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Overview

This bill would provide for regulation of “bullion coin dealers” and “coin dealer
representatives” by the Minnesota commissioner of commerce. “Bullion coins”
are coins that contain more than one percent by weight of a precious metal such as
gold; they are sold as an investment.

Section

1 Definitions. Defines the terms “bullion coin,” “bullion coin dealer,” “coin dealer
representative, » »

99 ¢¢

commissioner,” “owner,” “person” and “precious metal content.” A “coin
dealer representative” is an individual who represents a bullion coin dealer in transactions
with consumers.

2 Registration. Requires that bullion coin dealers and coin dealer representatives be
registered annually with the Minnesota commissioner of commerce before doing business in
this state. Provides that registration starts July 1, 2014, if a dealer has engaged annually in
transactions that exceed $5,000 in the aggregate, or once the dealer’s transactions reach
$5,000, and requires continued registration regardless of future transaction amounts. Outlines
information to be provided in the application or renewal forms.

3 Registration denial, nonrenewal, revocation, and suspension. Provides that the
commissioner may, by order, suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew a registration for
misrepresentation, fraud, and other violations of the law specified in the bill. Permits the
commissioner to take action against a bullion coin dealer for a violation by its coin dealer
representative or directly against the representative, provided that the coin dealer
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representative was acting on behalf of the bullion coin dealer. Authorizes the commissioner
to institute a revocation proceeding and impose civil penalties within two years after
registration was last effective. Prohibits new applications for two years after the effective
date of the revocation.

4 Criminal convictions. Requires denial of an application for registration from a bullion coin
dealer or coin dealer representative if the applicant has within the last ten years, been
convicted of a financial crime or of any crime involving fraud or theft.

) Screening.

Subd. 1. Screening process required. Requires a bullion coin dealer to screen
each of its owners, officers, and coin dealer representatives before submitting an
application for initial registration and at each renewal. Requires that the results of the
screenings be provided to the commissioner at initial registration and each renewal, if
requested by the commissioner.

Subd. 2. Initial screening. Describes the required screening for initial registration
that must be done no more than 60 days before applying for registration. Requires that
it include a national criminal history record search, court judgment search, and county
criminal history search for all counties in which the applicant has lived within the
preceding ten years. Requires that the bullion coin dealer use a reputable vendor that
is authorized to do business in Minnesota and that specializes in conducting
background screenings.

Subd. 3. Renewal screening. Requires a similar process for background screening
in connection with renewal registration applications.

6 Surety bond requirement. Requires that a bullion coin dealer maintain a surety bond in an
amount equal at least to the total purchase and sale transactions with consumers at retail in
the preceding 12 months, but the bond amount need not exceed $200,000. Provides that
aggrieved consumers and the commissioner of commerce or attorney general may file a
claim with the surety on the bond and may sue the surety if the claim is denied.

7 Prohibited conduct. Lists 15 things that bullion coin dealers and coin dealer representatives
are prohibited from doing. Limits section’s application in the first year (August 1, 2013 to
June 30, 2014) to dealers with annual transactions exceeding $5,000. On or after July 1,
2014, applies to any dealer required to be registered under this chapter.

8 Criminal violation. Provides that it is a misdemeanor for a bullion coin dealer or coin
dealer representative to:

(2) fail to register and maintain registration with the commissioner under this act;

(2) fail to deliver purchased bullion coins to a consumer within 30 days or at the agreed-upon
time; or

(3) fail to pay a consumer for bullion coins sold and delivered to a dealer or representative
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within 30 days or at the agreed-upon time.

9 Local authority. Provides that nothing in this chapter (80G) rules out a lawsuit for
securities fraud under chapter 80A or preempts local authority under section 325F.742
(regulation of precious metal dealers).

10 Investigations and civil enforcement. Provides the commissioner of commerce with
authority to ensure compliance with this act using the commissioner’s enforcement authority
provided in this section and under Minnesota Statutes, section 45.027, including imposition
of civil penalties.

11 Effective date. Effective August 1, 2013.
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