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Overview 

Repeals the required June accelerated tax remittance for sales and use tax, tobacco and 

cigarette taxes, and liquor taxes beginning with the June 2011 tax liability. Persons with 

an annual tax liability of $120,000 or more for any of these taxes are currently required to 

remit 90 percent of the June collections before the end of June.  
Also eliminates the early monthly sales and use tax payment for all other months for 

vendors with an annual liability of $120,000. That provision was enacted in 2010 to 

alleviate a potential state cash flow problem. 

1         Sales and use returns. Eliminates a provision related to the June accelerated sales and use tax 

payment. 

2         Sales and use tax. Eliminates both of the requirements that a vendor with an annual sales and use tax 

liability of $120,000 or more remit 90 percent of its June liability before the end of June and that the 

vendor make early payments in all the other months based on one of two options. Eliminates 

administrative provisions related to these early payments. 

3         Monthly return, cigarette distributor. Eliminates a provision related to the June accelerated 

cigarette tax payment. 

4         Monthly return, tobacco products distributor. Eliminates a provision related to the June 

accelerated tobacco products tax payment. 

5         Payment. Eliminates a cross reference to the June accelerated cigarette and tobacco products tax 

payment. 

6         Repealer. Repeals Minnesota Statutes, section 289A.60, which provides a safe harbor provision and 

underpayment penalty for the payment of the accelerated June sales and use tax payment. Repeals 

Minnesota Statutes, sections 297F.09 and 297G.09, which require accelerated payments of June tax 

liabilities for persons with an annual tax liability of $120,000 or more for either the cigarette and 

tobacco products taxes, or for the liquor taxes. 

  


