HOUSE RESEARCH

Bill Summary =

FILE NUMBER: H.F. 756 **DATE:** May 6, 2003

Version: As introduced

Authors: Rhodes

Subject: County levy authority for public safety radio systems

Analyst: Deborah A. Dyson

Karen Baker

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd.

The 2002 Anti-Terrorism Act gave 23 counties temporary ¹ authority to issue bonds for public safety radio system infrastructure and equipment. The counties are Anoka, Benton, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Hennepin, Houston, Isanti, Mower, Olmsted, Ramsey, Rice, Scott, Sherburne, Steele, Wabasha, Washington, Wright, and Winona. Counties may not issue bonds under this section unless approved by the public safety radio system planning committee, also created in the 2002 Anti-Terrorism Act. Under Minn. Stat. §373.47, subd. 1, para. (c), (stricken in the bill), 14 of these counties may not incur debt until after July 1, 2003.

This bill strikes the definition of county that limits the authority to the ones named, thus allowing any county in the state to make use of the statute.

Because the bill, if enacted, is effective August 1, 2003, striking paragraph (c) is technical.

_

¹This authority expires in 2012. Minn. Stat. § 373.47, subd.3.