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Overview

Section

1 Definitions. Adds increased use of “green chemistry” to the products, processes, methods,
technologies or services that are the intended goals of green economic activity.

2 Purpose. Broadens the scope of the Minnesota Investment Fund to provide technical
assistance in addition to financial assistance.

3 Eligible expenditures. Allows funds to be used to provide private entrepreneurs with
training, other technical assistance, and financial assistance similar to that provided through
the small cities development block grant program.

4 Eligible projects. Expands eligibility to projects supporting the development of
microenterprises (defined in federal law) through financial assistance, technical assistance,
and advice or business services.

5 Definitions. Defines and adds veteran-owned small businesses to the category of businesses
eligible for an interest-free loan of up to $20,000. Under current law these loans are
available for economic injury to a business for the loss of essential employees called to
active military service.

6 Purpose; duties. Expands the responsibilities of the Governor’s Workforce Development
Council to include providing recommendations made to the governor to the legislature and
commissioner of DEED as well. Also charges the council with working in consultation with
local workforce councils and DEED to identify and address gaps in local workforce
services. This reflects a recommendation contained in a recent report released by the
Legislative Auditor.

7 Staffing. Directs DEED to provide staff, including professional, technical and clerical to
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the Minnesota Workforce Development Council.

8 Funding. Directs the commissioner of DEED to develop recommendations for a funding
formula that allocates Workforce Investment Act (WIA) funds to the council; specifies a
minimum yearly allocation of $350,000. The commissioner must report the formula
recommendations by January 15, 2011.

9 Workforce program outcomes. Directs the commissioner of DEED to develop and
implement a standard set of ways to assess the outcomes of workforce programs including
comparisons of outcomes for workforce program participants and non-participants. The
department is also directed to monitor programs receiving legislative appropriations on a
pass through basis and develop means of assessing recipients for the costs associated with
monitoring. This reflects a recommendation contained in a recent report released by the
Legislative Auditor.

10 Citation. Provides that this chapter may be cited as the Minnesota Science and Technology
Authority Act.

11 Definitions. Defines terms used in this chapter.

12 Minnesota Science and Technology Authority. Provides that the authority consists of five

commissioners: DEED, MMB, Revenue, Commerce, and Agriculture; and the state chief
information officer. The commissioner of DEED is the chair. Authorizes members to
delegate to the chair, vice-chair, or executive director authority for reviewing and approving
projects. Requires the authority to employ an executive director, with the initial director
being the current director of the Office of Science and Technology.

13 Powers and duties. Specifies duties for the authority including:

. coordinating efforts to obtain federal funding for research and development
projects of primary benefit to small and medium-sized businesses; promoting
contractual relationships between Minnesota businesses that receive federal grants
and prime and subcontractors; working with higher education and nonprofit entities
to promote collaborative efforts to respond to federal funding opportunities;
developing a framework to establish sole-source relationships with federal agencies;
providing grants or other forms of financial assistance; coordinating workshops and
assistance with higher education institutions; and development of a comprehensive
science and technology economic development strategy;

. assisting businesses in identifying qualified supplier and vendors; and
. providing commercialization assistance to specified types of Minnesota firms.

Authorizes the authority to enter into contracts, accept gifts, and charge fees. Requires an
annual report to legislative committee chairs. Authorizes the authority to provide
consultative and technical services to assist eligible projects.

Provides that financial information received or prepared by the authority regarding financial
assistance is private data.

14 Project financial assistance. Requires the authority to assist eligible recipients in
identifying and applying for grants or other sources of financial assistance. Requires the
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authority to review proposed financing for each project submitted to the authority. Requires
grants over $50,000 to be approved by the authority. Provides that grants under this amount
may be approved by the executive director. Authorizes the authority to reject proposed
financing for a project if a majority of members believe financing would not be in the best
interests of the state or would be detrimental to the authority’s funds or programs.

15 Advisory commission. Creates an advisory commission of 17 members to assist the
authority in developing a comprehensive science and technology economic development
plan, and in fulfilling other duties under this chapter.

16 Money of the authority. Specifies procedures for receiving and paying out money.

17 Nonliability. Provides that members and staff of the authority do not have personal
liability, and that the state is not liable for authority loans, agreements or contracts.

