House Research
Act Summary

CHAPTER: 264 SESSION: 2004 Regular Session

TOPIC: Possession of Regulated Animals

Date: May 19, 2004
Analyst: Sam Rankin, 651-296-5047

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753
(voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are
also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd.

Overview

Chapter 264 establishes state regulation over the purchase, possession, breeding,
and sale of large cats, bears, and nonhuman primates. Every person that possesses
one or more of these “regulated” animals must be licensed by the United States
Department of Agriculture or must be registered with a local animal control
authority. Different requirements are imposed for facilities licensed by the United
States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and those not licensed but registered
with a local animal control authority.

1 Possession of certain regulated animals.

Subd. 1. Definitions. Terms are defined including “person,” “possess,” “regulated
animal,” “wildlife sanctuary,” and “local animal control authority.” “Regulated
animal” means large cats, bears, and nonhuman primates.

Subd. 2. Possession of regulated animals. Generally, within 90 days after the
effective date of the act a person who possesses a regulated animal must be licensed by
the USDA or register with the local animal control authority and bring the facilities
and the conditions under which the animal is kept into compliance with standards
specified in USDA regulations applicable to facilities and operations, animal health
and husbandry, and veterinary care.

Only a person holding a valid USDA license may breed regulated animals. A USDA
licensed person may purchase regulated animals to maintain their inventory as of the
effective date of the act, and may sell regulated animals outside Minnesota and to
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Minnesota residents eligible to purchase them. Animals under the age of six months
are not counted toward the inventory cap.

A person without a USDA license but registered with the local animal control authority
and in compliance with USDA facilities standards for regulated animals cannot
increase the number of regulated animals they possess. These persons must not breed
regulated animals but are allowed to replace a regulated animal if it dies (but the
replacement is valid only once). If a regulated animal dies of neglect or cruelty, or if
the person is involved in illegal activities, the person is not allowed to replace the
regulated animal that has died.

Subd. 3. Registration. A person who possesses one or more regulated animals
must register the animals with the local animal control authority within 60 days after
the effective date of the act. The registration must include a complete inventory of
animals held by the person. The local animal control authority may charge an initial
site inspection fee of $50 plus $25 per animal (to a maximum of $250 per person) for
the annual registration. If the person acquires a different type of regulated animal the
local animal control authority may charge an additional $50 site inspection fee.

The use of implanted microchips is encouraged, and specifically required under certain
circumstances.

Subd. 4. Requirements. A person who possesses regulated animals must maintain
complete health and ownership records related to each animal and provide a copy of
the records if the animal is transferred to another person. Each animal must be visited
by a veterinarian at least once each year.

A person possessing a regulated animal must notify the local animal control authority
within ten days after a change of address or a change in the location of the animal.

A copy of the annual inspection report on a USDA licensed facility must be forwarded
to the local animal control authority within 30 days of receipt.

A person must prominently display a sign on the structure where a regulated animal is
kept, indicating the presence of the animal. The person must maintain a written
recovery plan and necessary recovery equipment in the event a regulated animal
escapes. If an animal escapes, the person must notify local law enforcement officials.
The person is responsible for any costs related to the capture after an escape.

If requested, the local animal control authority must be notified prior to moving a
regulated animal from its registered location, except when the animal is being
transported to a licensed veterinarian.

If the person can no longer care for the animal he or she must attempt to locate an
appropriate site for its long-term placement.

Subd. 5. Seizure. The local animal control authority can seize a regulated animal
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possessed in violation of these regulations. The authority may grant a 30-day grace
period for the person in possession to come into compliance with requirements. If an
animal is seized, the owner must be notified and given the opportunity to post a
security deposit and ask for a court hearing to recover the animal. The person from
whom the animal was seized must pay all costs for the care, keeping, and possible
disposal of the animal.

Subd. 6. Disposal of animals. A regulated animal that is taken into custody and is
determined by a veterinarian to be suffering and beyond cure may be immediately
disposed of.

Subd. 7. Exemptions. Several exemptions from the requirements of this section
are noted, including accredited zoos, wildlife sanctuaries, licensed game farms, the
Department of Natural Resources and a person with a permit issued by the
Department, research or medical institutions, and a circus, rodeo, or fair.

Subd. 8. License transfer. Allows a person licensed by USDA to sell or transfer
the entire business and the regulated animals to another USDA licensed person.

Subd. 9. Report to Board of Animal Health. Each July 1, local animal control
authorities must report to the Board of Animal Health on regulated animals registered
with them and any enforcement actions taken.

Subd. 10. Penalty. Itis a misdemeanor to knowingly violate subdivisions 2, 3, or
4,

2 Effective date. The provisions of section 1 are effective January 1, 2005.
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