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Overview 

This bill makes various changes related to speeding and other traffic regulation, 

to: adjust speed limit requirements in work zones, prevent certain speeding 

violations from appearing on a person’s driving record, require driving in the 

right-hand lane of multilane highways, and modify the contents of the driver’s 

manual to include discussion of the right-hand driving requirement. 

Section    

1          Speed zoning in work zone; surcharge.  Modifies speed limit adjustments in a work zone, to 

allow it to be set at no more than 40 m.p.h. on nondivided two-lane highways that have a 

regular speed limit of at least 60 m.p.h. 

The change would resolve an internal conflict in the statute governing work zone speed 

limits.  In a work zone under current law: 

•         the speed limit can be reduced by no more than 15 miles per hour; and 

•         On a nondividied highway, the maximum allowable speed limit is 40 miles per 

hour (and is 55 m.p.h. on a divided highway). 

On a nondivided highway having a normal speed limit of 60 m.p.h., a work zone speed limit 

reduction by 15 m.p.h. would set the limit at 45 m.p.h., which would be above the 

maximum allowable limit of 40 m.p.h. 

2          Laned highway.  Directs MnDOT, counties, cities, and towns to erect signs as appropriate 

instructing motorists on right-hand lane travel requirements.  Clarifies via a cross reference 

that vehicles must be driven in the right-hand lane. 

3          Vehicle operation in right-hand lane.  Mandates driving a vehicle in the right-hand lane on 

multilane roads, if safe to do so, except under certain cases.  The exceptions include when 
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passing, making a left turn, entering or exiting a highway, in a lane designated for a specific 

type of traffic, and as otherwise directed. 

Establishes a $50 fine for violations (it would be a petty misdemeanor). 

4          Traffic safety education account; appropriation.  Creates a traffic safety education account, 

specifies that all fines from a right-hand lane violation must go into the account, and creates 

a standing appropriation of the funds to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety for the 

State Patrol to perform traffic safety education programs.  The account goes into effect July 

1, 2010. 

5          Certain convictions not recorded.  Amends a provision (commonly known as the “Dimler 

amendment”) preventing certain speeding violations from being recorded on a person’s 

driving record, so that violations of up to and including 10 miles per hour over a 60 m.p.h. 

limit are not recorded.  Currently, those violations in a 60 m.p.h. zone that are not recorded 

are only those of up to 5 miles per hour over the limit. 

6          Driver’s manual; restricted driving in left lane.  Mandates that the next update to the 

driver’s manual must cover driving in left- and right-hand lanes. 

7          Surcharges on criminal and traffic offenders.  Exempts the right-hand lane violation from 

the $75 surcharge applied to other traffic offenses and other crimes. 

8          Revisor’s instruction.  Makes a technical change, to recodify provisions on the driver’s 

manual to a new section in Minnesota Statutes. 

 

  