18 State pledge against impairment of contracts. Provides that the state pledges not to limit
or alter rights vested in the authority to fulfill terms of agreements or to impair rights and
remedies.

19 Reserves. Authorizes the authority to establish reserves, funds, and accounts to carry out its
purposes.

20 Workforce focus. Directs the MNSCU Board of Trustees to identify its colleges offering

flexible programs to accommodate the needs of laid-off workers and assist other institutions
in the system in decisions about whether and how to offer similar programs. This reflects a
recommendation contained in a recent report released by the Legislative Auditor.

21 Staffing service. Defines a staffing service as an employer whose business involves
employing individuals directly for the purpose of furnishing temporary assignment workers
to clients of the staffing service.

22 Suitable employment. Specifying that suitable employment does not include employment
with a staffing service if less than 75 percent of the applicant’s wage credits are from a job
assignment with the client of a staffing service. A job assignment with a staffing service is
considered suitable employment if at least 75 percent of the applicant’s wage credits are
from temporary job assignments and the job assignment meets the other requirements of
suitable employment outlined in section 268.035, subdivision 23a, paragraph a.

23 Actively seeking suitable employment defined. Provides that actively seeking a suitable
job assignment or other employment with a staffing service is considered actively seeking
suitable employment.

24 Quit defined. Provides that an employee is considered to have quit if within five days of
completing a job assignment from a staffing service, if they fail to request an additional
suitable job assignment.

25 Discharge defined. Specifies that the end of a job assignment with the client of a staffing
service is considered a discharge from employment with the staffing service unless the
applicant fails to request an additional suitable job assignment within five days.

26 Employment misconduct defined. Modifies the standard for employment misconduct by
establishing that a violation of standards of behavior must be egregious rather than serious.
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27 Telephone number. Requires that for any unemployment benefit determination, a
telephone number must be prominently displayed for applicants or employers to contact
with questions or to request further information.

28 Unemployment law judges. Provides for minimum salary standards for unemployment
law judges.
29 Administrative penalties. Directs the commissioner to penalize employers who make

offers of employment to an applicant when in fact, there are no jobs available.

30 Definitions. Modifies definitions of applicant, license, licensee, notification date, and
renewal deadline.

31 Fees. Based on one-year licenses. Fees are doubled for two-year licenses and tripled for
three-year licenses. Lapsed license renewals must include all license renewal fees during
lapsed period. License renewals must include base fee, board fees, continuing education
fees, and contractor recovery fund fees.

Base Fee | Exam Fee Llate Fee | continuing | Board Fee
Renewal (V2 of Education
Renewal Fee
Fee)
Type of One-Year One-Year One-Year
License/Registration | Licenses Licenses Licenses
Entry Level $10 $50 $5 $10 $4
Journeyman $20 $50 $10 $10 $4
Master $40 $50 $25 $10 $4
Business $90 $50 $50 $10 $4
32 Licenses requiring examination. Requires license application to demonstrate applicant is

qualified to take examination and allows for a one-time rescheduling of examination (within
one year) if applicants don’t take examination at scheduled time. If examination not taken
within one year, application is denied and fees nonrefundable. Requires commissioner to
notify applicant of a passing score within 60 days of passing the test; applicant has 90 days
thereafter to pay license fee.

33 License renewal. Prohibits licensee from performing licensed work if license expires;
licensee has two years after license expiration to apply for renewal.

34 Incomplete applications. Specifies commissioner’s duties and applicant’s responsibilities
in event of an incomplete application.

35 License reinstatement. Sets for the requirements for license reinstatement after revocation
including retaking the examination and payment of a $100 reinstatement application fee in
addition to other applicable license fees. Reinstatement after suspension must be done
within two years and include $100 reinstatement fee. Reinstatement after voluntary
termination requires $100 fee and application no later than date the license would have
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expired if not terminated.
36 Prohibition of transfer. Prohibits a license from being sold or transferred.

37 Continuing education. Specifies that department seminar offerings may be rescheduled
once within one year and that course fees are not refundable.

38 Designation. Provides that municipal building officials must be designated for each
certification category created by statute or rule.

