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Overview 

This bill (1) raises filing fees by $1.50 for motor vehicle transactions (such as vehicle 

registration renewals), and (2) divides fees for driver licenses and Minnesota 

identification cards to reflect the distinction between a core fee and a filing fee for such 

transactions. 

1         Filing fees; allocations. Raising filing fees by $1.50 for motor vehicle transactions. The filing fee 

increases are: 

•  $4.50 to $6 for registration renewals; and 

•  $8.50 to $10 for most other vehicle transactions (such as title transfers). 

Allocation of revenue from the filing fee is unchanged, and depends on whether the vehicle 

transaction is handled by Driver and Vehicle Services at the Department of Public Safety or by an 

authorized deputy registrar. Deputy registrars receive the entire filing fee collected. Filing fees 

collected by the department are allocated to the general fund and the vehicle services operating 

account. 

2         Fees. Reduces fees for driver's licenses and Minnesota identification cards by $5 to reflect the 

distinction between (1) the core fees (which vary with type of license or card) listed in this section, 

and (2) a $5 filing fee authorized to be imposed by driver's license agents. 

The core fees are deposited into an account that funds Driver and Vehicle Services agency costs for 

driver licensing. The filing fee, which is set at $5 per transaction, is the amount retained by driver's 

license agents and is designed to cover an agent's operating expenses. Minn. Stat. § 171.061, subd. 4. 

Driver's license agents operate offices throughout the state to provide driver licensing services on 

behalf of Driver and Vehicle Services. 

While current law authorizes driver's license agents to charge the $5 filing fee, in practice that filing 

fee is included within the fee identified in this section and it is apparently not added on. The effect of 

the changes, then, would be to amend the statutes to reflect actual practice by driver's license agents 

and Driver and Vehicle Services. 
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The total amount charged for driver's licenses and identification cards by a driver's license agent is 

unchanged. 

3         Tow-wheeled vehicle endorsement fee. Reduces the fees for motorcycle endorsement and renewals 

by $5 under the same clarification change as described in section 2. Allows Driver and Vehicle 

Service to recoup the reduced fee through a $5 filing fee charge. 

The total amount charged for endorsements is unchanged. 

4         Effective date. Makes the provisions in the bill effective July 1, 2011. 

  


