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Overview 
This is the combined Public Safety and Judiciary finance and policy bill. 

Article 1: Judiciary Appropriations 
This article appropriates money for the supreme court, court of appeals, district courts, Board 
of Civil Legal Aid, Guardian ad Litem Board, tax court, Uniform Laws Commission, Board on 
Judicial Standards, Board of Public Defense, Department of Human Rights, Office of Appellate 
Counsel and Training, Competency Attainment Board, Cannabis Expungement Board, and 
Secretary of State. The article includes funding for new positions in the Guardian ad Litem 
Board to supervise volunteers and reduces unspent appropriations from prior years. 

The article authorizes the judicial branch to charge a fee for electronic access to certain court 
records and information. It also increases civil filing and motion fees by $25. Filing fees for most 
civil actions increase from $285 to $310. Fees for dissolution of marriage increase from $315 to 
$340. Motion fees increase from $75 to $100. 

Article 2: Public Safety Appropriations 
This article appropriates money for the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission, 
Department of Public Safety, Peace Officer Standards and Training Board, Private Detective 
Board, Department of Corrections, Ombudsperson for Corrections, and Clemency Review 
Commission. 

Within the appropriations to the Department of Public Safety, the article includes $125,000 
each year for supplemental nonprofit security grants. It contains appropriations from the 
general fund and workers compensation fund to establish a Financial Crimes and Fraud Section 
in the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and a corresponding reduction to the appropriation to 
the Department of Commerce related to the transfer of employees from the Commerce Fraud 
Bureau. It directs the state fire marshal to conduct a comprehensive assessment of how 
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firefighting services are provided in the state and make recommendations for any proposed 
changes. The article appropriates $100,000 each year for a grant to an organization that 
provides legal representation for children in need of protection or services and children in out-
of-home placement. It also appropriates $100,000 each year for a grant to the Minnesota 
County Attorneys Association to be used for prosecutorial and law enforcement training. 

Within the appropriation to the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board, the article 
appropriates $4,942,000 each year to support and strengthen law enforcement training 
through the fund known as the Philando Castile Memorial Training Fund. The base for the 
appropriation is $878,000 beginning in fiscal year 2028. 

The article appropriates $250,000 in fiscal year 2026 to the Office of Higher Education to 
provide reimbursement grants to eligible postsecondary schools certified to provide programs 
of professional peace officer education for providing in-service training programs on the use of 
force, including deadly force, by peace officers. 

In addition, the article extends the deadline to use certain appropriations made in 2023 and 
2024 and contains the following: 

Section Description – Article 2: Public Safety Appropriations 

10 Appropriation; Minnesota Correctional Facility – Stillwater studies and strategic 
planning; report. 
Appropriates $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 to the commissioner of corrections to 
conduct a management and decommissioning study related to the closure of MCF- 
Stillwater. The report must be submitted by September 30, 2026. 

11 Cancellation. 
Cancels $1,000,000 of an appropriation made in fiscal year 2024 for asset 
preservation by the Department of Corrections. The cancellation must take place by 
June 30, 2025. 

12 Transfer; Minnesota victims of crime account. 
Transfers $7,232,000 in fiscal year 2026 from the general fund to the Minnesota 
victims of crime account. 

13 Department of Public Safety; grant contracts and programs administrative costs. 
Establishes that the Department of Public Safety can use up to ten percent of 
appropriations made for competitive grants under this act for administrative costs 
and up to five percent of the appropriations for grants to named recipients. 
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Section Description – Article 2: Public Safety Appropriations 

15 Commissioner, powers and duties. 
Requires the commissioner of corrections to develop a written plan that minimizes 
staff layoffs and identifies potential adverse impacts if the commissioner considers 
closing a state facility. 

16 Minnesota victims of crime account. 
Establishes the Minnesota victims of crime account in the special revenue fund. 
Provides that the account consists of money deposited into the account and any 
interest or earnings of the account. Appropriates money in the account to the 
commissioner of public safety to make grants to programs that provide services to 
victims of crime. Requires an annual report regarding money deposited into the 
account. Establishes an annual general fund transfer of $878,000 into the account in 
fiscal year 2028 and $879,000 each year beginning in fiscal year 2029. 

17 Terms of license; fee; premarital education. 
Increases civil marriage license fees by $10. The fee increases from $115 to $125 or, 
if the parties qualify for a reduced fee after taking premarital education, from $40 to 
$50. 

18 Disposition of license fee. 
Requires that $10 from each marriage license fee be deposited in the Minnesota 
victims of crime account in the special revenue fund. 

19 Corporate offenders; penalty assessment required. 
Requires a corporation sentenced for a criminal offense to pay an assessment in 
addition to any fine imposed by the court. The assessment is up to $1,000,000 for 
felony offenses, $250,000 for gross misdemeanors, and $100,000 for misdemeanors. 
The court must impose an assessment of at least 30 percent of the maximum unless 
the defendant makes a showing of undue hardship. Identifies the factors a court 
must consider when determining the amount of an assessment. Requires any money 
collected to be deposited in the Minnesota victims of crime account. 

