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Overview 

Provides for a 2001 sales tax rebate that would be paid automatically to individuals who had income tax 

liability in 1999, or who filed an income tax return or property tax refund return in order to claim a 

refund of withheld or estimated taxes or a refundable tax credit. Dependents with wage income would 

receive a rebate equal to 35% of the table amount. Social security recipients who did not otherwise 

qualify would receive a rebate of $136. The minimum and maximum rebates are $240 and $3,400 for 

married couples filing joint returns and heads of household, and $136 and $1,700 for other filers. 

Section  

1 Statement of purpose. Describes the Legislature's intent in enacting a sales tax rebate and 

asserts that it is: 

 reasonable to rebate sales tax; 

 reasonable to use estimates and averages to calculate individual rebates in the absence of 

a practical method of determining actual sales tax amounts paid by individuals; and 

 reasonable to use the Department of Revenue's Tax Incidence Report, which analyzes 

the relationship between income and tax burdens, to estimate sales tax liability. 

2 Sales tax rebate. 

 Subd. 1. Eligibility. Defines a person eligible for a rebate as someone who was a resident of 

Minnesota for at least part of 1999 and filed a 1999 income tax return with at least $1 of liability 

before refundable credits, before November 30, 2001, and was not claimed as a dependent on 

another return. 

 Subds. 2 and 3. Rebate schedule. Provide tables showing the rebate amounts by taxable 

income. The minimum rebate is $240 for married couples filing joint returns and head of 

household filers, and $136 for single and married separate filers. The maximum rebate is $3,400 

for married couples filing joint returns and head of household filers and $1,700 for single and 



 

 

married separate filers. 

 Subd. 4. Rebate for nonresidents. Provides that individuals who were not residents of 

Minnesota for any part of 1999 who paid more than $10 of consumer sales tax in that year may 

apply for a rebate. The rebate for nonresidents equals the lesser of 42.5 percent of the amount 

for which a claimant has receipts or the amount the claimant would have qualified for if they 

had been Minnesota resident. Claimants must apply to the commissioner by November 30, 

2001. 

 Subd. 5. Income. States that the rebate tables are based on federal taxable income plus 

Minnesota additions, such as out-of-state tax exempt bond interest and the itemized deduction 

for state income taxes (line 4 on the 1999 form M-1). For part-year residents the rebate is 

apportioned by the percentage that the claimant's Minnesota assignable income is of total 

income. 

 Subd. 6. Minimum rebate, social security recipients. Provides a rebate of $136 to social 

security recipients who were Minnesota residents in 1999 but who did not have 1998 income tax 

liability. The department of revenue must direct deposit the rebate into the bank account of an 

individual who receives their social security benefits by direct deposit. 

 Subd. 7. Rebate for dependents. Provides a rebate equal to 35% of the table amount for single 

filers for dependents who had wage income in 1999 (line 7 of federal form 1040). The rebate 

would be based on the dependent's 1999 federal taxable income plus Minnesota additions.  

 Subd. 8. Rebate for other income tax filers. Provides the minimum rebate amount by filing 

status for individuals who file a 1999 Minnesota income tax return in order to claim a refund of 

withheld income taxes or estimated tax payments, or in order to claim a refundable credit (i.e., 

working family tax credit, dependent care credit, K-12 education credit), and for individuals 

who filed a 1999 Minnesota property tax refund return as either a homeowner or a renter. The 

rebate under this paragraph is not allowed for individuals claimed as dependents. 

 Subd. 9. Fiscal year taxpayers. Extends the filing deadline for fiscal year taxpayers based on 

the starting date of the taxpayer's fiscal year 1999. 

 Subd. 10. Adjustment of rebate schedule. Directs the commissioner of revenue to adjust the 

rebate schedule and percentages proportionately to keep the total rebate estimated on the day the 

rebate is processed within the originally estimated cost of the schedule. These adjustments are 

made for returns filed after January 1, 2001, but before June 1, 2001, and for dependent and 

other income tax filers. 

 Subd. 11. Payment date; interest. Authorizes the commissioner to begin paying rebates by 

July 1, 2001. Interest accrues on unpaid rebates beginning January 1, 2002.  

 Subd. 12. Amended returns. Provides that sales tax rebates will not be recomputed based on 

adjustments to a taxpayer's 1999 income tax return that are filed after the date the rebate is 

processed. 

 Subd. 13. Married claimants. Directs the commissioner to issue a joint rebate to taxpayers 

who filed a joint return in 1999. Allows taxpayers who filed a joint 1999 return to request a 

check for one-half of the joint rebate, if the original check has not been cashed. Also allows the 

commissioner to issue separate rebate checks to taxpayers who filed a joint return in 1999 but 

separate returns in 2000, or who notify the commissioner of separate addresses. 

 Subd. 14. Deceased claimants. Allows the commissioner to issue separate checks to 

beneficiaries of estates entitled to rebates if probate has closed before the rebate check was 

received. Requires the estate to provide documentation to the commissioner. 

 Subd. 15. Application of other law. Provides the rebate is covered by the data practices law 

that applies to other tax data and that the commissioner may retain the rebate to offset 



 

 

delinquent taxes. Also provides that payment of the sales tax rebate is subject to revenue 

recapture. It is the responsibility of the claimant agency to remit non-debtor spouses' shares of 

offset rebates. 

 Subd. 16. Lapse of right to rebate. Provides that the right to the rebate lapses and the rebate 

reverts to the general fund for rebate checks not cashed by July 1, 2003. 

 Subd. 17. Appeal of rebate amount. Provides a mechanism for taxpayers to protest if they did 

not receive a rebate or if they received an incorrect amount. The regular administrative and 

court appeal rights apply. 

 Subd. 18. Fiscal year accounting; appropriation. Specifies the rebate is an adjustment to 

fiscal year 2001 sales tax revenues and appropriates the amount necessary to make the rebate 

payments. 

 Subd. 19. Theft of rebates. Provides that the commissioner may issue an order of assessment 

for the appropriate amount for a rebate check that is forged, improperly endorsed, or determined 

to have been issued in error or overstated. The assessment must be issued within two years 

unless cashing the check constituted forgery or theft, in which case no statute of limitation 

applies. The assessment can be appealed administratively and judicially, and collection may be 

commenced under chapter 289A. 

 Subd. 20. Commissioner's authority. Authorizes the commissioner to take whatever action is 

deemed necessary to pay the rebate. Allows the commissioner, in consultation with the 

department of finance and state treasurer, to contract with a private vendor to process, print, and 

mail the rebate checks and receive and disburse state funds when checks are cashed. 

 Subd. 21. Payment by EFT. Authorizes the commissioner of revenue to pay the rebate by 

electronic funds transfer to individuals who received their 2000 income tax refund by electronic 

funds transfer. 

3 Appropriations. Appropriates a blank amount to the commissioner of revenue to administer the 

rebate. 

 Appropriates a blank amount to the state treasurer to pay the cost of clearing rebate checks 

through commercial banks. 

 


