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Section    

 

Article 1: Higher Education Appropriations 

1  to 5 Appropriations.  Provides general fund appropriations and reductions for the Minnesota 

Office of Higher Education (OHE), the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities 

(MnSCU) and the University of Minnesota (U of M).  See spreadsheet. 

6          Cost of attendance.  Sets a statutory tuition and fee limit used to calculate a state grant 

award for students in two-year and four-year, private, for-profit institutions that is equal to 

the highest tuition and fee amount for a public, two-year institution (currently $5,364). 

7          Awards; state grants.  Reduces from nine to eight, the number of semesters that a student 

can attend to maintain eligibility for the state grant program.  A similar change is made for 

other grant programs.  

8          Legislative notice.  Adds a requirement that the Office of Higher Education (OHE) report 

to the legislature prior to making any material changes in the administration of any of the 

grant programs it administers, including the state grant, child care grants, Indian 

scholarships, and achieve scholarships.  This is a parallel requirement to the legislative 

notice requirement for loan programs administered by OHE. 

9          Terms and conditions of loans; SELF IV and V.  Modifies the grade-level loan limits for 

the existing SELF IV program to $7,500 per grade level for undergraduates.  Establishes a 

$10,000 grade level limit for the SELF V program for all students in baccalaureate degree 

and graduate degree programs and $7,500 per grade level for all other eligible students.  

The aggregate principal of all SELF loans to a student is limited to $70,000.  Loan amounts 

are limited to the cost of attendance minus financial aid, including other loans.  Loans to 
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graduate students are limited to $10,000 per nine-month academic year and a cumulative 

total of $70,000 of SELF debt.  Other eligible students are limited to $7,500 per grade for 

grade levels one through five. 

10      Revenue bond limit.  Increases the limit from $950,000,000 to $1,300,000 for revenue 

bonds issued to the Higher Education Facilities Authority to fund construction of facilities 

at private institutions.  Provides an immediate effective date. 

11      Central system office.  Establishes a central system office for MnSCU in statute to provide 

support for the institutions.  The office is under the direction of the chancellor.  Its duties 

are specified, with a requirement that services are coordinated with institutional services so 

as not to duplicate functions provided by the institutions. 

12      Credit transfer.  Requires MnSCU to develop and maintain mechanisms for seamless 

transfer of student credits.  Lists the criteria for the transfer system. 

13      Issuance of bonds.  Increases by $75 million the amount of revenue bonds that can be 

issued by MnSCU for the construction of revenue generating projects on MnSCU 

campuses.  Another section limits this increase to projects on state university campuses. 

14      Eligibility; peace officer survivor.  Reduces from nine to eight, the number of semesters 

that a student can attend to maintain eligibility for the grant program.  A similar change is 

made for other grant programs. 

15      Achieve scholarship program.  Authorizes a transfer of money to the state grant program. 

16      Transfers.  Limits the authority of OHE to transfer money in fiscal year 2010 and 2011 

from the state grant program unless there is a projected surplus.  Provides an immediate 

effective date. 

17      Wildlife Rehabilitation Center.  Changes the requirement for the U of M to transfer 

money to the center by specifying the transfer amount must equal the center’s loan balance 

on March 11, 2010.  Provides an immediate effective date. 

18      Office of Higher Education carryforward.  Provides temporary authority to carryforward 

child care grant work study funds to provide more aid in fiscal year 2011. 

19      Report of credit transfer activities.  Requires the MnSCU board to annually report to the 

legislature on its credit transfer activities. 

20      MnSCU revenue bonds for state universities.  Limits the increase in revenue bonding 

authority for projects at state universities. 

21      Pilot project; local deposit of MnSCU reserves.  Requires the MnSCU board to 

implement a project on eight campuses for the local deposit of reserves that are currently 

held in the state treasure.  Establishes a process for selecting campuses and financial 

institutions.  Requires separate reports to the legislature by the MnSCU board and the 

commissioner of management and budget. 

22      Appropriation reduction.  Prohibits any reductions to the central office of MnSCU from 

being passed through or charged back to any institution or campus. 
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23      Repealer.  Repeals the achieve scholarship program, the summer transition program, and 

obsolete lending limits for the SELF loans. 

 

Article 2: Employment and Economic Development Appropriations 

1          Summary of Appropriations.  Summarizes direct appropriations. 

2          Appropriations.  Specifies terms. 

3          Economic Development.  DEED appropriations; see spreadsheet. 

4          Labor and Industry.  DOLI appropriations; see spreadsheet. 

5          Bureau of mediation services.  See spreadsheet. 

6          Board of Cosmetologists.  See spreadsheet. 

7          Board of Barber Examiners.  See spreadsheet. 

8          21
st
 Century Minerals Fund.  Expands authorized uses of money appropriated in 2009 

from the Minnesota Minerals 21
st
 Century  Fund. 

 

9          Appropriations made only once.  Clarifies that any appropriation in article that is made 

more than once, is effective only once. 

 

Article 3: Minerals 

1          Investment of fund.  Increases the amount available from the interest and investment 

earnings on taconite funds  for wage and small business subsidies. 

2          Early separation incentive.  Extends the early retirement incentive enacted in 2009 until 

December 31, 2012. 

3          Iron Range Heritage Center and Perpich Archives.  Renames the Ironworld Discovery 

Center. 

4          2010 distributions.  Provides for distributions of taconite funds to cities and townships for 

public works projects. 

5          Revisor instructions.  Directs the renaming of the Douglas J. Johnson Economic Protection 

Trust Fund to the Mesabi Miners’ Memorial Economic Development Fund and the 

Ironworld Discovery Center to Iron Range Heritage Center and Perpich Archives. 

 

Article 4:  Miscellaneous 

1          Officers.  Authorizes the Board of Barber Examiners to hire an executive secretary or enter 
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into an interagency agreement to procure the services of an executive secretary and allows 

the position to be part time. 

2          Fees.  Increases barber related fees. 

3          Certificates of registration.  Allows for a limited extension of registration for incarcerated 

persons. 

4          Qualifications.  Modifies the requirements for receipt of a certificate for barber instructors. 

5          Transfer of students.  Provides that when  a student has paid or made arrangement to pay 

tuition and fees to a barber school, the school must certify the student’s hours to another 

school within ten days of a written request by the student.  Allows a fee to be charged for 

providing this information. 

6          Continuing education.  Sets forth continuing education requirements for registered barber 

instructors. 

7          Individual license.  Provides a definition within the cosmetology statutes. 

8          Training.  Requires customer service skills training for cosmetology board employees. 

9          Feedback.  Requires website access for customer feedback on the board of cosmetology. 

10      Report.  Requires an annual report to the legislature on cosmetology board complaint 

resolution activity. 

11      Fee increases.  Provides for cosmetology-related fee increases that are effective for two 

years. 

12      Permit surcharge.  Authorizes an increase in  permit surcharges in the Dept. of Labor and  

Industry. 

13      Rulemaking.  Directs conforming changes to rules for the cosmetology board. 

14      Plumbing board rules.  Authorizes expedited rulemaking for water free urinals. 

15      Repealers.  Repeals an obsolete section in the barber board statute and a workers 

compensation prohibition on homeopathic therapists. 

 

  


