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Overview 

Chapter 241 requires new smart phones sold in Minnesota to be equipped with 

antitheft functionality and regulates the sale of used cell phones.  

Section   

Article 1: Smart phone antitheft protection  

1  [325F.698] Smart phone antitheft protection. 

     Subd. 1. Definitions.  Defines smart phone. 

     Subd. 2. Antitheft functionality required.  Requires a smart phone manufactured 

after July 1, 2015, that is sold or purchased in Minnesota to be equipped with antitheft 

functionality or capable of downloading that functionality, at no cost to the purchaser. 

2  Report on smart phone antitheft functionality. Requires smart phone manufacturers and 

operating systems and service providers to report to the legislature by January 15, 2015, 

describing the antitheft technology its smart phones will be equipped with in order to comply 

with section 1. 

Article 2:  Resale of cellphones    

1  [325E.319] Wireless communications devices; acquisition for resale. 

     Subd. 1. Definitions. 
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     Subd. 2. Purchase or acquisition record required.  Requires a dealer – a person 

who buys or sells used cell phones – to keep a written record of each acquisition that 

includes information about the device, the transaction, the seller of the device 

(including driver’s license number), and a statement signed by the seller attesting that 

the cell phone is not stolen and is free of any liens or encumbrances.  These records: 

 are not required for phones purchased from merchants, manufacturers, or 

wholesalers having an established place of business; 

 must be retained for three years; 

 must be available for inspection by a law enforcement agency; and 

 may not be disclosed to others without the seller’s consent. 

     Subd. 3. Records; prohibitions.  Prohibits a dealer from violating the provisions 

of subdivision 2, from falsifying any entry in a cell phone purchase record, and from 

purchasing a used cell phone from a person under the age of 18. 

     Subd. 4. Payment for used wireless communications devices.  Requires payment 

for a used cell phone by a check mailed to a specific address or by electronic transfer. 

     Subd. 5. Investigative holds; confiscation of property.  Prohibits a used cell 

phone dealer from selling or removing from the dealer’s premises a used cell phone if 

notified by a law enforcement official that the official has probable cause to believe 

the cell phone is stolen or is evidence of a crime.  This notification must be confirmed 

in writing within 30 days, and may be renewed.  The official may physically confiscate 

the cell phone.  If, following a notification, the official does not physically remove the 

cell phone from the dealer’s premises within 15 days, the dealer may sell the phone.  A 

dealer may seek restitution in any criminal case that arises from an investigation. 

     Subd. 6. Video security cameras required.  Requires a dealer to install and 

operate video cameras positioned to record the face of used cell phone sellers, and the 

date and time. 

     Subd. 7. Criminal penalty.  Provides that an intentional violation of this section is 

a misdemeanor. 

     Subd. 8. Application.  Provides that this section does not apply to a cell phone 

returned to its place of purchase under the dealer’s return policies, to cell phones 

acquired under a manufacturer’s or dealer’s trade-in program, or to cell phones 

acquired by pawnbrokers. 

 


