority to projects in which the eligible applicant will provide at least ten percent of total
183.28	project funding.
183.29	(c) All projects funded with a grant under this section must meet all applicable state and
183.30	local building codes at the time of project completion.
183.31	(d) The commissioner must use a competitive request for proposal process to identify
183.32	potential projects and eligible applicants on a statewide basis. At least 40 percent of the
183.33	appropriation under this section must be awarded to projects located in greater Minnesota.

If the commissioner does not receive sufficient eligible funding requests from greater 184.1 Minnesota to award at least 40 percent of the appropriation under this section to projects in 184.2 greater Minnesota, the commissioner may award the remaining funds to other eligible 184.3 projects. 184.4 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 145.4716, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 184.5 Subd. 3. Youth eligible for services. Youth 24 years of age or younger shall be eligible 184.6 184.7 for all services, support, and programs provided under this section and section 145.4717, and all shelter, housing beds, and services provided by the commissioner of human services 184.8 to sexually exploited youth and youth at risk of sexual exploitation under section 256K.47. 184.9 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256K.45, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 184.10 Subd. 3. Street and community outreach and drop-in program. Youth drop-in centers 184.11 must provide walk-in access to crisis intervention and ongoing supportive services including 184.12 one-to-one case management services on a self-referral basis. Street and community outreach 184.13 programs must locate, contact, and provide information, referrals, and services to homeless 184.14 youth, youth at risk of homelessness, and runaways. Information, referrals, and services 184.15 provided may include, but are not limited to: 184.16 (1) family reunification services; 184.17 (2) conflict resolution or mediation counseling; 184.18 (3) assistance in obtaining temporary emergency shelter; 184.19 (4) assistance in obtaining food, clothing, medical care, or mental health counseling; 184.20 184.21 (5) counseling regarding violence, sexual exploitation, substance abuse, sexually transmitted diseases, and pregnancy; 184.22 184.23 (6) referrals to other agencies that provide support services to homeless youth, youth at risk of homelessness, and runaways; 184.24 184.25 (7) assistance with education, employment, and independent living skills; (8) aftercare services; 184.26 184.27 (9) specialized services for highly vulnerable runaways and homeless youth, including teen but not limited to youth at risk of discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender 184.28 identity, young parents, emotionally disturbed and mentally ill youth, and sexually exploited 184.29

youth; and

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

185.1	(10)	) homelessness	prevention.
-------	------	----------------	-------------

- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256K.45, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Provider repair or improvement grants.** (a) Providers that serve homeless youth under this section may apply for a grant of up to \$200,000 \$500,000 under this subdivision to make minor or mechanical repairs or improvements to a facility providing services to homeless youth or youth at risk of homelessness.
- 185.7 (b) Grant applications under this subdivision must include a description of the repairs 185.8 or improvements and the estimated cost of the repairs or improvements.
- (c) Grantees under this subdivision cannot receive grant funds under this subdivision for two consecutive years.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256K.45, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 8. Awarding of grants. For grants awarded pursuant to a two-year grant contract, the commissioner shall permit grant recipients to carry over any unexpended amount from the first contract year to the second contract year.

#### 185.16 Sec. 6. [256K.47] SAFE HARBOR SHELTER AND HOUSING GRANT PROGRAM.

- Subdivision 1. Grant program established. The commissioner of human services shall establish the safe harbor shelter and housing grant program and award grants to providers who are committed to serving sexually exploited youth and youth at risk of sexual exploitation. The grant program is to provide street and community outreach programs, emergency shelter programs, and supportive housing programs, consistent with the program descriptions in this section in order to address the specialized outreach, shelter, and housing needs of sexually exploited youth and youth at risk of sexual exploitation.
- Subd. 2. Youth eligible for services. Youth 24 years of age or younger shall be eligible for all shelter, housing beds, and services provided under this section and all services, support, and programs provided by the commissioner of health to sexually exploited youth and youth at risk of sexual exploitation under sections 145.4716 and 145.4717.
- Subd. 3. Street and community outreach. Street and community outreach programs receiving grants under this section must locate, contact, and provide information, referrals, and services to eligible youth. Information, referrals, and services provided by street and community outreach programs may include but are not limited to:

186.1	(1) family reunification services;
186.2	(2) conflict resolution or mediation counseling;
186.3	(3) assistance in obtaining temporary emergency shelter;
186.4	(4) assistance in obtaining food, clothing, medical care, or mental health counseling;
186.5	(5) counseling regarding violence, sexual exploitation, substance use, sexually transmitted
186.6	infections, and pregnancy;
186.7	(6) referrals to other agencies that provide support services to sexually exploited youth
186.8	and youth at risk of sexual exploitation;
186.9	(7) assistance with education, employment, and independent living skills;
186.10	(8) aftercare services;
186.11	(9) specialized services for sexually exploited youth and youth at risk of sexual
186.12	exploitation, including youth experiencing homelessness and youth with mental health
186.13	needs; and
186.14	(10) services to address the prevention of sexual exploitation and homelessness.
186.15	Subd. 4. Emergency shelter program. (a) Emergency shelter programs must provide
186.16	eligible youth with referral and walk-in access to emergency, short-term residential care.
186.17	The program shall provide eligible youth with safe, dignified shelter, including private
186.18	shower facilities, beds, and meals each day; and shall assist eligible youth with reunification
186.19	with the family or legal guardian when required or appropriate.
186.20	(b) The services provided at emergency shelters may include but are not limited to:
186.21	(1) specialized services to address the trauma of sexual exploitation;
186.22	(2) family reunification services;
186.23	(3) individual, family, and group counseling;
186.24	(4) assistance obtaining clothing;
186.25	(5) access to medical and dental care and mental health counseling;
186.26	(6) counseling regarding violence, sexual exploitation, substance use, sexually transmitted
186.27	infections, and pregnancy;
186.28	(7) education and employment services;
186.29	(8) recreational activities;

homeless youth in St. Louis County. The pilot project must be designed to meet the needs of underserved communities.

188.1	Subd. 2. <b>Definitions.</b> (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
188.2	meanings given.
188.3	(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.
188.4	(c) "Homeless youth" means a person 18 to 24 years of age who lacks a fixed, regular,
188.5	and adequate nighttime residence. The following are not fixed, regular, or adequate nighttime
188.6	residences:
188.7	(1) a supervised publicly or privately operated shelter designed to provide temporary
188.8	living accommodations;
188.9	(2) an institution or a publicly or privately operated shelter designed to provide temporary
188.10	living accommodations;
188.11	(3) transitional housing;
188.12	(4) a temporary placement with a peer, friend, or family member that has not offered
188.13	permanent residence, a residential lease, or temporary lodging for more than 30 days; or
188.14	(5) a public or private place not designed for, nor ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping
188.15	accommodation for human beings.
188.16	Subd. 3. Administration. The commissioner, as authorized by Minnesota Statutes,
188.17	section 256.01, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (6), shall contract with Youthprise to:
188.18	(1) identify eligible homeless youth under this section;
188.19	(2) provide technical assistance to cash stipend recipients;
188.20	(3) engage with cash stipend recipients to develop youth-designed optional services;
188.21	(4) evaluate the efficacy and cost-effectiveness of the pilot program;
188.22	(5) collaborate with youth leaders of each county to identify and contract with the
188.23	appropriate service providers to offer financial coaching, housing navigation, employment,
188.24	education services, and trauma-informed mentoring and support; and
188.25	(6) submit annual updates and a final report to the commissioner.
188.26	Subd. 4. Eligibility. Homeless youth who are 18 to 24 years of age and who live in St.
188.27	Louis County at the time of initial enrollment are eligible to participate in the pilot project.
188.28	Subd. 5. Cash stipend. The commissioner, in consultation with Youthprise and St. Louis
188.29	County, shall establish a stipend amount for eligible homeless youth who participate in the
188.30	pilot project.

03/26/23 06:43 pt	m HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

189.1	Subd. 6. Stipends not to be considered income. (a) Notwithstanding any law to the
189.2	contrary, cash stipends under this section must not be considered income, assets, or personal
189.3	property for purposes of determining eligibility or recertifying eligibility for:
189.4	(1) child care assistance programs under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 119B;
189.5	(2) general assistance, Minnesota supplemental aid, and food support under Minnesota
189.6	Statutes, chapter 256D;
189.7	(3) housing support under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256I;
189.8	(4) the Minnesota family investment program and diversionary work program under
189.9	Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256J; and
189.10	(5) economic assistance programs under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256P.
189.11	(b) The commissioner must not consider cash stipends under this section as income or
189.12	assets for medical assistance under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.056, subdivision 1a,
189.13	paragraph (a); 3; or 3c.
189.14	(c) Postsecondary institutions as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.103, shall
189.15	minimize any negative impact on student financial aid resulting from the receipt of cash
189.16	stipends under this section.
189.17	Subd. 7. Report. The commissioner, in cooperation with Youthprise and St. Louis
189.18	County, shall submit an annual report on Youthprise's findings regarding the efficacy and
189.19	cost-effectiveness of the homeless youth cash stipend pilot project to the chairs and ranking
189.20	minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over homeless youth policy
189.21	and finance by January 15, 2024, and each January 15 thereafter.
189.22	Subd. 8. Expiration. This section expires June 30, 2027.
189.23	ARTICLE 7
89.24	MISCELLANEOUS
189.25	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 4.045, is amended to read:
189.26	4.045 CHILDREN'S CABINET.
189.27	The Children's Cabinet shall consist of the commissioners of education; human services;
189.28	employment and economic development; public safety; corrections; management and
189.29	budget; health; administration; Housing Finance Agency, and; transportation; and the
89.30	director of the Office of Strategic and Long-Range Planning children, youth, and families.

The governor shall designate one member to serve as cabinet chair. The chair is responsible for ensuring that the duties of the Children's Cabinet are performed.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

190.1

190.2

190.3

190.18

190.19

190.20

190.21

190.22

190.23

190.24

190.25

190.26

190.27

190.28

190.29

190.30

190.31

190.32

190.33

- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 10.65, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Definitions.** (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings given:
- (1) "agency" means the Department of Administration; Department of Agriculture; 190.7 Department of Children, Youth, and Families; Department of Commerce; Department of 190.8 Corrections;; Department of Education;; Department of Employment and Economic 190.9 Development;; Department of Health;; Office of Higher Education;; Housing Finance 190.10 Agency; Department of Human Rights; Department of Human Services; Department of 190.11 Information Technology Services;; Department of Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation;; 190.12 Department of Labor and Industry; Minnesota Management and Budget; Bureau of Mediation Services; Department of Military Affairs; Metropolitan Council; Department of Natural Resources;; Pollution Control Agency;; Department of Public Safety;; Department 190.16 of Revenue; Department of Transportation; Department of Veterans Affairs; Gambling Control Board; Racing Commission; the Minnesota Lottery; the Animal Health Board; 190.17

and the Board of Water and Soil Resources;

- (2) "consultation" means the direct and interactive involvement of the Minnesota Tribal governments in the development of policy on matters that have Tribal implications.

  Consultation is the proactive, affirmative process of identifying and seeking input from appropriate Tribal governments and considering their interest as a necessary and integral part of the decision-making process. This definition adds to statutorily mandated notification procedures. During a consultation, the burden is on the agency to show that it has made a good faith effort to elicit feedback. Consultation is a formal engagement between agency officials and the governing body or bodies of an individual Minnesota Tribal government that the agency or an individual Tribal government may initiate. Formal meetings or communication between top agency officials and the governing body of a Minnesota Tribal government is a necessary element of consultation;
- (3) "matters that have Tribal implications" means rules, legislative proposals, policy statements, or other actions that have substantial direct effects on one or more Minnesota Tribal governments, or on the distribution of power and responsibilities between the state and Minnesota Tribal governments;

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

191.1	(4) "Minnesota Tribal governments" means the federally recognized Indian Tribes located
191.2	in Minnesota including: Bois Forte Band; Fond Du Lac Band; Grand Portage Band; Leech
191.3	Lake Band; Mille Lacs Band; White Earth Band; Red Lake Nation; Lower Sioux Indian
191.4	Community; Prairie Island Indian Community; Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community;
191.5	and Upper Sioux Community; and

(5) "timely and meaningful" means done or occurring at a favorable or useful time that allows the result of consultation to be included in the agency's decision-making process for a matter that has Tribal implications.

# **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.01, is amended to read:

### 15.01 DEPARTMENTS OF THE STATE.

191.6

191.7

191.8

191.9

191.10

191.11

191.23

The following agencies are designated as the departments of the state government: the 191.12 Department of Administration; the Department of Agriculture; the Department of Children, 191.13 Youth, and Families; the Department of Commerce; the Department of Corrections; the 191.14 Department of Education; the Department of Employment and Economic Development; 191.15 the Department of Health; the Department of Human Rights; the Department of Information Technology Services; the Department of Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation; the 191.18 Department of Labor and Industry; the Department of Management and Budget; the 191.19 Department of Military Affairs; the Department of Natural Resources; the Department of Public Safety; the Department of Human Services; the Department of Revenue; the 191.20 Department of Transportation; the Department of Veterans Affairs; and their successor 191.21 191.22 departments.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- 191.24 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Applicability.** This section applies to the following departments or agencies: the Departments of Administration; Agriculture; Children, Youth, and Families; Commerce; Corrections; Education; Employment and Economic Development; Health; Human Rights; Labor and Industry; Management and Budget; Natural Resources; Public Safety; Human Services; Revenue; Transportation; and Veterans Affairs; the Housing Finance and Pollution Control Agencies; the Office of Commissioner of Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation; the Department of Information Technology Services; the

Bureau of Mediation Services; and their successor departments and agencies. The heads of 192.1 the foregoing departments or agencies are "commissioners." 192.2 192.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15A.0815, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 192.4 Subd. 2. Group I salary limits. The salary for a position listed in this subdivision shall 192.5 not exceed 133 percent of the salary of the governor. This limit must be adjusted annually 192.6 on January 1. The new limit must equal the limit for the prior year increased by the percentage 192.7 increase, if any, in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers from October of the 192.8 second prior year to October of the immediately prior year. The commissioner of management 192.9 and budget must publish the limit on the department's website. This subdivision applies to the following positions: 192.11 Commissioner of administration; 192.12 192.13 Commissioner of agriculture; Commissioner of education; 192.14 192.15 Commissioner of children, youth, and families; Commissioner of commerce; 192.16 192.17 Commissioner of corrections: Commissioner of health; 192.18 Commissioner, Minnesota Office of Higher Education; 192.19 Commissioner, Housing Finance Agency; 192.20 Commissioner of human rights; 192.21 Commissioner of human services: 192.22 Commissioner of labor and industry; 192.23 192.24 Commissioner of management and budget; Commissioner of natural resources: 192.25 192.26 Commissioner, Pollution Control Agency; Commissioner of public safety; 192.27 Commissioner of revenue; 192.28

192.29

Commissioner of employment and economic development;

193.1 Commissioner of transportation; and

193.2

193.3

193.16

Commissioner of veterans affairs.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

193.4 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 43A.08, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Additional unclassified positions. Appointing authorities for the following 193.5 agencies may designate additional unclassified positions according to this subdivision: the 193.6 Departments of Administration; Agriculture; Children, Youth, and Families; Commerce; 193.7 Corrections; Education; Employment and Economic Development; Explore Minnesota 193.8 Tourism; Management and Budget; Health; Human Rights; Labor and Industry; Natural 193.9 Resources; Public Safety; Human Services; Revenue; Transportation; and Veterans Affairs; 193.10 the Housing Finance and Pollution Control Agencies; the State Lottery; the State Board of 193.11 193.12 Investment; the Office of Administrative Hearings; the Department of Information Technology Services; the Offices of the Attorney General, Secretary of State, and State 193.13 Auditor; the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities; the Minnesota Office of Higher Education; the Perpich Center for Arts Education; and the Minnesota Zoological Board. 193.15

- A position designated by an appointing authority according to this subdivision must meet the following standards and criteria:
- (1) the designation of the position would not be contrary to other law relating specifically to that agency;
- 193.20 (2) the person occupying the position would report directly to the agency head or deputy 193.21 agency head and would be designated as part of the agency head's management team;
- 193.22 (3) the duties of the position would involve significant discretion and substantial involvement in the development, interpretation, and implementation of agency policy;
- 193.24 (4) the duties of the position would not require primarily personnel, accounting, or other 193.25 technical expertise where continuity in the position would be important;
- 193.26 (5) there would be a need for the person occupying the position to be accountable to, 193.27 loyal to, and compatible with, the governor and the agency head, the employing statutory 193.28 board or commission, or the employing constitutional officer;
- 193.29 (6) the position would be at the level of division or bureau director or assistant to the 193.30 agency head; and
- 193.31 (7) the commissioner has approved the designation as being consistent with the standards and criteria in this subdivision.

