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Overview 

Provides that a state agency may not accept a bid or proposal for a contract for 

goods or services in excess of $500,000 from a business having more than 40 full-

time employees in Minnesota unless the Commissioner of Human Rights has 

approved the business’s plan to establish equitable compensation relationships for 

its employees within the state and has issued the business a certificate of pay 

equity compliance. 

Section   

1  Certificates of compliance (data practices).  Inserts a cross-reference in the data practices 

act, stating that access to data relating to pay equity certificates of compliance is governed by 

section 3 of this bill. 

2  Certificate of pay equity compliance. Provides definitions. Provides that a state agency 

may not accept a bid or proposal for a contract for goods or services in excess of $500,000 

from a business having more than 40 full-time employees in Minnesota unless the 

Commissioner of Human Rights has approved the business’s plan to establish equitable 

compensation relationships for its employees within the state and has issued the business a 

certificate of pay equity compliance. 

 Directs a business subject to the requirements of this law to use a job evaluation system to 

determine comparable work values. 

Provides that this section does not apply to construction projects governed by the prevailing 

wage laws in current Minnesota Statutes, sections 177.43 and 177.44. 
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3  Certificate of pay equity compliance.  

     Subd. 1.  Compliance; good faith effort. Requires the Commissioner of Human 

Rights to approve a plan and issue a certificate of pay equity compliance if a business 

demonstrates it is in compliance with equitable compensation relationship standards or 

is making a good faith effort to achieve compliance with those standards.  Provides 

that a certificate of compliance is valid for four years. 

Provides that the standards for determining equitable compensation relationships for a 

business are the same as the standards in the current local government pay equity law 

(sections 471.991 to 471.997) and rules adopted under those sections. 

Provides that a business that is not in compliance is making a good faith effort to 

achieve compliance if the commissioner has approved a plan and a date for achieving 

compliance. 

     Subd. 2. Filing fee. Provides a $75 fee for each certificate of compliance and 

appropriates the proceeds to the Commissioner of Human Rights for the costs of 

administering this section. 

     Subd. 3, Revocation of certificate.  Specifies grounds for revoking a certificate of 

compliance. 

     Subd. 4. Revocation of contract.  Provides that a contract may be terminated if a 

certificate of compliance is suspended or revoked. 

     Subd. 5. Technical assistance.  Requires the commissioner to provide technical 

assistance to a contractor whose certificate of compliance is suspended. 

     Subd. 6. Access to data. Provides that data submitted for purposes of obtaining a 

certificate of compliance is not public. 

4  Certificate of compliance; temporary provisions. Provides temporary criteria that apply 

until July 1, 2015, for purposes of determining that a business is making a good faith effort to 

achieve compliance. 

5  Report.  Requires the Commissioner of Human Rights to report to the legislature by January 

31, 2015, on implementation of this law. 

 


