HOUSE RESEARCH

Bill Summary

FILE NUMBER: H.F. 118 DATE: February 11, 2013

Version: As introduced

Authors: McNarmar and others

Subject: Expands the existing sales tax for public safety radio purchases to the entire state

Analyst: Pat Dalton, 651-296-7434

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm.

Overview

Expands the existing sales tax exemption for public safety radio backbone systems (commonly referred to as the ARMER system or 800 MHz radio) to the entire state. Currently, the exemption only covers:

- the first and second phases of the system (the nine counties of Anoka, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Hennepin, Isanti, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington)
- the third portion of the system in the southeast district of the State Patrol (the 11 counties of Dodge, Freeborn, Fillmore, Goodhue, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Steele, Wabasha and Winona)
- Benton, Sherburne, Stearns and Wright, and Itasca counties.

Effective for sales and purchases made after June 30, 2013.