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Article 1: Affordable Care Act Implementation; Better Health Care for More Minnesotans 

Overview 

This article contains provisions related to the MinnesotaCare program, and requirements for a 

basic health plan under the federal Affordable Care Act.  The article eliminates the $10,000 

annual limit on inpatient hospital benefits and the four-month uninsured and 18-month no 

access to employer subsidized insurance requirements.  The article also reduces 

MinnesotaCare income limits, increases the MA income limit for children, establishes 

requirements for service delivery, and directs the commissioner of human services to seek 

federal authority and funding to operate a health coverage program for persons with incomes 

up to 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines (FPG). 

1  MinnesotaCare federal receipts.  Amends § 16A.724, subd. 3.  Dedicates all federal 

funding received for implementation and administration of MinnesotaCare as a basic health 

program to that program and requires this money to be deposited into the health care access 

fund.  Allows this money to be used only for that program to:  purchase health coverage for 

enrollees, reduce enrollee premiums and cost-sharing, or provide additional benefits.  Strikes 

language related to the deposit of federal funds for administrative costs.  Provides a January 

1, 2015 effective date. 

2  Eligibility.  Amends § 254B.04, subd. 1.  Strikes a cross-reference to a section repealed later 

in the bill (§ 256B.057, subd. 2). 

3  Federal approval.  Amends § 256.01, by adding subd. 35.  (a) Requires the commissioner to 

seek federal authority necessary to operate a health insurance program for persons with 

incomes up to 275 percent of FPG.  The proposal must seek to secure all federal funding 

available from at least the following sources: 

(1) premium tax credits and cost sharing subsidies for individuals with incomes above 133 

percent and at or below 275 percent of FPG, who would otherwise be enrolled in the 

Minnesota Insurance Marketplace; 

(2) Medicaid; and 

(3) other funding sources identified by the commissioner that support coverage or care 

redesign. 

(b) Requires funding received to be used to design and implement a health insurance 

program that is streamlined and meets the needs of Minnesotans with income up to 275 

percent of FPG.  Specifies program criteria. 

(c) Directs the commissioner to develop and submit a proposal consistent with the criteria in 

paragraph (b), and seek all federal authority necessary to implement the program.  Requires 

the commissioner to consult with stakeholder groups and consumers in developing the 

proposal. 
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(d) Authorizes the commissioner to seek any available federal waivers and approvals prior to 

2017. 

(e) Requires the commissioner to report progress to the relevant legislative committees by 

December 1, 2014. 

(f) Gives the commissioner authority to accept and spend federal funds. 

4  Caretaker relative.   Amends § 256B.02, by adding subd. 18.  Defines “caretaker relative.” 

Provides a January 1, 2014 effective date. 

5  Insurance affordability program.  Amends § 256B.02, by adding subd. 19.  Defines 

“insurance affordability program” as one of the following: (1) MA; (2) a program that 

provides premium tax credits or cost-sharing reductions; (3) MinnesotaCare; and (4) a Basic 

Health Plan.  Provides an immediate effective date. 

6  Applications for medical assistance.  Amends § 256B.04, subd. 18.  Requires DHS to 

accept applications for MA by telephone, mail, in-person, online, and through other 

commonly available electronic means.  Strikes the requirement that DHS conduct eligibility 

determinations for MinnesotaCare.  Requires DHS to determine whether individuals found 

not eligible for MA are potentially eligible for other insurance affordability programs.  

Provides a January 1, 2014 effective date. 

7  Families with children.  Amends § 256B.055, subd. 3a.  Expands MA eligibility to include 

children under the age of 19 (current law refers to children under age 18, with certain 

education-related exceptions for children under 19).  Provides an effective date of January 1, 

2014, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. 

8  Pregnant women; needy unborn child.  Amends § 256B.055, subd. 6.  Requires the MA 

program, when providing coverage to pregnant women, to accept self-attestation of 

pregnancy, unless the agency has information not reasonably compatible with the attestation.  

(Current law requires written verification of pregnancy from a physician or licensed 

registered nurse.)  Provides a January 1, 2014 effective date. 

9  Infants.  Amends § 256B.055, subd. 10.  States that MA covers infants less than two years 

of age in a family with countable income less than the income standard.   (With this change, 

this section will reflect coverage under current MA law.)  Provides an effective date of 

January 1, 2014, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. 

10  Adults without children.  Amends § 256B.055, subd. 15.  Modifies the definition of the 

adults without children under MA, to remove a requirement that the person not be an adult in 

a family with children and to require the person to not otherwise be eligible for MA under 

the aged, blind, or disabled eligibility category as a person who meets the categorical 

requirements of the Supplemental Security Income Program, and not be enrolled as a person 

who would meet these requirements except for excess income or assets.  Provides a January 

1, 2014 effective date.  
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11  Adults who were in foster care at the age of 18.  Amends § 256B.055, by adding subd. 17.  

Allows MA coverage for a person under age 26 who was in foster care on the date of 

attaining 18 years of age, and who was enrolled in MA while in foster care.  Provides a 

January 1, 2014 effective date. 

12  Residency.  Amends § 256B.056, subd. 1.  Requires MA applicants to be residents of the 

state in accordance with specified federal regulations (current law requires compliance with 

the rules of the state agency).  Provides a January 1, 2014 effective date.  

13  Families with children income methodology.  Amends § 256B.056, subd. 1c.  Strikes a 

cross-reference to a section repealed in the bill, related to MA income eligibility for children. 

14  Asset limitations for certain individuals.  Amends § 256B.056, subd. 3.  Strikes language 

that states that no asset limit applies to persons eligible for MA as adults without children.  

Provides a January 1, 2014 effective date.  

15  Income.  Amends § 256B.056, subd. 4.  Effective January 1, 2014, increases the MA income 

limit for children under age 19 to 275 percent of FPG and makes a conforming change. 

16  Excess income standard.  Amends § 256B.056, subd. 5c.  Clarifies that the spend-down 

standard set at 100 percent of FPG applies to parents and caretaker relatives, pregnant 

women, infants, and children two through 20.  Also strikes outdated language.  Provides a 

January 1, 2014 effective date. 

17  Periodic renewal of eligibility.  Amends § 256B.056, by adding subd. 7a.  (a) Requires the 

commissioner to make annual redeterminations of eligibility based on information in the 

enrollee’s case file and other available information, without requiring the enrollee to submit 

any information when sufficient data is available to renew eligibility. 

(b) If eligibility cannot be renewed as provided in paragraph (a), requires the commissioner 

to provide the enrollee with a prepopulated renewal form, and to permit the enrollee to 

submit the form with any corrections or additional information, and to sign the renewal form 

by the allowed means of submission. 

(c) Allows an enrollee terminated for failure to complete the renewal process to submit the 

renewal within four months of termination and if eligible, have coverage reinstated without a 

lapse (retroactive to the date of termination). 

(d) Requires individuals eligible under a spend-down to renew eligibility every six months. 

Provides a January 1, 2014 effective date. 

18  Eligibility verification.  Amends § 256B.056, subd. 10.  Requires the commissioner to use 

information obtained through the electronic service established by the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services and other available electronic data sources to verify eligibility 

requirements.  Requires the commissioner to establish standards to define when information 

obtained electronically is reasonably compatible with information provided by applicants and 

enrollees (including self-attestation), to allow real-time eligibility determinations and 

maintain program integrity.  Provides a January 1, 2014 effective date. 
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19  Infants and pregnant women.  Amends § 256B.057, subd. 1.  Provides that infants less 

than age two are eligible for MA.  (Current law in this section refers to infants less than age 

one.)  Also removes the requirement that pregnant women has written verification of 

pregnancy from a physician or registered nurse.  Strikes a reference to the use of existing 

income methodologies based on AFDC income methodology, and adds a reference to the use 

of an equivalent income standard based on MAGI.  Provides a January 1, 2014 effective date. 

20  Children under age two.  Amends § 256B.057, subd. 8.  Adds a reference to using an 

equivalent income standard based on MAGI, in a provision of law specifying the MA income 

limit for children under age two.  Provides a January 1, 2014 effective date. 

21  Certain persons needing treatment for breast or cervical cancer.  Amends § 256B.057, 

subd. 10.  Removes a cross-reference to a section repealed in this bill. 

22  Presumptive eligibility determinations made by qualified hospitals.  Amends § 

256B.057, by adding subd. 12.  Directs the commissioner to establish a process to qualify 

hospitals to determine presumptive eligibility for MA for applicants who may have a basis of 

eligibility using MAGI.  Provides a January 1, 2014 effective date. 

23  Citizenship requirements.  Amends § 256B.06, subd. 4.  Clarifies that MA coverage, 

funded through the federal Children’s Health Insurance Program, is for pregnancy related 

services for pregnant women funded who are ineligible for federally funded MA (this 

consolidates the current law reference to persons who are undocumented, nonimmigrants, or 

lawfully present).  Adds a new paragraph (k) providing MA coverage without a federal 

match for all services to this group of noncitizens who are lawfully present.  Provides a 

January 1, 2014 effective date.  

24  Accountability.  Amends § 256B.0755, subd. 3.  Requires a health care delivery system to 

demonstrate how its services will be coordinated with services provided by other providers 

and county agencies.  Requires health care delivery systems to document how providers and 

counties, including county-based purchasing plans, who will provide services to persons 

attributed to the health care delivery system, participated in developing the application, and 

requires health care delivery systems to verify that these entities support the project and are 

willing to participate.  Also requires a health care delivery system to document how it will 

address local needs, priorities, and public health goals.  Provides that this section applies to 

contracts entered into or renewed on or after July 1, 2013. 

25  Sole-source or single-plan managed care contract.  Amends § 256B.694.  Allows the 

commissioner to consider and approve contracting on a single-plan basis with county-based 

purchasing plans to serve state health care program enrollees.  (Current law limits this to 

plans serving persons with a disability who voluntarily enroll.) 

26  Affordable Care Act.  Amends § 256L.01, by adding subd. 1b.  Provides a definition of the 

Affordable Care Act.  Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014, or upon federal 

approval, whichever is later. 
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27  Family.  Amends § 256L.01, subd. 3a. Amends the definition of family, by referring to 

federal regulations that defines the family as those individuals for whom a taxpayer claims a 

deduction for a personal exemption.  Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014, or upon 

federal approval, whichever is later. 

28  Minnesota Insurance Marketplace.  Amends § 256L.01, by adding subd. 4b.  Defines the 

Minnesota Insurance Marketplace as that enacted in H.F. 5/S.F. 1. 

29  Income.  Amends § 256L.01, subd. 5.  Defines income under MinnesotaCare as modified 

adjusted gross income.  Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014, or upon federal 

approval, whichever is later. 

30  Participating entity.  Amends § 256L.01, by adding subd. 6.  Defines a participating entity 

as a health plan company, county-based purchasing plan, accountable care organization or 

other entity operating a health care delivery systems demonstration project, an entity 

operating a county integrated health care delivery network pilot project, or a network of 

health care providers established to offer services under MinnesotaCare.  Provides a January 

1, 2015 effective date. 

31  Commissioner’s duties.  Amends § 256L.02, subd. 2.  Requires payment for MinnesotaCare 

services to be made to all participating entities under contract with the commissioner.  

Provides that nothing in chapter 256L is intended to violate the ACA and prohibits the 

commissioner from implementing any provision that violates the ACA.  Requires a Web site 

to be used to provide information about medical programs and promote access to services. 

Provides that this section is effective July 1, 2014, or upon federal approval, except that the 

amendment related to “participating entities” is effective January 1, 2015. 

32  Federal approval.  Amends § 256L.02, by adding subd. 6.  (a) Requires the commissioner 

of human services to seek federal approval to implement the MinnesotaCare program as a 

basic health program.  Requires the commissioner to seek to include, in any agreement with 

the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, procedures to ensure that federal funding is 

predictable, stable, and sufficient to sustain ongoing operation of the program.  Requires the 

procedures to address the timing of payments, payment reconciliation, enrollee risk 

adjustment, and minimizing state financial risk.  Requires the commissioner of human 

services to consult with the commissioner of management and budget when developing the 

basic health plan proposal to be submitted to the federal government. 

(b) Requires the commissioner of human services, in consultation with the commissioner of 

management and budget, to work with the CMS to establish a process for the reconciliation 

and adjustment of federal payments that balances state and federal liability over time.  

Requires the commissioner to request that the state and enrollees be held harmless in the 

reconciliation process for three years to allow the state to develop a statistically valid 

methodology to predict enrollment trends and their effect on federal payments. 

(c) Allows the commissioner of human services, through December 31, 2015, to modify the 

MinnesotaCare program, if this is necessary to enhance benefits or provider access or reduce 

cost-sharing and premiums in order to comply with the terms and conditions of federal 
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approval.  Prohibits the commissioner from reducing benefits, limiting provider access, or 

increasing cost-sharing and premiums.  If the commissioner modifies MinnesotaCare, 

requires the commissioner to provide the legislature with at least ten working days notice 

before notifying enrollees and participating entities.  Provides that the cost of program 

changes become part of the program’s base funding.  

Provides an immediate effective date. 

33  Coordination with Minnesota Insurance Marketplace.  Amends § 256L.02, by adding 

subd. 7.  States that MinnesotaCare shall be considered a public health care program for 

purposes of the Minnesota Insurance Marketplace. 

34  Covered health services.  Amends § 256L.03, subd. 1.  Updates the listing of 

MinnesotaCare covered services, by striking language excluding coverage of inpatient 

hospital services, inpatient mental health services, and chemical dependency services.  

(These services are covered under current law.) Also requires coverage of essential health 

benefits.  Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014, or upon federal approval, whichever 

is later. 

35  Children; MinnesotaCare health care reform waiver.  Amends § 256L.03, subd. 1a.  

Removes reference to coverage of pregnant women under MinnesotaCare (these individuals 

are eligible for MA; another provision in this bill states that persons eligible for MA are not 

eligible for MinnesotaCare).  Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014, or upon federal 

approval, whichever is later. 

36  Inpatient hospital services.  Amends § 256L.03, subd. 3.  Removes the annual inpatient 

hospital limit of $10,000.  Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014, or upon federal 

approval, whichever is later. 

37  Loss ratio.  Amends § 256L.03, by adding subd. 4b.  Requires coverage provided through 

the MinnesotaCare program to have a medical loss ratio of at least 85 percent.  Provides a 

January 1, 2015 effective date. 

38  Cost-sharing.  Amends § 256L.03, subd. 5.  Makes conforming changes related to 

elimination of the $10,000 annual limit on inpatient hospital costs.  Provides an effective date 

of January 1, 2014, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. 

39  Lien.  Amends § 256L.03, subd. 6.  Modifies the definition of “state agency” by replacing 

references to prepaid health plans and county-based purchasing entities with a reference to 

participating entities.  This amendment is to a provision that gives the state agency a lien for 

the cost of covered health services upon causes of action accruing to the enrollee or the 

enrollee’s legal representative.  Provides a January 1, 2015 effective date. 
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40  Families with children.  Amends § 256L.04, subd. 1.  Modifies MinnesotaCare income 

eligibility criteria, to cover families with children with incomes above 133 percent of FPG 

and not exceeding 200 percent of FPG and makes related changes.  (Under current law, 

MinnesotaCare covers families with children with incomes not exceeding 275 percent of 

FPG, with a fixed income limit for parents of $57,500.)  Provides an effective date of 

January 1, 2014, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. 

41  General requirements.  Amends § 256L.04, by adding subd. 1c.  To be eligible for the 

MinnesotaCare, requires a person to meet the eligibility requirements of this section.  

Provides that a person eligible for MinnesotaCare shall not be treated as a qualified 

individual and is not eligible to enroll in a qualified health plan offered through the health 

benefit exchange.  Provides a January 1, 2015 effective date. 

42  Single adults and households with no children.  Amends § 256L.04, subd. 7.  Modifies 

MinnesotaCare income eligibility criteria, to cover individuals and families with no children 

with incomes above 133 percent of FPG and not exceeding 200 percent of FPG.  (Under 

current law, MinnesotaCare covers individuals and households without children with 

incomes not exceeding 250 percent of FPG.)  Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014, 

or upon federal approval, whichever is later. 

43  Applicants potentially eligible for medical assistance.  Amends § 256L.04, subd. 8.  

Strikes language that allows potentially eligible persons to enroll in either MinnesotaCare or 

MA.  Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014, or upon federal approval, whichever is 

later. 

44  Citizenship requirements.  Amends § 256L.04, subd. 10.  Expands MinnesotaCare 

coverage to include individuals who are lawfully present and ineligible for MA due to 

immigration statues, with family incomes not exceeding 200 percent of FPG (current law 

provides coverage to immigrants).   Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014, or upon 

federal approval, whichever is later. 

45  Coordination with medical assistance.  Amends § 256L.04, by adding subd. 14.  (a) States 

that individuals eligible for MA are not eligible for MinnesotaCare. 

(b) Requires the commissioner to provide seamless eligibility and access to services, for 

persons transitioning between MA and MinnesotaCare. 

Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. 

46  Application assistance and information availability.  Amends § 256L.05, subd. 1.  Allows 

applicants to submit their applications online, in person, by mail, or by phone in accordance 

with the ACA, and by any other means by which MA applications may be submitted.  

Allows applicants to submit applications through the health benefit exchange or through the 

MinnesotaCare program.  Requires MinnesotaCare applications and application assistance to 

be available at locations at which MA applications must be made available (in addition to 

those locations already listed in law).  Requires online assistance to be available for 

applicants filing applications with the health benefit exchange.  Provides a January 1, 2014 

effective date. 
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47  Commissioner’s duties.  Amends § 256L.05, subd. 2.  Makes conforming changes, adding 

references to the Minnesota Insurance Marketplace and the ACA.  Provides a January 1, 

2014 effective date. 

48  Effective date of coverage.  Amends § 256L.05, subd. 3.  Strikes references to coverage 

dates for newborns and newly adoptive children.  Adds a reference to the use of MAGI and 

makes other changes.  Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014, or upon federal 

approval, whichever is later. 

49  Commissioner’s duties and payment.  Amends § 256L.06, subd. 3.  Eliminates the four-

month waiting period to re-enroll, for persons disenrolled for nonpayment of premium or 

who voluntarily disenroll.  Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014, or upon federal 

approval, whichever is later. 

50  General requirements.  Amends § 256L.07, subd. 1.  Sets the MinnesotaCare income limit 

at 200 percent of FPG (the current income limit is 275 percent of FPG for families and 

children and 250 percent of FPG for adults without children).  Also strikes references to the 

MinnesotaCare insurance barriers, which are modified in a later section.  Makes conforming 

changes.  Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014, or upon federal approval, whichever 

is later. 

51  Must not have access to employer-subsidized minimum essential coverage.  Amends § 

256L.07, subd. 2.  Provides that persons with access to subsidized health coverage that is 

affordable and provides minimum value as defined in federal regulations are not eligible for 

MinnesotaCare.  Under current law, persons must not have access to subsidized employer 

coverage, or have had access through the current employer for 18 months prior to application 

or reapplication.  Subsidized coverage is that for which the employer pays at least 50 percent 

of the cost.  Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014, or upon federal approval, 

whichever is later. 

52  Other health coverage.  Amends § 256L.07, subd. 3.  Provides that a family or individual 

must not have minimum essential health coverage, to be eligible for MinnesotaCare.  Strikes 

the requirement under current law that persons must have no health coverage while enrolled, 

or for at least four months prior to application and renewal, and also strikes related language.  

Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. 

53  Residency requirement.  Amends § 256L.09, subd. 2.  Strikes a reference to pregnant 

women.  Provides an effective date of January 1, 2104, or upon federal approval, whichever 

is later. 

54  Reimbursement of inpatient hospital services.  Amends § 256L.11, subd. 6.  Strikes 

language related to the annual inpatient hospital benefit limit and makes related changes.  

Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014 or upon federal approval, whichever is later. 

55  Service delivery.  Adds § 256L.121. 

     Subd. 1.  Competitive process.  Requires the commissioner to establish a competitive 

process for contracting with participating entities for the offering of standard health plans.  
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Requires coverage to be available beginning January 1, 2015.  Requires each standard health 

plan to cover the services listed in section 256L.03 and meet the requirements of that section.  

States that the competitive process must meet the requirements of the ACA and be designed 

to increase access to high-quality health care coverage options.  Requires the commissioner, 

to the extent feasible, to seek to ensure that enrollees have the choice of coverage from more 

than one participating entity within a geographic area.  In rural areas other than metropolitan 

statistical areas, requires the commissioner to use the competitive procurement process used 

for the prepaid medical assistance program, except for competitive bidding.   

     Subd. 2.  Other requirements for participating entities.  Directs the commissioner to 

require participating entities, as a condition of contract, to document: (1) the provision of 

culturally and linguistically appropriate services, including marketing materials, to enrollees; 

and (2) the inclusion of essential community providers in provider networks. 

     Subd. 3.  Coordination with state-administered health programs.  Requires the 

commissioner to coordinate the administration of MinnesotaCare with medical assistance and 

other state-administered health programs.  Specifies requirements for coordination. 

Provides an immediate effective date. 

56  Premium determination.  Amends § 256L.15, subd. 1.  Strikes references to nonpayment of 

premiums for pregnant women and children.  Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014 

or upon federal approval, whichever is later. 

57  Sliding fee scale; monthly gross individual or family income.  Amends § 256L.15, subd. 

2.  Adjusts the MinnesotaCare premium scale to reflect the reduction in the program income 

limit to 200 percent of FPG.  Makes conforming changes.  Provides an effective date of 

January 1, 2014, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. 

