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Article 1: Environment and Natural Resources Appropriations and Policy 

Overview 

This article contains the biennial appropriations for the Pollution Control Agency, 

Department of Natural Resources, Board of Water and Soil Resources, 

Metropolitan Council Parks and Trails, and the Minnesota Conservation Corps. It 

includes some policy statutory changes.  

1          Appropriations. Appropriations total $797,486,000 for the biennium. 

2          Technical. 

3          Pollution Control Agency. Totals for the biennium are $204,170,000 for the biennium. 

Clean Water Legacy program for impaired water assessment contains $31,000,000, with a 

requirement that the agency complete 10 percent of TMDL assessments each year for the 

next ten years. 

$750,000 split each year for the biennium is to conduct an endocrine disruptor study at 20 

additional sites throughout the state. $600,000 in FY 2008 is a transfer to the Department of 

Health to analyze water treatment units to reduce the chemicals PFOA PFOS and PFBS 

from drinking water supply in the east metro area.  

4          Department of Natural Resources. Totals for the biennium are $507,493,000. Contains 

language emphasizing law enforcement and assistance to curtail the spread of aquatic 

invasive species, with priority to prevent aquatic invertebrates. Requires a DNR plan in 



 

 

November to prevent Asian carp from entering state waters. Includes $125,000 in FY 2008 

to develop plans for the optimization of native prairie seed harvest and replanting on state-

owned land. Establishes a joint agency technical advisory committee to look at the 

production of native prairie seeds that ensure high carbon sequestration, along with the 

protection of existing native prairie, wildlife and waters. Requires a report on how the 

critical areas program is working in the metro Mississippi river corridor. 

5          Board of Water and Soil Resources. Totals for the biennium are $49,635,000. Requires 

districts wanting general operating grants to maintain a web site describing its annual plan 

and budget. Money is appropriated for: 

 vegetation buffers of restored prairie; 

 county cooperative weed management programs; 

 providing local native seeds and plants; 

 evaluating and reporting on performance of local water management entities; 

 supporting local response to enforce wetland violations, and for overall 

implementation of the wetland conservation act; and 

 modernizing public drainage records and assisting the drainage work group. 

$14,166,000 is appropriated for clean water legacy implementation, including funding for:  

 services provided for nonpoint restoration by the Minnesota Conservation Corps; 

 analysis of wetland mitigation opportunities in greater than 80 percent wetland 

areas; 

 evaluating applied soil and water conservation practices; 

 county grants up to $60,000 for ISTS implementation and compliance programs; 

 water quality grants for feedlots under 300 animal units; and 

 project work done by the Minnesota River Board. 

6          Metropolitan Council. Totals for the biennium are $17,240,000 for the biennium for 

metropolitan regional parks and trails maintenance and operation. 

7          Minnesota Conservation Corps. Totals for the biennium are $1,980,000 for work under 

agreement with the DNR. 

8          Zoological board. Totals for the biennium are $14,468,000. 

9          Science museum. Totals for the biennium are $2,500,000 

10      Public official. Includes managers of watershed districts and soil and water conservation 

district supervisors as "public officials" for purposes of campaign finance and public 

disclosure law. 

11      Application; extensions. Clarifies an agency response with conditions for certain written 

requests made for approval or denial of a decision. 

12      Revenues. Clarifies what revenue must be deposited in the environmental fund. 



 

 

13      Venison distribution and reimbursement. Allows a $70 reimbursement from the 

Department of Agriculture to a meat processor who processes a donated deer for charitable 

purposes in food assistance. 

14      Aquaculture. Requires policy recommendations to the legislature by the commissioner of 

natural resources on aquaculture licensing. 

15      DNR technical. 

16      Plant pest grants. Authorizes the Department of Agriculture to make grants to, or enter 

into agreements with, municipalities, nurseries and others on new and emerging issues 

related to plant pests. 

17      Definitions. Contains eight new definitions in the DNR statutes, including "ecotype 

region," "native prairie," and "restored prairie." 

18      Professional services support account. Technical. 

19      Contracts. Technical. 

20      Expedited rules. Allows DNR rules for clarifying situations in game and fish and invasive 

species statutes.  

21      Easement information. Requires specific information to be included in a DNR easement 

consummated. 

22      Sales authorized; gift certificates. Technical. 

23      Receipts; appropriation. Technical. 

24      Off-Highway vehicles restrictions. Allows the DNR to prescribe seasons for travel on 

forest lands and restricts OHVs to mapped trails. 

25      Off-highway vehicle damage account. Removes the sunset date for the off-highway 

vehicle damage account. 

26      Off-road vehicle trails. Prohibits DNR land in Cass, Crow Wing, and Hubbard counties 

from being used for off-road vehicle trails, unless in designated OHV areas, or approved by 

the legislature. 

27      Off-highway vehicle safety and conservation program. Creates a DNR off-highway 

vehicle safety and conservation program, utilizing OHV clubs to assist on a volunteer basis. 

28      Exemption. Exempts ATVs older than 25 years from registration.  

29      Registration. Registration raises the ATV three-year registration rate from $30 to $45.  

30      Purposes. Allows money in the all-terrain vehicle account to be used for the maintenance 

of minimum-maintenance forest roads. 

31      Prairie plant seed production areas. Requires the DNR to disseminate to the public 

prairie establishment guidance materials and resources, including seed selection and 

ecotype and species mix. 

32      Emergency invasive species work. Allows the commissioner of natural resources to 

contract for, or accept volunteers, for emergency invasive species work for prevention and 

control. 

33      Infested waters. Prescribes designation by the DNR. 

34      Technical rule clarification. 

35      Technical rule clarification. 

36      Satisfaction of civil penalties. Allows penalty amounts for certain watercraft violations to 

go into the invasive species account. 

37      Technical clarification. 

38      Invasive species account. Creates the invasive species account, with money deposited from 

watercraft license surcharges, the civil penalties under section 0, and the new annual 

surcharge on nonresident fishing licenses. 

39      Technical. Designates Greenleaf Lake State Recreation Area. 

40      Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area; Citizens Advisory Council. Establishes the 

Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area Advisory Council of 12 local individuals who must 

be consulted with by the DNR local manager before a major decision takes place in the 



 

 

recreation area. 

41      Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area. Allows free motor vehicle entry and parking at 

the Croft Mine Historical Park and Portsmouth Mine Lake Overlook within the Cuyuna 

Recreation Area. 

42      Canoe routes. Designates the Redwood River as a canoe route. 

43      Money deposited in account. Technical. 

44      Definitions. Defines "community forest." 

45      Forestry technical. 

46      Forestry technical. 

47      Releaf. Broadens the practices eligible for cost-share dollars within the DNR's Minnesota 

Releaf program. 

48      Forestry technical. 

49      Forest pest definition. 

50      Shade tree pest definition. 

51      Community forest definition.  

52      Shade tree definition.  

53      Forestry technical.  

54      DNR forest duties. Adds forest pests and shade tree pests to the list of issues over which 

the DNR has general powers and duties. 

55      Forestry technical. 

56      Receipts to special revenue fund. Requires fees for uses of state forestlands to now be 

deposited in the special revenue fund and appropriated to the DNR for service of these uses. 