20 Victim services assessment. 
Requires a person sentenced for certain criminal offenses to pay an assessment in 
addition to any fine imposed by the court. The assessment must be between $500 
and $750 for a misdemeanor conviction and $750 to $1,000 for any other offense. 
Requires a waiver of the requirement for defendants who are indigent and authorizes 
a waiver for defendants who make a showing of hardship. Requires any money 
collected to be deposited in the Minnesota victims of crime account. 
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Section Description – Article 2: Public Safety Appropriations 

21 Law enforcement required to register for eTrace system and trace and report on 
recovered or confiscated firearms. 
Requires law enforcement agencies to register for the ATFE National Tracing Center’s 
eTrace system, and opt-in to the system’s collective data sharing feature to assist in 
tracing and reporting recovered or confiscated firearms. Exempts the DNR and State 
Patrol from the provisions of the section. 

26 Task force on mandatory minimum sentences. 
Establishes a task force of mandatory minimum sentences to assess whether current 
laws and practices promote public safety and equity in sentencing. The task force 
must convene by August 1, 2025, meet at least monthly, and must report its findings 
and recommendations to the Legislature by August 15, 2026. 

Article 3: Financial Crimes and Fraud Investigation 
This article eliminates the Commerce Fraud Bureau and moves its duties to the Bureau of 
Criminal Apprehension (BCA) in the Department of Public Safety. It contains conforming 
changes related to the transfer of duties and establishes a new Financial Crimes and Fraud 
Section within the BCA. The article requires agencies to report suspected fraud above a certain 
threshold to the new section and authorizes the referral of other information. It requires 
agencies to submit annual reports to the new section and requires the Bureau of Criminal 
Apprehension to submit an annual report on the activities of the section. 

Article 4: Criminal Law 
This article includes provisions related to criminal law. 

Section Description – Article 4: Criminal Law 

1 Possession crimes. 
Provides that the weight of water pipe fluid or any amount of controlled substances 
that are dissolved in the pipe’s fluid cannot be used to determine the amount of a 
controlled substance that an offender possesses for purposes of a first-degree 
controlled substance possession offense. 

2 Possession crimes. 
Provides that the weight of water pipe fluid or any amount of controlled substances 
that are dissolved in the pipe’s fluid cannot be used to determine the amount of a 
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Section Description – Article 4: Criminal Law 

controlled substance that an offender possesses for purposes of a second-degree 
controlled substance possession offense. 

3 Possession crimes. 
Provides that the weight of water pipe fluid or any amount of controlled substances 
that are dissolved in the pipe’s fluid cannot be used to determine the amount of a 
controlled substance that an offender possesses for purposes of a third-degree 
controlled substance possession offense. 

4 Possession and other crimes. 
Provides that the weight of water pipe fluid or any amount of controlled substances 
that are dissolved in the pipe’s fluid cannot be used to determine the amount of a 
controlled substance that an offender possesses for purposes of a fifth-degree 
controlled substance possession offense. 

5 Definitions. 
Makes a conforming change to include the definition of “fentanyl” in the section 
addressing methamphetamine crimes involving children and vulnerable adults. 

6 Prohibited conduct. 
Prohibits knowingly causing or permitting a child to be exposed to, have contact with, 
or ingest fentanyl. Creates an exception for certain manufacturers and medical 
professionals when acting in a professional capacity. 

7 Firefighters and emergency medical personnel. 
Establishes that physical assaults of fire fighters, EMS personnel, or health workers in 
hospital emergency room settings is a gross misdemeanor under the fourth- degree 
assault statute. Also increases the statutory maximum for an assault against any of 
these individuals that results in demonstrable bodily harm from two years 
imprisonment/$4,000 fine to three years imprisonment/$6,000 fine. 

8 Consecutive sentences for assaults committed by inmates. 
Establishes consecutive or executed sentences for a person who commits an assault 
against a sheriff or sheriff’s deputy while the person is an inmate of a county jail or 
other local correctional facility. If the person is serving an executed sentence for 
another offense or receives an executed sentence for a charge that was pending 
while the person was in jail, the sentence must be executed and must be consecutive 
to the other sentence. If the person receives a probationary sentence for another 
offense, the sentence for the assault must be executed but may be concurrent to the 
other sentence. 
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Section Description – Article 4: Criminal Law 

9 Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking in the first 
degree. 
Establishes a mandatory minimum sentence of ten years for a person who commits 
the offense of sex trafficking in the first degree and a mandatory minimum sentence 
of 12 years for a person who commits an aggravated offense. Provides that the 
mandatory minimums apply unless the sentencing guidelines presume a longer 
sentence and states that sentencing a person without regard for the minimums 
constitutes a sentence departure. 

10 Crime. 
Amends the crime addressing damage or theft to energy transmission or 
telecommunications equipment to specify that the crime applies to damage to 
fixtures that provide a benefit to the general public, such as street lights, vehicle 
charging stations, traffic signals, and warning signs. Also clarifies that 
telecommunications equipment covered under the section includes broadband 
services and cable services equipment. 

11 Reporting fictitious emergency resulting in response to home of certain officials. 
Expands the swatting crime provision that addresses victims who are public officials 
or employees to include all correctional employees of state or local political 
subdivisions. 

12 Definitions. 
Expands the definition of “pornographic work” in the child pornography law (and 
thus the scope of that law) to include depictions of individuals indistinguishable from 
actual minors created through artificial intelligence or other computer technology 
and that are obscene. 

13 Immunity. 
Provides immunity from liability under the child pornography crimes relating to the 
new criminalization of AI-generated materials (see section 12) for certain actions 
taken by interactive computer services and providers of information services or 
telecommunications services. 

