## 

FILE NUMBER:	H.F. 643	DATE:	April 1, 2003
Version:	First Engrossment		
Authors:	Kuisle		
Subject:	Department of public safety omnil	ous	
Analyst:	John Williams, 651-296-5045		

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd.

## Overview

This bill makes various changes with respect to motor vehicle registration and licensing, motor vehicle titling, and driver licensing.

## **Section**

Definition of registered owner. Repeals the provision that requires the application for registration renewal of a vehicle under a lease of 180 days or more be sent to the lessor.
Temporary permits. Requires all vehicles with special plates to display a temporary permit in conjunction with expired registration. Requires a vehicle to display a temporary permit with no plate if (1) it is newly registered in Minnesota, the owner has applied for a special plate and has paid all fees and taxes, or (2) the vehicle is currently registered and one or more plates have been lost and the vehicle has or has applied for special plates.

Makes temporary permits valid for 30 rather than the present 60 days, with renewal for additional 30-day periods if needed.

- **3 Renewal.** Requires the department to send registration renewal notices for leased vehicles to the lessor. Allows the lessor to request that renewal notices be sent directly to registered owners.
- 4 **Registration prohibited.** Prohibits the department from registering a vehicle or issuing plates or permits if the vehicle is owned by or leased to a motor carrier who is under an out-of-service order issued by a federal agency. Allows the department to suspend, revoke, or remove the plates of a vehicle if it is assigned to such a carrier. Provides that if the out-of-service order is rescinded the department may reinstate registration if all fees and taxes are paid.

## **Section**

5 **Removal of plates by dealer.** Requires motor vehicle dealers to remove the plates from a vehicle the dealer sells to a nonresident if the vehicle is not required to be registered in Minnesota. Requires the dealer to notify the department when it removes plates. Requires the department to issue an electronic receipt that may be used as a 31-day temporary permit.

Requires dealers who buy a vehicle that is registered or titled in Minnesota to notify the department. Allows a dealer to give a buyer all documents necessary to effect a transfer of ownership.

- **6 Authority.** Removes references to the no-fault auto insurance law from the provision setting out the statutory provisions for which the department has responsibility and may adopt rules.
- 7 Weighing. Reduces from 12,000 to 10,000 pounds the threshold level at which trucks are required to submit to weighing at state scales.
- 8 Expiration date of ID cards. Provides that the department may set an expiration date for Minnesota ID cards that is different from the four-year expiration date (or age 21 in the case of Under-21 ID cards) set in statute. Prohibits an expiration date based solely on age.
- **9 Expiration of license.** Provides that for purposes of determining birthdays for driver's license expiration, the birthday is as provided in departmental rules that govern proof of identity.

Allows the commissioner to set an expiration date for a driver's license that is different from the statutory expiration, provided it is not based solely on age. Allows renewal before or within a year of expiration. Requires the department to extend or renew a license on or before the expiration date unless the department believes the licensee is no longer qualified as a driver.