03/26/23 06:43 pm HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H0238DE1

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

194.2	Sec. 7. [119C.01] GREAT START SCHOLARSHIPS PROGRAM.
194.3	Subdivision 1. Establishment; purpose. The commissioner of the Department of
194.4	Children, Youth, and Families, in collaboration with the commissioner of education and
194.5	the commissioner of human services, shall establish and develop the great start scholarships
194.6	program to ensure affordable access to high-quality early care and learning for children
194.7	from birth to kindergarten entry.
194.8	Subd. 2. <b>Development.</b> In developing the program under this section, the commissioner
194.9	shall:
194.10	(1) identify ways to integrate the functions, administrative structures, and funding
194.11	mechanisms of early care and learning programs administered by the state with the great
194.12	start scholarships program;
194.13	(2) consider the recommendations made by the Great Start for All Minnesota Children
194.14	Task Force under Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 14;
194.15	(3) make a plan to seamlessly transition the following families to the great start
194.16	scholarships program by July 1, 2026:
194.17	(i) families with at least one child receiving an early learning scholarship under section
194.18	<u>124D.165; and</u>
194.19	(ii) families with at least one child who is not yet in kindergarten and is receiving child
194.20	care assistance under sections 119B.03 or 119B.05 for care received from a provider licensed
194.21	under Minnesota Rules, parts 9502 or 9503, or Tribally licensed, or a Head Start program
194.22	that has a rating under section 124D.142;
194.23	(4) create mechanisms for members of local communities, including families and members
194.24	of the early care and learning workforce, to have input in decisions regarding needs and
194.25	preferences for early care and learning options;
194.26	(5) develop a method for funding early care and learning slots in response to local need
194.27	through contracts with eligible providers that may be used to deliver services that meet
194.28	quality and compensation standards with the intent to build early care and learning capacity
194.29	statewide for children from birth to kindergarten entry; and
194.30	(6) maximize available federal resources, while minimizing the extent to which state
194.31	policy is limited by federal regulations. The executive director, in consultation with an

	03/26/23 06:43 pm HOUSE RES	SEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1
195.1	appropriate state agency, may seek federal technical	assistance or	outside consu	ıltation as
195.2	necessary to provide minimally burdensome program	n access to all	l participating	families.
195.3	Subd. 3. Program requirements. The great start	scholarships	program mus	t include,
195.4	4 <u>at a minimum:</u>			
195.5	(1) family-directed scholarships that provide fina	ncial assistanc	ce to families	voluntarily
195.6	6 participating in the program;			
195.7	7 (2) family eligibility for any family that has at least	ast one child v	who is not yet	in
195.8	8 <u>kindergarten;</u>			
195.9	9 (3) provider eligibility for:			
195.10	(i) any program licensed under Minnesota Rules, p	oarts 9502 or 9	503, or Tribal	ly licensed,
195.11	that participates in the quality rating and improvemen	nt system unde	er section 124	D.142; and
195.12	(ii) school-based programs and Head Start progra	ams that have	a rating unde	r section
195.13	13 <u>124D.142;</u>			
195.14	(4) a unified, integrated, and simple online applica	tion process th	nat utilizes adr	ninistrative
195.15	data to ease qualification and benefit determination a	and facilitate 1	required repor	rting to the
195.16	16 <u>federal government;</u>			
195.17	(5) an integrated electronic attendance tracking sys	stem and paym	nents system to	o safeguard
195.18	18 program integrity and streamline billing and paymer	nt processes fo	or providers; a	and
195.19	19 (6) a schedule for scholarship amounts that ensur	es that no par	ticipating fan	nily pays
195.20	20 more than seven percent of annual income for early	care and learn	ing services f	or children
195.21	21 <u>from birth to kindergarten entry. Scholarship amounts</u>	s may vary by	family incom	e, program
195.22	quality, geography, and need for compensatory servi	ces, and may	take into con	sideration
195.23	23 the results of the market rate survey under section 119	B.02, subdivi	sion 7, inform	nation from
195.24	24 cost estimation models for providing early care and lea	arning in the st	tate, and cost i	nformation
195.25	25 gathered through contracts under subdivision 2, clau	se (5).		
195.26	Subd. 4. Administration. By May 1, 2026, the c	ommissioner,	in consultation	on with the
195.27	27 commissioner of education and the commissioner of	human servic	ces, shall have	e in place
195.28	the administrative structures and systems needed for	the great star	t scholarships	s program

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

195.29 to meet the operational needs of participating families and eligible providers.

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.142, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
Subd. 2. <b>System components.</b> (a) The standards-based voluntary quality rating and
improvement system includes:
(1) at least a one-star rating for all programs licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9502
or 9503, that do not opt out of the system under paragraph (b) and that are not:
(i) the subject of a finding of fraud;
(ii) prohibited from receiving public funds under section 245.095;
(iii) under revocation, suspension, temporary immediate suspension, or decertification,
regardless of whether the action is under appeal; or
(iv) operating under a conditional license, regardless of whether the license holder has
requested reconsideration;
(1) (2) quality opportunities in order to improve the educational outcomes of children
so that they are ready for school;
(2) (3) a framework based on the Minnesota quality rating system rating tool and a
common set of child outcome and program standards informed by evaluation results;
(3) (4) a tool to increase the number of publicly funded and regulated early learning and
care services in both public and private market programs that are high quality;
(4) (5) voluntary participation ensuring that if a program or provider chooses to
participate, the program or provider will be rated and may receive public funding associated
with the rating; and
(5) (6) tracking progress toward statewide access to high-quality early learning and care
programs, progress toward the number of low-income children whose parents can access
quality programs, and progress toward increasing the number of children who are fully
prepared to enter kindergarten.
(b) The commissioner of human services shall establish a process by which a program
may opt out of the rating under paragraph (a), clause (1).
Sec. 9. [143.01] DEFINITIONS.
Subdivision 1. Application. The definitions in this section apply to this chapter.

196.30 and families.

196.29

Subd. 2. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of children, youth,

197.1	Subd. 3. Department. "Department" means the Department of Children, Youth, and
197.2	<u>Families.</u>
197.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
197.4	Sec. 10. [143.02] CREATION OF THE DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN, YOUTH,
197.5	AND FAMILIES.
197.6	Subdivision 1. Department. The Department of Children, Youth, and Families is
197.7	established.
197.8	Subd. 2. Transfer and restructuring provisions. The restructuring of agencies under
197.9	this act must be conducted in accordance with sections 15.039 and 43A.045.
197.10	Subd. 3. Successor and employee protection clause. (a) Personnel relating to the
197.11	functions assigned to the commissioner in section 143.03 are transferred to the department
197.12	effective 30 days after approval by the commissioner.
197.13	(b) Before the commissioner's appointment, personnel relating to the functions in this
197.14	section may be transferred beginning July 1, 2024, with 30 days' notice from the
197.15	commissioner of management and budget.
197.16	(c) The following protections shall apply to employees who are transferred to the
197.17	department from originating state agencies:
197.18	(1) no transferred employee shall have their employment status and job classification
197.19	altered as a result of the transfer;
197.20	(2) such transferred employees who were represented by an exclusive representative
197.21	prior to the transfer shall continue to be represented by the same exclusive representative
197.22	after the transfer;
197.23	(3) the applicable collective bargaining agreements with exclusive representatives shall
197.24	continue in full force and effect for such transferred employees after the transfer;
197.25	(4) the state shall have the obligation to meet and negotiate with the exclusive
197.26	representatives of the transferred employees about any proposed changes affecting or relating
197.27	to such transferred employees' terms and conditions of employment to the extent such
197.28	changes are not addressed in the applicable collective bargaining agreement; and
197.29	(5) in the event that the state transfers ownership or control of any of the facilities,
197.30	services, or operations of the department to another entity, whether private or public, by
197.31	subcontracting, sale, assignment, lease, or other transfer, the state shall require as a written
197.32	condition of such transfer of ownership or control the following:

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

198.1	(i) employees who perform work in such facilities, services, or operations shall be offered
198.2	employment with the entity acquiring ownership or control before the entity offers
198.3	employment to any individual who was not employed by the transferring agency at the time
198.4	of the transfer; and
198.5	(ii) the wage and benefit standards of such transferred employees must not be reduced
198.6	by the entity acquiring ownership or control through the expiration of the collective
198.7	bargaining agreement in effect at the time of the transfer or for a period of two years after
198.8	the transfer, whichever is longer.
198.9	There is no liability on the part of, and no cause of action arises against, the state of
198.10	Minnesota or its officers or agents for any action or inaction of any entity acquiring ownership
198.11	or control of any facilities, services, or operations of the department.
198.12	(d) To the extent that departmental changes affect the operations of any school district
198.13	or charter school, employers have the obligation to bargain about any changes affecting or
198.14	relating to employees' terms and conditions of employment if such changes are necessary
198.15	during or after the term of an existing collective bargaining agreement.
198.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
198.17	Sec. 11. [143.03] COMMISSIONER.
198.18	Subdivision 1. General. The department is under the administrative control of the
198.19	commissioner. The commissioner is appointed by the governor with the advice and consent
198.20	of the senate. The commissioner has the general powers provided in section 15.06,
198.21	subdivision 6. The commissioner's salary must be established according to the procedure
198.22	in section 15A.0815, subdivision 5, in the same range as specified for the commissioner of
198.23	management and budget.
198.24	Subd. 2. Duties of the commissioner. (a) The commissioner may apply for and accept
198.25	on behalf of the state any grants, bequests, gifts, or contributions for the purpose of carrying
198.26	out the duties and responsibilities of the commissioner. Any money received under this
198.27	paragraph is appropriated and dedicated for the purpose for which the money is granted.
198.28	The commissioner must biennially report to the chairs and ranking minority members of
198.29	relevant legislative committees and divisions by January 15 of each even-numbered year a
198.30	list of all grants and gifts received under this subdivision.
198.31	(b) Pursuant to law, the commissioner may apply for and receive money made available
198.32	from federal sources for the purpose of carrying out the duties and responsibilities of the

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

199.1	(c) The commissioner may make contracts with and grants to Tribal hattons, public and
199.2	private agencies and organizations, both for-profit and nonprofit, and individuals using
199.3	appropriated money.
199.4	(d) The commissioner must develop program objectives and performance measures for
199.5	evaluating progress toward achieving the objectives. The commissioner must identify the
199.6	objectives, performance measures, and current status of achieving the measures in a biennial
199.7	report to the chairs and ranking minority members of relevant legislative committees and
199.8	divisions. The report is due no later than January 15 each even-numbered year. The report
199.9	must include, when possible, the following objectives:
199.10	(1) centering and including the experiences of children, youth, and families in all aspects
199.11	of the department's work;
199.12	(2) increasing the effectiveness of the department's programs in addressing the needs of
199.13	children and youth facing racial, economic, or geographic inequities;
199.14	(3) increasing coordination and reducing inefficiencies among the department's programs
199.15	and the funding sources that support the programs;
199.16	(4) increasing the alignment and coordination of family access to child care and early
199.17	learning programs and improving systems of support for early childhood and learning
199.18	providers and services;
199.19	(5) improving the connection between the department's programs and the kindergarten
199.20	through grade 12 system and the higher education system; and
199.21	(6) minimizing and streamlining the effort required of youth and families to receive
199.22	services to which the youth and families are entitled.
199.23	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective July 1, 2024.
199.24	Sec. 12. [143.04] STATE AND COUNTY SYSTEMS.
199.25	Subdivision 1. Establishment of systems. (a) The commissioner shall establish and
199.26	enhance computer systems necessary for the efficient operation of the programs the
199.27	commissioner supervises, including:
199.28	(1) management and administration of the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
199.29	(SNAP) and income maintenance program, including the electronic distribution of benefits;
199.30	<u>and</u>
199.31	(2) management and administration of the child support enforcement program.