14 Limitations. 
Extends the statute of limitations for arson in the first degree to ten years. The 
current limitations period is five years. The change applies to offenses committed 
after the effective date and to cases where the five-year limitations period has not 
yet expired. 
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Section Description – Article 4: Criminal Law 

15 Determination; order; resentencing. 
Provides that a conviction for accomplice liability to first- or second-degree murder 
shall be assigned a date of conviction that is the same as the underlying murder 
conviction. 

16 Revisor instruction. 
Directs the revisor to make conforming changes to reflect changes in definitions 
contained in section 12. 

Article 5: Public Safety Policy 
This article contains new requirements and technical changes related to public safety. 

Section Description – Article 5: Public Safety Policy 

1 Discoverability of not public data. 
Replaces references in provisions addressing “videotapes” of child abuse victims with 
“recordings.” 

2 Recordings of child abuse victims. 
Replaces references in provisions addressing “videotapes” of child abuse victims with 
“recordings.” 

3 Violence prevention. 
Requires violence prevention training to include providing information about the 
Department of Public Safety’s statewide anonymous threat reporting system and any 
local threat reporting systems. 

4 Reports of dangerous weapon incidents and active shooter incidents in school 
zones. 
Defines “active shooter incident” and “active shooter threat.” Requires districts, 
charter schools, and cooperative units to report active shooter incidents and active 
shooter threats to the Minnesota Fusion Center. Specifies the contents of each 
report required under this section. 

5 Copies of recordings. 
Replaces references in provisions addressing “videotapes” of child abuse victims with 
“recordings.” 
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Section Description – Article 5: Public Safety Policy 

6 Correctional facilities; inspection; licensing. 
Requires all local correctional facilities in the state to amend their policy on 
involuntarily administering medications to incarcerated persons to incorporate a 
process to determine if an incarcerated person has a Jarvis Order in place and, if so, 
to implement the order. (If a person with a mental illness does not want to take 
medication, the court can issue a Jarvis Order requiring them to take needed 
medications.) 

7 Provision of medications in correctional facilities. 
Requires correctional facilities licensed by the DOC to administer to confined and 
incarcerated persons the same medications that were prescribed to the person prior 
to their confinement or incarceration. Provides exceptions. 

8 Ban on obscene material or child sexual abuse material. 
Replaces references to the term “pornographic work” in the child pornography and 
other related laws with “child sexual material.” 

9 Legislative report on fusion center activities. 
Requires the annual report on Fusion Center activities to include the number of tips 
received through the Department of Public Safety’s anonymous threat reporting 
system, and the number of active shooter incident reports received from school 
districts, a summary of the reports, and the number of reports that were converted 
into Bureau of Criminal Apprehension case files, referred to the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation, or were referred to local law enforcement agencies. 

10 Definitions. 
Amends the definition of “endangered” in the Minnesota missing children and 
endangered persons program to include persons at risk of physical injury or death 
because the person has been diagnosed with dementia, autism, or other listed 
cognitive impairments. 

11 Charter school inspections; fees. 
Modifies the amount that the state fire marshal must charge for charter school 
building inspections from a designated flat fee per building to a designated fee based 
on square footage. 

12 Authority. 
Authorizes a county attorney to subpoena and require the production of the 
following records of any employer or business entity who is the subject of or has 
information related to a wage theft investigation: accounting and financial records, 
payroll records, and other records relating to wages, hours, and other conditions of 
employment of any employee or of work performed by independent contractors, and 
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Section Description – Article 5: Public Safety Policy 

records of payments to contractors, and records of payments of workers’ 
compensation insurance. Subpoenas for these records may only be issued if probable 
cause exists that a crime has been committed. 

13 Competency of witnesses. 
Prohibits a domestic abuse advocate from disclosing any opinion or information 
about a victim that the advocate acquired in the advocate’s professional capacity 
unless the victim consents to the disclosure. Clarifies that the privilege does not 
change a prosecutor’s obligation to disclose certain information to the defense if that 
information is in the possession or control of the prosecutor or those involved in a 
criminal investigation. 

14 Penalties. 
Replaces references to the term “pornographic work” in the child pornography and 
other related laws with “child sexual material.” 

15 Appeal by prosecuting attorney; attorney fees. 
Adds language back into Minnesota Statutes, chapter 611, relating to reasonable 
attorney fees and costs for prosecutorial appeals in criminal cases. This language was 
in law up until 2024 when it was mistakenly omitted during a recodification. 

16 Release of recordings of child abuse victims. 
Replaces references in provisions addressing “videotapes” of child abuse victims with 
“recordings.” 

17 Use of minor. 
Replaces references to the term “pornographic work” in the child pornography and 
other related laws with “child sexual material.” 

18 Operation or ownership of business. 
Replaces references to the term “pornographic work” in the child pornography and 
other related laws with “child sexual material.” 

19 Dissemination. 
Replaces references to the term “pornographic work” in the child pornography and 
other related laws with “child sexual material.” 

20 Affirmative defense. 
Replaces references to the term “pornographic work” in the child pornography and 
other related laws with “child sexual material.” 
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Section Description – Article 5: Public Safety Policy 

21 Possession of child sexual abuse material. 
Replaces references to the term “pornographic work” in the child pornography and 
other related laws with “child sexual material.” 

22 Change of address or legal name; loss or destruction of permit. 
Amends the permit to carry law. Requires a permit holder who has changed their 
legal name to notify the issuing sheriff of this within 30 days. 

