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Overview 

This is a Department of Public Safety agency bill that changes license plate 

provisions, including: making collector's plates subject to plate fees if applied; 

allowing invalidation of collector plates on vehicles that do not reside in 

Minnesota; authorizing invalidation of special plates when owners are not eligible 

for them; requiring owners to pay for regular plates when certain special plates 

are removed or invalidated; removing restrictions on registering no more than two 

vehicles per type of special plate; and, making changes in terminology. 

Section   

1         Collector's vehicle, pioneer plates. Makes motor vehicles registered as a pioneer vehicle 

(those manufactured before 1936) subject to plate fees if applied. Makes terminology 

changes.  

2         Collector's vehicle, classic car license. Makes motor vehicles registered as a classic car 

(certain vehicles manufactured between 1925 and 1948) subject to plate fees if applied. 

Makes the plate valid only as long as the vehicle resides in Minnesota. Makes terminology 

changes.  

3         Collector's vehicle, collector plate. Makes motor vehicles registered as a collector vehicle 

(certain vehicles manufactured after 1935 and meeting other requirements) subject to plate 

fees if applied. Makes the plate valid only as long as the vehicle resides in Minnesota. 

Requires that the vehicle being registered is self-propelled. Makes terminology changes.  

4         Collector's vehicle, street rod license. Makes motor vehicles registered as a street rod 

(modernized vehicles manufactured before 1949 or designed to resemble such vehicles) 
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subject to plate fees if applied. Makes the plate valid only as long as the vehicle resides in 

Minnesota. Makes terminology changes.  

5         Original plates. Requires that a fee of $10 be charged for registration of the original plate 

from a collector's vehicle. Under current law, whether to charge a fee, and the amount 

charged, is at the discretion of the Department of Public Safety.  

Allows the Department of Public Safety to authorize use of original plates from a collector's 

vehicle even when the original plate number matches a current plate number. Removes 

obsolete language.  

6         Collector military vehicle. Makes motor vehicles registered as a collector military vehicle 

(former military vehicles manufactured at least 20 years ago and owned by a nonprofit) 

subject to plate fees if applied. Makes the plate valid only as long as the vehicle resides in 

Minnesota. Makes terminology changes.  

7         Collector plate transfer. Requires that for collector's plate transfers, the owner must pay a 

$25 tax as well as any fees for personalized plates. Currently, the owner must pay either the 

$25 tax or the fees for personalized plates. A $5 transfer fee is unchanged.  

8         Plates; design, visibility, periods of issuance. Removes redundant and obsolete language.  

9         Amateur radio licensee; special plates, rules. Removes the restriction preventing a person 

from registering more than two vehicles with amateur radio plates.  

10     Personalized plate; rules. Gives the Department of Public Safety discretion in issuing 

personalized plates to applicants who meet the requirements. Adds motorized bicycles and 

commuter vans to the list of vehicles that can receive personalized plates. Makes technical 

changes.  

11     Firefighters; special plates, rules. Authorizes the Department of Public Safety to 

invalidate special firefighter plates upon notification that the owner is no longer qualified 

for the plates. Removes a provision allowing the owner to obtain regular plates without cost 

for the rest of that registration period when the special plates have been removed or 

invalidated. Removes the restriction on registering more than two vehicles with special 

firefighter plates.  

12     National Guard; special plates, rules. Makes the same changes for special national guard 

plates as made in section 0.  

13     Ready Reserve; special plates, rules. Makes retired reserve members eligible for the 

special ready reserve plates. Makes the same changes for special ready reserve plates as 

made in section 0.  

14     Volunteer ambulance attendants; special plates, rules. Makes the same changes for 

special volunteer ambulance plates as made in section 0.  

 


