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Overview

Advance Deposit Wagering (ADW) is a horse racing wagering system that
provides a way for a person to advance funds to an account so that the wager can
be made remotely. Minnesota does not currently allow ADW. This bill would
authorize and regulate ADW companies and require that a portion of the amounts
wagered through this system by Minnesota residents is used to support horse
racing in this state.

Section

1 Purpose. Provides a purpose statement for the proposed legislation.

2 Account holder. Defines “account holder” as a person who opens an account with an ADW
provider.

3 Advance deposit wager. Defines “advance deposit wager” as a wager placed through an
ADW provider on a horse race conducted outside the state.

4 Advance deposit wagering; ADW. Defines ADW as a pari-mutuel wagering system in
which wagers and payoffs are debited and credited to an account held by an ADW provider
on behalf of an account holder.

5 ADW provider. Defines “ADW provider” as a class C licensee who has a contract with a
class A or B licensee to provide ADW.

6 Minnesota resident. Defines “Minnesota resident” as a person who provides a Minnesota
address or credit card billing address when opening an ADW account.
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7

10

11

12

13

14

Source market fee. Defines “source market fee” as the percentage of the amount wagered
by a Minnesota resident that is paid to a class A or B licensee.

Authority. Allows the racing commission to issue a class C license to a vendor.

Application. Requires that a class C license applicant submit an affidavit stating that the
applicant has not been held in violation of any law pertaining to animal mistreatment.

License fees. Establishes an initial $10,000 fee for a class C ADW licensee and an annual fee
of $2,500 thereafter.

Takeout; distribution of winnings. Clarifies that the current deduction requirement applies
to class B and D licensees.

Advance deposit wagering. Authorizes and regulates ADW in Minnesota by:

e prohibiting unlicensed persons from accepting wagers;

e establishing requirements for contracts between an ADW provider and racetrack
which must include provisions relating to: source market fees, the business
relationship between the racetrack and ADW company, reservation of horsepersons
association rights under federal law, what will happen if either party ceases doing
business in the state, enforcing the contract in Minnesota state courts, limitations on
the term of a contract to one year;

e to demonstrate financial responsibility, requiring a $1,000,000 bond as surety for fees
and payments to account holders;

e establishing requirements for a plan of operation, which must include provisions
relating to: dispute resolution with account holders and racetracks, security of account
holders information, procedures to verify the identity and age of account holders,
procedures to ensure that no credit is extended to an account holder, record-keeping
procedures, audit requirements, and other requirements established by rule;

e providing for the establishment and distribution of source market fees. Requires a
racetrack receiving such fees to distribute them in certain percentages to: racetracks
that conduct standardbred, thoroughbred, and quarter-horse racing, breeder’s awards,
purses, the state breeder’s fund, and purse accounts;

e imposing a regulatory fee of one percent and a breeders fund fee of .25 of one percent
of the amount wagered,;

e granting a right of action to a class A or B licensee and the racing commission against
an unauthorized person accepting wagers, and providing for certain remedies; and

e authorizing the commission to adopt rules using the expedited process.

Taxes imposed. Clarifies that the tax on the amounts withheld from pari-mutuel pools
applies to class B or D licensees.

Payment. Modifies the tax payment date from seven days after collection to seven days after
the end of the month when it was collected.
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Section

15 Disposition of proceeds; account. Adds the distribution required in section 12 to the
account distribution requirements under an existing section of law.

16 Fines. Redirects any fines received by the racing commission from the general fund to the

racing and card-playing regulatory account. Establishes procedures for bringing a contested
case for fines over $5,000.

17 Illegal bets. Clarifies that a bet placed with an authorized ADW provider is not illegal.

18 Effective date; application. Establishes an effective date of July 1, 2016, for the act, except
for the enforcement and rulemaking provisions, which are effective November 1, 2016, and
the day following enactment, respectively.
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