.................... moves to amend S.F. No. 2596, the first engrossment, as follows:
Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2009 Supplement, section 62M.09, subdivision 3a,
is amended to read:
Subd. 3a. Mental health and substance abuse reviews.
(a) A peer of the treating
mental health or substance abuse provider, a doctoral-level psychologist,
or a physician
must review requests for outpatient services in which the utilization review organization
has concluded that a determination not to certify a mental health or substance abuse
service for clinical reasons is appropriate, provided that any final determination not to
certify treatment is made by a psychiatrist certified by the American Board of Psychiatry
and Neurology and appropriately licensed in this state or by a doctoral-level psychologist
licensed in this state
if the treating provider is a psychologist
(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a doctoral-level psychologist shall not review
1.14any request or final determination not to certify a mental health or substance abuse service
1.15or treatment if the treating provider is a psychiatrist.
Notwithstanding the notification requirements of section
, a utilization
review organization that has made an initial decision to certify in accordance with the
requirements of section
may elect to provide notification of a determination to
continue coverage through facsimile or mail.
This subdivision does not apply to determinations made in connection with
policies issued by a health plan company that is assessed less than three percent of the
total amount assessed by the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association.
Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 148.90, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Board of Psychology.
(a) The Board of Psychology is created with
the powers and duties described in this section. The board has 11 members who consist of:
(1) three individuals licensed as licensed psychologists who have doctoral degrees
(2) two individuals licensed as licensed psychologists who have master's degrees
(3) two psychologists, not necessarily licensed, one with a doctoral degree in
who represents a doctoral and one with either a doctoral or master's degree in
2.7psychology representing different
, and one who
2.8 represents a master's degree training program in psychology
(4) one individual licensed or qualified to be licensed as: (i) through December 31,
2010, a licensed psychological practitioner; and (ii) after December 31, 2010, a licensed
(5) three public members.
(b) After the date on which fewer than 30 percent of the individuals licensed by the
board as licensed psychologists qualify for licensure under section
, paragraph (b), vacancies filled under paragraph (a), clause (2), shall be filled by an
individual with either a master's or doctoral degree in psychology licensed or qualified
to be licensed as a licensed psychologist.
(c) After the date on which fewer than 15 percent of the individuals licensed by the
board as licensed psychologists qualify for licensure under section
148.907, subdivision 3
paragraph (b), vacancies under paragraph (a), clause (2), shall be filled by an individual
with either a master's or doctoral degree in psychology licensed or qualified to be licensed
as a licensed psychologist.
Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 148.909, is amended to read:
2.24148.909 LICENSURE FOR VOLUNTEER PRACTICE.
2.25 Subdivision 1. Application. Retired providers who are or were licensed, certified,
2.26or registered to practice psychology in any jurisdiction may apply to
2.27 its discretion, may grant for
for volunteer to
to an applicant who:
2.28psychology as a licensed psychologist-volunteer provided the applicant meets the
2.29following requirements and the requirements in subdivision 2:
is completely retired from the practice of psychology submits to the board a
2.31notarized application for licensure as a licensed psychologist-volunteer
has no unresolved disciplinary action or complaints pending in the state of
2.33 Minnesota or any other jurisdiction is of good moral character and has no complaints or
2.34corrective or disciplinary action pending in any jurisdiction
has held a license, certificate, or registration to practice psychology in any
3.2 jurisdiction if not currently licensed by the board, passes the most recent version of the
3.3professional responsibility examination administered by the board and pays the fee
3.4associated with sitting for the examination; and
3.5(4) pays the nonrefundable fee for licensure established in subdivision 8
3.6 Subd. 2. Education requirements. An applicant who was formerly licensed by the
3.7board must meet the education, training, and experience requirements that were in place at
3.8the time of the original license. An applicant who was not formerly licensed by the board
3.9must meet the current requirements for licensure.
3.10 Subd. 3. Pro bono service. A provider licensed under this section shall only provide
3.11psychological services on a pro bono basis and shall not receive a commission, rebate, or
3.12remuneration, directly or indirectly, except that a provider may accept reimbursement for
3.13reasonable expenses incurred due to the provision of volunteer psychological services.
3.14 Subd. 4. Documentation of status. A provider licensed under this section shall
3.15receive a license documenting that they are licensed for volunteer practice.
3.16 Subd. 5. Designation of license. In addition to the descriptions allowed in section
3.17148.96, providers granted licensure under this section shall use the designation "LP-V" to
3.18designated licensed psychologist-volunteer.
