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Section

1

Overview

With the expansion of medical assistance, more adults 55 to 65 years of age have
become subject to federal laws requiring states to make claims against the estates
of these individuals for the amount of medical assistance correctly paid on their
behalf. Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.15 requires the state to make recovery
from the estates of certain individuals. This bill amends that statute to allow
certain individuals to repay the commissioner, prior to death, the amount of
medical assistance paid on their behalf.

Payment and release of notice of potential claim. Amends § 256B.15, by adding subd. 10.
Paragraph (a) allows an adult without children who is 55 to 64 years of age to provide a
written notice of medical assistance disenrollment to the commissioner if the individual
received medical assistance for non-institutional care services, and medical assistance
eligibility was determined using the MAGI methodology.

Paragraph (b) requires the commissioner to calculate the amount of medical assistance paid
on behalf of the recipient.

Paragraph (c) requires the commissioner to provide the former recipient with the amount of
medical assistance paid on behalf of the recipient within 60 days of the receipt of the notice
of disenrollment. Requires the commissioner to allow the recipient to remit this amount to
the commissioner.
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Paragraph (d) instructs the commissioner to fully release any notice of potential claim or lien
upon receipt of the remittance and to provide written notice to the former recipient that the
notice and lien have been released.

Provides that this section is retroactive from January 1, 2014.

Research Department Minnesota House of Representatives 600 State Office Building
R:\HRD_Summ\2016\3556 Rarick.la.docx Last printed 3/28/2016 1:13:00 PM