200.1	(b) The commissioner's development costs incurred by computer systems for statewide
200.2	programs administered with that computer system and mandated by state or federal law
200.3	must not be assessed against county agencies. The commissioner may charge a county for
200.4	development and operating costs incurred by computer systems for functions requested by
200.5	the county and not mandated by state or federal law for programs administered by the
200.6	computer system incurring the cost.
200.7	(c) The commissioner shall distribute the nonfederal share of the costs of operating and
200.8	maintaining the systems to the commissioner and to the counties participating in the system
200.9	in a manner that reflects actual system usage, except that the nonfederal share of the costs
200.10	of the MAXIS computer system and child support enforcement systems for statewide
200.11	programs administered by those systems and mandated by state or federal law shall be borne
200.12	entirely by the commissioner.
200.13	(d) The commissioner may enter into contractual agreements with federally recognized
200.14	Indian Tribes with a reservation in Minnesota to participate in state-operated computer
200.15	systems related to the management and administration of the SNAP, income maintenance,
200.16	and child support enforcement programs to the extent necessary for the Tribe to operate a
200.17	federally approved family assistance program or any other program under the supervision
200.18	of the commissioner.
200.19	Subd. 2. State systems account created. A state systems account for the Department
200.20	of Children, Youth, and Families is created in the state treasury. Money collected by the
200.21	commissioner for the programs in subdivision 1 must be deposited in the account. Money
200.22	in the state systems account and federal matching money are appropriated to the
200.23	commissioner for purposes of this section.
200.24	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective July 1, 2024.
200.25	Sec. 13. [143.05] RULEMAKING.
200.26	(a) The commissioner may use the procedure in section 14.386, paragraph (a), to adopt
200.27	rules necessary to implement the responsibilities transferred under this act or through section
200.28	16B.37. Section 14.386, paragraph (b), does not apply to these rules.
200.29	(b) The commissioner must amend Minnesota Rules to make conforming changes related
200.30	to the transfer of responsibilities under this act or through section 16B.37. The commissioner
200.31	must obtain the approval of the commissioners of human services, education, health, and
200.32	public safety for any amendments to or repeal of rules in existence on the effective date of
200.33	this section and administered under the authority of those agencies.

201.1	(c) The time limit in section 14.125 is extended to 36 months for rulemaking under
201.2	paragraphs (a) and (b). The commissioner must publish a notice of intent to adopt rules or
201.3	a notice of hearing within 36 months of the effective date reported under section 143.05,
201.4	subdivision 1, paragraph (c).
201.5	(d) The commissioner may adopt rules for the administration of activities related to the
201.6	department. Rules adopted under this paragraph are subject to the rulemaking requirements
201.7	of chapter 14.
201.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
201.9	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.014, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
201.10	Subdivision 1. Establishment of systems. (a) The commissioner of human services
201.11	shall establish and enhance computer systems necessary for the efficient operation of the
201.12	medical assistance and other programs the commissioner supervises, including:
201.13	(1) management and administration of the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
201.14	(SNAP) and income maintenance program, including the electronic distribution of benefits;
201.15	(2) management and administration of the child support enforcement program; and
201.16	(3) administration of medical assistance.
201.17	(b) The commissioner's development costs incurred by computer systems for statewide
201.18	programs administered by that computer system and mandated by state or federal law must
201.19	not be assessed against county agencies. The commissioner may charge a county for
201.20	development and operating costs incurred by computer systems for functions requested by
201.21	the county and not mandated by state or federal law for programs administered by the
201.22	computer system incurring the cost.
201.23	(c) The commissioner shall distribute the nonfederal share of the costs of operating and
201.24	maintaining the systems to the commissioner and to the counties participating in the system
201.25	in a manner that reflects actual system usage, except that the nonfederal share of the costs
201.26	of the MAXIS computer system and child support enforcement systems for statewide
201.27	programs administered by those systems that system and mandated by state or federal law
201.28	shall be borne entirely by the commissioner.
201.29	The commissioner may enter into contractual agreements with federally recognized
201.30	Indian tribes with a reservation in Minnesota to participate in state-operated computer
201.31	systems related to the management and administration of the SNAP, income maintenance,
201.32	ehild support enforcement, and medical assistance programs program to the extent necessary

	03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1
202.1	for the tribe to operate a federally approx	<del>ved family</del> the medical as	ssistance progra	am or any
202.2	other program under the supervision of t	·	1 0	•
202.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is	s effective July 1, 2024.		
202.4	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, sect	ion 256.014, subdivision	2, is amended	to read:
202.5	Subd. 2. State systems account crea	ted. A state systems acc	ount for the De	partment
202.6	of Human Services is created in the state	treasury. Money collect	ed by the comm	nissioner
202.7	of human services for the programs in su	ıbdivision 1 must be dep	osited in the ac	count.
202.8	Money in the state systems account and	federal matching money	is appropriated	l to the
202.9	commissioner of human services for pur	poses of this section.		
202.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is	s effective July 1, 2024.		
202.11	Sec. 16. APPOINTMENT OF COM	MISSIONER OF CHIL	DREN, YOUT	ГН, AND
202.12	FAMILIES.			
202.13	The governor shall appoint a commis	ssioner-designee of the D	epartment of C	Children,
202.14	Youth, and Families. The person appoint	ed becomes the governo	r's appointee as	s the
202.15	commissioner of children, youth, and far	milies on July 1, 2024.		
202.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is	s effective July 1, 2023.		
202.17	Sec. 17. TRANSFERS FROM OTHI	ER AGENCIES.		
202.18	Subdivision 1. General. (a) Between	July 1, 2024, and July 1	, 2025, the Dep	partments
202.19	of Human Services, Education, Health, a	and Public Safety must tr	ansition all of t	<u>the</u>
202.20	responsibilities held by these department	ts and described in this se	ection to the De	epartment
202.21	of Children, Youth, and Families.			
202.22	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), an	ny programs identified in	paragraph (a) tl	hat require
202.23	federal approval to move to the Departm	ent of Children, Youth, a	and Families m	ust be
202.24	transferred on or after July 1, 2024, and	upon the federal governr	nent granting tr	ransfer
202.25	authority to the commissioner of children	n, youth, and families.		
202.26	(c) The commissioner of children, yo	outh, and families must re	eport an effectiv	ve date of

the transfer of each responsibility identified in this section to the commissioners of

administration, management and budget, and other relevant departments along with the

202.27

date is the effective date of transfer of responsibilities under Minnesota Statutes, section 203.1 203.2 15.039. 203.3 (d) The requirement in Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.37, subdivision 1, that a state agency must have been in existence for at least one year before being eligible for receiving 203.4 203.5 a transfer of personnel, powers, or duties does not apply to the Department of Children, 203.6 Youth, and Families. (e) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 15.039, subdivision 6, for the transfer 203.7 of responsibilities conducted under this chapter, the unexpended balance of any appropriation 203.8 to an agency for the purposes of any responsibilities that are transferred to the Department 203.9 of Children, Youth, and Families, along with the operational functions to support the 203.10 responsibilities transferred, including administrative, legal, information technology, and 203.11 personnel support, and a proportional share of base funding, are reappropriated under the 203.12 same conditions as the original appropriation to the Department of Children, Youth, and 203.13 Families effective on the date of the transfer of responsibilities and related elements. The 203.14 commissioner of management and budget shall identify and allocate any unexpended 203.15 appropriations and base funding. 203.16 (f) The commissioner of children, youth, and families or management and budget may 203.17 request an extension to transfer any responsibility listed in this section. The commissioner 203.18 of children, youth, and families or management and budget may request that the transfer of 203.19 any responsibility listed in this section be canceled if an effective date has not been reported 203.20 under paragraph (c). Any request under this paragraph must be made in writing to the 203.21 governor. Upon approval from the governor, the transfer may be delayed or canceled. Within 203.22 ten days after receiving the approval of the governor, the commissioner who requested the 203.23 transfer shall submit to the chairs and ranking minority members of relevant legislative 203.24 committees and divisions a notice of any extensions or cancellations granted under this 203.25 203.26 paragraph. (g) The commissioner of children, youth, and families must provide four successive 203.27 quarterly reports to relevant legislative committees on the status of transferring programs, 203.28 responsibilities, and personnel under this section. The first report must cover the quarter 203.29 203.30 starting July 1, 2024, and each report must be submitted by the 15th of the month following the quarter end. 203.31 Subd. 2. **Department of Human Services.** The powers and duties of the Department 203.32 of Human Services with respect to the following responsibilities and related elements are 203.33

204.1	transferred to the Department of Children, Youth, and Families according to Minnesota
204.2	Statutes, section 15.039:
204.3	(1) family services and community-based collaboratives under Minnesota Statutes,
204.4	section 124D.23;
204.5	(2) child care programs under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 119B;
204.6	(3) Parent Aware quality rating and improvement system under Minnesota Statutes,
204.7	section 124D.142;
204.8	(4) migrant child care services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256M.50;
204.9	(5) early childhood and school-age professional development training under Laws 2007,
204.10	chapter 147, article 2, section 56;
204.11	(6) licensure of family child care and child care centers, child foster care, and private
204.12	child placing agencies under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A;
204.13	(7) certification of license-exempt child care centers under Minnesota Statutes, chapter
204.14	<u>245H;</u>
204.15	(8) program integrity and fraud related to the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP),
204.16	the Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP), and the Supplemental Nutrition
204.17	Assistance Program (SNAP) under Minnesota Statutes, chapters 119B and 245E;
204.18	(9) SNAP under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256D.61 to 256D.63;
204.19	(10) electronic benefit transactions under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256.9862,
204.20	256.9863, 256.9865, 256.987, 256.9871, 256.9872, and 256J.77;
204.21	(11) Minnesota food assistance program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.64;
204.22	(12) Minnesota food shelf program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.34;
204.23	(13) MFIP and Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) under Minnesota
204.24	Statutes, sections 256.9864 and 256.9865 and chapters 256J and 256P;
204.25	(14) Diversionary Work Program (DWP) under Minnesota Statutes, section 256J.95;
204.26	(15) resettlement programs under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.06, subdivision 6;
204.27	(16) child abuse under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256E;
204.28	(17) reporting of the maltreatment of minors under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260E;
204.29	(18) children in voluntary foster care for treatment under Minnesota Statutes, chapter
204.30	<u>260D;</u>

- 205.1 (19) juvenile safety and placement under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260C;
- 205.2 (20) the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act under Minnesota Statutes, sections
- 205.3 260.751 to 260.835;
- 205.4 (21) the Interstate Compact for Juveniles under Minnesota Statutes, section 260.515 and
- 205.5 the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children under Minnesota Statutes, sections
- 205.6 <u>260.851 to 260.93;</u>
- 205.7 (22) adoption under Minnesota Statutes, sections 259.20 to 259.89;
- 205.8 (23) Northstar Care for Children under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256N;
- 205.9 (24) child support under Minnesota Statutes, chapters 13, 13B, 214, 256, 256J, 257, 259,
- 205.10 <u>518, 518A, 518C, 551, 552, 571, and 588 and section 609.375;</u>
- 205.11 (25) community action programs under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256E.30 to 256E.32;
- 205.12 and
- 205.13 (26) Family Assets for Independence in Minnesota under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 205.14 <u>256E.35.</u>
- Subd. 3. **Department of Education.** The powers and duties of the Department of
- 205.16 Education with respect to the following responsibilities and related elements are transferred
- 205.17 to the Department of Children, Youth, and Families according to Minnesota Statutes, section
- 205.18 15.039:
- 205.19 (1) Head Start Program and Early Head Start under Minnesota Statutes, sections 119A.50
- 205.20 to 119A.545;
- 205.21 (2) the early childhood screening program under Minnesota Statutes, sections 121A.16
- 205.22 to 121A.19;
- 205.23 (3) early learning scholarships under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.165;
- 205.24 (4) the interagency early childhood intervention system under Minnesota Statutes,
- 205.25 sections 125A.259 to 125A.48;
- 205.26 (5) voluntary prekindergarten programs and school readiness plus programs under
- 205.27 Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.151;
- 205.28 (6) early childhood family education programs under Minnesota Statutes, sections
- 205.29 124D.13 to 124D.135;
- 205.30 (7) school readiness under Minnesota Statutes, sections 124D.15 to 124D.16; and

206.1	(8) after-school community learning programs under Minnesota Statutes, section
206.2	<u>124D.2211.</u>
206.3	Subd. 4. Department of Public Safety. The powers and duties of the Department of
206.4	Public Safety with respect to the following responsibilities and related elements are
206.5	transferred to the Department of Children, Youth, and Families according to Minnesota
206.6	Statutes, section 15.039:
206.7	(1) the juvenile justice program under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.72; and
206.8	(2) grants-in-aid to youth intervention programs under Minnesota Statutes, section
206.9	<u>299A.73.</u>
206.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
206.11	Sec. 18. TRANSITION REPORT TO THE LEGISLATURE.
206.12	By March 1, 2024, the commissioner of management and budget must report to the
206.13	legislature on the status of work related to establishing and setting up the Department of
206.14	Children, Youth, and Families. The report must address, at a minimum:
206.15	(1) the completed, ongoing, and anticipated work related to the transfer of programs,
206.16	responsibilities, and personnel to the department;
206.17	(2) the development of interagency agreements for services that will be shared across
206.18	agencies;
206.19	(3) efforts to secure needed federal approvals for the transfer of programs and
206.20	responsibilities;
206.21	(4) regular engagement with leaders and staff of state agencies, county and Tribal
206.22	governments, and school districts about the creation of the department and the transfer of
206.23	programs, responsibilities, and personnel to the department;
206.24	(5) input from individuals impacted by the programs that are to be transferred to the
206.25	department and input from local services providers and other stakeholders about how to
206.26	improve services through the creation of the department; and
206.27	(6) plans and timelines related to the items referenced in clauses (1) to (5).
206.28	(b) The report must include recommendations for how to coordinate and partner with
206.29	county and Tribal governments, including through the use of a governing authority, such
206.30	as an intergovernmental advisory committee. The recommendations must be developed in
206.31	coordination with county and Tribal governments.

207.1	(c) The report must include input from stakeholders and recommendations for improving
207.2	service coordination and delivery for families with children who have disabilities, including
207.3	recommendations for coordinating services across state agencies in the areas of child
207.4	protection, early education, children's mental health, disability services, and other areas
207.5	relevant to families with children who have disabilities.
207.6	Can 10 DATA DDACTICES
207.6	Sec. 19. <u>DATA PRACTICES.</u>
207.7	(a) To the extent not prohibited by state or federal law, and notwithstanding the data's
207.8	classification under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13:
207.9	(1) the commissioner of children, youth, and families may access data maintained by
207.10	the commissioners of education, human services, and public safety related to the
207.11	responsibilities transferred under section 15; and
207.12	(2) the commissioners of education, human services, and public safety may access data
207.13	maintained by the commissioner of children, youth, and families related to each department's
207.14	respective responsibilities transferred under section 15.
207.15	(b) Data sharing authorized by this subdivision includes only the data necessary to
207.16	coordinate department activities and services transferred under section 15.
207.17	(c) Any data shared under this section retain the data's classification from the agency
207.18	holding the data.
207.19	(d) Existing limitations and legal requirements under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13,
207.19	including but not limited to any applicable data subject to consent requirements, apply to
207.20	any data accessed, transferred, disseminated, or shared under this section.
207.21	
207.22	(e) This section expires July 1, 2027.
207.23	Sec. 20. MODERNIZING INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY FOR PROGRAMS
207.23	IMPACTING CHILDREN AND FAMILIES.
207.24	IMIACTING CHIEDREN AND PAMILIES.
207.25	(a) The commissioner of information technology services shall develop and implement,
207.26	to the extent that there is funding available in the children and families information
207.27	technology account in the special revenue fund, a plan to transform and modernize the
207.28	information technology systems that support the programs impacting children and families,
207.29	including youth programs and child care and early learning programs, currently administered
207.30	by the Departments of Education and Human Services and other departments with programs
207.31	impacting children and families as identified by the Children's Cabinet. The commissioner
207.32	may contract for the services contained in this section.

