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Overview 

This bill adopts 100 percent sales apportionment for multi-state businesses under the corporate franchise 

and income taxes. The author's amendment would also apply single factor sales apportionment to 

financial institutions. Present law uses a three-factor formula that weights sales at 70 percent and 

property and payroll at 15 percent each. 

Section   

1 Apportionment formula. Requires multi-state businesses to apportion their income under the 

corporate franchise tax based on the percentage Minnesota sales comprise of total sales. Under 

present law, most corporations are required to use a three factor formula, based on property, 

payroll, and sales. (The law allows certain Minnesota based mail order sales corporations to use 

single factor sales apportionment.) The sales factor is weighted at 70 percent, while property 

and payroll are each weighted at 15 percent. Under the author's amendment, financial 

institutions would also qualify to use single factor sales apportionment. 

 Historical background. Minnesota's corporate tax originally used arithmetic apportionment 

(i.e., property, payroll, and sales were given equal or one-third weight). In 1939, manufacturing 

corporations were allowed to elect to use the weighted apportionment (i.e., the current method 

of 15-15-70 weights). This election allowed the corporation to select whichever method 

provided the lowest Minnesota tax. (The Minnesota apportionment method does not affect 

liability for tax in another state.) In 1953, this option was extended in all corporations. In 1987, 

the option was eliminated and all corporations were required to use the weighted formula. This 

was done in conjunction with comprehensive changes in the tax that expanded the base and 

lower the rate. 

 Other states. Most states use three factor apportionment. For many years, most states used 

arithmetic or equal weights. This is the method provided under the Uniform Division of Income 

for Tax Purposes Act (commonly referred to as UDITPA). In recent years, many states have 

adopted double weighted sales (i.e., 25-25-50 weights for property, payroll, and sales). Double 



 

 

weight sales is the most common formula used. For 1999, 22 states used double weighted sales, 

while 16 used equally weighted factor. The rest of the sales used other formulas that weighted 

sales more heavily. (This information is from Federation of Tax Administrators.) 

 More states have begun to adopt 100 percent sales apportionment. Iowa has long used this 

method. Recently, Illinois (to be effect in 2000), Nebraska, and Texas have recently adopted 

100 percent sales apportionment. Michigan recently adopted a 90-5-5 apportionment method. 

 Effects on tax burdens. Since the bill makes no other changes in the tax, the apportionment 

formula change will reduce the tax of businesses whose Minnesota sales factor is lower than the 

average of their property and payroll factors. Conversely, businesses whose Minnesota sales 

factor is higher than the average of their property and payroll factors will pay higher tax. 

2 Effective date. Provides the change is effective for tax year 1999. 

 