58  Determination of funding adequacy.  Requires the commissioners of revenue and 

management and budget, in consultation with the commissioner of human services, to 

conduct an assessment of health care taxes, including the gross premiums tax, the provider 

tax, and Medicaid surcharges, and their relationship to the long-term solvency of the health 

care access fund, as part of the November 2013 forecast.  Requires the commissioners to 

determine the amount of state funding that will be needed after December 31, 2019, in 

addition to federal basic health plan payments, for the MinnesotaCare program, and to 

evaluate the stability and likelihood of long-term federal funding.  Requires the 

commissioners to report results to the legislature by January 15, 2014, including 

recommendations for changes to state revenue for the fund, if state funding will continue to 

be required. 

59  State-based risk adjustment system assessment. 

(a) Requires the commissioners of health, human services, and commerce, and the board of 

MNsure, to study whether Minnesota-based risk adjustment of the individual and small 

group insurance market, using either the federal risk adjustment model or a state-based 

alternative, can be more cost-effective and provide better performance than risk adjustment 

conducted by federal agencies.  Specifies criteria for the study. 
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(b) Requires the commissioner of health to collect from health carriers specified data 

necessary to conduct risk adjustment. 

(c) Requires the commissioner of health to also assess whether the data collected are 

sufficient to develop and operate a state alternative risk adjustment methodology.  Specifies 

evaluation criteria and related requirements. 

(d) Requires the commissioner of human services to evaluate opportunities to maximize 

federal funding under the basic health plan provisions of the Affordable Care Act, and to 

make recommendations on risk adjustment strategies to maximize federal funding to the 

state. 

(e)  Requires the commissioners and the board of MNsure to submit an interim report to the 

legislature by March 15, 2014, and a final report by October 1, 2015.  Specifies report 

requirements. 

(f) Defines the MNsure board as that established in section 62V.03. 

60  Request for federal authority.  Requires the commissioner of human services to seek 

federal authority to allow persons under age 65, participating in a home and community-

based services waiver, to continue to disregard spousal income and assets, in place of the 

spousal asset provisions under the Affordable Care Act. 

61  Intent. State that it is the intent of this act that Minnesota pursue market-based solutions to 

health care delivery reform, and not to advance or implement policies leading to a single-

payer system. 

62  Revisor’s instruction.  Directs the revisor to remove references to sections repealed in the 

bill and make conforming changes. 

63  Repealer. 

(a) Repeals the following provisions, effective January 1, 2014: § 256L.01, subd. 4a 

(definition of gross income); 256L.031 (Healthy Minnesota Contribution Program); 256L.04, 

subds. 1b (children with incomes greater than 275 percent FPG), 9 (reference to General 

Assistance Medical Care), and 10 (deeming of sponsor income and resources); 256L.05, 

subd. 3b (reapplication after a lapse); 256L.07, subds. 5 (voluntary disenrollment for 

members of the military), 8 (automatic eligibility for foster care and other children), and 9 

(eligibility for firefighters and ambulance attendants); 256L.11, subd. 5 (payment for 

inpatient hospital services for children); and 256L.17 (MinnesotaCare asset requirement). 

(b) Repeals § 256L.12 (service delivery through managed care) effective January 1, 2015. 

(c) Repeals § 256B.055, subds. 3 (MA coverage until March 31, 1998, for AFDC-related 

dependent children), 5 (MA coverage for certain AFDC-related pregnant women), and 10b 

(MA for children under age two; sections remains in effect until the reform waiver expires); 

Section 256B.056, subd. 5b (requiring certain recipients not residing in a long-term care 
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facility to verify their income every six months). 

Section 256B.057, subd. 1c (no asset test for pregnant women) and 2 (children eligible at 150 

percent FPG; use of six-month budget periods). 

Article 2: Reform 2020; Redesigning Home and Community-Based Services 

Overview 

This article modifies the Disability LinkAge Line, the Senior LinkAge Line, long-

term care consultations, SAIL projects, the common entry point for reporting 

maltreatment of a vulnerable adult, and creates community first services and supports. 

1  Resident assessment schedule.  Amends § 144.0724, subd. 4.  Modifies the list of 

assessments used to determine nursing facility level of care. 

2  Balancing long-term care services and supports: report and study required.  Amends § 

144A.351. 

     Subd. 1.  Report requirements.  No changes. 

     Subd. 2.  Critical access study.  Requires the commissioner to conduct a onetime 

study to assess local capacity and availability of home and community-based services 

for older adults and people with disabilities and people with mental illnesses.  Requires 

the study to assess critical access at the community level and identify potential 

strategies to build home and community-based service capacity in critical access areas. 

Requires the report to be submitted to the legislature no later than August 15, 2015. 

3  City, county, and state social workers.  Amends § 148E.065, subd. 4a.  Exempts city, 

county, and state agencies employing staff designated to perform duties under the Senior 

LinkAge Line and Disability LinkAge Line from employing licensed social workers. 

4  Specific powers.  Amends § 256.01, subd. 2.  Requires the commissioner to designate 

agencies that operate the Senior LinkAge Line and the Disability LinkAge Line as the state 

of Minnesota Aging and the Disability Resource Centers under federal law and to 

incorporate cost reimbursement claims from the designated centers into the federal cost 

reimbursement claiming processes.  Requires reimbursements to be appropriated to the 

commissioner to be granted to the Aging and Disability Resource Center designated 

agencies. 

5  Disability LinkAge Line.  Amends § 256.01, subd. 24.  Modifies the Disability LinkAge 

Line. 

6  Consumer information and assistance and long-term care options counseling; Senior 

LinkAge Line.  Amends § 256.975, subd. 7.  Modifies the Senior LinkAge Line. 
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7  Preadmission screening activities related to nursing facility admissions.  Amends § 

256.975, by adding subd. 7a. Requires all individuals seeking admission to Medicaid 

certified nursing facilities to be screened prior to admission.  States the purpose of the 

screening is to determine the need for nursing facility level of care and to complete federally 

required activities related to mental illness and developmental disabilities.  Lists the criteria 

that apply to the preadmission screening.  Allows the local county mental health authority or 

the state developmental disability authority to prohibit admission to a nursing facility if the 

individual does not meet the nursing facility level of care criteria or needs specialized 

services.  Lists the screener’s duties in assessing a person’s needs. Makes this section 

effective October 1, 2013. 

8  Exemptions and emergency admissions.  Amends § 256.975, subd. 7b.  Lists exemptions 

from the federal screening requirements.  Lists persons who are exempt from preadmission 

screening for purposes of level of care determination.  Specifies when a screening must occur 

for persons admitted to a Medicaid certified nursing facility from the community on an 

emergency basis or from an acute care facility on a nonworking day.  Allows emergency 

admissions to a nursing facility prior to a screening under certain conditions.  Requires 

nursing facilities to provide written information to all persons admitted regarding a person’s 

right to request and receive long-term care consultation services. Makes this section effective 

October 1, 2013. 

9  Screening requirements.  Amends § 256.975, by adding subd. 7c.  Lists preadmission 

screening requirements. Makes this section is effective October 1, 2013. 

10  Payment for preadmission screening.  Amends § 256.975, by adding subd. 7d.  Specifies 

funding sources for preadmission screening.  Requires the Minnesota Board on Aging to 

employ sufficient personnel to provide preadmission screening and level of care 

determination services and to maximize federal funding for the service. Makes this section is 

effective October 1, 2013. 

11  Priority for other grants.  Amends § 256.9754, by adding subd. 3a.  Requires the 

commissioner of health to give priority to community services development grantees using 

technology as a part of a proposal when awarding technology-related grants.  Requires the 

commissioner of transportation to give priority to grantees creating transportation options for 

older adults when distributing transportation-related funds. 

12  State waivers.  Amends § 256.9745, by adding subd. 3b.  Allows the commissioner of health 

to waive applicable state laws and rules on a time-limited basis if the commissioner 

determines that a participating grantee requires a waiver in order to achieve demonstration 

project goals. 

13  Grant preference.  Amends § 256.9754, subd. 5.  Requires the commissioner to give 

preference when awarding community services development grants to areas with identified 

home and community-based services needs.  
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14  Evaluation.  Amends §256B.021, by adding subd. 4a.  Requires the commissioner to 

evaluate certain Medicaid Reform Waiver projects and lists the information that must be 

included in the evaluation. 

15  Work, empower, and encourage independence.  Amends § 256B.021, by adding subd. 6.  

Upon federal approval, requires the commissioner to establish a demonstration project to 

provide navigation, employment supports, and benefits planning services to a targeted group 

of Medicaid recipients beginning July 1, 2014.  Requires the project to promote economic 

stability, increase independence, and reduce applications for disability benefits while 

providing a positive impact on the health and future of participants.   

16  Housing stabilization.  Amends § 256B.021, by adding subd. 7.  Upon federal approval, 

requires the commissioner to establish a demonstration project to provide service 

coordination, outreach, in-reach, tenancy support, and community living assistance to a 

targeted group of Medicaid recipients beginning January 1, 2014.  Requires this project to 

promote housing stability, reduce costly medical interventions, and increase opportunities for 

independent community living. 

17  Purpose and goal.  Amends § 256B.0911, subd. 1.  Updates cross-references.   

18  Definitions.  Amends § 256B.0911, subd. 1a.  Modifies the definitions of “long-term care 

consultation services” and “long-term care options counseling” by updating cross-references 

and making conforming changes. 

19  Assessment and support planning. Amends § 256B.0911, subd. 3a.  Updates cross-

references and modifies the information that must be provided to the person receiving 

assessment or support planning, or the person’s legal representative. 

20  Preadmission screening of individuals under 60 years of age.  Amends § 256B.0911, 

subd. 4d.  Modifies the age at which preadmission screening is required, updates cross-

references, makes conforming changes, specifies the funding source for preadmission 

screenings provided by the Disability LinkAge Line, and requires the Disability LinkAge 

Line to employ sufficient personnel to provide preadmission screening and level of care 

determination services and to maximize federal funding. Makes this section is effective 

October 1, 2013. 

21  Determination of institutional level of care.  Amends § 256B.0911, by adding subd. 4e.  

Requires the determination of the need for nursing facility, hospital, and ICF/DD levels of 

care to be made according to criteria developed by the commissioner.  Specifies the criteria 

to be used in determining the need for nursing facility level of care. 

22  Reimbursement for certified nursing facilities.  Amends § 256B.0911, subd. 7.  Updates 

cross-references. 

23  Eligibility for funding for services for nonmedical assistance recipients.  Amends § 

256B.0913, subd. 4.  Updates a cross-reference. 
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24  Essential community supports grants.  Amends § 256B.0913, by adding subd. 17.  

Specifies the purpose of the essential community supports grant program.  Lists grant 

eligibility criteria.  Requires a person receiving any of the essential community supports to 

also receive service coordination as part of their community support plan.  Requires essential 

community supports grant recipients to be reassessed annually.  Authorizes the commissioner 

to use federal matching funds for essential community supports.  Makes essential community 

supports available, upon federal approval, to individuals who meet specified criteria related 

to loss of eligibility for MA payment of nursing facility services.  Lists services available 

through essential community supports. 

25  Elderly waiver cost limits.  Amends § 256B.0915, subd. 3a.  Makes conforming cross-

reference changes and specifies the monthly cost limit of elderly waiver services for 

individuals who are ventilator-dependent.  Requires this monthly limit to be increased 

annually. 

26  Individual community living support.  Amends § 256B.0915, by adding subd. 3j.  

Establishes a new service under the elderly waiver called individual community living 

support (ICLS).  Specifies where services may be delivered.  Requires case managers or care 

coordinators to develop individual ICLS plans with the client using a tool developed by the 

commissioner.  Requires the commissioner to establish payment rates and mechanisms to 

align payments with the type and amount of service provided, assure statewide uniformity for 

payment rates, and assure cost-effectiveness. Requires licensing standards for ICLS to be 

reviewed to avoid conflict with provider regulatory standards. 

27  Assessments and reassessments for waiver clients.  Amends § 256B.0915, subd. 5.  

Updates a cross-reference.   

28  Home and community-based services for older adults.  Amends § 256B.0917, by adding 

subd. 1a.  Specifies the purpose of projects selected by the commissioner is to make strategic 

changes in the long-term services and supports system for older adults.  States the projects 

are intended to create incentives for new and expanded home and community-based services 

in order to meet listed goals.  Makes the services provided by these projects available to 

older adults who are eligible for MA and the elderly waiver, the alternative care program, or 

essential community supports grants, and to persons who have their own funds to pay for 

services. 

29  Definitions.  Amends § 256B.0917, by adding subd. 1b.  Defines “community,” “core home 

and community-based services provider,” “eldercare development partnership,” “long-term 

services and supports,” and “older adult.” 

30  Eldercare development partnerships.  Amends § 256B.0917, by adding subd. 1c.  

Requires the commissioner to select and contract with eldercare development partnerships.  

Lists the duties of the eldercare development partnerships. 

31  Caregiver support and respite care projects.  Amends § 256B.0917, subd. 6.  Modifies 

caregiver support and respite care projects under SAIL. 
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32  Core home and community-based services.  Amends § 256B.0917, by adding subd. 7a.  

Requires the commissioner to select and contract with core home and community-based 

services providers for projects to provide services and supports to older adults.  Lists criteria 

projects must meet.   

33  Community service grants.  Amends § 256B.0917, subd. 13.  Broadens the preference for 

awarding community service grants to include areas with service needs identified in a needs 

determination process.  Removes a list of services for which the commissioner must consider 

grants. 

34  Reduce avoidable behavioral crisis emergency room, psychiatric inpatient 

hospitalizations, and commitments to institutions.  Amends § 256B.092, by adding subd. 

14.  Requires certain HCBS recipients to receive a consultation with a mental health 

professional or a behavioral professional within 30 days of discharge.  Lists duties of the 

mental health or behavioral professional.  Defines “institution.” 

35  Development and implementation of quality profiles.  Amends § 256B.439, subd. 1.  

Requires the commissioner to develop quality profiles for providers of long-term care 

services by July 1, 2014.  Requires the quality profiles to be developed using existing data 

sets and to be incorporated with information on quality maintained by specified organizations 

and the long-term care database. 

36  Quality measurement tools.  Amends § 256B.439, subd. 2.  Removes unnecessary 

language. 

37  Consumer surveys of nursing facilities residents.  Amends § 256B.439, subd. 3.  Specifies 

consumer surveys are surveys of nursing facility residents. 

38  Home and community-based services report card in cooperation with the commissioner 

of health.  Amends § 256B.439, by adding subd. 3a.  Requires the profiles developed for 

home and community-based services providers to be incorporated into a report card and 

maintained by the Minnesota Board on Aging.  Specifies the categories that must be used to 

organize the consumer information in the profiles.  Requires the commissioner to develop 

and disseminate the quality profiles for a limited number of provider types initially, and to 

develop quality profiles for additional provider types as measurement tools are developed 

and data becomes available.  Specifies this includes providers of services to older adults and 

people with disabilities, regardless of payor source.  

39  Dissemination of quality profiles.  Amends § 256B.439, subd. 4.  Modifies requirements 

related to the dissemination of quality profiles. 

40  Informed choice.  Amends § 256B.49, subd. 12.  Modifies a cross-reference. 

41  Assessment and reassessment.  Amends § 256B.49, subd. 14.  Modifies a cross-reference. 



H.F. 1233  April 23, 2013 

Version: Third engrossment  Page 18 

 

Section 

Research Department Minnesota House of Representatives 600 State Office Building 

 R:\HRD_Summ\2013\1233e3 Huntley.hhs.docx  Last printed 4/25/2013 1:05:00 PM   

42  Reduce avoidable behavioral crisis emergency room, psychiatric inpatient 

hospitalizations, and commitments to institutions.  Amends § 256B.49, by adding subd. 

25.  Requires certain HCBS recipients to receive a consultation with a mental health 

professional or a behavioral professional within 30 days of discharge.  Lists duties of the 

mental health or behavioral professional.  Defines “institution.” 

43  Community first services and supports.  Creates § 256B.85. 

     Subd. 1.  Basis and scope.  Requires the commissioner to establish a MA state plan 

option for the provision of home and community-based personal assistance service and 

supports called “community first services and supports (CFSS),” upon federal 

approval.  Specifies program features.  Makes CFSS replace the PCA program upon 

federal approval. 

     Subd. 2.  Definitions.  Defines “activities of daily living,” “agency-provider 

model,” “behavior,” “complex health-related needs,” “community first services and 

supports,” “community first services and supports service delivery plan,” “critical 

activities of daily living,” “dependency,” “financial management services contractor or 

vendor,” “flexible spending model,” “health-related procedures and tasks,” 

“instrumental activities of daily living,” “legal representative,” “medication 

assistance,” “participant’s representative,” “person-centered planning process,” 

“shared services,” “support specialist,” “support worker,” and “wages and benefits.” 

     Subd. 3.  Eligibility.  Lists eligibility requirements in order to receive CFSS 

services.  Specifies under what circumstances the commissioner must disenroll or 

exclude participants from the flexible spending model and transfer them to the agency-

provider model.  Specifies appeal rights. 

     Subd. 4.  Eligibility for other services.  Prohibits selection of CFSS by a 

participant from restricting access to other medically necessary care and services 

furnished under the state plan MA benefit or other services available through 

alternative care. 

     Subd. 5.  Assessment requirements.  Specifies requirements related to the 

assessment of functional needs.  Allows a participant who is residing in a facility to be 

assessed and choose CFSS for the purpose of using CFSS to return to the community.  

Requires assessment results and recommendations and authorizations for CFSS to be 

determined and communicated in writing by the lead agency’s certified assessor to the 

participant and the participant’s chosen provider within 40 calendar days. 

     Subd. 6.  Community first services and support service delivery plan.  Requires 

the CFSS service delivery plan to be developed, implemented, and evaluated through a 

person-centered planning process by the participant, or the participant’s representative 

or legal representative who may be assisted by a support specialist.  Requires the 

service delivery plan to reflect the services and supports that are important to the 

participant and for the participant to meet the needs assessed by the certified assessor 

and identified in the support plan.  Requires the commissioner to establish the format 
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and criteria for the CFSS service delivery plan.  Lists requirements for the CFSS 

service delivery plan.  Allows the amount of funds used each month to vary, but 

additional funds must not be provided above the annual service authorization amount 

unless a change in condition is assessed, authorized, and documented. 

     Subd. 7.  Community first services and supports; covered services.  Lists the 

services and supports covered under CFSS. 

     Subd. 8.  Determination of CFSS service methodology.  Requires all CFSS 

services to be authorized by the commissioner before services begin except for certain 

assessments.  Requires authorizations to be completed within 30 days after receiving a 

complete request.  Requires the amount of CFSS authorized to be based on the 

recipient’s home care rating.  Specifies how the home care rating is determined.  

Specifies the methodology for determining the number of minutes of CFSS to 

authorize. 

     Subd. 9.  Noncovered services.  Lists services and supports that are not eligible for 

payment under CFSS. 

     Subd. 10.  Provider qualifications and general requirements.  Lists requirements 

for agency-providers delivering services under the agency-provider model and 

financial management service contractors.  Requires the commissioner to develop 

recommendations, policies, and procedures designed to ensure self-direction, program 

integrity, and fiscal accountability for goods and services provided under CFSS. 

     Subd. 11.  Agency-provider model.  Limits the agency-provider model to the 

services provided by support workers and support specialists who are employed by an 

agency-provider.  Requires the agency-provider to allow the participant to retain the 

ability to have a significant role in the selection and dismissal of the support workers 

for the delivery of the services and supports specified in the service delivery plan.  

Allows participants to use authorized units of CFSS services as needed within a 

service authorization that is not greater than 12 months.  Allows participants to share 

services.  Requires agency-providers to use a minimum of 72.5 percent of the revenue 

generated by MA payment for CFSS for support worker wages and benefits.  Requires 

the agency-provider model to be used by individuals who have been restricted by the 

Minnesota restricted recipient program. 

     Subd. 12.  Requirements for initial enrollment of CFSS provider agencies. 

Requires the commissioner to develop CFSS provider enrollment standards and to 

provide recommendations to the legislature by November 15, 2013. 

     Subd. 13.  Flexible spending model.  Allows participants to exercise more 

responsibility and control over services and supports under the flexible spending 

model.  Lists functions of the flexible spending model.  Lists service functions that 

must be provided by the financial management services contractor.  Lists duties of the 

commissioner related to financial management services contractors.  Specifies 

participants who are disenrolled from this model are transferred to the agency-provider 



H.F. 1233  April 23, 2013 

Version: Third engrossment  Page 20 

 

Section 

Research Department Minnesota House of Representatives 600 State Office Building 

 R:\HRD_Summ\2013\1233e3 Huntley.hhs.docx  Last printed 4/25/2013 1:05:00 PM   

model. 

     Subd. 14.  Participant’s responsibilities under flexible spending model.  Lists 

participant responsibilities under the flexible spending model. 

     Subd. 15.  Documentation of support services provided.  Requires the 

commissioner to develop CFSS documentation standards and to provide 

recommendations to the legislature by November 15, 2013. 

     Subd. 16.  Support workers requirements.  Lists requirements for support 

workers.  Requires the commissioner to establish reasons to deny or terminate a 

support worker’s provider enrollment.  Allows support workers to appeal in writing to 

the commissioner to contest the decision to terminate the support worker’s provider 

enrollment. 