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1
-------------------	----------------	-------	----------

208.1	(b) The plan must support the goal of creating new or modernizing existing information
208.2	technology systems for child- and family-focused programs that collect, analyze, share, and
208.3	report data on program participation and service coordination, and school readiness, early
208.4	screening, and other childhood indicators. The plan must include strategies to:
208.5	(1) minimize the time and effort needed for families to apply for, enroll in, and maintain
208.6	enrollment in programs;
208.7	(2) minimize the time and effort needed for providers to administer programs;
208.8	(3) improve coordination among programs for families;
208.9	(4) assess the impact of childhood programs on children's outcomes, including school
208.10	readiness and educational outcomes; and
208.11	(5) monitor and collect nonbiometric attendance data at child care centers licensed under
208.12	Minnesota Rules, part 9503, through a combination of state-provided technology and
208.13	integration with private child care management systems.
208.14	(c) In developing and implementing the plan required under this section, the contractor
208.15	must consult with the commissioners of education and human services and other departments
208.16	with programs impacting children and families as identified by the Children's Cabinet and
208.17	other stakeholders.
208.18	(d) By February 1 of each year, the commissioner must provide a report to the committees
208.19	of the legislature with jurisdiction over impacted programs on the status of the use of funds,
208.20	plan development, and strategy implementation.
208.21	Sec. 21. <u>DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; CHILD</u>
208.22	CARE AND EARLY EDUCATION PROFESSIONAL WAGE SCALE.
208.23	(a) The commissioner of human services shall develop, in consultation with the
208.24	commissioner of employment and economic development, the commissioner of education,
208.25	the Children's Cabinet, and relevant stakeholders, a process for recognizing comparable
208.26	competencies for use in a wage scale and a child care and early education professional wage
208.27	scale that:
208.28	(1) builds on the wage scale recommendations made by the Great Start for All Minnesota
208.29	Children Task Force under Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 14;
208.30	(2) provides recommended wages that are equivalent to elementary school educators
208.31	with similar credentials and experience;

209.1	(3) provides recommended levels of compensation and benefits, such as professional
209.2	development stipends, health care benefits, and retirement benefits, that vary based on child
209.3	care and early education professional roles and qualifications, and other criteria established
209.4	by the commissioner;
209.5	(4) incorporates, to the extent feasible, qualifications inclusive of competencies attained
209.6	through experience, training, and educational attainment; and
209.7	(5) is applicable to the following types of child care and early education programs:
209.8	(i) licensed family and group family child care under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502;
209.9	(ii) licensed child care centers under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503;
209.10	(iii) certified, license-exempt child care centers under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245H;
209.11	(iv) voluntary prekindergarten and school readiness plus programs;
209.12	(v) school readiness programs;
209.13	(vi) early childhood family education programs;
209.14	(vii) programs for children who are eligible for Part B or Part C of the Individuals with
209.15	Disabilities Education Act (Public Law 108-446); and
209.16	(viii) Head Start programs.
209.17	(b) By January 30, 2025, the commissioner shall report to the legislative committees
209.18	with jurisdiction over early childhood programs on the development of the wage scale, make
209.19	recommendations for implementing a process for recognizing comparable competencies,
209.20	and make recommendations about how the wage scale could be used to inform payment
209.21	rates for child care assistance under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 119B, and great start
209.22	scholarships under Minnesota Statutes, section 119C.01.
209.23	Sec. 22. <u>DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; COST</u>
209.24	ESTIMATION MODEL FOR EARLY CARE AND LEARNING PROGRAMS.
209.25	(a) The commissioner of human services shall develop a cost estimation model for
209.26	providing early care and learning in the state. In developing the model, the commissioner
209.27	shall consult with relevant entities and stakeholders, including but not limited to the State
209.28	Advisory Council on Early Childhood Education and Care under Minnesota Statutes, section
209.29	124D.141; county administrators; child care resource and referral organizations under
209.30	Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.19, subdivision 1; and organizations representing
209.31	caregivers, teachers, and directors.

210.1	(b) The commissioner shall contract with an organization with experience and expertise
210.2	in early care and learning cost estimation modeling to conduct the work outlined in this
210.3	section. If practicable, the commissioner shall contract with First Children's Finance.
210.4	(c) The commissioner shall ensure that the model can estimate variation in the cost of
210.5	early care and learning by:
210.6	(1) quality of care;
210.7	(2) geographic area;
210.8	(3) type of child care provider and associated licensing standards;
210.9	(4) age of child;
210.10	(5) whether the early care and learning is inclusive, caring for children with disabilities
210.11	alongside children without disabilities;
210.12	(6) provider and staff compensation, including benefits such as professional development
210.13	stipends, health care benefits, and retirement benefits;
210.14	(7) a provider's fixed costs, including rent and mortgage payments, property taxes, and
210.15	business-related insurance payments;
210.16	(8) a provider's operating expenses, including expenses for training and substitutes; and
210.17	(9) a provider's hours of operation.
210.18	(d) By January 30, 2025, the commissioner shall report to the legislative committees
210.19	with jurisdiction over early childhood programs on the development of the cost estimation
210.20	model. The report shall include:
210.21	(1) recommendations for how the model could be used in conjunction with a child care
210.22	and early education professional wage scale to set provider payment rates for child care
210.23	assistance under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 119B, and great start scholarships under
210.24	Minnesota Statutes, section 119C.01; and
210.25	(2) a plan to seek federal approval to use the model for provider payment rates for child
210.26	care assistance.
210.27	Sec. 23. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.
210.28	The revisor of statutes must identify, in consultation with the commissioners of
210.29	management and budget; human services; education; health; and public safety and with
210.30	nonpartisan legislative offices, any changes to Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules
210.31	necessary to facilitate the transfer of responsibilities under this act, the authority to fulfill

211.1	the responsibilities under this act, and the related operational functions needed to implement
211.2	the necessary legal changes and responsibilities under this act. By February 1, 2024, the
211.3	revisor of statutes must submit to the chairs and ranking minority members of relevant
211.4	legislative committees and divisions draft legislation with the statutory changes necessary
211.5	to implement this act.
211.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.
211.7	ARTICLE 8
211.8	HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES APPROPRIATIONS
211.9	Section 1. HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES APPROPRIATIONS.
211.10	The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies
211.11	and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,
211.12	or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.
211.13	The figures "2024" and "2025" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under
211.14	them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, or June 30, 2025, respectively.
211.15	"The first year" is fiscal year 2024. "The second year" is fiscal year 2025. "The biennium"
211.16	is fiscal years 2024 and 2025.
211.17	APPROPRIATIONS
211.17 211.18	APPROPRIATIONS  Available for the Year
211.18	Available for the Year
211.18 211.19 211.20	Available for the Year  Ending June 30  2024  2025
211.18 211.19	Available for the Year  Ending June 30
211.18 211.19 211.20 211.21	Available for the Year  Ending June 30  2024  2025  Sec. 2. COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN
211.18 211.19 211.20 211.21 211.22	Available for the Year  Ending June 30  2024  2025  Sec. 2. COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES
211.18 211.19 211.20 211.21 211.22 211.23	Available for the Year     Ending June 30     2024   2025     Sec. 2. COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN     SERVICES     Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation   \$ 1,119,204,000 \$ 1,126,151,000
211.18 211.19 211.20 211.21 211.22 211.23 211.24	Available for the Year  Ending June 30  2024 2025  Sec. 2. COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES  Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation  Appropriations by Fund
211.18 211.19 211.20 211.21 211.22 211.23 211.24 211.25	Available for the Year   Ending June 30   2024   2025
211.18 211.19 211.20 211.21 211.22 211.23 211.24 211.25 211.26	Available for the Year   Ending June 30   2024   2025
211.18 211.19 211.20 211.21 211.22 211.23 211.24 211.25 211.26 211.27	Available for the Year   Ending June 30   2024   2025
211.18 211.19 211.20 211.21 211.22 211.23 211.24 211.25 211.26 211.27 211.28	Available for the Year   Ending Jun 30   2024   2025

HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H0238DE1

03/26/23 06:43 pm

212.1	(a) Nonfederal Expenditures. The
212.2	commissioner shall ensure that sufficient
212.3	qualified nonfederal expenditures are made
212.4	each year to meet the state's maintenance of
212.5	effort requirements of the TANF block grant
212.6	specified under Code of Federal Regulations,
212.7	title 45, section 263.1. In order to meet these
212.8	basic TANF maintenance of effort
212.9	requirements, the commissioner may report
212.10	as TANF maintenance of effort expenditures
212.11	only nonfederal money expended for allowable
212.12	activities listed in the following clauses:
212.13	(1) MFIP cash, diversionary work program,
212.14	and food assistance benefits under Minnesota
212.15	Statutes, chapter 256J;
212.16	(2) the child care assistance programs under
212.17	Minnesota Statutes, sections 119B.03 and
212.18	119B.05, and county child care administrative
212.19	costs under Minnesota Statutes, section
212.20	<u>119B.15;</u>
212.21	(3) state and county MFIP administrative costs
212.22	under Minnesota Statutes, chapters 256J and
212.23	<u>256K;</u>
212.24	(4) state, county, and Tribal MFIP
212.25	employment services under Minnesota
212.26	Statutes, chapters 256J and 256K;
212.27	(5) expenditures made on behalf of legal
212.28	noncitizen MFIP recipients who qualify for
212.29	the MinnesotaCare program under Minnesota
212.30	Statutes, chapter 256L;
212.31	(6) qualifying working family credit
212.32	expenditures under Minnesota Statutes, section
212.33	<u>290.0671;</u>

213.1	(7) qualifying Minnesota education credit
213.2	expenditures under Minnesota Statutes, section
213.3	290.0674; and
213.4	(8) qualifying Head Start expenditures under
213.5	Minnesota Statutes, section 119A.50.
213.6	(b) Nonfederal Expenditures; Reporting.
213.7	For the activities listed in paragraph (a),
213.8	clauses (2) to (8), the commissioner may
213.9	report only expenditures that are excluded
213.10	from the definition of assistance under Code
213.11	of Federal Regulations, title 45, section
213.12	<u>260.31.</u>
213.13	(c) Limitations; Exceptions. The
213.14	commissioner must not claim an amount of
213.15	TANF maintenance of effort in excess of the
213.16	75 percent standard in Code of Federal
213.17	Regulations, title 45, section 263.1(a)(2),
213.18	except:
213.19	(1) to the extent necessary to meet the 80
213.20	percent standard under Code of Federal
213.21	Regulations, title 45, section 263.1(a)(1), if it
213.22	is determined by the commissioner that the
213.23	state will not meet the TANF work
213.24	participation target rate for the current year;
213.25	(2) to provide any additional amounts under
213.26	Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section
213.27	264.5, that relate to replacement of TANF
213.28	funds due to the operation of TANF penalties;
213.29	and
213.30	(3) to provide any additional amounts that may
213.31	contribute to avoiding or reducing TANF work
213.32	participation penalties through the operation
213.33	of the excess maintenance of effort provisions

214.1	of Code of Federal Regulations, title 45,
214.2	section 261.43(a)(2).
214.3	(d) Supplemental Expenditures. For the
214.4	purposes of paragraph (c), the commissioner
214.5	may supplement the maintenance of effort
214.6	claim with working family credit expenditures
214.7	or other qualified expenditures to the extent
214.8	such expenditures are otherwise available after
214.9	considering the expenditures allowed in this
214.10	subdivision.
214.11	(e) Reduction of Appropriations; Exception.
214.12	The requirement in Minnesota Statutes, section
214.13	256.011, subdivision 3, that federal grants or
214.14	aids secured or obtained under that subdivision
214.15	be used to reduce any direct appropriations
214.16	provided by law does not apply if the grants
214.17	or aids are federal TANF funds.
214.18	(f) IT Appropriations Generally. This
214.19	appropriation includes funds for information
214.20	technology projects, services, and support.
214.21	Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section
214.22	16E.0466, funding for information technology
214.23	project costs must be incorporated into the
214.24	service level agreement and paid to the
214.25	Minnesota IT Services by the Department of
214.26	Human Services under the rates and
214.27	mechanism specified in that agreement.
214.28	(g) Receipts for Systems Project.
214.29	Appropriations and federal receipts for
214.30	information technology systems projects for
214.31	MAXIS, PRISM, MMIS, ISDS, METS, and
214.32	SSIS must be deposited in the state systems
214.33	account authorized in Minnesota Statutes,
214.34	section 256.014. Money appropriated for
214.35	information technology projects approved by

215.1	the commissioner of the Minnesota IT
215.2	Services funded by the legislature and
215.3	approved by the commissioner of management
215.4	and budget may be transferred from one
215.5	project to another and from development to
215.6	operations as the commissioner of human
215.7	services considers necessary. Any unexpended
215.8	balance in the appropriation for these projects
215.9	does not cancel and is available for ongoing
215.10	development and operations.
215.11	(h) Federal SNAP Education and Training
215.12	Grants. Federal funds available during fiscal
215.13	years 2024 and 2025 for Supplemental
215.14	Nutrition Assistance Program Education and
215.15	Training and SNAP Quality Control
215.16	Performance Bonus grants are appropriated
215.17	to the commissioner of human services for the
215.18	purposes allowable under the terms of the
215.19	federal award. This paragraph is effective the
215.20	day following final enactment.
215.21	Subd. 3. Central Office; Operations
215.22	Appropriations by Fund
215.23	<u>General</u> <u>24,529,000</u> <u>18,214,000</u>
215.24	Subd. 4. Central Office; Children and Families
215.25	Appropriations by Fund
215.26	General 25,864,000 24,244,000
215.27	(a) Review of Child Support Guidelines.
215.28	\$64,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$32,000 in
215.29	fiscal year 2025 are for transfer to the special
215.30	revenue fund for a quadrennial review of child
215.31	support guidelines.
215.32	(b) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund
215.33	base for this appropriation is \$23,316,000 in

