## Minnesota House of Representatives



## Minnesota State Senate

Dear Mayors, City Managers, Chiefs of Police, and all local officials:

Thank you for your service to our communities during these challenging times.

Every Minnesotan deserves to be safe in their community. We have been hard at work over the last few sessions passing comprehensive and meaningful public safety legislation. Most recently in 2021, we passed critical measures like increased funding for law enforcement, improved coordination and response to mental health calls, modernized training standards, investments in community violence prevention, substantial reforms to our sexual assault laws, and tools to crack down on catalytic converter theft.

We understand that crime and gun violence are creating grave challenges right now in our own communities and others across the nation. As you gather for a Jan. 10 meeting, we want to let you know we are grateful for everything you are doing to keep people safe. We are committed to working with you during the upcoming legislative session and will do everything possible to help provide the level of public safety our constituents expect.

The current rise in crime is bigger than any one community so it is critical that we partner closely with one another and across jurisdictions to ensure an effective and unified response. We are committed to working with you all, hand-in-hand as we develop a comprehensive regional response. We are especially aware of the disturbing numbers of violent auto-thefts, aggravated robberies and rise in gun violence which are particularly visible. In response, we are already drafting bills based on the input of all stakeholders, including law enforcement, prosecutors, community advocates, and victims to tackle these crimes head on.

By working with one another earnestly we will be able to achieve our common goal, safer communities for all. We are glad to be partnering with you all as we work to serve our communities and provide peace of mind to our constituents.

In Partnership,

Representative Patty Acomb

atty Scomb

District 44B

Representative Heather Edelson District 49A Representative Kristin Bahner District 34B

Grestin Bahner

Parragentative Stave Fl

Representative Steve Elkins District 49B Representative Andrew Carlson

Andrew Carlson

District 50B

Representative Cedrick Frazier

District 45A

MUJALL

Representative Mike Freiberg District 45B

Representative Michael Howard District 50A

Killy Monin

Representative Ginny Klevorn District 44A

Hinny Klewn

Representative Carlie Kotyza-Witthuhn Representative Kelly Morrison District 48B

District 33B

Representative Laurie Pryor District 48A

3-264

Representative Ryan Winkler District 46A

Stewart

Representative Cheryl Youakim

Cheryl Gonakem

Senator Steve Cwodzinski District 46B District 48

Senator Ron Latz District 46

Senator Melisa López Franzen

District 49

Same Byo

Senator Ann Johnson Stewart District 44