57      Forest resource assessment products and services account. Creates a forest resource 

assessment products and services account for photography and mapping services fees that 

may be annually appropriated to the DNR to produce the services. 

58      Forestry technical. 

59      Forestry technical. 

60      Forestry technical. 

61      Forestry technical. 

62      Pest control. Adds forest pests and shade tree pests to the list of issues over which the DNR 

has general powers and duties.  

63      Forestry technical. 

64      Forestry technical. 

65      Forestry technical. 

66      Forestry technical. 

67      Forestry technical. 

68      Forestry technical. 

69      Forestry technical. 

70      Forestry technical. 

71      Forestry technical. 

72      Tree pest grant program. Gives the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) authority to 

provide technical and financial assistance to local units of government for managing urban 

forest ecosystem health.  

73      Tree inspector certification. Reassigns the program to the DNR.  

74      Forestry technical. 

75      Repealer. Sunsets the Forest Resources Council in 2017. 

76      Timber sales. Allows a bond purchaser to request the release of the bond, which the DNR 

can grant if the purchaser pays the required down payment in cash plus interest. 

77      Expiration. Sunsets the Mineral Coordinating Committee in 2011. 

78      Minerals management account. Changes the allocation of payments for mineral leases in 

the mineral statutes from the general fund receiving 20 percent to a new minerals 



 

 

management account receiving that amount, with the remaining 80 percent credited to 

certain classes of land, the permanent school fund, counties and taxing districts. 

79      DNR fees. Allows them to be established for certain uses within wildlife management or 

aquatic management areas. 

80      DNR technical.  

81      Deer license donation and surcharge. States what a new deer license surcharge and 

donation program may be used for, including deer management and processing payments 

for venison donation charitable programs. 

82      Vermillion Highlands Wildlife Management Area. Creates the Vermillion Highlands 

wildlife management area in Dakota County. 

83      DNR technical. 

84      DNR technical. 

85      DNR fish house license clarification. 

86      DNR fee. Raises the nonresident age to 18 to obtain a small game license at the resident fee.  

87      Military spouse. Allows the spouse of a resident on military duty to obtain resident fishing 

and hunting licenses. 

88      DNR free licenses. Allows them on deer and small game for residents discharged from 

military service in preceding 24 months. 

89      Trapping activities. Authorizes the lifetime small game and sporting licenses to include 

trapping retroactive to 2001 license period. 

90      Same as section 88. 

91      Nonresident hunting surcharge. Allows a $5 surcharge on nonresident hunting licenses.  

92      Deer license donation and surcharge. Establishes a $1 deer license surcharge in 2008 

season for bonus deer licenses and donation amounts of other deer licenses. 

93      Nonresident fishing. Establishes a $2 surcharge on nonresident fishing licenses and a ten 

percent increase on all of them, except for daily ones. 

94      Fish house license. Permits three-year resident and nonresident licenses. 

95      Same as section 93. 

96      Electronic licensing system commission. Prohibits any electronic licensing system 

commission on the new deer surcharge and donation amounts. 

97      Venison donations. States a deer hunter may donate a deer, with its tag number, to a meat 

processor for charitable food purposes. 

98      Nonresident hunting. Allows taking fox and coyote within a nonresident small game 

license.  

99      DNR technical for hunting with required stamps. 

100  DNR technical for hunting with required stamps. 

101  Contests requiring a permit. Establishes the DNR fees for permits to conduct fishing 

contests around the state. 

102  DNR technical for fish house. 

103  Authority to issue penalty orders. Provides authority for the Board of Water and Soil 

Resources (BWSR) to issue penalty orders for violations under their authority up to $10,000 

per violation. 

104  Local water management accountability and oversight. Requires BWSR to evaluate 

performance and financial information for local water management entities on a regular 

basis, and reduce or withhold funding if local water management deficiencies are not 

corrected within a year's notice. 

105  Credit card use. Allows authorized credit card use for payments by a soil and water 

conservation district employee. 

106  Credit card use. Allows authorized credit card use for payments by a watershed district 

employee. 

107  Spoil banks must be spread and permanent vegetation established. Clarifies the point of 



 

 

beginning to measure the width of ditch buffer strips when required by statute, and that they 

be planted in perennial vegetation. 

108  Re-seeding and harvesting perennial vegetation. Clarifies that perennial vegetation, 

instead of grass, will be maintained for permanent ditch buffer strips in statute. 

109  Same as above. 

110  Incremental implementation of vegetated ditch buffer strips and side inlet controls. 
Allows a drainage authority to implement permanent buffer strips of perennial vegetation 

along a public drainage ditch to control erosion, improve water quality and maintain 

efficiency. An approved project must be implemented under a statutory "repair," with 

accompanying damages, landowner notice and statutory timelines. 

111  Ditch buffers strip annual reporting. Requires annual reports by drainage authorities to 

BWSR on buffer strips, inspections and violations. 

112  Extent of damages. Includes in damages paid on a drainage ditch project the costs to 

restore permanent vegetative cover, or a structural practice existing under a federal or state 

conservation program. 

113  Vegetation requirements. Technical. 

114  Restoration. Requires that a drainage system restores any perennial vegetative cover or 

structural practice that is disturbed or destroyed. 

115  Drainage buffer technical. 

116  Drainage buffer technical. 

117  Drainage buffer technical. 

118  Drainage buffer technical. 

119  Reinvest in Minnesota clean energy program. Establishes a Reinvest in Minnesota (RIM) 

Clean Energy Program in the Board of Water and Soil Resources (BWSR) to acquire 

easements of at least 20 years on lands for growing bioenergy crops. Easements may be 

renewed for a period of not less than 20 years. To be eligible the land must have been 

owned for at least one year, be at least five acres in size, not currently enrolled or set aside 

in another program, and have been in agricultural use for at least two of the last five years. 

BWSR shall designate project areas to prioritize easements to coordinate with cellulosic 

biofuel and bioenergy facilities, target impaired waters, or support state or local natural 

resource plans, goals, or objectives. 

BWSR will develop a tired payment program for the easements that is partially based on the 

benefits of bioenergy crop production for water quality, soil health, reduction in chemical 

inputs, soil carbon storage, biodiversity, and wildlife habitat. The highest per-acre payment 

must be for diverse native prairie and perennials. 

A person who violates an easement is subject to treble damages, if the violation is willful 

and double damages, if the violation in not willful. 

BWSR will establish technical review committee to develop program guidelines and 

standards to ensure that the RIM Clean Energy Program provides public benefits that are 

commensurate with the public investment. The committee consists of one representative 

from the Departments of Agriculture, Natural Resources, Commerce, and PCA; two farm 

organizations; one sustainable farmer organization; three rural development organizations; 

three environmental organizations; and three conservation or wildlife organizations. 

120  Wetland requirements. Relates to a possible deed restriction by local units that can 

prohibit nonagricultural use after a wetland is drained under the statutory drainage 

exemption. Clarifies that ponds generally may not be used to satisfy wetland replacement 

requirements, unless the pond functions as a wetland and includes pretreatment of runoff. 

121  Wetland replacement siting. Allows some flexibility in present law for the replacement of 



 

 

wetlands when drained or filled, depending upon their region in the state. 