     Subd. 17.  Support specialist requirements and payments.  Requires the 

commissioner to develop qualifications, scope of functions, and payment rates and 

service limits for a support specialist that may provide additional or specialized 

assistance necessary to plan, implement, arrange, augment, or evaluate services and 

supports. 

     Subd. 18.  Service unit and budget allocation requirements.  Specifies how 

services are authorized for the agency-provider model and the flexible spending 

model.  Specifies how maximum CFSS budget allocations are determined. 

     Subd. 19.  Support system.  Requires the commissioner to provide information, 

consultation, training, and assistance to ensure the participant is able to manage the 

services and supports and budgets, if applicable.  Requires the commissioner to 

provide assistance with the development of risk management agreements.  

     Subd. 20.  Service-related rights.  Requires participants to be provided with 

adequate information, counseling, training, and assistance to ensure that the participant 

is able to choose and manage services, models, and budgets.  Lists information that 

must be provided.  Requires the commissioner to ensure that the participant has a copy 

of the most recent service delivery plan. 

     Subd. 21.  Development and implementation council.  Requires the 

commissioner to establish a Development and Implementation Council.  Requires the 

commissioner to consult and collaborate with this council when developing and 

implementing CFSS. 

     Subd. 22.  Quality assurance and risk management system.  Requires the 

commissioner to establish quality assurance and risk management measures for use in 

developing and implementing CFSS.  Requires the commissioner to provide ongoing 

technical assistance and resource and educational materials for CFSS participants.  

Requires performance assessment measures and ongoing monitoring of health and 

well-being to be identified in consultation with the Development and Implementation 

Council. 
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     Subd. 23.  Commissioner’s access.  Requires the commissioner to be given 

immediate access without prior notice to documentation and records related to services 

provided and submission of claims for services provided when the commissioner is 

investigating a possible overpayment of MA funds.  States that denying the 

commissioner access to records is cause for immediate suspension of payment and 

terminating the agency provider’s enrollment or the financial management services 

contract. 

     Subd. 24.  CFSS agency-providers; background studies.  Specifies background 

study requirements for CFSS agency providers. 

Makes this section effective upon federal approval.  Requires the commissioner of human 

services to notify the revisor of statutes when this occurs. 

44  Supplementary service rate; exemptions.  Amends § 256I.05, by adding subd. 1o.  

Prohibits counties from negotiating GRH supplementary service rates for certain individuals 

determined to be eligible for Housing Stability Services. 

45  Reporting.  Amends § 626.557, subd. 4.  Modifies maltreatment of vulnerable adults 

reporting requirements by allowing the common entry point to accept electronic reports 

submitted through a Web-based reporting system established by the commissioner.  Makes 

this section effective July 1, 2014. 

46  Common entry point designation.  Amends § 626.557, subd. 9.  Removes language 

requiring each county board to designate a common entry point for reports of suspected 

maltreatment of vulnerable adults.  Requires the commissioner to establish a common entry 

point effective July 1, 2014.  Requires the common entry point to have access to the 

centralized database and to log reports into the database and immediately identify and locate 

prior reports of abuse, neglect, or exploitation.  Specifies requirements for the operation of 

the common entry point.  Requires the commissioners of human services and health to 

collaborate on the creation of a system for referring reports to the lead investigative agencies. 

47  Education requirements.  Amends § 626.557, subd. 9e. Requires the commissioner of 

human services to conduct an outreach campaign to promote the common entry point for 

reporting vulnerable adult maltreatment.   

48  Repealer. (a) Repeals Minnesota Statutes, sections 245A.655 (federal grants to establish and 

maintain a single common entry point for reporting maltreatment of a vulnerable adult); and 

256B.0917, subds. 1 (SAIL purpose, mission, goals and objectives), 2 (design of SAIL 

projects), 3 (local long-term care strategy), 4 (information, screening, and assessment 

function), 5 (service development and delivery), 7 (contract), 8 (living-at-home/block nurse 

program grant), 9 (state technical assistance center), 10 (implementation plan), 11 (SAIL 

evaluation and expansion), 12 (public awareness campaign), and 14 (essential community 

supports grants). 

(b) Repeals Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0911, subds. 4a, 4b, and 4c (preadmission 

screening activities related to nursing facility admissions; exemptions and emergency 

admissions; screening requirements) effective October 1, 2013. 
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49  Effective date; contingent systems modernization appropriation.   

     Subd. 1.  Definitions.  Defines “commissioner,” “contingent systems 

modernization appropriation,” “department,” “plan,” and “reform 2020.” 

     Subd. 2.  Intent; effective dates generally.  Specifies the purpose of this section is 

to outline how this article and the contingent systems modernization appropriation are 

implemented if Reform 2020 is fully, partially, or incrementally approved or denied.  

Specifies the changes contained in this article generate savings that are contingent 

upon federal approval of Reform 2020.  Requires the commissioner to follow the 

provisions of subdivisions 3 and 4 in order for sections 1 to 48 to be effective. 

     Subd. 3.  Federal approval.  Specifies the implementation of this article is 

contingent upon federal approval.  Requires the commissioner to develop a plan for 

implementing the provisions in this article that receive federal approval as well as any 

that do not require federal approval.  Lists the information that must be included in the 

plan.  Allows the department to implement the plan upon approval of the 

commissioner of management and budget.  Requires the commissioner to notify the 

legislature of the plan and to make the plan available online. 

     Subd. 4.  Disbursement; implementation.  Requires the commissioner of 

management and budget to disburse certain appropriations to the commissioner of 

human services to allow for implementation of the approved plan and make necessary 

adjustments in the accounting system to reflect any modified funding levels.  Requires 

the commissioner of management and budget to reflect the modified funding levels in 

the first fund balance following the approval of the plan. 

Article 3: Home and Community-Based Services Disability Rate Setting 

1  Payment methodologies. Amends § 256B.4912, subd. 2. Adds a cross-reference to the new 

rate setting methodology. 

2  Payment requirements. Amends § 256B.4912, subd. 3. Modifies the list of items the 

payment methodology must accommodate. 

3  Rate stabilization adjustment. Amends § 256B.4913, by adding subd. 4a. Requires the 

commissioner to adjust individual reimbursement rates by no more than 1 percent per year 

effective January 1, 2016.  Requires this adjustment to be made annually for three calendar 

years from the date of implementation.  Applies this adjustment to services that are 

authorized in a recipient’s service plan prior to January 1, 2016.  Allows exemptions only 

when there is a significant change in the recipient’s assessed needs which results in a service 

authorization change.  Specifies limitations and management of exemptions. Makes this 

expire January 1, 2019. 
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4  Stakeholder consultation.  Amends § 256B.4913, subd. 5. Modifies stakeholder 

consultation to allow for an existing stakeholder group and others to assist in the full 

implementation of the new payment system.  Removes obsolete language. 

5  Implementation.  Amends § 256B.4913, subd. 6. Implements the new payment rate 

methodology for HCBS waivers beginning January 1, 2014. 

6  Home and community-based services waivers; rate setting.  Creates § 256B.4914.   

     Subd. 1.  Application.  Makes the payment methodologies apply to the CAC, 

CADI, DD, and BI home and community-based services (HCBS) waivers. 

     Subd. 2.  Definitions.  Defines the terms “commissioner,” “component value,” 

“customized living tool,” “disability waiver rates system,” “lead agency,” “median,” 

“payment or rate,” “rates management system,” and “recipient.” 

     Subd. 3.  Applicable services.  Lists the applicable services authorized under the 

state’s home and community-based waivers for persons with disabilities. 

     Subd. 4.  Data collection for rate determination.  Specifies rates for all applicable 

home and community-based waiver services are set via the rate management system.  

Specifies data that must be collected for rate determinations under the rates 

management system. Specifies the information needed to update individual data. 

     Subd. 5.  Base wage index and standard component values.  Establishes a base 

wage index to determine staffing costs associated with providing services to 

individuals receiving HCBS waiver services.  Specifies the method by which the 

commissioner must calculate the base wage index.  Defines the values for other 

components for calculating rates. 

     Subd. 6.  Payments for residential support services.  Specifies how payments for 

residential support services are calculated. 

     Subd. 7.  Payments for day programs.  Specifies how payments for services with 

day programs, including adult day care, day treatment and habilitation, prevocational 

services, and structured day services are calculated. 

     Subd. 8.  Payments for unit-based services with programming.  Specifies how 

payments for unit-based services with programming, including behavior programming, 

housing access coordination, in-home family support, independent living skills 

training, hourly supported living services, and supported employment provided to an 

individual outside of any day or residential service plan are calculated. 

     Subd. 9.  Payments for unit-based services without programming.  Specifies 

how payments for unit-based services without programming including night 

supervision, personal support, respite, and companion care provided to an individual 

outside of any day or residential service plan are calculated. 

     Subd. 10.  Updating payment values and additional information.  Requires the 
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commissioner to develop and implement uniform procedures to refine terms and 

update or adjust values used to calculate payment rates.  Requires the commissioner to 

work with stakeholders to assess efficacy of values and payment rates.  Requires the 

commissioner to report to the legislature with proposed changes for component values.  

Requires the commissioner to work with stakeholders to continue refining values and 

to report to the legislature by February 15, 2015, with recommendations. Requires the 

commissioner to report and make recommendations to the legislature periodically 

through February 15, 2021, and every four years thereafter. Requires the commissioner 

to provide public notice in October of each year detailing certain legislatively 

approved changes. 

     Subd. 11.  Payment implementation.  Makes the payments established under the 

statewide payment methodology supersede rates established in county contracts for 

recipients receiving HCBS waiver services. 

     Subd. 12.  Customization of rates for individuals.  Requires direct care costs to 

be increased by an adjustment factor for persons determined to have higher needs 

based on being deaf or hard-of-hearing.  Specifies the customization rate for deaf or 

hard-of-hearing persons. 

     Subd. 13. Transportation. Requires the purchase of transportation services to be 

cost-effective and limited to market rates where the transportation mode is generally 

available and accessible. 

     Subd. 14.  Exceptions.  Specifies a process for establishing exceptions to payment 

rates determined under subdivisions 6 to 9. 

     Subd. 15. County or tribal allocations. Requires the commissioner to establish a 

method of tracking and reporting the fiscal impact of the disability waiver rates 

management system on lead agencies. Requires the commissioner to make annual 

adjustments to lead agencies’ HCBS budget allocations to account for rate differences 

and the resulting impact on county allocations.  

     Subd. 16.  Budget neutrality adjustment.  Requires aggregate spending in each 

service area to match projections under current law and gives the commissioner the 

authority to adjust individual rates for services. 

     Subd. 17. Implementation. Requires the commissioner to fully implement the 

calculation of rates for the disability waivers on January 1, 2014. Requires the 

commissioner to phase in the application of the new rates for two years. Requires the 

commissioner to preserve rates in effect on December 31, 2013, for the two-year 

period. Requires the commissioner to calculate and measure the difference in cost per 

individual using the historical rates and the new rates for all individuals enrolled as of 

December 31, 2013. Requires the new rates to be applied January 1, 2016. 

7  Repealer. Repeals Minnesota Statutes, § 256B.4913, subds. 1, 2, 3, and 4 (research period 

and rates; framework values; data collection; and rate stabilization adjustment). 
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Article 4: Strengthening Chemical and Mental Health Services 

Overview 

This article amends various chemical and mental health statutes.  It allows the 

commissioner authority to spend funds from the state-operated services account 

for transition services for individuals leaving institutional settings, and allows the 

commissioner to authorize chemical health continuum of care pilot programs, and 

continue chemical health navigator programs.  It allows medical assistance 

reimbursement for family psychoeducation services, mental health clinical 

coordination, and intensive treatment in foster care. 

1  Planning for pilot projects.  Amends § 245.4661, subd. 5.  Excludes placement and 

establishment of IRTS facilities from the local mental health authority planning process.  

Requires the commissioner to identify the need for IRTS services and issue a request for 

proposal. 

2  Duties of commissioner.  Amends § 245.4661, subd. 6.  Allows the commissioner to use 

funds from the state-operated services account for grants to providers to participate in mental 

health specialty treatment services. 

3  General provisions.  Amends § 245.4682, subd. 2.  Strikes references to children’s mental 

health in this section on reform of the mental health system. 

4  State-operated services account.  Amends § 246.18, subd. 8.  Adds paragraph (b) which 

allows the commissioner to access funds in the state-operated services account to provide 

transition services to individuals leaving institutional settings, to make grant funds available 

to providers participating in mental health specialty treatment services, and to fund operation 

of the IRTS program in Willmar. 

5  Transfers.  Amends § 246.18, by adding subd. 9.  Allows the commissioner to transfer state 

mental health grant funds to the state-operated services account for noncovered costs of a 

state-operated services IRTS provider.  

6  Pilot projects; chemical health care.  Amends § 254B.13. 

     Subd. 1.  Authorization for navigator pilot projects.  Makes technical changes 

by adding the term “navigator.” 

     Subd. 2.  Program design and implementation.  Deletes obsolete language and 

adds the term “navigator.” 

     Subd. 2a.  Eligibility for navigator pilot program.  Lists the eligibility criteria a 

prospective client must meet in order to participate in a navigator program. 

     Subd. 3.  Program evaluation.  Adds the term “navigator.”  
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     Subd. 4.  Notice of navigator program discontinuation.  Allows either party to 

discontinue participation for any reason after 30 days’ written notice to the other party.      

     Subd. 5.  Duties of the commissioner.  Paragraph (a) allows the commissioner to 

authorize navigator programs to use the CCDTF for nontreatment services. 

Paragraph (b) defines “nontreatment services.”  

Paragraph (c) limits state expenditures for services provided through the navigator 

programs to no more than the CCDTF expected share in the absence of the programs. 

Paragraph (d) allows the commissioner to waive administrative rules, except the rule 

requiring a licensed treatment provider to provide chemical dependency treatment. 

Paragraph (e) prohibits the commissioner from entering into any agreement that puts 

federal funding at risk. 

Paragraph (f) requires the commissioner to provide participating counties with 

specified data at least once every six months so that the counties can assess and 

measure outcomes. 

     Subd. 6.  Duties of the county board.  Requires the county board in participating 

counties to administer the program consistent with this section, ensure that no one who 

is otherwise eligible for chemical dependency services is denied services, and provide 

the commissioner with information as negotiated in the navigator agreement. 

     Subd. 7.  Managed care.  Excludes navigator participants from mandatory 

enrollment in managed care until services are included in the health plan’s benefit set. 

     Subd. 8.  Authorization for continuation of navigator pilots.  Allows navigator 

pilots already in existence to continue under existing operating agreements. 

Effective date.  Provides that subdivision 1 to 6 and 8 are effective August 1, 2013, and 

subdivision 7 is effective July 1, 2013.   

7  Continuum of care pilot projects; chemical health care.  Creates § 254B.14. 

     Subd. 1.  Authorization for continuum of care pilot projects.  Instructs the 

commissioner to establish pilot projects to implement measures to improve 

effectiveness and efficiency of the service continuum for chemically dependent 

individuals. 

     Subd. 2.  Program implementation.  Paragraph (a) instructs the commissioner, in 

coordination with specified entities, to identify and select interested counties and 

providers for participation in one of three pilot projects.   

Paragraph (b) requires the commissioner and entities participating in the pilots to enter 

into operating agreements. 

Paragraph (c) allows counties participating in the navigator pilot to participate in a 
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continuum of care pilot. 

Paragraph (d) allows the commissioner to waive administrative rules that are 

incompatible with the pilot projects. 

Paragraph (e) allows the commissioner to designate noncounty entities to complete 

chemical use assessments and placement authorizations. 

     Subd. 3.  Program design.  Lists the elements that must be included in the design 

of the pilot projects. 

     Subd. 4.  Notice of project discontinuation.  Allows a participating entity or the 

commissioner to discontinue participation with 30 days’ written notice to the other 

party. 

     Subd. 5.  Duties of the commissioner.  Paragraph (a) allows the commissioner to 

authorize the expenditure of CCDTF funds for payment of nontreatment services. 

Paragraph (b) limits county expenditures to their expected share of forecasted 

expenditures. 

Effective date.  Provides an August 1, 2013 effective date. 

8  Home and community-based services transition grants.  Creates § 256.478.  Requires the 

commissioner to make available home and community-based services transition grants to 

serve individuals who do not meet MA eligibility criteria, but who otherwise meet the 

criteria established for people being discharged from Anoka Metro Regional Treatment 

Center or the Minnesota Security Hospital in St. Peter.  Authorizes the commissioner to 

transfer funds between certain accounts. 

Makes this section effective July 1, 2015. 

9  Definitions.  Amends § 256B.0623, subd. 2.  Adds parenting skills to the list of approved 

adult mental health treatment services. 

10  School-linked mental health services.  Amends § 256B.0625, by adding subd. 35c.  Allows 

medical assistance coverage for mental health services provided as part of a school-linked 

mental health programs when services are provided by individuals licensed by the Board of 

Behavioral Health and Therapy, Board of Marriage and Family Therapy, Board of 

Psychology, or Board of Social Work and who meets the definition of mental health 

practitioner.  Requires supervision by a mental health professional. 

11  Psychiatric consultation to primary care practitioners.  Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 48.  

Requires medical assistance coverage of consultation provided by psychologists. 
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12  Family psychoeducation services.  Amends § 256B.0625, by adding subd. 61.  Provides 

that family psychoeducation services as a component of an individual treatment plan for a 

child up to age 21 that is provided by a licensed mental health professional is covered by 

medical assistance.  Defines “family psychoeducation services.”  Provides that this section is 

effective July 1, 2013, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. 

13  Mental health clinical care consultation.  Amends § 256B.0625, by adding subd. 62.  

Provides that mental health clinical care coordination as a component of an individual 

treatment plan for a child up to age 21 and provided by a licensed mental health professional 

is a covered medical assistance service.  Defines “clinical care coordination.”  Provides an 

effective date of July 1, 2013, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. 

14  Waiver allocations for transition populations.  Amends § 256B.092, by adding subd. 13.  

Requires the commissioner to make available additional DD waiver allocations and 

additional necessary resources to assure timely discharge from the Anoka Metro Regional 

Treatment Center and the Minnesota Security Hospital in St. Peter for people who meet 

specified criteria.  Specifies additional waiver allocations must meet federal cost-

effectiveness requirements and any corporate foster care home developed under this 

subdivision must be considered an exception within the foster care moratorium. 

Makes this section effective July 1, 2015. 

15  Intensive treatment in foster care.  Amends § 256B.0946. 

     Subd. 1.  Required covered service components.  Requires, for eligible children 

with mental illness who reside in family foster care settings, medical assistance to 

cover specified intensive treatment services: psychotherapy, crisis assistance, 

psychoeducation services, clinical care consultation, and certain service delivery 

payment requirements. 

     Subd. 1a.  Definitions. Defines the terms “clinical care consultation,” “clinical 

supervision,” “clinical supervisor,” “clinical trainee,” “crisis assistance,” “ culturally 

appropriate,” “culture,” “diagnostic assessment,” “ family,” “foster care,” “foster 

family setting,” “individual treatment plan,” “mental health practitioner,” “mental 

health professional,” “mental illness,” “parent,” “psychoeducation services,” 

“psychotherapy,” and “team consultation and treatment planning.” 

     Subd. 2.  Determination of client eligibility.  Defines an eligible recipient as an 

individual, from birth through age 20, who is placed in a licensed foster home and has 

received a diagnostic assessment and an evaluation of level of care needed. 

     Subd. 3.  Eligible mental health services providers.  Requires providers to be 

certified by the state, have a service provision contract with a county board or 

reservation tribal council, and demonstrate the ability to provide services. 

     Subd. 4.  Service delivery payment requirements.  Lists the service delivery 

requirements a provider must meet in order to be reimbursed for services. 
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     Subd. 5.  Service authorization.  No changes. 

     Subd. 6.  Excluded services.  Paragraph (a) lists the services that are not covered 

by medical assistance as components of intensive treatment in foster care.  Permits 

these services to be billed separately.   

Paragraph (b) lists the services not eligible for medical assistance reimbursement while 

the child is receiving intensive treatment in foster care. 

     Subd. 7.  Medical assistance payment and rate setting.  Requires the 

commissioner to establish a single per-client encounter rate for intensive treatment in 

foster care services. 

16  Waiver allocations for transition populations.  Amends § 256B.49, by adding subd. 24.  

Requires the commissioner to make available additional waiver allocations and additional 

necessary resources to assure timely discharge from the Anoka Metro Regional Treatment 

Center and the Minnesota Security Hospital in St. Peter for people who meet specified 

criteria.  Specifies additional waiver allocations must meet federal cost-effectiveness 

requirements and any corporate foster care home developed under this subdivision must be 

considered an exception within the foster care moratorium. 

Makes this section effective July 1, 2015. 

17  Reimbursement for mental health services.  Amends § 256B.761.  Adjusts payment rates 

to improve access to adult rehabilitative mental health services and related mental health 

support services. 

18  State assistance to counties; transitions for high needs populations.  Paragraph (a) 

requires the commissioner to assist counties to assure timely discharge of patients from 

AMRTC and the MSH when a county does not have provider resources or appropriate 

placement available.  Requires the commissioner to give special consideration to uninsured 

individuals with complex needs. 

Paragraph (b) instructs the commissioner to offer metropolitan area residents about their 

geographic placement preferences before making a placement. 

