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Overview 

This bill modifies several provisions of firearms law relating to the transfer of pistols and 

semiautomatic military-style assault weapons, and to eligibility criteria for possessing a 

firearm, as follows: 

 broadens the mental health criterion for prohibiting a person from firearms 

possession, from being committed by judicial order, to include being voluntarily 

hospitalized, confined in any manner, and a 72-hour hold; 

 creates a new $25 fee for the Chief’s background check; 

 continues to allow a Permit-to-Carry to substitute for a Permit-to-Purchase, but only 

for 12 months following issuance; 

 lengthens the five-business-day waiting period for issuance of a Permit-to-Purchase 

to a seven-business-day period, which can be extended to 30-days if there is a 

difficulty identifying the applicant; 

 adds two new felony penalties for: (1) knowingly transferring a pistol or semi-

automatic military-style assault weapon in violation of this section to a prohibited 

person who uses the firearm in a crime of violence within one year; and (2) for a 

repeat violation; 

 regulates private sales by mandating that any transfer of a pistol or semi-automatic 

assault weapon between two private citizens, neither of whom is a federally 

licensed firearms dealer, must be routed through a dealer.  The dealer may charge a 

fee of up to $25.  The dealer must take the pistol or weapon into possession, and 

then follow federal requirements for transferring it to the intended buyer, including 

performance of an FBI background check through the National Instant Check 

System (NICS); and 
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 if unable to deliver it to the buyer, the dealer must run a background check on the 

seller, before returning it to the seller.  If neither person is eligible to possess the 

pistol or weapon, the dealer must not transfer it to either the buyer or seller, and 

instead must transfer the firearm to the Chief of Police or Sheriff within 24 hours, 

and report identifying information on the buyer and seller as directed. 

Section   

1  Firearms-ineligible persons; mental health commitment criterion broadened. 

Among the categories of persons who are prohibited by Minnesota and federal law from 

possessing firearms are persons who have ever been committed to a treatment facility in 

Minnesota or elsewhere by a judicial determination that the person is mentally ill, 

developmentally disabled, or mentally ill and dangerous to the public, or who has ever been 

found to be incompetent to stand trial or not guilty by reason of mental illness, unless the 

person’s ability to possess a firearm has been restored according to a certain judicial 

procedure. 

This firearms disability criterion requires that the commitment be court-ordered.  The bill 

would broaden that criterion for firearms disability to include voluntary confinement or 

hospitalization and any other means of entry into a treatment facility for treatment of any 

mental illness, in addition to being court-ordered. 

A similar change is made in the bill for chemical dependency treatment, such that a person 

would no longer have had to be judicially committed for the person’s firearms eligibility to 

have been revoked.  Instead, it would suffice that the person was confined or hospitalized 

voluntarily or by court-order for drug treatment at any time. 

2  Restoration of firearms rights for a civilly committed person. Conforming amendment 

recognizing the modified eligibility criteria relating to mental health reasons described in 

section 1. 

3 to 8 Permit to purchase a pistol or semi-automatic military-style assault weapon.  

Sections 3 to 8 of this bill propose changes to Minnesota’s permit to purchase law (Minn. 

Stat. § 624.7131). 

Background:  This permit, briefly referred to as a permit to purchase, is required of any 

person who is not a federally-licensed firearms dealer (i.e., for a “Non-FFL”) who wishes to 

purchase a pistol or semi-automatic military-style assault weapon from a federally licensed 

dealer (i.e., from an “FFL”). (It is not required for dealer to dealer firearms transfers, nor for 

non-dealer to non-dealer transfers.)  This permit to purchase should not be confused with a 

permit to carry a firearm. 

The permit to purchase may be obtained by an adult over 21 years of age from the person’s 

local chief of police, without fee, following submission of a completed application form, a 

seven-day waiting period, and passing the chief’s criminal history and mental health 

commitment background check.  The law stipulates that the only permissible reason for the 

chief to deny a resident’s completed application is that the person is a firearms-prohibited 
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person under any Minnesota or federal law.   

Once issued, a permit to purchase is valid statewide for a period of one year, during which 

time the holder may purchases any number of pistols and semi-automatic military-style 

assault weapons from any number of Minnesota-based FFLs.  (For each purchase, the person 

must also submit to a federal background check through the FBI’s National Instant Check 

System (NICS).)  A permit to purchase may be renewed an unlimited number of times in the 

same manner as initially obtained. 

A permit to purchase is not required of a person possessing a valid permit to carry a pistol, 

which entails essentially the same background check of the applicant, except as made by the 

sheriff instead of by the police chief. 

3 Permit to purchase: photo ID required; fingerprint.  Requires that an applicant must 

submit a government issued photo ID.  Also changes the current reference to the firearms 

eligibility statute (Minn. Stat. § 624.713) to any state of federal law. 

4 Permit to purchase: reference. Changes the current reference to the firearms eligibility 

statute (Minn. Stat. § 624.713) to any state of federal law. 