216.1	fiscal year 2026 and \$22,145,000 in fisc	al year		
216.2	<u>2027.</u>			
216.3	Subd. 5. Central Office; Community Supports			
216.4	Appropriations by Fund			
216.5	<u>General</u> <u>265,000</u>	306,000		
216.6	Base Level Adjustment. The general fund			
216.7	base for this appropriation is \$306,000 in fiscal			
216.8	year 2026 and \$306,000 in fiscal year 2027.			
216.9	Subd. 6. Forecasted Programs; MFIP/DWP			
216.10	Appropriations by Fund			
216.11	<u>General</u> <u>82,634,000</u>	89,108,000		
216.12	<u>Federal TANF</u> <u>105,579,000</u>	110,717,000		
216.13	Subd. 7. Forecasted Programs; MFIP	Child Care		
216.14	<u>Assistance</u>		38,892,000	146,030,000
216.15 216.16	Subd. 8. Forecasted Programs; Gene Assistance	<u>ral</u>	<u>0</u>	270,000
216.17 216.18	Subd. 9. Forecasted Programs; Minn Supplemental Assistance	<u>iesota</u>	1,000	1,000
216.19 216.20	Subd. 10. Forecasted Programs; House	ısing	6,000	6,000
216.21 216.22	Subd. 11. Forecasted Programs; Nort for Children	hstar Care	113,912,000	124,546,000
216.23 216.24	Subd. 12. Grant Programs; Support Grants	<u>Services</u>		
216.25	Appropriations by Fund			
216.26	<u>General</u> <u>8,715,000</u>	8,715,000		
216.27	<u>Federal TANF</u> <u>96,311,000</u>	96,311,000		
216.28 216.29	Subd. 13. Grant Programs; BSF Chi Grants	ld Care	69,703,000	118,801,000
216.30	The general fund base is \$149,337,000 in			
216.31	fiscal year 2026 and \$146,802,000 in fiscal			
216.32	<u>year 2027.</u>			

HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV

H0238DE1

03/26/23 06:43 pm

217.1 217.2	Subd. 14. Grant Programs; Child Care  Development Grants	123,417,000	128,987,000
217.3	(a) Child Care Retention Program.		
217.4	\$73,830,000 in fiscal year 2024 and		
217.5	\$119,530,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for the		
217.6	child care retention program payments under		
217.7	Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.27. The		
217.8	general fund base for this appropriation is		
217.9	\$63,387,000 in fiscal year 2026 and		
217.10	\$64,405,000 in fiscal year 2027. Funds		
217.11	appropriated for this purpose in each fiscal		
217.12	year are available until expended.		
217.13	(b) Transition Grant Program. \$46,550,000		
217.14	in fiscal year 2024 is for transition grants for		
217.15	child care providers that intend to participate		
217.16	in the child care retention program. This is a		
217.17	onetime appropriation and is available until		
217.18	June 30, 2025.		
217.19	(c) Cost Estimation Model and Wage Scale.		
217.20	\$500,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for developing		
217.21	a cost estimation model for providing early		
217.22	care and learning and a child care and early		
217.23	education professional wage scale. This is a		
217.24	onetime appropriation and is available until		
217.25	June 30, 2025.		
217.26	(d) Additional Support for Parent Aware.		
217.27	\$500,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$500,000 in		
217.28	fiscal year 2025 are for increasing supports		
217.29	for programs participating in Parent Aware		
217.30	under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.142.		
217.31	(e) Family, Friend, and Neighbor Grant		
217.32	<b>Program.</b> \$3,500,000 in fiscal year 2025 is		
217.33	for the family, friend, and neighbor grant		
217.34	program under Minnesota Statutes, section		
217.35	119B.196.		

HOUSE RESEARCH

AM/BV

H0238DE1

03/26/23 06:43 pm

	03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1
218.1	(f) Diaper Distribution Grant. \$500,00	00 in		
218.2	fiscal year 2024 and \$500,000 in fiscal y	year_		
218.3	2025 are for a grant to Diaper Bank of			
218.4	Minnesota to distribute diapers and wipe	es to		
218.5	underresourced families statewide.			
218.6	(g) One-Stop Assistance Network.			
218.7	\$2,920,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for			
218.8	administering the child care one-stop reg	<u>ional</u>		
218.9	assistance network under Minnesota Stat	tutes,		
218.10	section 119B.19, subdivision 7, clause (	9).		
218.11	(h) Shared Services Grants. \$500,000	<u>in</u>		
218.12	fiscal year 2024 and \$500,000 in fiscal y	year		
218.13	2025 are for shared services grants unde	<u>er</u>		
218.14	Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.28.			
218.15	(i) Child Care Technology Grants. \$300	0,000		
218.16	in fiscal year 2024 and \$300,000 in fiscal year			
218.17	2025 are for grants or other supports to child			
218.18	care providers for technology infrastruct	ture		
218.19	under Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.	<u>29.</u>		
218.20	(j) Base Level Adjustment. The general	fund		
218.21	base is \$77,575,000 in fiscal year 2026 a	<u>and</u>		
218.22	\$78,594,000 in fiscal year 2027.			
218.23	Subd. 15. Grant Programs; Child Sup	port		
218.24	<b>Enforcement Grants</b>		50,000	50,000
218.25 218.26	Subd. 16. Grant Programs; Children's Grants	s Services		
218.27	Appropriations by Fund			
218.28	<u>General</u> <u>83,554,000</u>	96,948,000		
218.29	Federal TANF 140,000	140,000		
218.30	(a) Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe Americ	<u>can</u>		
218.31	<b>Indian Child Welfare Initiative.</b> \$3,337	7,000		
218.32	in fiscal year 2024 and \$5,294,000 in fis	<u>scal</u>		
218.33	year 2025 are to support activities neces	sary		
218.34	for the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe to joi	n the		

219.1	American Indian child welfare initiative. The
219.2	general fund base for this appropriation is
219.3	\$7,893,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$7,893,000
219.4	in fiscal year 2027.
219.5	(b) Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe American
219.6	$\underline{\textbf{Indian Child Welfare Initiative.}} \$1,\!848,\!000$
219.7	in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,848,000 in fiscal
219.8	year 2025 are for the Leech Lake Band of
219.9	Ojibwe to participate in the American Indian
219.10	child welfare initiative.
219.11	(c) Red Lake Band of Chippewa American
219.12	$\underline{\textbf{Indian Child Welfare Initiative.}} \$3,\!000,\!000$
219.13	in fiscal year 2024 and \$3,000,000 in fiscal
219.14	year 2025 are for the Red Lake Band of
219.15	Chippewa to participate in the American
219.16	Indian child welfare initiative.
219.17	(d) Staffing Increase for Tribal Nations.
219.18	\$800,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$800,000 in
219.19	fiscal year 2025 are for Tribal nations to
219.20	expand staff capacity to provide child welfare
219.21	services.
219.22	(e) Indian Child Welfare Grants. \$4,405,000
219.23	in fiscal year 2024 and \$4,405,000 in fiscal
219.24	year 2025 are for Indian child welfare grants.
219.25	The general fund base for this appropriation
219.26	is \$4,640,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
219.27	\$4,640,000 in fiscal year 2027.
219.28	(f) Child Welfare Staff Allocation for
219.29	<b>Tribes.</b> \$480,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
219.30	\$480,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for staffing
219.31	needs for Tribes that have not joined the
219.32	American Indian Child welfare initiative under
219.33	Minnesota Statutes, section 256.01,
219.34	subdivision 14b.

Article 8 Sec. 2.

220.1	(g) Kinship Navigator Services. \$514,000 in
220.2	fiscal year 2024 and \$514,000 in fiscal year
220.3	2025 are for kinship navigator services. The
220.4	general fund base for this appropriation is
220.5	\$500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$500,000 in
220.6	fiscal year 2027.
220.7	(h) Kinship Navigator Services for Tribes.
220.8	\$250,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$250,000 in
220.9	fiscal year 2025 are for grants to Tribal nations
220.10	for kinship navigator services.
220.11	(i) Family Assessment Response. \$6,100,000
220.12	in fiscal year 2024 and \$9,800,000 in fiscal
220.13	year 2025 are for Family First Prevention and
220.14	Early Intervention Grants pursuant to
220.15	Minnesota Statutes, section 260.014.
220.16	(j) Grants for Prevention and Early
220.17	Intervention Services. \$3,000,000 in fiscal
220.18	year 2024 and \$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2025
220.19	are for grants to support prevention and early
220.20	intervention services to implement and build
220.21	upon Minnesota's Family First Prevention
220.22	Services Act Title IV-E Prevention Services
220.23	plan under Minnesota Statutes, section
220.24	<u>260.014.</u>
220.25	$\underline{(k)}  \textbf{Assessment of Out-of-Home Placement.}$
220.26	\$450,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$450,000 in
220.27	fiscal year 2025 are for grants to one or more
220.28	grantees to establish and manage a pool of
220.29	state-funded qualified individuals to assess
220.30	potential out-of-home placement of a child in
220.31	a qualified residential treatment program.
220.32	(l) STAY in the Community Grants.
220.33	\$1,958,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$2,095,000
220.34	in fiscal year 2025 are for the STAY in the

221.1	community program under Minnesota Statutes,
221.2	section 260C.452. This appropriation is
221.3	available until June 30, 2025.
221.4	(m) Support Beyond 21 Program. \$600,000
221.5	in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,200,000 in fiscal
221.6	year 2025 are for the support beyond 21
221.7	program under Minnesota Statutes, section
221.8	256.4792. This appropriation is available until
221.9	June 30, 2025. The general fund base for this
221.10	appropriation is \$1,200,000 in fiscal year 2026
221.11	and \$1,200,000 in fiscal year 2027.
221.12	(n) Grants for Caseload Reduction.
221.13	\$3,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$3,000,000
221.14	in fiscal year 2025 are for grants to counties
221.15	and American Indian child welfare initiative
221.16	Tribes for reducing extended foster care
221.17	caseload sizes. This appropriation is available
221.18	<u>until June 30, 2025.</u>
221.19	(o) Grants for Community Resource
221.20	Centers. \$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for
221.21	community resource centers, under Minnesota
221.22	Statutes, section 260C.30.
221.23	(p) Informal Kinship Care Support Grants.
221.24	\$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,000,000
221.25	in fiscal year 2025 are for informal kinship
221.26	care support grants under Minnesota Statutes,
221.27	section 256N.265. This is a onetime
221.28	appropriation.
221.29	(q) Family Assets for Independence in
221.30	Minnesota. \$1,250,000 in fiscal year 2024
221.31	and \$2,500,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for the
221.32	family assets for independence in Minnesota
221.33	program. The general fund base for this

	03/20/23 00. <del>1</del> 3 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	Alvi/D v	110236DE1
222.1	appropriation is \$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2	2026		
222.2	and \$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2027.			
222.3	(r) Base Level Adjustment. The general	fund		
222.4	base is \$98,768,000 in fiscal year 2026 a	nd		
222.5	\$98,768,000 in fiscal year 2027.			
222.6 222.7	Subd. 17. Grant Programs; Children a Community Service Grants		0,856,000	60,856,000
222.8 222.9	Subd. 18. Grant Programs; Children a  Economic Support Grants		5,240,000	85,490,000
222.10	(a) Fraud Prevention Program Grants	<u>.</u>		
222.11	\$400,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for start-u	<u>ıp</u>		
222.12	grants to the Red Lake Nation, White Ea	<u>rth</u>		
222.13	Nation, and Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe t	<u>co</u>		
222.14	develop a fraud prevention program. Thi	s is		
222.15	a onetime appropriation and is available	<u>until</u>		
222.16	<u>June 30, 2025.</u>			
222.17	(b) Emergency Services Program Gran	<u>its.</u>		
222.18	\$20,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and			
222.19	\$20,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for			
222.20	emergency services grants under Minnes	<u>ota</u>		
222.21	Statutes, section 256E.36. Grant allocation	<u>on</u>		
222.22	balances in the first year do not cancel bu	t are		
222.23	available in the second year of the bienni	um.		
222.24	The general fund base for this appropriat	<u>ion</u>		
222.25	is \$35,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and			
222.26	\$35,000,000 in fiscal year 2027.			
222.27	(c) Homeless Youth Act Grants. \$14,500	,000		
222.28	in fiscal year 2024 and \$12,500,000 in fi	<u>scal</u>		
222.29	year 2025 are for grants under Minnesota	<u>1</u>		
222.30	Statutes, section 256K.45, subdivision 1.	This		
222.31	appropriation is available until June 30, 2	027.		
222.32	The general fund base for this appropriat	ion		
222.33	is \$20,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and			
222.34	\$20,000,000 in fiscal year 2027.			

HOUSE RESEARCH

AM/BV

H0238DE1

03/26/23 06:43 pm

223.1	(d) Transitional Housing Programs.
223.2	\$3,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$3,000,000
223.3	in fiscal year 2025 are for transitional housing
223.4	programs under Minnesota Statutes, section
223.5	<u>256E.33.</u>
223.6	(e) Safe Harbor Shelter and Housing
223.7	Grants. \$3,250,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
223.8	\$3,250,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for grants
223.9	under Minnesota Statutes, section 256K.47.
223.10	(f) Emergency Shelter Facilities.
223.11	\$150,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for grants
223.12	to eligible applicants for the acquisition of
223.13	property; site preparation, including demotion;
223.14	predesign; design; construction; renovation;
223.15	furnishing; and equipping of emergency
223.16	shelter facilities. This is a onetime
223.17	appropriation.
223.18	(g) Homeless Youth Pilot Project.
223.19	\$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,000,000
223.20	in fiscal year 2025 are for a grant to
223.21	Youthprise for a pilot project to provide cash
223.22	Townspire for a prior project to provide cush
_	stipends to homeless youth, youth-designed
223.23	
	stipends to homeless youth, youth-designed
223.23	stipends to homeless youth, youth-designed optional services, cash incentives for
223.23 223.24	stipends to homeless youth, youth-designed optional services, cash incentives for participation in periodic surveys, and to
223.23 223.24 223.25	stipends to homeless youth, youth-designed optional services, cash incentives for participation in periodic surveys, and to complete a legislative report.
<ul><li>223.23</li><li>223.24</li><li>223.25</li><li>223.26</li></ul>	stipends to homeless youth, youth-designed optional services, cash incentives for participation in periodic surveys, and to complete a legislative report.  (h) Quality Parenting Initiative. \$100,000
223.23 223.24 223.25 223.26 223.27	stipends to homeless youth, youth-designed optional services, cash incentives for participation in periodic surveys, and to complete a legislative report.  (h) Quality Parenting Initiative. \$100,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$100,000 in fiscal year
223.23 223.24 223.25 223.26 223.27 223.28	stipends to homeless youth, youth-designed optional services, cash incentives for participation in periodic surveys, and to complete a legislative report.  (h) Quality Parenting Initiative. \$100,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$100,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for a grant to Quality Parenting
223.23 223.24 223.25 223.26 223.27 223.28 223.29	stipends to homeless youth, youth-designed optional services, cash incentives for participation in periodic surveys, and to complete a legislative report.  (h) Quality Parenting Initiative. \$100,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$100,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for a grant to Quality Parenting Initiative Minnesota, to implement quality
223.23 223.24 223.25 223.26 223.27 223.28 223.29 223.30	stipends to homeless youth, youth-designed optional services, cash incentives for participation in periodic surveys, and to complete a legislative report.  (h) Quality Parenting Initiative. \$100,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$100,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for a grant to Quality Parenting Initiative Minnesota, to implement quality parenting initiative principles and practices
223.23 223.24 223.25 223.26 223.27 223.28 223.29 223.30 223.31	stipends to homeless youth, youth-designed optional services, cash incentives for participation in periodic surveys, and to complete a legislative report.  (h) Quality Parenting Initiative. \$100,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$100,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for a grant to Quality Parenting Initiative Minnesota, to implement quality parenting initiative principles and practices and support children and families experiencing