39 Applications; renewal; fees; expiration. Codifies language regarding applications for
initial and renewal of certification of building officials.

40 Certification criteria. Strikes the $70 non refundable fee for applying for examination and
certification.

41 Certification categories. Codifies certification categories of building officials, certified
building official-limited and accessibility specialist.

42 Continuing education. Codifies language regarding continuing education requirements
and time extensions.

43 Failure to renew. Provides that individuals not making timely applications for renewal
may not be certified and cannot be designated as the building official for any municipality.

44 Contractor bonds. Changes yearly bond requirements to biennial requirements and
increases fee from $15 annually to $100 biennially.

Provides that bond must be given and maintained.
45 Examination. Changes reflect consolidation of examination requirements.

46 License registration, renewal and expiration/electrical licenses. Changes reflect
consolidation of licensing and other fees accomplished in section 2 and requires employers
exempt from licensing requirements to file a certificate of “responsible person” along with a

$100 fee.
47 Reciprocity. Clarifies requirements for license reciprocity.
48 Exemption from licensing/responsible persons. Requires that an employer must pay a file

fee to file a certificate of responsible person. The certificate is valid for two years from the
date of filing. To maintain a certificate the employer must resubmit a certificate of
responsible person every two years.

49 Contractor. Provides definition of contractor.

50 Plumbing contractor. Provides definition of plumbing contractor.

51 Responsible licensed plumber. Provides definition of responsible licensed plumber.
52 Restricted plumbing contractor. Provides definition of restricted plumbing contractor.
53 Local regulation. Conforming changes to new definitions set forth above.
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54 Licensing; bond and insurance. Sets out differences between an individual licensee and a
business licensee for license exemptions, master plumber and restricted master plumber
requirements, and bond and insurance requirements.

55 Plumber apprentices. Sets out requirements for supervision of apprentices by a licensed
supervising master, restricted master, journeyman or restricted journeyman licensed and
employed by the same employer as the apprentice. Apprentices may only work under the
direct supervision of a licensed plumber and cannot supervise any plumbing work or make
assignments of work to unlicensed persons.

56 Use of license. Clarifies reference to use of census data (for determining population of
cities and towns) to be the last federal census.

57 Renewal. Specifies that renewal of plumbing licenses must be made within 12 months of
license expiration date.

58 Application, exam and license fees/plumbing license. Makes conforming changes.

59 Responsible licensed master. Provides definitions of responsible licensed master.

60 Water conditioning contractor. Provides definitions of water conditioning contractor.

61 Water conditioning journeyman. Provides definitions of water conditioning journeyman.

62 Water conditioning master. Provides definitions of water conditioning master.

63 Violations. Adds licensed water conditioning master and journeyman to those local

authorities must report to commissioner when violations found.

64 Licensing in certain cities. Allows only licensed water conditioning persons to perform
work in all areas of state except cities and towns with population of 5,000 or less. Allows
plumber apprentices to work on water conditioning installations under supervision of
licensed plumber or water conditioning master or journeyman.

65 Bonding and insurance. Sets forth bond and insurance requirements for water
conditioning contractors.

66 Fees; renewal/water conditioning licenses. Makes conforming changes.

67 Exemptions. Specifies that for the purposes of fee calculation, a certificate of exemption is
considered an entry level license.

68 Fees. Specifies that residential contractor, residential remodeler and residential roofer
licenses are business licensees for the purposes of fees.

69 Form/residential contractors. Conforming changes.

70 Examination. Conforming changes.

71 License. Conforming changes

72 Manufactured home installer and licensed residential roofer bonds. Specifies that bond

period is biennial.
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73 Sign contractor bonds. Specifies that bond period is biennial.

74 High pressure piping; business license. Requires applications for business licenses to
include a verified statement of compliance.

75 High pressure piping registration. Conforming changes.

76 High pressure piping registration and renewal fees. Conforming changes.

77 High pressure piping license application and renewal. Conforming changes.

78 Examination and licensing/boats. Requires all people operating a boat to hold a current
master’s license or a charter boat captain’s license issued by the U.S. Coast Guard.

