HOUSE RESEARCH

Bill Summary

FILE NUMBER: H.F. 119 DATE: January 22, 2007

Version: As introduced

Authors: Jaros

Subject: Study commission on establishing the South St. Louis municipality within the

Western Lake Superior Sanitary District

Analyst: Deborah A. Dyson

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd.

This bill would create a 15-member commission to study and recommend to the legislature by February 1, 2008, whether to establish a "South St. Louis Municipality." The municipality would be within the area of the Western Lake Superior Sanitary District (WLSSD), an area approximately 500 square miles around Duluth and includes the cities of Duluth, Cloquet, Hermantown, Proctor, Carlton, Scanlon, Thomson and Wrenshall, and the surrounding townships

The purpose of creating the municipality would be to eliminate duplication of various public services and reduce administrative costs.

The study commission would be composed of legislators, county board members, city council members, township officers, and school board members from the named governmental units. The Arrowhead Regional Development Commission is directed to provide staff assistance to the study commission.