23 Authorized use. 
Expands the situations for which a law enforcement agency may use an unmanned 
aerial vehicle (UAV) without a search warrant to include (1) use to document 
evidence that is at imminent risk of destruction, (2) use over private areas with the 
written consent of the occupant for training or public relations purposes, and (3) use 
to facilitate active searches for missing persons. 

24 Exception; stolen motor vehicles. 
Eliminates a restriction on law enforcement’s use of mobile tracking devices to track 
stolen vehicles that are reported stolen by the owner to law enforcement. In this 
scenario, law enforcement would be permitted to attach a mobile tracking device to 
the stolen vehicle whether the vehicle is occupied or not. (Current law requires that 
the vehicle be occupied for law enforcement to attach a mobile tracking device to 
the stolen vehicle.) This exception does not apply when the stolen vehicle is on 
private property. Establishes reporting requirements. 

25 Exception; fleeing motor vehicles. 
Authorizes law enforcement officers to affix a mobile tracking device on a fleeing 
motor vehicle without obtaining a court order. Creates restrictions on the use of this 
authority and establishes reporting requirements. 

26 Recordings of child victims; conditions of disclosure. 
Replaces references in provisions addressing “videotapes” of child abuse victims with 
“recordings.” 

27 Revisor instruction. 
Directs the revisor to update headnote cross references in law to reflect the changes 
made in this article. 

28 Repealer. 
Repeals certain consumer protection statutes related to matches, flame resistant 
tents, and related rules and penalties that predate the fire code. 



Chapter 35 
2025 Regular Session 

Minnesota House Research Department Page 11 

Article 6: Crime Victims Provisions 
This article amends the requirements for notifying victims of crime and classifies children’s 
advocacy centers as victim assistance programs. 

Section Description – Article 6: Crime Victims Provisions 

1 Minimum fines. 
Adds children’s advocacy centers to the definition of “victim assistance program,” 
allowing those centers to receive a portion of criminal fines imposed following a 
conviction for certain assault and criminal sexual conduct offenses. Makes a technical 
change. 

2 Notification of victim services and victim’s rights. 
Makes clarifying, technical, and conforming changes in the statute requiring that 
victims receive notice of certain rights, including information about the address 
confidentiality program. Authorizes certain notifications to be provided in an 
electronic form, updates references to the Minnesota Crime Victims Reimbursement 
Program, specifies that notice about the right to reimbursement must include 
information on how to apply, clarifies the right of victims to be notified when an 
offender is charged, and specifies that notice to certain victims must include specific 
resources. Clarifies that the notice provided when an offender is a juvenile is 
supplemental to other notices. 

3 Victim notification; domestic assault; criminal sexual conduct; harassment; stalking. 
Includes violations of orders for protection, domestic abuse no contact orders, and 
harassment restraining orders in the list of offenses that require prosecutors to 
provide victims with additional notifications if a prosecutor declines to charge the 
offense or dismisses the charge. 

4 Notice of submission of apology letter. 
Requires the custodial authority for an imprisoned person to make a good faith effort 
to notify a victim when the person has submitted a letter of apology if the victim has 
requested such notification. Provides that, upon request, the authority must notify 
the Board of Pardons, the Clemency Review Commission, or a court that the offender 
has submitted the letter. 

5 Notice of rights. 
Clarifies that peace officers must orally tell certain victims about shelters and other 
services in addition to providing written notice. Amends the written notice that 
informs certain victims of the right to seek an order for protection. 
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Section Description – Article 6: Crime Victims Provisions 

6 Use of existing supply. 
Authorizes law enforcement agencies and prosecutors to exhaust the supply of 
existing notices before producing materials that comply with the updated 
requirements relating to victim notification. 

Article 7: Corrections Provisions 
This article contains policies that impact programming in state and local correctional facilities 
and community supervision practices. 

Section Description – Article 7: Corrections Policy 

1 Opiate antagonists. 
Requires the commissioner of corrections to maintain an ample supply of opiate 
antagonists (Narcan) in each state correctional facility to enable staff to rapidly 
respond to opioid overdoses. Directs the commissioner, in consultation with the 
commissioner of health, to provide training to DOC employees on how to recognize 
the symptoms of an opioid overdose and administer opiate antagonists. 

2 American Indian cultural program. 
Updates language contained in statute that requires the commissioner of corrections 
to have a policy to provide cultural programming services to American Indians who 
are either incarcerated at state correctional facilities or participating in community-
based programs. 

3 Definitions. 
Delays the sunset on the authority of the commissioner of corrections and counties 
to impose correctional supervision fees on inmates until 2029. The bill modifies the 
2023 legislature’s statutory timeline for phasing out correctional supervision fees, 
which currently establishes an August 1, 2027, sunset date. 

4 Annual report. 
Makes a conforming change related to the delay on the sunset of the authority to 
impose correctional supervision fees. 

5 Sunsetting supervision fees; sunset plan. 
Makes a conforming change related to the delay on the sunset of the authority to 
impose correctional supervision fees. 
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Section Description – Article 7: Corrections Policy 

6 Community supervision funding; eligibility for funding formula. 
Conforming change related to Tribal supervision funding reform proposed in this 
article. 

7 Commissioner of corrections; reimbursing CPO jurisdiction. 
Authorizes the agency to keep funding for services it provides to counties rather than 
distributing the funds to the county and later requesting reimbursement for the 
services provided to the counties. 

