.................... moves to amend H. F. No. 1208, the first committee engrossment,
Page 36, delete section 24 and insert:
"Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2006, section 16B.747, is amended to read:
1.516B.747 FEES FOR LICENSURE AND
Subdivision 1. Permits.
, firm, or corporation
may construct, install, alter,
or remove an elevator without first filing an application for a permit with the department
or a municipality authorized by subdivision 3 to inspect elevators.
Upon successfully completing inspection and the payment of the appropriate fee, the
1.10 owner must be granted an operating permit for the elevator.
1.11 Subd. 1a. Annual operating permit. No person may operate an elevator without
1.12first obtaining an annual operating permit from the department or a municipality
1.13authorized by subdivision 3 to issue annual operating permits. A $100 annual operating
1.14permit fee must be paid to the department for each annual operating permit issued by the
1.15department, except that the original annual operating permit must be included in the
1.16permit fee for the initial installation of the elevator. Annual operating permits must be
1.17issued at 12-month intervals from the date of the initial annual operating permit. For each
1.18subsequent year, an owner must be granted an annual operating permit for the elevator
1.19upon the owner's or owner's agent's submission of a form prescribed by the commissioner
1.20and payment of the $100 fee. Each form must include the location of the elevator, the
1.21results of any periodic test required by the code, and any other criteria established by rule.
1.22An annual operating permit may be revoked by the commissioner upon an audit of the
1.23periodic testing results submitted with the application or a failure to comply with elevator
1.24code requirements, inspections, or any other law related to elevators.
Subd. 2. Contractor licenses.
The commissioner may establish criteria for the
qualifications of elevator contractors and issue licenses based upon proof of the applicant's
Subd. 3. Permissive municipal regulation.
A municipality may conduct a system
of elevator inspection in conformity with this chapter, State Building Code requirements,
and adopted rules that includes the inspection of elevator installation, repair, alteration,
and removal, construction,
routine and periodic inspection and testing of existing
elevators, and the issuance of annual operating permits
. The municipality shall employ
inspectors meeting the minimum requirements established by Minnesota Rules to perform
the inspections and to witness the tests. A municipality may establish and retain its own
fees for inspection of elevators and related devices in its jurisdiction. A municipality may
2.12establish and retain its own fees for the issuance of annual operating permits for elevators
2.13in its jurisdiction.
A municipality may not adopt standards that do not conform to the
uniform standards prescribed by the department.
If the commissioner determines that a municipality is not properly administering
and enforcing the law, rules, and codes, the commissioner shall have the inspection,
administration, and enforcement undertaken by a qualified inspector employed by the
Subd. 4. Deposit of fees. Fees received under this section must be deposited in the
2.20 state treasury and credited to the special revenue fund.
2.21EFFECTIVE DATE.This section is effective July 1, 2007.
Amend the title accordingly