## 

FILE NUMBER: Version:	H. F. 377 Second Engrossment	DATE:	March 18, 1999
Authors:	Goodno and others		
Subject:	Reporting of Abortion Notification	n Data	
Analyst:	Elisabeth M. Loehrke, 651-296-5043		

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd.

## Overview

This bill establishes a reporting system for abortion notification data, in which physicians or facilities are required to report information on providing parental notification for, or receiving judicial authorization for, abortions performed on minor women or women with guardians or conservators. Physicians and facilities required to report must obtain reporting forms from the commissioner of health. The commissioner is required to issue public reports on abortion notification data collected from physicians and court administrators.

Because of a U.S. Supreme Court decision, Minnesota's abortion notification provisions operate as follows. A physician may not perform an abortion on an unemancipated minor or a woman for whom a guardian or conservator has been appointed unless (1) the physician has given written notice of the abortion to the woman's parent at least 48 hours before performing the abortion, or (2) if the woman chooses to not allow parental notification, she receives judicial authorization for the abortion without parental notification.

**1 Abortion notification data.** Adds § 144.3431. Directs the commissioner of health to create reporting forms to collect abortion notification data, and lists the information to be collected. Specifies which physicians and facilities must submit abortion notification forms,

and establishes civil penalties for physicians and facilities who fail to report as required. Requires the commissioner to issue annual public reports on abortion notification data collected from physicians, facilities, and court administrators. Allows the commissioner to modify reporting time lines or forms. If the commissioner fails to issue a public report, authorizes ten or more citizens to seek an injunction to require the report. Allows courts to award attorney's fees. States that any provision of this section found unconstitutional is severable.

**Subd. 1. Reporting form.** Paragraph (a) requires the commissioner of health, within 90 days of this section's effective date, to prepare a form for physicians performing abortions and abortion facilities to use to report abortion notification data.

Paragraph (b) lists information that the form must gather:

the number of minor women and women with guardians or conservators for whom a physician has given written notification to a parent 48 hours before performing an abortion on the woman; the number of notices provided personally, and the number provided by mail; and the number of minor women and women with guardians and conservators who, to the best of the reporting physician's information, went on to obtain an abortion from the physician or facility after notice was provided;

the number of minor women and women with guardians or conservators upon whom the physician performed an abortion without giving written notification to a parent 48 hours before performing the abortion; the number of these women who were emancipated minors; and the number of these women for whom notice is not required under current law, itemized by each of the exceptions, because (1) the abortion was necessary to prevent the woman's death and there was not time to provide the notice, (2) the woman's parent gave written authorization for the abortion, or (3) the woman declared she was the victim of sexual or physical abuse or neglect and gave notice of this to the proper authorities;

the number of abortions performed by the physician on women who received judicial authorization, without giving parental notification;

the woman's county of residence; and the county in which the abortion was performed and the county in which judicial authorization, if any, was obtained, if these counties were different than the woman's county of residence;

the woman's age;

the woman's race;

how the physician or agent informed the women of the judicial authorization option, whether court forms were provided to her, and whether the physician or agent made court arrangements; and

how soon after visiting the abortion facility the women went to court to obtain judicial authorization for abortions.

**Subd. 2. Forms to physicians and facilities.** Requires physicians and facilities required to report to obtain reporting forms from the commissioner.

**Subd. 3. Submission.** Requires the following physicians and facilities to submit reports to the commissioner by April 1 of each year, for abortions performed in the previous calendar year: any physician who has given written notification to a parent before performing an abortion, or a facility at which such notice was provided; and any physician who has knowingly performed an abortion on a minor or a woman with a guardian or conservator, or a facility at which such abortions were performed. Requires the commissioner to keep confidential data which would allow the identification of a reporting physician or facility or an individual who has an abortion, received judicial authorization for an abortion, or received notice from a physician.

**Subd. 4. Failure to report as required.** Established civil penalties for physicians and facilities who fail to submit reports or who submit late or incomplete reports. Physicians and facilities who fail to submit reports within 30 days after the deadline are subject to a late fee of \$500 for each additional 30-day period, or portion of a 30-day period, the report is overdue. For physicians and facilities who fail to submit reports within one year of the due date or submit incomplete reports, the commissioner must bring a court action to compel the report or be subject to civil sanctions. If the commissioner brings such an action, permits a court to assess attorney's fees and costs against the noncomplying party. Requires the commissioner to keep certain enforcement data private.

**Subd. 5. Public records.** Paragraph (a) directs the commissioner, by September 30 of each year, to issue a public report on the information reported in subdivision 1 for the previous calendar year and on the following information obtained from court administrators:

the number of petitions filed in court by minor women or women with guardians or conservators, for judicial authorizations of abortions;

the number of these cases in which guardians ad litem were appointed;

the number of these cases in which courts appointed counsel;

the number of these cases in which courts authorized abortions without parental notification, including the number of petitions granted because courts found the women to be mature and the basis for those findings, and the number of petitions granted because courts found the abortion was in the women's best interest and the basis for those findings;

the number of times courts denied judicial authorizations for abortions and appeals were filed;

the number of appeals in which denials of judicial authorizations were affirmed; and the number of appeals in which denials of judicial authorizations were reversed.

Paragraph (b) requires the report to also include statistics for all previous calendar years in which a public report was required, adjusted to include additional information from late or corrected physician reports.

Paragraph (c) directs the commissioner to present statistical information in the public reports in a way that will not allow individual identification of reporting physicians and facilities, women, and people who have received notice from a physician.

**Subd. 6. Modification of requirements.** Permits the commissioner to modify the reporting dates or consolidate the forms or reports, as long as the public report is issued at least once a year.

**Subd. 7. Suit to compel statistical report.** If the commissioner fails to issue a required public report, permits any group of ten or more Minnesota citizens to seek an injunction to require a complete report to be issued. Specifies that if the commissioner fails to abide by the injunction, the commissioner is subject to civil contempt sanctions.

**Subd. 8. Attorney's fees.** For any suit in this section, awards reasonable attorney's fees to the plaintiff if the plaintiff prevails. If the defendant prevails and if the court finds that the plaintiff's suit was frivolous and brought in bad faith, awards reasonable attorney's fees to the defendant.

**Subd. 9. Severability.** Specifies that if any provision of this section is found unconstitutional, that provision is severable from the rest of the section.