19  Instructions to the commissioner.  Requires the commissioner, in consultation with labor 

organizations, to develop standards for state-operated services programs to address staffing 

shortages, help resolve workplace safety issues, and develop objectives related to overtime 

use. 
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Article 5: Department of Human Services Program Integrity 

Overview 

This article amends statutes related to the commissioner’s access to the predatory 

offender registry and criminal history information from the Minnesota court 

information system for purposes of background studies.  It also authorizes the 

commissioner to undertake various fraud prevention and investigation activities. 

1  Use of data.  Amends § 243.166, subd. 7.  Allows the commissioner of human services to 

have access to the predatory offender registry for purposes of completing background studies 

under chapter 245C. 

2  Agency background studies.  Amends § 245C.04, by adding subd. 4a.  Paragraph (a) 

requires the commissioner to develop an electronic system to access new criminal history 

information from the Minnesota court information system.  The commissioner must limit 

access to review only information that related to individuals who have been the subject of a 

background study and are affiliated with the agency that initiated the study. 

Paragraph (b) requires the commissioner to develop an online system for agencies that 

initiate background studies to access and maintain records of background studies initiated by 

that agency.  Requires that agencies notify the commissioner when an individual is no longer 

affiliated with the agency. 

3  Background studies conducted by Department of Human Services.  Amends § 245C.08, 

subd. 1.   Requires the commissioner to review information from the predatory offender 

registry when performing a background study.  Allows the commissioner to review criminal 

history information from the Minnesota court information system that relates to individuals 

who have already been studied under this chapter and remain affiliated with the agency that 

initiated the background study. 

4  Provider enrollment.  Amends § 256B.04, subd. 21.  Requires the commissioner to publish 

a list of provider types designated “limited,” “moderate,” or “high risk” based on federal 

criteria.  Requires suppliers of durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, and 

supplies operating in Minnesota to name the department, in addition to CMS, as an oblige on 

surety bonds.  Allows the department o require a provider to purchase a performance bond as 

a condition of enrollment, reenrollment, reinstatement, or continued enrollment under 

specified circumstances. 

Provides an immediate effective date. 

5  Application fee.  Amends § 256B.04, by adding subd. 22.  Authorizes the commissioner to 

collect and retain federally required application fees for screening and enrollment of medical 

assistance providers.  Imposes an application fee of $532 for calendar year 2013 and 

provides the fee calculation for the following years. 

Provides an immediate effective date.  
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6  Grounds for sanctions against vendors.  Amends § 256B.064, subd. 1a.  Adds that the 

commissioner may impose sanctions against a vendor of medical care for failure to correct 

errors in the maintenance of records for which a fine was imposed or after a warning was 

issued by the commissioner. 

7  Sanctions available.  Amends § 256B.064, subd. 1b. Allows the commissioner to impose a 

fine.  Requires the commissioner, when imposing sanctions under this section, to consider 

the certain factors.  

8  Imposition of monetary recovery and sanctions.  Amends § 256B.064, subd. 2.  Adds 

paragraph (f) which allows the commissioner to impose a fine on a vendor for incomplete 

documentation in a health service or financial record. 

Adds paragraph (g) which requires the vendor to pay the fine on or before the payment date 

specified.  If payment is not made, allows the commissioner to withhold or reduce payments 

to recover the amount of the fine. 

9  Requirements for initial enrollment of personal care assistance provider agencies.  
Amends § 256B.0659, subd. 21.  Increase surety bond coverage amount for PCA provider 

agencies.  Requires annual renewal of the bond. 

Provides an immediate effective date. 

10  Disclosures to commissioner of human services. Amends § 270B.14, subd. 1. Allows the 

commissioner of revenue to disclose information to the commissioner of human services for 

income verification related to applicants and recipients of MA and the supplemental nutrition 

program. 

Article 6: Health Care 

Overview 

This article contains provisions related to the Medical Assistance (MA) program, emergency 

medical assistance, and health care provider surcharges.  The article modifies MA payments 

rates and covered services, allows a Hennepin County demonstration project to waive 

copayments and include additional enrollees, increases the amount of MA capitation payments 

transferred to MERC, modifies criteria for critical access dental providers, and makes other 

changes related to MA.  The article also increases the surcharge on hospital net patient 

revenues and continues emergency medical assistance coverage of dialysis and chemotherapy 

and related services. 

1  Hospital surcharge.  Amends § 256.9657, subd. 2.  Effective July 1, 2013, through June 30, 

2017, increases the surcharge for nongovernment-owned hospitals to 2.68 percent of net 

patient revenues, excluding Medicare revenues.  Provides that the surcharge reverts to the 

current rate of 1.56 percent, beginning July 1, 2017. 
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2  Federal requirements.  Amends § 256.9685, subd. 2.  Allows the commissioner to 

restrospectively rates and payments to avoid reduced federal financial participation resulting 

from rates and payments in excess of the Medicare upper payment limit.  Also specifies the 

rate reduction procedure for the commissioner to follow if rates and payments are determined 

to be in excess of the upper payment limit for the nongovernmental-owned limit category. 

3  Payments.  Amends § 256.969, subd. 3a.  Increases MA payment rates for nongovernment-

owned hospitals by 30 percent, for inpatient hospital admissions occurring on or after July 1, 

2013, through June 30, 2017.  Requires these funds to be distributed as follows: 

(1) 25 percent for an across the board inpatient services rate increase; 

(2) 9 percent to increase MA rates for nongovernment owned hospitals above the 85th 

percentile for patient days for patients under 18 years of age in CY 2012; 

(3) 2 percent to increase MA rates for nongovernment owned hospitals above the 90th 

percentile for patient days for patients under 18 years of age in CY 2011, for diagnosis-

related groups 453 to 517 (e.g. spinal fusion, hip and knee replacement), 533 to 541 (e.g. 

fractures of femur, hip, and pelvis), 906 (hand procedures for injuries), and 956 (injuries to 

nerves of pelvis and lower limbs); 

(4) 14 percent to increase MA rates paid for inpatient mental health and chemical 

dependency treatment services; 

(5) 14 percent to increase MA rates paid for inpatient birth and delivery services; 

(6) 2 percent to increase rates paid to critical access hospitals; 

(7) 33 percent to increase MA rates paid for services at nongovernment owned hospitals 

determined to have the most significant losses of Medicare funding in 2013; and 

(8) 1 percent to increase payment rates for services at nongovernment hospitals that are Level 

I trauma centers. 

Provides that prepaid health plan rates shall not be adjusted to reflect these increases.  

Requires the commissioner to adjust rates and payments in excess of the Medicare upper 

limits according to § 256.9685, subd. 2.  Also strikes obsolete references to general 

assistance medical care. 

4  Reimbursement for the fee increase for the early hearing detection and intervention 

program.  Amends § 256.969, subd. 29.  Requires hospital payment rates to be adjusted, for 

admissions occurring on or after July 1, 2013, to include the fee increase for the early hearing 

detection and intervention program paid by the hospital for public program recipients.  

Requires the increase to be in effect until it is fully recognized in the base year cost, and 

requires the payment to be included in payments to contracted managed care organizations. 

5  Persons detained by law.  Amends § 256B.055, subdivision 14.  Provides that an inmate of 

a public institution (such as a correctional facility), who meets MA eligibility criteria, is 

eligible for MA coverage of services received while an inpatient in a medical institution.  
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Under current law, inmates of public institutions are not eligible for MA.  States that security 

issues related to the inpatient treatment of an inmate are the responsibility of the entity with 

jurisdiction over the inmate. Provides a January 1, 2014 effective date. 

6  Citizenship requirements.  Amends § 256B.06, subd. 4.  Classifies the following as 

services for the treatment of emergency medical conditions, and therefore eligible for 

coverage under emergency medical assistance:  (1) dialysis services provided in a hospital or 

freestanding dialysis facility; and (2) surgery and the administration of chemotherapy, 

radiation, and related services to treat cancer, if the recipient has cancer that is not in 

remission and these services are required.  (Under current law, these services are covered for 

the period May 1, 2013 through June 30, 2013.)  Provides an effective date of July 1, 2013. 

7  Dental services.  Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 9.  Expands MA dental coverage for adults, to 

include: 

(1) house calls or extended care facility calls for on-site delivery of covered services; 

(2) behavioral management, when additional staff time is required and sedation is not used; 

(3) oral or IV sedation, if the covered service cannot be performed safely without it or would 

need to be performed under general anesthesia in a hospital or surgical center; and 

(4) prophylaxis, in accordance with an individualized treatment plan, but no more than four 

times per year. 

8  Payment rates.  Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 13e.  The amendment to paragraph (a) requires 

the actual acquisition cost of a drug acquired through the federal 340B Drug Pricing Program 

to be estimated at wholesale acquisition cost minus 44 percent, for purposes of MA payment. 

The amendment to paragraph (d) allows payment for drugs administered in an outpatient 

setting to be at the lower of the specialty pharmacy rate or the maximum allowable cost  (in 

addition to the lower of the usual and customary cost or 106 percent of the average sales 

price, as under current law).  Requires the commissioner to discount the payment rate for 

drugs obtained through the federal 340B Drug Discount Program by 33 percent.  Requires 

payment for drugs administered in an outpatient setting to be made to the administering 

facility or the practitioner.  Provides that a retail or specialty pharmacy dispensing a drug for 

administration in an outpatient setting is not eligible for direct reimbursement. 

Provides an effective date of January 1, 2014. 

9  Medical supplies and equipment.  Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 31.  States that electronic 

tablets may be considered durable medical equipment if it will be used as an augmentative 

and alternative communication system and other requirements are met. 
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10  Preferred diabetic testing supply program.  Amends § 256B.0625, by adding subd. 31b.  

Requires the commissioner to adopt and implement a point of sale preferred diabetic testing 

supply program by January 1, 2014.  Allows the commissioner to contract with a vendor to 

participate in a preferred diabetic testing supply list and supplemental rebate program and 

specifies related requirements.  Provides that supplies not on the preferred supply list may be 

subject to prior authorization.  Requires the commissioner to seek any federal waivers and 

approvals necessary for implementation. 

11  Childhood immunizations.  Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 39.  Strikes language that specifies 

how much MA will pay per dose for the administration of vaccine to children. 

12  Early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment services.  Amends § 256B.0625, 

subd. 58.  Provides that payment for a complete EPSDT screening shall not include charges 

for vaccines that are available at no cost to the provider. 

13  Cost-sharing.  Amends § 256B.0631, subd. 1.  Directs the commissioner of human services, 

as part of the contracting process for the pilot project to test alternative and innovative health 

care delivery networks, to allow the Hennepin County pilot program to waive copayments.  

Provides that the value of the copayments shall not be included in the capitation payment to 

the managed care organization participating in the project. 

14  Hennepin and Ramsey Counties pilot program.  Amends § 256B.0756.  Modifies the 

criteria governing a pilot program operated by Hennepin County to test alternative and 

innovative health care delivery networks, by: 

(1) allowing the program to serve MA enrollees beyond those who are adults without 

children; 

(2) removing the enrollment cap of 7,000 enrollees; and 

(3) striking language that allows the county to transfer funds necessary to support the 

nonfederal share of payments for integrated health care delivery networks. 

This section also allows the commissioner to identify individuals to be enrolled in the pilot 

program, based on Hennepin County zip code or whether individuals would benefit from an 

integrated health care delivery network. 

15  Medical education and research fund.  Amends § 256B.69, subd. 5c.  For FY 2014 and 

thereafter, increases from $36,744,000 to $49,552,000 the amount transferred from MA 

capitation payments to the medical education and research fund. 

16  Payment reduction.  Amends § 256B.69, subd. 31.  Modifies trend increase limits for 

managed care and county-based purchasing plan capitation payments, by: (1) changing the 

effective date for the 2014 limits from July to January 1, 2014; (2) reducing the limit from 

7.5 to 3.25 percent for MA elderly basic care; (3) reducing the limit from 5.0 to 2.5 percent 

for MA special needs basic care; and (4) reducing the limit from 4.0 to 3.0 percent for 

MinnesotaCare adults without children. 
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17  Dental reimbursement.  Amends § 256B.76, subd. 2.  Effective January 1, 2014, increases 

payment rates for dental services by five percent.  Provides that the increase does not apply 

to state-operated dental clinics, federally qualified health centers, rural health centers, and 

Indian health services.  Requires payments to managed care and county-based purchasing 

plans to be adjusted to reflect this payment increase. 

18  Critical access dental providers.  Amends § 256B.76, subd. 4.  Modifies the definition of 

critical access dental provider.  The amendment to clause (3) includes city owned and 

operated hospital-based dental clinics.  The amendment to clause (4) eliminates the inclusion 

of clinics or dental groups owned and operated by a nonprofit corporation meeting specified 

criteria, and instead requires each clinic of the dental group to have more than 50 percent of 

its patient encounters involve patients who are uninsured or on MA or MinnesotaCare, in 

order for that clinic to have critical access dental provider status.  A new clause (6) classifies 

private practicing dentists as critical access dental providers, if the office is located in a 

health professional shortage area, over 50 percent of patient encounters are with the 

uninsured or MA or MinnesotaCare enrollees, and other criteria are met. 

19  Payment for certain primary care services and immunization administration.  Amends 

§ 256B.76, by adding subd. 7.  Requires payment for certain primary care services and 

immunization administration services provided January 1, 2013 through December 331, 

2014, to be made in accordance with § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act (this provision 

requires primary care services to be paid at a rate not less than Medicare rates for 2013 and 

2014). 

20  Reimbursement for family planning services.  Amends § 256B.764.  Effective July 1, 

2013, increases payment rates for family planning services provided by a community clinic 

by 20 percent.  Requires capitation rates to managed care and county-based purchasing plans 

to be adjusted to reflect this increase, and requires plans to pass on the full amount of the 

increase to community clinics.  Provides a July 1, 2013 effective date. 

21  Reimbursement for basic care services.  Amends § 256B.766.  Effective July 1, 2013, 

increases fee for service payments to pediatric hospitals and nonstate government hospitals 

located in cities of the first class by one percent, for outpatient basic care services provided 

to persons under age 21.  This increase is subject to an aggregate spending limit of $450,000 

for the biennium ending June 30, 2015. 

22  Payment for multiple services provided on the same day.  Requires the commissioner of 

human services to report, by December 15, 2013, to the chairs and ranking minority 

members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services 

policy and finance, on the costs and savings to MA of allowing payment, including 

supplemental payments, for mental health or dental services provided to a patient by a 

federally qualified health center or look-alike, or a rural health clinic, on the same day as 

other covered services furnished by the same provider. 
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23  Dental administration and reimbursement report.  Requires the commissioner of human 

services to study the feasibility of a single dental administrator for all dental services 

provided under MA and MinnesotaCare.  Specifies criteria for the study and requires the 

report and recommendations to be submitted to the chairs and ranking minority members of 

the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and 

finance by December 15, 2013. 

24  Request for information; emergency medical assistance. Requires the commissioner of 

human services to issue a request for information (RFI) to identify and develop options for a 

program to provide emergency medical assistance recipients with coverage for medically 

necessary services not eligible for federal financial participation.  Requires the RFI to be 

issued by August 1, 2013, and specifies criteria for the RFI.  Requires the commissioner, 

based on responses to the RFI, to submit recommendations on providing this coverage for 

emergency medical assistance recipients to legislative chairs by January 15, 2014. 

Article 7: Continuing Care 

Overview 

This article makes changes to continuing care programs including the corporate 

foster care moratorium, long-term care consultation services, home and 

community-based services waivers, and nursing facilities.  This article also 

includes provisions to create a new autism early intensive intervention benefit, and 

directs the commissioner to submit certain requests and waiver amendments to the 

federal government. 

1  Licensing moratorium.  Amends § 245A.03, subd. 7.  Modifies the exceptions to the 

corporate foster care moratorium.  Removes obsolete language.  Authorizes the 

commissioner to manage statewide capacity, including adjusting the capacity available to 

each county, and adjusting statewide available capacity to meet statewide needs.  Changes 

the annual due date of certain information regarding overall capacity the commissioner is 

required to provide.  Modifies exemptions from decreased licensed capacity for certain 

residential settings. 

2  Commissioner must annually report certain prepaid medical assistance plan data.  

Amends § 256.01, by adding subd. 35.  Allows the commissioner of education to share 

certain data with the commissioner of human services to allow the commissioners to analyze 

the screening, diagnosis, and treatment of children with autism spectrum disorder and other 

developmental conditions.  Requires the commissioner to use this data to improve public 

health care program performance in early screening, diagnosis, and treatment for children 

and to report any summary data on the DHS website by September 30, of each year. 

3  Nursing home license surcharge. Amends § 256.9657, subd. 1. Effective July 15, 2015, 

decreases the nursing home license surcharge. 
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4  ICF/DD license surcharge. Amends § 256.9657, subd. 3a. Modifies the ICF/DD license 

surcharge effective July 1, 2013. 

5  Preadmission screening of individuals under 65 years of age.  Amends § 256B.0911, 

subd. 4d.  Specifies payments for individuals under age 65 shall be made until September 30, 

2013. 

6  Payment for long-term care consultation services.  Amends § 256B.0911, subd. 6.  

Specifies payment for long-term care consultation face-to-face assessments shall be made 

until September 30, 2013.  Specifies the alternative payment methodology for long-term care 

consultation services is effective October 1, 2013.  Requires the alternative payment 

methodology to include the use of appropriate time studies and the state financing of 

nonfederal share as part of the state’s MA program. 

7  Excess spending.  Amends § 256B.0916, by adding subd. 11.  Makes county and tribal 

agencies responsible for spending in excess of the home and community-based waiver 

allocation made by the commissioner.  Requires agencies that spend in excess of the 

allocation made by the commissioner to submit a corrective action plan to the commissioner.  

Specifies the information that must be included in the plan.     

8  Residential support services.  Amends § 256B.092, subd. 11.  Corrects a cross-reference. 

9  Waivered services statewide priorities.  Amends § 256B.092, subd. 12.  Modifies the 

statewide priorities for the developmental disabilities home and community-based waiver.  

Authorizes the commissioner to transfer funds between counties, groups of counties, and 

tribes to accommodate statewide priorities and resource needs while accounting for a 

necessary base level reserve amount for each county, group of counties, or tribe.  Removes 

obsolete language.  

10  Autism early intensive intervention benefit.  Creates § 256B.0949. 

     Subd. 1.  Purpose.  Creates a new benefit under the MA state plan to provide early 

intensive intervention to a child with an ASD diagnosis.  Specifies the coverage that 

must be provided under this benefit. 

     Subd. 2.  Definitions.  Defines the terms “autism spectrum disorder diagnosis,” 

“child,” “early intensive intervention benefit,” “commissioner,” and “generalizable 

goals.” 

     Subd. 3.  Initial eligibility.  Specifies eligibility criteria for the autism early 

intensive intervention benefit. 

     Subd. 4. Diagnosis. Specifies the requirements for an ASD diagnosis. 

     Subd. 5. Diagnostic assessment. Lists the information and assessments that must 

be relied upon for the eligibility determination, treatment, and treatment plan 

development. 

     Subd. 6.  Treatment plan.  Specifies requirements related to a child’s treatment 
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plan. 

     Subd. 7.  Ongoing eligibility.  Requires a child receiving this benefit to receive an 

independent progress evaluation by a licensed mental health professional every six 

months, or more frequently as determined by the commissioner, to determine if 

progress is being made toward goals contained in the treatment plan.  Specifies the 

information to be included in the progress evaluation, allows the observation 

component of the progress evaluation to be performed by a child’s special education 

teacher, and requires progress evaluations to be submitted to the commissioner in a 

manner determined by the commissioner.  Makes children who continue to achieve 

treatment plan goals eligible to continue receiving this benefit. 

     Subd. 8.  Refining the benefit with stakeholders.  Requires the commissioner to 

develop the implementation details of the benefit in consultation with stakeholders and 

to consider recommendations of specified councils and task forces.  Requires the 

commissioner to release the implementation details for a 30-day public comment 

period prior to submission to the federal government for approval.  Lists items that 

must be included in the implementation details. 

     Subd. 9.  Revision of treatment options.  Allows the commissioner to revise 

covered treatment options based on outcome data and other evidence. 

     Subd. 10.  Coordination between agencies.  Requires the commissioners of 

human services and education to coordinate diagnostic and educational assessments, 

service delivery, and progress evaluations across health and education sectors. 

     Subd. 11. Federal approval of the autism benefit. Requires federal approval to 

allow children eligible for MA to qualify. 

Makes this option available upon federal approval, but not earlier than March 1, 2014. 

11  Quality assurance system established.  Amends § 256B.095.  Removes the June 30, 2014 

expiration date for the quality assurance system.  Effective July 1, 2013, allows a provider of 

service located in a non-opted-in county to opt-in to the quality assurance system provided 

the county where services are provided indicates its agreement with a county with an 

agreement with DHS. Makes this section effective July 1, 2013. 

12  Membership.  Amends § 256B.0951, subd. 1.  Removes language making the quality 

assurance commission expire on June 30, 2014. 

13  Commission’s authority to recommend variances of licensing standards.  Amends § 

256B.0951, subd. 4.  Expands the alternative licensing system from programs for persons 

with developmental disabilities to programs for persons with disabilities. 

14  Notification.  Amends § 256B.0952, subd. 1.  Makes conforming changes related to 

allowing providers to opt-in to the quality assurance system. 
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15  Quality assurance teams.  Amends § 256B.0952, subd. 5.  Modifies phrasing and removes 

language specifying counties will pay team members for time spent on quality assurance. 