8 Commissioner duties for non-CPO jurisdiction. 
Conforming changes related to the streamlining of how the commissioner funds 
supervision services provided to counties. 

9 Department of Corrections annual reporting. 
Authorizes the agency to keep funding for services it provides to counties rather than 
distributing the funds to the county and later requesting reimbursement for the 
services provided to the counties. Requires the commissioner to provide an annual 
accounting report to the counties of how supervision funds were spent. 

10 Probation; felony supervision. 
Conforming change related to Tribal supervision funding reform proposed in this 
article. 

11 Earned compliance credit. 
Authorizes the commissioner of corrections to deny an offender supervision 
abatement if doing so would present a risk to public safety. 

12 Applying earned incentive release credit. 
Establishes that earned incentive release credits under the Minnesota Rehabilitation 
and Reinvestment Act program can be revoked if the credit holder violates rules of 
the prison or otherwise commits a criminal act while incarcerated. Under current 
law, earned incentive release credits, once earned, are not revocable. 

13 Adopting policy for earned compliance credit; supervision abatement. 
Prohibits the commissioner from placing an offender on supervision abatement 
status if there is a risk to public safety to do so. 

14 Protective agent. 
Exempts federal law enforcement officials from the licensing and background 
requirements for individuals who are employed as protective agents to transfer 
incarcerated individuals. 



Chapter 35 
2025 Regular Session 

Minnesota House Research Department Page 14 

Section Description – Article 7: Corrections Policy 

15 Rulemaking authority; technical assistance. 
Extends the commissioner’s obligation to provide technical assistance to counties 
and Tribal Nations to instances when abbreviated supervision plans are authorized. 

16 Community supervision funding formula. 
Makes changes to the community supervision funding formula by requiring the 
felony and misdemeanor per diem rates to be multiplied by the three-year average 
total felony and misdemeanor populations. (Under current law the per diem rates 
are multiplied by the felony and misdemeanor populations as reported in the most 
recent probation survey.) Also, makes a conforming change related to Tribal 
supervision funding reform proposed in this article. 

17 Interstate transfer unit. 
Allows the cost of the interstate transfer unit to be shared across every county – pro-
rated based on their share of the most recent probation population survey. This 
change is intended to equitably share the financial burden of managing interstate 
supervision transfers if shared fairly. (The Interstate Transfer Unit oversees transfers 
of supervision under the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision.) 

18 Report. 
Clarifies and streamlines certain requirements of the community supervision funding 
report to the legislature and changes it from an annual to a biennial report. 

19 Policy items. 
Conforming change related to Tribal supervision funding reform proposed in this 
article. 

20 Nonparticipating Tribal Nations. 
Specifies how the $250,000 set aside for each Tribal Nation to provide community 
supervision and reentry services is paid out. Proposes distributing the funds in the 
same manner that county supervision funding is distributed. Clarifies which purposes 
the funds may be used for and requires an abbreviated comprehensive plan be 
submitted to the agency for how these funds will be used. 

21 Paying subsidy to CCA and non-CCA jurisdictions. 
Conforming change. 

22 Formula review. 
Revises the commissioner’s obligation to review the community supervision formula 
from an annual requirement to a biennial duty. 
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Section Description – Article 7: Corrections Policy 

23 Establishment; members. 
Expands the membership of the Community Supervision Advisory Council to include 
members of the judicial system and aspires to more diversity in certain commissioner 
appointed members of the council. 

24 Data collection; report. 
Changes a reporting deadline from January 15, 2025, to May 1, 2025, and corrects a 
statutory reference. 

25 Mental health unit pilot program. 
Extends the Mental Health Unit (MHU) pilot program, created in 2023, until August 1, 
2027. MHU allows counties to transfer individuals with serious mental illnesses who 
are incarcerated in local jails to the MHU at MCF-Oak Park Heights for housing and 
treatment. In order to broaden eligibility for transfer, amends the transfer process 
from consensual transfers to referrals from a licensed mental health professional. 

26 Repealer. 
Repeals statutes that require MCF-Stillwater and MCF-St. Cloud to initiate civil 
commitment proceedings on mentally ill inmates, transfer those to be found 
mentally ill to the Minnesota Security Hospital, and take them back upon restoration 
of their mental health. 

Article 8: Courts 
This article contains policy related to the courts. 

Section Description – Article 8: Courts 

1 Report to legislature. 
Requires the State Board of Civil Legal Aid to provide a report to the legislative 
committees with jurisdiction over the judiciary on the case data for whom the funded 
legal aid agencies assist. The data would be aggregate data on their service areas or 
geographic regions of the state the agencies serve, and would be submitted each 
year in July, at the end of the fiscal year. 

2 Deputy sheriff and court administrator; St. Louis County. 
Removes the limitation on filing papers with the deputy court administrator in 
relation to proceedings in Duluth. 
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Section Description – Article 8: Courts 

3 Papers where filed; St. Louis County. 
Eliminates the requirement that certain papers must be filed in specific locations in 
St. Louis County and authorizes filing at any court in the county. 

4 Requirement. 
Removes the provision limiting certain orders related to divorce proceedings to two 
pages. 

5 Reports; appointment of visitor; monitoring; court orders. 
Requires reports of conservators to be provided to the person subject to 
conservatorship and to other interested persons of record. 

Article 9: Data Practices 
This article makes changes to the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act, chapter 13, and 
other laws governing the privacy or dissemination of information. 

