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Section   

Article 1: Long-Term Care Initiatives 

Overview  

This article provides rate increases to long-term care providers, requires the use 

of new nursing facility case mix indices, requires workforce initiatives, provides 

nursing facility employees with a temporary exemption from the requirement that 

MinnesotaCare enrollees have no access to employer-subsidized coverage, and 

requires a study of nursing facility rebasing. This article also provides nursing 

facility rate increases and makes other changes in nursing facility reimbursement. 

1         Long-term care workforce training and development. Adds § 256.9755.  

Subd. 1. Access to standardized curriculum. Requires the commissioner of human 

services, in cooperation with the Minnesota job skills partnership program, to 

subsidize student access to the health care core curriculum, using a sliding tuition 

scale.  

Subd. 2. Additional workforce initiatives. Requires the commissioner to develop 

and implement initiatives to train and increase the supply of long-term caregivers 

who provide specialized care to persons with chronic care needs. Requires the 

commissioner to present to the legislature by January 15, 2008, a description of the 
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initiatives to be implemented and any necessary draft legislation.  

Subd. 3. Funding. States that the subsidies and initiatives are funded using savings 

that result from nursing facility closures and downsizing.  

2         Contracts for services for ventilator-dependent persons and persons requiring other 

specialized services. Amends § 256B.431, subd. 2e. Allows the commissioner to negotiate 

adjustments to the operating cost payment rate for nursing facilities that provide services for 

persons requiring complex clinical care. Provides an October 1, 2007, effective date.  

3         Payment during first 90 days. Amends § 256B.431, subd. 32. Effective for admissions 

occurring on or after October 1, 2007, allows higher rates, set at 120 percent of a nursing 

facility's rate for each RUG class, to be paid for the first 60 calendar days following 

admission. (Under current law, this higher rate can be paid for 30 days.)  

4         Rate increases for October 1, 2007, and October 1, 2008. Amends § 256B.434, by adding 

subd. 19. Requires the commissioner, for the rate years beginning October 1, 2007, and 

October 1, 2008, to make available to nursing facilities adjustments equal to 5 percent of the 

total operating payment rate. Requires 75 percent of the money from the adjustments to be 

used to increase wages and benefits and pay associated costs for all employees, except 

management fees, the administrator, and central office staff, to take effect on or after the 

effective date of each rate increase. Requires facilities to apply to the commissioner and 

present a plan for distribution of the funds. Specifies the procedures for plan submittal and 

review. Requires a copy of the approved plan to be made available to employees and 

specifies procedures for handling employee concerns.  

5         Funding for staff increases. Amends § 256B.434, by adding subd. 20. Requires the 

commissioner, for the rate year beginning October 1, 2007, to make available to nursing 

facilities a rate adjustment equal to 1 percent of the total operating payment rate, to be used 

for wages, benefits, and associated costs for direct care employees hired on or after the 

effective date of the rate increase. Requires nursing facilities to apply for the increase, and 

directs the commissioner to give preference to nursing facilities with low ratios of direct 

care staff to residents or that demonstrate that an increase in staff will lead to a significant 

improvement in quality of care. Specifies requirements related to reporting and monitoring 

and allows the commissioner to recover money that is spent inappropriately.  

6         Adjustments for low-payment rate facilities. Amends § 256B.434, by adding subd. 21. 

Requires the commissioner, for the rate years beginning October 1, 2007, and October 1, 

2008, to adjust the operating payment rates of low-payment rate nursing facilities. Requires 

the commissioner to determine a value for an operating payment rate with a RUGS index of 

1.00, such that increasing payment rates for facilities with rates below this value by 50 

percent of the difference in the facility rate and the value determined, up to a maximum of 6 

percent, does not exceed the amount appropriated. The commissioner is then directed to 

identify these facilities, and adjust their RUGS payment rates. Provides that this rate 

adjustment shall be added after any other rate adjustment effective on the same day.  

7         New case mix indices. Amends § 256B.438, by adding subd. 8. (a) Effective with rates for 

the rate year beginning October 1, 2007, requires the commissioner to implement the case 

mix indices recommended by the time study authorized by the 2001 Legislature. Provides 

the methodology for implementing the new case mix indices.  