122  Agriculture activities. Clarifies when a replacement plan for wetlands is required for 

agricultural activities, including a new definition for "normal farming practices" that does 

not require wetland replacement. 

123  Drainage. Clarifies that a wetland replacement plan is not required for certain agricultural 

land depending when planted with crops, or enrolled in a state or federal conservation 

program. 

124  Federal approvals. Clarifies when a wetland replacement plan is not required because of a 

federal approval. 

125  Utilities; public works. Clarifies when a wetland replacement plan is not required for 

routine utility or sewage treatment work. 

126  De minimis. Reduces the amount of de minimis footage in a project that doesn't require a 

wetland replacement plan depending on what type of wetland is affected and whether it lies 

within the 11-county metropolitan area or not. 

127  Exemption conditions. Requires rules by BWSR on the application and implementation of 

wetland exemptions, and the reporting of exempt wetland impacts. 

128  Evaluation. Allows BWSR to develop a professional wetland delineator certification 

program. 

129  Wetland boundary or type determination. Allows 30 days for a ruling on a wetland 

boundary or type appeal by the affected local unit of government. 

130  Appeal. Authorizes BWSR to establish a fee schedule to defray the administrative costs of 

wetland appeals to the board, not to exceed $1,000. 

131  Replacement credits. Technical to conform to immediate above sections on wetlands. 

132  Wetland bank technical. 

133  Wetland technical. 

134  Restrictions on access to wetlands. Prohibits public access, when posted by landowner, for 

a private creation or restoration of a wetland that is adjacent to public land or roadway. 

135  Permit application fees. Authorizes a DNR water appropriation in excess of 100 million 

gallons a year fee to recover the costs of preparing and processing the permit. 

136  Definitions. Defines "performance-based system" for the individual sewage treatment 

system (ISTS) statutes. 

137  Local ordinances. Requires counties to adopt ISTS ordinances to comply with the PCA 

rule revisions within two years of final rule adoption. 

138  ISTS rules. Technical to comply with section 135. 

139  Advisory committee; county individual sewage treatment system management plan. 

Allows a county to adopt an ISTS management plan, utilizing an advisory committee 

formed by the PCA. 

140  Coordination of activities. Declares the parties to be notified by the Environmental Quality 

Board (EQB) when a permit to release genetically engineered wild rice is issued anywhere 

in the U.S. 

141  General authority. Requires the EQB to adopt rules requiring an environmental impact 

statement for a release of genetically engineered wild rice. 

142  Federal oversight. Technical to comply with section 0. 

143  Definitions. Adds § 144.995. Defines important terms used in these sections, including 

"biomonitoring," "biospecimen," and "environmental health tracking." 

144  Environmental health tracking; biomonitoring. Adds §144.996.  

Subd. 1. Environmental health tracking. Requires the Department of Health in 

cooperation with the PCA, Agriculture Department and U of M, to develop an 

environmental health tracking system. 



 

 

► Provides aspects of developing the system, including, but not limited to, the 

following: 

 coordinate activities among state agencies 

 provide health tracking data to the public and researchers 

 develop data sharing agreements to protect privacy 

 describe a strategic plan for future program development 

 organize and analyze data 

 submit a biennial report to the legislature 

► Provides purposes for gathering and analyzing the data, including, but not 

limited to the following: 

 characterizing patterns of prevalence of certain chronic diseases 

 characterizing patterns of occurrence of environmental hazards and exposures 

 presenting descriptive information relevant to policy formation 

Subd. 2. Biomonitoring. Requires the department's environmental lab to conduct 

voluntary biomonitoring on exposed groups to assess exposures to hazardous 

chemicals and or pregnant women and children. Requires the environmental lab to 

share or communicate its results with the public, the Health Promotion and Chronic 

Disease Division, and the advisory panel. Requires the environmental lab to report 

the legislature biennially. 

145  Biomonitoring pilot program. Adds § 144.997. 

Subd. 1. Pilot program. Requires the department's environmental lab to establish a 

biomonitoring pilot program. Provides requirements for the biospecimens collected in 

that program, including studying exposures to specified chemicals from voluntary 

participants. 

Subd. 2. Base program. Provides for continued collection and assessment after the 

conclusion of the pilot program. Requires that the program assess the usefulness of 

continuing to monitor persons from the first phase and identify other exposed groups 

to monitor. 

Subd. 3. Participation. States that participation is voluntary and describes written 

consent requirements. Specifies information that must be given to the participants and 

services that they will receive, including consultations, health care referrals, and 

follow-up counseling. States that all data collected under the biomonitoring program 

is classified as health data and provides protections regarding the identity of 

participants. 

Subd. 4. Program guidelines. Provides that the commissioner shall develop aspects 

of the program, in consultation with the advisory panel, including, but not limited to, 

the following: 

► protocols and program guidelines 

► guidelines for providing confidentiality, informed consent, follow-up 

consultations, and for communicating findings to participants and the public 

► education and outreach that are culturally appropriate 

► training programs for providers, educators, and other program administrators 



 

 

Permits the commissioner to enter into contractual agreements in order to perform the 

activities listed in this subdivision. 

146  Environmental health tracking and biomonitoring advisory panel. Adds § 144.998. 

Subd. 1. Creation. Requires the commissioner to establish an advisory panel and sets 

out guidelines for the panel. 

Subd. 2. Members. Specifies the persons, organizations, and agencies that will be 

represented on the panel. 

Subd. 3. Duties. Requires the advisory panel to make recommendations to the 

commissioner and to the legislature. Specifies the types of information that the panel 

will report, including, but not limited to, the following: 

► priorities for health tracking and biomonitoring 

► specific diseases, exposures and chemicals to study under the environmental 

health tracking system or biomonitoring program 

► communities and areas on which the programs should focus 

► other aspects of design and implementation 

Subd. 4. Liability. Protects members of the panel from certain civil and criminal 

liabilities. 

147  Railroad nature prairie. Allows the DNR with interested parties, to erect markers within 

rights-of-way.  

148  County timber sales. Allows a county board to sell any timber, including biomass, as 

appraised or scaled. 

149  Definitions. Contains definitions, including "commercial decabromodiphenyl ether" and 

"polybrominated diphenyl ethers or PBDE's."  

150  Products banned and exemptions.  

Subd. 1. Penta and octabromodiphenyl ethers. Beginning January 1, 2008, 

prohibits a person from manufacturing, processing, or distributing in commerce a 

product containing more than 1/10 of one percent of pentabromodiphenyl ether or 

octabromodiphenyl ether by mass. 

Subd. 2. Exemptions. Exempts certain products containing PBDE's: transportation 

vehicle parts, military and space program equipment, carpet cushion with recycled 

foam, medical devices, and used products sold or distributed. 

151  State review. Requires the commissioners of health and the Pollution Control Agency 

(PCA) to review uses of commercial decabromodiphenyl ether. 

152  Exemptions and fees. Requires a PCA exemption application fee to enforce this section. 

Sets a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for first offense violations, and up to $5,000 for repeat 

violations of this act. 

153  Biological survey data. Provides that when the county biological survey data is available, 

the commissioner of natural resources must provide it to counties and cities for use in their 

planning activities. 

