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Overview 

This bill creates licensing requirements for certain facilities that perform ten or 

more abortions per month. The bill requires those facilities to meet the licensure 

requirements of outpatient surgical centers (Minnesota Rules, chapter 4675). The 

bill also requires the commissioner of health to perform inspections and allows 

the commissioner to inspect without notice. The bill provides proceedings for 

license suspension, revocation, and refusal to renew, and appropriates money to 

the commissioner from the state government special revenue fund for licensing 

activities. 

Section   

1  Licensure of certain facilities that perform abortions. Adds § 145.417. 

     Subd. 1. License required for facilities that perform ten or more abortions per 

month. (a) Requires facilities where ten or more abortions are performed per month to 

be licensed by the commissioner of health and subject to licensure requirements under 

Minnesota Rules, chapter 4675 (outpatient surgical centers). Exempts hospitals and 

outpatient surgical centers from having to obtain a separate license. 

(b) Allows certain parties to seek an injunction against the continued operation of an 

unlicensed facility. 

(c) States that sanctions under different sections of law are allowed in addition to this 

subdivision. 

     Subd. 2. Inspections; no notice required. Requires the commissioner to perform 

routine and comprehensive inspections and investigations of facilities described in 
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subdivision 1, not more than two times per year. Allows the inspection to be without 

notice and requires the facility to be open at all reasonable times for inspection. 

     Subd. 3. Licensure fee. Requires facilities to pay an annual license fee of $3,712 to 

be collected by the commissioner of health according to section 144.122 (general 

licensing fees and deposits statute). 

     Subd. 4. Suspension, revocation, and refusal to renew. Allows the commissioner 

to refuse to grant or renew licenses, and allows suspension and revocation of licenses 

for the following grounds: 

(1) violating Minnesota Rules, chapter 4675 (outpatient surgical centers); 

(2) permitting, aiding, or abetting an illegal act in the facility; 

(3) conduct or practices detrimental to the welfare of the patient; 

(4) obtaining or attempting to obtain a license by fraud or misrepresentation; or 

(5) a pattern of conduct involving one or more physicians in the facility who have a 

financial or economic interest in the facility and have not provided notice and 

disclosure of that interest. 

     Subd. 5. Hearing. Requires a hearing be provided to a facility prior to any 

suspension, revocation, or refusal to renew a license. Puts the burden of proof of a 

violation on the commissioner and allows a new license application to be filed if the 

conditions upon which the revocation, suspension, or refusal to renew are based are 

corrected. Granting of the new license is conditional upon inspection for compliance 

with this section and Minnesota Rules, chapter 4657. 

     Subd. 6. Severability. Allows for severability of any provision of this section if a 

provision is found to be unconstitutional.  

2  Appropriation. Appropriates $32,000 in fiscal year 2017 to the commissioner of health 

from the state government special revenue fund for licensing activities under the above 

section. 

 


