.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 186 as follows:
Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 171.27, is amended to read:
1.4171.27 EXPIRATION OF LICENSE; MILITARY EXCEPTION.
The expiration date for each driver's license, other than under-21 licenses, is the
birthday of the driver in the fourth year following the date of issuance of the license. The
birthday of the driver shall be as indicated on the application for a driver's license. A
license may be renewed on or before expiration or within one year after expiration upon
application, payment of the required fee, and passing the examination required of all
drivers for renewal. Driving privileges shall be extended or renewed on or preceding the
expiration date of an existing driver's license unless the commissioner believes that the
licensee is no longer qualified as a driver.
The expiration date for each under-21 license shall be the 21st birthday of the
licensee. Upon the licensee attaining the age of 21 and upon the application, payment
of the required fee, and passing the examination required of all drivers for renewal, a
driver's license shall be issued unless the commissioner determines that the licensee is
no longer qualified as a driver.
The expiration date for each provisional license is two years after the date of
application for the provisional license.
Any valid Minnesota driver's license issued to a person then or subsequently
1.21 active duty with serving outside Minnesota in active military service, as defined in section
1.22190.05, subdivision 5, in any branch or unit of
the armed forces of the United States, or
the person's spouse, shall continue in full force and effect without requirement for renewal
90 days after the date of the person's discharge from such service, provided that a
1.25 spouse's license must be renewed if the spouse is residing within the state at the time
1.26 the license expires or within 90 days after the spouse returns to Minnesota and resides
2.1 within the state the date one year following the service member's separation or discharge
2.2from active military service, and until the license holder's birthday in the fourth full year
2.3following the person's most recent license renewal or if the case of a provisional license,
2.4until the person's birthday in the third full year following such renewal
2.5EFFECTIVE DATE.This section is effective July 1, 2011, and applies to
2.6Minnesota Driver's licenses that are valid on or after that date.