154  Same as section 152. 

155  Forest classification. Allows DNR to classify portions of a limited classified forest as 

closed, amending previous session law.  

156  Continuous trail designation. Extends the date for completion of the all-terrain and off-

highway continuous trail by the DNR until June 30, 2009. 

157  Exchange of tax-forfeited land; private sale; Itasca County. States that the tax-forfeited 



 

 

land exchanged in Itasca County and sold for a proposed steel mill is exempt from payment 

of 3 percent of the sales price collected by the county auditor. 

158  Timber Sale Permit Termination. Allows the commissioner of natural resources, 

notwithstanding other law, to terminate a timber sale permit upon the request of the permit 

holder and without penalty. Certain conditions first must apply:  

 the permit had to be issued on or after June 1, 2004 and before April 1, 2006;  

 applies only to permits where no harvest activities have occurred; 

 maximum amount of cords of all species to be turned back is 7,500; and  

 reoffer of the forfeited sale no later than January 1, 2008.  

Creates a system of down payments for the permit holder under this authorization. 

159  Forest protection plan. Requires the Forest Resources Council to establish a task force of 

up to 15 forestry stakeholders with broad responsibilities to comprehensively address 

emerging forest pest issues. 

160  Endocrine disruptor report. Requires a PCA report by January 15, 2008, on strategies to 

prevent the entry of endocrine disruptors into state waters. 

161  Easement report required. Requires a DNR report by January 1, 2008, on proposed 

minimum legal and conservation standards applied to conservation easements acquired. 

162  Tax-forfeited lands lease; Itasca County. Allows the Itasca County auditor to lease tax-

forfeited land to Minnesota Steel for a 20-year period, including provision for renewal 

(associated with section 73). 

163  Wild rice study. Requires a DNR study by February 15, 2008, on the protection from 

threats and possible increase in the natural stands of wild rice in the state. 

164  Construction. Technical to comply with sections 0 to 0. 

165  ISTS technical assistance. Requires the PCA to establish a best practices database for ISTS 

management and maintenance. 

166  Wetland rulemaking. Requires BWSR to adopt temporary rules for wetland replacement 

and exemption provisions because of changes in this act that are effective for two years 

until superseded by permanent rules. 

167  Greenleaf state recreation area. Redesignates the Greenleaf state park as a recreation area 

and adds some land. 

168  Vermillion Highlands Wildlife Management Area. Describes permitted uses in the new 

Vermillion Highlands Wildlife Management Area that will utilize 2,840 acres transferred 

last year by the University of Minnesota to the DNR in the stadium bill. Current leases for 

agricultural purposes will be eventually phased out, with the intent to plant and restore 

native prairie. Creates a master planning process and resource inventory for the land. 

169  Information sharing. Requires the PCA, Health Department and U of M to share 

environmental hazard and exposure data and report on the agreements to the legislature. 

170  Repealer. Repeals Minnesota Statutes, sections 85.012, subdivision 24b, relating to former 

designation of Greenleaf state park; and 103G.2241, subdivision 8, for an exemption for 

wetland approved development because of changes above. Repeals Minnesota Statutes 

sections 18G.16 and 89.51, subdivision 8, relating to shade tree pests, as changed by various 

above sections. 



 

 

  

Article 2: Energy 

1          Summary of appropriations. 

2          Energy finance appropriation. 

3          Department of Commerce. 

4          Public Utilities Commission. 

5          NextGen Energy Board. Requires entities receiving grants from the renewable 

development fund under this article to present a research plan and report on project results 

to the board by October 1 of 2007 and 2008. 

6          [16C.141] Employee suggestions; energy savings incentive program. 

Subd. 1. Creation of program. Requires commissioner of administration to 

implement a program making cash awards to state employees who make energy-

saving suggestions. 

Subd. 2. Funding. Specifies that program is funded through a portion of energy 

savings resulting from implementation of the suggestion from the general services 

revolving fund. 

Subd. 3. Report to legislature. Requires the commissioner to report to the legislature 

on the development of the program by January 1, 2008, and every January 15 

thereafter. 

Subd. 4. MnSCU. Specifies that this section does not apply to MnSCU, unless the 

Board of Trustees affirms that it does. 

Subd. 5. Provides that this section is repealed July 1, 2009. 

7          [116C.775] Shipment priorities; nuclear plants. Makes the Monticello nuclear waste 

storage site subject to the existing provision specifying that if a storage or disposal site 

outside Minnesota becomes available, the waste stored in dry casks must be shipped there 

before any shipment of waste from the spent nuclear fuel storage pool. 

8          [116C.777] Site. Specifies that nuclear waste stored in dry casks at Prairie Island must not 

be moved to the storage site at Monticello when it becomes available. 

9          [116C.779] Funding for renewable development. 

Subd. 1. Renewable development account. Requires the public utility owning the 

Monticello nuclear generating plant to transfer to the renewable development account 

$350,000 annually for each dry cask that is stored at the plant's storage facility while 

the facility operates, and $5,250,000 each year the plant is not in operation, if the 

utility did not make a good faith effort to remove the nuclear waste to a facility 

outside Minnesota, as determined by the Public Utilities Commission. Specifies that 

the utility is eligible to apply for renewable development fund grants. 

10      [173.0851] State energy city. Names Elk River a state energy city. 

11      [216B.091] Monthly reports. Requires each public utility to submit monthly data to the 

Public Utilities Commission, including the number of customers with accounts past due, the 

number of disconnections and reconnections, the number of cold weather protection 

requests. 

12      [216B.0951] Propane prepurchase program.  

Subd. 1. Establishment. Requires the commissioner of commerce to operate a 

program to purchase a large amount of propane in non-winter months, to be made 



 

 

available to low-income customers statewide. 

Subd. 2. Hedge account. Authorizes the commissioner to create a hedge account 

from realized program savings to compensate customers if the price at which the 

commissioner purchased propane exceeds winter-delivered fuel prices. 

Subd. 3. Report. Requires the department of commerce to issue a report on program 

results by June 30, 2008. 

13      [216B.096] Cold weather rule; public utilities. 

Subd. 1. Scope. Provides that this section applies only to residential customers of a 

public utility. 

Subd. 2. Definitions. 

Subd. 3. Utility obligations before cold weather period. Requires annual notice to 

all customers of the provisions of this section, including: 

 an explanation of the customer's right and responsibilities under subdivision 5; 

 an explanation of low-cost methods to reduce energy use; and  

 a notice that the utility will send a disconnection notice to a third party designated 

by the customer. 

Each utility must, between September 1 and October 15, attempt to establish a 

payment agreement and reconnect heating service for all customers disconnected 

after the previous heating season.  

Subd. 4. Notice before disconnection during cold weather period. Before 

disconnection, a utility must provide notice to the customer containing the date of 

disconnection; the amount due; how to avoid disconnection; information regarding 

payment agreements; a statement of the customer's rights and responsibilities; and a 

list of local energy assistance and weatherization providers.  

Subd. 5. Cold weather rule. Prohibits a utility from disconnecting and not 

reconnecting during the cold weather period (October 15 to April 15) a customer 

whose household income is at or below 50 percent of the state median if the customer 

makes timely payments under a payment agreement with the utility that requires the 

customer to pay no more than 10 percent of monthly income toward current and past 

due utility bills. The customer can request modification of a payment agreement if the 

customer's financial circumstances have changed. 