	03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARC	CH AM/BV	H0238DE1
224.1	in fiscal year 2025 are for grants to supp	oort		
224.2	food security among Tribal Nations and			
224.3	American Indian communities under			
224.4	Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.341. 7	This		
224.5	appropriation is available until June 30, 2	2025.		
224.6	The general fund base for this appropria	tion		
224.7	is \$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and			
224.8	\$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2027.			
224.9	(j) <b>Food Support Grants.</b> \$6,000,000 in	<u>fiscal</u>		
224.10	year 2024 and \$6,000,000 in fiscal year	2025		
224.11	are for the Minnesota food shelf program	<u>n</u>		
224.12	under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E	.34.		
224.13	This appropriation is available until Jun	<u>e 30,</u>		
224.14	<u>2025.</u>			
224.15	(k) Capital for Emergency Food			
224.16	<b>Distribution Facilities.</b> \$10,000,000 in	fiscal		
224.17	year 2024 is for improving and expanding	ig the		
224.18	infrastructure of food shelf facilities acr	oss		
224.19	the state. Grant money shall be made avai	<u>ilable</u>		
224.20	to nonprofit organizations, federally			
224.21	recognized Tribes, and local units of			
224.22	government. This is a onetime appropria	ation		
224.23	and is available until June 30, 2027.			
224.24	(l) Community Action Grants. \$1,000	,000		
224.25	in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,000,000 in fis	scal		
224.26	year 2025 are for community action gra	nts.		
224.27	(m) Base Level Adjustment. The general	fund		
224.28	base is \$109,490,000 in fiscal year 2026	and		
224.29	\$109,490,000 in fiscal year 2027.			
224.30	Sec. 3. COMMISSIONER OF HEALT	<u>rh</u> §	2,000,000 \$	2,000,000
224.31	Health Improvement. \$2,000,000 in fi	scal		
224.32	year 2024 and \$2,000,000 in fiscal year	2025		

Article 8 Sec. 3.

224.33 are for regional navigators in the Safe Harbor

225.1 225.2	Sec. 4. COMMISSIONER OF MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET	<u> </u>	11,931,000	<u>\$</u> 2,066,000
225.3	<b>Support for New Department.</b> \$11,931,000			
225.4	in fiscal year 2024 and \$2,066,000 in fiscal			
225.5	year 2025 are for supporting the creation of			
225.6	the Department of Children, Youth, and			
225.7	Families. This is a onetime appropriation.			
225.8 225.9	Sec. 5. COMMISSIONER OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY	<u>\$</u>	25,000,000	<u>s</u> <u>o</u>
225.10	IT Systems Improvement. \$25,000,000 in			
225.11	fiscal year 2024 is for transfer to the children			
225.12	and families account in the special revenue			
225.13	fund to develop and implement a plan to			
225.14	modernize the IT systems that support			
225.15	programs for children and families. This is a			
225.16	onetime appropriation and does not cancel.			
225.17 225.18	Sec. 6. <u>COMMISSIONER OF CHILDREN,</u> <u>YOUTH, AND FAMILIES.</u>	<u>\$</u>	823,000	<u>\$</u> 3,531,000
225.19	Operations. \$823,000 in fiscal year 2024 and			
225.20	\$3,521,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for the			
225.21	Department of Children, Youth, and Families.			
225.22 225.23	Sec. 7. OMBUDSPERSON FOR AMERICAN INDIAN FAMILIES	<u>\$</u>	336,000	<u>\$ 340,000</u>
225.24	Sec. 8. OMBUDSPERSON FOR FAMILIES	<u>\$</u>	759,000	<u>776,000</u>
225.25 225.26	Sec. 9. OMBUDSPERSON FOR FOSTER YOUTH	<u>\$</u>	842,000	<u>\$ 759,000</u>
225.27	Sec. 10. CHILDREN AND FAMILIES INFO	RMAT	ION TECHN	OLOGY
225.28	ACCOUNT.			
225.29	The children and families information technol	ogy acc	ount is created	d in the special
225.30	revenue fund. Money in the account is appropriat	ed to the	e commission	er of information
225.31	technology services for developing and implement	ting a pl	an in support o	of transforming and
225.32	modernizing the information technology systems	that sup	port programs	impacting children
225.33	and families, including programs for youth, child	care an	d early learnin	ng programs, and
225.34	programs serving young children.			

HOUSE RESEARCH

AM/BV

H0238DE1

03/26/23 06:43 pm

Sec. 11. <u>CANCELLATIONS</u>; FISCAL YEAR 2023.

\$100,000 of the fiscal year 2023 general fund appropriation under Laws 2022, chapter

226.3 63, section 6, is canceled to the general fund on June 30, 2023.

- 226.4 Sec. 12. APPROPRIATIONS GIVEN EFFECT ONCE.
- 226.5 <u>If an appropriation or transfer in this article is enacted more than once during the 2023</u>
- regular session, the appropriation or transfer must be given effect once.

226.7 **ARTICLE 9** 

226.8 EDUCATION

- Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS; DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION.
- 226.10 Subdivision 1. Department of Education. The sums indicated in this section are
- 226.11 appropriated from the general fund to the Department of Education for the fiscal years
- 226.12 designated.
- Subd. 2. Grow Your Own. (a) For grants to develop, continue, or expand Grow Your
- Own programs under Minnesota Statutes, section 122A.731:
- 226.15 \$ 3,000,000 ..... 2024
- 226.16 \$ 3,000,000 ..... 2025
- (b) This is a onetime appropriation and is subject to the requirements under Minnesota
- 226.18 Statutes, 122A.731, subdivision 4.
- Subd. 3. Early childhood teacher shortage. (a) For grants to Minnesota institutions of
- 226.20 <u>higher education to address the early childhood education teacher shortage:</u>
- <u>\$ 490,000 ..... 2024</u>
- 226.22 \$ 490,000 ..... 2025
- (b) Grant funds may be used to provide tuition and other supports to students.
- (c) Any balance in the first year does not cancel but is available in the second year.
- 226.25 (d) This is a onetime appropriation.
- Subd. 4. **School readiness.** (a) For revenue for school readiness programs under
- 226.27 Minnesota Statutes, sections 124D.15 and 124D.16:
- 226.28 <u>\$ 33,683,000 ..... 2024</u>
- 226.29 \$ 33,683,000 ..... 2025
- 226.30 (b) The 2024 appropriation includes \$3,368,000 for 2023 and \$30,315,000 for 2024.

(c) The 2025 appropriation includes \$3,368,000 for 2024 and \$30,315,000 for 2025.

227.2 <u>Subd. 5.</u> Early learning scholarships. (a) For the early learning scholarship program

227.3 under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.165:

- <u>\$ 206,177,000 ..... 2024</u>
- 227.5 \$ <u>206,178,000</u> ..... <u>2025</u>

(b) This appropriation is subject to the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section

227.7 124D.165, subdivision 6.

(c) The base for fiscal year 2026 is \$113,863,000 and the base for fiscal year 2027 is

227.9 \$113,864,000.

227.10 Subd. 6. Head Start program. (a) For Head Start programs under Minnesota Statutes,

- 227.11 section 119A.52:
- 227.12 \$ 25,100,000 ..... 2024
- <u>\$ 25,100,000 ..... 2025</u>
- (b) Any balance in the first year does not cancel but is available in the second year.
- Subd. 7. Head Start infrastructure. (a) For facilities grants to Head Start agencies for
- 227.16 the purposes of improving services, expanding services, and serving additional low-income
- 227.17 children:
- 227.18 \$ 10,000,000 ..... 2024
- 227.19 \$ 0 .... 2025
- (b) Head Start agencies may apply for the grants established under this subdivision in
- 227.21 a form and manner prescribed by the commissioner. The commissioner must establish
- 227.22 criteria and a process for awarding the grants that consider the number of eligible children
- in an applicant's service area that are not currently being served, and prioritize, to the extent
- 227.24 possible, geographic balance and program diversity among grant recipients.
- (c) This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2027.

Subd. 8. Early childhood family education aid. (a) For early childhood family education

- 227.27 aid under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.135:
- 227.28 <u>\$ 37,497,000 ..... 2024</u>
- <u>\$ 39,108,000 ..... 2025</u>
- 227.30 (b) The 2024 appropriation includes \$3,518,000 for 2023 and \$33,979,000 for 2024.
- 227.31 (c) The 2025 appropriation includes \$3,775,000 for 2024 and \$35,333,000 for 2025.

Subd. 9. Early childhood family education support staff. For the purposes described 228.1 under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.13, subdivision 12a: 228.2 2283 \$ 500,000 ..... 2024 \$ 228.4 500,000 ..... 2025 Subd. 10. Developmental screening aid. (a) For developmental screening aid under 228.5 Minnesota Statutes, sections 121A.17 and 121A.19: 228.6 \$ 4,350,000 <u>.....</u> 2024 228.7 \$ 4,375,000 <u>.....</u> 2025 228.8 (b) The 2024 appropriation includes \$349,000 for 2023 and \$4,001,000 for 2024. 228.9 (c) The 2025 appropriation includes \$445,000 for 2024 and \$3,930,000 for 2025. 228.10 Subd. 11. **ParentChild+ program.** For a grant to the ParentChild+ program: 228.11 1,800,000 228.12 .... 2024 \$ \$ 1,800,000 .... 2025 228.13 (b) The grant must be used for an evidence-based and research-validated early childhood 228.14 literacy and school readiness program for children ages 16 months to four years at its existing 228.15 suburban program location. The program must include urban and rural program locations 228.16 228.17 for fiscal years 2024 and 2025. (c) Any balance in the first year does not cancel but is available in the second year. 228.18 (d) The base for fiscal year 2026 and later is \$900,000. 228.19 Subd. 12. Kindergarten entrance assessment initiative and intervention program. (a) 228.20 For the kindergarten entrance assessment initiative and intervention program under Minnesota 228.21 Statutes, section 124D.162: 228.22 \$ 281,000 .... 2024 228.23 \$ 281,000 ..... 2025 228.24 (b) The base for fiscal year 2026 is \$0. 228.25 228.26 Subd. 13. Quality rating and improvement system. (a) For transfer to the commissioner of human services for the purposes of expanding the quality rating and improvement system 228.27 under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.142, in greater Minnesota and increasing supports 228.28 for providers participating in the quality rating and improvement system: 228.29 \$ 1,750,000 ..... 2024 228.30 <u>.....</u> <u>20</u>25 \$ 1,750,000 228.31

(b) The amounts in paragraph (a) must be in addition to any federal funding under the 229.1 child care and development block grant authorized under Public Law 101-508 in that year 229.2 229.3 for the system under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.142. Subd. 14. Early childhood programs at Tribal contract schools. (a) For early childhood 229.4 229.5 family education programs at Tribal contract schools under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.83, subdivision 4: 229.6 \$ 68,000 .... 2024 229.7 \$ 68,000 <u>.....</u> 2025 229.8 (b) Any balance in the first year does not cancel but is available in the second year. 229.9 229.10 Subd. 15. Educate parents partnership. (a) For the educate parents partnership under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.129: 229.11 49,000 .... 2024 229.12 \$ \$ 49,000 ..... 2025 229.13 (b) Any balance in the first year does not cancel but is available in the second year. 229.14 Subd. 16. Home visiting aid. (a) For home visiting aid under Minnesota Statutes, section 229.15 124D.135: 229.16 \$ 391,000 229.17 .... 2024 \$ ..... 2025 309,000 229.18 229.19 (b) The 2024 appropriation includes \$41,000 for 2023 and \$350,000 for 2024. (c) The 2025 appropriation includes \$38,000 for 2024 and \$271,000 for 2025. 229.20 Subd. 17. Learning with Music program. (a) For a grant to the MacPhail Center for 229.21 Music to expand the Learning with Music program: 229.22 \$ 250,000 .... 2024 229.23 \$ 250,000 ..... 2025 229.24 (b) The MacPhail Center for Music must use the grant funds received under this 229.25 229.26 subdivision to: (1) expand direct programming to four early childhood center locations in each year of 229.27 the grant, with a focus on meeting the needs of children experiencing economic hardship 229.28 in the Twin Cities metropolitan area; and

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

(2) create and deliver professional development training opportunities to early childhood 230.1 educators statewide, both online and in person, that are based on current successful elements 230.2 230.3 of the Learning with Music program. (c) Any balance in the first year does not cancel but is available in the second year. 230.4 230.5 (d) The base for fiscal year 2026 is \$0. Subd. 18. Way to Grow. (a) For a grant to Way to Grow: 230.6 230.7 \$ 150,000 <u>.....</u> 2024 \$ ..... 2025 230.8 150,000 (b) Way to Grow must use the grant to extend its home visiting services, including family 230.9 support services, health and wellness education, and learning support to more families with 230.10 children from birth up to eight years old. 230.11 230.12 (c) This is a onetime appropriation. Subd. 19. Reach Out and Read Minnesota. (a) For a grant to Reach Out and Read 230.13 230.14 Minnesota to establish a statewide plan that encourages early childhood development through a network of health care clinics: 230.15 230.16 250,000 .... 2024 \$ \$ 250,000 ..... 2025 230.17 (b) The grant recipient must develop and implement a plan that includes: 230.18 230.19 (1) integrating children's books and parent education into well-child visits; (2) creating literacy-rich environments at health care clinics by providing books to clinics 230.20 for visits outside of Reach Out and Read Minnesota parameters, for waiting room use, or 230.21 230.22 for volunteer readers to model read-aloud techniques for parents where possible; (3) working with public health clinics, federally qualified health centers, Tribal sites, 230.23 community health centers, and clinics that belong to health care systems, as well as 230.24 independent clinics in underserved areas; and 230.25 230.26 (4) training medical professionals on discussing the importance of early literacy with parents of infants, toddlers, and preschoolers. 230.27 230.28 (c) The grant recipient must fully implement the plan on a statewide basis by 2030.

