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Overview 

The act creates and provides for funding of a Healthy Marriage and Responsible 

Fatherhood initiative, changes terminology in marriage license laws, and changes 

the timing for parents to enroll in class required as part of divorce. 

Section   

1         Minnesota Healthy Marriage and Responsible Fatherhood Initiative. 

     Subd. 1. Establishment.  Requires the commissioner of human services to develop 

and implement this initiative, using federal grants, state appropriations, and in-kind 

services. 

     Subd. 2. Purpose.  To test a strategy for promoting marriage and responsible 

fatherhood among unmarried urban parents who expect or recently had a child 

     Subd. 3.  Implementation.  Target population is parents of babies born in 

Minneapolis and St. Paul hospitals.  Must not include couples with a history of 

domestic violence.  The university and community-based programs may do 

implementation.  The commissioner will enter contracts or manage grants, provide 

technical assistance, and develop and implement evaluation. 

2         Definition.  Amends the marriage statute to include the definition of “local registrar” that 

applies in the vital records law. 

3         License. Provides that marriage licenses are to be obtained from the local registrar rather 



CHAPTER 273 July 7, 2004 

 Page 2 

 

Section 

 

Research Department Minnesota House of Representatives 600 State Office Building 

than the court administrator for the county. 

4         Term of license.   Changes district court administrator to local registrar. 

5         Disposition of license fee.  Change marriage license fee (for those who do not take the 

premarital education discount) disposition as follows: 

 the local registrar pays $70 to the state rather than the current $65. Of this amount, $5 

would go to a special revenue fund and be appropriated to the Healthy Marriage 

Initiative.  The fee increases and disposition are contingent on receipt of federal funds 

for the purposes of section 1. 

6         Report.   Requires the local registrar to annually report to the Department of Health the 

number of marriage licenses issued and the fees paid. 

7         Certificate; witnesses. Terminology change. 

8         Penalty for failure.  Terminology change. 

9         Terminology change. 

10     Summons.  Prior law required parties to a marriage dissolution, legal separation, or 

parenting proceeding where child custody is contested to attend parenting class.  The act 

requires class to start within 30 days after the first filing with the court or as soon as classes 

are available, and provides for putting this information on a notice that comes with a 

marriage dissolution summons. 

11     Attendance.  Specifies that marriage dissolution parenting classes must last at least eight 

hours and must start within 30 days after the first filing with the court or as soon as class are 

available. 

12     Appropriation.  $100,000 from the general fund to DHS for the healthy marriage initiative.  

Requires the first $100,000 collected from marriage licenses for this purpose to be deposited 

in the general fund. 

13     Effective date.  July 1, 2004. 

 