Section Description – Article 9: Data Practices 

1 Request for access to data. 
Provides that a government entity may suspend an ongoing response to a public data 
request if, after five business days, the requesting person does not appear to inspect 
requested data or collect copies of requested data that the government entity has 
already prepared for that person. 

2 Student health census data. 
Removes the current private classification for data on parents. This is moved to 
subdivision 5 of this statute in section 3 of this article. This section is effective the day 
following final enactment. 

3 Directory information; data on parents. 
Reinserts the private classification for data on parents, with the new additional 
restriction that personal contact information may not be designated or treated as 
directory information. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 

4 Public data. 
Expands the existing “public official” exception regarding data relating to a complaint 
or charge against a government employee by removing the current city population 
thresholds for certain kinds of city employees and including Metropolitan Council 
members and certain Metropolitan Council employees. 
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Section Description – Article 9: Data Practices 

5 Access by data subjects. 
Requires a law enforcement agency, upon request, to provide unredacted copies of 
portable recording system data to a person entitled to a collision report. The 
Minnesota State Patrol is exempt from this requirement. The body camera data 
provided under this new law may only be used to process a claim related to the 
collision or as evidence in a proceeding related to the collision. A law enforcement 
agency may deny the request under limited circumstances. 

6 Judicial official data; personal information. 
Makes a conforming change inserting a cross-reference to the new statute created in 
section 13 of this article. This section is effective January 1, 2026. 

7 Data sharing for patient registries limited. 
Prohibits a person from adding or disseminating an individual’s identifying 
information or contact information to a patient registry without the individual’s 
consent. The attorney general may enforce this section, except the private attorney 
general remedies do not apply. A government entity that violated this section is 
subject to the penalties and remedies under chapter 13. This section is effective the 
day following final enactment. 

8 Review. 
Permits the director of the Office of Emergency Medical Services to share the 
following data with the Washington/Baltimore High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area’s 
Overdose Detection Mapping Application Program (ODMAP): data that identifies 
where and when an overdose incident happens, fatality status, suspected drug type, 
naloxone administration, and first responder type. 

9 Reporting. 
Exempts video that does not document actions and circumstances surrounding the 
officer-involved death from a current law requiring the superintendent of the Bureau 
of Criminal Apprehension to publish inactive investigative data for officer-involved 
death investigations on their website. 

10 Definitions. 
Makes clarifying and conforming changes related to the new section of law created in 
section 13 of this article. This section also adds the current and retired judges and 
current employees of the Department of Human Services Appeals to the current law 
definition of “judicial official.” This section is effective January 1, 2026. 

11 Exceptions. 
Makes conforming changes related to the new section of law created in section 13 of 
this article. This section also exempts the display of property addresses on certain 
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real estate and mapping platforms from laws governing the privacy of judicial official 
data. This section is effective January 1, 2026. 

12 Removal of personal information; exception. 
Makes a conforming change inserting a cross-reference to the new statute created in 
section 13 of this article. This section is effective January 1, 2026. 

13 Personal information in real property records. 
Establishes requirements for the treatment of the personal information of judicial 
officials contained in real property records. This section is effective January 1, 2026. 

Subd. 1. Definitions. This subdivision defines terms. For purposes of this section, 
“judicial official” does not include employees of the judicial branch or the 
administrative courts, and does not include judges in the Department of Human 
Services Appeals Division. 

Subd. 2. Classification of data. This subdivision classifies personal information of 
judicial officials contained in real property records as private data on individuals. 
The penalties and remedies under chapter 13 apply only if the judicial official has 
provided a real property notice to the government entity. If the subject of the 
data is a spouse, domestic partner, or adult child of the judicial official who does 
not reside with the judicial official, the person must provide information 
confirming their relationship to the judicial official. 

Subd. 3. Notification. A judicial official must provide a real property notice to the 
county recorder in the county where the property is located and the Office of the 
Secretary of State. To affect other real property records, the judicial official must 
provide the notice to the responsible authority for the government entity that 
maintains the records. 

Subd. 4. Access to real property records. Upon receipt of the real property 
notice, a government entity must not disclose the judicial official’s personal 
information without their consent, except pursuant to a court order, for the 
purpose of administering assessments and taxation laws, or as provided in 
subdivision 5. The county recorder must establish recording procedures that 
comply with this section. A county recorder or other government entity must 
process the real property notice within 60 days, unless exigent circumstances 
exist. The disclosure prohibitions apply until the judicial official terminates the 
real property notice, the notice is terminated pursuant to a court order, the 
judicial official no longer holds a record interest in the identified real property, or 
the judicial official no longer qualifies as a judicial official. 

Subd. 5. Access to personal information in real property records; title 
examination. Pursuant to a court order or with the judicial official’s consent, 
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unredacted property records may be provided to certain licensed professionals, a 
mortgage loan originator, a real estate broker, or certain buyers or sellers of real 
property. A person who receives unredacted property information must establish 
procedures to safeguard the data from further disclosure. 

Subd. 6. Service fees to county recorder or other government entity. A county 
or other government entity may charge a service fee up to $75 for the notice, 
consent, and requests required or permitted under this section. 

Article 10: Mortgage Foreclosures 
This article modifies laws governing mortgage foreclosures and clarifies that a person needs to 
have a legal or equitable interest in real property to pay back taxes on property in order to 
create a lien that is actionable. 

Section Description – Article 10: Mortgage Foreclosures 

1 Taxes paid by tenant, occupants, or other person. 
Clarifies that a lien can be created when a person with a legal or equitable interest in 
the land pays the delinquent taxes, and how to perfect that right to the lien through 
a recording. 