(b) Requires the commissioner to adjust the October 1, 2007, operating rates calculated 

under paragraph (a), for nursing facilities estimated to receive a decrease in operating 
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revenue. Specifies the methodology to be used. The amount of the rate adjustment is the 

operating revenue obtained using the case mix indices in effect on September 30, 2007, for 

the rate year ending June 30, 2007, minus the operating revenue for that rate year obtained 

using the case mix indices to be used on October 1, 2007, divided by MA and private pay 

resident days. Provides that the interim rate adjustment is effective from October 1, 2007, 

through June 30, 2008, and is not part of the facility's operating payment rate after June 30, 

2008. Requires the commissioner, by August 15, 2007, to provide nursing facilities 

estimated to experience a decrease in operating revenue with written notice that specifies 

the amount of the estimated decrease and the amount of the interim rate adjustment. 

Provides facilities with 30 days to decline the interim rate adjustment.  

(c) Requires the commissioner to adjust the July 1, 2008, operating rates of facilities that 

received an interim rate adjustment under paragraph (b) and facilities that demonstrate a 

decrease in operating revenue from the implementation of new case mix indices. The 

operating rate adjustment is the difference in operating revenue under the old and new case 

mix system for the period October 1, 2007, through March 31, 2008, divided by total MA 

and private pay resident days. If this amount is greater than the amount estimated under 

paragraph (b), requires the commissioner to retroactively pay nursing homes the difference.  

Provides an October 1, 2007, effective date.  

8         Rebasing. Amends § 256b.441, subd. 1. Requires the commissioner to rebase nursing 

facility rates for the rate year beginning October 1, 2008, and collect all data necessary to do 

this. Requires facilities to submit this data in the form and manner specified by the 

commissioner. Requires the rebasing methodology to recognize increased expenses that are 

not reflected in current payments, and provides that the methodology shall not be 

constrained by a state budget neutrality factor or method. Eliminates language that requires 

the commissioner to establish a value-based nursing facility reimbursement system, and to 

complete the full phase-in of the system by October 1, 2011. Provides a July 1, 2007 

effective date.  

9         Calculation of quality add-on. Amends § 256B.441, subd. 46. For rates years beginning 

on or after October 1, 2007, sets the maximum quality add-on at 4 percent. Requires the 

commissioner to determine the add-on using the methodology used to calculate the one-time 

quality add-on provided for the rate year beginning October 1, 2006. Provides an October 1, 

2007 effective date.  

10     ICF/MR rate increases October 1, 2007, and October 1, 2008. Amends § 256B.5012, by 

adding subd. 7. Requires the commissioner, for the rate years beginning October 1, 2007, 

and October 1, 2008, to make available to ICFs/MR adjustments equal to 5 percent of the 

total operating payment rate. Requires 75 percent of the money from the adjustments to be 

used to increase wages and benefits and pay associated costs for all employees, except 

administrative and central office employees, to take effect on or after the effective date of 

each rate increase. Allows wage adjustments to vary based on merit, seniority, or other 

factors determined by the provider. Requires facilities to apply to the commissioner and 

present a plan for distribution of the funds. Specifies the procedures for plan submittal and 

review. Requires a copy of the approved plan to be made available to employees and 

specifies procedures for handling employee concerns.  

11     Employer-subsidized coverage. Amends § 256L.07, subd. 2. For the period July 1, 2007, 

through June 30, 2008, exempts families and individuals from the requirement that 
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MinnesotaCare enrollees have no access to employer subsidized coverage, and no access 

through the current employer for 18 months prior to application or reapplication, if access to 

employer-subsidized coverage is through employment at a nursing facility that participates 

in MA. Requires the commissioner to present recommendations to the legislature by 

February 1, 2008, on whether this exemption should be continued and extended to include 

families and individuals with access to employer-subsidized coverage through other long-

term care providers.  