## Sec. 2. APPROPRIATIONS; PROFESSIONAL EDUCATOR LICENSING AND 231.1 231.2 STANDARDS BOARD. 231.3 Subdivision 1. Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board. The sums indicated in this section are appropriated from the general fund to the Professional Educator 231.4 231.5 Licensing and Standards Board for the fiscal years designated. Subd. 2. **Definition of teacher.** (a) For costs related to modifying teaching assignment 231.6 for early childhood educators: 231.7 <u>.....</u> 2024 15,000 231.8 <u>\$</u> \$ 0 ..... 2025 231.9 231.10 (b) This is a onetime appropriation. Sec. 3. APPROPRIATION; EARLY CHILDHOOD CURRICULUM GRANTS. 231.11 (a) \$250,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$250,000 in fiscal year 2025 are appropriated from 231.12 the general fund to the commissioner of the Office of Higher Education for competitive 231.13 grants to Minnesota postsecondary institutions. The grants must be used to improve the 231.14 curricula of the recipient institution's early childhood education programs by incorporating 231.15 or conforming to the Minnesota knowledge and competency frameworks for early child 231.16 professionals. This is a onetime appropriation. 231.17 (b) By December 1, 2024, and again by December 1, 2025, the commissioner must 231.18 231.19 submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over early childhood education through grade 12 and higher education 231.20 finance and policy about grants awarded under this section. The report must include the 231.21 following information for the previous fiscal year: 231.22 231.23 (1) the number of grant applications received; (2) the criteria applied by the commissioner for evaluating applications; 231.24 (3) the number of grants awarded, the grant recipients, and amounts; 231.25 (4) early childhood education curricular reforms proposed by each recipient institution; 231.26 (5) grant outcomes for each recipient institution; 231.27 (6) an evaluation of the grant program, its successes and challenges, and recommendations 231.28 to the legislature regarding the program; and 231.29

231.30

(7) other information identified by the commissioner as outcome indicators.

(c) The commissioner may use no more than three percent of the amount transferred under this section to administer the grant program.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119A.52, is amended to read:

## 119A.52 DISTRIBUTION OF APPROPRIATION.

232.1

232.2

232.3

232.4

232.5

232.6

232.7

232.8

232.9

232.10

232.11

232.12

232.13

232.15

232.16

232.17

232.18

232.19

232.22

232.23

232.24

232.25

232.26

232.27

232.28

232.29

232.30

232.31

232.32

232.33

- (a) The commissioner of education must distribute money appropriated for that purpose to federally designated Head Start programs to expand services and to serve additional low-income children. Migrant and Indian reservation programs must be initially allocated money based on the programs' share of federal funds., which may include costs associated with program operations, infrastructure, or reconfiguration to serve children from birth to age five in center-based services. The distribution must occur in the following order: (1) 10.72 percent of the total Head Start appropriation must be initially allocated to federally designated Tribal Head Start programs; (2) the Tribal Head Start portion of the appropriation must be initially allocated to Tribal Head Start programs based on the programs' share of federal funds; and (3) migrant programs must be initially allocated funding based on the programs' share of federal funds. The remaining money must be initially allocated to the remaining local agencies based equally on the agencies' share of federal funds and on the proportion of eligible children in the agencies' service area who are not currently being served. A Head Start program must be funded at a per child rate equal to its contracted, federally funded base level at the start of the fiscal year. For all agencies without a federal Early Head Start rate, the state average federal cost per child for Early Head Start applies. In allocating funds under this paragraph, the commissioner of education must assure that each Head Start program in existence in 1993 is allocated no less funding in any fiscal year than was allocated to that program in fiscal year 1993. Before paying money to the programs, the commissioner must notify each program of its initial allocation and how the money must be used. Each program must present a plan under section 119A.535. For any program that cannot utilize its full allocation at the beginning of the fiscal year, the commissioner must reduce the allocation proportionately. Money available after the initial allocations are reduced must be redistributed to eligible programs.
- (b) The commissioner must develop procedures to make payments to programs based upon the number of children reported to be enrolled during the required time period of program operations. Enrollment is defined by federal Head Start regulations. The procedures must include a reporting schedule, corrective action plan requirements, and financial consequences to be imposed on programs that do not meet full enrollment after the period of corrective action. Programs reporting chronic underenrollment, as defined by the

commissioner, will have their subsequent program year allocation reduced proportionately. Funds made available by prorating payments and allocations to programs with reported underenrollment will be made available to the extent funds exist to fully enrolled Head Start programs through a form and manner prescribed by the department.

- (c) Programs with approved innovative initiatives that target services to high-risk populations, including homeless families and families living in homeless shelters and transitional housing, are exempt from the procedures in paragraph (b). This exemption does not apply to entire programs. The exemption applies only to approved innovative initiatives that target services to high-risk populations, including homeless families and families living in homeless shelters, transitional housing, and permanent supportive housing.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 121A.17, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. Screening program. (a) A screening program must include at least the following 233.12 components: developmental assessments, including virtual developmental screening for 233.13 families who make the request based on their immunocompromised health status or other 233.14 health conditions, hearing and vision screening or referral, immunization review and referral, 233.15 the child's height and weight, the date of the child's most recent comprehensive vision examination, if any, identification of risk factors that may influence learning, an interview 233.17 with the parent about the child, and referral for assessment, diagnosis, and treatment when 233.18 potential needs are identified. The district and the person performing or supervising the 233.19 screening must provide a parent or guardian with clear written notice that the parent or 233.20 guardian may decline to answer questions or provide information about family circumstances 233.21 that might affect development and identification of risk factors that may influence learning. The notice must state "Early childhood developmental screening helps a school district 233.23 identify children who may benefit from district and community resources available to help 233.24 in their development. Early childhood developmental screening includes a vision screening 233.25 that helps detect potential eye problems but is not a substitute for a comprehensive eye 233.26 exam." The notice must clearly state that declining to answer questions or provide information 233.27 does not prevent the child from being enrolled in kindergarten or first grade if all other 233.28 screening components are met. If a parent or guardian is not able to read and comprehend the written notice, the district and the person performing or supervising the screening must 233.30 convey the information in another manner. The notice must also inform the parent or guardian 233.31 that a child need not submit to the district screening program if the child's health records 233.32 indicate to the school that the child has received comparable developmental screening 233.33 performed within the preceding 365 days by a public or private health care organization or 233.34 individual health care provider. The notice must be given to a parent or guardian at the time

233.1

233.2

233.3

233.4

233.5

233.6

233.7

233.8

233.9

233.10

the district initially provides information to the parent or guardian about screening and must be given again at the screening location.

- (b) All screening components shall be consistent with the standards of the state commissioner of health for early developmental screening programs. A developmental screening program must not provide laboratory tests or a physical examination to any child. The district must request from the public or private health care organization or the individual health care provider the results of any laboratory test or physical examination within the 12 months preceding a child's scheduled screening. For the purposes of this section, "comprehensive vision examination" means a vision examination performed by an optometrist or ophthalmologist.
- 234.11 (c) If a child is without health coverage, the school district must refer the child to an appropriate health care provider.
- 234.13 (d) A board may offer additional components such as nutritional, physical and dental 234.14 assessments, review of family circumstances that might affect development, blood pressure, 234.15 laboratory tests, and health history.
- (e) If a statement signed by the child's parent or guardian is submitted to the administrator or other person having general control and supervision of the school that the child has not been screened because of conscientiously held beliefs of the parent or guardian, the screening is not required.
- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 121A.19, is amended to read:

## 121A.19 DEVELOPMENTAL SCREENING AID.

Each school year, the state must pay a district for each child or student screened by the district according to the requirements of section 121A.17. The amount of state aid for each child or student screened shall be: (1) \$75 \$98 for a child screened at age three; (2) \$50 \$65 for a child screened at age five or six prior to kindergarten; and (4) \$30 \$39 for a student screened within 30 days after first enrolling in a public school kindergarten if the student has not previously been screened according to the requirements of section 121A.17. If this amount of aid is insufficient, the district may permanently transfer from the general fund an amount that, when added to the aid, is sufficient. Developmental screening aid shall not be paid for any student who is screened more than 30 days after the first day of attendance at a public school kindergarten, except if a student transfers to another public school kindergarten within 30 days after first enrolling in a Minnesota public school kindergarten program. In this case, if the student has not been

234.1

234.2

234.3

234.4

234.5

234.6

234.7

234.8

234.9

234.10

234.21

234.22

234.23

234.24

234.25

234.26

234.27

234.28

234.29

234.30

234.31

234.32

235.1	screened, the district to which the student transfers may receive developmental screening
235.2	aid for screening that student when the screening is performed within 30 days of the transfer
235.3	date.
235.4	Sec. 7. [122A.261] PREKINDERGARTEN, SCHOOL READINESS, PRESCHOOL,
235.5	AND EARLY EDUCATION PROGRAMS; LICENSURE REQUIREMENT.
235.6	Subdivision 1. Licensure requirement. A school district or charter school must employ
235.7	a qualified teacher, as defined in section 122A.16, to provide instruction in a preschool,
235.8	school readiness, school readiness plus, prekindergarten, or other school district or charter
235.9	school-based early education program.
235.10	Subd. 2. Exemptions. Any teacher who has taught in a preschool, school readiness,
235.11	school readiness plus, prekindergarten, or other early learning program for at least five years
235.12	prior to September 1, 2028, may continue to teach without obtaining a license.
235.13	Notwithstanding this exemption from the licensure requirement, these individuals are
235.14	teachers under section 179A.03, subdivision 18.
22515	
235.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2028.
235.16	Sec. 8. [122A.731] GRANTS FOR GROW YOUR OWN EARLY CHILDHOOD
235.17	EDUCATOR PROGRAMS.
235.18	Subdivision 1. <b>Establishment.</b> The commissioner of education must award grants for
235.19	Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator programs established under this section in order
235.20	to develop an early childhood education workforce that more closely reflects the state's
235.21	increasingly diverse student population and ensures all students have equitable access to
235.22	high-quality early educators.
22.5.22	
235.23	Subd. 2. Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator programs. (a)
235.24	Minnesota-licensed family child care or licensed center-based child care programs, school
235.25	district or charter school early learning programs, Head Start programs, institutions of higher
235.26	education, and other community partnership nongovernmental organizations may apply for
235.27	a grant to host, build, or expand an early childhood educator preparation program that leads
235.28	to an individual earning the credential or degree needed to enter or advance in the early
235.29	childhood education workforce. Examples include programs that help interested individuals
235.30	earn the child development associate (CDA) credential, an associate's degree in child
235.31	development, or a bachelor's degree in early childhood studies or early childhood licensures.
235.32	The grant recipient must use at least 80 percent of grant funds for student stipends, tuition
235.33	scholarships, or unique student teaching or field placement experiences.

HOUSE RESEARCH

AM/BV

H0238DE1

03/26/23 06:43 pm

236.1	(b) Programs providing financial support to interested individuals may require a
236.2	commitment from the individuals awarded, as determined by the commissioner, to teach in
236.3	the program or school for a reasonable amount of time that does not exceed one year.
236.4	Subd. 3. Grant procedure. (a) Eligible programs must apply for a grant under this
236.5	section in the form and manner specified by the commissioner. To the extent that there are
236.6	sufficient applications, the commissioner must, to the extent practicable, award an equal
236.7	number of grants between applicants in greater Minnesota and those in the metropolitan
236.8	area.
236.9	(b) For the 2023-2024 school year and later, grant applications for new and existing
236.10	programs must be received by the commissioner no later than January 15 of the year prior
236.11	to the school year in which the grant will be used. The commissioner must review all
236.12	applications and notify grant recipients by March 15 or as soon as practicable of the
236.13	anticipated amount awarded. If the commissioner determines that sufficient funding is
236.14	unavailable for the grants, the commissioner must notify grant applicants by June 30 or as
236.15	soon as practicable that there are insufficient funds.
236.16	Subd. 4. Grow Your Own Early Childhood Education program account. (a) An
236.17	account is established in the special revenue fund known as the "Grow Your Own Early
236.18	Childhood Education program account."
236.19	(b) Funds appropriated for the Grow Your Own Early Childhood Education program
236.20	under this section must be transferred to the Grow Your Own Early Childhood Education
236.21	program account in the special revenue fund.
236.22	(c) Money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner for the Grow
236.23	Your Own Early Childhood Education program under this section. Any returned funds are
236.24	available to be regranted. Grant recipients may apply to use grant money over a period of
236.25	up to 60 months.
236.26	(d) Up to \$175,000 annually is appropriated to the commissioner for costs associated
236.27	with administering and monitoring the program under this section.
236.28	Subd. 5. Report. Grant recipients must annually report to the commissioner in the form
236.29	and manner determined by the commissioner on their activities under this section, including
236.30	the number of educators supported through grant funds and the number of educators obtaining
236.31	credentials by type. Data must indicate the beginning level of education and ending level
236.32	of education of individual participants and an assessment of program effectiveness, including
236.33	participant feedback, areas for improvement, and employment changes and current
236.34	employment status, where applicable, after completing preparation programs. The

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

commissioner must publish a report for the public that summarizes the activities and 237.1 outcomes of grant recipients and what was done to promote sharing of effective practices 237.2 among grant recipients and potential grant applicants. 237.3 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.13, is amended by adding a subdivision to 237.4 read: 237.5 Subd. 12a. Support staff. (a) The department must employ two full-time equivalent 237.6 237.7 staff to serve as resources for programs described in this section. The staff persons must provide operational support and guidance to programs, including but not limited to providing 237.8 professional development and education support, assisting with marketing and outreach, 237.9 and facilitating collaborations with public and private organizations serving families. 237.10 (b) Each staff person described in this subdivision must hold a valid license as a teacher 237.11 of parent and family education. 237.12 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for revenue for fiscal year 2024 and later. 237.13 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.141, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 237.14 Subd. 2. Additional duties. The following duties are added to those assigned to the 237.15 council under federal law: 237.16 237.17 (1) make recommendations on the most efficient and effective way to leverage state and federal funding streams for early childhood and child care programs; (2) make recommendations on how to coordinate or colocate early childhood and child 237.19 care programs in one state Office of Early Learning. The council shall establish a task force to develop these recommendations. The task force shall include two nonexecutive branch or nonlegislative branch representatives from the council; six representatives from the early 237.22 childhood caucus; two representatives each from the Departments of Education, Human 237.23 Services, and Health; one representative each from a local public health agency, a local 237.24 county human services agency, and a school district; and two representatives from the 237.25 private nonprofit organizations that support early childhood programs in Minnesota. In developing recommendations in coordination with existing efforts of the council, the task 237.27 force shall consider how to: 237.28 (i) consolidate and coordinate resources and public funding streams for early childhood 237.29 education and child care, and ensure the accountability and coordinated development of all early childhood education and child care services to children from birth to kindergarten 237.31 entrance; 237.32

238.1	(ii) create a seamless transition from early childhood programs to kindergarten;
238.2	(iii) encourage family choice by ensuring a mixed system of high-quality public and
238.3	private programs, with local points of entry, staffed by well-qualified professionals;
238.4	(iv) ensure parents a decisive role in the planning, operation, and evaluation of programs
238.5	that aid families in the care of children;
238.6	(v) provide consumer education and accessibility to early childhood education and child
238.7	care resources;
238.8	(vi) advance the quality of early childhood education and child care programs in order
238.9	to support the healthy development of children and preparation for their success in school;
238.10	(vii) develop a seamless service delivery system with local points of entry for early
238.11	childhood education and child care programs administered by local, state, and federal
238.12	agencies;
238.13	(viii) ensure effective collaboration between state and local child welfare programs and
238.14	early childhood mental health programs and the Office of Early Learning;
238.15	(ix) develop and manage an effective data collection system to support the necessary
238.16	functions of a coordinated system of early childhood education and child care in order to
238.17	enable accurate evaluation of its impact;
238.18	(x) respect and be sensitive to family values and cultural heritage; and
238.19	(xi) establish the administrative framework for and promote the development of early
238.20	childhood education and child care services in order to provide that these services, staffed
238.21	by well-qualified professionals, are available in every community for all families that express
238.22	a need for them.
238.23	In addition, the task force must consider the following responsibilities for transfer to the
238.24	Office of Early Learning:
238.25	(A) responsibilities of the commissioner of education for early childhood education
238.26	programs and financing under sections 119A.50 to 119A.535, 121A.16 to 121A.19, and
238.27	124D.129 to 124D.2211;
238.28	(B) responsibilities of the commissioner of human services for child care assistance,
238.29	child care development, and early childhood learning and child protection facilities programs
238.30	and financing under chapter 119B and section 256E.37; and
238.31	(C) responsibilities of the commissioner of health for family home visiting programs

238.32 and financing under section 145A.17.