5 Permit to purchase: fee authorized. Authorizes a new $25 fee for the permit. 

Changes the current reference to the firearms eligibility statute (Minn. Stat. § 624.713) to any 

state of federal law.  Also provides that if a chief or sheriff is unable to verify the 

identification of any applicant, they may require the applicant to appear in-person to present 

a government-issued photo ID, in which case the seven-day waiting period is extended to 30 

days. 

6 Permit to purchase: reference. Changes the current reference to the firearms eligibility 

statute (Minn. Stat. § 624.713) to any state of federal law. 

7 & 8 Permit to purchase: substitution period shortened.  A permit to carry a pistol may be 

substituted for a permit to purchase a pistol, since they involve essentially identical 

background checks.  The carry permit is valid for a period of five years, while the purchase 

permit is valid for a period of one year. 

The bill would continue to allow such substitution, but only if the permit to carry a pistol has 

been issued to the holder during the immediately preceding 12 month period.  

9 to 18 Permit-to-Purchase: Report of the Transfer. Sections 9 to 18 modify other statutory 

provisions governing the permit to purchase a pistol or semi-automatic military-style assault 

weapon, which are codified in an adjacent section of law and provide an alternative (and 

perhaps no longer used) method for obtaining a permit to purchase, when the buyer 

approaches the dealer before having first applied through the chief of police for the permit.   

In this situation, the seller is must collect the buyer’s information and make application for 

the buyer, which has shown to be a cumbersome process for sellers.  (Minn. Stat. § 

624.7132) 



H.F. 237  February 5, 2013 

Version: As introduced Page 4 

 

Section 

 

Research Department Minnesota House of Representatives 600 State Office Building 

 R:\HRD_Summ\2013\0237 Paymar.jc.docx  Last printed 2/5/2013 4:52:00 PM   

9 Report of the permit to purchase: photo ID required.  Changes the current reference to 

the firearms eligibility statute (Minn. Stat. § 624.713) to any state of federal law.  Also 

requires that the applicant show a government-issued photo ID. 

10 Report of the permit to purchase: reference.  Changes the current reference to the firearms 

eligibility statute (Minn. Stat. § 624.713) to any state of federal law. 

11 Report of the permit to purchase: waiting period.  Lengthens the five business day 

waiting period for issuance of a permit to purchase to a seven business day period. 

12 Report of the permit to purchase: photo ID required, fingerprint. Changes the current 

reference to the firearms eligibility statute (Minn. Stat. § 624.713) to any state of federal law.  

Also provides that if a chief or sheriff is unable to verify the identification of any applicant, 

they may require the applicant to appear in-person to present a government-issued photo ID, 

in which case the seven-day waiting period is extended to 30 days.  

13 Report of the permit to purchase: reference.  Changes the current reference to the firearms 

eligibility statute (Minn. Stat. § 624.713) to any state of federal law. 

14 Report of the permit to purchase: private sales through dealer only. Mandates that any 

transfer of a pistol or semi-automatic assault weapon between two private citizens, neither of 

whom is a federally licensed firearms dealer, must be routed through a dealer.  The dealer 

may charge a fee of up to $25.  The dealer must take the pistol or weapon into possession, 

and then follow federal requirements for transferring it to the intended buyer, including 

performance of an FBI background check through the NICS.   

If unable to deliver it to the buyer, the dealer must run a background check on the seller, 

before returning it to the seller.  If neither person is eligible to possess the pistol or weapon, 

the dealer must not transfer it to either the buyer or seller, and instead must transfer the 

firearm to the chief of police or sheriff within 24 hours, and report identifying information on 

the buyer and seller as directed. 

15 Report of the permit to purchase: substitution period shortened.  A permit to carry a 

pistol may be substituted for a permit to purchase a pistol, since they involve essentially 

identical background checks.  The former permit is valid for a period of five years, while the 

latter is valid for a period of one year. 

The bill would continue to allow such substitution, but only if the permit to carry a pistol has 

been issued to the holder during the immediately preceding 12 month period. 

16 Report of the permit to purchase: exceptions tightened.  Current law provides a number 

of exceptions to the requirements of the permit to purchase laws.  The bill tightens some of 

those exceptions.  Most notably, the exception for transfers without a permit to purchase 

between private parties would be restricted to those between relatives, as defined in the bill. 

17 Report of the permit to purchase: reference.  Changes the current reference to the firearms 

eligibility statute (Minn. Stat. § 624.713) to any state of federal law. 
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18 Report of the permit to purchase: penalties.  Current law provides that a number of 

possible violations of the permit to purchase laws are gross misdemeanor crimes, and that a 

few are felony crimes. 

The bill would add two new felony penalties for: 

(1) knowingly transferring a pistol or semi-automatic military-style assault weapon in 

violation of this section to a prohibited person who uses the firearm in a crime of violence 

within one year; and 

(2) for a repeat violation. 

Repealer: Repeals section 609.66, subd. 1f, that provides a number of current-law exceptions for 

carrying a pistol onto school property, including for persons with a permit to carry, whether 

to store the pistol within the vehicle, or to step outside the vehicle to store the pistol in the 

trunk.  

Repealer: Repeals section 614.7132, subd. 14, currently allowing transfers between private citizens, 

neither of whom are federally licensed firearms dealers. 

 