79 Applications/boilers engineers. Conforming changes.

80 Applicability. Provides exemption for certain hobby boiler engineer licenses.

81 Boiler engineer license fees. Conforming changes.

82 Installation. Specifies that installation means installation or reinstallation.

83 Used manufactured home. Sets for the definition of “used manufactured home” as a home

offered for sale more than 24 months after the first purchaser took legal ownership.
84 Seller. Provides definition of seller.

85 Requirement; new manufactured homes. Requires that the sale or offer for sale of a new
manufactured home bear a label required by the secretary.

86 Requirement; used homes. Prohibits the sale of any used manufactured home made after
June 14, 1976, unless the home complies with a signed notice of compliance form that
outlines the home’s meeting standards related to: cords and plugs for electric ranges and
clothes dryers; solid fuel-burning fireplaces or stoves listed for use in manufactured homes
with appropriate installation and adherence to listing standards; gas water heaters and
furnaces listed for manufactured home use with appropriate installation and adherence to
listing standards; smoke alarms; approved and operational carbon monoxide alarms or CO
detectors; egress windows in each bedroom meeting operable and opening requirements; a
furnace and water compartment lined with gypsum board; and compliance with snow load
and heat zone requirements for the state.

87 Alternative design plan. Provides for alternative frost free design.

88 Manufacturer’s installation requirements and instructions for new homes. Requires
that new single section manufactured homes and new multi-section homes be installed in
compliance with either the manufacturer’s installation instruction or the state building code.

89 Manufacturer’s installation and reinstallation requirements and instructions for used
homes. Requires that used multi-section manufactured homes be installed in compliance
with the manufacturer’s installation instructions or the state building code.

90 Reinstallation for single section homes. Does not require the reinstallation of a single-
section home to be done in accordance with the manufacturer’s requirements for a frost-
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protected foundation system if the installation happens not less than 24 months from the
date of installation. Installation made under this section must be installed to meet state rules
for above frost line installation or an alternative design stamped by a licensed professional
engineer or architect. Sets for the fee standards.

91 Notice requirement. Sets for the notice requirements for sellers of single-section used
manufactured home being reinstalled.

92 Generally. Corrected reference.

93 Sub-agency license. Provides that a sub-agency license renewal must coincide with the
principal license date.

94 Licenses; renewal. Conforming changes.

95 Fees. Conforming changes.

96 Limited dealer’s license. Conforming changes.

97 Manufactured home installers. Conforming changes.

98 Services performed by governmental units/joint powers. Provides that if government

units make an agreement that has the effect of eliminating or replacing a public employee
who is part of a collective bargaining agreement, and there is no provision in the agreement
to deal with the situation, negotiations on the effects must be conducted between the
exclusive representative and the employer.

99 Amendment to 2009 session law. Provides for the movement of base funding for the
Office of Science and Technology in DEED to the new Science and Technology Authority;
expanded use of construction mitigation grants; and expanded use of funding for renewable
energy projects funded by the Minnesota Minerals 21% Century fund.

100 Amendment to 2010 session law. Clarifies that St. Louis County is the fiscal agent for
2010 taconite distributions specified in Chapter 216.

101 Customer service. Directs the commissioner of DEED in consultation with workforce
service area staff to develop and implement processes and procedures to make seamless
assistance available to unemployed Minnesotan’s seeking a variety of services—including
applying for unemployment benefits-- through local workforce centers.

102 Workforce services report and recommendations. Requires report to legislature by
Governor’s workforce council on performance and outcomes of workforce centers and
identification of service gaps.

103 DEED block grant report. Requires study and recommendations on use of block grants to
distribute workforce funds

104 Study of division of general fund revenue account. Requests the Carlson School at the U
of M to study feasibility of dividing the state general fund revenue accounts among
community financial institutions.

105 Appropriation. Appropriates $107,000 per year beginning in fiscal year 2011 to the
Minnesota Science and Technology Authority.
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106 Transfer. Provides for transfer of any remaining funds in the appropriation to the Office of
Science and Technology to the new Minnesota Science and Technology Authority.

107 Revisor instruction. Technical reference changes related to manufactured homes.

108 Repealers.

109 Effective dates.
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