## HOUSE RESEARCH

## Bill Summary =

**FILE NUMBER:** H.F. 415 **DATE:** March 11, 2003

**Version:** As introduced

**Authors:** Borrell

**Subject:** Metropolitan Council jurisdiction

**Analyst:** Wendy Simons

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd.

This bill would remove the city of Rockford from the jurisdiction of the metropolitan council. Currently, the metropolitan council's jurisdiction encompasses the entire seven-county metropolitan area except for the cities of New Prague (removed in 1978), Northfield (removed in 1980), and Hanover (removed in 1983). The city of Rockford is partly in Hennepin county and partly in Wright county.