12     Community services provider rate increases. Requires the commissioner of human 

services to increase reimbursement rates or rate limits, as applicable, by 5 percent for the 

rate periods beginning October 1, 2007, and October 1, 2008, for specified community-

based providers and services. Requires 75 percent of the money from the adjustments to be 

used to increase wages and benefits and pay associated costs for all employees, except 

management fees, the administrator, and central office staff, and specifies other procedures 

for increases. Requires a copy of the provider's plan for complying with the 75 percent 

distribution requirement to be made available to employees and specifies procedures for 

handling employee concerns. Requires the commissioner and county agencies to implement 

the increases on the dates specified, and provides that the increases are effective on those 

dates, regardless of the client service authorization date or the terms of any provider 

contract, service agreement, or schedule.  

13     Appropriation. Appropriates money from the general fund to the commissioner of human 

services, for fiscal years 2008 and 2009, to provide rate adjustments to low-payment rate 

facilities.  

Article 2: Nursing Home Moratorium; Property Reimbursement 

Overview  

This article adds an additional criterion to be used by the commissioner of health 

when reviewing moratorium exception proposals, modifies nursing facility 

property reimbursement methods, and provides funding for moratorium exception 

projects. Minnesota law imposes a moratorium on the licensure and certification 

of new nursing home beds and on construction projects that exceed a moratorium 

threshold of $1,264,751 (this amount is adjusted annually). Projects that add 

nursing home beds or that exceed this moratorium threshold must either be 

authorized in statute or approved by the commissioner of health as part of a 

competitive moratorium exception proposal process. 

In order for the cost of a construction project to be reflected in a facility's 

property rate, the cost of the project must be above a minimum threshold of 

$247,197 (this amount is also adjusted annually). Projects with a cost below this 

threshold are not reflected in the property rate of a facility. In addition, the cost of 

construction projects is limited by replacement-costs-new per bed limits. These 

limits, adjusted annually, are upper limits on the cost of projects. 

1         Criteria for review. Amends § 144A.073, subd. 4. Adds the following as an additional 

criterion to be used by the commissioner of health in reviewing and ranking proposals under 
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the competitive nursing home moratorium exception process: the extent to which the 

applicant demonstrates the continuing need for nursing facility care in the community and 

adjoining communities. Provides a July 1, 2007, effective date.  

2         Allowable interest expense. Amends § 256B.431, subd. 17a. Increases the allowable 

interest on debt related to the cost of a nursing facility purchasing or replacing depreciable 

equipment, excluding vehicles, from 6 to 10 percent. Provides an October 1, 2007, effective 

date.  

3         Replacement-costs-new per bed limit effective October 1, 2007. Amends § 256B.431, 

subd. 17e. Effective October 1, 2007, increases the replacement-costs-new per bed limit 

from $74,280 to $165,000 per licensed bed in multiple-bed rooms, $92,850 to $195,000 per 

licensed bed in semiprivate rooms; and $111,420 to $225,000 per licensed bed in single 

rooms. This limit applies to total replacement projects for statutory or competitive 

moratorium exception projects and to building projects whose cost exceeds the minimum 

threshold but does not exceed the moratorium threshold.  

4         Reimbursement for mandatory property loss. Amends § 256B.434, by adding subd. 19. 

Allows nursing facilities to be reimbursed for property, equipment, and technology costs 

related to complying with existing or expected requirements of federal certification 

standards, the life safety code, or other building codes, if: (1) the costs were incurred on or 

after January 1, 2005; (2) the costs are not otherwise reimbursed as part of a moratorium 

exception project; and (3) the total allowable cost reported during a reporting year exceeds 

$50,000. (Under current law, these projects would not be reflected in a facility's property 

rate unless the project cost was above the minimum threshold of $247,197.) Requires 

property rate increases to be calculated according to the formula used for construction 

projects that exceed the minimum threshold but do not exceed the moratorium threshold, 

except that equipment costs are to be depreciated using the American Hospital Association 

guidelines. Provides an October 1, 2007, effective date.  

5         Authorization for moratorium exception projects. During FY 2008, allows the 

commissioner of health to approve moratorium exception projects for which the full 

annualized state share of MA costs does not exceed $10 million. During FY 2009, allows 

the commissioner to approve moratorium projects for which the full annualized state share 

of MA costs does not exceed $10 million less the amount approved during the first year. 

Provides a July 1, 2007, effective date.  

 


