COMMERCE FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Zack Stephenson, Chair of the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 3:00 PM on February 3, 2021 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

Members present:

STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair

KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair

O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead

BAHR, Cal

CARLSON, Andrew

DAVNIE, Jim

ELKINS, Steve

HALEY, Barb

KOEGEL, Erin

LEE, Fue

LILLIE, Leon

LISLEGARD, Dave

LUCERO, Eric

OLSON, Liz

PFARR, Brian

RASMUSSON, Jordan

RICHARDSON, Ruth

THEIS, Tama

A quorum was present.

Representative Kotyza-Witthuhn moved to approve the minutes from the committee meeting on February 2, 2021. THE MOTION PREVAILED

HF59 (Elkins); All-payer claims database data submission and use provisions modified, and commissioner of health recommendations required regarding data use by outside entities.

Representative Elkins moved HF59 be recommended to be referred to the Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Division.

The following testified on HF59:

Dr. Marilyn Peitso, Pediatrician

Bentley Graves, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce

Representative Elkins renewed the motion that HF59 be recommended to be referred to the Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Committee. The clerk took the roll.

AYES

STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair

KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair

BAHR, Cal

CARLSON, Andrew

DAVNIE, Jim

ELKINS, Steve

KOEGEL, Erin

LEE, Fue

LILLIE, Leon

LISLEGARD, Dave

OLSON, Liz

RICHARDSON, Ruth

NAYS
O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead
HALEY, Barb
LUCERO, Eric
PFARR, Brian
RASMUSSON, Jordan
THEIS, Tama

With a vote of 12 AYES and 6 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF57 (Elkins); Medical practices required to make their current standard charges public, and commissioner of health authorized to establish price comparison tool for medical practice items and services.

Representative Elkins moved that HF57 be recommended to be referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee.

Representative Elkins moved the H0057A1 (Elkins) amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Elkins moved the H0057A2 (Elkins) amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

The following testified on HF57: Joe Schindler, Minnesota Hospital Association

Representative Elkins renewed the motion that HF57, as amended, be recommended to be referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee. The clerk took the roll.

AYES
STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair
KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair
CARLSON, Andrew
DAVNIE, Jim
ELKINS, Steve
KOEGEL, Erin
LEE, Fue
LILLIE, Leon
LISLEGARD, Dave
OLSON, Liz
RICHARDSON, Ruth

NAYS
O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead
BAHR, Cal
HALEY, Barb
LUCERO, Eric
PFARR, Brian
RASMUSSON, Jordan
THEIS, Tama

With a vote of 11 AYES and 7 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF58 (Elkins); Manufacturers required to report and maintain prescription drug prices, health plan prescription drug formularies filing required, health carriers prohibited from denying or limiting coverage due to lack of prior authorization, prescription benefit tool requirements established, and prescription drug benefit transparency and disclosure required.

Representative Elkins moved that HF58 be recommended to be referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee.

Representative Elkins moved the H0058A1 (Elkins) amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

The following testified on HF58:

Dr. Marilyn Peitso, Pediatrician, Minnesota Medical Association

Dan Endreson, Minnesota Council of Health Plans

Peter Fjelstad, Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America

Alex Sommer, Prime Therapeutics

Michelle Mack, Pharmaceutical Care Management Association

Brett Michelin, Association for Accessible Medicines

Bentley Graves, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce

Representative Elkins renewed the motion that HF58, as amended, be recommended to be referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee. The clerk took the roll.

AYES

STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair

KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair

CARLSON, Andrew

DAVNIE, Jim

ELKINS, Steve

KOEGEL, Erin

LEE, Fue

LILLIE, Leon

LISLEGARD, Dave

OLSON, Liz

RICHARDSON, Ruth

NAYS

O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead

BAHR, Cal

HALEY, Barb

LUCERO, Eric

PFARR, Brian

RASMUSSON, Jordan

THEIS, Tama

With a vote of 11 AYES and 7 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:29 PM.

| Representative Zack Stephenson, | Chair |
|---------------------------------|-------|
| | |
| | |
| | |
| Simon Brown, | |
| Simon brown, | |