16  Scope.  Amends § 256B.097, subd. 1.  Modifies the list of disability services eligible to be 

part of the quality assurance system by including services licensed under section 245D 

(home and community-based services standards). 

17  State quality council.  Amends § 256B.097, subd. 3.  Modifies provisions related to the 

State Quality Council. 

18  Property rate increases for certain nursing facilities.  Amends § 256B.431, subd. 44.  

Paragraph (b) increases the replacement-cost-new limit by $1.13 million for a nursing facility 

in McCleod County licensed for 110 beds.  Specifies that money available from expired and 

cancelled nursing facility moratorium exception projects shall be used to reduce the fiscal 

impact to the MA budget for the increase in the replacement-cost-new limit.  Makes 

paragraph (b) effective retroactively from June 1, 2012. 

Paragraph (c) allows a boarding care facility in Hennepin County to qualify for nursing 

facility moratorium exception funding for an elevator upgrade project. 

19  Alternate rates for nursing facilities.  Amends § 256B.434, subd. 4.  Suspends the nursing 

facility property-related payment rate adjustments for rate years beginning on October 1, 

2013, October 1, 2014, October 1, 2015, and October 1, 2016. 

20  Nursing facility rate adjustments beginning October 1, 2013.  Amends § 256B.434, by 

adding subd. 19a.  Requires the commissioner to provide a 3 percent operating payment rate 

increase to nursing facilities for the rate year beginning October 1, 2013. Requires nursing 

facilities to use 75 percent of the money resulting from the rate adjustments for increases in 

compensation-related costs for employees directly employed by the nursing facility on or 

after the effective date of the rate adjustment, with certain exceptions.  Specifies the items 

included in compensation-related costs.  Specifies the process for nursing facilities to apply 

for the rate adjustments.  Requires the commissioner to ensure that cost increases comply 

with certain requirements.  Specifies how the increases shall be applied to operating payment 

rates in effect on September 30, 2013. 

21  Planned closure rate adjustment.  Amends § 256B.437, subd. 6.  Reinstates planned 

closure rate adjustments beginning July 1, 2013, and makes the rate adjustment part of a 

facility’s external fixed payment rate (previously it was part of a facility’s total operating 

payment rate). 

22  External fixed costs.  Amends § 256B.441, subd. 13.  Modifies the definition of “external 

fixed costs.” 

23  Calculation of payment rate for external fixed costs.  Amends § 256B.441, subd. 53.  

Modifies the calculation of payment rates for external fixed costs by removing costs for long-

term care consultations beginning October 1, 2013. 
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24  Waivered services statewide priorities.  Amends § 256B.49, subd. 11a. Allows the 

commissioner to transfer funds between counties, groups of counties, and tribes to 

accommodate statewide priorities and resource needs while accounting for a necessary base 

level reserve amount for each county, group of counties, and tribe.  Removes obsolete 

language. 

25  Assessment and reassessment. Amends § 256B.49, subd. 14. Requires the case manager to 

help the recipient develop a plan to transition to an appropriate less restrictive setting if the 

recipient is able. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

26  Coordinated service and support plan; comprehensive transitional service plan; 

maintenance service plan.  Amends § 256B.49, subd. 15.  Updates a cross-reference. 

27  Excess allocations.  Amends § 256B.49, by adding subd. 25.  Makes county and tribal 

agencies responsible for spending in excess of the home and community-based waiver 

allocation made by the commissioner.  Requires agencies that spend in excess of the 

allocation made by the commissioner to submit a corrective action plan to the commissioner.  

Specifies the information that must be included in the plan.  

28  Home and community-based settings for people with disabilities.  Amends § 256B.492.  

Modifies language limiting the number of individuals receiving home and community-based 

services that may live in the same community living setting. 

29  Planned closure process needs determination.  Amends § 256B.493, subd. 2.  Corrects 

cross-references. 

30  Rate increase effective June 1, 2013. Amends § 256B.5012, by adding subd. 14. Requires 

the commissioner to increase the total operating payment rate for each ICF/DD facility by 

$7.81 per day. Prohibits the increase from being subject to any annual percentage increase. 

Makes this section effective June 1, 2013. 

31  ICF/DD rate increases effective July 1, 2013.  Amends § 256B.5012, by adding 

subdivision 15.  Increases operating payment rates for ICFs/DD by 2 percent for the rate 

period beginning on July 1, 2013.  Specifies the manner in which the commissioner must 

apply the rate increase. 

32  Initiatives to improve early screening, diagnosis, and treatment of children with ASD 

and other developmental conditions.  Amends § 256B.69, by adding subd. 32a.  Requires 

managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans, as a condition of contract under 

PMAP, to implement strategies that facilitate access for young children to have periodic 

developmental screenings and that those who do not meet milestones are provided access to 

appropriate evaluation and assessment, including treatment recommendations, with the goal 

of meeting milestones by age five.  Specifies data the plans must report to the commissioner. 
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33  Forecasted programs.  Amends Laws 2011, First Special Session, ch. 9, art. 10, § 3, subd. 

3, as amended by Laws 2012, ch. 247, art. 4, § 43.  Specifies that a provision reducing rates 

for congregate living for individuals with lower needs does not apply to individuals whose 

primary diagnosis is mental illness and who are living in foster care settings where the 

license holder is also (1) a provider of assertive community treatment or adult rehabilitative 

mental health services, (2) a certified mental health center or a certified mental health clinic, 

or (3) a provider of intensive residential treatment services.  Makes this section effective 

August 1, 2013. 

34  Recommendations for concentration limits on home and community-based settings. 
Requires the commissioner to consult with specified stakeholders to develop 

recommendations on concentration limits on HCBS settings. Requires the recommendations 

to be consistent with Minnesota’s Olmstead Plan. Requires the recommendations and 

proposed legislation to be submitted to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over 

health and human services policy and finance by February 1, 2014. 

35  Provider rate and grant increases effective July 1, 2013.  Increases reimbursement rates, 

grants, allocations, individual limits, and rate limits, as applicable, by 2 percent on July 1, 

2013, for a variety of continuing care providers.  Requires managed care plans receiving state 

payments for the services in this section to include these increases in their payments to 

providers.  Requires counties to increase the budget for each recipient of consumer-directed 

community supports by 2 percent on July 1, 2013. 

36  Training of autism service providers.  Requires the commissioners of health and human 

services to ensure that autism service providers receive training in culturally appropriate 

approaches to serving certain minority communities, and other cultural groups experiencing a 

disproportionate incidence of autism. 

37  Direction to commissioner. Requires the commissioner of human services to apply to CMS, 

by January 1, 2014, for a waiver to provide applied behavioral analysis services to children 

with ASD and related conditions under the MA program. 

Makes this section effective the day following final enactment.  

38  Recommendations on raising the asset limits for seniors and persons with disabilities. 

Requires the commissioner to develop recommendations and a request for a federal waiver to 

increase the asset limit for individuals and homeowners eligible for MA due to disability or 

age who are not residing in a nursing facility or an institution whose costs for room and 

board are covered by MA or state funds.  Requires recommendations to be provided to the 

legislature by February 1, 2014. 

39  Nursing home level of care report. Requires the commissioner of human services to report 

on the impact of the nursing facility level of care to be implemented January 1, 2014. 

Specifies the information that must be included in the report. Requires the commissioner to 

report to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy 

and finance with a preliminary report on October 1, 2014, and a final report on February 15, 

2015. 
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40  HCBS report card. Requires the commissioner of human services to work with existing 

advisory groups to develop recommendations for a home and community-based services 

report card. Lists items to be considered by the advisory group in developing 

recommendations. Requires a report to the legislature by August 1, 2014. 

41  Repealer.  (a) Repeals Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.14, subd. 3a (spousal 

contribution); 256B.5012, subd. 13 (ICF/DD rate decrease effective July 1, 2013); and Laws 

2011, First Special Session ch. 9, art. 7, section 54, as amended by Laws 2012, ch. 247, art. 

4, section 42, and Laws 2012, ch. 298, section 3 (contingency provider rate and grant 

reductions). 

(b) Repeals Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.096, subds. 1 (scope), 2 (stakeholder advisory 

group), 3 (annual survey of service recipients), and 4 (improvements for incident reporting, 

investigation, analysis, and follow-up). 

Article 8: Waiver Provider Standards 

Overview 

This article modifies human services licensing provisions and home and 

community-based services standards. 

1  Health care facility.  Amends § 145C.01, subd. 7.  Adds community residential settings 

licensed under chapter 245D to the definition of “health care facility.” 

2  Health care facility; notice of status.  Amends § 243.166.  Strikes the word 

“developmental.” 

3  Positive support strategies and emergency manual restraint; licensed facilities and 

programs.  Creates § 245.8251. 

     Subd. 1.  Rules.  Requires the commissioner to adopt rules on the use of positive 

support, safety interventions, and emergency use of manual restraints in programs 

licensed under chapter 245D.   

     Subd. 2.  Data collection.  Requires the commissioner to consult with stakeholders 

and collect data on the use of aversive and controlled procedures from providers who 

will be licensed under chapter 245D. 

4  Nonresidential program.  Amends § 245A.02, subd. 10.  Strikes obsolete language from the 

definition of nonresidential program.  Adds language and cross reference to chapter 245D. 

5  Residential program.  Amends § 245A.02, subd. 14.  Strikes obsolete language from the 

definition of residential program.  Adds language and cross reference to chapter 245D. 
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6  Licensing moratorium.  Amends § 245A.03, subd. 7.  Adds community residential setting 

licenses to the list of licenses subject to the moratorium.  Adds references to community 

residential settings.   

7  Excluded providers seeking licensure.  Amends §245A.03, subd. 8.  Corrects a cross 

reference. 

8  Implementation.  Amends §2 45A.042, subd. 3.  Corrects a cross reference.  Clarifies 

language related to the commissioner’s authority to issue correction orders. 

9  Consolidated contested case hearings.  Amends § 245A.08, subd. 2a.  Requires the county 

attorney to defend the commissioner’s orders for sanctions in consolidated contested case 

hearings involving community residential settings.  

10  Fees.  Amends § 245A.10.   

     Subd. 1.  Application or license fee required; programs exempt from fee.  
States that no application or license fee will be charged for community residential 

settings, except as provided in subdivision 2.   

     Subd. 2.  County fees for background studies and licensing inspections. Allows 

a county agency to charge a fee to recover the actual cost of inspection for licensing 

the physical plant of a community residential setting.   

     Subd. 3.  Application fee for initial license or certification.  Requires an 

applicant for an initial day services facility license to submit a $250 application fee 

with each new license.  Allows applicants for a license to provide HCBS waiver 

services to persons with disabilities or to persons age 65 and older to submit an 

application to provide services statewide.   Adds that initial application fees in this 

subdivision do not include the temporary license surcharge under section 16E.22.  

Strikes obsolete language. 

     Subd. 4.  License or certification fee for certain programs.  Strikes obsolete 

language and fees.  Establishes new license fees for programs licensed under chapter 

245D. 

Effective date.  Makes this section effective July 1, 2013. 

11  Adult foster care and community residential setting license capacity.  Amends § 

245A.11, subd. 2a.  Makes technical changes so that this section applies to community 

residential settings. 

12  Adult foster care; variance for alternate overnight supervision.  Amends § 245A.11, 

subd. 7.  Requires transfer of a variance granted under this subdivision when an adult foster 

home license holder converts to a community residential setting license under chapter 245D. 



H.F. 1233  April 23, 2013 

Version: Third engrossment  Page 44 

 

Section 

Research Department Minnesota House of Representatives 600 State Office Building 

 R:\HRD_Summ\2013\1233e3 Huntley.hhs.docx  Last printed 4/25/2013 1:05:00 PM 

13  Alternate overnight supervision technology; adult foster care and community 

residential setting licenses.  Amends § 245A.11, subd. 7a.  Updates terminology and strikes 

obsolete language. 

14  Adult foster care data privacy and security.  Amends § 245A.11, subd. 7b.  Updates 

terminology and strikes obsolete language. 

15  Community residential setting license.  Amends § 245A.11, subd. 8.  Strikes references to 

child foster care and to residential support services.  Adds a cross reference to the definition 

of community residential setting. 

16  Delegation of authority to agencies.  Amends § 245A.16, subd. 1.  Prohibits county 

agencies from granting variances for community residential setting licenses. 

17  Definitions.  Amends § 245D.02.  Modifies definitions in the home and community-based 

services standards by adding definitions of “authorized representative,” “certification,” 

“community residential setting,” “coordinated service and support plan,” “coordinated 

service and support plan addendum,” “corporate foster care,” “cultural competence or 

culturally competent,” “day services facility,” “direct support staff or staff,” “emergency use 

of manual restraint,” “expanded support team,” “family foster care,” “intermediate care 

facility for persons with developmental disabilities or ICF/DD,” “least restrictive 

alternative,” “most integrated setting,” “outcome,” “physician,” “self-determination,” “semi-

independent living services,” “supervised living facility,” “supervision,” “time out,” and 

“treatment.”  Removes definitions for “medication administration,” “medication assistance,” 

“medication management,” “service plan,” and “unit of government.” Modifies definitions of 

“emergency,” “home and community-based services,” “incident,” “legal representative,” 

“mental health crisis intervention team,” “prescriber,” “prescription drug,” “seclusion,” and 

“service.” Makes this section effective January 1, 2014.   

18  Applicability and effect.  Amends § 245D.03. 

     Subd. 1.  Applicability.  Modifies the list of services governed by the licensing 

standards in this chapter. 

     Subd. 2.  Relationship to other standards governing home and community-

based services.  Modifies standards related to foster care services.  Exempts license 

holders providing (1) services in supervised living facilities, (2) residential services to 

person in an ICF/DD, and (3) homemaker services from certain standards.  Specifies 

nothing in this chapter prohibits a license holder from concurrently serving persons 

without disabilities or people who are or are not age 65 or older, provided all relevant 

standards are met.  

     Subd. 3. Variance.  Corrects a cross-reference. 

     Subd. 4.  License holders with multiple 245D licenses.  Repeals this subdivision. 

     Subd. 4.  Program certification.  Allows an applicant or license holder to apply 

for program certification. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014.  
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19  Service recipient rights.  Amends § 245D.04. 

     Subd. 1.  License holder responsibility for individual rights of persons served 

by the program.  Modifies terminology. 

     Subd. 2.  Service-related rights.  Modifies a person’s service-related rights.   

     Subd. 3.  Protection-related rights.  Modifies a person’s protection-related rights. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

20  Health services.  Amends § 245D.05. 

     Subd. 1.  Health needs.  Modifies terminology and phrasing related to license 

holder responsibilities for meeting health service needs of recipients. 

     Subd. 1a.  Medication setup.  Defines “medication setup” and lists information the 

license holder must document in the person’s medication administration record. 

     Subd. 1b.  Medication assistance.  Defines “medication assistance” and specifies 

requirements that must be met by the license holder when staff provides medication 

assistance. 

     Subd. 2.  Medication administration.  Lists medication administration procedures 

that must be implemented by the license holder to ensure a person takes medications 

and treatments as prescribed.  Modifies requirements that must be met before 

administering medication or treatment.  Modifies the list of information that must be 

included in the person’s medication administration record. 

     Subd. 3.  Medication assistance.  Repeals this subdivision. 

     Subd. 4.  Reviewing and reporting medication and treatment issues.  Modifies 

provisions related to reviewing and reporting medication and treatment issues. 

     Subd. 5.  Injectable medications.  No changes. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

21  Psychotropic medication use and monitoring.  Creates § 245D.051. 

     Subd. 1.  Conditions for psychotropic medication administration.  Lists 

requirements that must be met when the license holder is assigned responsibility for 

administering a person’s psychotropic medication.  Defines “target symptom.” 

     Subd. 2.  Refusal to authorize psychotropic medication.  Specifies license holder 

duties when the person or the person’s legal representative refuses to authorize the 

administration of a psychotropic medication ordered by the prescriber. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 
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22  Protection standards.  Amends § 245D.06. 

     Subd. 1.  Incident response and reporting.  Makes technical and conforming 

changes.  Specifies when incident reviews must be conducted and what must be 

included in the review.  Requires license holders to report the emergency use of 

manual restraint of a person to DHS within 24 hours of the occurrence.  Specifies 

reporting requirements when a death or serious injury occurs at an ICF/DD. 

     Subd. 2.  Environment and safety.  Modifies the list of duties license holders must 

perform related to environment and safety. 

     Subd. 3.  Compliance with fire and safety codes.  Repeals this subdivision. 

     Subd. 4.  Funds and property.  Specifies when authorization must be received and 

other license holder duties when the license holder assists a person with the 

safekeeping of funds or other property.  Removes language prohibiting license holders 

from being appointed a guardian or conservator of a person receiving services from the 

license holder.  Specifies license holder duties upon the transfer or death of a person. 

     Subd. 5.  Prohibitions.  Prohibits license holders from using chemical restraints, 

mechanical restraint practices, manual restraints, time out, or seclusion as a substitute 

for adequate staffing, a behavioral or therapeutic program to reduce or eliminate 

behavior, as punishment, or for staff convenience.  Defines “chemical restraint” and 

“mechanical restraint practice.”  Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

23  Emergency use of manual restraints.  Creates § 245D.061. 

     Subd. 1.  Standards for emergency use of manual restraints.  Specifies 

standards for emergency use of manual restraints. 

     Subd. 2.  Definitions.  Defines “manual restraint” and “mechanical restraint.” 

     Subd. 3.  Conditions for emergency use of manual restraint.  Lists the 

conditions that must be met for emergency use of manual restraint. 

     Subd. 4.  Permitted instructional techniques and therapeutic conduct.  Requires 

physical contact or instructional techniques to use the least restrictive alternative 

possible to meet the needs of the person and allows them to be used under specified 

conditions.  Specifies when restraint may be use as therapeutic conduct.  Requires a 

plan to be developed for using restraint as therapeutic conduct. 

     Subd. 5.  Restrictions when implementing emergency use of manual restraint.  

Lists prohibitions regarding emergency use of manual restraint procedures. 

     Subd. 6.  Monitoring emergency use of manual restraint.  Requires the license 

holder to monitor a person’s health and safety during an emergency use of manual 

restraint.  Requires the license holder to complete a monitoring form for each incident 

involving the emergency use of manual restraint. 
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     Subd. 7.  Reporting emergency use of manual restraint incident.  Requires the 

staff person who implemented the emergency use of a manual restraint to report each 

incident involving the emergency use of manual restraint.  Specifies the information 

that must be included in the incident report.  Requires each single incident of 

emergency use of manual restraint to be reported separately. 

     Subd. 8.  Internal review of emergency use of manual restraint.  Requires 

license holders to complete an internal review of each report of emergency use of 

manual restraint, lists the information that must be evaluated as part of the review, and 

requires a corrective action plan to be developed and implemented if any lapses in 

performance are found. 

     Subd. 9.  Expanded support team review.  Requires license holders to consult 

with the expanded support team following the emergency use of manual restraint. 

     Subd. 10.  Emergency use of manual restraints policy and procedures.  

Requires license holders to develop, document, and implement a policy and procedures 

for the emergency use of manual restraints.  Specifies the information that must be 

included in the policy and procedures. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

24  Service planning and delivery.  Amends § 245D.07. 

     Subd. 1.  Provision of services.  Makes technical changes to phrasing. 

     Subd. 1a.  Person-centered planning and service delivery.  Requires the license 

holder to provide services in response to the person’s identified needs and preferences 

as specified in the coordinated service and support plan, the plan addendum, and with 

provider standards.  Lists the principles that must guide provision of services. 

     Subd. 2.  Service planning; requirements for basic support services.  Specifies 

timelines for developing the coordinated service and support plan addendum based on 

the coordinated service and support plan.  Makes conforming changes. 

     Subd. 3.  Reports.  No changes.   

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

25  Service planning and delivery; intensive support services.  Creates § 245D.071. 

     Subd. 1.  Requirements for intensive support services.  Specifies the 

requirements license holders providing intensive support services must meet. 

     Subd. 2.  Abuse prevention.  Requires license holders to develop, document, and 

implement an abuse prevention plan prior to or upon initiating services. 

     Subd. 3.  Assessment and initial service planning.  Specifies the timelines and 

processes a license holder must follow for developing the coordinated service and 
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support plan addendum for a person.   

     Subd. 4.  Service outcomes and supports.  Requires service outcomes and 

supports to be developed by the license holder and included in the coordinated service 

and support plan addendum.  Requires the license holder to document the supports and 

lists the information that must be included in the documentation.  Requires the license 

holder to obtain dated signatures from the person or the person’s legal representative 

and case manager to document completion and approval of the plan addendum. 

     Subd. 5.  Progress reviews.  Specifies the process for progress reviews. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

26  Program coordination, evaluation, and oversight.  Creates § 245D.081. 

     Subd. 1.  Program coordination and evaluation.  Lists license holder 

responsibilities related to program coordination and evaluation. 

     Subd. 2.  Coordination and evaluation of individual service delivery.  Requires 

delivery and evaluation of services provided by the license holder to be coordinated by 

a designated staff person.  Lists activities for which the designated coordinator must 

provide supervision, support, and evaluation.  Lists education and training 

requirements for designated coordinators. 

