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Overview 

This bill provides a small business and farm property exemption from the estate tax. The 

maximum amount of the combined exemptions for these properties is $4 million. When 

added to $1 million exemption under the Minnesota estate tax, the combined value equals 

the exemption under the federal estate tax of $5 million. This exemption is effective for 

estates of decedents dying after December 31, 2010. 

1         Minnesota adjusted taxable estate. Modifies the definition of Minnesota adjusted taxable estate to 

excluded the value of qualified small business property, as defined in section 4, and qualified farm 

property, as defined in section 5, are subtracted. The sum of the two amounts cannot exceed $4 

million. 

2         Small business and farm property exclusion. Provides that the value of a qualified small business 

property, as defined in section 4, and qualified farm property, as defined in section 5, (but not to 

exceed in combination $4 million) is excluded from calculation of Minnesota estate tax.  

3         Definitions. Defines terms for purposes of the small business and farm exemptions: 

•  Family member (defined by reference to federal law) means a spouse, ancestor, lineal 

descendent, or a spouse of a lineal descendent of the decedent. 

•  Qualified heir is a family member who acquired the property (farm or small business 

property) and agreed to continue using the property as a small business or farm or to pay 

recapture tax under section 6. 

•  Qualified property refers to the small business property or farm property that meets the 

requirements of sections 4 or 5. 

4         Qualified small business property. Requires small business property to satisfy the following 

requirements: 

•  Its value was included in the federal adjusted taxable estate. 
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•  It consists of trade or business property (or shares of stock or other ownership interests that 

are not publicly traded) and the decedent or spouse materially participated in the 

operation of the business. 

•  It had gross annual sales for the most recent taxable year of $10 million or less. 

•  Any cash or equivalents are deducted from the value of the business. 

•  Decedent owned the business for three years before the date of death. 

•  A family member continuously uses the property for three years after the date of death. 

•  The estate and the qualified heir agree to pay recapture tax if a family member fails to 

satisfy the requirement to use the property for the three-year period. 

5         Qualified farm property. Requires qualified farm to satisfy the following requirements: 

•  Its value was included in the federal adjusted taxable estate. 

•  The property consists of a farm, as defined by Minnesota law, and was classified as the 

decedent's agricultural homestead for property tax purposes. 

•  Decedent continuously owned the property for the three-year period before the date of 

death. 

•  A family member continuously uses the property for three years after the date of death. 

•  The estate and the qualified heir agree to pay recapture tax if a family member fails to 

satisfy the requirement to use the property for the three-year period. 

6         Recapture tax. Imposes a recapture tax, if the qualified heir disposes of the property (except by 

transferring it to a family member) or if a family member fails to satisfy the three-year use 

requirement. The tax equals 16 percent of the value of the exclusion and is due six months after the 

property is disposed of or the qualifying use stops. 

  


