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Overview 

This bill makes changes in various transportation policies, including in the areas 

of vehicle registration, special license plates, motor vehicle dealers, title 

requirements for vehicles purchased for dismantling or scrap, commercial driver’s 

licenses, and enhanced identification cards. 

Section   

1  12 uniform registration periods.  Modifies passenger vehicle registration to clarify a 

minimum 12-month period of registration and remove a provision on evenly spreading 

registrations throughout the year. 

2  Exceptions.  Amends exceptions from the 12-month period of registration typically required 

for passenger vehicles. 

3  Application; fee; penalty.  Establishes that in-transit licenses for transporting motor 

vehicles are available only within Minnesota and do not include registering the transporting 

vehicle.  Makes technical changes. 

4  Design.  Removes the special World War I plate and modifies the plate design for various 

special veterans’ plates to eliminate stacked letters next to the plate’s alphanumeric 

sequence. 

5  Payment of taxes.  Modifies provisions governing trucks and buses owned by non-residents 

and used part of the year within Minnesota. 

6  Trip permit.  Modifies requirements of a trip permit under the International Registration 
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Plan (IRP) program to limit the permit to one per vehicle for a 30-day period.  The IRP 

program is for commercial vehicle registration tax collection and proportional distribution of 

revenues across multiple jurisdictions (states and countries) where the vehicle is operated. 

7  Used vehicle parts dealer.  Prohibits a used vehicle parts dealer from selling new or used 

motor vehicles.  This category represents a license issued by the Department of Public Safety 

to businesses that dismantle vehicles and sell the parts and scrap. 

 The department issues various licenses for dealers engaged in businesses involving motor 

vehicle and vehicle parts sales, dismantling, and scrap processing. 

8  Place of business.  Amends the business office requirements for a limited used vehicle 

licensee to include commercial office space or an automatic phone answering service. 

9  Dealers’ license; location change notice; fee.  Removes mandatory denial of a vehicle 

dealer license when previously denied within a year. 

10  Older model vehicle.  Modifies requirements for a vehicle dealer who purchases, to 

dismantle or destroy, a motor vehicle that is six years old or older.  Changes include 

obtaining the certificate of title or verifying vehicle ownership with the department; notifying 

lienholders; electronically notifying the department within 10 days; and maintaining records. 

11  Late-model or high-value vehicle.  Modifies requirements for a vehicle dealer who 

purchases, to dismantle or destroy, a motor vehicle that is (1) less than years six old, or (2) 

has a value of at least $5,000.  Changes include obtaining the certificate of title; notifying 

lienholders; electronically notifying the department within 10 days; and maintaining records 

instead of destroying the title. 

12  Valid medical examiner’s certificate.  Modifies the definition of “medical examiner’s 

certificate,” to require that the certificate is issued by an examiner who is (1) certified by the 

federal agency that oversees motor carrier safety, and (2) listed in a national registry 

maintained by the agency.  This certificate is used to confirm physical eligibility to operate 

commercial vehicles and is among the requirements to obtain a commercial driver’s license. 

13  [171.017] Background investigations; department employees.  Establishes mandatory 

criminal background checks for certain employees and job applicants in the Department of 

Public Safety, sets procedures for checks performed by the Bureau of Criminal 

Apprehension, provides for fees to cover background checking costs, requires sharing of 

information about employees and applicants across criminal justice agencies, and mandates 

annual checks in certain circumstances following federal requirements. 

14  Identification card for seniors.  Prevents a provision on Minnesota identification cards for 

persons over age 65 (which are specially marked and provided at a reduced cost) from 

applying for enhanced identification cards.  Enhanced identification cards contain additional 

security features over a traditional card, and can be used in a similar manner as passports for 

international border crossings. 

15  Expiration.  Prevents an enhanced identification card issued to a person age 65 or older from 
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being valid for the lifetime of that person. 

16  Repealer.  Repeals a provision on one-way trip permits for nonresidents to transport motor 

vehicles from outside the state to another point outside the state. 

 