Any costs incurred by the council in making these recommendations must be paid from private funds. If no private funds are received, the council must not proceed in making these recommendations. The council must report its recommendations to the governor and the legislature by January 15, 2011;

(3) (2) review program evaluations regarding high-quality early childhood programs;

(4) (3) make recommendations to the governor and legislature, including proposed legislation on how to most effectively create a high-quality early childhood system in Minnesota in order to improve the educational outcomes of children so that all children are school-ready by 2020; and

(5) make recommendations to the governor and the legislature by March 1, 2011, on the creation and implementation of a statewide school readiness report card to monitor progress toward the goal of having all children ready for kindergarten by the year 2020. The recommendations shall include what should be measured including both children and system indicators, what benchmarks should be established to measure state progress toward the goal, and how frequently the report card should be published. In making their recommendations, the council shall consider the indicators and strategies for Minnesota's early childhood system report, the Minnesota school readiness study, developmental assessment at kindergarten entrance, and the work of the council's accountability committee. Any costs incurred by the council in making these recommendations must be paid from private funds. If no private funds are received, the council must not proceed in making these recommendations; and

(6) make recommendations to the governor and the legislature on how to screen earlier and comprehensively assess children for school readiness in order to provide increased early interventions and increase the number of children ready for kindergarten. In formulating their recommendations, the council shall consider (i) ways to interface with parents of children who are not participating in early childhood education or care programs, (ii) ways to interface with family child care providers, child care centers, and school-based early childhood and Head Start programs, (iii) if there are age-appropriate and culturally sensitive screening and assessment tools for three-, four-, and five-year-olds, (iv) the role of the medical community in screening, (v) incentives for parents to have children screened at an earlier age, (vi) incentives for early education and care providers to comprehensively assess children in order to improve instructional practice, (vii) how to phase in increases in screening and assessment over time, (viii) how the screening and assessment data will be collected and used and who will have access to the data, (ix) how to monitor progress toward the goal of having 50 percent of three-year-old children screened and 50 percent of entering

239.1

239.2

239.3

239.4

239.5

239.6

239.7

239.8

239.9

239.10

239.11

239.12

239.13

239.15

239 16

239.17

239.18

239.19

239.21

239.22

239.23

239.25

239.26

239.27

239.28

239.29

239.30

239.31

239.32

239.33

239.34

kindergarteners assessed for school readiness by 2015 and 100 percent of three-year-old children screened and entering kindergarteners assessed for school readiness by 2020, and (x) costs to meet these benchmarks. The council shall consider the screening instruments and comprehensive assessment tools used in Minnesota early childhood education and care programs and kindergarten. The council may survey early childhood education and care programs in the state to determine the screening and assessment tools being used or rely on previously collected survey data, if available. For purposes of this subdivision, "school readiness" is defined as the child's skills, knowledge, and behaviors at kindergarten entrance in these areas of child development: social; self-regulation; cognitive, including language, literacy, and mathematical thinking; and physical. For purposes of this subdivision, "screening" is defined as the activities used to identify a child who may need further evaluation to determine delay in development or disability. For purposes of this subdivision, "assessment" is defined as the activities used to determine a child's level of performance in order to promote the child's learning and development. Work on this duty will begin in fiscal year 2012. Any costs incurred by the council in making these recommendations must be paid from private funds. If no private funds are received, the council must not proceed in making these recommendations. The council must report its recommendations to the governor and legislature by January 15, 2013, with an interim report on February 15, 2011. (4) review and provide input on the recommendations and implementation timelines developed by the Great Start For All Minnesota Children Task Force under Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 14, section 18, subdivision 2.

240.21 First Special Session chapter 7, article 14, section 18, subdivision 2.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.165, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. **Family eligibility.** (a) For a family to receive an early learning scholarship, parents or guardians must <u>have an eligible child and meet at least one of</u> the following eligibility requirements:
  - (1) have an eligible child; and
- 240.27 (2) (1) have income equal to or less than 185 percent of federal poverty level 47 percent 240.28 of state median income, as adjusted for family size, in the current calendar year, or;
  - (2) be able to document their child's current participation in the free and reduced-price lunch meal program or Child and Adult Care Food Program, National School Lunch Act, United States Code, title 42, sections 1751 and 1766; the Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservations, Food and Nutrition Act, United States Code, title 7, sections 2011-2036; Head Start under the federal Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act of 2007;

240.1

240.2

240.3

240.4

240.5

240.6

240.7

240.8

240.9

240.10

240.11

240.12

240.13

240.14

240.15

240.16

240.17

240.18

240.19

240.20

240.22

240.26

240.29

240.30

240.31

240.32

03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

Minnesota family investment program under chapter 256J; child care assistance programs 241.1 under chapter 119B; the supplemental nutrition assistance program; or placement 241.2 (3) have a child referred as in need of child protection services or placed in foster care 241.3 under section 260C.212. 241.4 (b) An "eligible child" means a child who has not yet enrolled in kindergarten and is: 241.5 (1) at least three but not yet five years of age on September 1 of the current school year. 241.6 241.7 (2) a sibling from birth to age five of a child who has been awarded a scholarship under this section provided the sibling attends the same program as long as funds are available; 241.8 (3) the child of a parent under age 21 who is pursuing a high school degree or a course 241.9 of study for a high school equivalency test; or 241.10 (4) homeless, in foster care, or in need of child protective services. 241.11 (c) A child who has received a scholarship under this section must continue to receive 241.12 a scholarship each year until that child is eligible for kindergarten under section 120A.20 241.13 and as long as funds are available. 241.14 (d) Early learning scholarships may not be counted as earned income for the purposes 241.15 of medical assistance under chapter 256B, MinnesotaCare under chapter 256L, Minnesota 241.16 family investment program under chapter 256J, child care assistance programs under chapter 241.17 119B, or Head Start under the federal Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act of 241.18 2007. 241.19 (e) A child from an adjoining state whose family resides at a Minnesota address as 241.20 assigned by the United States Postal Service, who has received developmental screening 241 21 under sections 121A.16 to 121A.19, who intends to enroll in a Minnesota school district, 241.22 and whose family meets the criteria of paragraph (a) is eligible for an early learning 241.23 scholarship under this section. 241.24 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.165, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 241.25 Subd. 3. Administration. (a) The commissioner shall establish application timelines 241.26 and determine the schedule for awarding scholarships that meets operational needs of eligible 241.27 families and programs. The commissioner must give highest priority to applications from 241.28 children who: 241.29

241 30

(1) are not yet four years of age;

(1) (2) have a parent under age 21 who is pursuing a high school diploma or a course of 242.1 study for a high school equivalency test; 242.2 242.3 (2) (3) are in foster care or otherwise; (4) have been referred as in need of child protection or services; or 242.4 (5) have an incarcerated parent; 242.5 (6) have a parent in a substance use treatment program; 242.6 (7) have a parent in a mental health treatment program; 242.7 (8) have experienced domestic violence; or 242.8 (3) (9) have experienced homelessness in the last 24 months, as defined under the federal 242.9 McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act, United States Code, title 42, section 11434a. 242.10 (b) The commissioner may prioritize applications on additional factors including family 242.11 income, geographic location, and whether the child's family is on a waiting list for a publicly 242.12 funded program providing early education or child care services. 242.13 (b) (c) The commissioner shall establish a target for the average scholarship amount 242.14 schedule of tiered per child scholarship amounts based on the results of the rate survey 242.15 conducted under section 119B.02, subdivision 7, the cost of providing high-quality early 242.16 care and learning to children in varying circumstances, a family's income, and geographic 242.17 location. For programs that earn a four-star rating under section 124D.142, amounts should be no less than the cost to provide full-time care at the 75th percentile of the most recent 242.19 242.20 market rate survey... (e) (d) A four-star rated program that has children eligible for a scholarship enrolled in 242.21 or on a waiting list for a program beginning in July, August, or September may notify the 242.22 commissioner, in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner, each year of the 242.23 242.24 program's desire to enhance program services or to serve more children than current funding provides. The commissioner may designate a predetermined number of scholarship slots 242.25 for that program and notify the program of that number. For fiscal year 2018 and later, the 242.26 statewide amount of funding directly designated by the commissioner must not exceed the 242.27 funding directly designated for fiscal year 2017. Beginning July 1, 2016, a school district 242.28 or Head Start program qualifying under this paragraph may use its established registration 242.29 process to enroll scholarship recipients and may verify a scholarship recipient's family 242.30 income in the same manner as for other program participants. 242.31

(d) (e) A scholarship is awarded for a 12-month period. If the scholarship recipient has not been accepted and subsequently enrolled in a rated program within ten three months of the awarding of the scholarship, the scholarship cancels and the recipient must reapply in order to be eligible for another scholarship. An extension can be requested if a program is unavailable for the child within the three-month timeline. A child may not be awarded more than one scholarship in a 12-month period.

- (e) (f) A child who receives a scholarship who has not completed development screening under sections 121A.16 to 121A.19 must complete that screening within 90 days of first attending an eligible program or within 90 days after the child's third birthday if awarded a scholarship under the age of three.
- (f) (g) For fiscal year 2017 and later, a school district or Head Start program enrolling scholarship recipients under paragraph (c) may apply to the commissioner, in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner, for direct payment of state aid. Upon receipt of the application, the commissioner must pay each program directly for each approved scholarship recipient enrolled under paragraph (c) according to the metered payment system or another schedule established by the commissioner.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.165, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Early childhood program eligibility.** (a) In order to be eligible to accept an early learning scholarship, a program must<del>:</del>
- 243.20 (1) participate in the quality rating and improvement system under section 124D.142; and.
- 243.22 (2) beginning July 1, 2024, have a three- or four-star rating in the quality rating and improvement system.
- 243.24 (b) Any program accepting scholarships must use the revenue to supplement and not supplant federal funding.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.165, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Early learning scholarship account.** (a) An account is established in the special revenue fund known as the "early learning scholarship account."
- 243.29 (b) Funds appropriated for early learning scholarships under this section must be 243.30 transferred to the early learning scholarship account in the special revenue fund.

243.1

243.2

243.3

243.4

243.5

243.6

243.7

243.8

243.9

(c) Money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner for early learning 244.1 scholarships under this section. Any returned funds are available to be regranted. 244.2 (d) Up to \$950,000 \$2,133,000 annually is appropriated to the commissioner for costs 244.3 associated with administering and monitoring early learning scholarships. 244.4 244.5 (e) The commissioner may use funds under paragraph (c) for the purpose of family outreach and distribution of scholarships. 244.6 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 125A.13, is amended to read: 244.7 244.8 125A.13 SCHOOL OF PARENTS' CHOICE. (a) Nothing in this chapter must be construed as preventing parents of a child with a 244.9 disability from sending the child to a school of their choice, if they so elect, subject to 244.10 admission standards and policies adopted according to sections 125A.62 to 125A.64 and 244.11 125A.66 to 125A.73, and all other provisions of chapters 120A to 129C. 244.12 (b) The parent of a student with a disability not yet enrolled in kindergarten and not open 244.13 244.14 enrolled in a nonresident district may request that the resident district enter into a tuition agreement with elect, in the same manner as the parent of a resident student with a disability, 244.15 a school in the nonresident district if: 244.16 (1) where the child is enrolled in a Head Start program or a licensed child care setting 244.17 in the nonresident district; and, provided 244.18 (2) the child can be served in the same setting as other children in the nonresident district 244.19 with the same level of disability. 244.20 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179A.03, subdivision 18, is amended to read: 244.21 Subd. 18. Teacher. "Teacher" means any public employee other than a superintendent 244.22 or assistant superintendent, principal, assistant principal, or a supervisory or confidential 244.23 employee, employed by a school district: 244.24 (1) in a position for which the person must be licensed by the Professional Educator 244.25 Licensing and Standards Board or the commissioner of education; or 244.26 (2) in a position as a physical therapist, occupational therapist, art therapist, music 244.27 therapist, or audiologist-; or 244.28 (3) in a position providing instruction to children in a preschool, school readiness, school 244.29 readiness plus, prekindergarten, or other school district or charter school-based early 244.30

244.31

education program, except that an employee in a bargaining unit certified before January

02/26/22 06:42	HOUGE DECEADOR	A M /DX/	110220DE1
03/26/23 06:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/BV	H0238DE1

1, 2023, may remain in a bargaining unit that does not include teachers unless an exclusive
 representative files a petition for a unit clarification or to transfer exclusive representative
 status.

## Sec. 17. APPROPRIATIONS GIVEN EFFECT ONCE.

245.4

If an appropriation or transfer in this article is enacted more than once during the 2023
regular session, the appropriation or transfer must be given effect once."