Marion Rarick State Representative

District 29B



Minnesota House of Representatives

2/2/2024

President Ettinger,

We write today to express our profound frustration in the lack of action to correspondence from Richard Painter and former Regent Michael Hsu regarding the rise of antisemitism on campus. As of Jan. 16, 2024, the University of Minnesota is officially under investigation for discrimination under Title VI for hosting one-sided faculty statements attacking the state of Israel on official university websites. Mr. Painter and Mr. Hsu have repeatedly asked that these statements be removed from official university pages, which are accessed by students for curricular and departmental information, and are a direct reflection of the university, but no action has been taken.

While we respect the faculty's individual freedom of speech, statements that seek to minimize, excuse or justify the horrific actions of Hamas terrorists on October 7th and attack the state of Israel's very existence, have no place on official taxpayer funded university websites and should be immediately removed.

Faculty members have the constitutional right to free speech in their individual capacities, but the university should not provide a platform for their biased, divisive, hate-filled speech on an official taxpayer university website. There are plenty of other non-university websites and other ways for faculty to express their views.

We will consider your response when the University of Minnesota comes to the legislature for future funding requests.

As of the date and time of the sending of this letter the post remains up at: https://cla.umn.edu/ais/news-events/news/statement-palestine-genocide-and-repression.

Sincerely,

Mauin Lauck Rep. Marion Rarick

Lead, Higher Ed. Committee

Rep. Greg Davids

Member, Higher Ed. Committee

Rep. Lisa Demuth Minority Leader

The Medould
Rep. Joe McDonald

Member, Higher Ed. Committee

Rep. Paul Torkelson Deputy Minority Leader

Paul Tokelow

Rep. Kristin Robbins

Member, Higher Ed. Committee

Ren Peggy Scott

Rep. Peggy Scott Member, Higher Ed. Committee

Den Belg

Rep. John Burkel

Rep. Elliott Engen Assistant Minority Leader

Rep. Shane Hudella

Rep. Debra Kiel

Rep. Nathan Nelson

Rep. Isaac Schultz Assistant Minority Leader

Rep. Pam Altendorf

Rep. Brian Daniels

Mery Franson

Rep. Mary Franson

Walten Huden Rep. Walter Hudson

Rep. Krista Knudsen

Rep. Harry Niska

Royn f. Skrabn Rep. Roger Skraba Rep. Dave Baker Assistant Minority Leader

Sove Balle

Jeff a Posteth

Rep. Jeff Dotseth

Kep. Jen Dotseth

Rep. Bobbie Harder

Sturn C. Jacob Rep. Steven Jacob

Rep. Jim Nash Minority Whip

Rep. Paul Novotny