House Research

-Act Summary-

Chapter: 85 **Session:** 2017 Regular Session

Topic: Specifying limitation on notice of release from emergency hold

Analyst: Sarah Sunderman **Date:** June 5, 2017

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd/.

Overview

Under Minnesota Statutes, section 253B.05, a person who is mentally ill, developmentally disabled, or chemically dependent, and is in danger of causing injury to self or others if not immediately detained, may be admitted or held for emergency care and treatment in a treatment facility for up to 72 hours. When a person is discharged or released during the 72 hour period, the head of the treatment facility is required to notify the responsible local agency. This act requires compliance with federal regulations relating to confidentiality of records for alcohol and drug abuse patients.

Section

Duration of hold. Amends § 253B.05, subd. 3. Limits notice provided to the responsible local agency by the head of a treatment facility upon a person's release or discharge from a 72-hour hold, to a notice that does not violate federal law governing alcohol and drug abuse patient record confidentiality. Makes this section effective the day following final enactment.