     Subd. 3.  Program management and oversight.  Requires the license holder to 

designate a managerial staff person or persons to provide program management and 

oversight of the services provided by the license holder.  Lists the responsibilities of 

the designated manager.  Specifies the education, training, and supervisory experience 

necessary to be a designated manager. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

27  Staffing standards.  Amends § 245D.09. 

     Subd. 1.  Staffing requirements.  Modifies staffing requirements. 

     Subd. 2.  Supervision of staff having direct contact.  Makes conforming changes 

by modifying terminology. 

     Subd. 3.  Staff qualifications.  Makes conforming changes by modifying 

terminology and modifies staff qualifications. 

     Subd. 4.  Orientation to program requirements.  Modifies orientation 

requirements.  

     Subd. 4a.  Orientation to individual service recipient needs.  Modifies 

requirements related to orientation to individual service recipient needs. 

     Subd. 5.  Annual training.  Modifies annual training requirements for direct 
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support staff. 

     Subd. 5a.  Alternative sources of training.  Allows alternative sources of training 

and specifies requirements for license holders related to documenting alternative 

sources of training. 

     Subd. 6.  Subcontractors and temporary staff.  Modifies license holder 

requirements related to subcontractors and temporary staff. 

     Subd. 7.  Volunteers.  Modifies terminology and requires license holders to ensure 

that a background study has been completed and to maintain documentation that 

applicable requirements have been met. 

     Subd. 8.  Staff orientation and training plan.  Requires license holders to develop 

a staff orientation and training plan documenting when and how compliance with 

orientation and training requirements will be met. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

28  Intervention services.  Creates § 245D.091. 

     Subd. 1.  Licensure requirements.  Specifies certain employees of licensed 

programs providing specified services do not have to hold a separate license under this 

chapter.  Individuals who are not providing services as an employee of a licensed 

program must obtain a license according to this chapter. 

     Subd. 2.  Behavior professional qualifications.  Lists qualifications for behavior 

professionals, as defined in the BI and CADI waiver plans. 

     Subd. 3.  Behavior analyst qualifications.  Lists qualifications for behavior 

analysts, as defined in the BI and CADI waiver plans. 

     Subd. 4.  Behavior specialist qualifications.  Lists qualifications for behavior 

specialists, as defined in the BI and CADI waiver plans.   

     Subd. 5.  Specialist services qualifications.  Lists qualifications for an individual 

providing specialist services, as defined in the DD waiver plan. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

29  Record requirements.  Creates § 245D.095. 

     Subd. 1.  Record-keeping systems.  Requires license holders to ensure that certain 

records are uniform and legible. 

     Subd. 2.  Admission and discharge register.  Requires the license holder to keep a 

written or electronic register listing the dates and names of all persons served by the 

program who have been admitted, discharged, or transferred. 

     Subd. 3.  Service recipient record.  Requires license holders to maintain a record 
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of current services provided to each person on the premises where the services are 

provided or coordinated.  Lists the information that must be maintained for each 

person. 

     Subd. 4.  Access to service recipient records.  Requires license holders to ensure 

that certain people have access to service recipient records in accordance with 

applicable state and federal law, regulation, or rule. 

     Subd. 5.  Personnel records.  Requires the license holder to maintain a personnel 

record of each employee to document and verify staff qualifications, orientation, and 

training.  Lists the information that must be included in the personnel record. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

30  Policies and procedures.  Amends § 245D.10. 

     Subd. 1.  Policy and procedure requirements.  Modifies license holder policy and 

procedure requirements. 

     Subd. 2.  Grievances.  Requires the complaint process to promote service recipient 

rights. 

     Subd. 3.  Service suspension and service termination.  Modifies requirements 

related to policies and procedures for service suspension and service termination. 

     Subd. 4.  Availability of current written policies and procedures.  Modifies 

license holder requirements related to making available current written policies and 

procedures. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

31  Policies and procedures; intensive support services.  Creates § 245D.11. 

     Subd. 1.  Policy and procedure requirements.  Requires license holders providing 

intensive support services to establish, enforce, and maintain required policies and 

procedures.   

     Subd. 2.  Health and safety.  Requires license holders to establish policies and 

procedures that promote health and safety.  Lists health and safety requirements. 

     Subd. 3.  Data privacy.  Requires license holders to establish policies and 

procedures that promote service recipient rights by ensuring data privacy according to 

the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act and the federal Health Insurance 

Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA). 

     Subd. 4.  Admission criteria.  Requires license holders to establish policies and 

procedures that promote continuity of care by ensuring certain admission or service 

initiation criteria are met. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014.   
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32  Facility licensure requirements and application process.  Creates § 245D.21. 

     Subd. 1.  Community residential settings and day service facilities.  Defines 

“facility.” 

     Subd. 2.  Inspections and code compliance.  Specifies requirements related to 

inspections and code compliance. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

33  Facility sanitation and health.  Creates § 245D.22.   

     Subd. 1.  General maintenance.  Requires license holders to maintain the interior 

and exterior of buildings used by the facility in good repair and in a sanitary and safe 

condition.  Requires license holders to correct building and equipment deterioration, 

safety hazards, and unsanitary conditions. 

     Subd. 2.  Hazards and toxic substances.  Requires license holders to ensure that 

service sites owned or leased by the license holder are free from hazards that would 

threaten the health or safety of a person receiving services.  Lists requirements that 

must be met. 

     Subd. 3.  Storage and disposal of medication.  Requires certain controlled 

substances to be stored in a locked storage area permitting access only by persons and 

staff authorized to administer the medication.  Requires medications to be disposed of 

according to EPA recommendations. 

     Subd. 4.  First aid.  Requires staff people trained in first aid to be available on site 

and, when required in a person’s coordinated service and support plan, 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation.  Requires facilities to have first aid kits readily 

available.  Specifies the items with which first aid kits must be equipped. 

     Subd. 5.  Emergencies.  Requires license holders to have a written plan for 

responding to emergencies to ensure the safety of persons in the facility and lists 

information that must be included in the plan. 

     Subd. 6.  Emergency equipment.  Requires each facility to have a flashlight and a 

portable radio or TV that do not require electricity and can be used if a power failure 

occurs. 

     Subd. 7.  Telephone and posted numbers.  Requires each facility to have a non-

coin operated telephone that is readily accessible.  Requires a list of emergency 

numbers to be posted in a prominent location.  Specifies the numbers that must be 

included on the list of emergency numbers.  Requires the names and telephone 

numbers of each person’s representative, physician, and dentist to be readily available. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 
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34  Community residential settings; satellite licensure requirements and application 

process.  Creates § 245D.23.   

     Subd. 1.  Separate satellite license required for separate sites.  Requires license 

holders providing residential support services to obtain a separate satellite license for 

each community residential setting located at separate addresses when the settings are 

to be operated by the same license holder.  Specifies a community residential setting is 

a satellite of the HCBS license.  Specifies community residential settings are permitted 

single-family use homes.  Requires the commissioner to notify the local municipality 

where the residence is located of the approved license. 

     Subd. 2.  Notification to local agency.  Requires license holders to notify the local 

agency within 24 hours of the onset of changes in a residence resulting from 

construction, remodeling, or damages requiring repairs that require a building permit 

or may affect a licensing requirement. 

     Subd. 3.  Alternate overnight supervision.  Specifies requirements for license 

holders who have been granted an alternate overnight supervision technology adult 

foster care license. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

35  Community residential settings; physical plant and environment.  Creates § 245D.24.   

     Subd. 1.  Occupancy.  Requires the residence to meet the definition of a dwelling 

unit in a residential occupancy. 

     Subd. 2.  Common area requirements.  Requires the living area to be provided 

with an adequate number of furnishings for the usual functions of daily living and 

social activities.  Requires the dining area to be furnished to accommodate meals 

shared by all persons living in the residence.  Requires furnishings to be in good repair 

and functional to meet the daily needs of the persons living in the residence. 

     Subd. 3.  Bedrooms.  Requires persons receiving services to mutually consent to 

sharing a bedroom with one another.  Specifies no more than two people receiving 

services may share one bedroom.  Specifies size, furnishings, and other requirements 

bedrooms must meet. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

36  Community residential settings; food and water.  Creates § 245D.25.   

     Subd. 1.  Water.  Requires potable water from private wells to be tested annually 

to verify safety.  Authorizes the health authority to require retesting and corrective 

measures under certain circumstances.  Prohibits water temperature of faucets from 

exceeding 120 degrees Fahrenheit. 

     Subd. 2.  Food.  Requires food served to meet any dietary needs of a person as 
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prescribed by the person’s physician or dietician.  Requires three nutritionally 

balanced meals to be served or made available per day, and requires nutritious snacks 

to be available between meals.   

     Subd. 3.  Food safety.  Requires food to be obtained, handled, and properly stored 

to prevent contamination, spoilage, or a threat to the health of a person. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

37  Community residential settings; sanitation and health.  Creates § 245D.26.   

     Subd. 1.  Goods provided by the license holder.  Specifies the household goods 

that must be made available by the license holder. 

     Subd. 2.  Personal items.  Requires personal health and hygiene items to be stored 

in a safe and sanitary manner. 

     Subd. 3.  Pets and service animals.  Requires pets and service animals housed in 

the residence to be immunized and maintained in good health.  Requires license 

holders to ensure that the person and person’s representative are notified before 

admission of the presence of pets in the residence. 

     Subd. 4.  Smoking in the residence.  Requires license holders to comply with the 

requirements of the Minnesota Clean Indoor Air Act, when smoking is permitted in the 

residence. 

     Subd. 5.  Weapons.  Requires weapons and ammunition to be stored separately in 

locked areas that are inaccessible to a person receiving services.  Defines “weapons.” 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

38  Day services facilities; satellite licensure requirements and application process.  Creates 

§ 245D.27.  Requires license holders providing day services to apply for separate licenses for 

each facility-based service site when the license holder is the owner, lessor, or tenant of the 

service site at which services are provided more than 30 days within any 12-month period.  

Allows a day services program to operate multiple licensed day service facilities in one or 

more counties in the state.  Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

39  Day services facilities; physical plant and space requirements.  Creates § 245D.28.   

     Subd. 1.  Facility capacity and useable space requirements.  Specifies facility 

capacity and useable space requirements for day services facilities. 

     Subd. 2.  Individual personal articles.  Requires each person to be provided space 

for storage of personal items for the person’s own use while receiving services at the 

facility. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 
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40  Day services facilities; health and safety requirements.  Creates § 245D.29. 

     Subd. 1.  Refrigeration.  Requires refrigeration to have a temperature of 40 

degrees Fahrenheit or less if refrigeration is provided by the license holder. 

     Subd. 2.  Drinking water.  Requires drinking water to be available to all persons 

receiving services and to be provided in single-service containers or from drinking 

fountains accessible to all persons.  

     Subd. 3.  Individuals who become ill during the day.  Requires there to be an 

area in which a person receiving services can rest under certain circumstances. 

     Subd. 4.  Safety procedures.  Requires the license holder to establish general 

written safety procedures and specifies the information that must be included in the 

safety procedures. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

41  Day services facilities; staff ratio and facility coverage.  Creates § 245D.31.   

     Subd. 1.  Scope.  Makes this section apply only to facility-based day services. 

     Subd. 2.  Factors.  Lists factors that affect the number of direct support staff 

members a license holder is required to have on duty at the facility at a given time.  

Requires the commissioner to consider these factors in determining a license holder’s 

compliance with staffing requirements and whether the staff ratio requirement for each 

person receiving services accurately reflects the person’s need for staff time. 

     Subd. 3.  Staff ratio requirement for each person receiving services.  Specifies 

the process for the case manager to determine the staff ratio assigned to each person 

receiving services and requires documentation of how the ratio was determined. 

     Subd. 4.  Person requiring staff ratio of one to four.  Specifies the conditions 

under which a person must be assigned a staff ratio of one to four. 

     Subd. 5.  Person requiring staff ratio of one to eight.  Specifies the conditions 

under which a person must be assigned a staff ratio of one to eight. 

     Subd. 6.  Person requiring staff ratio of one to six.  Requires a person who does 

not have any of the characteristics described in subdivisions 4 and 5 to be assigned a 

staff ratio of one to six. 

     Subd. 7.  Determining number of direct support service staff required.  

Specifies the steps for determining the number of direct support service staff required 

to meet the combined staff ratio requirements of the persons present at any one time. 

     Subd. 8.  Staff to be included in calculating minimum staffing requirement.  

Requires only direct support staff to be counted as staff members in calculating the 

staff to participant ratio.  Allows volunteers to be counted under certain circumstances.  
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Prohibits persons receiving services from being counted as or substituted for a staff 

member in calculating the staff to participant ratio. 

     Subd. 9.  Conditions requiring additional direct support staff.  Requires the 

license holder to increase the number of direct support staff persons present at any one 

time beyond the number required if necessary under specified circumstances. 

     Subd. 10.  Supervision requirements.  Prohibits one direct support staff member 

from being assigned responsibility for supervision and training of more than 10 

persons receiving supervision and training, except as otherwise stated in each person’s 

risk management plan.  Requires a direct support staff member to be assigned to 

supervise the center in the absence of the director or a supervisor. 

     Subd. 11.  Multifunctional programs.  Allows multifunctional programs to count 

other employees of the organization besides direct support staff of the day service 

facility in calculating the staff to participant ratio if the employee is assigned to the day 

services facility for a specified amount of time, during which the employee is not 

assigned to another organization or program. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

42  Alternative licensing inspections.  Creates § 245D.32. 

     Subd. 1.  Eligibility for an alternative licensing inspection.  Allows community 

residential setting and day services facility license holders to request approval for an 

alternative licensing inspection when all services provided under the license holder’s 

license are accredited and certain other requirements are met. 

     Subd. 2.  Qualifying accreditation.  Requires the commissioner to accept a three-

year accreditation from the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities 

as a qualifying accreditation. 

     Subd. 3.  Request for approval of an alternative inspection status.  Specifies the 

process for requesting approval of an alternative inspection. 

     Subd. 4.  Programs approved for alternative licensing inspection; deemed 

compliance licensing requirements.  Requires license holders approved for 

alternative licensing inspection to maintain compliance with all licensing standards, 

prohibits the commissioner from performing routine licensing inspections, and 

requires the commissioner to investigate complaints and take action as provided for in 

human services licensing statutes. 

     Subd. 5.  Investigations of alleged or suspected maltreatment.  Specifies the 

commissioner retains the responsibility to investigate alleged or suspected 

maltreatment of a minor or a vulnerable adult. 

     Subd. 6.  Termination or denial of subsequent approval.  Allows the 

commissioner to terminate or deny subsequent approval of an alternative licensing 
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inspection if the commissioner makes certain determinations. 

     Subd. 7.  Appeals.  Prohibits appeals of the commissioner’s decision that the 

conditions for approval for an alternative licensing inspection have not been met. 

     Subd. 8.  Commissioner’s programs.  Excludes certain licensed HCBS providers 

from being approved for an alternative licensing inspection. 

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

43  Adult mental health certification standards.  Creates § 245D.33.  Requires the 

commissioner to issue a mental health certification for services licensed under this chapter 

when a license holder is determined to have met certain requirements.  Makes this 

certification voluntary for license holders.  Requires the certification to be printed on the 

license and identified on the commissioner’s public Web site.  Lists the requirements for 

certification.  Requires license holders seeking this certification to request it on forms and in 

the manner prescribed by the commissioner.  Allows the commissioner to issue correction 

orders, orders of conditional license, or sanctions if the commissioner finds that a license 

holder has failed to comply with the certification requirements.  Prohibits appeals when a 

certification is denied or removed based on a determination that the certification 

requirements have not been met.  Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

44  Residential support services.  Amends § 256B.092, subd. 11.  Modifies the types of settings 

than can provide residential support services and the criteria residential support services must 

meet. 

45  Provider qualifications.  Amends § 256B.4912, subd. 1.  Adds cross-references and 

modifies provider qualifications beginning January 1, 2014. 

46  Applicant and license holder training.  Amends § 256B.4912, subd. 7.  Adds cross-

references and requires newly enrolled HCBS providers to ensure that at least one controlling 

individual has completed training on waiver and related program billing within six months of 

enrollment. 

47  Data on use of emergency use of manual restraint.  Amends § 256B.4912, by adding 

subd. 8.  Requires facilities and services licensed under chapter 245D to submit data 

regarding the use of emergency use of manual restraint. 

48  Definitions.  Amends §256B.4912, by adding subd. 9.  Defines “controlling individual,” 

“managerial officer,” and “owner” for purposes of HCBS waivers. 

49  Enrollment requirements.  Amends § 256B.4912, by adding subd. 10.  Lists information 

and documentation all HCBS waiver providers must provide to the commissioner at the time 

of enrollment and within 30 days of a request. 

50  Evaluation and referral of reports made to common entry point unit.  Amends § 

626.557, subd. 9a.  Strikes the requirement for the common entry point to report allegations 

of maltreatment to the county when the report involves services licensed under chapter 245D. 
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51  Lead investigative agency.  Amends §626.5572, subd. 13.  Provides that the Department of 

Human Services is the lead investigative agency for reports involving vulnerable adults who 

are receiving HCBS subject to chapter 245D. 

52  Integrated licensing system for home care and home and community-based services.  

Requires the Departments of Health and Human Services to jointly develop an integrated 

licensing system for providers of both home care services and for HCBS.  Lists components 

that must be included in the integrated licensing system.  Before implementation of the 

integrated licensing system, allows licensed home care providers to provide HCBS without 

obtaining a HCBS license.  Lists conditions that apply to these providers. 

53  Repealer.  (a) Repeals Minnesota Statutes, sections 245B.01 (rule consolidation); 245B.02 

(definitions); 245B.03 (applicability and effect); 245B.031 (accreditation, alternative 

inspection, and deemed compliance); 245B.04 (consumer rights); 245B.05, subd. 1, 2, 3, 5, 

6, and 7 (consumer protection standards); 245B.055 (staffing for DT&H services); 245B.06 

(service standards); 245B.07 (management standards); and 245B.08 (compliance strategies), 

effective January 1, 2014. 

 (b) Repeals Minnesota Statutes, section 245D.08 (record requirements). 

Article 9: Waiver Provider Standards Technical Changes 

Overview 

This article provides technical changes related to the new waiver provider 

standards established in chapter 245D. 

1  Specific purchases.  Amends § 16C.10, subd. 5.  Makes technical and conforming changes 

to cross-references related to the establishment of waiver provider standards in chapter 245D.  

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

2  Service contracts.  Amends § 16C.155, subd. 1.  Makes technical and conforming changes 

to cross-references related to the establishment of waiver provider standards in chapter 245D.  

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

3  Housing with services establishment or establishment.  Amends § 144D.01, subd. 4.  

Makes technical and conforming changes to cross-references related to the establishment of 

waiver provider standards in chapter 245D.  Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

4  Applicability.  Amends § 174.30, subd. 1.  Makes technical and conforming changes to 

cross-references related to the establishment of waiver provider standards in chapter 245D.  

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

5  Scope.  Amends § 245A.02, subd. 1.  Makes technical and conforming changes to cross-

references related to the establishment of waiver provider standards in chapter 245D.  Makes 

this section effective January 1, 2014. 
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6  License holder.  Amends § 245A.02, subd. 9.  Makes technical and conforming changes to 

cross-references related to the establishment of waiver provider standards in chapter 245D.  

Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

7  Permitted services by an individual who is related.  Amends § 245A.03, subd. 9.  Makes 

technical and conforming changes to cross-references related to the establishment of waiver 

provider standards in chapter 245D.  Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

8  Funds and property; other requirements.  Amends § 245A.04, subd. 13.  Makes technical 

and conforming changes to cross-references related to the establishment of waiver provider 

standards in chapter 245D.  Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

9  License suspension, revocation, or fine.  Amends § 245A.07, subd. 3.  Makes technical and 

conforming changes to cross-references and terminology related to the establishment of 

waiver provider standards in chapter 245D.  Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

10  Personal care.  Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 19c.  Makes technical and conforming changes 

to cross-references and terminology related to the establishment of waiver provider standards 

in chapter 245D.  Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

11  Contract provisions.  Amends § 256B.5011, subd. 2.  Makes technical and conforming 

changes to cross-references and terminology related to the establishment of waiver provider 

standards in chapter 245D.  Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

12  Agreement.  Amends § 471.59, subd. 1.  Makes technical and conforming changes to cross-

references and terminology related to the establishment of waiver provider standards in 

chapter 245D.  Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

13  Definitions.  Amends § 626.556, subd. 2.  Makes technical and conforming changes to cross-

references related to the establishment of waiver provider standards in chapter 245D.  Makes 

this section effective January 1, 2014. 

14  Persons mandated to report.  Amends § 626.556, subd. 3.  Makes technical and 

conforming changes to cross-references related to the establishment of waiver provider 

standards in chapter 245D.  Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

15  Notification of neglect or abuse in facility.  Amends § 626.556, subd. 10d.  Makes 

technical and conforming changes to cross-references related to the establishment of waiver 

provider standards in chapter 245D.  Makes this section effective January 1, 2014. 

16  Repealer.  Repeals Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.49, subd. 16a (MA reimbursement), 

effective January 1, 2014. 
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Article 10: Miscellaneous 

Overview 

This article changes the county share for placement costs for county residents at 

regional treatment centers, state nursing homes, and forensic transition services at 

the security hospital. It authorizes health licensing boards to conduct criminal 

background checks on applicants for initial licensure. A Cultural and Ethnic 

Leadership Council is created within DHS.  It makes changes to the Homeless 

Youth Act and modifies child protection statutes to protect sexually exploited 

youth.  A change is also made to the commissioner’s authority to subsidize 

retailers for EBT transactions for SNAP transactions.  The absent day limit is 

raised, and the MFIP family cap is repealed. Drug testing requirements are 

imposed on MFIP recipients and legislators. Training and safe sleep requirements 

are modified for family child care providers. 

