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Overview

Minnesota's Renewable Energy Production Incentive (REPI) pays owners of wind
energy conversion systems with a capacity of 2 MW or less 1.5 cents for each
kilowatt-hour (kWh) produced for a period of ten years. The incentive payment is
available to only 200 MW of total capacity statewide.

Project owners apply to the Department of Commerce to qualify for the incentive.
If they are deemed eligible, the project must be operational within 18 months, or
approval to receive the incentive payment is withdrawn.

Another crucial financing component for wind projects is the federal Production
Tax Credit (PTC), which investors can use against other passive income (not
including interest and dividend income) to reduce their tax liability. The credit is
currently 1.8 cents per kWh produced, and is paid for ten years.

The PTC was first authorized in 1992 and expired in June 1999. Since then,
Congress has reauthorized the PTC for relatively short periods, creating a boom-
and-bust cycle in wind development, since fewer projects are able to secure
financing when the PTC is unavailable. The credit expired at the end of 2001, and
again at the end of 2003.

In Minnesota, the ten-month period from January to October 2004, before
Congress reauthorized the PTC, coincided with the 18-month eligibility period of
most of the wind projects comprising the second 100 MW block eligible to
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receive the REPI. Eligibility for many of these projects was set to expire in May
2005.

As a result, the Legislature extended the eligibility period for projects that were
previously approved to receive the REPI and that provided evidence of their
viability by the amount of time the PTC was unavailable during their 18-month
eligibility period. It also allowed projects that had made an application but had not
been approved to submit evidence of project viability through the end of 2005.
The REPI was reduced from 1.5 cents per kilowatt-hour to 1.0 cent for projects
receiving an extension, projects replacing those that were unable to provide
evidence of viability, and any project that becomes eligible after January 1, 2005.
The commissioner may adjust this amount upward if sufficient funds are
available.

HF 472 would modify the 2005 legislation by allowing an applicant who applied
to receive the REPI prior to March 1, 2005 to provide the commissioner of
commerce with evidence that the project is viable through July 2007, so as to be
eligible to receive payments.

Section

1 Previously unapproved projects. Allows an applicant who filed an application with the
commissioner of commerce prior to March 1, 2005 to be considered to receive Renewable
Energy Production Incentive payments if the applicant files the necessary documents
providing evidence of the project's viability by July 31, 2007.
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