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Overview 

This bill proposes several changes to the funding and administration of state 

pesticide and fertilizer regulatory activities.  Affected programs include 

waste pesticide collection; the annual registration of nonagricultural 

fertilizer products; and the annual licensing of certain fertilizer 

manufacturers, suppliers, and applicators. 

The Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) collects unused 

agricultural and nonagricultural pesticide products via the waste pesticide 

collection program.  Both the scope and funding of this program were 

debated during the last legislative biennium.  

State law regulates the manipulation and distribution/sale of fertilizers.  Only 

nonagricultural—or specialty—fertilizer products must be registered and 

pre-approved for sale in Minnesota.  Licensure and reporting are required of 

a business that stores/sells bulk fertilizer for use on agricultural land; custom 

applies agricultural or turf fertilizer products; or manufactures, blends, or 

otherwise manipulates fertilizer.     

Section    

1          Implementation.  Modifies the waste pesticide collection program to allow the MDA to 

limit the type and quantity of waste pesticide accepted and charge pesticide end users a 

collection fee. 

2          Disposal site requirement.  Modifies the waste pesticide collection program to a person 

collecting waste pesticide to record—for each product collected—the quantity collected 

and  either the U.S. EPA pesticide product registration number or the product’s name and 

active chemical ingredient(s).  Requires the person to record this information on a standard 

MDA form.  

3          Effective period.  Clarifies that fertilizer manufacturer/distributor/retailer/custom applicator 

licenses are valid for a calendar year and must be renewed before January 1. 
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4          Distributor’s tonnage report.   

     Subdivision. 1. Semiannual statement Annual tonnage report.  Changes the 

semiannual fertilizer quantity reporting requirement to an annual report due July 31 

and reflecting the tonnage distributed during the previous calendar year.  Clarifies that 

a custom applicator must submit a tonnage report unless the person only distributes 

fertilizer via custom application.  Allows a person to report this information in a 

substitute format approved by the MDA.  Clarifies that the person must report the 

number of net tons and grade of each raw fertilizer material distributed in the state.  

Eliminates the requirement that licensed entities who sell to the ultimate consumer 

submit records or invoices demonstrating that a person earlier in the fertilizer supply 

chain (e.g. a manufacturer or wholesaler) paid the required inspection fee. 

     Subd. 2.  No change. 

     Subd. 3. Late annual report and inspection fee penalty.  Increases the late 

penalty from $25 to $50.  Authorizes the MDA to use its full agricultural chemical 

law enforcement powers to enforce the reporting and inspection fee requirements.  

     Subd. 4. Responsibility for inspection fees.  Removes a provision stating that if 

more than one person is involved in the distribution of fertilizer, the person 

responsible for the inspection fee is the one who imports/manufactures/produces the 

fertilizer or who registers the specialty fertilizer/soil amendment/plant amendment. 

     Subd. 5. Verification of statements annual tonnage report.  Technical change 

reflecting the move to annual reporting provided in subdivision 1 above. 

5          Fee for late application.  Clarifies that if a person fails to renew their annual license or 

product registration by December 31
st
, that person must pay a late fee in addition to the 

standard renewal fee.  (The late fee remains unchanged at 50 percent of the applicable 

renewal fee.) 

6          Payment of inspection fees fee.  (a) Clarifies that a person must pay an inspection fee if 

they register and distribute a specialty (i.e. non-agricultural) fertilizer, soil amendment, or 

plant amendment in Minnesota.  (b) States that a licensed fertilizer distributor, custom 

applicator, or manufacturer who distributes product to an unlicensed person is responsible 

for the inspection fee on that product unless the person distributes fertilizer only via custom 

application. (d) Requires a product registrant or a fertilizer licensee to retain for three years 

any invoices that substantiate the amount of product distributed and any inspection fees 

paid.    

 

  


