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Overview 

This bill changes the definition of “cigarette” to include “little cigars.”  The bill 

also imposes a minimum tax on “moist snuff” products, and adjusts the tax rates 

on cigarettes and other tobacco products.  The excise tax increase for a pack of 

twenty cigarettes would equal $1.60 after taking into account repeal of the health 

impact fee.  The excise tax rate on other tobacco products would rise from 70 

percent (including the health impact fee) to 95 percent of the wholesale price. 

Section   

1  Health impact fee.  This section updates Minnesota statutes to remove liability to withhold 

or remit taxes associated with the health impact fee, which is repealed by section 15. 

2  Cigarette definition.  This section alters the definition of “cigarette.”  Under the new 

definition, “little cigars” would be defined by law as a cigarette, as opposed to an “other 

tobacco product.”  This definition is significantly similar to the federal definition of 

“cigarette.” 

3  Moist snuff.  This section adds a definition for “moist snuff” products.  Under section 7, a 

per-container minimum tax applies to moist snuff products. 

4  Other tobacco products.  This section removes “little cigars” from the other tobacco 

products tax, because under the language of the bill, “little cigars” would be taxed under the 

same rate as other cigarettes. 

5  Cigarette tax rate.  This section increases the tax on cigarettes from 24 mills to 141.5 mills 

per unit for cigarettes weighing not more than three pounds per thousand, and from 48 mills 
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to 283 mills for cigarettes weighing more than three pounds per thousand.  This is a per unit 

tax rate.  The rate of tax per cigarette is 14.15 cents on the former and 28.3 cents on the 

latter. 

6  Annual indexing.  This section requires the commissioner of revenue to adjust the tax rates 

on cigarettes and other tobacco products annually.  This rate adjustment will be based on the 

change in the average price of cigarettes sold in Minnesota, the same basis used to annually 

set the in-lieu sales tax on cigarettes. 

7  Other tobacco products tax rates.  This section increases the tax imposed on other tobacco 

products from 35 percent to 95 percent of the wholesale sales price of the product.  A 

minimum tax on individual containers of moist snuff is imposed equal to the tax on a pack of 

20 cigarettes.  This minimum rate would apply to the sale of any product if 95 percent of the 

wholesale price of that product is less than the minimum tax. 

8  Tobacco use tax.  This section raises the use tax on tobacco products from 35 percent to 95 

percent of the cost to the consumer, or the minimum tax as outlined above. 

9  Non-settlement fee.  This section adjusts the rate of the fee on cigarettes sold by 

manufacturers who are not required to pay a fee in connection with a legal settlement from 

1.75 cents per cigarette to 2.5 cents per cigarette. 

10  Cigarette sales tax.  This section alters the in-lieu sales tax on cigarettes to include the 

legacy (3/8
th

 percent tax rate) sales tax.   Under present law, the in-lieu sales tax excludes this 

additional tax imposed by the voters as a constitutional amendment. 

11  Cigarette definition.  This section adjusts the definition in Minnesota Statutes, section 

325D.32, subdivision 3, to include the new definition of cigarette.  This definition will 

include “little cigars” in the definition for purposes of chapter 325D. 

12  Floor stocks tax.  This section imposes a floor stock tax on cigarettes.  This tax would be 

imposed on both the stamped cigarettes and unaffixed stamps in the person’s possession at 

12:01 a.m., July 1, 2013.   The rate of the tax imposed is 80 mills per cigarette.   This section 

also gives the commissioner of revenue authority to conduct an audit to enforce this tax, as 

well as the ability to levy penalties.  The proceeds from this section will be deposited to the 

general fund. 

13  Interim sales tax.  This section requires the commissioner to adjust the weighted average 

retail price of cigarettes on July 1, 2013, which will be used to calculate the tax rate imposed 

until December 31, 2013.  This, in effect, will immediately incorporate the likely price 

effects of the excise and health impact fee changes made by the bill in the in-lieu sales tax 

rate.  On January 1, 2014, the commission will resume annual adjustments to the weighted 

average retail price, occurring on January 1 of each calendar year. 

14  Tobacco tax collection report.  This section requires the commissioner of revenue to report 

to the 2014 legislature on the tobacco tax collection system, including recommendations to 

improve compliance of all tobacco tax programs.  This report will be due by January 1, 2014. 
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15  Repealer.  This section repeals the health impact fee on cigarettes and tobacco products and 

the health impact fund.  The only monies deposited in the fund are the revenues from the 

health impact fee.  These revenues are transferred to the general fund after the certification of 

the amount of state health care costs. 

 


