HOUSE RESEARCH =

Bill Summary =

DATE: March 16, 2012

FILE NUMBER: H.F. 2788

Version: First engrossment

Authors: Peppin

Subject: Three Rivers Park District board

Analyst: Deborah A. Dyson

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd.

Overview

This bill applies to the Three Rivers Park District, which owns and operates parks and recreation areas in the areas of Hennepin County outside the city of Minneapolis. It changes the two at-large park board members appointed by the Hennepin County Board to be elected from districts.

- 1 As provided in this section. Conforming change.
- **Election of park commissioners.** Provides for election of all seven members of the Three Rivers Park District board from districts. Provides for re-establishing the staggered terms after redistricting.
- **Decennial redistricting.** Requires seven districts instead of five.
- **Repealer.** Repeals the current provisions for election of five members from districts and appointment by the Hennepin county board of two members.
- **Effective date.** Effective upon local approval by the Three Rivers Park District board and applies to the 2012 election and thereafter.