Subd. 6. Verification of income. Provides a utility with various options to verify 

household income.  

Subd. 7. Prohibitions and requirements. Prohibits disconnection under certain 

conditions:  

 during an appeal regarding the customer's income or an inability to agree on a 

payment agreement with a utility; 

 earlier than 10 working days after a disconnection notice has been mailed, or seven 

days after personal service; 

 when utility offices are closed; on a weekend, holiday or the day before a holiday; 

after the close of business, unless a utility field representative who has authorization 

offers a payment agreement to a customer; or on a Friday, unless the customer 

refuses to enter into a payment agreement offered that day; and 



 

 

 before the utility has investigated whether the dwelling is occupied. 

Subd. 8. Disputes; customer appeals. Requires a utility to provide a commission-

approved written notice of a customer's right to appeal a utility determination that 

household income exceeds 50 percent of the state median, or when agreement cannot 

be reached regarding a payment agreement. Appeals must be decided by the 

commission within 30 days. 

Subd. 8a. Cooperative and municipal disputes. Provides that cold weather 

complaints against a municipal or co-op are governed under section 216B.097. 

Subd. 9. Customers above 50 percent of state median income. Describes cold 

weather rule procedures for customers with incomes above 50 percent of the state 

median. 

Subd. 10. Reporting. Requires a utility to file with the commission, by November 1, 

a report containing the number of customers disconnected as of October 1 and 

October 15, and, if customers remain disconnected on October 15, each week 

thereafter until April 15. The number of reconnections each week must also be 

reported. 

14      [216B.097] Cold weather rule; cooperative or municipal utility. 

Subd. 1. Application; notice to residential customer. Specifies that a municipal 

utility or cooperative electric association must reconnect a residential heating 

customer between October 15 and April 15 under certain conditions: 

 the customer's household income is at or below the state median; and 

 the customer enters into a payment agreement with a utility and makes reasonably 

timely payments under it. 

15      Subd. 3. Restrictions if disconnection necessary. Establishes restrictions for 

involuntary disconnections between October 15 and April 15. 

16      [216B.098] Residential customer protections. 

Subd. 4. Undercharges. Provides that a utility may recover undercharges from a 

customer under a payment agreement whose duration recognizes the financial 

circumstances of a customer whose household income is at or below the state median. 

If a customer's complaint leads to discovery of the undercharge, the utility can collect 

undercharges for the period following the complaint only if it initiated an 

investigation within a reasonable time after it was made. 

17      [216B.812] Fostering use of hydrogen energy. 

Subd. 1. Early purchase and deployment of renewable hydrogen, fuel cells, and 

related technologies by the state. Amends current law-which requires the 

Department of Commerce to identify opportunities to demonstrate the use of 

hydrogen, fuel cells and related technologies in state facilities and fleets-to add the 

Pollution Control Agency and strikes language regarding "demonstration" of the 

technology and substitutes "deployment." 

Requires these agencies to recommend to the Department of Administration changes 

to state procurement guidelines to facilitate hydrogen deployment.  

18      [216B.16] Rate change; procedure; hearing. 



 

 

Subd. 10. Intervenor compensation. Specifies the conditions an intervenor must 

meet-including "materially assisting" in the commission's deliberations and 

experiencing financial hardship if compensation is not awarded-in order to receive 

compensation for the costs of intervention from the commission. 

19      Subd. 15. Low-income affordability programs. Requires a public utility serving 

natural gas customers to file an affordability program directed toward low-income 

customers with the commission. A utility may recover program costs on a timely 

basis. 

20      [216B.1637] Recovery of certain limited utility greenhouse gas infrastructure costs. 
Allows Xcel Energy to file for cost recovery with respect to replacing cast iron natural gas 

lines and breakers containing sulfur hexafluoride to reduce greenhouse gas releases, if the 

commission finds that the projects are in the public interest and do not impose excessive 

costs on ratepayers. 

21      [216B.241] Energy conservation improvement. 

Subd. 6. Renewable energy research. Amends renewable research activities by the 

University of Minnesota Initiative for Renewable Energy and the Environment that 

are funded under this section, and extends the expiration date for funding by two 

years, to June 30, 2010. 

22      [216B.812] Fostering use of hydrogen energy. 

Subd. 2. Pilot projects. Strikes "demonstrate" and inserts "deploy" with respect to 

bridge technologies the Department of Commerce must consider in developing pilot 

projects. 

Strikes language stating that, with respect to demonstrations, individual system 

components "must" meet commercial performance standards, and states these 

standards "should, if feasible," be met.  

23      [216B.813] Minnesota renewable hydrogen initiative. 

Subd. 1. Road map. Provides that the department of commerce coordinate and 

administer the Initiative or contract with a nonpartisan nonprofit organization to 

undertake those activities. The Initiative is to be a public-private partnership that 

oversees the development and implementation of a road map to achieve the state's 

hydrogen goals enumerated in section 216B.013. The road map should establish 

goals, a timeline and milestones. The department must report to the legislature on its 

progress in implementing the road map by November 1 in odd-numbered years.  

Subd. 2. Grants. Requires the commissioner of commerce to develop a competitive 

grant program for projects to help the state reach its hydrogen goals. The 

commissioner is to establish a multi-stakeholder advisory committee to identify 

promising hydrogen deployment projects and recommend grants. 

Preference is to be given to projects embodying concepts contained in the 

department's recent biennial report on hydrogen projects. Eligible projects must 

include hydrogen production options listed in the report. Education must be part of 

each grant. Non-public grantees must provide a 50 percent match with non-state 

funds.  

24      [216C.051] Legislative Electric Energy Task Force. 

Subd. 2. Establishment. Updates the names of house and senate committees whose 



 

 

chairs are members of the task force. 

25      Subd. 9. Expiration. Extends the expiration date for the Legislative Electric Energy 

Task Force by one year, to June 30, 2010. 

26      [216C.052] Manitoba Hydro information. Requires the Legislative Electric Energy Task 

Force to annually request from the Manitoba-Hydro Electric Board certain information 

regarding communities that are signatories to the Northern Flood Agreement. 

27      [216C.385] Clean Energy Resource Teams. 

Subd. 1. Findings. Declares community-based energy programs are an effective 

means of implementing improved energy practices and a public purpose for which 

money may be spent. 

Subd. 2. Mission, organization, and membership. Describes the history of Clean 

Energy Resource Teams (CERTs) and its mission. 

Subd. 3. Powers and duties. Lists powers and duties CERTs may execute in 

implementing community-based energy programs. 

Subd. 4. Department assistance. Specifies that the commissioner of commerce may 

assist the CERTs in their mission. 

28      [216C.39] Rural wind energy development revolving loan fund.  

Subd. 1. Establishment. Creates a revolving loan fund as an account in the special 

revenue fund. 

Subd. 2. Purpose. States that the loan fund is to provide financial assistance to 

develop wind energy projects that qualify as C-BED projects. 