3.19 Subd. 6. Return to previous licensure status. Providers licensed under this section
3.20who request to return to their previous licensure status may do so upon submission of a
3.21written application provided by the board and payment of the applicable licensure fee.
3.22Providers may not concurrently hold a license as a licensed psychologist and a license as a
3.24 Subd. 7. Continuing education requirements. A provider licensed under this
3.25section is subject to the same continuing education requirements as a licensed psychologist
3.26under section 148.911.
3.27 Subd. 8. Fees. The fee for licensure as a licensed psychologist-volunteer shall be 50
3.28percent of the fee for licensure as a licensed psychologist. A provider licensed under this
3.29section shall not be subject to special board fees.
3.30 Subd. 9. Violation. A provider licensed under this section is subject to all of the
3.31provisions in the Minnesota Psychology Practice Act, violation of which is grounds for
3.32disciplinary action in accordance with section 148.941.
Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 148.915, is amended to read:
The board may grant a license to
a diplomate of the American Board of
4.2 Professional Psychology or to any person who at the time of application is licensed,
4.3 certified, or registered to practice psychology by a board of another state and who
4.4 meets the licensure requirements under section
148.907, subdivision 2 . The board, at
4.5 its discretion, may elect not to require the examination in psychology under section
4.6 148.907, subdivision 2 , clause (1), if the person was licensed in another state before
4.7 the examination was required for licensure in that state. An applicant seeking licensure
4.8 under this section shall pass a professional responsibility examination on the practice
4.9 of psychology and any other examinations as required by the board. an applicant who
4.10meets the following requirements:
4.11(1) submits to the board a notarized application for licensure as a licensed
4.12psychologist by reciprocity;
4.13(2) at the time of application, is licensed, certified, or registered to practice
4.14psychology in another state or jurisdiction, and has been for at least five consecutive years
4.15immediately preceding the date of application;
4.16(3) has a doctoral degree in psychology, which formed the basis for current licensure
4.17in another state or jurisdiction;
4.18(4) is of good moral character and has no pending complaints or active disciplinary
4.19or corrective actions in any jurisdiction; and
4.20(5) passes the Professional Responsibility Examination administered by the board
4.21and pays the fee associated with sitting for the examination.
4.22(b) If by the laws of any state or the rulings or decisions of the appropriate officers or
4.23boards thereof, any burden, obligation, requirement, disqualification, or disability is put
4.24upon licensed psychologists licensed and in good standing in this state, affecting the right
4.25of these licensed psychologists to be registered or licensed in that state, then the same or
4.26like burden, obligation, requirement, disqualification, or disability may be put upon the
4.27licensure in this state of licensed psychologists licensed in that state.
Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 148.916, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Generally.
If a nonresident of the state of Minnesota, who is not
seeking licensure in this state, and who has been issued a license, certificate, or registration
by another jurisdiction to practice psychology at the doctoral level, wishes to practice in
Minnesota for more than seven calendar days, the person shall apply to the board for guest
licensure, provided that the psychologist's practice in Minnesota is limited to no more than
30 days nine consecutive months
per calendar year. Application under this section shall be
made no less than 30 days prior to the expected date of practice in Minnesota and shall be
subject to approval by the board or its designee. The board shall charge a nonrefundable
fee for guest licensure. The board shall adopt rules to implement this section.
Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 148.916, is amended by adding a subdivision
5.5 Subd. 1a. Applicants for licensure. (a) An applicant who is seeking licensure in
5.6this state, and who, at the time of application, is licensed, certified, or registered to practice
5.7psychology in another jurisdiction at the doctoral level may apply to the board for guest
5.8licensure in order to begin practicing psychology in this state while their application
5.9is being processed if the applicant is of good moral character and has no complaints,
5.10corrective, or disciplinary action pending in any jurisdiction. Application under this
5.11section shall be made no less than 30 days prior to the expected date of practice in this
5.12state, and must be made concurrently or after submission of an application for licensure
5.13as a licensed psychologist. Applications under this section are subject to approval by
5.14the board or its designee.
5.15(b) The board shall charge a nonrefundable fee for guest licensure under this
5.17(c) A guest license issued under this subdivision shall be valid for one year from the
5.18date of issuance, or until the board has either issued a license or has denied the applicant's
5.19application for licensure, whichever is earlier. Guest licenses issued under this section may
5.20be renewed annually until the board has denied the applicant's application for licensure.
Amend the title accordingly