2 Postponement by mortgage. 
Allows a mortgagee (the lender or financial institution holding the mortgage) to 
postpone a foreclosure in a foreclosure by action (a foreclosure that was brought in 
court), using the same process as a sale is postponed in a foreclosure that does not 
go through the court. 

3 Postponement by mortgagor or owner. 
Allows a homeowner or the person responsible for the mortgage to postpone a 
foreclosure sale in a foreclosure by action (a foreclosure that was brought in court), 
in the same way it would be done in a foreclosure that does not go through the 
court. 

4 Surplus. 
Subd. 1. Demand for surplus. Provides for the use of surplus money after 
sheriff’s sale in a foreclosure and allows the money to be held and used for the 
redemption of the property, or paid to a junior creditor. 
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Subd. 2. Notice of surplus. Requires the owner to be notified if there is a surplus 
after the sheriff’s sale and provided with information about redemption and the 
surplus. 

Subd. 3. Request by owner to have surplus applied. Allows the owner to make a 
written request to have the amount from the sheriff’s sale applied to the cost of 
redemption. 

Subd. 4. Surplus of less than $100. Allows a surplus of less than $100 to be paid 
to the owner. 

Subd. 5. Resolution of competing claims. Provides a process to address 
competing claims for the surplus through the courts. 

5 Satisfaction of mortgage. 
Clarifies that the amount received through the sheriff’s sale in a foreclosure by 
advertisement is considered full satisfaction of the mortgage debt owed. 

6 Redemption by creditor. 
Extends the time creditors have to redeem a mortgage from seven days to 14 days 
after a mortgagor’s redemption period ends. This section also clarifies the interest 
rate, and what to do if there is a dispute. This section is effective January 1, 2026. 

7 Creditor redemption; how made. 
Clarifies how a creditor can redeem, effective January 1, 2026. 

8 Certificate of redemption; record. 
Clarifies terms related to mortgage holder or creditor redeeming and extends the 
time to record after redemption to one week. This section is effective January 1, 
2026. 

9 Action to set aside mortgage; foreclosure; redemption. 
Clarifies that dispute in who has redemption rights or the rights to surplus can be 
brought in an action under chapter 580 and how to provide a deposit for that action. 
This section is effective January 1, 2026. 

10 Application, certain sections. 
Clarifies that the postponement of foreclosure sale statutes that apply to nonjudicial 
foreclosure also apply to judicial foreclosures. 

11 Allowable costs collectable upon redemption. 
Clarifies the interest rate. Provides this section is effective January 1, 2026. 
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12 Affidavit of allowable costs. 
Clarifies what needs to be on the affidavit of allowable costs. Provides this section is 
effective January 1, 2026. 

13 Dual tracking. 
Extends the time for a foreclosure from 30 days to 60 days when a loss mitigation 
application is filed and the servicer determines the mortgage is not eligible, the 
mortgagor fails to accept a loss mitigation offer, or the mortgagor declines a loss 
mitigation offer. 

Article 11: Civil Law 
This article modifies laws governing civil marriage, the Statewide Office of Appellate Counsel 
and Training, the Minnesota Competency Attainment Board, the rights of a person subject to 
guardianship, and civil remedies. This article also creates a new process to gain an order for 
protection to protect a vulnerable adult from financial abuse. 

Section Description – Article 11: Civil Law 

1 Report of marriage. 
Removes the requirement that the local registrar report specific personal information 
relating to marriage certificates to the state registrar. Instead, the local registrar must 
report only the number of certificates of marriage registered in a format and with the 
frequency determined by the state registrar. 

2 Statewide Office of Appellate Counsel and Training; establishment. 
Clarifies that the Statewide Office of Appellate Counsel and Training is an agency in 
the executive branch. 

3 State Board of Appellate Counsel and Training; structure; membership. 
Requires the governor to designate the initial chair of the board. 

4 Head appellate counsel for parents; assistant attorneys; other employees. 
Replaces the requirement that assistant appellate counsel be paid on a schedule 
comparable to county attorneys and treats those employees like employees in other 
agencies. This section specifies that attorneys who are not identified as being in a 
management position are in the classified service and treats those employees like 
employees in other agencies. 
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5 Annual report to the legislature. 
Requires the Guardian Ad Litem Board to submit a report to the legislative 
committees with jurisdiction over judiciary finance identifying the number of: board 
staff; children served by guardians ad litem in court cases, including the number of 
Native American children in certain cases; court reports filed by guardians ad litem; 
cases assigned; hours worked; complaints regarding guardians ad litem submitted to 
the board; investigations performed by the board; and complaints that resulted in 
discipline. This section requires that the information not include data on individuals, 
but requires that the data be disaggregated by paid staff versus volunteers. 

6 Persons authorized to perform civil marriages. 
Requires any person who wants to officiate a civil marriage to register as a civil 
marriage officiant and removes all other requirements or references to individuals 
who are currently authorized to perform civil marriages, including judges and 
licensed or ordained ministers of any religious denominations. 

7 Form. 
No longer requires parties applying for a marriage license to provide the sex of each 
party but requires the parties to provide their dates of birth. This section also clarifies 
that a previously married party is only required to provide their name from their 
most recent marriage. 

8 Term of license; fee; premarital education. 
Permits local registrars to examine parties upon oath remotely or accept verified 
statements and civil marriage license applications by mail, facsimile, or electronic 
filing. 