1  Legislators; drug testing.  Creates § 3.0995.  Paragraph (a) requires legislators to undergo 

drug and alcohol screening and provide evidence of a negative screening in order to be 

eligible for compensation and expense reimbursements.  Allows random drug screens.  

Paragraph (b) requires the laboratory conducting the screening to report positive results.  

Instructs the house controller and the secretary of the senate to deny or discontinue 

compensation and expense reimbursements until the legislator demonstrates a pattern of 

negative test results. 

Paragraph (c) requires the legislator to pay for the cost of the testing.  

2  Guaranteed renewal.  Amends § 62A.65, subd. 2.  Lists the conditions under which a health 

carrier may elect to discontinue health plan coverage of in individual in the individual 

market. 

3  Modification of plan.  Amends § 62A.65, by adding subd. 2a.  Allows an issuer or health 

carrier at the time of coverage renewal to modify the health plan providing individual 

coverage to individuals in the individual market if the modification is consistent with state 

law and is effective for all individuals with that coverage.  

4  Absent days.  Amends § 119B.13, subd. 7.  Modifies reimbursement provided under state 

child care assistance programs to child providers and license-exempt centers, to:  

 raise the limit, from ten to 25, on the number of days per year that providers can be 

reimbursed for full-day absent days of a child;  

 retain a ten day limit for consecutive full-day absent days; and  

 establish an exemption from the limit for some documented medical conditions.  

The changes would have the effect of restoring reimbursement limits and a medical conditions 
exemption that had been in place prior to a 2011 legislative change. 
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5  Health-related licensing boards; criminal background checks.  Creates § 214.075. 

    Subd. 1.  Applications.  By January 1, 2018, requires all applicants for initial 

licensure, licensure by endorsement, or reinstatement to submit to a criminal history 

check of state and national data.  Requires completion of a criminal history check if 

more than one year has elapsed since the applicant last submitted a background check 

to the board. 

     Subd. 2.  Investigations.  Allows a board to require a licensee to submit to a 

criminal history record check if the board has reasonable cause to believe the licensee 

has been charged with or convicted of a crime. 

     Subd. 3.  Consent form; fees; and fingerprints.  Requires the applicant to submit 

a completed consent form for a criminal background check and a full set of 

fingerprints.  Holds the applicant responsible for payment of all fees. 

     Subd. 4.  Refusal to consent.  Prohibits a board from issuing a license to any 

applicant who refuses to consent to a background check or fails to submit fingerprints 

within 90 days after an application is submitted.  Provides that failure to submit to a 

criminal background check as required in subdivision 3 is grounds for disciplinary 

action. 

     Subd. 5.  Submission of fingerprints to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.  
Requires the board to submit applicant fingerprints to the BCA.  Requires the BCA to 

perform a check of state criminal justice information and to forward the fingerprints to 

the FBI for a check of national criminal justice information.  Instructs the BCA to 

report findings back to the entity that initiated the background study. 

     Subd. 6.  Alternatives to fingerprint-based criminal background checks.  
Allows a board to require an alternative method of criminal history checks under 

specified circumstances. 

    Subd. 7.  Opportunity to challenge accuracy of report.  Establishes the process 

and procedure for an applicant or licensee to challenge the accuracy of the criminal 

history information reported to the board or the commissioner. 

     Subd. 8.  Instructions to the board; plans.  Requires the boards to collaborate 

with DHS and the BCA to establish a plan for completing criminal background checks 

of all licensees who were licensed before the effective date requirement under 

subdivision 1. 

6  Definitions.  Amends § 214.40, subd. 1.  Adds dental therapists and advanced dental 

therapists as health care providers eligible for the volunteer health care provider program. 

Provides an immediate effective date. 
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7  Immediate suspension expedited hearing.  Amends § 245A.07, subd. 2a.  Allows the 

commissioner, with a determination of  reasonable cause, to order the temporary immediate 

suspension of a license based on a violation of safe sleep requirements without 

demonstrating an infant died or was injured as a result of the violation. 

8  Reduction of risk of sudden unexpected infant death in licensed programs.  Amends § 

245A.1435.  Paragraph (a) requires a licensed child care provider to place an infant to sleep 

on the infant’s back unless a signed statement is on file from the infant’s physician directing 

an alternate sleep position.  Allows an infant who is able to roll over independently to remain 

on its stomach after being placed to sleep on its back if the infant is at least six months old or 

the parents have signed a statement that the infant rolls over at home. 

Paragraph (b) requires a crib to have a firm mattress covered by a tight fitted sheet that 

overlaps the underside of the mattress.  Prohibits anything from being placed in the crib with 

an infant except for a pacifier.  Defines “pacifier.” 

Paragraph (c) provides that if an infant falls asleep before being placed in the crib, the license 

holder must move the infant to a crib as soon as practical.   

Paragraph (d) allows swaddling of an infant under specified conditions. 

9  Training on risk of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma for child 

foster care providers.  Amends § 245A.144.  Changes the term “shaken baby syndrome” to 

“abusive head trauma.”  Changes “sudden infant death” to “sudden unexpected infant death.” 

10  Training on risk of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma by other 

programs.  Amends § 245A.1444.  Changes the term “shaken baby syndrome” to “abusive 

head trauma.”  Changes “sudden infant death” to “sudden unexpected infant death.” 

11  Family child care diapering area disinfection.  Creates § 245A.1446.  Allows family child 

care providers to use disinfecting agents other than bleach to disinfect diapering areas.  Lists 

the criteria these agents must meet in order to be used as a substitute. 

12  Family child care infant sleep supervision requirements.  Amends §245A.147. 

    Subd. 1.  In-person checks on infants.  Encourages license holders to monitor 

sleeping infants in-person every 30 minutes.  For infants in their first four months of 

care and infants who have an upper respiratory infection, the license holder is 

encouraged to make these checks every 15 minutes. 

     Subd. 2.  Use of audio or visual monitoring devices.  Encourages license holders 

to use and maintain an audio or visual monitoring device to monitor each sleeping 

infant in care during all hours of sleep. 

13  Child care license holder insurance.  Creates § 245A.152.  Paragraph (a) requires license 

holders to provide written notice to parents whether the license holder has liability insurance. 

Paragraph (b) provides that if the license holder has insurance the parents must be informed 

that they can inspect the certificate of insurance, the date of expiration or next renewal of the 
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policy, and upon the policy expiration date, whether the policy has lapsed or been renewed.  

If the policy was renewed, the license holder is required to inform the parents of the new 

expiration date. 

Paragraph (c) requires a license holder who does not have liability insurance to inform 

parents annually of this fact. 

Paragraph (d) requires license holders to notify parents of any change in insurance status. 

Paragraph (e) requires the license holder to make the certificate of insurance available to the 

commissioner and to county licensors. 

Paragraph (f) instructs license holders to document, with a signature of the parent or 

guardian, that the parent or guardian received the notices required by this section. 

14  Sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma training.  Amends § 245A.40, 

subd. 5.  Adds that volunteers must receive instruction in safe sleep requirements.  Changes 

the term “sudden infant death syndrome” to “sudden unexpected infant death” and “shaken 

baby syndrome” to “abusive head trauma.” 

15  Family child care training requirements.  Amends § 245A.50. 

     Subd. 1.  Initial training.  No changes. 

     Subd. 2.  Child growth and development and behavior guidance training.  
Changes the training requirement for child growth and development from two hours of 

training to four hours of child growth and development and behavior guidance training 

prior to initial licensure and before caring for children.  Defines “behavior guidance 

training.”  Requires annual child growth and development and behavior guidance 

training. 

    Subd. 3.  First aid.  Requires first aid training to be repeated every two years. 

     Subd. 4.  Cardiopulmonary resuscitation.  Requires CPR training to include CPR 

techniques for infants and children.  Requires training to be repeated every two years; 

the current requirement is every three years.  Strikes the option of video CPR training 

and requires in-person, hands-on training developed by the American Heart 

Association or American Red Cross, or nationally recognized, evidence based 

guidelines. 

     Subd. 5.  Sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma training.  
Updates terminology.  Strikes the option of video training.  Requires in-person training 

to occur every two years; in alternate years video training is required.  Currently 

training is required every five years. 

     Subd. 6.  Child passenger restraint systems; training requirements.  No 

changes. 

     Subd. 7.  Training requirements for family and group family child care.  
Changes the requirement for annual training from eight to 16 hours.  Clarifies that the 

training requirements in subdivisions 2 to 6 count toward the 16-hour training 
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requirement. 

     Subd. 8.  Other required training requirements.  No changes. 

     Subd. 9.  Supervising for safety; training requirements.  Adds that effective July 

1, 2014, all family child care license holders and adult caregivers must have at least six 

hours of training on supervising for safety prior to licensure and before caring for 

children.  At least two hours of this training must be repeated annually. 

     Subd. 10.  Approved training.  Requires county licensing staff to accept training 

from the Minnesota Center for Professional Development. 

     Subd. 11.  Provider training.  Requires the commissioner to establish statewide 

accessible training before imposing new training requirements on providers.   

16  Liability of county; reimbursement.  Amends § 246.54. 

     Subd. 1.  County portion for cost of care.  Increases the county portion for the 

cost of care at a regional treatment center or state nursing home for a county resident 

from 50 percent to 75 percent for any days over 60. 

               Subd. 2.  Exceptions.  Excludes services at the Minnesota Security Hospital from 

subdivision 1.  Adds that for state-operated forensic transition services at the security 

hospital, the county share is 50 percent of the cost of care, unless the state receives 

payments from other sources in excess of 50 percent of the cost of care.  In those 

cases, a county is responsible for only the remaining amount. 

17  Cultural and Ethnic Communities Leadership Council.  Creates § 256.999. 

   Subd. 1.  Establishment; purpose.  Creates a council to provide advice to the 

commissioner of human services on ways to reduce disparities that affect racial and 

ethnic groups. 

   Subd. 2.  Membership.  Paragraph (a) requires the commissioner to appoint a 

council of no less than 15 and no more than 25 members and to develop guidelines for 

operation of the council. 

Paragraph (b) lists groups who are to be represented on the council. 

Paragraph (c) provides that the commissioner must appoint members to a one-year or 

two-year term. 

Paragraph (d) states that the members shall receive no compensation. 

   Subd. 3.  Duties of the commissioner.  Requires the commissioner to work and 

consult with the council and based on council recommendations submit legislation to 

reduce disparities. 

    Subd. 4.  Duties of the council.  Requires the council to identify issues regarding 

disparities; provide technical assistance to service providers to promote development 
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of culturally appropriate, accessible, and cost-effective services; and make 

recommendations to the commissioner.  

    Subd. 5.  Duties of the council members.  Requires council members to attend, 

prepare for, and participate in meetings, collaborate on disparity reduction efforts, and 

participate in activities to facilitate the goals and duties of the council. 

    Subd. 6.  Expiration.  Provides that the council does not expire unless directed by 

the commissioner. 

18  Person convicted of certain crimes of violence.  Amends § 256D.024.  Prohibits 

individuals who have been convicted of first or second degree murder or first degree criminal 

sexual conduct from receiving general assistance.  

Provides an effective date of July 1, 2013. 

19  Moratorium on development of group residential housing beds.  Amends § 256I.04, 

subd. 3.  Adds paragraph (c) allowing 35 beds to be designated for youth victims of sex 

trafficking. 

20  Supplementary rate for certain facilities.  Amends § 256I.05, subd. 1e.  Strikes language 

allowing a supplementary rate to be negotiated with Teen Challenge. 

21  Eligibility; drug testing.  Amends § 256J.15, by adding subd. 3.   Paragraph (a) requires 

MFIP applicants and recipients to undergo drug and alcohol screening and provide evidence 

of a negative screening in order to be eligible for benefits.  Allows random drug screens.  

Paragraph (b) requires the laboratory conducting the screening to report positive results.  

Instructs the county agency to deny or discontinue compensation and expense 

reimbursements until the applicant or recipient demonstrates a pattern of negative test results. 

Paragraph (c) requires the applicant or recipient to pay for the cost of the testing. 

Provides an effective date of July 1, 2013. 

22  Fleeing felons.  Amends § 256J.26, subd. 3.  Requires the county agency to cooperate with 

law enforcement to determine if an applicant is a fleeing felon. 

23  Persons convicted of certain crimes of violence.  Amends § 256J.26, by adding subd. 6.  

Prohibits individuals who have been convicted of first or second degree murder or first 

degree criminal sexual conduct from receiving MFIP.  

Provides an effective date of July 1, 2013. 

24  Amount of assistance payment.  Amends § 256J.35.  Adds paragraph (d).  Makes MFIP 

assistance units whose housing costs exceed 50 percent of their monthly cash grant to receive 

a housing assistance grant.   

Makes this section effective December 1, 2013. 
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25  Homeless Youth Act.  Amends § 256K.45. 

     Subd. 1.  Mission.  States that the purpose of the act is to provide integrated and 

supportive services to reduce the incidence of homelessness among youth.  Requires 

the commissioner to establish a Homeless Youth Act fund and award grants to 

providers serving homeless youth. 

     Subds. 1a, 2, and 4.  No changes. 

     Subds. 3 and 5.  Deletes the term “prostitution” and inserts “sexual exploitation.” 

               Subd. 6.  Funding.  Strikes language allowing up to 4 percent of the funds to be 

used for monitoring and evaluating runaway and homeless youth programs.  Requires 

funds to be used to meet the greatest need statewide.  Requires programs to submit 

demographic and outcome data to the commissioner who must submit a report to the 

legislature upon request. 

26  Creation.  Amends § 257.0755, subd. 1.  Clarifies that an ombudsperson is to act 

independently but in collaboration with the community-specific board that appointed the 

ombudsperson. 

27  Delinquent child.  Amends § 260B.007, subd. 6.  Provides that a child up to age 18 who has 

engaged in conduct that violates laws related to prostitution is not considered a delinquent 

child.   

Effective date.   Makes this section effective August 1, 2014.  Applies to offenses committed 

on or after that date.  

28  Juvenile petty offender; juvenile petty offense.  Amends § 260B.007, subd. 16.  Adds that 

a juvenile petty offense does not include violation of § 609.324, subdivisions 2 or 3 

(prostitution in public places or general prostitution crimes). 

Effective date.  Makes this section effective August 1, 2014.  Applies to offenses committed 

on or after that date. 

29  Child in need of protection or services.  Amends § 260C.007, subd. 6.  Adds sexually 

exploited youth to the definition of a child in need of protection or services.  Strikes language 

related to prostitution. 

Effective date.  Provides an effective date of August 1, 2014. 

30  Sexually exploited youth.  Amends § 260C.007, subd. 31.  Adds that a youth who has been 

the victim of a third degree sexual offense crime is a sexually exploited youth. 

Effective date.  Provides an immediate effective date. 



H.F. 1233  April 23, 2013 

Version: Third engrossment  Page 66 

 

Section 

Research Department Minnesota House of Representatives 600 State Office Building 

 R:\HRD_Summ\2013\1233e3 Huntley.hhs.docx  Last printed 4/25/2013 1:05:00 PM 

31  EBT transaction costs.  Amends Laws 1998, ch. 407, art. 6, § 116.  Prohibits the 

commissioner from subsidizing retailers for EBT SNAP transactions. 

Effective date.  Makes this section effective 30 days after the commissioner notifies retailers 

of the termination of their agreement with the state. 

32  Effective date.  Amends Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 9, article 1, section 3.  

Changes the effective date of this section from January 1, 2013 to July 1, 2014, and makes 

this section effective retroactively from January 1, 2013.  This section limits child care 

assistance payments when a child in care is related to an employee of the provider or to the 

provider. 

33  Inclusion of other health-related occupations.  Provides that if the Department of Health is 

not reviewed by the Sunset Commission as scheduled, then the commissioner of health shall 

require applicants for licensure or renewal to submit to criminal background checks as 

required in section 214.075. 

34  Direction to commissioners; income and asset exclusion.  Paragraph (a) prohibits the 

commissioner of human services from considering conditional cash transfers made to 

families participating in a family independence project as income or assets for purposes of 

determining eligibility for specified public assistance programs. 

Paragraph (b) prohibits the commissioner of human services from considering conditional 

cash transfers made to families participating in a family independence project as income or 

assets for purposes of determining medical assistance or MinnesotaCare eligibility. An 

exception is made for individuals whose eligibility is calculated using modified adjusted 

gross income. 

Paragraph (c) prohibits the MHFA commissioner from considering conditional cash transfers 

made to families participating in a family independence project as income or assets for 

purposes of determining eligibility for housing assistance programs. 

Paragraph (d) defines “conditional cash transfer” and “family independence demonstration.” 

35  Minnesota insurance marketplace.  Prohibits employees of the marketplace from 

requesting, soliciting, or offering information related to voter registration in the course of 

their duties. 

36  Reduction of youth homelessness.  Requires the Minnesota Interagency Council on 

Homelessness to recommend strategies to reduce the number of youth experiencing or at risk 

of homelessness.  Lists factors the council must consider in developing its strategies.  

Requires the council to provide an update to the legislature by December 1, 2014. 

37  Repealer.  Paragraph (a) repeals §§ 256J.24, the MFIP family cap, and 256K.45, subd. 2 

(homeless and runaway youth report). 

Paragraph (b) repeals § 609.093 (juvenile prostitutes; diversion or child protection 

proceedings.  Provides an immediate effective date for this paragraph. 
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Article 11: Home Care Providers 

Overview 

This article modifies regulation of home care providers.  It classifies certain data 

collected by the commissioner of health; establishes two levels of home care 

licensure; codifies home care provider regulation in statute; increases fees; and 

requires the commissioner to inspect all licensees. 

1  Data classification; private data.  Amends § 144.051 by adding subdivision 3.  Classifies 

certain data collected, created or maintained by the commissioner of health as “private data” 

as defined in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13. 

2  Data classification; public data.  Amends § 144.051, by adding subdivision 4.  Classifies 

certain data collected, created or maintained by the commissioner of health as “public data” 

as defined in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13. 

3  Data classification; confidential data.  Amends § 144.051, by adding subdivision 5.  

Classifies certain data collected, created or maintained by the commissioner of health as 

“confidential data” as defined in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13. 

4  Release of private or confidential data.  Amends § 144.051, by adding subdivision 6.  

Permits the Department of Health to release private or confidential data, except for social 

security numbers, to state, federal or local agencies and law enforcement to enhance 

investigate or enforcement efforts or to further public health protection. 

5  Definitions.  Amends § 144A.43.  Modifies definitions of terms applicable to regulation of 

home care services as provided in Minnesota Statutes, §§ 144.699, subdivision 2, and 

144A.43 to 144A.482. 

6  Home care bill of rights.  Amends § 144A.44.  Makes technical changes and updates 

terminology.  Combines enumerated rights related to being told provider charges for services 

and the extent to which, if known, payment can be expected from insurance, public programs 

or other sources.  Adds to the list of enumerated rights:  the right to be free from neglect, 

financial exploitation and other forms of maltreatment covered by the Vulnerable Adults Act 

and the Maltreatment of Minors Act; and the right to know a provider’s reason for 

terminating services.  Modifies exceptions that apply to the right to 10-day advanced notice 

of termination of services.   

Provides that all home care providers must comply with the home care bill of rights and 

requires the commissioner to enforce the bill of rights against all home care providers 

regardless of licensure. 

7  Regulation of home care services.  Amends § 144A.45.  Makes technical changes and 

updates terminology.  Modifies listed purposes of the commissioner’s regulation of home 

care providers.  Makes conforming changes related to repeal of Minnesota Rules, chapter 

4668.  Requires the commissioner to inspect temporary licensees within one year of issuance 

of a temporary license and requires inspection of licenses at an interval that will promote the 
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health and safety of clients.  Removes provision related to Medicaid reimbursement for Class 

F providers.  Removes provision related to licensed home care providers who provide 

Alzheimer’s disease services. 

8  Home care provider and home care services.  Adds § 144A.471.  Requires home care 

providers to be licensed by the commissioner of health.  Defines the phrases “direct home 

care service” and “regularly engaged” for purposes of license requirements.  Establishes a 

misdemeanor for a home care provider who operates without a license.  Establishes two 

categories of home care provider licensure: basic and comprehensive.  Provides exemptions 

and exclusions from licensure, but specifies that exempted providers must still comply with 

the home care bill of rights. 

9  Home care provider license; application and renewal.  Adds § 144A.472.  Specifies 

information that must be provided to the commissioner by applicants for a home care 

provider license.  Requires applicants for a comprehensive home care license to provide 

verification of certain policies and procedures.  Includes license renewal provisions and 

requires licensees with multiple units to obtain separate licenses for each unit that cannot 

share supervision and administration.  Prohibits transfer of any home care license.  Sets fee 

schedule for initial licensure and license renewal fees. 

10  Issuance of temporary license and license renewal.   Adds § 144A.473.    Provides a 

process for temporary licensure, which is effective for one year, and requires inspection 

during that first year.   

11  Surveys and investigations.  Adds § 144A.474.  Requires the commissioner to conduct 

inspections of each home care provider, describes types of surveys to be conducted and the 

survey process, and requires that surveys and investigations be conducted without advance 

notice.  Requires home care providers to provide accurate and truthful information and 

specifies certain information that must be provided upon request. Provides a process for 

correction orders, reconsideration and assessing fines. Specifies training requirements for 

surveyors. 

