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Overview 

This bill makes three changes in state law regarding worker's compensation self-

insurance. As background, Minnesota law requires employers to have worker's 

compensation coverage to pay benefits to employees and former employees who are 

unable to work due to a work-related injury or illness. An employer may arrange this 

coverage in any of three ways: buying a worker's compensation insurance policy from an 

insurance company, joining with other employers in a worker's compensation self-

insurance group, or becoming a self-insured employer on its own.  

1         Private employers who have ceased to be self-insured. Technical change to clarify that the 

Department of Commerce has the right to approve the insurance company (not just the insurance 

policy itself) that issues an insurance policy to a former self-insured private employer, to cover all or 

a portion of the employer's future obligations to pay continuing or future claims related to a past 

period in which the employer was self-insured. (If the department approves both the insurance 

company and the insurance policy, that relieves the employer of obligations to maintain a security 

deposit and pay future assessments, other than an immediate assessment at time of withdrawal, of the 

self-insurers security fund in connection with those possible future claims.)  

2         Purchase of insurance policy from an authorized insurer. Provides that a commercial self-

insurance group may buy an insurance policy to cover all claims incurred by it during all or a part of 

the group's past existence. This relieves the group of the requirement to maintain a security deposit to 

cover those claims. Requires that the insurance policy and the insurance company be approved by the 

Department of Commerce.  

3         Insolvency of a commercial self-insurance group insurer. This section deals with coverage by the 

Minnesota Insurance Guaranty Association (MIGA) of a policy issued under section 2 of this bill, if 

the insurance company that issued the policy later becomes insolvent and unable to pay claims. 

MIGA does not cover claims by any insured that has a net worth of more than $25 million, when 

including all of the insured's affiliates (subsidiaries, parent companies, and other affiliates). This 

section says that, for a policy issued to a commercial self-insurance group under section 2 of this bill, 

the calculation is performed on each member of the commercial self-insurance group individually. 

This increases the odds that at least some members of the group will be covered by MIGA if the 

group's insurer becomes insolvent, even if the group as a whole would not qualify because its 
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members' total assets exceed $25 million. 

  