9 General. 
Makes conforming changes. 

10 Certificate; witnesses. 
Makes clarifying changes. 

11 Amendment of marriage records. 
Permits a person to request an amendment of an error in a marriage record directly 
with the local registrar by providing an affidavit and supporting documentation. 

12 Definitions. 
Modifies the definition of “custodian” for orders for protection from any person who 
is under a legal obligation to care for a minor child or who is caring for a minor child 
to a person who has physical or legal custody as the mother of a child, a person who 
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has court ordered custody or parenting time, or who has physical or legal custody 
with the consent of a custodial parent. 

13  Bill of rights for persons subject to guardianship or conservatorship.  
Modifies a guardian’s ability to restrict communication and visitation for a person 
subject to guardianship. Under current law, a guardian may not restrict the right to 
communication and visitation for a person subject to guardianship unless the 
guardian has good cause to believe that the restriction is necessary because the 
interaction poses a risk of significant physical, psychological, or financial harm to the 
person subject to guardianship, and there is no other means to avoid such significant 
harm. Now the guardian must show that the interaction poses a substantial risk of 
significant harm and require the guardian to first seek limited restrictions whenever 
possible. For all restrictions, the guardian must notify the court, the person subject to 
guardianship and their attorney, and the person subject to the restriction within 48 
hours of imposing the restriction. The notice must include a description of the 
restriction, and any limited restrictions attempted. 

14 Emergency guardian. 
Requires the court to make a finding that the petitioner made good faith efforts to 
provide notice to the respondent or respondent's lawyer before appointing an 
emergency guardian without giving notice to the respondent or respondent’s lawyer. 
This section also provides that the mere fact that the respondent is a patient in a 
hospital or resident of a facility is not alone sufficient to support a risk of substantial 
harm to the respondent's health, safety, or welfare. 

15 Powers and duties of guardian. 
Consistent with the changes in section 13, this updates the powers and duties of a 
guardian to require a less restrictive alternative before limiting communication 
between a person subject to guardianship and another person and requires notice to 
the court if they do limit communication. 

16 Order for protection against financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult. 
Creates an order for protection that a petitioner can file against another person to 
prevent the financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult. This section provides the 
process to obtain the order for protection, and the relief the court can grant, and 
imposes criminal penalties for violations of an order, and subsequent violations.  

The petition for an order may be filed in the county where the petitioner, 
respondent, or vulnerable adult resides. The filing fees are waived for both parties to 
the order. The court must hold a hearing within 14 days of receiving the petition 
unless a temporary ex-parte order is issued. Service must be made in the same 
manner as service for orders for protection under section 518B.01. This section also 
requires service upon the vulnerable adult if the petitioner is not the vulnerable 
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adult. If service on the respondent is not possible as provided under section 518B.01, 
the petitioner may serve the respondent using the same method used to contact the 
vulnerable adult and provide the court with the reasons why service was not possible 
under section 518B.01.   

Unless previously filed, the petitioner must file a maltreatment report within 24 
hours of filing a petition under this section.  

The court may issue an order if the vulnerable adult is or is in imminent danger of 
becoming a victim of financial exploitation, there is a likelihood of irreparable harm 
and nonavailability of an adequate remedy, the threatened injury to the vulnerable 
adult outweighs the possible harm to the respondent, and an order protects the 
vulnerable adult’s financial security.  

This section provides specific relief that the court may grant, including prohibiting 
direct or indirect contact, freezing the vulnerable adult’s assets, and providing 
necessary directives to law enforcement. This section is effective January 1, 2026. 

17 Dismissal of criminal charge. 
Makes a conforming change related to the clarification that forensic navigators 
monitor individuals charged or convicted of an offense, but do not supervise those 
individuals. 

18 Forensic navigator monitoring. 
Clarifies that forensic navigators monitor individuals charged with or convicted of an 
offense, but do not supervise those individuals. This section specifies that forensic 
navigators are not authorized to conduct searches, seize property or persons, or 
impose sanctions. 

19 Procedure. 
Makes a conforming change related to the clarification that forensic navigators 
monitor individuals charged or convicted of an offense, but do not supervise those 
individuals. 

20 Continued supervision or monitoring. 
Removes references to forensic navigators supervising individuals charged with or 
convicted of a crime and specifies that the court can direct forensic navigators to 
monitor those individuals. 



Chapter 35 
2025 Regular Session 

Minnesota House Research Department Page 25 

Section Description – Article 11: Civil Law 

21 Duties. 
Makes conforming changes related to the clarification that forensic navigators 
monitor individuals charged or convicted of an offense, but do not supervise those 
individuals. 

22 Establishment; membership. 
Removes the requirement that one member of the Competency Attainment Board 
have prior experience working as a forensic navigator. 

23 Availability and certification. 
Removes the requirement that the Competency Attainment Board provide or 
contract for enough competency attainment services to meet the needs of 
defendants in each judicial district and directs the board to use available resources to 
provide those services. 

24 Program evaluations. 
Directs the state court administrator, instead of the Competency Attainment Board, 
to identify certain information needed to evaluate the program and removes the 
requirement that the data include whether a forensic navigator was assigned to a 
case. 

25 Repealer. 
Repeals two statutes related to the credentials of a minister and civil marriage 
solemnization that are obsolete due to the other changes in chapter 517 in this 
article. 
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