Subd. Expenditures. Specifies that money in the loan fund is appropriated to the 

commissioner of commerce to make loans to qualifying owners of wind energy 

projects to assist in funding wind studies and transmission interconnection studies. 

Loans are to be structured for repayment within 30 days after commercial operations 

begin or two years from the loan issuance date, whichever is sooner. 

Subd. 4. Limitations. Sets a loan cap of $100,000 to any single project or entity. 

Subd. 5. Administration; eligible projects. Describes eligibility requirements and 

specifies administrative procedures for the program. 

29      [216C.41] Renewable energy production incentive. 

Subd. 3. Eligibility window. Makes the production of gas from a qualified on-farm 

biogas facility eligible to receive incentive payments through December 31, 2017. 

(Current law requires that gas be used to generate electricity in order to qualify for the 

incentive.) 

30      Petroleum violation escrow funds. Requires petroleum violation escrow funds, which 

under current law are used for state energy loans for schools, hospitals and public buildings, 

to be used for grants to K-12 schools for energy conservation or renewable energy projects. 

The commissioner of commerce, to whom these funds are appropriated, must seek a federal 

waiver, if necessary, to allow for these uses. 

31      Uniform codes and standards for hydrogen, fuel cells, and related technologies; 

recommendations and report. The commissioner of labor and industry, in consultation 

with others, must develop recommendations for uniform codes and standards, including 



 

 

safety standards, for hydrogen infrastructure and technologies.  

32      Hydrogen refueling station grants. Expands the purposes for which the commissioner of 

commerce may make grants for hydrogen refueling stations to include grants to develop, 

deploy and encourage commercially promising renewable hydrogen production systems.  

33      Off-site renewable distributed generation. Requires the commissioner of commerce to 

convene a stakeholder group to evaluate the feasibility and potential for the interconnection 

and parallel operation of off-site renewable distributed generation, and to issue 

recommendations to the house and senate energy committees by February 1, 2008. 

34      Definitions. Defines "terrestrial carbon sequestration" and "geologic carbon sequestration." 

35      Terrestrial carbon sequestration activities.  

Subd. 1. Study; scope. Requests the University of Minnesota to conduct a study 

assessing Minnesota's potential capacity to sequester carbon in terrestrial systems. 

The study must:  

 construct a statewide inventory and database of the capacity of different land types-

forests, wetlands, agricultural lands-to store carbon;  

 measure the ability of various land use practices-growing different species of crops 

and grasses-to sequester carbon;  

 identify monitoring sites to measure the impact of large long-term factors such as 

climate change and increasing carbon dioxide levels on terrestrial sequestration 

capacity;  

 identify long-term projects to measure the impact of deliberate sequestration 

practices on various ecosystems; and  

 evaluate state policies that affect levels of terrestrial sequestration and make 

recommendations to increase those rates.  

Subd. 2. Coordination of terrestrial carbon sequestration activities. The planning 

and implementation of the study will be coordinated by the Minnesota Carbon 

Sequestration Initiative, a university-government-stakeholder task force. 

Subd. 3. Contracting. Allows the University to contract for any of the activities in 

subdivision 1. 

Subd. 4. Report. Requires the commissioner of natural resources to submit a report 

on the study results to the legislature by February 1, 2008. 

36      Geologic carbon sequestration assessment.  

Subd. 1. Study; scope. Requires the Minnesota Geological Survey to conduct a study 

of the potential capacity for sequestration of carbon dioxide in Minnesota's 

Midcontinent Rift system, a geological formation in the eastern portion of the state. 

The study is to review existing data to understand the physical aspects of the 

formation that have a bearing on carbon sequestration capacity. A second study will 

use computer models developed for similar geologic formations outside Minnesota 

that have been studied in more detail to assess these characteristics as well. 

Subd. 2. Consultation. Requires the Survey to consult with the Minnesota Mineral 

Coordinating Committee in planning and implementing the study design. 

Subd. 3. Report. Requires the commissioner of natural resources to submit a report 

on the study results is to be submitted to the legislature by February 1, 2008.  

37      St. Paul Port Authority. Gives the St. Paul Port Authority authority to create a nonprofit 



 

 

corporation to own and operate a steam and electricity producing facility in St. Paul that 

uses primarily renewable energy, excluding mixed municipal solid waste. 

38      Biofuel permitting report. Requires the Pollution Control Agency, the Department of 

Natural Resources and the Environmental Quality Board to report to the legislature on the 

process of issuing permits for biofuel production facilities. 

39      Winona County; electric power plant. Grants authority to Winona County to construct 

and own, purchase for issue bonds for a wind energy conversion system within its corporate 

limits, and grants it certain powers with respect to such facilities. 

40      Application of rules. Instructs the commission to amend Minnesota Rules, chapters 7820 

and 7831, to conform with the provisions of this section. 

41      Revisor's instruction. Instructs the revisor to change the reference from "216B.095" to 

"216B.096" in Minnesota Rules, chapter 7820. 

42      Repealer. Repeals Minnesota Rules, parts 7820.1500; 7820.1600; 7820.1700; 7820.1750; 

7820.1800; 7820.1900; 7820.2000; 7820.2100; 7820.2150; 7820.2200; and 7820.2300; 

(which apply to the current cold weather rule statute), as they pertain to rate cases before the 

commission. Minnesota Statutes 2006, section 216B.095, is repealed. 

43      Effective date. Sections 13, 41, and 42 are effective September 1, 2008. 

  

Article 3: Commerce 

Overview 

This article consists of changes in laws involving regulation of several financial 

services industries and professions by the Department of Commerce. Industries 

and professions affected include financial institutions (sections 0 to 0, 0, and 0), 

mortgage companies (sections 0 to 0, 0, and 0), vehicle protection products 

warrantors (sections 0 and 0 to 0), insurance agents (sections 0, 0, and 0), mutual 

fund companies (sections 0 and 0), real estate brokers and salespersons (sections 

0, 0, 0, and 0), real estate appraisers (sections 0 and 0), fuel dealers and 

distributors (sections 0 and 0), credit repair services (section 0), and debt 

management services (sections 0, 0 to 0, 0, 0, 0 to 0, and 0). 

1         Vehicle protection product warrantors. Provides a cross-reference for a data practices 

provision later in this act, regarding vehicle protection product warranties under the new 

chapter 59C. 

2          Scope. Makes a technical conforming change relating to the debt management services 

provisions in sections 0 to 0 of this article. 

3          License technology fees. Creates a new technology surcharge on Commerce Department 

licenses for insurance agents, real estate brokers and salespersons, and real estate appraisers. 

The surcharge would pay costs of technology to keep track of continuing education 

requirements for those professions, in order to reduce license renewal costs and delays. The 

licensees are now paying for those costs by paying the department's vendor each time they 

or a continuing education provider interacts with the database regarding that licensee's 

records. The surcharge can be no higher than $40 for a two-year license period and must be 

temporarily suspended or reduced by the commissioner if the balance in the fund that the 

money goes into gets above $2 million. So, it could be called a "blinker surcharge." Creates 

a new account in the special revenue fund for this purpose. Sections 0 and 0 to 0 apply this 

surcharge to specific professions. 



 

 

4          General. Makes a technical conforming change relating to debt management services 

providers. 

