## 

**DATE:** April 16, 2010

FILE NUMBER: Version:	
Authors:	Ruud and others
Subject:	Birth Centers Licensure Provisions
Analyst:	Emily Cleveland, 651.296.5808

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd.

## Overview

This bill establishes licensure for birth centers and authorizes medical assistance coverage for certain services provided at a licensed birth center.

Section

- **1 Designation.** Amends § 62Q.19, subdivision 1. Adds licensed birth centers to the list of essential community provider designations.
- **2 Birth Centers.** Adds § 144.615. Establishes licensure for birth centers.

**Subd. 1. Definition.** Defines "birth center;" "CABC;" and "low-risk pregnancy" for purposes of this section.

**Subd. 2. License required.** Requires birth centers to be licensed beginning January 1, 2011, in order to operate in the state.

**Subd. 3. Temporary license.** Provides a process for issuing a temporary license that would be valid for a six-month period while a birth center awaits accreditation.

**Subd. 4. Application.** Requires that the license application and fee be submitted to the commissioner of health on a form provided by the commissioner and specifies information that it must contain.

**Subd. 5. Suspension, revocation, and refusal to renew.** Permits the commissioner to refuse to grant or renew, or to suspend or revoke a license to operate a birth center on the same grounds as such action may be taken against a hospital under § 144.55, subd. 6.

**Subd. 6. Standards for licensure.** Requires that a birth center be accredited by the Commission for the Accreditation of Birthing Centers (CABC) and have procedures in place for specifying patient risk status in order to obtain a state license. Requires birth centers to provide the commissioner, upon request, with any

documentation submitted to the CABC during the accreditation process.

**Subd. 7. Limitations of services.** Limits procedures that may be performed at a birth center: surgical procedures must be limited to those done during an uncomplicated birth; abortions must not be administered; and general and regional anesthesia must not be administered.

**Subd. 8. Fees.** Imposes a biennial licensing fee of \$365 and a \$365 fee for a temporary license. Requires that fees be collected and deposited according to the same provisions has fees are collected for hospitals.

**Subd. 9. Renewal.** Requires renewal of a birth center license every two years, except that a temporary license expires after six months and may be renewed for one additional six-month period.

**Subd. 10. Records.** Subjects records maintained at birth centers to the Minnesota Health Records Act.

**Subd. 11. Report.** Requires the commissioner of health, in consultation with certain others, to evaluate the quality of care and outcomes of services provided in birth centers. Requires a report to the legislature by January 15, 2014.

- **3 Definitions.** Amends § 144.651, subd. 2. Modifies the definition of "patient" for purposes of the Health Care Bill of Rights by including a person who receives care at a licensed birth center.
- **4 Health facility.** Amends § 144A.51, subd. 5. Modifies the definition of "health facility" for purposes of oversight of the Office of Health Facility Complaints by including birth centers.
- **5** Services provided in birthing centers. Amends § 256B.0625, by adding subd. 54. States that medical assistance covers services provided in a licensed birth center by a health professional that would be covered if provided at a hospital. Specifies reimbursement rates for facility services and professional services. Requires the commissioner of human services to seek necessary federal waivers.
- 6 **Prepaid health plan rates.** Requires the commissioner of human services, when negotiating managed care contracts, to consider and reflect in rates anticipated savings due to medical assistance coverage of services provided in licensed birth centers.