12  Enforcement.  Adds § 144A.475.  Sets out enforcement provisions.  Provides reasons for 

which the commissioner may refuse to grant or renew or may suspend or revoke a license.  

Requires that providers must request an appeal no later than 15 days after receipt of notice of 

an action.  Restricts eligibility for certain licenses for certain providers after a license is 

revoked or not renewed for noncompliance.   

13  Background studies.  Adds § 144A.476.  Requires background studies for owners and 

managers of home care provider services and for employees, contractors and volunteers. 

14  Compliance.  Adds § 144A.477.  Provides that the commissioner shall survey licensees 

under this chapter at the same time as for certification under Medicare, to the extent feasible.  

Provides that certain state regulations are equivalent to federal requirements  for providers 

that are certified for participation in Medicare as a home health agency.   
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15  Innovation variance.  Adds § 144A.478.  Defines “innovation variance” for purposes of this 

section.  Establishes a process by which a provider may apply for and the commissioner may 

grant an innovation variance from requirements of this chapter. 

16  Home care provider responsibilities; business operation. Adds § 144A.479.  Requires 

certain actions of home care providers with regard to business operations.  Restricts non-

governmental licensees from accepting powers-of-attorney from clients and from serving as 

a client’s representative.  Requires home care providers to report maltreatment of minors or 

vulnerable adults and must report suspected maltreatment.  Requires each licensee to have an 

individual abuse prevention plan for vulnerable minors and adults for whom they provide 

services.  Requires certain information to be kept as part of employee records. 

17  Home care provider responsibilities with respect to clients.  Adds § 144A.4791.  Requires 

providers to give clients notice of their rights under the home care bill of rights.  Provides 

special requirements for home care providers that serve clients with dementia.  Sets out 

requirements for licensees related to only accepting clients for which the provider is qualified 

to provide services; making referrals when the provider reasonably believes medical services 

from another health care provider are required; assessment and monitoring of services 

provided under a basic- or comprehensive-level of licensure; actions required in response to 

a request to discontinue life-sustaining treatment; termination of services plans; emergency 

preparedness; and client complaint processes. 

18  Medication management.  Adds § 144A.4792.  Prohibits medication management under a 

basic home care license.  Provides requirements for medication management under a 

comprehensive home care license. 

19  Treatment and therapy management services.  Adds § 144A.4793.  Prohibits treatment 

and therapy management under a basic home care license.  Provides requirements for 

treatment and therapy management under a comprehensive home care license. 

20  Client record requirements.  Adds §144A.4793.  Regulates licensee maintenance of client 

records, including disclosure and access requirements; content requirements; and the 

duration of retention of records after client discharge or termination. 

21  Home care provider responsibilities; staff.  Adds § 144A.4795.  Provides requirements for 

the training and competency of staff providing home care services, including licensed health 

professionals and unlicensed personnel.  Lists requirements for staff instructors and 

competency evaluators. 

22  Orientation and annual training requirements.  Adds § 144A.4796.  Requires staff who 

provide or supervise direct home care services to complete certain orientation requirements.  

Requires special training for providers who provide services for clients with Alzheimer’s 

disease.  Requires certain annual training for all staff who provide direct home care services. 
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23  Provision of services. Adds § 144A.4797.  Requires licensees to make available a contact 

person for staff consultations, and under a comprehensive license, that person must be a 

registered nurse.  Provides supervision requirements for staff who perform basic home care 

services and for staff who perform delegated nursing or therapy tasks. 

24  Employee health status.  Adds § 144A.4798.  Requires licensees to have in place a TB 

prevention and control program and requires providers to follow guidelines for prevention 

and control of other communicable diseases. 

25  Department of Health licensed home care provider advisory council.  Adds § 

144A.4799.  Requires the commissioner of health establish a home care provider advisory 

council to advise the commissioner on home care provider regulation including, but not 

limited to, regulation of community standards, enforcement of licensing standards and 

training standards.   

26  Home care licensing implementation for new licensees and transition period for current 

licensees.  Adds § 144A.481.  Requires temporary license applications to begin January 1, 

2014.  Provides that home care providers licensed under the current structure must apply for 

either a basic or comprehensive home care license beginning July 1, 2014.  Requires that all 

home care providers have either a basic or comprehensive home care license by June 30, 

2015. Specifies requirements for renewal licenses during transition period. 

27  Registration of home management providers.  Adds § 144A.482.  Sets out requirements 

and regulation provisions for home management providers.  Requires entities that operate 

home management services, such as housekeeping or meal preparation, to be registered with 

the commissioner of health.  Provides an annual fee for this required registration.   

28  Agency quality improvement program. Requires the commissioner to establish a quality 

improvement program and submit an annual report to the legislature on home care licensing 

and regulatory activities. Specifies the commissioner shall study whether to add a correction 

order appeals process by an independent reviewer. 

29  Integrated licensing system for home care and home and community-based services.  
Requires the Department of Health’s compliance and monitoring division and the 

Department of Human Services’ licensing division to develop an integrated licensing system 

for providers who provide both home care services subject to licensure under Minnesota 

Statutes, chapter 144A and home and community-based services subject to licensure under 

Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245D.   

30  Repealer.  (a) Repeals Minnesota Statutes §§ 144A.46 and 144A.461 (licensure and 

registration of home care services). 

(b) Repeals Minnesota Rules, chapter 4668 (home care licensure and class F home care 

providers).  Repeals Minnesota Rules, chapter 4669 (home care licensure fees). 

31  Effective Date.    Provides an immediate effective date for this article. 



Article # and description 

Article 12: Health Department 

1  Transfers.  Amends § 16A.724, subd. 2.  Transfers $1,000,000 each year from the health 

care access fund to the medical education and research costs (MERC) fund. 

2  Coverage for autism spectrum disorders.  Adds § 62A.3094. 

     Subd. 1.  Definitions.  Defines the term “autism spectrum disorders” to include 

autism and related conditions.  Defines the term “health plan” to include all private 

sector health coverage, both individual and group, that the state can regulate.  Defines 

“medically necessary care” for purposes of this section.  Defines “mental health 

professional” in the same manner as it is defined in the Children’s Mental Health Act. 

     Subd. 2.  Optional coverage required.  Requires health plans to provide benefits 

related to autism spectrum disorders required under the Affordable Care Act and state 

statute as of December 31, 2012, and offer an option for supplemental autism coverage 

for children under 18 years. 

Lists services and therapies that must be included in a supplemental plan. Requires the 

supplemental plan to include a treatment plan recommended by the enrollee’s treating 

physician or mental health professional. 

Prohibits health plans from refusing to renew, issue, or otherwise terminating an 

enrollee’s insurance coverage due to the enrollee having an autism spectrum disorder. 

Prohibits health plans from requiring an updated treatment plan more often than every 

six months, unless the health plan and treating provider agree to a more frequent 

schedule for updates. Requires independent progress evaluation and permits the health 

plan to cap the supplemental coverage but not less than $50,000 per year per 

individual. 

     Subd. 3.  No effect on other law.  Provides that nothing in this section limits 

mental health coverage required under Minnesota Statutes, section 62Q.47. 

     Subd. 4.  State health care programs.  Provides that the coverage requirements in 

this section do not affect the benefits available under medical assistance, and 

MinnesotaCare.  

Effective date:  Makes the law effective January 1, 2014, and applies to coverage issued, 

sold, renewed, or continued on or after that date. Provides that this section expires December 

31, 2015. 

3  Net worth limit.  Adds § 62D.0425.  Limits health maintenance organizations (HMOs) to a 

net worth of no more than 25 percent of the sum of all expenses incurred during the most 

recent calendar year, unless certain exceptions apply.  Requires the commissioner of health, 

with the commissioners of commerce and human services, to determine the proportion of the 

HMO’s reserves that are attributable to gains in the state public health care programs.  

Requires HMOs to place excess capital reserves in special restricted accounts and requires 

that these funds be spent down as specified. 

4  Distribution of funds.  Amends § 62J.692, subd. 4.  Requires that $1,000,000 each year of 

available MERC funding be distributed each year for grants to family medicine residency 

programs located outside of the seven-county metro area.  Specifies certain eligibility 
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requirements. 

5  Designation.  Amends § 62Q.19, subd. 1.  Adds certain hospitals and affiliated specialty 

clinics whose inpatients are mostly under age 21 to a list of essential community providers. 

6  Bored geothermal heat exchanger.  Amends § 103I.005, by adding subd. 1a.  Adds a 

definition of “bored geothermal heat exchanger.” 

7  Fees.  Amends § 103I.521.  Directs fees collected by the commissioner under Minnesota 

Statutes, chapter 103I (wells, borings, and underground uses), to be credited to the state 

government special revenue fund. 

8  Penalties for late or nonsubmission. Amends § 144.0724, subd. 6. Permits facilities in 

certain circumstances to apply for a reduction in penalty amounts. Permits the commissioner 

of human services to limit a penalty for residents enrolled in medical assistance. 

9  Who must pay.  Amends § 144.123, subd. 1.  Modifies the provision for collecting a fee for 

diagnostic laboratory services by permitted the commissioner to contract for the costs of 

analysis rather than charge a flat handling fee.  Specifies that funds collected under contracts 

pursuant to this section must be deposited into a special account and appropriated to the 

commissioner.  (Minn. Stat. § 144.123, subd. 2 is repealed in this article.) 

10  Duty to perform testing.  Amends § 144.125, subd. 1.  Increases the fee for the newborn 

screening programs, including early hearing detection, by $44.  Specifies that $15 of the total 

fee amount must be deposited into the general fund for the support services required under 

the early hearing detection and intervention program and the remaining fee amount, $130 

must be credited to the state government special revenue fund. 

11  Newborn screening for critical congenital heart disease (CCHD).  Adds § 144.1251.   

     Subd. 1.  Required testing and reporting.  Requires hospitals, birthing centers, 

and facilities that provide maternity and newborn care to screen newborns for 

congenital heart disease using pulse oximetry screening.  Indicates that this screening 

should be done before the infant is discharged from the nursery but after 24 hours of 

age.  Requires that results must be reported to the state Department of Health.  

Specifies that for premature infants and others admitted for intensive care, the screen 

should be performed when medically appropriate. 

     Subd. 2.  Implementation.  Provides a list of responsibilities for the Department of 

Health related to this screening program, including the following: 

 communicate  screening protocol and requirements; 

 make information and forms available to persons with a duty to perform testing 

and reporting, health care providers, parents of newborns, and the public; 

 provide training to ensure compliance and implementation of this screening; 

 establish data collection and reporting system; 

 coordinate implementation of universal standardized screening; 

  provide assistance to providers as this screening program is implemented and 

develop and implement early medical and developmental intervention services for 
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children with CCHD and their families; and 

 comply with sections 144.125 to 144.128, the current sections of statute governing 

the Department of Health’s newborn screening program. 

12  Definitions.  Adds § 144.492.  Defines terms for purposes of this act: “commissioner” as 

commissioner of health; and “stroke” as the sudden death of brain cells in a localized area 

due to inadequate blood flow.   

13  Criteria.  Adds § 144.493.  Sets out criteria for hospitals based on different levels of stroke 

care capability: comprehensive stroke center; primary stroke center; and acute stroke ready 

hospital.   

14  Designating stroke hospitals.  Adds § 144.494.  Provides that no hospital can use the term 

“stroke center” or “stroke hospital” in its name unless it has been designated as such. 

Permits a hospital that meets criteria set out in section 2 to apply for designation as a stroke 

center or stroke hospital.  Provides such designation would apply for a three-year period.  

15  Health facilities construction plan submittal and fees.  Adds § 144.554.  Requires the 

commissioner to collect a fee for review of the construction plan submitted for approval from 

hospitals, nursing homes, boarding care homes, residential hospices, supervised living 

facilities, freestanding outpatient surgical centers, and end-stage renal disease facilities.  

Provides a fee schedule based on total estimated cost of the project. 

16  Newborn Hearing Screening Advisory Committee. Amends § 144.966, subd. 2. Extends 

expiration of the committee by six years. 

17  Support services to families.  Amends § 144.966, subd. 3a.  Modifies the family support 

services requirement by requiring that families be given hearing loss specific parent-to-

parent assistance and individualized deaf or hard of hearing mentors. 

18  Annual fees.  Amends § 144.98, subd. 3. Reduces fees for environmental lab accreditation. 

Provides an immediate effective date. 

19  State government special revenue fund.  Amends § 144.98, subd. 5.  Specifies that the fees 

collected under this program must be credited to the state government special revenue fund. 

Provides an immediate effective date. 

20  Establishing a selection committee.  Amends § 144.98 by adding subd. 10.  Requires the 

commissioner to establish a selection committee to recommend approval of qualified lab 

assessors and assessment bodies.  Provides required membership and structure of the 

committee.   

21  Activities of the selection committee.  Amends § 144.98 by adding subd. 11. Sets out duties 

of the selection committee established under subd. 10, including that the committee will 

determine assessor and assessment body application requirements and consider submitted 

applications.  

22  Commissioner approval of assessors and scheduling of assessments.  Amends § 144.98 
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by adding 12.  Provides criteria for assessors to meet in order to be approved by the 

commissioner. 

23  Laboratory requirements for assessor selection and scheduling assessments.  Amends § 

144.98 by adding subd. 13. Requires accredited labs or those seeking accreditation that need 

an assessment by the commissioner to select from a list of approved assessors.  Limits the 

number of times a lab can select the same assessor to not more than twice in succession.  

Provides other requirements for labs relative to selecting an assessor.  Specifies that the fees 

collected under this section are deposited in a special account and appropriated to the 

commissioner for assessment activities.  

24  Administrative penalty orders.  Amends § 144.99, subd. 4.  Provides the commissioner 

authority to issue certain specified administrative penalty orders for violations of the Lead 

Poisoning Prevention Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.9501 to 144.9512.  Specifies that 

revenue collected from these penalties must be credited to the state government special 

revenue fund. 

25  Complaints. Amends § 3144A.53, subd. 2. Requires investigators with the Office of Health 

Facilities Complaints to interview family members of vulnerable adults and requires that 

complainants be given a copy of the public report upon completion of the investigation. 

26  Licensure of certain facilities that perform abortions.  Adds § 145.417.  Establishes a 

requirement that certain facilities that perform abortions be licensed by the state department 

of health (MDH). 

     Subd. 1.  Licensure required for facilities that perform ten or more abortions 

per month.  Requires certain health care facilities that perform ten or more abortions 

each month, including nonsurgical abortions, to be licensed by MDH and makes them 

subject to the rules in Minnesota Rules, chapter 4675, which apply to outpatient 

surgical centers. Establishes a misdemeanor for facilities that operate without a license. 

     Subd. 2.  Inspections; no notice required.  Requires MDH to inspect and 

investigate facilities licensed under this section more than twice a year. Requires 

facilities licensed under this section, and facilities that are applicants for licensure, to 

be open to inspections authorized in writing by MDH at all reasonable times.   

Provides that no notice must be given prior to inspection. 

     Subd. 3. Licensure fee. Provides that a license fee may be charged. 

     Subd. 4. Suspension, revocation, and refusal to renew. Sets out grounds upon 

which the commissioner of health may refuse to grant a license or may revoke a 

license. 

     Subd. 5. Hearing. Provides a process that must be followed prior to any 

suspension, revocation, or refusal to grant a license. 

     Subd. 6.  Severability.  Provides a severability clause for all parts of this section. 

27  Safe harbor for sexually exploited youth. Adds § 145.4716. Directs the commissioner of 

health to establish a director of child sex trafficking prevention.  Outlines the duties of the 

director, including providing training, maintaining information, applying for federal funding, 
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managing grants, providing oversight, conducting evaluations, and developing policies. 

28  Regional navigator grants.  Adds § 145.4717. Directs the commissioner of health, through 

the director of child sex trafficking prevention, to provide grants for regional navigators 

serving six regions of the state to coordinate resources and services for sexually exploited 

youth.  Provides that each regional navigator must develop and annually submit a work plan 

to the director outlining a needs and resource assessment, grant goals and outcomes, and 

grant activities. 

29  Program evaluation.  Adds § 145.4718. Requires the director to conduct or contract for a 

comprehensive evaluation of the statewide program for sexually exploited youth.  The first 

evaluation must be completed by June 30, 2015, and submitted to MDH by September 1, 

2015, and then be conducted every two years thereafter. 

30  Statewide health improvement program.  Amends § 145.986.   

     Subd. 1.  Purpose.  Adds a purpose statement for the statewide health improvement 

program (SHIP). 

     Subd. 1a.  Grants to local communities.  Requires grantees to address health 

disparities and inequities in their community.  Removes obsolete language. 

     Subd. 2.  Outcomes.  Makes no changes. 

     Subd. 3. Technical assistance and oversight.  Permits the commissioner to 

contract for administration technical assistance and oversight. 

     Subd. 4.  Evaluation.  Requires grantees to collect, monitor, and submit certain 

data to the commissioner. 

     Subd. 5. Report.  Requires certain reporting related to each grantee’s progress 

toward measurable outcomes, and reports on any corrective action plans required by 

the commissioner. Removes obsolete language. Requires reporting on contracts 

entered under this section. 

     Subd. 6. Supplantation of existing funds.  Makes no changes.   

31 to 77 Alkaline hydrolysis.  Amends §§ 149A.02 to 149A.96.  Modifies mortuary science 

provisions. Includes alkaline hydrolysis as a means of final disposition of dead human bodies 

and requires the commissioner of health to enforce all laws and adopt rules related to 

licensing and operation of alkaline hydrolysis facilities. Defines “branch funeral 

establishment” and provides these establishments are not required to have a preparation or 

embalming room. Provides that fees collected by the commissioner shall be credited to the 

state government special revenue fund. 

78  Minnesota Task Force on Prematurity. Amends Laws 2011, first special session.  

Modifies the duties of the task force by removing certain items that the task force was 

required to consider.  Extends the deadline for submission of the final report and expiration 

of the task force from January 2013 to January 2015.  Makes technical changes.   
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79  Funeral establishments; branch locations. Requires the commissioner to review 

requirements relative to preparation and embalming rooms and propose legislation for 

changes to branch establishments. 

80  Staffing Plan Disclosure Act.   

     Subd. 1.  Definitions.  Defines terms used in this section, including the following: 

core staffing plan; non-managerial core staff; inpatient care unit; staffing hours per 

patient day; and patient acuity tool. 

     Subd. 2.  Hospital staffing report.  Provides that the chief nursing executive or 

designee of every hospital licensed under section 144.50 will develop a core staffing 

plan for each care unit. 

     Subd. 3.  Standard electronic reporting developed.  (a) Requires hospitals to 

submit core staffing plan to the Minnesota Hospital Association (MHA) by January 1, 

2014, and requires MHA to post each hospital’s core staffing plan on its Minnesota 

Hospital Quality Report website by April 1, 2014. (b) Requires that on a quarterly 

basis, the MHA include each hospital’s actual direct patient care hours per patient per 

unit. Requires that beginning July 1, 2014, and quarterly thereafter, hospitals must 

submit direct patient care reports to MHA. 

81  Study; nurse staffing levels and patient outcomes.  Requires MDH to convene a working 

group to study a correlation between nurse staffing levels and patient outcomes.  A report is 

due to the legislature by January 15, 2015. 

82  Level-I trauma centers. Requires the commissioner to study the costs of maintaining 24-

hour readiness at designated level-I trauma centers and make recommendations as to a 

payment modifier for such costs in state public programs. 

83  Health equity report. Requires the commissioner to consult with certain stakeholders and 

submit a report by February 1, 2014, on a plan to advance health equity in Minnesota. 

84  Eliminating health disparities grants; organizations with limited fiscal capacity. Permits 

the commissioner of health to provide working capital advanced to grantees for certain grants 

awarded under the general fund. 

85  Assessment of quality metrics for measuring the screening, diagnosis, and treatment of 

young children with autism spectrum disorders. Requires the commissioner to assess the 

feasibility of adding quality measures under Minnesota Statutes, section 62U.02, for 

screening, diagnosing, and treating children. 

86  Revisor’s instruction.  Instructs the revisor to replace the term “vertical heat exchanger” 

with “bored geothermal heat exchanger.” 

87  Repealer.  (a)  Repeals Minnesota Statutes, § 103I.005, subd. 20.  (Definition of “vertical 

heat exchanger.) 

Repeals Minnesota Statutes, §§ 149A.025 (alkaline hydrolysis regulation); 149A.20, subd. 8 

(mortuary science fee); 149A.30, subd. 2 (mortuary science fee); 149A.40, subd. 8 (mortuary 

science fee); 149A.45, subd. 6 (mortuary science fee); 149A.50, subd. 6 (mortuary science 
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fee); 149A.51, subd. 7 (mortuary science fee); 149A.52, subd. 5a (mortuary science fee); and 

149A.53, subd. 9 (mortuary science fee) 

Repeals Minnesota Statutes, § 485.14 (Receipt of vital statistics records by district court for 

preservation of records). 

(b) Effective July 1, 2014, repeals Minnesota Statutes, § 144.123, subd. 2 (fees for diagnostic 

lab services). 

Article 13: Human Services Forecast Adjustments 

See bill for details. 

Article 14: Health and Human Services Appropriations 

See spreadsheet. 

Article 15: Human Services Contingent Appropriations 

See spreadsheet. 

 


