HOUSE RESEARCH

Bill Summary

FILE NUMBER: H.F. 2588 **DATE:** March 17, 2014

Version: As introduced

Authors: Zerwas and others

Subject: School District Equity Revenue; Definition of the Metro area

Analyst: Tim Strom

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm.

Overview

School districts qualify for equity revenue depending on their geographic location. A district's equity revenue consists of basic equity revenue, low referendum revenue, a metropolitan area adjustment, and a supplemental revenue amount.

To calculate equity revenue, the state is divided into a seven-county metro region and a Greater Minnesota region, and basic equity revenue is calculated separately for districts within each region. The school districts located in cities of the first class as of July, 1, 1999 (Minneapolis, St. Paul, and Duluth), are excluded from receiving basic equity revenue.

This bill changes the definition of a metro area school district from a district having its administrative office located in one of the seven metropolitan counties to a district having any of its area located in one of the seven metropolitan counties. Forty-eight school districts have their administrative offices located in the seven-county metropolitan area while 59 school districts have some or all of their area located in one of the seven metropolitan counties. These additional districts are (Cannon Falls, Lester Prairie, Northfield, Elk River, Buffalo, Delano, Rockford, Chisago Lakes, LeSueur-Henderson, Howard Lake-Waverly, and Glencoe-Silver Lake).

Section

Equity region. Changes the definition of a metro area school district from a district having its administrative office located in one of the seven metropolitan counties to a district having any of its area located in one of the seven metropolitan counties.