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Overview 

This bill repeals Minnesota's requirement for a person wishing to purchase a handgun or 

semiautomatic military-style assault weapon from a federally licensed firearms dealer to first 

acquire a Permit-to-Purchase. Currently, the Permit-to-Purchase may be obtained, without 

charge, through application to the person's Chief of Police. The only basis for denial of an 

application would be that the person is prohibited by law from possessing firearms. (See 

Minnesota Statutes, section 624.7131.) 
Under a separate statute also being repealed (Minnesota Statutes, section 624.7132), a Minnesota 

Permit-to-Purchase may also be obtained by alternatively applying to the Chief of Police 

indirectly through the firearms dealer. 
Either way, the application process for the Permit-to-Purchase has a built-in 7-day waiting period. 

Upon being granted by the Chief, a permit is valid statewide for a period of one-year. However, 

the Permit-to-Purchase becomes void if the permit-holder becomes prohibited from possessing a 

firearm at any time for any reason. 
Apart from the 7-day waiting period for issuance of the Permit-to-Purchase, there is no waiting 

period required at the time of purchase (i.e., time of transfer of ownership) for any firearm.  
Nevertheless, if the purchase is of a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon is from 

a federally-licensed firearms dealer (i.e., an FFL), the purchaser must show proof of having a valid 

Permit-to-Purchase (in accordance with Minnesota law), and must also submit to a criminal and 

mental health background check through a phone call by the dealer to the FBI's National Instant 

Check System (NICS). This NICS background check is required at the time of purchase for the 

purchase of any type of firearm. (Firearms transfers between federally licensed dealers, except for 

their personal use, are exempted under both federal and State law.) 
A federally-licensed firearms dealer (i.e., the FFL) must keep record for 25 years of the FBI's 

approval (or denial) for the requested firearm sale, as well as identifying information on the buyer 

and the specific firearm(s) purchased in the transaction. Government agencies themselves are 

generally prohibited by federal law from keeping data bases of firearms owners, although the FBI 

and federal BATF have authority to inspect dealers' files for the purpose of performing 

compliance checks and for tracing guns recovered from crime scenes. 
Transfers of firearms between private individuals who are not federally-licensed firearms dealers - 

including transfers of pistols and semiautomatic military-style assault weapons - are not subject to 

the Permit-to-Purchase or federal NICS background checks. However, it is a crime for any person 

to transfer a firearm to another person (i.e., a transferee) if the person knows that the transferee is 

prohibited by law from possessing firearms, or if it was reasonably forseeable at the time of 
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transfer that the transferee was likely to use the firearm in furtherance of a felony crime of 

violence. 
Minnesota law governing the carrying of firearms in public places is not affected by this bill 

(except to strike a crossreference, through the Revisor's instruction). However, the carry law 

exempts the holder of a valid Permit-to-Carry (i.e., a concealed-carry permit) from the 

requirement for having a Permit-to-Purchase for the purpose of purchasing a handgun or 

semiautomatic military-style assault weapon. Nothwithstanding that fact, the holder of a valid 

Permit-to-Carry remains, like any other person who is not a firearms dealer, subject to the federal 

requirement for the NICS background check at the time of purchase of any firearm. 
Minnesota Statute 624.713 lists the categories of persons who are prohibited from possessing 

firearms in Minnesota. The list includes persons who are prohibited from firearms possession for 

any reason under federal law, as well. 

1         Gross misdemeanor; transferring firearm. Deletes a reference to a repealed section of Statutes. Adds a mens 

rea requirement for the crime of knowingly transferring a firearm to a prohibited person. 

2         Transfer prohibited. Strikes (in clause 2) a reference to the repealed provision. Strikes (in clause 1) 

duplicative language prohibiting the transfer of a firearm to a person the transferor knows is a firearms 

prohibited person. 

3         Revisor's Instruction. Directs the Revisor of Statutes to delete any other references to the repealed sections of 

Statutes beyond those noted in the bill. 

4         Repealer. Repeals sections of Statutes requiring that any person (other than a licensed dealer) wishing to 

purchase a pistol (i.e., any handgun) or a semiautomatic military-style assault weapon from a federally-licensed 

firearms dealer (i.e., an FFL) must first obtain a Minnesota Permit to Purchase. Also repeals the Statute 

directing the BCA to develop standardized forms pertaining to the Permit-to-Purchase. 

5         Effective date. August 1, 2011. 

  