5          Supervision over financial institutions. Makes a conforming change, reflecting the 

commissioner of commerce's new power to do financial examinations of debt management 

services providers under section 0. 

6          Assessment authority. Makes a conforming change relating to debt management services 

providers. 

7          Corporation may be member or shareholder of federal agency. Permits state-chartered 

banks to borrow amounts from the Federal Home Loan Bank System up to 35 percent of the 

bank's total assets. Current law is 25 percent.  

8          Additional charges. Prohibits lenders, on a payday loan transaction, from assessing a civil 

penalty for a bounced check against the customer, if the lender advances cash to the 

customer in exchange for a (probably post-dated) check.  

9          Authorization, terms, conditions, and prohibitions. Makes a change to conform to the 

preceding section on bounced checks for payday loans. 

10      General authority. Eliminates a requirement that out-of-state financial institutions notify 

the commissioner of commerce prior to establishing an automated teller machine (ATM) in 

this state. This conforms to section 0, which repeals this requirement for in-state financial 

institutions. 

11      Retirement, health savings, and medical savings accounts. Permits state-chartered 

financial institutions to establish health savings accounts that are transactions ("checking") 

accounts, rather than savings accounts. (These transaction accounts will presumably pay 

interest.) Exempts those accounts from a requirement relating to checking the financial 

background of new checking account customers. 

12      Retirement, health savings, and medical savings accounts. Makes a change to conform 

to the preceding section regarding health savings accounts. 

13      Residential mortgage originator licensing requirement. (a) Removes obsolete language.  

(b) Requires that an applicant for a license to originate mortgage loans be organized legally 

as a business entity, such as a corporation, and not be simply an individual. The applicant 

must be approved as a mortgage lender by HUD or Fannie Mae; have a minimum net worth 

of at least $250,000; or have a surety bond of at least $50,000. 

(c) Eliminates current exemptions from licensing that apply to individuals (since individuals 

would no longer be eligible to be licensed anyway), and adds new exemptions, including 

occasional lenders, financial institutions, government, and pension plan loans to 

participants, fiduciaries, and persons exempted by order of the commissioner. 

14      Exemptions from licensure. Makes conforming changes in cross-references. 

15      Application contents. (a) Makes conforming changes.  

(b) and (c) Makes conforming changes to specify what must be on an application for 

licensure as a mortgage originator, or submitted with it, given the changes in other sections 

of this bill. 

16      Waiver. Gives the commissioner authority to waive a requirement that applies to an initial 

mortgage originator license application for good cause and to permit submission of 

substituted information. 

17      Exemption. Eliminates a reference to a provision repealed in section 0.  

18      Amounts. Increases the license fee for mortgage originators from $850 to $2,125 for a new 

license and from $450 to $1,125 for a renewal. These licenses are good for two years. 

19      Examinations. Gives the commissioner the power to conduct financial examinations of 

mortgage originators and servicers on the same basis as the commissioner has for banks and 



 

 

other financial businesses regulated by the commissioner. 

20      Education requirement. Requires that each employee or independent contractor of a 

licensed mortgage originator have 15 hours of training approved by the commissioner prior 

to beginning work. The training must cover state and federal laws that govern mortgage 

lending. Makes this section effective March 1, 2008. 

21      Short title. Says that this new chapter may be cited as "the Vehicle Protection Product Act." 

22      Definitions. Defines 11 terms. The most significant one is the definition of "vehicle 

protection product," which makes it clear that this term refers to devices designed to be 

installed on a motor vehicle to prevent damage due to theft or vandalism, such as alarm 

systems; body part marking; steering, pedal and ignition locks; and satellite tracking 

devices.  

23      Scope and exemptions. (a) Requires sellers, warrantors, and administrators of vehicle 

protection products to comply with chapter 59C, which will be its own new chapter of 

Minnesota Statutes. 

(b) Exempts vehicle protection products from all insurance laws other than this new chapter 

59C, except one law that applies to settlement of claims under service contracts. 

(c) Says that service contract providers who do not sell vehicle protection products are not 

subject to this new chapter and that vehicle protection products are not subject to chapter 

59B, which regulates some service contracts. 

(d) Says that warranties, indemnity agreements, and guarantees that do not involve vehicle 

protection products are not subject to this chapter.  

24      Registration and filing requirements of warrantors. Requires warrantors (companies that 

warrant the product to consumers, which is an insurance type of risk) to register with the 

commissioner of commerce and provide certain information to the commissioner, including 

proof of "financial responsibility" (meaning that the warrantor would be able to pay claims 

on the warranties). Proof of financial responsibility must be either a copy of a warranty 

reimbursement insurance policy that meets the requirements of sections 26 and 27 of this 

bill, or proof that the company, or its parent company, has a net worth of at least $50 

million. Permits the commissioner to charge the warrantor a registration fee of $250 

annually. 

25      Financial responsibility.  

Subd. 1. General requirements. Requires that a warrantor registering with the 

commissioner provide proof of financial responsibility under either subdivision 2 or 3 

of this section. Provides that no other financial security or financial standard is 

required. 

Subd. 2. Warranty reimbursement insurance policy. Says that one way a 

warrantor may prove financial responsibility is to show coverage under a warranty 

reimbursement insurance policy issued by an insurance company authorized to do 

business in this state, which commits the insurance company to pay 100 percent of 

whatever the warrantor is liable for under the warranties issued on the vehicle 

protection products. (This removes insurance risk from the warrantor.) 

Subd. 3. Network or stockholder's equity. Says that one way a warrantor may 

prove financial responsibility is for the warrantor or its parent company to maintain a 

net worth or stockholders' equity of at least $50 million. States the required proof of 

that financial strength. If the warrantor relies on the financial strength of its parent 

company to meet this requirement, requires that the parent company guarantee 



 

 

payment of the warrantor's obligations under its warranties in this state.  

26      Warranty reimbursement insurance policy requirements. Provides standards that must 

be met for a warranty reimbursement insurance policy issued in this state. Requires that 

such an insurance policy cover all obligations of the warrantor to pay money or provide 

services, permit a warranty holder to file a claim directly with the insurance company if the 

warrantor does not pay the claim within 60 days of receiving proof of loss, consider 

premiums as received by the insurance company from the warrantor if the warrantor 

collected a payment from the customer regardless of whether the warrantor actually paid the 

insurance company the premium or notified the insurance company of the issuance of the 

warranty, and protect the customer and the warrantor from harm as a result of cancellation 

of the policy by the insurance company.  

27      Disclosure to warranty holders. States ten disclosures that warrantors must make to 

customers in the warranty. 

28      Prohibited acts. Prohibits a warrantor from using in its name, contracts, or literature words 

that might give the customer the impression that the warranty is an insurance product. 

Prohibits a warrantor or a vehicle protection product seller (such as an auto dealer), from 

requiring purchase of a vehicle protection product as a condition of getting financing for 

purchase of the vehicle. 

29      Recordkeeping. Requires warrantors to keep records of their transactions. Gives the 

commissioner authority to examine those records. 

30      Commissioner's powers and duties. Gives the commissioner of commerce authority to 

examine the records of warrantors and administrators of warranty programs. Gives the 

commissioner authority to enforce this chapter, using the commissioner's regular 

enforcement tools and procedures. 

31      Applicability. Says that this chapter on vehicle protection products may not be used to 

imply that anyone did anything wrong before it becomes effective.  

32      Producer training requirements for long-term care partnership program insurance 

products. Creates new training requirements for insurance agents (now called "insurance 

producers" in our laws) who sell long-term care insurance. This special training is related to 

the beginning of the long-term care partnership program, which adds to the complexity of 

selling long-term care insurance. This training may count toward the agent's general 

continuing education requirements. The required training is eight hours of initial training 

and four additional hours every two years. Permits agents until January 1, 2008, to get the 

initial training. 

33      Licensing fees. Imposes the new technology surcharge created in section 3 on insurance 

agents, effective August 31, 2007. 

34      Registration or notice filing fee. Increases the $25 million yearly cap on total securities 

registration fees collected from mutual fund companies to $25.6 million. Under current law, 

total amounts collected above $25 million per year are returned to the companies as rebates 

on a pro rata basis. The section of current law amended here was repealed in 2006 

legislation, effective August 1, 2007. 

35      Registration or notice filing fee. Makes a change to conform to the preceding section. The 

current law amended here was enacted in 2006, to become effective August 1, 2007. 

36      Amounts. Imposes the new technology surcharge created in section 0 on real estate brokers 

and salespersons, effective immediately but collected on renewals based upon the extended 

renewal date of August 31, 2007, as provided in section 0. 

37      Deposits of fees. Says the amount collected under the preceding section must be deposited 

in the separate account created for the technology surcharges.  

38      Amounts. Imposes the new technology surcharge created in section 0 on real estate 

appraisers, effective June 30, 2007. 



 

 

39      In lieu of surety bond. Changes a law governing collateral that banks are required to post 

as collateral for bank deposits of local governments (that exceed FDIC coverage). Under 

current law, banks may post as collateral for a local government's deposits, the A-rated 

general obligation bonds of any local government. If the bank posts as collateral the general 

obligation bonds of the same local government that makes the deposit, the bank may use 

unrated general obligation bonds. This section changes that to also permit use of rated 

general obligation bonds of that same local government. The net effect is to permit use of 

the bonds rated lower than A as collateral for deposits of that same local government. 

40      Petroleum inspection fees. Permits a portion of petroleum inspection fees, now used for 

grants for retrofit of oil burners, to be used for grants for installation of renewable energy 

equipment in households eligible for weatherization assistance. 

41      Discrimination prohibition. Prohibits dealers or distributors of liquid propane or number 1 

or number 2 fuel oil to discriminate against customers who receive grants under the low-

income home energy assistance plan. This section applies only to dealers or distributors 

who have signed a vendor agreement with that program. 

42      Telephone solicitation. Excludes nonprofit debt management services providers from the 

rights of other nonprofit companies to make unsolicited telephone calls in order to sell 

goods or services.  

43      Definitions. Makes a conforming change to exclude debt management services providers 

from a definition of "foreclosure consultant." 

44      Fees. Increases the annual registration fee paid to the Department of Commerce by credit 

services organizations ("credit repair" providers) from $100 to $1,000. This is the only 

section of the bill that affects this type of business. This is not the same type of business that 

is dealt with in the sections of this bill that deal with debt management services providers. 

45      Definitions. Defines eleven terms used in the 16 sections that follow, relating to debt 

management services providers. These are businesses that serve debtors in severe financial 

difficulty, usually by negotiating with creditors and receiving a monthly debt payment from 

the debtor, to be distributed to creditors. Under current law, they are called "debt prorating 

agencies." The definition of "debt management services provider" provides eleven 

exemptions, including one for "debt settlement providers," as also defined in this section. 

Limits the applicable debtors to those whose debts are primarily personal and not business 

debts. 

46      Requirement of registration. Requires debt management services providers who intend to 

provide services to Minnesota consumers to register with the commissioner of commerce. 

Current law requires licensure, but only for those who have a place of business in the state. 

This would now also include out-of-state debt management services providers that do 

business with Minnesota consumers by telephone, mail, or over the internet.  

47      Registration. Specifies the information that must be provided on an application for 

registration as a debt management services provider. Provides that registration is good for 

one year. Requires a $1,000 initial registration fee. Requires posting a surety bond in an 

amount not less than $5,000, or a larger amount if required by the commissioner. Requires 

the commissioner to maintain a list of registrants and post it on the department's website. 

48      Nonassignment of registration. Prohibits a debt management services provider from 

transferring a registration to a different company without the commissioner's consent. 

49      Renewal of registration. Requires annual renewals of registration, for a fee of $250, for 

debt management services providers. 

50      Other duties of registrant. Requires debt management services providers to promptly 

update information required for registration. Requires them to allow a debtor, upon request, 

to see the registration. 

51      Denial of registration. States the grounds upon which the commissioner may deny an 

application for registration of a debt management services provider. 



 

 

52      Suspending, revoking, or refusing to register. States the process by which the 

commissioner may take disciplinary or other enforcement action, including imposing a civil 

penalty, against a debt management services provider. 

53      Written debt management services agreement. Requires that debt management services 

be provided only under a written contract. Specifies what must be covered in the contract, 

and what must not be in the contract. 

54      Right to cancel. Specifies a debtor's right to cancel a contract for debt management 

services. 

55      Books, records, and information. Requires debt management services providers to create 

and maintain records sufficient for the commissioner to determine whether the registrant is 

complying with laws and to permit debtors to determine the amounts that were paid to 

creditors.  

56      Fees, payments, and consent of creditors. Specifies the fees that may be charged by debt 

management services providers for their services and spells out their duties to the debtors 

they serve, especially in regard to obtaining consent of creditors to the debtor's debt 

management plan. 

57      Prohibitions. Specifies the things a debt management services provider is forbidden to do. 

58      Advertisement of debt management services plans. Prohibits false or misleading 

advertising by debt management services providers. 

59      Debt management services agreement rescission. Permits a debtor to rescind a debt 

management services contract if the provider commits a material violation of this chapter. 

Requires a full refund of fees paid by the debtor in that case. 

60      Enforcement; penalties. Provides enforcement of the preceding sections regarding debt 

management services providers through a private cause of action under section 8.31, a 

separate private cause of action under this section, injunctive relief, and enforcement by the 

attorney general under section 8.31.  

61      Investigation. Gives the commissioner examination powers and the right to require a 

financial audit of debt management services providers. 

62      License renewal extension. Extends the 2007 renewal date for current mortgage originator 

and servicer license holders, from July 31 to October 30, due to the changes made in this 

bill. 

63      Delayed license renewal date. Delays the June 30, 2007, renewal date for real estate 

brokers and salespersons to August 31, 2007, due to the technology surcharge applied to 

them in section 0. 

64      Repealer. (a) Repeals an obsolete law relating to organizational expenses of new banks. 

Repeals a law requiring financial institutions to notify the commissioner of commerce 15 

days prior to their installation of a new ATM. Repeals a law requiring lower solvency 

requirements for mortgage originators than are required in section 0. 

(b) Repeals all the current laws regulating what will now be called debt management 

services providers, which are replaced in sections 0 to 0. 

  


